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Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set 
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and 
certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *First Class Mine Foreman 
This certification authorizes the holder to: 

 Perform all duties required by State and Federal laws and codes as certified mine 
foreman/examiner 

 Record findings on pre-shift, on-shift and weekly examinations 
NOTE:   

 This certification may be used to perform pre/shift – on/shift examinations at shaft/slope 
locations. 

 
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 

 Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 
 23 years of age 
 Five years mining experience, three of which shall be underground 
 Three years credit will be granted for mining engineering degree from an approved four year 

college or two years credit for a degree in mining technology 
 Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperience 

Training acceptable) 
 Hold a General Miner Certification as part of this certification (A card will be issued) 

 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 85% on each element of the examination 
 
ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 

 Dust   (DU)        20 
 Electrical   (EL)        20 
 Explosives   (EX)        20  
 First Aid   (FA)        20 
 Fires and Explosions   (FX)      20 
 Haulage   (HA)        20 
 Mine Gases  (MG)       20 
 Mining Laws   (ML)       50 
 Ventilation   (VE)        20 
 Federal Regulations  (FR)       20 
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Pre-shift/On-shift (PO) 
Weekly Examination (WE) 
Practical Exercises   (PS) 

- Ventilation 
- Roof Control 
- Emergency Response 

 Map - ventilated per instructions  (MA) 
 Gas Detection - practical demonstration         

 
 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:  

 Title 30 CFR Parts 48, 70, 75 
 Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia 
 BCME Requirements 
 Practical Map and Records 
 First Class Mine Foreman Study Guide 
 First Aid For Miners Study Guide 
 Mine Gases Packet 

 
  

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Keen Mountain 
Field Office (276) 498-4533. 
 
*4 hours of biannual continuing education required to update this certification. 
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