
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR BLASTER 

 
 
SURFACE BLASTER: 
 
� Minimum 1 year blasting duties under direct supervision of a certified blaster  
� Proper completion of Board of Mineral Mining Examiners Application Form (BMME-1) 
� Proper completion of Board of Mineral Mining Examiners Work Experience Form 

(BMME-2) 
� Submit copy of current MSHA 5000-23, showing First Aid review or copy of a first aid 

card or higher 
� Submit $10 examination fee with BMME-1 and BMME-2 at least five working days 

before exam, in the form of a check or money order, payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 
� Pass the BMME Surface Blaster exam, scoring at least 80% on each of 5 parts 

 
CERTIFICATON EXAM PARTS: 
 
 Part 1 – Blaster Duties, Responsibilities, and Hazard Recognition (20 questions) 
 Part 2 – Basic Knowledge of Blasting (20 questions) 
 Part 3 – Blasting Design and Control (20 questions) 
 Part 4 – Blast Effects (20 questions) 
 Part 5 – Virginia Law & Regulations Applicable to Blasting (20 questions) 
 
UNDERGROUND BLASTER: 
 
� Minimum of 2 years underground mineral mining employment, with at least 1 year 

blasting duties 
� Pass the BMME Underground Blaster exam, scoring at least 80% on each of 4 parts 
� All other criteria listed under Surface Blaster (above) applies 

 
CERTIFICATION EXAM PARTS: 
 
 Part 1 – Blaster Duties, Responsibilities & Hazard Recognition (20 questions) 
 Part 2 – Basic Knowledge of Blasting (20 questions) 
 Part 3 – Blasting Design and Control (20 questions) 
 Part 4 – Blast Effects (20 questions) 
 Part 5 – Virginia Law & Regulations Applicable to Blasting (20 questions) 
 

ALL APPLICANTS WILL BE NOTIFIED BY MAIL OF THE EXAM RESULTS WITHIN 2 WEEKS 
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