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Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
 

Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law 
Civil Penalty Matrix 

Guidelines for Enforcement 
 
Adopted: July 10, 2023 
 
SECTION 1: AUTHORITY 
Section 3.2-5145.2:1 of the Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law authorizes 
the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services to assess a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each 
day certain violations of the Law occur.  
 
SECTION 2: DEFINITIONS 
The following words and terms, when used in these guidelines, shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  

 
“Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
 
“Department” means the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
 
“Hearing officer” means an attorney selected from a list maintained by the Executive Secretary of the 
Supreme Court in accordance with § 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia. 
 
“Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment” means a written notification from the case reviewer 
to the responsible party alleged to have committed a violation of the Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract 
Intended for Human Consumption Law that identifies the specific violation committed and indicates the 
amount of the civil penalty assessed. 
 
“Responsible party” means the person or business alleged to have violated the Virginia Industrial Hemp 
Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law. 
 
“Virginia Food and Drink Law” means Chapter 51 of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia (Va. Code § 3.2-5100 et 
seq.) 
 
“Virginia Industrial Hemp Extract Intended for Human Consumption Law” or “Law” means Article 5 (Va. 
Code §§ 3.2-5145.1 through 3.2-5145.5) of the Virginia Food and Drink Law. 

 
 
SECTION 3: PROVISION FOR CIVIL PENALTIES GENERALLY 
Any responsible party violating any section of the Law may be assessed a civil penalty by the Department in an 
amount not to exceed $10,000 for each day of a violation. In determining the amount of any civil penalty, the 
Department shall give due consideration to these guidelines for enforcement. Any such civil penalties shall be 
collected by the Commissioner, and the proceeds shall be payable to the State Treasurer. 
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SECTION 4: PROCEDURE FOR CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT  
A. Witness of Alleged Violation 

A Department employee, upon witness of an alleged violation of the Law, shall submit documentation of 
proof of alleged violation, including all relevant facts, for review by a case reviewer designated by the 
Commissioner.  
 

B. Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment 
Upon review of all documentation of proof of the alleged violation, if the case reviewer concurs that an 
alleged violation has occurred, the case reviewer shall send to the responsible party a Notice of Alleged 
Violation and Penalty Assessment, which shall include all documentation of relevant facts, a notice of the 
potential civil penalty assessment, and a proposed consent resolution. The Notice of Alleged Violation and 
Penalty Assessment shall advise the responsible party that he may (i) agree to the violation and civil penalty 
assessment; sign a consent resolution; waive his rights to an informal fact finding conference pursuant to § 
2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia (Code); and pay the civil penalty, which shall be due within 30 days, or (ii) 
request an informal fact finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code by the date stated in the 
Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment. 
 

C. Informal Fact Finding Conference 
 The responsible party shall have an opportunity to request an informal fact finding conference. If the 
responsible party desires an informal fact finding conference, he shall request such by the date stated in the 
Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment, which shall be at least 14 days after the date of the 
Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment.  The Commissioner shall designate Department staff to 
hold an informal fact finding conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code, render a case decision, and 
assess a civil penalty after considering the demonstrated good faith of the responsible party in attempting to 
achieve compliance after receipt of the Notice of Alleged Violation and Penalty Assessment.  Following the 
informal fact finding conference, the Department shall send to the responsible party the case decision, 
including the fact basis for the case decision, and the civil penalty assessed.  
 

D. Formal Hearing 
The responsible party may appeal a case decision to the Commissioner pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Code.  
If the responsible party intends to appeal the case decision, he shall notify the Commissioner in writing by 
the date stated in the case decision, which shall be at least 14 days after the date of the case decision. The 
Commissioner shall arrange for a hearing officer and location of the formal hearing.  The hearing officer shall 
hear the relevant information about the case, consider the facts of all violations identified in the case, and 
evaluate the civil penalty assessed.  The hearing officer shall transmit his findings and recommendations to 
the Commissioner as required in § 2.2-4024(D) of the Code. The Commissioner shall consider the findings 
and recommendations of the hearing officer and render a case decision within the timeframe established in 
§ 2.2-4021(C) of the Code.  

 
SECTION 5: ASSESSMENT OF SEPARATE VIOLATIONS 
Each violation shall be assessed separately for the purpose of determining the total civil penalty assessment. 
Each product is subject to a separate violation and penalty. In cases of continued violation, a civil penalty may be 
assessed separately for each day the violation occurs beginning with the date of the Notice of Alleged Violation 
and Penalty Assessment and ending with the date of correction of the violation.   
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SECTION 6: DETERMINATION OF CIVIL PENALTY 
The following matrix will be used to determine the dollar amount of civil penalties to be assessed per violation 
per product.  See Section 5 for the manner in which separate violations shall be assessed. 
 

Violation Penalty 

Authority Category of Violation 1st Violation 
2nd and Subsequent 

Violations 
Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(i);  
Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(ii) 

Manufacturing, offering for sale, or 
selling an industrial hemp extract or 
food containing an industrial hemp 
extract without a Hemp Food Safety 
Permit. 
Va. Code § 3.2-5100 

$500 $1,000 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(iii) 
 

Manufacturing, offering for sale, or 
selling an industrial hemp extract or 
food containing an industrial hemp 
extract without submitting a Hemp 
Disclosure Form. 
Va. Code § 3.2-5100 

$500 $1,000 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(iv) 
 

Offering for sale or selling at retail a 
food that (a) contains a total THC 
concentration greater than 0.3 percent 
or (b) contains more than two 
milligrams of total THC per package and 
does not contain an amount of 
cannabidiol that is at least 25 times 
greater than the amount of total THC 
per package. 
Va. Code § 3.2-5145.4 

$1,000; 
potential 
referral to 
law 
enforcement 

$5,000; potential 
referral to law 
enforcement 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(v) 
 

Offering for sale or selling at retail a 
substance intended to be consumed 
orally that is advertised or labeled as 
containing (i) a hemp-derived 
cannabinoid and (ii) more than two 
milligrams of total THC per package, if it 
does not contain an amount of 
cannabidiol that is at least 25 times 
greater than the amount of total THC 
per package. 
 

$1,000; 
potential 
referral to 
law 
enforcement 

$5,000; potential 
referral to law 
enforcement 
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Violation Penalty 

Authority Category of Violation 1st Violation 
2nd and Subsequent 

Violations 
Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(vi) Manufacturing, offering for sale, or 

selling an industrial hemp extract or 
food containing an industrial hemp 
extract that is not labeled or packaged 
in accordance with Va. Code § 3.2-
5145.4:1 or offered for sale with the 
documentation required by Va. Code § 
3.2-5145.4:1. 

$500 
 

$2,000 
 

Va. Code § 3.2-5145.2:1(B)(vi) 

 
Other violation of Va. Code §§ 3.2-
5145.1 through 3.2-5145.5 or 2 VAC 5-
595, Regulations Governing the 
Manufacturing and Sale of Products 
that Contain Industrial Hemp Extracts 
Intended for Human Consumption 

Unless 
otherwise 
provided for 
in Section 6 
of this 
document, 
$500 

Unless otherwise 
provided for in 
Section 6 of this 
document, $2,000 

 

SECTION 7: RECOVERY OF CIVIL PENALTIES 
In accordance with the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-4800 et seq. of the Code), the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services will take all appropriate and cost-effective actions to aggressively collect all 
accounts receivable, including the non-payment of civil penalties.   


