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I. Issue 
 

In accordance with 18 VAC 48-70-100 of the Common Interest Community 
Ombudsman Regulations, the Board may waive or refund the $25 filing fee that 
must accompany the Notice of Final Adverse Decision. Such waiver or refund is 
permitted if the Board finds that the payment of the filing fee will cause undue 
harm or financial hardship. The Waiver of Filing Fee Request Form currently 
requests an explanation as to why paying the filing fee would cause undue 
financial hardship. 

 
In order to provide an objective method for determining the 

appropriateness of waiving or refunding the filing fee, the Board requested at its 
June 27, 2013, Board meeting that staff conduct research and prepare a 
recommendation wherein the federal poverty guidelines be used as the basis for 
determining financial hardship. 

 
II. Applicable Regulations and Statutes 

 
18 VAC 48-70-100 of the Common Interest Community Ombudsman 
Regulations states: 

 
“In accordance with § 54.1-2354.4 B of the Code of Virginia, the board 
may, for good cause shown, waive or refund the filing fee upon a 
finding that payment of the filing fee will cause undue financial 
hardship for the complainant.” 
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§ 54.1-2354.4(B) of the Code of Virginia states: 
 

A complainant may give notice to the Board of any final adverse decision 
in accordance with regulations promulgated by the Board. The notice 
shall be filed within 30 days of the final adverse decision, shall be in 
writing on forms prescribed by the Board, shall include copies of all 
records pertinent to the decision, and shall be accompanied by a $25 
filing fee. The fee shall be collected by the Director and paid directly into 
the state treasury and credited to the Common Interest Community 
Management Information Fund pursuant to § 54.1-2354.2. The Board 
may, for good cause shown, waive or refund the filing fee upon a finding 
that payment of the filing fee will cause undue financial hardship for the 
member. The Director shall provide a copy of the written notice to the 
association that made the final adverse decision. 

 
III. Policy 

 
The U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) Poverty 

Guidelines will be used by the Board to establish the threshold for whether a filing 
fee will be waived or refunded as a result of financial hardship. The Poverty 
Guidelines for the most recent or current, whichever is applicable, calendar year 
will be used. The HHS Poverty Guidelines can be found at 
http://www.aspe.hhs.gov/. 

 
In order to determine whether an individual requesting the waiver or 

refund of the filing fee is at or below the HHS Poverty Guidelines, he shall 
be required to submit supporting documentation that provides proof of 
income. Such documentation may include: 

 
• Recent tax return form 
• W-2 form 
• Letter from an employer, welfare officer, case worker, or Social 

Security Administration office indicating annual income. Such 
letter must be on agency/company letterhead and must include 
the verifier’s signature and contact phone number for verification 
purposes. 

 
The Board authorizes staff to approve a waiver or refund of the filing 

fee if proof of income submitted is at or below the then-current HHS Poverty 
Guidelines. Board staff may request additional information as needed in 
order to ensure compliance with this policy. Should Board staff be unable to 
satisfactorily affirm that the proof of income submitted complies with this 
policy, the request for waiver or refund will not be approved. The individual 
requesting a waiver or refund, or Board staff, may request that the Board 
consider the request for waiver or refund in the event that the supporting 
documentation is not sufficient or a determination cannot be reasonably 
made based on the information submitted. 

 
In accordance with the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2- 

http://www.aspe.hhs.gov/
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3700 et seq.), the referenced supporting documentation is exempt from 
public disclosure. 
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