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Purpose

The purpose of this document is to clarify what branch pilots are required to provide as proof of a
satisfactory physical examination conducted within the immediately preceding 60 days of renewal.

Background

§ 54.1-906 of the Code of Virginia mandates all licenses issued by the Board shall expire on
December 31 of the year in which issued. Every pilot who holds a license as a branch pilot shall
appear before the Board every twelve months, and, if the Board deems him qualified, it shall
renew his license, which shall continue his term of office for one year following each renewal.
Upon each renewal he shall appear before the clerk before whom he originally qualified, and
renew his oath of office, but the bond given by him shall remain in force.

18VAC45-20-20 License Renewal.

A. Each pilot seeking renewal of his license shall complete a renewal application, comply with the
provisions of these sections, and appear before the board or its License Renewal Committee
which shall determine if he possesses the qualifications to be renewed.

B. Any limited branch pilot seeking to renew his license shall meet the following standards:

1. Furnish to the board evidence of a satisfactory physical examination conducted within the
immediately preceding 60 days;

2. Furnish to the board evidence that he has transited the waters embraced by his license
during the preceding 12 months;

3. After three years of licensure as a limited branch pilot, possess a valid First Class Pilot
License issued by the United States Coast Guard for the same waters as his limited
branch. Any such federal license acquired after January 1994 shall included an
Automated Radar Plotting Aids (ARPA) radar certificate; and

4. Pay alicense renewal fee of $60. Each check or money order is to be made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees shall be non-refundable.
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C. Any full branch pilot seeking to renew his license shall meet the following standards:

1.

Possess a valid unlimited Federal Inland Masters License with First Class Pilot
endorsement issued by the United States Coast Guard for the same waters as his branch;
any such federal license renewed or acquired after January 1994 shall include an
Automated Radar Plotting Aids (ARPA) radar certificate;

2. Furnish to the board evidence of a satisfactory physical examination conducted within the
immediately preceding 60 days;

3. Furnish to the board evidence that he has transited the waters embraced by his license
during the preceding 12 months, and that he has piloted 12 or more ships during that time,
at least six trips as a pilot within the first six months of the calendar year and six trips as a
pilot within the last six months of the calendar year;

4. Upon the showing of good cause, the board may waive the requirements of subdivision 3
of this subsection when in its judgment the pilot is otherwise qualified;

5. Qualify in accordance with § 51.1-906 of the Code of Virginia; and

6. Pay a license renewal fee of $60. Each check or money order is to be made payable to the
Treasurer of Virginia. All fees shall be nonrefundable.

Summary

Pilots must pass the required Merchant Mariner Credential Medical Evaluation to obtain a U.S. Coast
Guard First Class Pilot License or an Unlimited Federal Inland Master’s License with First Class Pilot
endorsement, as required by 18VAC45-20-20B.3, and 18VAC45-20-20C.1.

Submission of a copy of the (verifying) Medical Practitioner Recommendation of the U.S. Department
of Homeland Security, U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Credential Medical Evaluation Report
complies with 18VAC45-20-20B.1 and 18VAC45-20-20C.2.



