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18 VAC 135-20-80.  Application fees. 
 
 A.   All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the 

board or its agent is the date which will be used to determine whether it is on time. 
 
 B. Application fees are as follows: 
 
  Salesperson by education and examination............................................. $75.00 150.00 
  Salesperson by reciprocity........................................................................ $64.00 150.00 
  Salesperson’s or associate broker’s license as a 
      business entity ...................................................................................... $75.00 190.00 
  Broker by education and examination..................................................... $85.00 190.00 
  Broker by reciprocity................................................................................ $85.00 190.00 
  Broker concurrent license......................................................................... $65.00 140.00 
  Firm license.............................................................................................$125.00 250.00 
  Branch office license................................................................................ $65.00 190.00 
  Transfer application................................................................................... $ 35.00 60.00 
  Activate application................................................................................... $ 35.00 60.00 
 
 C. The fee for examination or re-examination is subject to contracted charges to the 

board by an outside vendor.  These contracts are competitively negotiated and 
bargained for in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 11-35 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia).  Fees may be adjusted and charged to the candidate in 
accordance with these contracts.  The fee shall not exceed $90.00 per candidate. 

 
18 VAC 135-20-120.  Fees for renewal. 
 
 A. All fees for renewals are nonrefundable, and the date of receipt by the board 

or its agent is the date which will be used to determine whether it is on time. 
 
 B. Renewal fees are as follows: 
 
  Salesperson.................................................................................................. $39.00 65.00 
  Salesperson’s or associate broker’s license as a 
         business entity ........................................................................................ $39.00 90.00 
  Broker.......................................................................................................... $42.00 80.00 
  Concurrent Broker ...................................................................................... $42.00 80.00 
  Firm ........................................................................................................... $65.00 160.00 
  Branch Office.............................................................................................. $38.00 90.00 
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18 VAC 135-20-140.  Failure to renew; reinstatement required. 
 
 A. All applicants for reinstatement must meet all requirements set forth in 18 VAC 135-

20-100.  Applicants for reinstatement of an active license must have completed the 
continuing education requirement in order to reinstate the license.  Applicants for 
reinstatement of an inactive license are not required to complete the continuing 
education requirement for license reinstatement. 

 
 B. If the requirements for renewal of a license, including receipt of the fee by the board, 

are not completed by the licensee within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the 
license, a reinstatement fee of $85.00 is required. as follows: 

 
  Salesperson...........................................................................................................$100.00 
  Salesperson’s or associate broker’s license as a 
         business entity .................................................................................................$135.00 
  Broker...................................................................................................................$120.00 
  Concurrent Broker ...............................................................................................$120.00 
  Firm ......................................................................................................................$245.00 
  Branch Office.......................................................................................................$135.00 
 
18 VAC 135-20-370. Fees. 
 
 A. The application fee for original certificate for a proprietary school shall be $75 190. 
 
 B. The renewal fee for proprietary school certificates expiring biennially on June 30 

shall be $38 90. 
 
 C. If the requirements for renewal of a proprietary school certificate, including 

receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed within 30 days of the expiration 
date noted on the certificate, a reinstatement fee of $85 135 is required.  A certificate 
may be reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date with payment of 
the reinstatement fee.  After one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any 
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements and apply as a new 
applicant. 

 
 D. The application for original instructor certificate shall be $100 190. 
 
 E. The renewal fee for an instructor certificate expiring biennially on June 30 

shall be $50 75. 
 

F. If the requirements for renewal of an instructor certificate, including receipt of 
the fee by the board, are not completed within 30 days of the expiration  

 
date on the certificate, a reinstatement fee of $85 110 is required.  A certificate may 
be reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date with payment of the 



Real Estate Board  
Final Regulations 
Adopted May 13, 2004 

reinstatement fee.  After one year, the certificate may not be reinstated under any 
circumstances and the applicant must meet all requirements and apply as a new 
applicant.  

 
 

I certify that this regulation is full, true, and correctly dated. 
 

________________________________________________ 
Signature        
Christine Martine, Executive Director    
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation  
Date:  ___________________________________________ 

 


