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I am in receipt of the attached regulations to amend the current regulations for Assisted
Living Facilities (ALFs) regarding minimum liability insurance. You have asked the Office of
the Attorney General to review and determine if the State Board of Social Services (“State
Board”) has the statutory authority to promulgate this regulation and if it comports with
applicable federal and state law.

Virginia Code § 63.2-217 mandates that the State Board promulgate regulations that are
necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 63.2 and Virginia Code § 63.2-1805 includes
requirements for the regulations promulgated by the State Board to in the ALF regulations,
including requirements for minimum liability insurance. The proposed amendments to these
regulations are necessary to reflect the changes to Virginia law by the adoption of Chapter 580 of
the 2023 Acts of Assembly (SB 1221), which also mandates that the regulations implementing
the provisions of Chapter 580 be implemented within 280 days of the enactment of Chapter 580.

Based on my review, it is my view that the State Board has the authority to promulgate
these regulations, subject to compliance with the provisions of Article 2 of the Administrative
Process Act (“APA”) and Executive Order 19 (2022) and has not exceeded that authority.
Because these regulations are required under the Enactment Clause of Chapter 580 to be
implemented within 280 days of the enactment of Chapter 580, these regulations are emergency
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regulations under Virginia Code § 2.2-4011(B). Chapter 580 requires the State Board to exercise
discretion in determining the minimum liability insurance amounts; therefore, these regulations
are not exempt under Virginia Code § 2.2-4006.A.4. To date, the Board has not yet acted on
these regulations; and the Agency Background Document available on TownHall reflects the
anticipated future date of Board action.

Under Virginia Code § 2.2-4012, these emergency regulations shall be effective upon
approval by the Governor and filing with the Registrar of Regulations as no later effective date
has been specified; however, amended regulation 22 VAC 40-73-45.A has a delayed date of 180
days from the effective date of the regulations for ALFs to obtain the required minimum liability
insurance coverage based on the ALF’s resident capacity. These regulations shall remain
effective for an 18-month period. If the State Board intends to continue regulating the subject
matter beyond the 18-month period from the effective date, the State Board must replace these
emergency regulations with regulations duly promulgated under Article 2 of the APA. The
proposed regulations must be filed with the Registrar within 180 days after the effective date of
the emergency regulations.

If you have any questions or need additional information about this regulation, please
contact me at 786-6005.

cc: Kim F. Piner, Esq.

Attachment



Project 7763 - Emergency/NOIRA
Department of Social Services

Minimum Liability Insurance for Assisted Living Facilities

22VAC40-73-45. Minimum-amount-forliability Liability insurance disclosure.

agreementrequired-by-22VAC40-73-390-is-as—follews: As of (insert a date 180 days after the

effective date of the reqgulation), the facility shall maintain liability insurance coverage according

to the following licensed capacity tiers:

lossesfrom-the-negligent-acts-of the facility-and Tier I: A minimum of $250,000 for facilities

licensed for 25 residents or less:

from-the negligent-acts-of-the-facility- Tier Il: A minimum of $400,000 for facilities licensed

for 26 but no more than 75 residents;

3. Tier lll: A minimum of $500.000 for facilities licensed for 76 but no more than 150

residents: or

4. Tier IV: A minimum of $1,000,000 for facilities licensed for 151 or more residents.

and provide, upon request of the prospective resident or resident and legal representative, if any,

a statement that the facility maintains liability insurance in force to compensate residents or other




individuals for injuries and losses from the negligent acts of the facility. The statement shall be

made on the liability insurance statement form provided by the department.

22VACA40-73-50. Disclosure.

A. The assisted living facility shall prepare and provide a statement to the prospective resident
and his legal representative, if any, that discloses information about the facility. The statement

shall be on a form developed by the department and shall:
1. Disclose information fully and accurately in plain language;

2. Be provided in advance of admission and prior to signing an admission agreement or

contract;

3. Be provided upon request; and

4. Disclose the following information, which shall be kept current:
a. Name of the facility;
b. Name of the licensee;

¢. Ownership structure of the facility (e.g., individual, partnership, corporation, limited

liability company, unincorporated association, or public agency);
d. Description of all accommodations, services, and care that the facility offers;

e. Fees charged for accommodations, services, and care, including clear information

about what is included in the base fee and all fees for additional accommodations,

services, and care;
f. Criteria for admission to the facility and restrictions on admission;

g. Criteria for transfer to a different living area within the same facility, including transfer

to another level or type of care within the same facility or complex;



h. Criteria for discharge;

i. Categories, frequency, and number of activities provided for residents;

j. General number, position types, and qualifications of staff on each shift;

k k. Whether or not the facility has an onsite emergency electrical power source for
the provision of electricity during an interruption of the normal electric power supply. If
the facility does have an onsite emergency electrical power source, the statement must
include (i) the items for which the source will supply power and (ii) whether or not staff
of the facility have been trained to maintain and operate the power source. For the
purposes of this subdivision, an onsite emergency electrical power supply shall include
both permanent emergency electrical power sources and portable emergency
electrical power sources, provided that such temporary electrical power supply source
remains on the premises of the facility at all times. Written acknowledgment of the
disclosure shall be evidenced by the signature or initials of the resident or his legal
representative immediately following the onsite emergency electrical power source

disclosure statement;

m- |. Notation that additional information about the facility that is included in the

resident agreement is available upon request; and



A m. The department's website address, with a note that additional information about

the facility may be obtained from the website.

B. Written acknowledgment of the receipt of the disclosure by the resident or his legal

representative shall be retained in the resident's record.
C. The disclosure statement shall also be available to the general public, upon request.
22VAC40-73-390. Resident agreement with facility.

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a written agreement/acknowledgment of
notification dated and signed by the resident or applicant for admission or the appropriate legal

representative, and by the licensee or administrator. This document shall include the following:
1. Financial arrangement for accommodations, services, and care that specifies:

a. Listing of specific charges for accommodations, services, and care to be made to
the individual resident signing the agreement, the frequency of payment, and any rules

relating to nonpayment;

b. Description of all accommodations, services, and care that the facility offers and any

related charges;

c. For an auxiliary grant recipient, a list of services included under the auxiliary grant

rate;

d. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or deposit payment and the refund
policy for such payment, except that recipients of auxiliary grants may not be charged

an advance payment or deposit payment;

e. The policy with respect to increases in charges and length of time for advance notice

of intent to increase charges;



f. If the ownership of any personal property, real estate, money or financial investments
is to be transferred to the facility at the time of admission or at some future date, it

shall be stipulated in the agreement; and

g. The refund policy to apply when transfer of ownership, closing of facility, or resident

transfer or discharge occurs.

2. Requirements or rules to be imposed regarding resident conduct and other restrictions

or special conditions.

3. Those actions, circumstances, or conditions that would result or might result in the

resident's discharge from the facility.
4. Specific acknowledgments that:

a. Requirements or rules regarding resident conduct, other restrictions, or special

conditions have been reviewed by the resident or his legal representative;

b. The resident or his legal representative has been informed of the policy regarding

the amount of notice required when a resident wishes to move from the facility;

c. The resident has been informed of the policy required by 22VACA40-73-840
regarding pets living in the facility;

d. The resident has been informed of the policy required by 22VAC40-73-860 K
regarding weapons;

e. The resident or his resident's legal representative or responsible individual, as
stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H, has reviewed § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia,

Rights and Responsibilities of Residents of Assisted Living Facilities, and that the

provisions of this statute have been explained to-him;



f. The resident or his resident's legal representative or responsible individual, as

stipulated in 22VAC40-73-550 H, has reviewed and-had-explained-te-him the facility's

policies and procedures for implementing § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia;

g. The resident has been informed and-had-explained-to-him-that-he that the resident

may refuse release of information regarding his the resident's personal affairs and

records to any individual outside the facility, except as otherwise provided in law and
except in case of his the resident's transfer to another caregiving facility,

notwithstanding any requirements of this chapter,;

h. The resident has been informed that interested residents may establish and
maintain a resident council, that the facility is responsible for providing assistance with
the formation and maintenance of the council, whether or not such a council currently
exists in the facility, and the general purpose of a resident council (See 22VAC40-73-

830);

i. The resident has been informed of the bed hold policy in case of temporary transfer
or movement from the facility, if the facility has such a policy (See 22VAC40-73-420

B);

j- The resident has been informed of the policy or guidelines regarding visiting in the

facility, if the facility has such a policy or guidelines (See 22VAC40-73-540 C);

k. The resident has been informed of the rules and restrictions regarding smoking on

the premises of the facility, including that which is required by 22VAC40-73-820;

I. The resident has been informed of the policy regarding the administration and

storage of medications and dietary supplements;

m. The resident, upon request, has been notified in writing whether-ernet that the

facility maintains liability insurance that provides atdeast the minimum amount of



coverage established-by-the-board-for-disclosure-purpeses set forth in 22VAC40-73-
45 to compensate residents or other individuals for injuries and losses from negligent
acts of the facility. The-fasility shall-state-in-the-notificationthe-minimum-amount-of
coverage-established-by-the-board-in 22VAC40-73-46- The written notification must

be on a form developed by the department; and

n. The resident has received written assurance that the facility has the appropriate
license to meet his the resident's care needs at the time of admission, as required by

22VAC40-73-310 D.

B. Copies of the signed agreement/acknowledgment and any updates as noted in subsection
C of this section shall be provided to the resident and, as appropriate, his resident's legal

representative and shall be retained in the resident's record.

C. The original agreement/acknowledgment shall be updated whenever there are changes to
any of the policies or information referenced or identified in the agreement/acknowledgment and
dated and signed by the licensee or administrator and the resident or his resident's legal

representative.

FORMS (22VAC40-73)

ALF Liability Insurance Statement, xxx-xx-xxxx-xx-eng (eff. xx/xx)




Assisted Living Facility Liability Insurance Statement
Required by the Virginia Department of Social Services

Name of Facility:

Name of Licensee:

Facility Address:

Telephone Number: (__)

This facility maintains at least (Select amount) in liability insurance coverage to
compensate residents or other individuals for injuries or losses from negligent acts
of the facility in accordance with this facility’s licensed capacity as required under
Virginia Code § 63.2-1805 and 22VAC40-73-45.

Tiers Minimum Amount of
Per Licensed Capacity Liability Insurance
Tier | (1-25 residents): $250,000
Tier 1l (26-75 residents): $400,000
Tier lll (76-150 residents): $500,000
Tier IV (151 or more residents): $1,000,000

XXX-XX-XXX-XX-€Ng (XX/XX)



