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Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

Pursuant to the 2014 reauthorization of the federal Child Care and Development Block 

Grant Act (CCDBG), the State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to 1) establish a 

twelve-month presumptive eligibility period, 2) require on-site inspection of all providers 

receiving subsidies, 3) require health and safety training of provider staff, 4) require first aid and 

CPR certification, 5) establish provider-to-child ratios and group size limits, 6) establish a 

gradual phase-out of the program when income eligibility is lost, 7) expedite the entry of 

children experiencing homelessness into the program, 8) start the beginning date of service 

payment to correspond with the application approval date, 9) no longer allow out-of-state 

providers to participate in the program, 10) allow administrative disqualification of a recipient 

from the program, and 11) require a declaration from recipients that their assets are below a 

certain threshold. 

Result of Analysis 

Although the proposed regulation imposes additional costs on the Department of Social 

Services (DSS) and child care providers, the benefits likely exceed the costs as the regulation is 

necessary for Virginia to continue to receive approximately $119 million in federal funds. 
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Estimated Economic Impact 

CCDBG imposed a number of new requirements on states primarily to strengthen its dual 

role as both a major early childhood education program and a work support for low-income 

families. Child care assistance helps parents afford reliable child care, which can help them gain 

and maintain stable employment. In order to continue to receive federal funding under the Child 

Care and Development Fund (CCDF) subsidy program, Virginia will need to ensure that it has 

adopted all of these requirements. Virginia receives about $119 million in federal CCDF funds 

per fiscal year and provides approximately $48 million in state and local funds and 

approximately $17 million in pre-K expenditures counted as state match and maintenance effort.1 

Twelve-month continuous eligibility 

The CCDBG requires that eligible families retain enrollment in the program for 12 

months. Thus, the Board proposes to adopt a presumption of eligibility for not less than 12 

months before the state re-determines eligibility. This presumption is subject to certain 

conditions (e.g. the family income must stay below the federal threshold of 85% of state median 

income, there could be no substantiated intentional program violations, the recipient must stay a 

resident of Virginia, etc.). According to the Board staff, average length of stay in the program 

currently is 7 to 8 months. Providing payments for an additional 4 to 5 months beyond the 

current average length of stay will add to program outlays. However, CCDF is a block grant in 

that the total dollar amount available to Virginia is capped. Although the fund is currently 

reported to have enough resources to continue serving each month the current number of children 

being served, when there are no funds left in the program, newer applicants may be placed on a 

waiting list or if there is a list it could get longer. 

A presumption of eligibility for 12 months will benefit the recipients already in the 

program as they would be allowed to stay in the program for a longer period. The Board plans to 

offset the additional outlays by managing the caseloads through attrition and by controlling the 

rate of entry into the program. Therefore, the additional outlays, if they exceed the current 

available resources in the fund, may create a waiting list or extend it. Existing recipients will 

receive benefits longer while new recipients may be delayed getting into the program. When 

some individuals cannot get into the program because some other recipients are allowed to stay 

                                                           
1 Source: Department of Social Services  
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longer, a negative economic effect may spill over to other related programs. For example, if a 

parent is on the waiting list and cannot afford child care, his or her transition to a paying job 

might be delayed causing him or her to continue to stay in the Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF) program. DSS expects little spill over because families whose incomes exceed 

the TANF income limits may receive an additional 12 months of transitional child care 

assistance and only if resources are not available to serve them. 

According to a study2, research suggests longer authorizations reduce the risk of losing 

benefits, supporting stable parental employment and continuity of care for the child. As a result, 

twelve-month continuous authorization will support children’s development by providing 

continuity of care and by providing more stability for families who receive assistance. It will also 

provide more stable income for providers during a recipient’s 12-month authorization period for 

children in their care. 

It is expected that the change will also reduce the local department of social services 

administrative requirements of implementing the program. The proposed regulations will reduce 

the number of required case actions during a recipient’s 12-month eligibility period; however, 

child care workers will be responsible for helping families understand child development issues 

that can impact their provider selection and they will be required to provide more information on 

the compliance record of the provider selected by the family. 

On-site Inspections of Unlicensed Subsidy Providers 

The CCDBG requires that all providers that participate in the program be inspected 

annually. Currently, unlicensed providers are not inspected.  Under the proposed changes, 

unlicensed providers would have to submit to monitoring visits as required by federal law in 

order to continue receiving child care subsidies. The cost of this requirement includes the costs 

of 15 additional staff in the Division of Licensing Program hired to date to inspect unlicensed 

subsidy providers. Approximately $2.8 million of funding was provided through HB1570 of the 

2015 General Assembly for this cost.3 The proposed on-site inspections may provide 

disincentives to some providers to stop participating in the program due to actual or perceived 

additional costs of the inspections or to demand higher rates. The health and safety standards and 

                                                           
2 http://www.clasp.org/resources-and-publications/publication-1/ccdbg-guide-for-states-final.pdf 
3 http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=151&typ=bil&val=hb1570 

http://www.clasp.org/resources-and-publications/publication-1/ccdbg-guide-for-states-final.pdf
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=151&typ=bil&val=hb1570
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inspection requirements for child care providers participating in the subsidy program will likely 

however ensure greater protection of families and children served through the program. 

Health and Safety Training 

The CCDBG mandates specific department-approved health and safety training, during 

preservice or orientation periods and ongoing, for all subsidy providers. Currently, the training is 

provided at no cost to caregivers. The only cost is to cover wages, if required, while the training 

is being taken. As a result, child care providers may incur costs to pay staff for time required to 

take the federally mandated training. According to the Board staff, the requirement for 10 hours 

of orientation training may have a potential impact of $107.90 per person, based on the cost of 

wages for employees.4 Up to 20,000 individuals may be required to take this training. To the 

extent of the employee turnover in this industry, costs to providers would be higher than $107.90 

per position. In addition, the proposed regulation requires 16 hours of annual training and staff 

development activities. The orientation training may be counted toward the 16-hour ongoing 

training requirement. Currently, unlicensed providers receive only four hours of annual training. 

Therefore, unlicensed providers will incur costs associated with the additional 12 hours of 

training. The added compliance costs of the proposed training requirements may also provide 

disincentives to some providers to stop participating in the program or demand higher rates. On 

the other hand, the required training will likely improve compliance with health and safety 

standards and help ensure greater protection of families and children served through the program. 

 In addition, development of and regular updates to the required annual health and safety 

training will likely require some staff time. DSS estimates that approximately $25,000 per year 

may be required for this purpose but plans to absorb this cost within the existing resources. 

First Aid and CPR training 

The proposed regulation requires all staff working directly with children to complete 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid training. The CPR and first aid training may 

be counted toward the 16-hour ongoing training requirement. According to the board staff, if an 

individual is not currently first aid or CPR certified, an initial cost of $90-$100 may apply with 

                                                           
4 According to DSS, the potential fiscal impact is based on the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Department of Labor, 
which reported the annual mean wage for child care workers in Virginia as $22,440 or $10.79 per hour and $107.90 
for 10 hours. 
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an additional cost for recertification every two years. The costs vary depending on the 

organization that administers the certification. The Red Cross web site estimates that CPR and 

first aid training classes can be two to five hours long, depending on whether it is initial training 

or a refresher course. Consequently, licensees, or their staff, will likely incur costs for the time 

that these courses take. In fiscal year 2017, the program began making free first aid and CPR 

training available to staff in programs serving infants and toddlers and intends to continue 

offering assistance in this area in the future. 

Provider-to-Child Ratios, Group Size Limits 

The CDDBG requires that states establish group size limits and appropriate provider-to-

child ratios primarily to improve health and safety protections afforded by the quality of care. 

The Board staff does not believe the proposed ratios for different age groups or group size limits 

will be a limiting factor for most providers but recognize that they could be. Normally, the 

licensing capacity is considered a major limiting factor. To the extent the proposed ratios are 

limiting factors to specific providers, they may have to drop some of their clients or hire 

additional staff to comply with the proposed ratios. 

As mentioned above, limiting the number of children per staff could improve health and 

safety of children. For example, in the case of a fire, young children could be evacuated more 

quickly if there are more adults responsible for fewer children. Having sufficient staff available 

to provide the supervision and individualized care that children need is also a critical component 

of high-quality child care. When one caregiver is responsible for only a small number of 

children, the caregiver is better able to offer one-on-one attention to each child and have more 

interactions that encourage language and healthy social-emotional development. According to a 

study5, research shows that both child development and caregiving quality improves when child-

provider ratios and group sizes (i.e., the number of children assigned to a caregiver or team of 

caregivers in a classroom, or well-defined space within a larger room) in child care settings are 

smaller. 

Phase-out of Services 

                                                           
5 http://www.clasp.org/resources-and-publications/publication-1/ccdbg-guide-for-states-final.pdf 

http://www.clasp.org/resources-and-publications/publication-1/ccdbg-guide-for-states-final.pdf
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The CDDBG requires that families who, at redetermination, exceed initial income 

eligibility limits, be gradually phased-out of the program. The phase-out is not currently based on 

specific criteria as DSS is still working on developing these factors. There is insufficient data on 

which to base an estimate at this time. The federally mandated phase-out period will help 

families gradually assume a higher share of the cost of child care as their income increases. 

However, gradual phase-out may also lead to newcomers in the Fee Child Care Program being 

placed on a waiting list and delay their transition into a gainful employment. 

Children Experiencing Homelessness 

The CDDBG requires expedited enrollment of children experiencing homelessness, 

pending the compilation of required documentation. While this change will help parents of 

children and children themselves experiencing homelessness start receiving subsidy and care 

faster, it could potentially delay other recipients’ access to the program if the total funds are 

insufficient to provide a subsidy to everyone who would qualify. 

Beginning Date of Service Payment 

The beginning date of service payment is amended to begin payment for services 

effective with the date the applicant is determined eligible and a vendor that meets all program 

participation requirements is selected. In the past, the payments began as of the date when the 

signed application was received. According to DSS, payments for retroactive time periods 

created some administrative difficulties. With the proposed change, the payments will start when 

eligibility is determined. This change will ensure that payments are not made prior to the 

provider’s approval by the department as a vendor and streamline the administration of 

payments.  

Program guidelines state that eligibility determinations is to occur within 30 days from 

the date of the application. Thus, this change will likely reduce the amount of subsidy payments 

by up to a month for new recipients and provide some savings or help serve the individuals on 

the waiting list sooner. 

This provision will also provide incentives to the applicants to submit all supporting 

documentation needed to determine eligibility as soon as possible. 

Other 
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The proposed regulation eliminates the approval process for out of state providers to 

participate in the program. With implementation of the new federal requirements for background 

checks and inspections of providers participating in the program, the agency will no longer be 

able to approve out of state providers for participation in the program. According to the Board 

staff, there were a handful of out-of-state providers that are no longer allowed to serve the 

program recipients. 

The proposed regulation establishes a process for administrative disqualification from the 

program for child care recipients if there is clear and convincing evidence that fraud was 

committed, but the situation does not meet the Commonwealth Attorney’s criteria for 

prosecution. Disqualification for an intentional program violation is included as a reason for 

disqualification from the program. The administrative disqualification process and resulting 

disqualification from program participation will enable the program to take action when an 

intentional program violation in committed, but may not meet the dollar level established by 

some Commonwealth Attorneys for prosecution.  

 The proposed regulation requires a declaration from families receiving assistance that 

their assets do not exceed $1 million in value. This change would effect if any a very small 

number of recipients. 

Businesses and Entities Affected 

Child care providers, eligible families and children and local departments of social 

services are affected by the proposed regulation.  In fiscal year 2016, 22,085 families and 36,640 

children were served with subsidy dollars at some time during the fiscal year. There are 

approximately 3,000 child care providers who participate in the program. There are 120 local 

departments of social services. 

Localities Particularly Affected 

The proposed changes apply statewide. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed on-site inspection requirements led to the creation of 15 full time inspector 

positions. Health and safety training will create demand for state staff time to develop and update 

the training curriculum and demand for provider staff time to take the training. However, the 

proposed changes also add or may add to provider compliance costs (e.g. health and safety 
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training, on-site inspections, provider-to-child ratios and group size limits, etc.) and may 

consequently discourage participation in the program leading to a decrease in demand for 

provider staff time. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 To the extent additional compliance costs are imposed on child care providers their asset 

values would decrease. 

Real Estate Development Costs 

 No impact on real estate development costs is expected. 

Small Businesses:  

  Definition 

 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as “a 

business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less than $6 

million.” 

  Costs and Other Effects 

 Most if not all of approximately 3,000 affected child care providers are believed 

to be small businesses. The costs and other effects on them are the same as discussed 

above. 

  Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

 There is no known alternative method that minimizes the adverse impact on the 

state and child care providers while accomplishing the same goals. 

Adverse Impacts:   

  Businesses:   

The proposed regulation does not affect non-small businesses. 

  Localities: 

 The proposed regulation should not affect the localities. 

  Other Entities: 

 The proposed regulation imposes costs on the state to conduct on-site inspections 

of unlicensed child care providers. 
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Legal Mandates 

 
General:  The Department of Planning and Budget has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Code § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments.  Further the report should include but not be limited to:  (1) the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment positions to 
be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5)the impact on the use and value of private property.  
 

Adverse impacts:   Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04(C):  In the event this economic impact analysis reveals that 
the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact on businesses or would impose a significant 
adverse economic impact on a locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning and 
Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the House Committee on Appropriations, and 
the Senate Committee on Finance within the 45-day period. 
 

If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that 
such economic impact analyses include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject 
to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for 
small businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation on 
affected small businesses, and  (4) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation.  Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding that a 
proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules 
shall be notified. 

 

ooo 


