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MEMORANDUM

TO: Emily McClellan
Regulatory Supervisor
Department of Medical Assistance Services

FROM: Michelle A. L’HommedieV/M\

Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General

DATE: April 4, 2023

SUBJECT: Emergency Regulations — Private Duty Nursing Services under Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (5795/9603)

You have asked the Office of the Attorney General to review and determine if
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) has the statutory authority to promulgate
these regulations and if they comport with applicable state law. I have reviewed the attached
emergency regulations posted to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall that would update the
Department’s regulations on private duty nursing (PDN) services under the Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit, as mandated by the General Assembly
in Item 304.MM (1) and (2) in the 2022 Appropriations Act.

Based on my review, it is this Office’s view that the Director of DMAS, acting on behalf
of the Board of Medical Assistance Services pursuant to Virginia Code § 32.1-324, has the
authority to promulgate these regulations, subject to compliance with the provisions of Article 2
of the Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Virginia Code § 2.2-4000 e seq., and has not
exceeded that authority.

The authority for these emergency regulations is based on Virginia Code § 2.2-4011.B
because DMAS has been given authority to implement the legislative mandate in the 2022
Appropriations Act, Item 304.MM within 280 days and the regulations are not otherwise exempt
under Virginia Code § 2.24006.A.4. These emergency regulations will enable the Director to



comply with Item 304.MM in the 2022 Appropriations Act, consistent with the authority set
forth in Virginia Code § 32.1-324.

Under Virginia Code § 2.2-4012, these emergency regulations shall be effective upon
approval by the Governor and filing with the Registrar of Regulations as no later effective date
has been specified. These regulations shall remain effective for an 18-month period. If DMAS
intends to continue regulating the subject matter beyond the 18-month period from the effective
date, DMAS must replace these emergency regulations with regulations duly promulgated under
Article 2 of the APA. A Notice of Intended Regulatory Action relating to the proposed
replacement regulations must be filed with the Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of
these emergency regulations; and the proposed regulations must be filed with the Registrar
within 180 days after the effective date of the emergency regulations.

If you have any questions or need additional information about these regulations, please
contact me at 786-6005.

cc: Kim F. Piner, Esq.

Attachment



Project 6862 - Emergency/NOIRA
Department of Medical Assistance Services
Private Duty Nursing Services Under EPSDT
12VAC30-50-30. Services not provided to the categorically needy.
The following services and devices are not provided to the categorically needy:

1. Chiropractor services.

2. Private duty nursing services unless an individual receives services under EPSDT or a

§ 1915(c) waiver.

3. Dentures.

4. Other diagnostic and preventive services other than those provided elsewhere in this
plan: diagnostic services (12VAC30-50-95).

5. (Reserved.)

6. Special tuberculosis related services under § 1902(z)(2)(F) of the Social Security Act

(the Act).
7. Respiratory care services (in accordance with § 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act).

8. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished during a presumptive eligibility

period by a qualified provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act).

9. Any other medical care and any type of remedial care recognized under state law
specified by the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services: personal care services in
recipient's home, prescribed in accordance with a plan of treatment and provided by a

qualified person under supervision of a registered nurse.



12VAC30-50-70. Services or devices not provided to the medically needy.

1. Chiropractor services.

2. Private duty nursing services unless an individual receives services under EPSDT or a

§ 1915(c) waiver.

3. Dentures.

4. Diagnostic or preventive services other than those provided elsewhere in the State Plan.

5. Inpatient hospital services, skilled nursing facility services, and intermediate care facility

services for individuals 65 years of age or older in institutions for mental diseases.

6. Intermediate care facility services (other than such services in an institution for mental
diseases) for persons determined in accordance with § 1905(a)(4)(A) of the Social
Security Act (the Act), to be in need of such care in a public institution, or a distinct part

thereof, for persons with intellectual or developmental disability or related conditions.

7. (Reserved.)

8. Special tuberculosis services under § 1902(z)(2)(F) of the Act.

9. Respiratory care services (in accordance with § 1920(e)(9)(A) through (C) of the Act).

10. Ambulatory prenatal care for pregnant women furnished during a presumptive

eligibility period by a qualified provider (in accordance with § 1920 of the Act).

11. Personal care services in a recipient's home, prescribed in accordance with a plan of

treatment and provided by a qualified person under supervision of a registered nurse.

12. Home and community care for functionally disabled elderly individuals, as defined,

described and limited in 12VAC30-50-470.

13. Personal care services furnished to an individual who is not an inpatient or resident of

a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for intellectually or developmentally



disabled persons, or institution for mental disease that are (i) authorized for the individual
by a physician in accordance with a plan of treatment, (ii) provided by an individual who is
qualified to provide such services and who is not a member of the individual's family, and

(iii) furnished in a home.

12VAC30-50-132. Private Duty Nursing Services Under EPSDT.

A. This section applies to private duty nursing services for eligible individuals in fee-for-service

programs. Individuals enrolled with managed care health plans receive private duty nursing

services through their plans.

B. Service description. Private duty nursing services are individualized, medically necessary

nursing care services consisting of skilled interventions, assessment, monitoring and teaching of

those who are or will be involved in nursing care for the individual. Private duty nursing services

under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit are provided

when appropriate_and medically necessary to correct and ameliorate a member's health

conditions. As opposed to intermittent care provided under Skilled or Home Health Nursing,

private duty nursing is provided on a continuous or reqularly scheduled basis according to medical

necessity. Private duty nursing care provided can be based in the individual’'s home or any setting

in which normal life activities take place. Congregate private duty nursing is defined as private

duty nursing provided to two or more individuals who require private duty nursing in the same

setting. Services are provided in accordance with 42 CFR 440.80.

C. Service components. Private duty nursing service is the management and administration

of the treatment and care of an individual by a licensed nurse, within the scope of practice as

outlined by the Virginia Board of Nursing, but is not limited to:




1. Assessments (e.d., respiratory assessment, patency of airway, vital signs, feeding

assessment, seizure activity, hydration, level of consciousness, constant observation for

comfort and pain management);

2. Administration of treatment related to technological dependence (e.g., ventilator,

tracheotomy, bi-level positive airway pressure (BiPAP), intravenous (IV) administration of

medications and fluids, feeding pumps, nasal stints, central lines);

3. Monitoring and maintaining parameters/machinery (e.q., oximetry, blood pressure, lab

draws, end tidal CO2s, ventilator and tube feeding pumps);

4. Interventions (e.q., medications, suctioning, I\V's, hyper alimentation, enteral feeds,

ostomy care, tracheostomy care); and

5. Exclusions from DMAS' coverage of PDN services:

a. Not custodial or personal care delivered for the purpose of helping with activities of

daily living (ADLs), including dressing, feeding, bathing or transferring from a bed to a

chair, and which can safely and effectively be performed by trained non-medical

personnel.

b. Monitoring for medically-controlled disorders as part of "maintenance of care".

c. Respite services.

D. Provider qualifications.

1. Private duty nursing providers shall meet the following requirements:

a. Operate from a business office;

b. Disclose ownership, if requested;

c. Attest to the ability to document and maintain individual case records in accordance

with state and federal requirements.




2. Private duty nursing must be provided by a registered nurse (RN) or licensed practical

nurse (LPN) employed by (or subcontracted with) and supervised by a private duty nursing

provider enrolled with DMAS.

a. The RN PDN must possess the following qualifications:

(1) a license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and

(2) a satisfactory work history as evidenced by two (2) satisfactory reference checks

from prior job experience, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of

incapacitated or older adults or children, recorded in the nurse’s personnel file. If the

RN has worked for a single employer, one (1) satisfactory reference from a prior job

experience and one (1) personal reference both with no evidence of abuse, neglect,

or exploitation of an incapacitated or older adults or children is acceptable; and shall

submit to a criminal record check obtained through the Virginia State Police. If the

individual receiving services is a minor, the RN must also submit to a search of the

VDSS Child Protective (CPS) Central Registry. The provider shall not hire any RN with

findings of barrier crimes identified in 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or founded

complaints in the CPS Central Registry.

b. Licensed Practical Nurses shall meet the following requirements:

(1) licensed to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia;

(2) have a satisfactory work history as evidenced by two (2) satisfactory reference

checks from prior job experience, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or

exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or children, recorded in the nurse's

personnel file. If the LPN has worked for a single emplovyer, one (1) satisfactory

reference from a prior job experience and one (1) personal reference both with no




evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an incapacitated or older aduit is

acceptable; and

(3) submit to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services (CPS) Central Registry

if the individual receiving services is a minor child. The provider shall not hire any

persons who have been convicted of barrier crimes as defined in the Code of Virginia

or has a founded complaint confirmed by the CPS Central Registry.

3. The RN or LPN must have (i) a documented provider training program or (ii) at least six

months of related clinical nursing experience meeting the needs of the individual to receive

care. Regardless of whether a nurse has six months of experience or completes a provider

training course, the provider agency shall be responsible for assuring all nurses who are

assigned to an individual are competent in the care needs of that individual.

4. Nursing services must be provided under the supervision of a licensed, reqistered nurse

in the Commonwealth (a "RN supervisor").

a. RN supervisors shall meet the following requirements:

{1) Be verified as currently licensed to practice nursing in the Commonwealth.

(2) Have at least one year of verified related clinical nursing experience as a RN.

(3) Clinical experience may include work in an acute care hospital, public heaith clinic,

home health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or nursing facility.

(4) Have a satisfactory work history as evidenced by two (2) satisfactory reference

checks from prior job experience, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or

exploitation_of incapacitated or older adults or children, recorded in the nurse’s

personnel file. If the RN has worked for a single employer, one (1) satisfactory

reference from a prior job experience and one (1) personal reference both with no

evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an incapacitated or older adults or




children is acceptable; and shall submit to a criminal record check obtained through

the Virginia State Police. If the individual receiving services is a minor, the RN must

also submit to a search of the VDSS Child Protective (CPS) Central Regqistry. The

provider shall not hire any RN with findings of barrier crimes identified in 32.1-162.9:1

of the Code of Virginia or founded complaints in the CPS Central Registry.

b. As part of direct supervision, the RN supervisor shall make, at a minimum, a visit

every 30 days to ensure both quality and appropriateness of nursing services to

assess the individual's and the individual's representative's satisfaction with the

services being provided, to review the plan of care and to update and verify the most

current physician signed orders are in the home. When a delay occurs in the RN

supervisor's visits because the individual is unavailable, the reason for the delay shall

be documented in the individual's record, and the visit shall occur as soon as the

individual is available. Failure to meet this standard may result in DMAS' recovery of

payments made. Additional supervisory visits may be required under the following

circumstances: (i) at the provider's discretion; (ii) at the request of the individual when

a change in the individual's condition has occurred: (iii) any time the health, safety, or

welfare of the individual could be at risk; and (iv) at the request of the DMAS staff. The

RN is responsible for documentation of the visit's date, time and evaluation.

c. The Supervising RN shall:

(1) Use and foster a person centered planning team approach to nursing services;

(2) Ensure choice of services is made by the individual, legally authorized guardian,

or responsible party if a minor;

(3) Ensure personal goals of the individual are respected;




(4) Conduct the initial evaluation visit to initiate EPSDT PDN services in the primary

residence;

(5) Reqularly evaluate the individual’s status and nursing needs and notify the primary

care provider if the individual no longer meets criteria for PDN;

(6) Complete the Plan of Care (POC) and update as necessary for revisions;

(7) Assure provision of those services requiring substantial and specialized nursing

skill and that assigned nurses have the necessary licensure;

(8) Initiate appropriate preventive and rehabilitative nursing procedures:

(9) Perform an assessment, at least every 30 days (the monthly nursing assessment

cannot be made by the nurse providing care in the home); RN Monthly Supervisory

Visits shall be completed in the primary residence at least every other visit. Visits may

be conducted at school every other visit if necessary;

(10) Coordinate PDN services:

(11) Inform the physician and case manager as appropriate of changes in the

individual's condition and needs;

(12) Educate the individual and family/caregiver in meeting nursing and related goals;

(13) Supervise and educate other personnel involved in the individual’s care;

(14) Ensure that required documentation is in the individual’'s agency record:;

(15) Ensure that all employees are aware of the requirements to report suspected

abuse, neglect, or exploitation immediately to Adult Protective Services or Child

Protective Services, as appropriate. A civil penalty may be imposed on mandated

reporters who do not report suspected abuse, neqglect or exploitation to VDSS as

required;



(16) Ensure services are provided in a manner that is in the best interest of the

individual and does not endanger the individual’'s health, safety, or welfare;

(17) Recommend staff changes when needed;

(18) Report to DMAS or it's contractor any unethical or incompetent practices that

jeopardize public safety or cause a risk of harm to individuals, including household

issues that may jeopardize the safety of the PDN; and

(19) Ensure that all nurses and caregivers are aware that timesheets must be accurate

with arrival and departure time of the nurse and that falsifying timesheets is Medicaid

fraud.

d. Parents (natural, step-parent, adoptive, foster parent, or other legal guardian),

spouses, siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, adult children, or any person living

under the same roof with the individual shall not provide PDN services for the purpose

of Medicaid reimbursement for the individual.

E. Service limits. Private duty nursing services are limited to the hours of skilled nursing care

and medically-necessary supervision as specified in the Plan of Care signed by the child’s

physician (per Virginia Code § 54.1-2957 and § 54.1-2957.02, signature by a Nurse Practitioner

is acceptable in certain circumstances), and limited to the number of hours approved by DMAS

or its contractor through DMAS' service authorization form (DMAS-62). Authorization of the

number of medically necessary hours is based on assessing individuals’ medical and support

needs related to respiratory function, cardiovascular access and medications, wound care,

feeding. central nervous system function, assessments that require the skills of a medical

professional, toileting, and any other additional medicalyor support needs that require the skills of

a licensed clinician. These medical and support needs are encompassed in the DMAS-62, and

the number of hours approved will be based on medical needs final score, as detailed in the




DMAS-62. Individuals under 21 vears of age qualifying under EPSDT shall receive the services

described in excess of any State Plan limit, up to 24 hours per day, if services are determined to

be medically necessary to correct, ameliorate or maintain the member’s health condition, and are

prior authorized by the Department or its contractor.

12VAC30-50-170. Private duty nursing services.

Private duty nursing services are not provided unless an individual receives services under

EPSDT or a § 1915(c) waiver.

FORMS (12VAC30-50)

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, Virginia Long-Term Care Council {1994)(rev.
11/1/2018)

I.V. Therapy Implementation Form, DMAS-354 (eff. 6/1998)
Health Insurance Claim Form, Form HCFA-1500 (eff. 12/1990)

Certificate of Medical Necessity-Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies, DMAS-352 (rev.

7/2010)

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to Independently Manage Personal Attendant

Services in the CD-PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum (eff--8/2000)-(eff. 8/1/2005)




Comprehensive QOutpatient Rehab Facility Participation Agreement (undated; filed 11/2015)

Rehabilitation Hospital Participation Agreement (undated; filed 11/2015)

Medical Necessity Assessment and Private Duty Nursing Service Authorization Form

(DMAS 62)

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers.

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician services, shall be the lower of the
state agency fee schedule (12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public). Except as otherwise noted in this
section, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
individual practitioners. The state agency fee schedule is published on the Department of Medical

Assistance Services (DMAS) website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/searchcptcodes.

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services shall be the lower of the state
agency fee schedule or actual charge (charge to the general public) except that
emergency room services 99282-99284 with a principal diagnosis on the Preventable
Emergency Room Diagnosis List shall be reimbursed the rate for 99281. The Preventable
Emergency Room Diagnosis List shall be based on the list used for managed care
organization clinical efficiency rate adjustments.

2. Dentists' services. Dental services, dental provider qualifications, and dental service
limits are identified in 12VAC30-50-190. Dental services are paid based on procedure

codes, which are listed in the agency's fee schedule. Except as otherwise noted, state-

developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private individual

practitioners.

3. Mental health services.



a. Professional services furnished by nonphysicians as described in 12VAC30-50-150.
These services are reimbursed using current procedural technology (CPT) codes. The
agency's fee schedule rate is based on the methodology as described in subsection A

of this section.

(1) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists shall be reimbursed at 90% of

the reimbursement rate for psychiatrists in subdivision A 1 of this section.

(2) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed clinical social workers,
licensed professional counselors, licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or
licensed marriage and family therapists shall be reimbursed at 75% of the

reimbursement rate for licensed clinical psychologists.

b. Intensive in-home services are reimbursed on an hourly unit of service. The

agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that

date.

c. Therapeutic day treatment services are reimbursed based on the following units of
service: one unit equals two to 2.99 hours per day; two units equals three to 4.99 hours
per day; three units equals five or more hours per day. No room and board is included
in the rates for therapeutic day treatment. The agency's rates are set as of July 1,

2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

d. Therapeutic group home services (formerly called level A and level B group home
services) shall be reimbursed based on a daily unit of service. The agency's rates are

set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

e. Therapeutic day treatment or partial hospitalization services shall be reimbursed
based on the following units of service: one unit equals two to three hours per day; two

units equals four to 6.99 hours per day; three units equals seven or more hours per



day. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or

after that date.

f. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be reimbursed based on the following units
of service: one unit equals two to 3.99 hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99
hours per day; three units equals seven or more hours per day. The agency's rates

are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

g. Crisis intervention services shall be reimbursed on the following units of service:
one unit equals two to 3.99 hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99 hours per day;
three units equals seven or more hours per day. The agency's rates are set as of July

1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

h. Intensive community treatment services shall be reimbursed on an hourly unit of
service. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services
on or after that date.

i. Crisis stabilization services shall be reimbursed on an hourly unit of service. The
agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that
date.

j. Independent living and recovery services (previously called mental health skill
building services) shall be reimbursed based on the following units of service: one unit

equals one to 2.99 hours per day; two units equals three to 4.99 hours per day. The

agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that

date.
4. Podiatry.
5. Nurse-midwife services.

6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies.



Definitions. The following words and terms when used in this section shall have the

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment Regional Carrier rate as published
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services at

http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-

Payment/DMEPQOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-Schedule.html.

"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System, Medicare's
National Level Il Codes, HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by Ingenix,

as may be periodically updated.

a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee Medicaid reimbursement for DME.
b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used for DME services:

(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC
rate minus 10%. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME items subject to

the Medicare competitive bidding program shall be reimbursed the lower of:
(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10%; or
(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in Virginia markets.

(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency shall use the agency fee schedule
amount. The reimbursement rates for DME and supplies shall be listed in the DMAS
Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment (DME) and Supplies Listing and updated
periodically. The agency fee schedule shall be available on the agency website at

www.dmas.virginia.gov.

(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee schedule rate, the reimbursement

rate shall be the manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping and handling,



plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to the provider shall be the cost to the
provider minus all available discounts to the provider. Additional information specific
to how DME providers, including manufacturers who are enrolled as providers,
establish and document their costs for DME codes that do not have established rates

can be found in the relevant agency guidance document.

c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency fee schedule as it deems
appropriate and with notice to providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine

alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code that does not have a rate.

d. Certain durable medical equipment used for intravenous therapy and oxygen
therapy shall be bundled under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as
determined by the agency. Certain services or durable medical equipment such as
service maintenance agreements shall be bundled under specified procedure codes

and reimbursed as determined by the agency.

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, administered in one day,
shall be reimbursed at the established service day rate for the bundled durable medical
equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, consistent with the ingredient cost
as described in 12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and dispensing fee.
Multiple applications of the same therapy shall be included in one service day rate of
reimbursement. Multiple applications of different therapies administered in one day
shall be reimbursed for the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate as
follows: the most expensive therapy shall be reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second
and all subsequent most expensive therapies shall be reimbursed at 50% of cost.
Multiple therapies administered in one day shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy

service day rate plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient in the compound (at




the lowest ingredient cost methodology) plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing

fee.

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy shall have supplies or
components bundled under a service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood
gas levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy may have ancillary
components bundled with the main component for reimbursement. The
reimbursement shall be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or a total
amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. Such respiratory equipment shall
include oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction
machines. Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines may be

purchased based on the individual patient's medical necessity and length of need.

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be made for a combination of
services, routine maintenance, and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a
single reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient owned. Such bundled
agreements shall be reimbursed either monthly or in units per year based on the
individual agreement between the DME provider and DMAS. Such bundled
agreements may apply to, but not necessarily be limited to, either respiratory

equipment or apnea monitors.

7. Local health services.

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The agency's rates for clinical

laboratory services were set as of July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after
that date.

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory specimens, but do not perform

laboratory analysis (limited to payment for handling).



10. X-ray services.
11. Optometry services.

12. Reserved.

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost reimbursement for home health
services is eliminated. A rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth by

12VAC30-80-180.

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, hearing, language disorders

services when rendered to noninstitutionalized recipients.

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90, except for services in ambulatory

surgery clinics reimbursed under 12VAC30-80-35.
16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type | physicians.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter,
DMAS provides supplemental payments to Type | physicians for furnished services
provided on or after July 2, 2002. A Type | physician is a member of a practice group
organized by or under the control of a state academic health system or an academic
health system that operates under a state authority and includes a hospital, who has
entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of payments in accordance

with 42 CFR 447.10.

b. The methodology for determining the Medicare equivalent of the average

commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end

of the quarter.



d. Effective May 1, 2017, the supplemental payment amount for Type | physician
services shall be the difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise made for

physician services and 258% of Medicare rates.

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at Virginia freestanding

children’s hospitals.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter,
DMAS provides supplemental payments to Virginia freestanding children's hospital
physicians providing services at freestanding children's hospitals with greater than
50% Medicaid inpatient utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for furnished services
provided on or after July 1, 2011. A freestanding children's hospital physician is a
member of a practice group (i) organized by or under control of a qualifying Virginia
freestanding children’s hospital, or (ii} who has entered into contractual agreements
for provision of physician services at the qualifying Virginia freestanding children's
hospital and that is designated in writing by the Virginia freestanding children's hospital
as a practice plan for the quarter for which the supplemental payment is made subject
to DMAS approval. The freestanding children's hospital physicians also must have
entered into contractual agreements with the practice plan for the assignment of

payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10.

b. Effective July 1, 2015, the supplemental payment amount for freestanding children's
hospital physician services shall be the difference between the Medicaid payments
otherwise made for freestanding children's hospital physician services and 178% of
Medicare rates as defined in the supplemental payment calculation for Type |

physician services. Payments shall be made on the same schedule as Type |

physicians.



18. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians affiliated with Eastern

Virginia Medical Center.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter,
the Department of Medical Assistance Services provides supplemental payments to
physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center for furnished services
provided on or after October 1, 2012. A physician affiliated with Eastern Virginia
Medical Center is a physician who is employed by a publicly funded medical school
that is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who provides clinical
services through the faculty practice plan affiliated with the publicly funded medical
school, and who has entered into contractual arrangements for the assignment of

payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10.

b. Effective November 1, 2018, the supplemental payment amount shall be the
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise made for physician services and
145% of the Medicare rates. The methodology for determining the Medicare equivalent

of the average commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no later than 90 days after the end

of the quarter.

19. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at freestanding children's

hospitals serving children in Planning District 8.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter,
DMAS shall make supplemental payments for physicians employed at a freestanding
children's hospital serving children in Planning District 8 with more than 50% Medicaid
inpatient utilization in fiscal year 2014. This applies to physician practices affiliated with

Children's National Health System.



20.

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying physician services shall be the
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise made and 178% of Medicare
rates but no more than $551,000 for all qualifying physicians. The methodology for
determining allowable percent of Medicare rates is based on the Medicare equivalent

of the average commercial rate described in this chapter.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end
of the quarter. Any quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the approval

date shall be made no later than 90 days after the approval date.
Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned or operated clinics.

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS
provides supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate government-owned or
government-operated clinics for outpatient services provided to Medicaid patients on
or after July 2, 2002. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital but is organized
and operated to provide medical care to outpatients. Outpatient services include those
furnished by or under the direction of a physician, dentist, or other medical professional
acting within the scope of his license to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community services board. The state share

for supplemental clinic payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each qualifying nonstate

government-owned or government-operated clinic is determined by:

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference between the upper payment limit
attributed to each clinic according to subdivision 20 d of this subsection and the

amount otherwise actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program;



(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 20 b (1) of this subsection for

each qualifying clinic by the aggregate difference for all such qualifying clinics; and

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 20 b (2) of this subsection by
the aggregate upper payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined in
accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments made to such clinics other than

under this section.

c. Payments for furnished services made under this section will be made annually in a

lump sum during the last quarter of the fiscal year.

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit referred to in subdivision 20 b (3)
of this subsection, Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or government-
operated clinics will be divided by the "additional factor" whose calculation is described
in 12VAC30-80-190 B 2 in regard to the state agency fee schedule for Resource Based
Relative Value Scale. Medicaid payments will be estimated using payments for dates
of service from the prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. Additional

adjustments will be made for any program changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments.

21. Personal assistance services (PAS) or personal care services for individuals enrolied
in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in 12VAC30-60-200 or covered under Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT), and respite services covered
under EPSDT. These services are reimbursed in accordance with the state agency fee
schedule described in 12VAC30-80-190. The state agency fee schedule is published on
the DMAS website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov. The agency's rates, based upon one-

hour increments, were set as of July 1, 2020, and shall be effective for services on and

after that date.



22. Private duty nursing services covered under EPSDT are reimbursed based on an

hourly unit of service in accordance with the State Agency fee schedule. The fee schedule

is the same for both governmental and private providers and was set as of July 1, 2016

and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date. The state agency fee

schedule is published on the DMAS website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/

22. 23. Supplemental payments to state-owned or state-operated clinics.

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, DMAS shall make
supplemental payments to qualifying state-owned or state-operated clinics for
outpatient services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 1, 2015. Clinic means
a facility that is not part of a hospital but is organized and operated to provide medical
care to outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished by or under the
direction of a physician, dentist, or other medical professional acting within the scope

of his license to an eligible individual.

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each qualifying state-owned or
state-operated clinic is determined by calculating for each clinic the annual difference
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic according to subdivision 19

b of this subsection and the amount otherwise actually paid for the services by the
Medicaid program.
c¢. Payments for furnished services made under this section shall be made annually in

lump sum payments to each clinic.

d. To determine the upper payment limit for each clinic referred to in subdivision 19 b
of this subsection, the state payment rate schedule shall be compared to the Medicare

resource-based relative value scale nonfacility fee schedule per Current Procedural



Terminology code for a base period of claims. The base period claims shall be

extracted from the Medical Management Information System and exclude crossover

claims.

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the amounts using the same
methodology used under Part A of Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board furnished
by the facility. As of July 1, 2019, payments for hospice services in a nursing facility are 100% of
the rate that would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility services in that facility
for that individual. Hospice services shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery

and not the location of the agency's home office.

C. Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site facility fee shall be increased to 100%
of the Medicare rate and shall reflect changes annually based on changes in the Medicare rate.

Federally qualified health centers and rural health centers are exempt from this reimbursement

change.



