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Department of ical Assistance Services

FROM: Davis Cree,

Office of the Attorney General

DATE: April 6, 2022
SUBJECT: Emergency Regulation — Private Duty Nursing Services under EPSDT

You have asked the Office of the Attorney General to review and determine if
Department of Medical Assistance Services has the statutory authority to promulgate these
regulations and if they comport with applicable state law. 1 have reviewed the attached
emergency regulations posted to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall that would update the
Department’s regulations on private duty nursing (PDN) services under the Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit, as mandated by the General Assembly
in Item 317.MMM (1) and (2) in the 2021 Appropriations Act.

Based on my review, it is this Office’s view that the Director of the Department of
Medical Assistance Services, acting on behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance Services
pursuant to Virginia Code § 32.1-324, has the authority to promulgate these regulations, subject
to compliance with the provisions of Article 2 of the Virginia Administrative Process Act, and
has not exceeded that authority. The proposed regulations will enable the Director to comply
with Item 317.MMM (1) and (2) in the 2021 Appropriations Act, consistent with the authority
set forth in Virginia Code § 32.1-324.

The authority for the emergency action is found in Virginia Code § 2.2-4011, which
provides that Agencies may adopt emergency regulations when Virginia statutory law, the
appropriation act, or federal law or regulation requires that the regulation be effective in 280




days or less from its enactment, as directed by Item 317.MMM(2) of the 2021 Appropriation
Act.

Accordingly, with the prior approval of the Governor, these regulations will qualify for
the “emergency” exemption from Article 2 requirements. Please be advised, however, that under
Virginia Code §2.2-4011(A), the Department must state in writing the nature of and necessity for
such emergency actions, and this appears to have been accomplished in the “Agency Background
Document.” In addition, the regulations shall be effective for no more than 18 months. If the
Department intends to continue regulating the subject matter governed by this emergency
regulation beyond 18 months, it will be necessary to replace these emergency regulations with
regulations duly promulgated under Article 2 of the APA.

If you have any questions or need additional information about these regulations, please
contact me at 786-6522.

cc: Kim F. Piner, Esq.

Attachment
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Action: Private Duty Nursing Services Under EPSDT
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12VAC30-50-132 Private Duty Nursing Services Under EPSDT

A. This section applies to private duty nursing_services for eligible individuals in fee-for-service
programs. Individuals enrolled with managed care health plans receive private duty nursing_services
through their plans.

B. Service description. Private duty nursing_services are individualized, medically necessary nursing
care services consisting_of skilled interventions, assessment, monitoring_and teaching_of those who are
or will be involved in nursing_care for the individual. Private duty nursing_services under the Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT)_benefit are provided when appropriate and
medically necessary to correct and ameliorate a member’s health conditions. As opposed to
intermittent care provided under Skilled or Home Health Nursing,_private duty nursing_is provided on a
continuous or regularly scheduled basis according_to medical necessity. Private duty nursing_care
provided can be based in the individual's home or any setting_in which normal life activities take place.
Congregate private duty nursing_is defined as private duty nursing_provided to two or more individuals
who require private duty nursing_in the same setting. Services are provided in accordance with 42 CFR
440.80.

C. Service components. Private duty nursing service is the management and administration of the
treatment and care of an individual by a licensed nurse, within the scope of practice as outlined by the
Virginia Board of Nursing, but is not limited to:

1. Assessments (e.qg., respiratory assessment, patency of airway,_vital signs, feeding assessment,
seizure activity, hydration, level of consciousness, constant observation for comfort and pain
management);

2.Administration of treatment related to technological dependence (e.qg., ventilator, tracheotomy, bi-level
positive airway pressure (BiPAP), intravenous (1V)_administration of medications and fluids, feeding
pumps,_nasal stints, central lines);

3. Monitoring_and maintaining_parameters/machinery (e.g.,_oximetry, blood pressure, lab draws, end
tidal CO2s, ventilator and tube feeding_pumps);

4. Interventions (e.g.,_ medications, suctioning, IV’s, hyper alimentation, enteral feeds, ostomy care,
tracheostomy care); and

5. Exclusions from DMAS' coverage of skilled PDN services:

a. Not custodial or personal care delivered for the purpose of helping with activities of daily living
(ADLs), including_dressing, feeding, bathing_or transferring_from a bed to a chair, and which can safely
and effectively be performed by trained non-medical personnel.

b. Monitoring_for medically-controlled disorders as part of "maintenance of care".

c. Respite skilled nursing_services.

D. Provider qualifications.

1. Private duty nursing_providers shall meet the following_requirements:

a. Demonstrate a prior successful health care delivery;

b. Operate from a business office;

c. Disclose ownership,_if requested:;

d. Attest to the ability to document and maintain individual case records in accordance with state and
federal requirements.

2. Private duty nursing_must be provided by a registered nurse (RN)_or licensed practical nurse (LPN)
employed by (or subcontracted with)_.and supervised by a private duty nursing_provider enrolled with
DMAS.

a. The RN must possess the following_qualifications:




(1).a license to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia;

(2).at least one (1) year of related clinical experience as a RN. Clinical experience may include work in
an acute care hospital,_public health clinic, home health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or nursing
facility;_and

(3).a satisfactory work history as evidenced by two (2)_satisfactory reference checks from prior job
experience,_including_no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or
children, recorded in the nurse’s personnel file. If the RN has worked for a single employer, one (1)
satisfactory reference from a prior job experience and one (1)_personal reference both with no evidence
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an incapacitated or older adults or children is acceptable; and shall
submit to a criminal record check obtained through the Virginia State Police. If the individual receiving
services is a minor, the RN must also submit to a search of the VDSS Child Protective (CPS) Central
Registry. The provider shall not hire any RN with findings of barrier crimes identified in 32.1-162.9:1 of
the Code of Virginia or founded complaints in the CPS Central Registry.

b. Licensed Practical Nurses shall meet the following_requirements:

(1)licensed to practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia;

(2)_have at least one (1)_year of related clinical experience as a LPN. Clinical experience may include
work in an acute care hospital,_public health clinic, home health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or
nursing_facility;

(3)_have a satisfactory work history as evidenced by two (2)_satisfactory reference checks from prior job
experience,_including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or
children, recorded in the nurse’s personnel file. If the LPN has worked for a single employer, one (1)
satisfactory reference from a prior job experience and one (1).personal reference both with no evidence
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an incapacitated or older adult is acceptable; and

(4)_submit to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services (CPS)_Central Registry if the individual
receiving_services is a minor child. The provider shall not hire any persons who have been convicted of
barrier crimes as defined in the Code of Virginia or has a founded complaint confirmed by the CPS
Central Registry.

3. The RN or LPN must have (i).a documented provider training_program or (ii)_at least six months of
related clinical nursing_experience meeting_the needs of the individual to receive care. Regardless of
whether a nurse has six months of experience or completes a provider training_course, the provider
agency shall be responsible for assuring_all nurses who are assigned to an individual are competent in
the care needs of that individual.

4. Nursing_services must be provided under the supervision of a licensed, registered nurse in the
Commonwealth.

a. As part of direct supervision, the RN supervisor shall make, at a minimum,_a visit every 30 days to
ensure both quality and appropriateness of nursing_services to assess the individual's and the
individual's representative's satisfaction with the services being_provided, to review the plan of care and
to update and verify the most current physician signed orders are in the home. When a delay occurs in
the RN supervisor's visits because the individual is unavailable, the reason for the delay shall be
documented in the individual's record, and the visit shall occur as soon as the individual is available.
Failure to meet this standard may result in DMAS' recovery of payments made. Additional supervisory
visits may be required under the following_circumstances: (i)_at the provider's discretion;_(ii)_at the
request of the individual when a change in the individual's condition has occurred;_(iii)_any time the
health, safety, or welfare of the individual could be at risk; and (iv)_at the request of the DMAS staff.
The RN is responsible for documentation of the visit's date, time and evaluation.

b. The Supervising RN shall:

(1)_Use and foster a person centered planning_team approach to nursing_services;

(2)_Ensure choice of services is made by the individual, legally authorized guardian, or responsible
party if a minor;

(3)_Ensure personal goals of the individual are respected;

(4)_Conduct the initial evaluation visit to initiate EPSDT PDN services in the primary residence;

(5)_Regularly evaluate the individual's status and nursing_needs and notify the primary care provider if

the individual no longer meets criteria for PDN;

(6)_Complete the Plan of Care (POC) and update as necessary for revisions;




(7). Assure provision of those services requiring_substantial and specialized nursing_skill and that
assigned nurses have the necessary licensure;

(8)Initiate appropriate preventive and rehabilitative nursing_procedures;

(9)_Perform an assessment, at least every 30 days (the monthly nursing_assessment cannot be made
by the nurse providing care in the home);_ RN Monthly Supervisory Visits shall be completed in the
primary residence at least every other visit. Visits may be conducted at school every other visit if
necessary;

(10)_Coordinate PDN services;

(11)_Inform the physician and case manager as appropriate of changes in the individual’'s condition and
needs;

)_Educate the individual and family/caregiver in meeting_nursing and related goals;

(12
(13)_Supervise and educate other personnel involved in the individual’s care;
(14)

)_Ensure that required documentation is in the individual’'s agency record;

(15)_Ensure that all employees are aware of the requirements to report suspected abuse, neglect, or
exploitation immediately to Adult Protective Services or Child Protective Services, as appropriate. A
civil penalty may be imposed on mandated reporters who do not report suspected abuse, neglect or

exploitation to VDSS as required;

(16)_Ensure services are provided in a manner that is in the best interest of the individual and does not
endanger the individual’s health, safety, or welfare;

(17).Recommend staff changes when needed:;

(18)_Report to DMAS or it's contractor any unethical or incompetent practices that jeopardize public
safety or cause a risk of harm to individuals,_including_household issues that may jeopardize the safety
of the PDN; and

(19)_Ensure that all nurses and caregivers are aware that timesheets must be accurate with arrival and
departure time of the nurse and that falsifying_timesheets is Medicaid fraud.

c. Parents (natural, step-parent, adoptive, foster parent, or other legal guardian), spouses, siblings,
grandparents, grandchildren, adult children, or any_person living_under the same roof with the individual
shall not provide skilled PDN services for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement for the individual.

E. Service limits. Private duty nursing services are limited to the hours of skilled nursing_care and
medically-necessary supervision as specified in the Plan of Care signed by the child’s physician (per
Virginia Code § 54.1-2957 and § 54.1-2957.02, signature by a Nurse Practitioner is acceptable in
certain circumstances), and limited to the number of hours approved by DMAS or its contractor through
DMAS'’ service authorization form (DMAS-62). Authorization of the number of medically necessary
hours is based on assessing_individuals’ medical and support needs related to respiratory function,
cardiovascular access and medications, wound care, feeding,_central nervous system function,
assessments that require the skills of a medical professional, toileting, and any other additional medical
or support needs that require the skills of a licensed clinician. These medical and support needs are
encompassed in the DMAS-62, and the number of hours approved will be based on medical needs
final score, as detailed in the DMAS-62. Individuals under 21 years of age qualifying under EPSDT
shall receive the services described in excess of any State Plan limit, up to 24 hours per day,_if services
are determined to be medically necessary to correct, ameliorate or maintain the member’s health
condition, and are prior authorized by the Department or its contractor.

12VAC30-50-9998 FORMS (12VAC30-50)
Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, Virginia Long-Term Care Council {+994)-(rev. 11/1/2018)

I.V. Therapy Implementation Form, DMAS-354 (eff. 6/1998)
Health Insurance Claim Form, Form HCFA-1500 (eff. 12/1990)
Certificate of Medical Necessity-Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies, DMAS-352 (rev. 7/2010)

Questionnaire to Assess an Applicant's Ability to Independently Manage Personal Attendant Services
in the CD-PAS Waiver or DD Waiver, DMAS-95 Addendum teff—8/2066)-(eff. 8/1/2005)




Comprehensive Outpatient Rehab Facility Participation Agreement (undated; filed 11/2015)

Rehabilitation Hospital Participation Agreement (undated; filed 11/2015)

Medical Necessity Assessment and Private Duty Nursing_Service Authorization Form (DMAS 62) (eff.
7/2021)

12VAC30-80-30 Fee-for-service providers

A. Payment for the following services, except for physician services, shall be the lower of the state
agency fee schedule (12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee schedule) or actual
charge (charge to the general public). Except as otherwise noted in this section, state developed fee
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners. The state
agency fee schedule is published on the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) website
at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/searchcptcodes.

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services shall be the lower of the state agency fee
schedule or actual charge (charge to the general public) except that emergency room services 99282-
99284 with a principal diagnosis on the Preventable Emergency Room Diagnosis List shall be
reimbursed the rate for 99281. The Preventable Emergency Room Diagnosis List shall be based on the
list used for managed care organization clinical efficiency rate adjustments.

2. Dentists' services. Dental services, dental provider qualifications, and dental service limits are
identified in 12VAC30-50-190. Dental services are paid based on procedure codes, which are listed in
the agency's fee schedule. Except as otherwise noted, state-developed fee schedule rates are the
same for both governmental and private individual practitioners.

3. Mental health services.

a. Professional services furnished by nonphysicians as described in 12VAC30-50-150. These services
are reimbursed using current procedural technology (CPT) codes. The agency's fee schedule rate is
based on the methodology as described in subsection A of this section.

(1) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists shall be reimbursed at 90% of the
reimbursement rate for psychiatrists in subdivision A 1 of this section.

(2) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed clinical social workers, licensed professional
counselors, licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or licensed marriage and family therapists
shall be reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for licensed clinical psychologists.

b. Intensive in-home services are reimbursed on an hourly unit of service. The agency's rates are set
as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

c. Therapeutic day treatment services are reimbursed based on the following units of service: one unit
equals two to 2.99 hours per day; two units equals three to 4.99 hours per day; three units equals five
or more hours per day. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic day treatment. The
agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

d. Therapeutic group home services (formerly called level A and level B group home services) shall be
reimbursed based on a daily unit of service. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are
effective for services on or after that date.

e. Therapeutic day treatment or partial hospitalization services shall be reimbursed based on the
following units of service: one unit equals two to three hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99
hours per day; three units equals seven or more hours per day. The agency's rates are set as of July 1,
2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

f. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be reimbursed based on the following units of service: one
unit equals two to 3.99 hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99 hours per day; three units equals
seven or more hours per day. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for
services on or after that date.

g. Crisis intervention services shall be reimbursed on the following units of service: one unit equals two
to 3.99 hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99 hours per day; three units equals seven or more
hours per day. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after
that date.

h. Intensive community treatment services shall be reimbursed on an hourly unit of service. The
agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.



i. Crisis stabilization services shall be reimbursed on an hourly unit of service. The agency's rates are
set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.

j- Independent living and recovery services (previously called mental health skill building services) shall
be reimbursed based on the following units of service: one unit equals one to 2.99 hours per day; two
units equals three to 4.99 hours per day. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are
effective for services on or after that date.

4. Podiatry.
5. Nurse-midwife services.
6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies.

Definitions. The following words and terms when used in this section shall have the following meanings
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services at http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-
Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPQOS-Fee-Schedule.html.

"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System, Medicare's National Level Il
Codes, HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by Ingenix, as may be periodically updated.

a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee Medicaid reimbursement for DME.
b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used for DME services:

(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 10%.
For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME items subject to the Medicare competitive bidding
program shall be reimbursed the lower of:

(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10%; or
(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in Virginia markets.

(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency shall use the agency fee schedule amount. The
reimbursement rates for DME and supplies shall be listed in the DMAS Medicaid Durable Medical
Equipment (DME) and Supplies Listing and updated periodically. The agency fee schedule shall be
available on the agency website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the
manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's
net charge to the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all available discounts to the provider.
Additional information specific to how DME providers, including manufacturers who are enrolled as
providers, establish and document their costs for DME codes that do not have established rates can be
found in the relevant agency guidance document.

c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency fee schedule as it deems appropriate and with
notice to providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine alternate pricing, based on agency
research, for any code that does not have a rate.

d. Certain durable medical equipment used for intravenous therapy and oxygen therapy shall be
bundled under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency. Certain
services or durable medical equipment such as service maintenance agreements shall be bundled
under specified procedure codes and reimbursed as determined by the agency.

(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, administered in one day, shall be reimbursed
at the established service day rate for the bundled durable medical equipment and the standard
pharmacy payment, consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 12VAC30-80-40, plus the
pharmacy service day and dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy shall be included
in one service day rate of reimbursement. Multiple applications of different therapies administered in
one day shall be reimbursed for the bundled durable medical equipment service day rate as follows:
the most expensive therapy shall be reimbursed at 100% of cost; the second and all subsequent most
expensive therapies shall be reimbursed at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies administered in one day
shall be reimbursed at the pharmacy service day rate plus 100% of every active therapeutic ingredient
in the compound (at the lowest ingredient cost methodology) plus the appropriate pharmacy dispensing
fee.

(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy shall have supplies or components bundled
under a service day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood gas levels. Equipment associated with
respiratory therapy may have ancillary components bundled with the main component for



reimbursement. The reimbursement shall be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or a
total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. Such respiratory equipment shall include
oxygen tanks and tubing, ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines. Ventilators,
noncontinuous ventilators, and suction machines may be purchased based on the individual patient's
medical necessity and length of need.

(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be made for a combination of services, routine
maintenance, and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single reimbursement code only for
equipment that is recipient owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed either monthly or in
units per year based on the individual agreement between the DME provider and DMAS. Such bundled
agreements may apply to, but not necessarily be limited to, either respiratory equipment or apnea
monitors.

7. Local health services.

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The agency's rates for clinical laboratory services
were set as of July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after that date.

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory specimens, but do not perform laboratory analysis
(limited to payment for handling).

10. X-ray services.
11. Optometry services.
12. Reserved.

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost reimbursement for home health services is
eliminated. A rate per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth by 12VAC30-80-180.

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, hearing, language disorders services when
rendered to noninstitutionalized recipients.

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90, except for services in ambulatory surgery clinics
reimbursed under 12VAC30-80-35.

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type | physicians.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides
supplemental payments to Type | physicians for furnished services provided on or after July 2, 2002. A
Type | physician is a member of a practice group organized by or under the control of a state academic
health system or an academic health system that operates under a state authority and includes a
hospital, who has entered into contractual agreements for the assignment of payments in accordance
with 42 CFR 447.10.

b. The methodology for determining the Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate is
described in 12VAC30-80-300.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end of the quarter.

d. Effective May 1, 2017, the supplemental payment amount for Type | physician services shall be the
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise made for physician services and 258% of
Medicare rates.

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at Virginia freestanding children's
hospitals.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides
supplemental payments to Virginia freestanding children's hospital physicians providing services at
freestanding children's hospitals with greater than 50% Medicaid inpatient utilization in state fiscal year
2009 for furnished services provided on or after July 1, 2011. A freestanding children's hospital
physician is a member of a practice group (i) organized by or under control of a qualifying Virginia
freestanding children's hospital, or (ii) who has entered into contractual agreements for provision of
physician services at the qualifying Virginia freestanding children's hospital and that is designated in
writing by the Virginia freestanding children's hospital as a practice plan for the quarter for which the
supplemental payment is made subject to DMAS approval. The freestanding children's hospital
physicians also must have entered into contractual agreements with the practice plan for the
assignment of payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10.

b. Effective July 1, 2015, the supplemental payment amount for freestanding children's hospital
physician services shall be the difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise made for
freestanding children's hospital physician services and 178% of Medicare rates as defined in the



supplemental payment calculation for Type | physician services. Payments shall be made on the same
schedule as Type | physicians.

18. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical
Center.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter, the Department of
Medical Assistance Services provides supplemental payments to physicians affiliated with Eastern
Virginia Medical Center for furnished services provided on or after October 1, 2012. A physician
affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center is a physician who is employed by a publicly funded
medical school that is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who provides clinical
services through the faculty practice plan affiliated with the publicly funded medical school, and who
has entered into contractual arrangements for the assignment of payments in accordance with 42 CFR
447.10.

b. Effective November 1, 2018, the supplemental payment amount shall be the difference between the
Medicaid payments otherwise made for physician services and 145% of the Medicare rates. The
methodology for determining the Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate is described in
12VAC30-80-300.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no later than 90 days after the end of the quarter.

19. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at freestanding children's hospitals
serving children in Planning District 8.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS shall make
supplemental payments for physicians employed at a freestanding children's hospital serving children
in Planning District 8 with more than 50% Medicaid inpatient utilization in fiscal year 2014. This applies
to physician practices affiliated with Children's National Health System.

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying physician services shall be the difference between
the Medicaid payments otherwise made and 178% of Medicare rates but no more than $551,000 for all
qualifying physicians. The methodology for determining allowable percent of Medicare rates is based
on the Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate described in this chapter.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end of the quarter.
Any quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the approval date shall be made no later than
90 days after the approval date.

20. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned or operated clinics.

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides
supplemental payments to qualifying nonstate government-owned or government-operated clinics for
outpatient services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 2002. Clinic means a facility that is
not part of a hospital but is organized and operated to provide medical care to outpatients. Outpatient
services include those furnished by or under the direction of a physician, dentist, or other medical
professional acting within the scope of his license to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community services board. The state share for supplemental
clinic payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each qualifying nonstate government-owned or
government-operated clinic is determined by:

(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference between the upper payment limit attributed to each
clinic according to subdivision 20 d of this subsection and the amount otherwise actually paid for the
services by the Medicaid program;

(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 20 b (1) of this subsection for each qualifying clinic
by the aggregate difference for all such qualifying clinics; and

(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 20 b (2) of this subsection by the aggregate
upper payment limit amount for all such clinics as determined in accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less
all payments made to such clinics other than under this section.

c. Payments for furnished services made under this section will be made annually in a lump sum during
the last quarter of the fiscal year.

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit referred to in subdivision 20 b (3) of this subsection,
Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or government-operated clinics will be divided by
the "additional factor" whose calculation is described in 12VAC30-80-190 B 2 in regard to the state
agency fee schedule for Resource Based Relative Value Scale. Medicaid payments will be estimated



using payments for dates of service from the prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments.
Additional adjustments will be made for any program changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments.

21. Personal assistance services (PAS) or personal care services for individuals enrolled in the
Medicaid Buy-In program described in 12VAC30-60-200 or covered under Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT), and respite services covered under EPSDT. These
services are reimbursed in accordance with the state agency fee schedule described in 12VAC30-80-
190. The state agency fee schedule is published on the DMAS website at http://www.dmas.virginia.gov.
The agency's rates, based upon one-hour increments, were set as of July 1, 2020, and shall be
effective for services on and after that date.

22. Private duty nursing_services covered under EPSDT are reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of
service in accordance with the State Agency fee schedule. The fee schedule is the same for both
governmental and private providers and was set as of July 1, 2016 and shall be effective for services
provided on and after that date. The state agency fee schedule is published on the DMAS website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/

22- 23. Supplemental payments to state-owned or state-operated clinics.

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, DMAS shall make supplemental payments to
qualifying state-owned or state-operated clinics for outpatient services provided to Medicaid patients on
or after July 1, 2015. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital but is organized and operated
to provide medical care to outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished by or under the
direction of a physician, dentist, or other medical professional acting within the scope of his license to
an eligible individual.

b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each qualifying state-owned or state-operated
clinic is determined by calculating for each clinic the annual difference between the upper payment limit
attributed to each clinic according to subdivision 19 b of this subsection and the amount otherwise
actually paid for the services by the Medicaid program.

c. Payments for furnished services made under this section shall be made annually in lump sum
payments to each clinic.

d. To determine the upper payment limit for each clinic referred to in subdivision 19 b of this subsection,
the state payment rate schedule shall be compared to the Medicare resource-based relative value
scale nonfacility fee schedule per Current Procedural Terminology code for a base period of claims.
The base period claims shall be extracted from the Medical Management Information System and
exclude crossover claims.

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the amounts using the same methodology used
under Part A of Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board furnished by the facility. As of July
1, 2019, payments for hospice services in a nursing facility are 100% of the rate that would have been
paid by the state under the plan for facility services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery and not the location of the agency's home
office.

C. Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site facility fee shall be increased to 100% of the
Medicare rate and shall reflect changes annually based on changes in the Medicare rate. Federally
qualified health centers and rural health centers are exempt from this reimbursement change.



	04002391.PDF
	PDN-EPSDT Reg Text 2-23-22  (03947449.PDF;1)

