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Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

The Board of Social Work (Board) proposes discretionary changes to: 1) eliminate a 

specified requirement for licensure by endorsement, 2) eliminate a specified requirement for 

reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for a person whose license has been lapsed or inactive 

for 10 or more years, and 3) specify that persons licensed by the Board who are in dual 

relationships with a client shall not engage in physical contact with a client when there is a 

likelihood of psychological harm to the client nor shall they sexually harass a client. 

Background 

Licensure Levels 

Pursuant to Code of Virginia § 54.1-3700,1 a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) is a 

licensed social worker who, by education and experience, is professionally qualified at the 

autonomous practice level to provide direct diagnostic, preventive and treatment services where 

functioning is threatened or affected by social and psychological stress or health impairment. A 

licensed master's social worker (LMSW) is a licensed social worker who engages in the practice 

of social work and provides non-clinical, generalist services, including staff supervision and 

management. A licensed baccalaureate social worker (LBSW) is a licensed social worker who 

engages in the practice of social work under the supervision of a master's social worker and 

provides basic generalist services, including casework management and supportive services and 

consultation and education. 

                                                           
1 See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3700/ 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3700/
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Licensure by Endorsement 

Under the current regulation, Section 18 VAC 140-20-45 states that every applicant for 

licensure by endorsement shall submit: 

1. A completed application and the application fee prescribed in 18 VAC 140-20-

30. 

2. Documentation of active social work licensure in good standing obtained by 

standards required for licensure in another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-

state licensing agency. Licensure in the other jurisdiction shall be of a comparable 

type as the licensure that the applicant is seeking in Virginia. 

3. Verification of a passing score on a Board-approved national exam at the level 

for which the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia. 

4. Documentation of any other health or mental health licensure or certification, if 

applicable. 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 

National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

6. Verification of: 

a. Active practice at the level for which the applicant is seeking licensure 

in another United States jurisdiction for 24 out of the past 60 months; 

b. Active practice in an exempt setting at the level for which the applicant 

is seeking licensure for 24 out of the past 60 months; or 

c. Evidence of supervised experience requirements substantially 

equivalent to those outlined in 18 VAC 140-20-50 A 2 and A 3. 

7. Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in any pending or 

unresolved Board action in another jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim. 

As part of this regulatory change, the Board now proposes to eliminate the sixth required 

submission (i.e., verification).  

Reinstatement and Reactivation 

 Under the current regulation, Section 18 VAC 140-20-110 indicates that (a) individuals 

applying for license reinstatement whose license has been lapsed for 10 or more years and (b) 

individuals applying for license reactivation who have been inactive for 10 or more years shall, 

among other requirements, provide evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 
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1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the 

past 60 months immediately preceding application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months 

immediately preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 

months immediately preceding reinstatement of licensure in Virginia. The 

supervised practice shall include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-face direct 

client contact and nine hours of face-to-face supervision. 

The Board now proposes to wholly eliminate this requirement to provide evidence of 

competency to practice. Other requirements do remain.2 

Professional Conduct 

 Section 18 VAC 140-20-150 subsection D specifies requirements for licensees in regard 

to dual relationships. According to the National Association of Social Workers Code of Ethics, 

from which this language was taken, “Dual or multiple relationships occur when social workers 

relate to clients in more than one relationship, whether professional, social, or business. Dual or 

multiple relationships can occur simultaneously or consecutively.”3 The Board proposes to add 

that licensees who are in a dual relationship with a client shall: 

6. Not engage in physical contact with a client when there is a likelihood of 

psychological harm to the client. Social workers who engage in physical contact 

are responsible for setting clear and culturally sensitive boundaries. 

7. Not sexually harass clients. Sexual harassment includes sexual advances; 

sexual solicitation; requests for sexual favors; and other verbal written, electronic, 

or physical contact of a sexual nature. 

Based upon its placement in the dual relationship section of the regulation (18 VAC 140-

20-150, subsection D), and not elsewhere in the regulation, it appears that this proposed 

additional language would only apply to social workers who are in dual relationships, and 

not to other types of client interactions or relationships. 

                                                           
2 See discussion in the Estimated Benefits and Costs section, Reinstatement and Reactivation subsection. 
3 See Section 1.06 Conflicts of Interest, under Ethical Standards at 
https://www.socialworkers.org/About/Ethics/Code-of-Ethics/Code-of-Ethics-English  

https://www.socialworkers.org/About/Ethics/Code-of-Ethics/Code-of-Ethics-English
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Estimated Benefits and Costs 

Licensure by Endorsement 

In 2020, the Board issued 377 LCSW, 81 LMSW, and 6 LBSW licenses by 

endorsement.4 So far in 2021, the Board has issued 456 LCSW, 91 LMSW, and 12 LBSW 

licenses by endorsement.5 The proposal to eliminate the requirement of verification of active 

practice or supervised experience for licensure by endorsement applicants would likely increase 

these numbers somewhat going forward by increasing the number of individuals who qualify for 

licensure by endorsement. This would be beneficial for such applicants, as well as employers in 

the Commonwealth looking to hire fully-licensed social workers.  

Licensure by endorsement would still require: a) documentation of active social work 

licensure6 in good standing in another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state licensing 

agency, b) verification of a passing score on a Board-approved national exam at the level for 

which the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia, c) a current report from the NPDB, and d) 

certification that the applicant is not the respondent in any pending or unresolved Board action in 

another jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim. The Board believes that these remaining 

requirements are sufficient evidence of competency and good practice for candidates to be 

licensed by endorsement from another U.S. jurisdiction.7  

Reinstatement and Reactivation 

In 2020, the Board reinstated 29 LCSW, 3 LMSW, and 0 LBSW licenses.8 So far in in 

2021, the Board has reinstated 31 LCSW, 7 LMSW, and 0 LBSW licenses.9 Data on reactivated 

licenses is not available. The proposal to eliminate the requirement of documentation of active 

practice or supervised experience for reinstatement or reactivation applicants whose license has 

been lapsed or inactive for 10 or more years would likely increase these numbers somewhat 

going forward by increasing the number of individuals who qualify for reinstatement or 

                                                           
4 Source: Department of Health Professions 
5 Ibid 
6 “Active social work licensure” means that the license is active, but does not necessarily mean that the license 
holder has been practicing actively. 
7 Source: Department of Health Professions 
8 Ibid 
9 Ibid 
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reactivation. This would be beneficial for such applicants, as well as employers in the 

Commonwealth looking to hire fully-licensed social workers. 

Such a social worker reactivating would still be required to provide documentation of 

continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive, not to 

exceed four years. Such a social worker reinstating would still be required to provide: a) 

documentation of having completed all applicable continued competency hours equal to the 

number of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years, b) documentation of any other 

health or mental health licensure or certification held in another United States jurisdiction, if 

applicable, and c) a current report from the NPDB. Additionally, the regulation does not require 

active practice to renew a full current license. Thus, the Board believes the remaining 

requirements are sufficient evidence of competency for an applicant to have their license 

reinstated or reactivated. 

Professional Conduct 

 According to the Department of Health Professions, the proposed language specifying 

that persons licensed by the Board who are engaged in dual relationships with clients shall not 

engage in physical contact with a client when there is a likelihood of psychological harm to the 

client and shall not sexually harass a client, are added to address situations that have been 

reported to the Board in complaints filed by clients. In making a determination of probable cause 

to move forward with a disciplinary proceeding, Board members did not believe there were clear 

standards on which a case could be made. The proposed additions would address conduct that the 

Board believes is unprofessional and harmful to clients. To the extent that the proposed 

additional language helps enable the Board to properly discipline inappropriate behavior by 

licensees, it would be beneficial.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected  

 The proposed amendments potentially affect the 8,006 LCSWs, 966 LMSWs, and 31 

LBSWs licensed in the Commonwealth, as well as entities that employ social workers. 

According to survey data from a July 2020 report (the most recent available) from the Virginia 
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Healthcare Workforce Data Center,10 the primary employers of LCSWs in the Commonwealth 

are distributed as follows: 

Establishment Type Percentage 

Private Practice, Solo 16% 

Private Practice, Group 13% 

Mental Health Facility, Outpatient 13% 

Community Services Board 10% 

School (Providing Care to Clients) 7% 

Hospital, General 7% 

Community-Based Clinic or Health Center 7% 

Hospital, Psychiatric 3% 

Residential Mental Health/Substance Abuse Facility 2% 

Administrative or Regulatory 2% 

Academic Institution (Teaching Health Professions Students) 2% 

Other Practice Setting 17% 

Categorized by sector, the report presents the types of employers of LCSWs in Virginia as 

follows: 

Sector Percentage 

For-Profit 48% 

Non-Profit 21% 

State/Local Government 22% 

Veterans Administration 4% 

U.S. Military 3% 

Other Federal Government 1% 

Similar data are not available for LBSWs and LMSWs. 

 The proposed amendments do not appear to adversely affect employers of social workers. 

                                                           
10 See https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0904LCSW2020.pdf 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/hwdc/behsci/0904LCSW2020.pdf
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Small Businesses11 Affected:  

The proposed amendments do not appear to adversely affect small businesses. The Board 

has not provided any information regarding the specific number of employers that are 

independent practitioners (small businesses). 

Localities12 Affected13 

Local governments that are having difficulty finding enough qualified social workers to 

employ may be particularly affected by the proposed elimination of specified requirements for 

licensure by endorsement and reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for a person whose 

license has been lapsed or inactive for 10 or more years. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to introduce costs for local governments. The Board has not provided any information 

regarding how many employers are local government agencies or entities. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed elimination of specified requirements for licensure by endorsement and 

reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for a person whose license has been lapsed or inactive 

for 10 or more years may moderately increase the number of individuals who become licensed 

social workers in the Commonwealth. More licensed social workers would likely result in more 

individuals employed as social workers in Virginia. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 The proposed elimination of specified requirements for licensure by endorsement and 

reinstatement or reactivation of licensure for a person whose license has been lapsed or inactive 

for 10 or more years may moderately increase the supply of licensed social workers. This may 

moderately reduce the cost to firms of hiring social workers, which may in turn have a small 

positive impact on their value. 

 The proposed amendments do not affect real estate development costs.  

                                                           
11 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as “a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 
gross annual sales of less than $6 million.” 
12 “Locality” can refer to either local governments or the locations in the Commonwealth where the activities 
relevant to the regulatory change are most likely to occur. 
13   § 2.2-4007.04 defines “particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate material impact. 
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Legal Mandates 

 
General:  The Department of Planning and Budget has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 
2018). Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of 
the proposed amendments.  Further the report should include but not be limited to:  (1) the projected number of 
businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities 
and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment 
positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 
regulation, and (5)the impact on the use and value of private property.  
 

Adverse impacts:   Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04(D):  In the event this economic impact analysis reveals that 
the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact on businesses or would impose a significant 
adverse economic impact on a locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning and 
Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the House Committee on Appropriations, and 
the Senate Committee on Finance within the 45-day period. 
 
If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that 
such economic impact analyses include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject 
to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for 
small businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation on 
affected small businesses, and  (4) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation.  Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding that a 
proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules 

shall be notified. 


