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Final Adoption – 18VAC90-25-10 et seq. 

Regulations Governing the Cer tification of Nurse Aides 

 
18 VAC 90-25-15. Identification; accuracy of records. 

A. Any person regulated by this chapter who provides direct patient care shall, while on duty, 

wear identification that is clearly visible and indicates the person's first and last name and the 

appropriate title issued to such person by the board under which he is practicing in that setting. 

B. A certificate holder who has changed his name shall submit as legal proof to the board a copy 

of the marriage certificate or court order evidencing the change. A duplicate certificate shall be 

issued by the board upon receipt of such evidence. 

C. Each certificate holder shall maintain a record of his current mailing address with the board, 

and any change of address shall be submitted in writing to the board within 30 days of such 

change. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any 

certificate holder shall be validly given when mailed to the latest address on file with the board. 

18 VAC 90-25-20. Establishing and maintaining a nurse aide education program. 

A. Establishing a nurse aide education program. 

1. A program provider wishing to establish a nurse aide education program shall submit an 

application to the board at least 90 days in advance of the expected opening date. 

2. The application shall provide evidence of the ability of the institution to comply with 

subsection B of this section. 

3. The committee shall, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, receive and 

review the application and shall make a recommendation to the board to grant or deny approval. 
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4. If the committee's recommendation is to deny approval, no further action will be required of 

the board unless the program requests a hearing before the board or a panel thereof in accordance 

with § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Maintaining an approved nurse aide education program. To maintain approval, the nurse aide 

education program shall: 

1. Demonstrate evidence of compliance with the following essential elements: 

a. Curriculum content and length as set forth in subsection A of 18 VAC 90-25-40 and 

subsection C of 18 VAC 90-25-50. 

b. Maintenance of qualified instructional personnel as set forth in 18 VAC 90-25-30. 

c. Classroom facilities that meet requirements set forth in subsection D of 18 VAC 90-25-50. 

d. Maintenance of records as set forth in subsection A of 18 VAC 90-25-50. 

e. Skills training experience in a nursing facility that has not been subject to penalty or penalties 

as provided in 42 CFR 483.151(b)(2) (Medicare and Medicaid Programs: Nurse Aide Training 

and Competency Evaluation Programs and Paid Feeding Assistants, effective April 1, 1992 

revised October 1, 2005) in the past two years. The foregoing shall not apply to a nursing facility 

that has received a waiver from the state survey agency in accordance with federal law. 

f. Agreement that board representatives may make unannounced visits to the program. 

g. Financial support and resources sufficient to meet requirements of this chapter as evidenced 

by a copy of the current annual budget or a signed statement from the administration specifically 

detailing its financial support and resources. 

h. Completion and submission of biennial on-site review reports and program evaluation reports 

as requested by the board. 
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2. Impose no fee for any portion of the program on any nurse aide who, on the date on which the 

nurse aide begins the program, is either employed or has an offer of employment from a nursing 

facility. 

3. Provide documentation that each student applying to or enrolled in such program has been 

given a copy of applicable Virginia law regarding criminal history records checks for 

employment in certain health care facilities, and a list of crimes that pose a barrier to such 

employment. 

4. Report all substantive changes in subdivision 1 of this subsection within 10 days of the change 

to the board to include, but not be limited to, a change in the program coordinator, primary 

instructor, program ownership, physical location of the program or licensure status. 

5. Provide each student with a copy of his certificate of completion. 

18 VAC 90-25-30. Requirements for  instructional personnel. 

A. Program coordinator. 

1. Each program shall have a program coordinator who must be a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 

2. The program coordinator in a nursing facility based program may be the director of nursing 

services. The director of nursing may assume the administrative responsibility and accountability 

for the nurse aide education program but shall not engage in the actual classroom and clinical 

teaching. 

3. The primary instructor may be the program coordinator in any nurse aide education program. 

B. Primary instructor. 

1. Each program shall have a primary instructor who must be a registered nurse who holds a 

current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 
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2. Qualifications. The primary instructor, who does the majority of the actual teaching of the 

students shall: 

a. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a registered nurse who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege; and 

b. Have two years of experience as a registered nurse within the previous five years and at least 

one year of experience in the provision of long-term care facility services. Such experience may 

include, but not be limited to, employment in a nurse aide education program or employment in 

or supervision of nursing students in a nursing facility or unit, geriatrics department, chronic care 

hospital, home care or other long-term care setting. Experience should include varied 

responsibilities, such as direct resident care, supervision and education. 

3. Responsibilities. The primary instructor is responsible for the teaching and evaluation of 

students and, in addition, shall: 

a. Participate in the planning of each learning experience; 

b. Ensure that course objectives are accomplished; 

c. Ensure that the provisions of subsection F of this section are maintained; 

d. Maintain records as required by subsection A of 18 VAC 90-25-50; 

e. Perform other activities necessary to comply with subsection B of 18 VAC 90-25-20; and 

f. Ensure that students do not perform services for which they have not received instruction and 

been found proficient by the instructor. 

C. Other instructional personnel. 

1. Instructional personnel who assist the primary instructor in providing classroom or clinical 

supervision shall be registered nurses or licensed practical nurses. 

a. A registered nurse shall: 
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(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a registered nurse; and 

(2) Have had at least one year of direct patient care experience as a registered nurse. 

b. A licensed practical nurse shall: 

(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license as a practical nurse; 

(2) Hold a high school diploma or equivalent; 

(3) Have been graduated from a state-approved practical nursing program; and 

(4) Have had at least two years of direct patient care experience as a licensed practical nurse. 

2. Responsibilities. Other instructional personnel shall provide instruction under the supervision 

of the primary instructor. 

D. Prior to being assigned to teach the nurse aide education program, all instructional personnel 

shall demonstrate competence to teach adults by one of the following: 

1. Satisfactory completion of a course in teaching adults that includes (i) basic principles of adult 

learning; (ii) teaching methods and tools for adult learners; and (iii) evaluation strategies and 

measurement tools for assessing the learning outcomes; or 

2. Have experience in teaching adults or high school students. 

E. To meet planned program objectives, the program may, under the direct, on-site supervision 

of the primary instructor, use other persons who have expertise in specific topics and have had at 

least one year of experience in their field. 

F. When students are giving direct care to clients in clinical areas, instructional personnel must 

be on site solely to supervise the students. The ratio of students to each instructor shall not 

exceed 10 students to one instructor. 

18 VAC 90-25-40. Requirements for  the curr iculum. 
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A. Curriculum content. The curriculum shall include, but shall not be limited to, classroom and 

clinical instruction in the following: 

1. Initial core curriculum. Prior to the direct contact of a student with a nursing facility client, a 

student shall have completed a total of at least 24 hours of instruction. Sixteen of those hours 

shall be in the following five areas must be presented: 

a. Communication and interpersonal skills. 

b. Infection control. 

c. Safety and emergency procedures, including dealing with obstructed airways and fall 

prevention. 

d. Promoting client independence. 

e. Respecting clients' rights. 

2. Basic skills. 

a. Recognizing changes in body functioning and the importance of reporting such changes to a 

supervisor. 

b. Measuring and recording routine vital signs. 

c. Measuring and recording height and weight. 

d. Caring for the clients' environment. 

e. Measuring and recording fluid and food intake and output. 

f. Performing basic emergency measures. 

g. Caring for a client when death is imminent. 

3. Personal care skills. 

a. Bathing and oral hygiene. 

b. Grooming. 
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c. Dressing. 

d. Toileting. 

e. Assisting with eating and hydration, including proper feeding techniques. 

f. Caring for skin, to include prevention of pressure ulcers. 

g. Transfer, positioning and turning. 

4. Individual client's needs, including mental health and social service needs. 

a. Modifying the aide's behavior in response to the behavior of clients. 

b. Identifying developmental tasks associated with the aging process. 

c. Demonstrating principles of behavior management by reinforcing appropriate behavior and 

causing inappropriate behavior to be reduced or eliminated. 

d. Demonstrating skills supporting age-appropriate behavior by allowing the client to make 

personal choices, and by providing and reinforcing other behavior consistent with the client's 

dignity. 

e. Utilizing the client's family or concerned others as a source of emotional support. 

f. Responding appropriately to the client's behavior; including, but not limited to, aggressive 

behavior and language. 

g. Providing appropriate clinical care to the aged and disabled. 

h. Providing culturally sensitive care. 

5. Care of the cognitively or sensory (visual and auditory) impaired client. 

a. Using techniques for addressing the unique needs and behaviors of individuals with dementia 

(Alzheimer's and others). 

b. Communicating with cognitively or sensory impaired clients. 
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c. Demonstrating an understanding of and responding appropriately to the behavior of 

cognitively or sensory impaired clients. 

d. Using methods to reduce the effects of cognitive impairment. 

6. Skills for basic restorative services. 

a. Using assistive devices in transferring, ambulation, eating and dressing. 

b. Maintaining range of motion. 

c. Turning and positioning, both in bed and chair. 

d. Bowel and bladder training. 

e. Caring for and using prosthetic and orthotic devices. 

f. Teaching the client in self-care according to the client's abilities as directed by a supervisor. 

7. Clients' rights. 

a. Providing privacy and maintaining confidentiality. 

b. Promoting the client's right to make personal choices to accommodate individual needs. 

c. Giving assistance in resolving grievances and disputes. 

d. Providing assistance necessary to participate in client and family groups and other activities. 

e. Maintaining care and security of the client's personal possessions. 

f. Promoting the client's rights to be free from abuse, mistreatment and neglect and the need to 

report any instances of such treatment to appropriate staff. 

g. Avoiding the need for restraints in accordance with current professional standards. 

8. Legal and regulatory aspects of practice as a certified nurse aide, including, but not limited to, 

consequences of abuse, neglect, misappropriation of client property and unprofessional conduct. 

9. Occupational health and safety measures. 

10. Appropriate management of conflict. 



 9

B. Unit objectives. 

1. Objectives for each unit of instruction shall be stated in behavioral terms that are measurable. 

2. Objectives shall be reviewed with the students at the beginning of each unit. 

C. Curriculum changes. Changes in curriculum shall be approved by the board prior to 

implementation and shall be submitted at the time of the on-site visit or with the report submitted 

by the program coordinator in the intervening year. 

18 VAC 90-25-50. Other  program requirements. 

A. Records. 

1. Each nurse aide education program shall develop and maintain an individual record of major 

skills taught and the date of performance by the student. At the completion of the nurse aide 

education program, the program shall provide each nurse aide must receive with a copy of this 

record and a certificate of completion from the program. 

2. A record of the reports of graduates' performance on the approved competency evaluation 

program shall be maintained. 

3. A record that documents the disposition of complaints against the program shall be 

maintained. 

B. Student identification. The nurse aide students shall wear identification that clearly 

distinguishes them as a "nurse aide student." 

C. Length of program. 

1. The program shall be at least 120 clock hours in length. 

2. The program shall provide for at least 24 hours of instruction prior to direct contact of a 

student with a nursing facility client. 
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3. Skills training in clinical settings shall be at least 40 hours of providing direct client care. Five 

of the clinical hours may be in a setting other than a nursing home. Hours of observation shall 

not be included in the required 40 hours of skills training. 

4. Employment orientation to facilities used in the education program must not be included in the 

120 hours allotted for the program. 

D. Classroom facilities. The nurse aide education program shall provide facilities that meet 

federal and state requirements including: 

1. Comfortable temperatures. 

2. Clean and safe conditions. 

3. Adequate lighting. 

4. Adequate space to accommodate all students. 

5. Instructional technology and equipment needed for simulating client care. 

18 VAC 90-25-60. Requirements for  continued approval; inter ruption or  closing of a 

program. 

A. Program review. 

1. Each nurse aide education program shall be reviewed annually either by a visit on site by an 

agent of the board or by a written program evaluation. Each program shall be reviewed by an on-

site visit at least every two years following initial review or whenever deemed necessary by the 

board to ensure continued compliance. 

2. The program coordinator shall prepare and submit a program evaluation report on a form 

provided by the board in the intervening year that an on-site review is not conducted. 

B. Decision on continued approval.  The committee, in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code 

of Virginia, shall receive and review the report of the on-site visit or program evaluation report 
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and shall make recommendations to the board to grant continued approval, place a program on 

conditional approval or deny continued approval. 

a. Granting continued approval. A nurse aide education program shall continue to be approved 

provided the requirements set forth in subsection B of 18 VAC 90-25-20 are maintained. 

b. Placing a program on conditional approval. If the committee determines that a nurse aide 

education program has not filed its program evaluation report or is not maintaining the 

requirements of subsection B of 18 VAC 90-25-20, the committee may recommend to the board 

that the program be placed on conditional approval and the program provider shall be given a 

reasonable period of time to correct the identified deficiencies or the matter shall be referred to 

the board or a panel of the board for a hearing. 

(1) The committee shall receive and review reports of progress toward correcting identified 

deficiencies and, when a final report is received at the end of the specified time showing 

corrections of deficiencies, make a recommendation to the board for to grant of continued 

approval. 

(2) If the program provider fails to correct the identified deficiencies within the time specified by 

the committee or the board, the board or a panel thereof may withdraw approval following a 

hearing in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

(3) The program provider may request a formal hearing before the board or a panel thereof 

pursuant to § 2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia if it objects to 

any action of the board relating to conditional approval. 

c. Denying continued approval.  If the committee determines that a nurse aide education program 

is not maintaining the requirements of subsection B of 18 VAC 90-25-20, it may recommend that 
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continued approval be denied and refer the matter to the board or a panel of the board for a 

hearing in accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. C. Interruption of program. 

1. When a program provider does not hold classes for a period not to exceed one year, the 

provider may request that the program be placed on inactive status and shall not be subject to 

compliance with subsection B of 18 VAC 90-25-20 for the specified time. 

2. Unless the program provider notifies the board that it intends to admit students, the program 

will be considered closed at the end of the one-year period and be subject to the requirements of 

subsection C D of this section. 

3. If the program provider does not hold classes for two consecutive years, the program shall be 

considered closed and shall be subject to the requirements of subsection C D of this section. 

C. D. Closing of a nurse aide education program. When a nurse aide education program closes, 

the program provider shall: 

1. Notify the board of the date of closing. 

2. Submit to the board a list of all graduates with the date of graduation of each. 

18 VAC 90-25-70. Initial cer tification for  the nurse aide registry. 

A. The executive director of the board shall issue a certificate as a certified nurse aide to each 

applicant who qualifies for such a certificate under §§ 54.1-3024, 54.1-3025, 54.1-3026 and 

54.1-3028 of the Code of Virginia and provisions of this chapter. 

B. Nurse aide competency evaluation. 

1. The board may contract with a test service for the development and administration of a 

competency evaluation. 
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2. All individuals completing a nurse aide education program in Virginia shall successfully 

complete the competency evaluation required by the board prior to making application for 

certification being certified and to using the title Certified Nurse Aide. 

3. The board shall determine the minimum passing standard on the competency evaluation. 

C. Initial certification shall be for two years. 

18 VAC 90-25-71. Cer tification by examination. 

1. To be placed on the registry and certified by examination, the nurse aide must: 

a. 1. (i) Satisfactorily complete a nurse aide education program approved by the board; (ii) be 

enrolled in a nursing education program preparing for registered nurse or practical nurse 

licensure, and have satisfactorily completed at least one clinical nursing course that includes at 

least 40 hours of clinical experience involving direct client care; or (iii) have completed a 

nursing education program preparing for registered nurse licensure or practical nurse licensure; 

b. 2. Pass the competency evaluation required by the board; and 

c. 3. Submit the required application and testing fee as prescribed by the board. 

18 VAC 90-25-72. Cer tification by endorsement. 

2. To be placed on the registry and be certified by endorsement, the nurse aide must shall: 

a. 1. Be a graduate of a state-approved nurse aide education program that meets the requirements 

for clinical training and competency set forth in 42 CFR 483.152; 

b. 2. Have satisfactorily completed a competency evaluation program; 

c. 3. Be currently registered in another state, with no finding of abuse, neglect or 

misappropriation of property; 

d. 4. Submit the required application; and 
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e. 5. Submit the required verification form to the credentialing agency in each state in which the 

applicant has been registered, certified or licensed. 

3. Initial certification shall be for two years. 

18 VAC 90-25-80. Renewal or  reinstatement of cer tification. 

A. Renewal of certification. 

1. No less than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the current certification, a notice for 

renewal shall be mailed by the board to the last known address of each currently registered 

certified nurse aide. 

2. The certified nurse aide shall submit a completed application with the required fee of $50 and 

verification of performance of nursing-related activities for compensation within the two years 

immediately preceding the expiration date. 

3. Failure to receive the application for renewal shall not relieve the certificate holder of the 

responsibility for renewing the certification by the expiration date. 

4. A certified nurse aide who has not performed nursing-related activities for compensation 

during the two years preceding the expiration date of the certification shall repeat and pass the 

nurse aide competency evaluation prior to applying for recertification. 

5. The board shall also charge a fee of $35 for a returned check. 

B. Reinstatement of certification. 

1. An individual whose certification has lapsed for more than 90 days shall file submit the 

required application and renewal fee and provide: 

a. Verification of performance of nursing-related activities for compensation in the two years 

prior to the expiration date of the certificate and within the preceding two years; or 
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b. When nursing activities have not been performed during the preceding two years, evidence 

Evidence of having repeated and passed the nurse aide competency evaluation. 

2. An individual who has previously had a finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of 

property is not eligible for reinstatement of his certification, except as provided in subsection C 

of this section. 

18 VAC 90-25-81. Removal of a finding of neglect. 

C. A. If a finding of neglect was made against a certificate holder based on a single occurrence, 

an individual may petition for removal of the finding of neglect provided: 

1. A period of at least one year has passed since the finding was made; and 

2. The individual seeking reinstatement demonstrates sufficient evidence that employment and 

personal history do not reflect a pattern of abusive behavior or neglect. 

B. A certificate holder can petition the board only once for removal of a finding of neglect. 

18 VAC 90-25-100. Disciplinary provisions for  nurse aides. 

The board has the authority to deny, revoke or suspend a certificate issued, or to otherwise 

discipline a certificate holder upon proof that he has violated any of the provisions of § 54.1-

3007 of the Code of Virginia. For the purpose of establishing allegations to be included in the 

notice of hearing, the board has adopted the following definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in order to procure or maintain a certificate shall mean, but shall not be limited 

to: 

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial certification, reinstatement or renewal of 

a certificate; or 

c. Giving or receiving assistance in taking the competency evaluation. 
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2. Unprofessional conduct shall mean, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Performing acts beyond those authorized for practice as a nurse aide or an advanced certified 

nurse aide as defined in Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

and beyond those authorized by the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) or by provisions for delegation of nursing tasks in Part X (§ 18 VAC 90-20-420 et seq.) 

of § 18 VAC 90-20. 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the practice of a nurse aide or an advanced 

certified nurse aide without adequate training or when competency has not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment or drugs for personal or other unauthorized use; 

d. Falsifying or otherwise altering client or employer records, including falsely representing facts 

on a job application or other employment-related documents; 

e. Abusing, neglecting or abandoning clients; 

f. Having been denied a license or certificate or having had a license or certificate issued by the 

board revoked or suspended; 

g. Giving to or accepting from a client property or money for any reason other than fee for 

service or a nominal token of appreciation; 

h. Obtaining money or property of a client by fraud, misrepresentation or duress; 

i. Entering into a relationship with a client that constitutes a professional boundary violation in 

which the nurse aide uses his professional position to take advantage of a client's the 

vulnerability of a client or his family, to include but not limited to actions that result in personal 

gain at the expense of the client, an inappropriate personal involvement or sexual conduct with a 

client; or 
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j. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of client information, including but not limited to 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.; or 

k. Providing false information to staff or board members during the course of an investigation or 

proceeding. 

3. For the purposes of interpreting provisions of § 54.1-3007 (7) of the Code of Virginia, a 

restriction on nurse aide certification shall be interpreted as having a finding of abuse, neglect or 

misappropriation of patient property made in another state or being placed on the abuse registry 

in another state. 

18 VAC 90-25-110. Requirements for  initial cer tification as an advanced cer tified nurse 

aide. 

A. In order to be certified as and use the title of "Advanced Certified Nurse Aide," an applicant 

shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. Hold current certification as a certified nurse aide in Virginia; 

2. Have been certified for at least three years as a certified nurse aide; 

3. Have never had a finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of patient property entered on 

the Nurse Aide Registry a nurse aide registry in any jurisdiction and have not had any 

disciplinary actions taken by the board within the five years preceding application for advanced 

certification; 

4. Have a recommendation for advanced certification from a licensed nurse who has supervised 

the applicant in providing direct patient care for at least six months within the past year; and 

5. Have successfully completed a minimum of 120 hours of advanced training in an approved 

program that includes a competency evaluation acceptable to the board. 

B. An application for certification shall be accompanied by an application fee of $25. 



 18

18 VAC 90-25-120. Renewal and reinstatement of cer tification as an advanced cer tified 

nurse aide. 

A. Current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia must be maintained in order to hold 

certification as an advanced certified nurse aide. 

A. B. Renewal. If an individual is not eligible to renew as a certified nurse aide, certification as 

an advanced certified nurse aide may not be renewed. An advanced certification shall be 

renewed concurrently with the biennial renewal of the basic certification as a nurse aide in 

Virginia by: 

1. Submitting a completed renewal form and renewal fee of $20; and 

2. Attesting to completing completion of at least three contact hours per year of continuing 

education and training in any of the competency areas identified in the advanced certification 

training program. Completion of the continuing education and training required by an advanced 

certified nurse aide shall be verified by the employer on the renewal form. The board may grant 

an extension or waiver of the continuing education requirement based on good cause shown by 

the certified nurse aide. 

B. C. Late renewal. An advanced certified nurse aide may renew certification for 90 days 

following the expiration date by meeting the requirements of subsection A of this section. 

C. D. Reinstatement. If an advanced certification has not been renewed for 90 days following the 

expiration date, it shall only be reinstated if the applicant for reinstatement: 

1. Holds current certification as a nurse aide in Virginia; 

2. Submits a completed reinstatement application on a form provided by the board; 

3. Pays the reinstatement fee of $30; and 
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4. Provides evidence that he has completed all required hours of continuing education and 

training. 

18 VAC 90-25-130. Requirements for  an approved advanced cer tification education 

program. 

A. The advanced certification education program shall be approved by the Virginia Board of 

Nursing. An approved advanced certification education program shall also be an approved nurse 

aide education program as set forth in 18 VAC 90-25-20. 

B. An advanced certification education program shall consist of a minimum of 120 hours 

including a minimum of 40 hours of clinical skills instruction in direct client care with on-site 

supervision by instructional personnel. When nurse aides are engaged in direct client care in the 

course of advanced certification training, the ratio shall not exceed 10 students to one instructor. 

C. The instructional personnel in an approved advanced certification education program shall 

meet the requirements as set forth in 18 VAC 90-25-30. 

D. The curricula of an approved advanced certification education program shall, at a minimum, 

meet the requirements of 18 VAC 90-25-140. 

E. Each advanced certification program shall develop an individual record of major skills taught 

and the date of performance by the student. At the completion of the program, the program shall 

provide each nurse aide must receive with a copy of this record and a certificate of completion. 

F. An advanced certification education program shall develop and submit to the board a 

competency evaluation based on the curriculum content required in 18 VAC 90-25-140. Such an 

evaluation shall include both a written test on the curriculum and an assessment of manual skills. 

A record of the reports of graduates' performance on the approved competency evaluation 

program shall be maintained for a minimum of three years. 
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G. Program review shall be in accordance with requirements of 18 VAC 90-25-60 and shall be 

conducted concurrently with the on-site review of the basic nurse aide education program. Loss 

of board approval for the basic nurse aide education program shall automatically result in the 

loss of approval for the advanced certification education program. 

H. When an advanced certification education program closes, the provider shall notify the board 

of the date of closing and submit a list of all graduates with their date of graduation. 
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