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Summary: These regulations establish requirements for educationa training and examination for an
Occupationa Therapist to be eligible for licensure to assure safe delivery of occupationa therapy to the citizens

of the Commonwealth.
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PART I.

General Provisons.

18 VAC 85-80-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shal have the following meanings, unless the

context dearly indicates otherwise:

"ACOTE" means the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education.

“Active practice’” means a minimum of 160 hours of professional practice as an occupationa therapist

within the 24-month period immediately preceding renewa or application for licensure, if previoudy

licensed or catified in ancther jurisdiction. The active practice of occupationa therapy may indude

supervisory, administrative, educational or consultative activities or responsihilities for the ddlivery of such

SErVvices.

“Advisory board” means the Advisory Board of Occupationa Therapy.

"Board" meansthe VirginiaBoard of Medicine.
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"Certification Nationa examination” means the nationral examination appreved-and prescribed by NBCOT

for certification as an occupationa therapist and approved for licensurein Virginia

“NBCOT" means the Nationa Board for Certification in Occupationa Therapy, under which the nationa

examination for certification is developed and implemented.

"Occupationa therapy personnd” means persons who provide occupationa therapy services under the

supervision of alicensed occupational therapist.

18 VAC 85-80-20. Public Participation Guiddlines.

A separate board regulation, 18 VAC 85-10-10 et seq., Public Particpation Guiddines, whieh provides for

involvement of the public in the development of al regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicdne—is

18 VAC 85-80-25. Current name and addr ess.

Each licensee shdl furnish the board his current name and address.  All natices required by law or by this

chapter given by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when mailed to the latest address provided

or served to the licensee. Any change of name or address shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such

change.
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PART II.

Requirements of Licensure asan Occupational Therapist.

18 VAC 85-80-35. Application requir ements.

An applicant for licensure shall submit the fallowing on forms provided by the board:

1. A completed application and afee as prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120.

2. Veification of professiona education in occupational therapy asrequiredin 18 VAC 85-80-40.

3. Veification of practice asrequired in 18 VAC 85-80-60 and as specified on the application form.

4. Documentation of passage of the national examination as required in 18 VAC 85-80-50.

5. If licensed or certified in any other jurisdiction, verification that there has been no disdplinary action

taken or pending in that jurisdiction.

18 VAC 85-80-40. Educational requirements.

A. An applicant for licensure who has received his professond education in the United States, its
possessions or territories, shall successfully complete dl academic and fildwork requirements of an

accredited educationa program as verified by the ACOTE.

B. An applicant who has received his professiona education outside the United States, its possessions or
territories, shal successfully complete al academic and dinica fieldwork requirements of a program

approved by a member assodiation of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists as verified by
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the candidate's occupational therapy program director and appreved as required by the NBCOT and
submit proof of proficdency in the English language by passing the Test of English as a Foreign

Language (TOEFL) with a-grade-ef-nettessthan-560 score acceptable to the board. TOEFL may be

waived upon evidence of English praficiency.

C. An applicant who does not meet the educationa requirements as prescribed in subsection A
or B of this section but who holds certification by the NBCOT as an occupationa thergpist shall be
eighble for licensure in Virginia and shdl provide verification of his education, training and work

experience which is acceptabl e to the board.

18 VAC 85-80-50. Examination requirements.

A= An applicant for licensure to practice as an occupational therapist shall submit evidence to the board

that he halds-a-eurrent-and-valid has passed the certification examination for an occupational therapist and any

other examination required for initia certification from the NBCOT.
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18 VAC 85-80-60. Practicerequirements.

An applicant who has been practicing occupational therapy in ancther jurisdiction and has met the requirements

for licensurein Virginia but who has not engaged in the active practice of occupationa therapy as defined in 18

VAC 85-80-10 for a period of two yearsimmediately preceding submission of his application shall servea
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board-approved practice of 160 hours, which is to be completed within 60 consecutive days, under the

supervision of alicensed occupational therapist.

PART III.

Renewal of Licensure; Reinstatement.

18 VAC 85-80-70. Biennial renewal of licensure.

A. An occupationd thergpist shdl renew his licensure biennidly during his birth month in each even

numbered year by:

1. Payingtothe board the renewa fee prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120; and

2. Indicating whether—ornet that he has been-professionally—active been engaged in the active

practice of occupational therapy as defined in 18 VAC 85-80-10 for at least 160 hours during

each biennid renewd cyde.

B. An occupationa therapist whaose licensure has not been renewed by the first day of the month

fallowing the month in which renewa isrequired shal be-droppedfromthelicensurerell. €.

—An pay an additiond |ate fee

be mpesed-by-thebeard as prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120.

18 VAC 85-80-80. Reinstatement.
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A. An occupationa therapist who alows his licensure to lapse for a period of two years or more and

chooses to resume his practice shal make a new application to the board, shal serve a board

approved practice of 160 hours which is to be completed in two consecutive months under the

supervision of alicensed occupationa therapist, and payment-of shdl pay the fee for reinstatement of

his licensure as prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120 B-of-this-chapter.

€.B. An occupationa therapist whose licensure has been revoked by the board and who wishes to be

reinstated shall make a new application to the board and payment of the fee for reinstatement of his

licensure as prescribed in 18 VAC 85-80-120 F-ef-this-ehapter pursuant to 8 54.1.2921 of the Code

of Virginia



