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CCoouunnsseelliinngg  RReegguullaattiioonnss  1 
 2 
 3 

PART I. 4 
GENERAL PROVISIONS  5 

 6 

 7 

18 VAC 115-20-20.  Fees required by the board  8 

 9 

A.  The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a professional 10 

counselor:  11 

 12 

 Active aAnnual license renewal $105 13 

 Inactive annual license renewal $55 14 

 Initial licensure by examination $65 15 

Initial licensure by endorsement $65 16 

 Duplicate license $5 17 

 Verification of license to another jurisdiction $25 18 

 Late renewal $35 19 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license $165 20 

 Replacement of or additional wall certificate $15 21 

 Returned check $25 22 

Reinstatement following revocation or suspension $500 23 

 24 

B. Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as 25 

specified in the application instructions.  All fees are nonrefundable. 26 

 27 

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board. 28 

 29 

 30 

PART IV. 31 

LICENSURE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT. 32 

 33 
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18 VAC 115-20-100. Annual renewal of licensure. 1 

 2 

A.  All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.  3 

 4 

B.  Beginning with the 2005 renewal, eEvery license holder who intends to continue an 5 

active to practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year: 6 

 7 

1.   A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to 8 

compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; 9 

and 10 

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20. 11 

 12 

C.  A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment 13 

of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-20-20.  No person shall practice 14 

counseling in Virginia unless he holds a current active license.  A licensee who has placed 15 

himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set 16 

forth in 18 VAC 115-20-110.C. 17 

 18 

CD.  Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days.  Failure to 19 

receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal 20 

requirement. 21 

 22 

18 VAC 115-20-105.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license. 23 

 24 

A.  After July 1, 2004, licensed professional counselors shall be required to have 25 

completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure 26 

renewal.  A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, 27 

standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia. 28 

 29 

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion 30 

of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 31 
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the renewal date.  Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing 1 

competency requirement.   2 

 3 

C.  The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency 4 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 5 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 6 

 7 

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain 8 

continuing competency for each license.  Dually licensed individuals will only be 9 

required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18 10 

VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family 11 

Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the 12 

Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers. 13 

 14 

18 VAC 115-20-106.  Continuing competency activity criteria. 15 

 16 

A.  Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one 17 

or more of the areas listed below. 18 

 19 

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science 20 

professions 21 

2. Counseling theory 22 

3. Human growth and development 23 

4. Social and cultural foundations 24 

5. The helping relationship 25 

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling 26 

7. Lifestyle and career development 27 

8. Appraisal of individuals 28 

9. Research and evaluation 29 

10. Professional orientation 30 

11. Clinical supervision 31 
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12. Marriage and family therapy 1 

13. Addictions 2 

 3 

B.  Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following 4 

types: 5 

 6 

1.  Formally organized learning activities or home study.  (Activities may be counted 7 

at their full hour value.)  Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the 8 

following board-approved mental health related activities: 9 

 10 

a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 11 

behavioral health discipline.   12 

 13 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 14 

 15 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 16 

offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 17 

 18 

d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 19 

offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by 20 

one of the following: 21 

 22 

(i)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 23 

state affiliates. 24 

 25 

(ii)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its 26 

state affiliates. 27 

 28 

(iii)  The American Association of State Counseling Boards. 29 

 30 

(iv)  The American Counseling Association and its state and local 31 
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affiliates. 1 

 2 

(v)  The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates. 3 

 4 

(vi)  Commission on Rehabilitation Education. 5 

 6 

(vii)  NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state 7 

and local affiliates. 8 

 9 

(viii)  National Association of Social Workers.  10 

 11 

(ix)  National Board for Certified Counselors. 12 

 13 

(x)  A national behavioral health organization or certification body. 14 

 15 

(xi)   Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing 16 

competency sponsors by the American Association of State Counseling 17 

Boards or a counseling board in another state. 18 

 19 

2.  Individual professional activities.   20 

 21 

a. Publication/presentation/new program development 22 

 23 

(i)  Publication of articles.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight  24 

hours.) 25 

 26 

Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a 27 

chapter in an edited book.   28 

 29 

(ii)  Publication of books.  (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 30 

hours.) 31 
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 1 

(iii)  Presentations.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 2 

 3 

The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period.  Only 4 

actual presentation time may be counted. 5 

 6 

(iv)  New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of 7 

eight hours.) 8 

 9 

New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop.  10 

New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university 11 

courses.  12 

 13 

b.  Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.) 14 

 15 

Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 16 

 17 

c.  Clinical supervision/consultation.  (Activity will count for a maximum of ten 18 

hours.) 19 

 20 

Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical 21 

supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.  22 

Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 23 

provide to others. 24 

 25 

d.  Leadership.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 26 

 27 

The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing 28 

competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization; 29 

editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 30 

state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national 31 



 7

counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary 1 

review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 2 

committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 3 

counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with 4 

justifiable professional learning experiences.  The leadership positions 5 

must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. 6 

 7 

e.  Practice related programs.  (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight 8 

hours.) 9 

 10 

The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency 11 

as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 12 

justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his 13 

clients.  Examples include: language courses, software training, medical 14 

topics, etc.    15 

 16 

18 VAC 115-20-107.  Documenting compliance with continuing competency 17 

requirements. 18 

 19 

A.   All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two 20 

years following renewal.   21 

 22 

B.  After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of 23 

licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 24 

 25 

C.  Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 26 

 27 

1.  To document completion of formal organized learning activities the licensee 28 

shall provide:  29 

 30 
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  a.  Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 1 

 2 

 b.  Certificates of participation. 3 

 4 

2.  Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source 5 

material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to  6 

completion of the home study. 7 

 8 

3.  Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the 9 

following: 10 

 11 

a.  Certificates of participation;  12 

 13 

b.  Proof of presentations made;  14 

 15 

c.  Reprints of publications;  16 

 17 

d.  Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing 18 

education programs;  19 

 20 

e.  Official notification from the association that sponsored the item 21 

writing workshop or continuing education program; or 22 

 23 

f.  Documentation of attendance at formal staffing by a signed affidavit on 24 

a form provided by the board.  25 

 26 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to 27 

satisfy renewal requirements. 28 

 29 

18 VAC 115-20-110.  Late renewal; reinstatement. 30 

 31 
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A.  A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration 1 

date by paying the late fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20 as well as the license renewal 2 

fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met 3 

all applicable continuing competency requirements. 4 

 5 

B.  A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume 6 

practice shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, and 7 

submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope 8 

of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing 9 

competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 10 

 11 

C.  A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active 12 

licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of 13 

continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive not 14 

to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 15 

 16 

 17 

PART VI. 18 
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 19 

UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT, DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS;  20 
REINSTATEMENT 21 

 22 

18 VAC 115-20-140.  Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand, 23 
censure,  or denial of renewal of license. 24 
 25 
A.  Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in 26 

accord with the following: 27 

 28 

1.  Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or violation 29 

of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of 30 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the practice of 31 

professional counseling, or any provision of this chapter. 32 

 33 
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2.  Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation. 1 

 2 

3.  Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health and 3 

welfare of one's clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice counseling with 4 

reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, 5 

narcotics, chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental or physical condi-6 

tion. 7 

 8 

4.  Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of 9 

Practice (18 VAC 115-20-130 B). 10 

 11 

5.  Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency. 12 

 13 

 6.  Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in 14 

this chapter. 15 

 16 

B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the licensee may petition the board 17 

for reinstatement upon good cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 18 

been obtained that would alter the determination reached. 19 

20 
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MMaarrrriiaaggee  aanndd  FFaammiillyy  TThheerraappyy  RReegguullaattiioonnss  1 
 2 

 3 

PART I 4 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 5 

 6 

18 VAC 115-50-20.  Fees.  7 

 8 

A.  The board has established fees for the following: 9 

RReeggiissttrraattiioonn  ooff  ssuuppeerrvviissiioonn  $$5500  10 

Add or change supervisor ..........................................................................................$25 11 

Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure...........................$140 12 

Initial licensure by endorsement: processing and initial licensure..........................$140 13 

Active aAnnual license renewal...............................................................................$105 14 

Inactive annual license renewal…………………………………………………….$55 15 

Penalty for late renewal .............................................................................................$35 16 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license............................................................................$165 17 

Verification of license to another jurisdiction ...........................................................$25 18 

Additional or replacement licenses..............................................................................$5 19 

Additional or replacement wall certificates...............................................................$15 20 

Returned check...........................................................................................................$25 21 

Reinstatement following revocation or suspension .................................................$500 22 

 23 

B.  Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as 24 

specified in the application instructions.  All fees are non-refundable. 25 

 26 

C.  Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board. 27 

 28 

 29 

PART IV 30 

RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE 31 

 32 
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18 VAC 115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.  1 

 2 

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.  3 

 4 

B.  Beginning with the 2005 renewal aAll licensees who intend to continue an active to 5 

practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year on or before the 6 

expiration date of the license submit to the board: 7 

 8 

1. A license renewal application supplied by the board completed application for 9 

renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to compliance with the 10 

continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and 11 

 12 

The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20. 13 
 14 

C.  A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment 15 

of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-50-20.  No person shall practice 16 

marriage and family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a current active license.  A licensee 17 

who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation 18 

requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-100.C. 19 

 20 

CD.  Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days.  Failure to 21 

receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the 22 

renewal requirement.  23 

 24 

D.  Licensees shall provide the board with official documentation of a legal name change 25 

and written notification of address changes within 90 days of such change. 26 

 27 

18 VAC 115-50-95.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license. 28 

 29 

A.  After  July 1, 2004, marriage & family therapists shall be required to have completed 30 

a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A 31 
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minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of 1 

practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.   2 

 3 

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion 4 

of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 5 

the renewal date.  Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing 6 

competency requirement.   7 

 8 

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency 9 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 10 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 11 

 12 

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain 13 

continuing competency for each license.  Dually licensed individual will only be required 14 

to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18 VAC 15 

115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Professional 16 

Counselors, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the 17 

Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers. 18 

 19 

18 VAC 115-50-96 Continuing competency activity criteria. 20 

 21 

A.  Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one 22 

or more of the areas listed below. 23 

 24 

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions 25 

2. Counseling theory 26 

3. Human growth and development 27 

4. Social and cultural foundations 28 

5. The helping relationship 29 

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling 30 

7 Lifestyle and career development 31 
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8. Appraisal of individuals 1 

9. Research and evaluation 2 

10. Professional orientation 3 

11. Clinical supervision 4 

12. Marriage and family therapy 5 

13. Addictions 6 

 7 

B.  Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following types: 8 

 9 

1.  Formally organized learning activities or home study.  (Activities may be 10 

counted at their full hour value.)  Hours shall be obtained from one or a 11 

combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities: 12 

 13 

 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 14 

behavioral health discipline.   15 

 16 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 17 

 18 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health 19 

field offered by federal, state or local licensed health facilities and licensed 20 

hospitals. 21 

 22 

d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health 23 
field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified 24 
or approved by one of the following: 25 

 26 
(i)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 27 

state affiliates. 28 

 29 

(ii)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its 30 

state affiliates. 31 

 32 
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(iii)  The American Association of State Counseling Boards. 1 
 2 

(iv)  The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates. 3 
 4 

(v)  The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates. 5 

 6 
(vi)  Commission on Rehabilitation Education. 7 
 8 
(vii)  NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state 9 

and local affiliates. 10 
 11 

(viii)  National Association of Social Workers.  12 

 13 

(ix)  National Board for Certified Counselors. 14 

 15 

(x)  A national behavioral health organization or certification body. 16 

 17 

(xi)   Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing 18 
competency sponsors by the American Association of State 19 
Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state. 20 

 21 

Individual professional activities. 22 
 23 
a. Publication/presentation/new program development 24 

 25 

(i)  Publication of articles.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight  26 

hours.) 27 

 28 

Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a 29 

chapter in an edited book.   30 

 31 

(ii)  Publication of books.  (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 32 

hours.) 33 

 34 

(iii)  Presentations.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 35 



 16

 1 

The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period.  Only 2 

actual presentation time may be counted. 3 

 4 

(iv)  New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of 5 

eight hours.) 6 

 7 

New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop.  8 

New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university 9 

courses.  10 

 11 

b.  Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.) 12 

 13 

Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 14 

 15 

c.  Clinical supervision/consultation.  (Activity will count for a maximum of ten 16 

hours.) 17 

 18 

Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical 19 

supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.  20 

Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 21 

provide to others. 22 

 23 

d.  Leadership.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 24 

 25 

The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing 26 

competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization; 27 

editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 28 

state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national 29 

counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary 30 

review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 31 
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committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 1 

counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with 2 

justifiable professional learning experiences.  The leadership positions 3 

must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. 4 

 5 

e.  Practice related programs.  (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight 6 

hours.) 7 

 8 

The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency 9 

as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 10 

justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his 11 

clients.  Examples include: language courses, software training, medical 12 

topics, etc.    13 

 14 

18 VAC 115-50-97.  Documenting compliance with continuing competency 15 
requirements. 16 
 17 

A.   All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two 18 

years following renewal.   19 

 20 

B.  After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of 21 

licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 22 

 23 

C.  Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 24 

 25 

1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall 26 

provide:  27 

 28 

 a.  Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 29 

 30 

 b.  Certificates of participation. 31 

 32 
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2.  Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source 1 

material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to 2 

completion of the home study. 3 

 4 

 3.  Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the 5 

following: 6 

 7 

a.  Certificates of participation;  8 

 9 

b.  Proof of presentations made;  10 

 11 

c.  Reprints of publications;  12 

 13 

d.  Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing 14 

education programs;  15 

 16 

e.  Official notification from the association that sponsored the item 17 

writing workshop or continuing education program; or 18 

 19 

f.  Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed 20 

affidavit on a form provided by the board. 21 

  22 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to 23 

satisfy renewal requirements. 24 

 25 

18 VAC 115-50-100.  Late renewal, reinstatement. 26 

 27 

A.  An individual person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its 28 

expiration date by paying the penalty fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20 as well as the 29 

license fee prescribed for the period the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of 30 

having met all applicable continuing competency requirements. 31 
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 1 

B.  An individual person seeking reinstatement of a license one year or more after its 2 

expiration date must apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee and submit 3 

evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 4 

practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing 5 

competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 6 

 7 

C.  A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active 8 

licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of 9 

continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive, not 10 

to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 11 

 12 

 13 

PART VI 14 
DISCIPLINARY ACTION 15 

 16 

18 VAC 115-50-120.  Disciplinary Action. 17 
 18 

A. In accordance with §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, the board may, after a 19 

hearing, revoke, suspend or decline to issue or renew a license or impose a fine in 20 

accordance with the following: 21 

 22 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; 23 

 24 

2. Procurement of a license, certificate or registration by fraud or misrepresentation; 25 

 26 

3. Conducting one’s practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the  health 27 

and welfare of one’s clients or the general public; 28 

 29 

4.  Practicing marriage and family therapy without reasonable skill and safety to 30 

clients by virtue of physical or emotional illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, 31 

narcotics, chemicals or any other hazardous substance or material; 32 
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 1 

5. Providing or offering services outside the demonstrable areas of competency; or 2 

 3 

6. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of any provision of any 4 

statute applicable to the practice of marriage and family therapy, or any part or 5 

portion of this chapter.;  or 6 

 7 

7.   Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this 8 

chapter. 9 

10 
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SSuubbssttaannccee  AAbbuussee  TTrreeaattmmeenntt  PPrraaccttiittiioonneerr  RReegguullaattiioonnss  1 
 2 
 3 
PPAARRTT  II  4 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 5 
 6 
 7 

18 VAC 115-60-20.  Fees required by the board.  8 

 9 

A. The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a substance abuse 10 

treatment practitioner:  11 

 12 

 Registration of supervision (initial)…………………………………………...$50 13 

 Add/Change supervisor……………………………………………………….$25 14 

 Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure…………...$140 15 

 Initial licensure by endorsement: Processing and initial licensure…………..$140 16 

 Active aAnnual license renewal……………………………………………...$105 17 

 Inactive annual license renewal……………………………………………… $55 18 

 Duplicate license………………………………………………………………..$5 19 

 Verification of license to another jurisdiction………………………………...$25 20 

 Late renewal…………………………………………………………………...$35 21 

 Reinstatement of a lapsed license…………………………………………….$165 22 

 Replacement of or additional wall certificate…………………………………$15 23 

 Returned check………………………………………………………………..$25 24 

 Reinstatement following revocation or suspension………………………….$500 25 

 26 

B.  Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor, or both, in appropriate 27 

amounts as specified in the application instructions.  All fees are non-refundable. 28 

 29 

C.  Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board. 30 

 31 

 32 

 33 
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PART IV. 1 
LLIICCEENNSSEE  RREENNEEWWAALL;;  RREEIINNSSTTAATTEEMMEENNTT  2 

 3 
18 VAC 115-60-110. Renewal of licensure 4 

 5 

A.  All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year. 6 

 7 

B.  Beginning with the 2005renewal, eEvery license holder who intends to continue an 8 

active to practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year: 9 

 10 

1. A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests 11 

to compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this 12 

chapter; and 13 

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20. 14 

 15 

C.   A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon 16 

payment of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-60-20.  No person 17 

shall practice substance abuse treatment in Virginia unless he holds a current active 18 

license.  A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by 19 

fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-60-120.C. 20 

 21 

CD.  Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days.  Failure to 22 

receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal 23 

requirement. 24 

 25 

18 VAC 115-60-115.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of a 26 

license. 27 

 28 

A.  After July 1, 2004, licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners shall be required 29 

to have completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual 30 

licensure renewal.  A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize 31 

the ethics, standard of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in 32 
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Virginia.   1 

 2 

B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion 3 

of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 4 

the renewal date.  Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing 5 

competency requirement.   6 

 7 

C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency 8 

requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 9 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 10 

 11 

D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain 12 

continuing competency for each license.  Dually licensed individuals will only be 13 

required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this Chapter or subsection A of 14 

18 VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family 15 

Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the 16 

Practice of Licensed Professional Counselors. 17 

 18 

18 VAC 115-60-116.  Continuing competency activity criteria. 19 

 20 

A.  Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one 21 

or more of the areas listed below. 22 

 23 

1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions 24 

2. Counseling theory 25 

3. Human growth and development 26 

4. Social and cultural foundations 27 

5. The helping relationship 28 

6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling 29 

7 Lifestyle and career development 30 

8. Appraisal of individuals 31 



 24

9. Research and evaluation 1 

10. Professional orientation 2 

11. Clinical supervision 3 

12. Marriage and family therapy 4 

13. Addictions 5 

 6 

B.  Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following 7 

types: 8 

 9 

1.   Formally organized learning activities or home study.  (Activities may be 10 

counted at their full hour value.)  Hours shall be obtained from one or a 11 

combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities: 12 

 13 

a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 14 

behavioral health discipline. 15 

 16 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 17 

 18 

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 19 

offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 20 

 21 

d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 22 

offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or 23 

approved by one of the following: 24 

 25 

(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 26 

state affiliates. 27 

 28 

(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its 29 

state affiliates. 30 

 31 



 25

(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards. 1 

 2 

(iv) The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates. 3 

 4 

(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates. 5 

 6 

(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education. 7 

 8 

(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state 9 

and local affiliates. 10 

 11 

(viii) National Association of Social Workers.  12 

 13 

(ix) The National Board for Certified Counselors. 14 

 15 

(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body. 16 

 17 

(xi) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing 18 

competency sponsors by the American Association of State 19 

Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state. 20 

 21 

2.  Individual professional activities.  22 

 23 

a.  Publication/presentation/new program development 24 

 25 

(i) Publication of articles.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight 26 

hours.) 27 

 28 

Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a 29 

chapter in an edited book. 30 



 26

  1 

(ii) Publication of books.  (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.) 2 

 3 

(iii) Presentations.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 4 

 5 

The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period.  Only 6 

actual presentation time may be counted. 7 

 8 

(iv) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of 9 

eight hours.) 10 

 11 

New program development includes a new course, seminar, or 12 

workshop.  New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level 13 

college or university courses. 14 

 15 

b.  Dissertation (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours) 16 

 17 

Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 18 

 19 

c.  Clinical supervision/consultation.  (Activity will count for a maximum of ten 20 

hours.) 21 

 22 

Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical 23 

supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.  24 

Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 25 

provide to others. 26 

  27 

d.  Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 28 

 29 

The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing 30 

competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization; 31 



 27

editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 1 

state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national 2 

counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary 3 

review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 4 

committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 5 

counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with 6 

justifiable professional learning experiences.  The leadership positions 7 

must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.   8 

 9 

e.  Practice related programs.  (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight 10 

hours.) 11 

 12 

The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency 13 

as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 14 

justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his 15 

clients.  Examples include: language courses, software training, medical 16 

topics, etc. 17 

 18 

18 VAC 115-60-117.  Documenting compliance with continuing competency 19 
requirements. 20 
 21 

A.   All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two 22 

years following renewal.   23 

 24 

B.  After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of 25 

licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 26 

 27 

C.  Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 28 

 29 

1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall 30 

provide:  31 

 32 



 28

  a.  Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 1 

 2 

 b.  Certificates of participation. 3 

 4 

2.  Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source 5 

material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to 6 

completion of  the home study. 7 

 8 

3.  Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the 9 

following: 10 

 11 

a.  Certificates of participation;  12 

 13 

b.  Proof of presentations made;  14 

 15 

c.  Reprints of publications;  16 

 17 

d.  Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing 18 

education programs;  19 

 20 

e.  Official notification from the association that sponsored the item 21 

writing workshop or continuing education program; or 22 

 23 

f.  Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed 24 

affidavit on a form provided by the board.  25 

 26 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to 27 

satisfy renewal requirements. 28 

 29 

18 VAC 115-60-120.  Late renewal; reinstatement. 30 

 31 



 29

A.  A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration 1 

date by paying the late renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20, as well as the license 2 

fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met 3 

all applicable continuing competency requirements. 4 

 5 

B.  A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume 6 

practice must shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, 7 

and submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the 8 

scope of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable 9 

continuing competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 10 

 11 

C.  A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for 12 

active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and 13 

documentation of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license 14 

has been inactive not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 15 

 16 

 17 

PART V. 18 
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 19 

UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS; 20 
REINSTATEMENT 21 

 22 

18 VAC 115-60-140.  Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand, 23 
censure, or denial of renewal of license. 24 
 25 

A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in 26 

accord with the following: 27 

 28 

1. Conviction of a felony, of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or 29 

violation of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 of Title 54.1 30 

(§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the 31 

practice of substance abuse treatment, or any provision of this chapter. 32 

 33 



 30

2. Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation. 1 

 2 

3. Conducting one’s practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health 3 

and welfare of one’s clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice 4 

substance abuse treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of 5 

illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other type of 6 

material or result of any mental or physical condition. 7 

 8 

4. Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of 9 

Practice (18 VAC 115-60-130). 10 

 11 

5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency. 12 

 13 

6. Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this 14 

chapter. 15 

 16 

B.  Petition for rehearing.  Following the revocation or suspension of a license the 17 

licensee may petition the board for rehearing upon good cause shown or as a result of 18 

substantial new evidence having been obtained that would alter the determination 19 

reached. 20 

 21 

 22 


