
 
                                                                               

townhall.virginia.gov 

 

 

Final Regulation 

Agency Background Document 
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(VAC) Chapter citation(s)  

18VAC65-20-10 et seq. 

18VAC65-30-10 et seq. 

18VAC65-40-10 et seq. 

VAC Chapter title(s) Regulations for the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 
Regulations for Preneed Funeral Planning 

Regulations for the Funeral Service Intern Program 

Action title Separate licenses for funeral directors and embalmers 

Date this document prepared April 15, 2022 

This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018), the Regulations for Filing 
and Publishing Agency Regulations (1VAC7-10), and the Form and Style Requirements for the Virginia Register of 
Regulations and Virginia Administrative Code. 

 
 

Brief Summary 
[RIS1] 

 

Provide a brief summary (preferably no more than 2 or 3 paragraphs) of this regulatory change (i.e., new 
regulation, amendments to an existing regulation, or repeal of an existing regulation). Alert the reader to all 
substantive matters. If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation. 
              

 

Pursuant to Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of the Assembly, this regulatory action establishes the 

education, examination, and experience required to be issued a license as a funeral director or an 

embalmer. Applicants will be required to obtain an associate’s degree in an accredited mortuary 

science program or complete at least 60 hours of coursework with at least 30 hours from a funeral 

directing program approved by the Board. Coursework in embalming will not be required for the 

funeral director license, and coursework in funeral directing and preneed financing will not be 

required for the embalmer license. All funeral interns will be required to complete 2,000 hours of 

supervised experience in the area or areas of funeral practice for which they are seeking 
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licensure. Amendments are also necessary to insert the three types of licenses and scopes of practice, as 

applicable, throughout Chapters 20, 30, and 40. 

 
[RIS2] 

Acronyms and Definitions  
 

 

Define all acronyms used in this form, and any technical terms that are not also defined in the 
“Definitions” section of the regulation. 
              

 

N/A 
 
 

 

Statement of Final Agency Action 
 

 

Provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was taken; 2) 
the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
              

 

On April 15, 2022, the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers adopted final amendments to 
18VAC65-20-10, et seq., 18VAC65-30-10, et seq., and 18VAC65-40-10 et seq. to comply with Chapter 
243 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly to create and issue separate licenses for funeral directing and 
embalming.  

 
 

Mandate and Impetus  
 

 

List all changes to the information reported on the Agency Background Document submitted for the 
previous stage regarding the mandate for this regulatory change, and any other impetus that specifically 
prompted its initiation. If there are no changes to previously reported information, include a specific 
statement to that effect. 
              

 

Adoption of amendments to regulations by emergency action was required to comply with the second 
enactment clause of Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of the General Assembly; this final action replaces the 
emergency regulations currently in effect. The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers was mandated 
to promulgate regulations to implement the requirement for separate licenses for funeral directors and 
embalmers. 
 
2. That the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers shall promulgate regulations to implement the 
provisions of this act to be effective within 280 days of its enactment. 
 
The issues to be addressed are the education, examination, and experience requirements necessary for 
a funeral director and embalmers to be qualified for licensure in Virginia. 

 
 

Legal Basis 
 

 

Identify (1) the promulgating agency, and (2) the state and/or federal legal authority for the regulatory 
change, including the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia and Acts of Assembly chapter 
number(s), if applicable. Your citation must include a specific provision, if any, authorizing the 
promulgating agency to regulate this specific subject or program, as well as a reference to the agency’s 
overall regulatory authority.    
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Regulations are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Section 54.1-2400, which provides the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers the authority to 
promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system: 

§ 54.1-2400. General powers and duties of health regulatory boards. 

 

The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be: 

 

1. To establish the qualifications for registration, certification, licensure, permit, or the issuance of a 
multistate licensure privilege in accordance with the applicable law which are necessary to ensure 
competence and integrity to engage in the regulated professions. 

 

2. To examine or cause to be examined applicants for certification, licensure, or registration. Unless 
otherwise required by law, examinations shall be administered in writing or shall be a demonstration 
of manual skills. 

 

3. To register, certify, license, or issue a multistate licensure privilege to qualified applicants as 
practitioners of the particular profession or professions regulated by such board. 

 

4. To establish schedules for renewals of registration, certification, licensure, permit, and the 
issuance of a multistate licensure privilege. 

 

5. To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, certification, 
permitting, or licensure or the issuance of a multistate licensure privilege and renewal that are 
sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and operation of the Department of Health 
Professions, the Board of Health Professions, and the health regulatory boards. 

 

6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) 
that are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system, which shall include 
provisions for the satisfaction of board-required continuing education for individuals registered, 
certified, licensed, or issued a multistate licensure privilege by a health regulatory board through 
delivery of health care services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health 
services through a local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the 
delivery of those health services. Such regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of 
this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.).… 

 

The specific statutory authority for this action is found in Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, which 
stated: 

§ 1. That the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers shall promulgate regulations that establish 
the requirements of licensure for funeral directors and embalmers as defined in § 54.1-2800. 
2. That the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers shall promulgate regulations to 
implement the provisions of this act to be effective within 280 days of its enactment. 

 
 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-100/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2500/
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Purpose  
 

 

Explain the need for the regulatory change, including a description of: (1) the rationale or justification, (2) 
the specific reasons the regulatory change is essential to protect the health, safety or welfare of citizens, 
and (3) the goals of the regulatory change and the problems it’s intended to solve. 
              

 

The purpose of the regulatory action is to establish requirements for education, examination, and 
experience that will ensure licensed funeral directors and licensed embalmers have adequate training and 
knowledge to perform their duties with competence in order to protect public health, safety, and welfare of 
the public in the handling of human remains, conducting funeral services, and arranging finances for 
funerals and disposition of the deceased. 

 
 

Substance 
 

Briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both. A more detailed discussion is provided in the “Detail of Changes” section below.   
              

 

Pursuant to Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of the Assembly, this regulatory action establishes the 
education, examination, and experience required to be issued a license as a funeral director or an 
embalmer. Applicants will be required to obtain an associate’s degree in an accredited mortuary science 
program or complete at least 60 hours of coursework with at least 30 hours from a funeral directing 
program approved by the Board. Coursework in embalming will not be required for the funeral director 
license, and coursework in funeral directing and preneed financing will not be required for the embalmer 
license. All funeral interns will be required to complete 2,000 hours of supervised experience in the area 
or areas of funeral practice for which they are seeking licensure. Amendments are also necessary to 
insert the three types of licenses and scopes of practice, as applicable, throughout Chapters 20, 30, and 
40. 

 
 

Issues  
 

 

Identify the issues associated with the regulatory change, including: 1) the primary advantages and 
disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or businesses, of implementing the new or 
amended provisions; 2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; 
and 3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public. 
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, include a specific statement to that 
effect.    
              

 

1) The advantage to the public will be the potential for more individuals to come into the profession to 
ensure a supply of funeral directors and embalmers to serve the needs of citizens in the future. The 
recent workforce survey showed that over 47% of the current licensees are over 55 years of age, 
and growth in the profession has been very modest. There are no disadvantages; licensees will be 
adequately educated and trained to perform the duties without their scope of practice. 

2) There are no advantages or disadvantages to this agency or the Commonwealth. 
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3) The Director of the Department of Health Professions has reviewed the proposal and performed a 
competitive impact analysis. The Board is authorized under § 54.1-2400 to promulgate 
regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) that are 
reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such regulations shall 
not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and 
Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) This proposal is consistent with the agency’s statutory 
responsibility to protect public health and safety in the Commonwealth. 

 
 

Requirements More Restrictive than Federal 
 

 

List all changes to the information reported on the Agency Background Document submitted for the 
previous stage regarding any requirement of the regulatory change which is more restrictive than 
applicable federal requirements. If there are no changes to previously reported information, include a 
specific statement to that effect. 
              

 

There are no applicable federal requirements. 

 
 

Agencies, Localities, and Other Entities Particularly Affected 
 

 

List all changes to the information reported on the Agency Background Document submitted for the 
previous stage regarding any other state agencies, localities, or other entities that are particularly affected 
by the regulatory change.  If there are no changes to previously reported information, include a specific 
statement to that effect.  
              

 

Other State Agencies Particularly Affected - none 

 
Localities Particularly Affected - none 

 
Other Entities Particularly Affected - none 
 

 

Public Comment 
 

 

Summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of the 
previous stage, and provide the agency response. Include all comments submitted: including those 
received on Town Hall, in a public hearing, or submitted directly to the agency. If no comment was 
received, enter a specific statement to that effect.  
              

 
The comment period was open from January 3, 2022 to March 4, 2022, and the Board held a public 
hearing on February 11, 2022. There were no public comments.  
 

Detail of Changes Made Since the Previous Stage 
 

 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4000
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-100
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2500
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List all changes made to the text since the previous stage was published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations and the rationale for the changes. For example, describe the intent of the language and the 
expected impact. Describe the difference between existing requirement(s) and/or agency practice(s) and 
what is being proposed in this regulatory change. Explain the new requirements and what they mean 
rather than merely quoting the text of the regulation. * Put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.   
              

 

N/A 

 
 

Detail of All Changes Proposed in this Regulatory Action 
 

 

List all changes proposed in this action and the rationale for the changes. For example, describe the 
intent of the language and the expected impact. Describe the difference between existing requirement(s) 
and/or agency practice(s) and what is being proposed in this regulatory change. Explain the new 
requirements and what they mean rather than merely quoting the text of the regulation. * Put an asterisk 
next to any substantive changes.   
              

Even though new, separate licenses as funeral directors and embalmers have not been issued since 
1973, the Board has continued to allow funeral directors and embalmers to renew their licenses. 
Therefore, the license types have been reflected in some current regulations. However, with the mandate 
to begin issuing the three separate licenses with different requirements for education, examination, and 
experience, amendments are needed throughout Chapters 20, 30, and 40. Most of the amendments 
simply clarify the usage of three types of licensure – funeral service licensee, funeral director, and 
embalmer – or to refer to the three types of practice. In the following sections, only those edits to denote 
the separate licenses have been made: 

18VAC65-20-130 
18VAC65-20-140 
18VAC65-20-151 
18VAC65-20-154 
18VAC65-20-235 
18VAC65-20-350 
18VAC65-20-630 

 

18VAC65-30-10 
18VAC65-30-50 
18VAC65-30-220 

 

18VAC65-40-10 
18VAC65-40-40 
18VAC65-40-90 
18VAC65-40-110 
18VAC65-40-180 
18VAC65-40-280 
18VAC65-40-340 

 

Other amendments related to the issuance of the three license types are found in the following: 
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Current 
chapter-
section 
number 

New 
chapter-
section 
number, if 
applicable 

Current 
requirements in 
VAC  

Change, intent, rationale, and likely impact of 
updated requirements 

N/A 18VAC65-20- 
231 

N/A New section 231 sets out the requirements for 
a funeral director to be licensed by 
examination. Subsection A requires that an 
applicant: 
1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high 
school diploma or its equivalent; 
2. Have completed a funeral service or funeral 
directing internship prescribed by the board in 
regulation; 
3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary 
science or funeral service accredited by the 
American Board of Funeral Service Education, 
Incorporated, or have completed an Associate’s 
Degree or its equivalent, which consists of at 
least 60 credit hours of coursework, of which at 
least 30 hours shall be from a funeral directing 
program approved by the board;  
4. Have successfully completed coursework in 

the area of pathology as approved by the board; 
5. Have passed the National Board Examination 

in Arts or State Board Examination in Arts of the 

International Conference of Funeral Service 

Examining Boards; and  
6. Have passed the Virginia State Board 

Examination on the laws, rules, and regulations 

for funeral practice. 
 
Currently, mortuary science programs in the two 

Community Colleges (Tidewater and John 

Tyler) require coursework in all phases of 
funeral service directing and embalming. The 

requirements of this section specify graduation 

from an accredited program or completion of an 
associate’s degree or its equivalent made up of 
60 hours of coursework, of which 30 hours must 
be from a funeral directing program. The 

regulation will allow a student to meet the 

requirement for a funeral directing license 

without having to complete coursework in the 

science of embalming.  
 
The Board does believe a course in pathology is 

essential for a funeral director to fully 

understand the nature of blood-borne 
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pathogens and the science relating to human 

remains, so such a course is required. The 

course may be completed within a mortuary 

school program or may be a course approved 

by the board that can be taken online outside 

the program. 
 
An applicant for licensure must demonstrate 

competency by passage of a licensing exam – 

either the International Conference exam that is 

currently required for a funeral service license or 
a “State Board Examination in Arts”, which is the 

Arts portion of the National Examination that is 

offered to candidates for licensure in states 

where a funeral directing license is available. 
The applicant would not be required to take the 

Science portion of the national exam. 
 
Applicants for all types of licensure are required 

to pass the state examination on laws and 

regulations. 
 
Subsection B specifies the documentation that 
must be submitted with an application package 
to determine eligibility. 
 
Subsection C specifies that the Board may 
license someone with a felony conviction.  
 
The Code (§ 54.1-2813) has specific language 

for licensure for the practice of funeral service, 
including (i) must be at least 18 years of age; (ii) 
hold a high school diploma or its equivalent; (iii) 
have completed a funeral service internship 

prescribed by the Board in regulation; (iv) have 

graduated from a school of mortuary science or 
funeral service approved by the Board; and (v) 
have passed the examination for licensure. 
The Board, in its discretion, may license an 

individual convicted of a felony if he has 
successfully fulfilled all conditions of 
sentencing, been pardoned, or has had his civil 
rights restored. 

 

The Code authorizes the issuance of a funeral 
directing license but does not provide the 

specifications for that license as is found for the 

funeral service license. Therefore, the 

provisions of section 231 include similar 
language. 
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 18VAC65-20-
232 

 Sets out the requirements for an embalmer 
license by examination.  
 
Subsection A requires an applicant for 
licensure as an embalmer to:  
1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high 

school diploma or its equivalent; 
2. Have completed a funeral service or 
embalming internship prescribed by the board in 

regulation; 
3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary 

science or funeral service accredited by the 

American Board of Funeral Service Education, 
Incorporated, or have completed an embalming 

program approved by the board; 
4. Have passed the National Board Examination 

in Sciences or State Board Examination in 

Sciences of the International Conference of 
Funeral Service Examining Boards; and 
Have passed the Virginia State Board 

Examination on the laws, rules, and regulations 

for funeral practice.  
 
Subsection B specifies the documentation that 
must be submitted with an application package 
to determine eligibility.  
 
Licensure as an embalmer does require the 

coursework in embalming in a mortuary science 

program but would not require the applicant to 

have completed coursework in such areas as 

preneed funeral planning. The examination 

required would be the National Examination of 
the International Conference or the State 

Examination in Sciences, which is the Sciences 

portion of the national examination. 
 
Subsections B and C are identical to those in 

section 231. 

18VAC65-
20-500 

 Sets out grounds for 
disciplinary action 

Number 10 is added to provide grounds for 
discipline if a licensee is found to be conducting 
activities or performing services outside the 
scope of one’s practice or for which the 
licensee is not trained and individually 
competent.  
 
With separate licenses and scopes of practice, it 
is necessary for the Board to establish as 
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grounds for discipline any practice outside the 

scope of one’s license. 

18VAC65-
40-130 

 Establishes the basic 
requirements for an 
internship 

Section 130 is amended to specify not only the 

general requirements for all internships in funeral 
practice, but to also specify the particular 
requirements of an internship in funeral directing 

or embalming. 
 
Subsection A amends the number of hours of 
training from 3,000 to 2,000 for all interns. 
 
In its regulatory action following a periodic 

review, the Board had already proposed to 

reduce the hours for a funeral service intern. 
The RAP and the Board discussed the hours 

and compared with other states – most of which 

require a year or the equivalent of training. 
There was concern that a reduced number of 
hours for an embalming license would not 
provide enough opportunity to work with a 

variety of human remains (autopsies, accidental 
deaths, etc.). It was agreed that at least 12 

months of training is essential for all types of 
licenses to ensure competency. 
 

Subsection D is added to specify that interns in 

funeral directing must assist in at least 25 

funerals, 25 arrangement conferences, as well 
as visitations and financing of funeral services. 
Subsection E is added to specify that interns in 

embalming must assist in at least 25 

embalmings, as well as treatment, restorative 

art, safety and sanitation, and organ, tissue, or 
anatomical donation. 

 18VAC65-40-
185 

 New section 185 specifies the requirement for 
an application for funeral directing or 
embalming licensure. 
 
The requirements for a funeral service intern 
are specified in § 54.1-2817 of the Code and in 
section 180. Those requirements for an 
applicant in funeral directing or embalming are 
set out in section 185 of the amended 
regulation. 

18VAC65-
40-220 

 Sets out 
qualifications for a 
site to be used for 
training of interns 

Subsection A is amended by adding #4 and #5 

to specify the particular qualifications for a site 

to be used to train a funeral directing intern or 
an embalming intern. The site must have 50 or 
more funerals over a 12-month period for a 
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funeral directing intern, or it must have 50 or 
more bodies for embalming for an embalming 

intern. In both cases, the funeral establishment 
can seek approval to use additional training 

sites if they don’t have the requisite number of 
funerals or embalmings. 

18VAC65-
40-250 

 Sets out 
requirements for 
supervision of a 
funeral intern 

Subsection F is added to specify that no more 

than two interns can be concurrently registered 

by a licensed supervisor in any category of 
licensure and to require that the supervisor be 

actively employed or under contract with a funeral 
establishment. 
 
The intent of the additional subsection is to 

ensure that an intern is being actively 

supervised rather than supervision in name 

only. The Code of Virginia provides the 

limitation of two per supervisor for funeral 
service interns, but does not specifically 

address a limitation for funeral directing or 
embalming interns. Therefore, the amendment 
to section 250 is necessary for consistency with 

the Code for all three categories. 
§ 54.1-2817: No more than two funeral service 

interns shall be concurrently registered under any 

one person licensed for the practice of funeral 
service, funeral directing or embalming. Each 

sponsor for a registered funeral service intern 

must be actively employed by or under contract 
with a funeral establishment. 

18VAC65-
40-320 

 Sets out 
requirements for 
reporting to the 
Board regarding an 
internship 

In its periodic review, the Board had already 

proposed the changes in subsection A and B, 
so they are repeated in this action. 
Subsection C is added to specify that an intern 

cannot receive credit for training on a new 

1,000 report until the previous 1,000 hour report 
has been approved by the board.  
 
The purpose is to ensure that the intern is not 
wasting hours in activity that is not approved for 
the scope of practice or that the intern is being 

solely utilized for activities that do not lead to 

licensure. For example, if a funeral directing 

intern has not assisted in a single arrangement 
meeting in the first 1,000 hours, it would 

indicate that the establishment is not providing 

adequate training. 
 
Subsection D is added to mirror the language in 

the Code for funeral service interns so it is 
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applicable to funeral directing and embalming 

interns. 
 

§ 54.1-2817: Credit shall not be allowed for any 

period of internship that has been completed 

more than three years prior to application for 
license or more than five years prior to 

examination for license. If all requirements for 
licensure are not completed within five years of 
initial application, the Board may deny an 

additional internship. A funeral service intern 

may continue to practice for up to 90 days from 

the completion of his internship or until he has 

taken and received the results of all 
examinations required by the Board. However, 
the Board may waive such limitation for any 

person in the armed service of the United 

States when application for the waiver is made 

in writing within six months of leaving service or 
if the Board determines that enforcement of the 

limitation will create an unreasonable hardship. 

 
 
 


