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Agency name Board of Physical Therapy , Department of Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

18VAC112-20-10 et seq. 

 

Regulation title Regulations Governing the Practice of the Board of Physical Therapy 

 

Action title Conform the fee for returned check to the amount fixed in statute  

Final agency action date 1/27/06 

Document preparation date 2/2/06 
 
When a regulatory action is exempt from executive branch review pursuant to § 2.2-4002 or § 2.2-4006 of the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (APA), the agency is encouraged to provide information to the public on the Regulatory 
Town Hall using this form.   
 
Note:  While posting this form on the Town Hall is optional, the agency must comply with requirements of the Virginia 
Register Act, the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual, and Executive Orders 21 (02) and 58 (99).  
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Please provide a brief summary of all regulatory changes, including the rationale behind such changes.  
Alert the reader to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing 
regulation. 
                
 
Currently, regulations of the Board of Physical Therapy provide for a fee of $25 for a check that 
is not paid by a financial institution on which it is drawn because of insufficient funds in the 
account.  The Administrative Process Act specifies that the penalty shall be $35 or the amount of 
any costs, whichever is greater.   

§ 2.2-614.1. Authority to accept revenue by commercially acceptable means; service charge; bad check 
charge.  

…C. If any check or other means of payment tendered to a public body in the course of its duties is not 
paid by the financial institution on which it is drawn, because of insufficient funds in the account of the 
drawer, no account is in the name of the drawer, or the account of the drawer is closed, and the check or 
other means of payment is returned to the public body unpaid, the amount thereof shall be charged to the 
person on whose account it was received, and his liability and that of his sureties, shall be as if he had 
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never offered any such payment. A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, whichever is greater, shall 
be added to such amount. This penalty shall be in addition to any other penalty provided by law, except 
the penalty imposed by § 58.1-12 shall not apply.  

Accordingly, the Board has adopted an amendment under an exempt action to conform regulations 
to the statute. Although required to comply with the Virginia Register Act, the agency is exempt 
from provisions of the Administrative Process Act for the implementation of these regulations 
pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 4, which grants an exemption if the action is:  “Necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 
involved.”  
 
Additionally, the Board has acted to reconcile the renewal procedure currently listed in section 
130 with the fee regulations and the procedure of the Board.  Previously, the Board of Physical 
Therapy amended section 135 to change the renewal from a licensee's birth month to renewal for 
all licensees on December 30th.  That change became effect on October 19, 2005.  At that time, 
the agency failed to amend the same language in section 130 for a biennial renewal.  At the 
Board’s last meeting, that was corrected to be consistent with the fee section to avoid a conflict 
and confusion by licensees. Although required to comply with the Virginia Register Act, the 
agency is exempt from provisions of the Administrative Process Act for the implementation of these 
regulations pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 2, which grants an exemption if the regulations “establish or 
prescribe agency organization, internal practice or procedures, including delegations of 
authority.”  
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Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                
 
On January 27, 2006, the Board of Physical Therapy adopted exempt actions to Chapter 20, 
Regulations Governing the Practice of the Board of Physical Therapy to amend the returned 
check fee regulations to conform to § 2.2-614.1 of the Code of Virginia and to correct the 
procedure for renewal listed in section 130.   
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Assess the impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability.  
               
 
There is no impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability.   
 


