State Agency Guide to Emergency Regulatory Process

An emergency regulation:

--Is promulgated if there is an "emergency situation"
or state law requires a regulation be promulgated
within 280 days.

--Can be effective upon filing with the Virginia
Register of Regulations or on a later date selected
by the agency.

--Is a temporary regulation. Initially effective for up to
18 months, an emergency regulation may be
extended for an additional 6 months if the Governor
approves (for a total of 2 years).

If the plan is to make the emergency regulation
permanent, then an Emergency/NOIRA stage must
be filed on the Town Hall to begin the process of
promulgating the permanent regulation.

Sources: Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia
and Office of Regulatory Management Procedures
(2022) to implement Executive Order 19 (2022)
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For more information,
visit the
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall
at
townhall.virginia.gov

Emergency Process:

Agency adopts emergency regulation
and submits (Form TH-05 or THO6 and
syncs RIS project) on the Town Hall
for executive branch review.
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Executive branch review
(In order of review)

Office of the Attorney General — no deadline;
Department of Planning & Budget — 21 day deadline;
Cabinet Secretary —14 day deadline;

Office of Regulatory Management/Governor — no
deadline.

After the Governor approves the emergency
regulation, it is submitted by the agency to the
Virginia Register of Regulations
via the Town Hall.

That same day, email notification is sent to
Town Hall registered public users.
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The emergency regulation is published
in the Register.
If a NOIRA to promulgate the
permanent replacement regulation
is published at the same time,
then the 30-day public comment begins and
a public comment forum opens on Town Hall.




