## **Public Guide to Emergency Regulatory Process**

An emergency regulation:

--Is promulgated if there is an "emergency situation" or state law requires that a regulation must be promulgated within 280 days.

--Can be effective upon filing with the *Virginia Register of Regulations* or a later date if selected by the agency.

--Is a temporary regulation. Initially effective for up to 18 months, an emergency regulation may be extended for an 6 additional months if the Governor approves.

Usually, an emergency regulation is replaced with a permanent regulation; if so, a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) to promulgate the permanent replacement regulation is filed at the same time as the emergency regulation. This is known as an emergency/NOIRA stage.

*Sources*: Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia and Office of Regulatory Management Procedures (2022) to implement Executive Order 19 (2022)





