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MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:  All Licensed Mine Operators 
 
FROM: ____________________ 

Conrad T. Spangler 
 
SUBJECT: DMM e-Forms Center Enhancements 
 
DATE: August 11, 2008 
 
The Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of Mineral Mining is pleased to release the latest 
enhancements to the DMM e-Forms Center.  In response to many inquiries and encouragement from our 
customers these new features become available to users of the DMM e-Forms Center on August 11, 2008.  The 
enhancements include: 
 

• Multi-Year Renewal option allowing operators to renew a permit for two years at a time. This should 
save time and effort for our operators. 

 
• Annual Contractor Reporting option which will allow operators to report to DMM the contractors that 

worked on their mine site during the year by December 15th, minimizing filing requirements to the 
Division. 

 
• On-line Payments of permit and certification fees, providing flexible payment options and rapid 

turnaround of transactions. 
 
These enhancements all require the use of the DMM e-Forms Center. If you do not have a User ID for the 
DMM e-Forms Center, you can obtain one by filling out the User Registration form found on 
https://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dmmeforms. 
 
Enclosed are three Communication Memorandums 01-08, 02-08 and 03-08 which outline the specific 
requirements for each of these new options. 
 
If you have questions regarding any of these enhancements or need help in gaining access to the DMM e-Forms 
Center, please call Chrissi Wood-Smith at 434-951-6322. 
 
Enclosures. 



 
 
 
 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY    
DIVISION OF MINERAL MINING   

            
 
COMMUNICATION MEMORANDUM NO. 01-08            August 1, 2008 
_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
REFERENCE:Mineral Mine Safety Laws of Virginia 2003 Edition - Section 45.1-161.292:30. License 

required for operation of mineral mines; term. 
 

A. No person shall engage in the operation of any mineral mine within this 
Commonwealth without first obtaining a license from the Department. … Licenses shall 
be in such form as the Director may prescribe. … 

 
B. Licenses shall be valid for a period of one year following the date of issuance, and 
shall be renewed on their anniversary date. 

 
Mineral Mine Reclamation Laws of Virginia 2003 Edition - Section 45.1-181. Permit required; 
fee; renewal fee; application; furnishing copy of map, etc., to landowner; approval by 
Department.  
 

…A permit shall be obtained prior to the start of any mining operation. If within 10 days 
of the anniversary date of the permit the Director, after inspection, is satisfied that the 
operation is proceeding according to the plan submitted to and approved by him, then the 
Director shall renew the permit upon payment of a renewal fee by the operator of $16 per 
acre for land to be affected by the total operation in the next ensuing year. … 

 
INQUIRY: Under current mine permit/license renewal requirements mine operators must complete renewal 

paperwork, and pay all bonds and fees annually, prior to the expiration of the permit/license. 
Mine operators have inquired as to whether DMM could allow permit/licenses to be renewed 
every two years since many mines have no changes to the acreage affected by the operations. 

 
REVIEW: Both the Mineral Mine Safety Act and the Mineral Mine Reclamation Law require that permit/ 

licenses be renewed annually by the anniversary date. In addition, both laws prescribe that the 
renewals be in such form as prescribed by the Director. 

 
Mine permits must be inspected by the Division, prior to the renewal of the permit.  
 
Upon becoming a member of the Minerals Reclamation Fund, operators must make an annual 
payment to the Fund based on the number of acres estimated to be affected during the ensuing 
year. 
 
 
 

DIVISION 



 
 
 
 

DIRECTIVE:DMM is offering a voluntary procedure whereby a mine operator could submit the bond, fees, and 
regulatory information to cover a two-year renewal period while complying with the regulatory 
requirement for annual permit/license renewal. 

 
 The procedure would require operators to comply with the following: 
 

 Licensed operators must maintain their permit using the DMM e-Forms Center, 
https://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dmmeforms,  and make bond and fee payments 
electronically. 

 Upon notification of impending permit/ license expiration (90 days prior), operators 
would access the DMM e-forms system and select the two-year renewal option on the 
DMM170 Renewal form. The operator would complete the necessary information, 
including an estimation of the acres to be affected by the operation in the next two years. 
The renewal application would then be submitted for review and approval.  

 DMM personnel will review the application, including making the required field 
inspection of the mine. Upon approval of the renewal, the operator will be required to pay 
the license, bond and fees calculated for his affected acreage, for the next two years. 

 The mid-term (at the first anniversary date after renewing for two years) renewal of the 
permit/license would be done automatically by DMM, including the required field 
inspection, without the operator having to take any further action.  

 If during the course of the two-year renewal period an operator affects additional acreage, 
not covered by the approved renewal, the operator will be required to amend his permit to 
show the additional acreage on the DMM170 Amendment form and pay any additional 
bond and renewal fees, as necessary.  If acreage is to be released from the bond or the 
permit within the first year of the two-year renewal period, applicable pre-paid fees for 
will be refunded for the second year only.   

 Ninety days prior to the end of the two-year renewal period, the operator will again be 
notified of the permit anniversary and may elect to continue the two-year option.  

 
Mine operators not wishing to use the two-year renewal option may continue to renew their 
permits/licenses annually following the present procedure.  

 



 
 
 
 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 
DIVISION OF MINERAL MINING   

            
 
COMMUNICATION MEMORANDUM NO. 02-08            August 1, 2008 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
REFERENCE:Mineral Mine Safety Laws of Virginia 2003 Edition - Section 45.1-161.292:2. Definitions. 
  

"Independent contractor" means any person that contracts to perform services or 
construction at a mine. 

 
Mineral Mine Safety Laws of Virginia 2003 Edition - Section 45.1-161.292:32.A.3. Application 
for license.  

 
No application for a mine license or a renewal shall be complete unless it contains 
information about each independent contractor working at the mine: (i) the independent 
contractor's trade name, business address and business telephone number; (ii) a 
description of the nature of the work to be performed by the independent contractor and 
where at the mine the work is to be performed; (iii) the independent contractor's MSHA 
identification number, if any; (iv) the independent contractor's address of record for 
service of citations and other documents; (v) the names and addresses of persons with 
overall responsibility for operating decisions; and (vi) the names and addresses of persons 
with overall responsibility for the health and safety of employees. 

 
Mineral Mine Safety Laws of Virginia 2003 Edition - Section 45.1-161.292:32.C. Application 
for license.  

 
Within thirty days after the occurrence of any change in the information required by 
subsection A, the licensed operator shall notify the Department, in writing, of such 
change.  

 
INQUIRY: Presently licensed mine operators report all contractors that they believe may work at their mine 

during the current year at the time the mine license is renewed each year.   The operator is also 
responsible for reporting any additional contractor working at their mine within thirty days of 
any change in this information. Mineral mine operators have inquired as to whether the 
procedure could be modified to allow the year-end reporting of contractors that actually worked 
at the mine, instead of a projected list at renewal time. This would improve the accuracy of the 
contractor lists.  Also, contractors who did not work on a mine site during the calendar year 
would not be contacted by DMM for hours and wages on a permit they had not worked on. 

 
REVIEW: Currently, contractor reporting procedures have caused operators to speculate as to which 

contractors may work at their mines during the course of the year.  Frequently, these contractors 
do not end up working at the mine.  Often the contractors do not know which permits have listed 
them as working on their mine sites.  Even if they do not have reportable hours and wages, 
contractors may potentially be listed as delinquent for their reporting requirement, which can 
result in violations and closure orders being issued by DMM against the contractor.   



 
 
 
 

 
The law requires that information on all independent contractors be reported. 
 
A mine license application or renewal is incomplete and cannot be issued unless all contractor 
information is provided. 
 
An application for a mine license shall be submitted by the person who will be the licensed 
operator of the mine. Contractor information is an integral part of the mine license application or 
license renewal application. 
 
Changes in the license information as specified in Section 45.1-161.292.32.A, must be reported 
to DMM in writing by the licensed operator within 30 days of the change.  Contractor 
information is included in 45.1-161.292.32.A. 

 
DIVISION 
DIRECTIVE:DMM is offering an electronic Annual Permit Contractor Reporting option, whereby a licensed 

mine operator can comply with the contractor reporting requirement by maintaining an up-to-
date contractor list at the mine site, and submitting an Annual Permit Contractor Report between 
December 1st and December 15th through the DMM e-Forms Center. 

 
 The optional electronic Annual Contractor Reporting procedure requires licensed operators to 

comply with the following: 
 

 Licensed operators must maintain their permit using the DMM e-Forms Center. 
 All contractor reporting for the calendar year must be completed between December 1st 

and December 15th of each year. 
 Licensed mine operators are responsible for maintaining an up-to-date list of all 

contractors working at their mines, including all information required by Virginia mine 
laws and regulations, at each mine site.  Such records must be available for review by 
DMM personnel at any time during the year.  

 Licensed operators are responsible for validating that each contractor working at their 
mine has a DMM Contractor ID number and is in good standing.  A list of blocked 
contractors is available thru the e-Forms Center.  A list of Active Contractors is available 
on the website: https://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dmmeforms 

 Licensed operators are required to inform DMM of their intention to select the annual 
electronic reporting option by indicating such on their mine license renewal in the e-
Forms Center. 

 The ability of licensed operators to participate in the electronic Annual Contractor 
Reporting option is at the discretion of DMM, and may be rescinded if the operator fails 
to maintain the contractor list at the mine site or does not submit the annual report 
between December 1st and December 15th. 

 The annual report should reflect all contractors who have worked on the mine site for the 
current calendar year and project those that might come on the site for the balance of the 
year. 

 Any enforcement action necessary to secure the required contractor information will be 
taken by DMM as deemed appropriate. 

 
 



 
 
 
 

DIVISION OF MINERAL MINING   
DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY    

            
 
COMMUNICATION MEMORANDUM NO. 03-08            August 1, 2008 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
INQUIRY: Mine operators have inquired as to whether DMM could allow electronic payment of 

permit/license fees, Minerals Reclamation Fund (MRF) deposits, cash bonds, as well as other 
fees collected for certification and training. 

 
REVIEW: The Mineral Mine Safety Act and the Mineral Mine Reclamation Law require that mineral mine 

sites have both a permit and license to operate and that these be renewed annually.  Additionally, 
each operation must have a bond provided until the operator becomes a member of the Minerals 
Reclamation Fund. Upon becoming a member of the Minerals Reclamation Fund, operators 
make an annual payment to the Fund based on the number of acres estimated to be affected 
during the ensuing year. 

 
Each application for a mineral mine license, or renewal of a license, must submit a fee of $180.  
A sand and gravel mine of less than 5 acres is charged a $48 fee.  
 
Each mineral mine permit must pay a fee of $31 per permitted acre for the total operation and 
$16 per affected acre thereafter for renewal. 
 
The Board of Mineral Mining Examiners requires certification of persons who work in mineral 
mines and persons who have duties and responsibilities in relation to mineral mining.  A fee of 
$10 is paid by each person examined.  A fee of $1 is paid for the replacement of a lost 
certification card. 
 

DIVISION 
DIRECTIVE:DMM is offering a voluntary procedure whereby a mine operator may submit the license and 

permit fees, cash bond, MRF deposits and certification fees electronically. 
 
 The procedure requires operators to do the following: 
 

 Licensed operators would have to use the DMM e-Forms Center, 
https://www.dmme.virginia.gov/dmmeforms 

 The DMM e-Forms Center will allow access to be granted to a payment screen, 
DMM173, to a specific person(s), if necessary (e.g., financial officer, officer manager). 

 Payments may be made using Electronic Funds Transfer or Credit card (Master Card and 
Visa will be accepted on transactions up to $500). 

 
Any mine operator not wishing to use the on-line payment option may continue to conduct financial 
transactions using the present procedure.  

 
 


