
 
 

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal 
mine workers.  The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in 
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the 
certification program.  The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20  
(VR 480-04-2),  which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner 
examinations and certifications. 
 
CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:  *First Class Mine Foreman 
This certification authorizes the holder to: 
� Perform all duties required by State and Federal laws and codes as certified mine 

foreman/examiner 
� Record findings on pre-shift, on-shift and weekly examinations 
NOTE:  This certification may be used to perform pre/shift – on/shift examinations at shaft/slope 
locations. 

 
APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 
� Application (BCME-1) and $10.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination 
� 23 years of age 
� Five years mining experience, three of which shall be underground 
� Three years credit will be granted for mining engineering degree from an approved four year 

college or two years credit for a degree in mining technology 
� Current first aid training (MSHA first aid 5000-23 acceptable) 

 
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:  A score of 85% on each element of the examination 
 
ELEMENTS OF EXAM       NUMBER OF QUESTIONS 
� Dust   (DU)        20 
� Electrical   (EL)        20 
� Explosives   (EX)        20  
� First Aid   (FA)        20 
� Fires and Explosions   (FX)      20 
� Haulage   (HA)        20 
� Mine Gases  (MG)       20 
� Mining Laws   (ML)       50 
� Ventilation   (VE)        20 
� Federal Regulations  (FR)       20 
� Records - Preshift/Onshift   (PO) 
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� Records - Practical Exercises   (PS) 

- Ventilation 
- Roof Control 
- Emergency Response 

� Map - ventilated per instruction   (MA) 
� Records – Weekly Examination   (WE) 
� Gas Detection - practical demonstration         

 
 
RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:  
� Title 30 CFR Part 48, 70, 75 
� Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia 
� BCME Requirements 
� Practical Map and Records 
� First Class Mine Foreman Study Guide 
� First Aid For Miners Study Guide 
� Mine Gases Packet 
 
  

The above mentioned study mater ials are available at the Depar tment of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center  (276) 523-8233 and Keen Mountain 
Field Office (276) 498-4533. 
 
*4 hours of biannual continuing education required to update this cer tification. 
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