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Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine 

 
Guidance for 

Continuing Education (CE) Audits and Sanctioning for Failure to Complete CE 
 
Applicable Law, Regulation and Guidance 
Code of Virginia: § 54.1-3805.2  
Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine: 18 VAC 105-20-70  
 
Guidance 
CE Extension Request 
CE extensions may be granted for good cause of up to one year for the completion of CE 
requirements. Requests for extensions must be received prior to the licensure renewal date of 
December 31 of each year. Licensees who have not completed the CE requirements and submit a 
request after December 31 may be subject to disciplinary action. 
 
CE Exemptions 
The Board may grant an exemption for all or part of the CE requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military service or 
officially declared disasters. Requests for an exemption should be submitted prior to licensure 
renewal date of December 31 of each year. 
 
A licensee is exempt from completing CE requirements on the first renewal date following his 
initial licensure by examination. This does not apply for those licensees initially licensed in 
Virginia by endorsement. 
 
CE Audit Procedures 

• After each renewal cycle, the Board may audit the following licensees for compliance 
with CE requirements: 

o Licensees who fail to respond or respond “no” to the CE renewal question on the 
annual license renewal form; and 

o Licensees selected for random audit using a statistically valid audit sample and a 
method that ensures randomness of those selected. 

• For those selected for the audit 
o Board staff will notify licensees that they are being audited via email if an address 

is available or by postal carrier if an email address is not available. 
o The licensee is required to submit documentation of completion of required CE 

credits. Documentation must include: 
� Date of CE 
� Subject of the program or course 
� Number of CE credits 
� Certification from an approved sponsor 

o Documentation submitted to verify CE completion will be reviewed for 
compliance with the regulations. NOTE: Veterinarians are required to 
complete a minimum of 15 CE hours and veterinary technicians are required 
to complete a minimum of six CE hours. Approved CE credit is given for 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_laws_regs.htm#reg
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Optometry/optometry_laws_regs.htm#law
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_laws_regs.htm#reg
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courses or programs related to the treatment and care of patients and shall 
be clinical courses in veterinary medicine or veterinary technology or courses 
that enhance patient safety, such as medical recordkeeping or Occupational 
Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) requirements. Courses in practice 
management would not be considered clinical courses or courses that 
enhance patient safety. 

o Licensees who have not completed required CE will be referred for possible 
disciplinary action 

 
Disciplinary Action for Non-Compliance with CE Requirements 
The Board adopted the following guidelines for resolution of cases of non-compliance with CE 
requirements: 
 

Veterinarian 
 

Cause Possible Action 
First offense; short 4 hours or less 
 

Confidential Consent Agreement; 45 days to 
make up missing hours 

First offense: short more than 4 hours  Consent Order; Monetary Penalty of $500; 45 
days to make up missing hours 

Second offense; short up to 15 hours 
 

Consent Order; Reprimand; Monetary Penalty 
of $250 per missing hour up to a maximum of 
$2000; 60 days to make up missing hours 

No response to audit notifications or three or 
more offenses 

Informal Fact-Finding Conference 

 
Veterinary Technician 

 
Cause Possible Action 

First offense; short 2 hours or less 
 

Confidential Consent Agreement; 45 days to 
make up missing hours 

First offense: short more than 2 hours  Consent Order; Monetary Penalty of $200; 45 
days to make up missing hours 

Second offense; short up to 6 hours 
 

Consent Order; Reprimand; Monetary Penalty 
of $100 per missing hour up to a maximum of 
$1000; 60 days to make up missing hours 

No response to audit notifications or three or 
more offenses 

Informal Fact-Finding Conference 

 
Note: When probable cause is found that a licensee has falsely certified completion of the 
required CE for renewal of his license, the Board may offer a pre-hearing consent order or hold 
an informal fact finding conference. 


