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Final Regulations   
Board of Dentistry 

 
 

Part II.  Licensure Renewal and Fees.  

18VAC60-20-20. License renewal and reinstatement.  

A. Renewal fees.  Every person holding an active or inactive license, a full-time faculty license, 

or a restricted volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March 

31, renew his license.  Every person holding a teacher's license, temporary resident’s license or a 

temporary permit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew his 

license. 

1. The fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dentistry shall be $150 

[315 285], and the fee for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dental 

hygiene shall be $50 [80 75]. 

2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $75 [158 145] for dentists and $25 [45 40] 

for dental hygienists.   

3. The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $15. 

4. The application fee for a temporary resident’s license shall be $55 60. The annual renewal fee 

shall be $35 [40 35] a year. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15.  

B. Late fees.  Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by the deadline 

required in subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an additional late fee of $50 [105 

100] for dentists with an active license and $20 [26 25] for dental hygienists with an active 
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license.  The late fee shall be $50 for dentists with an inactive license and $15 for dental 

hygienists with an inactive license. The board shall renew a license if the renewal form, renewal 

fee, and late fee are received within one year of the deadline required in subsection A of this 

section. 

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of any person who does not return the 

completed renewal form and fees by the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall 

automatically expire and become invalid and his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be 

illegal. 

1. Any person whose license has expired for more than one year and who wishes to reinstate 

such license shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the 

reinstatement fee of $225 [525 500] for dentists and $135 [210 200] for dental hygienists. 

2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action 

and additional fines by the board. 

3. The executive director may reinstate such expired license provided that the applicant can 

demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the Code 

of Virginia and 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant has paid the 

unpaid renewal fee, the reinstatement fee and any fines or assessments.  Evidence of continuing 

competence shall include hours of continuing education as required by subsection H of 18 VAC 

60-20-50 and may also include evidence of active practice in another state or in federal service or 

current specialty board certification. 
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D. Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose 

license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application 

and fee of $750 [1,050 1,000] for dentists and $500 [525 500] for dental hygienists.  Any person 

whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its approval a 

reinstatement application and fee of $350 [790 750] for dentists and $250 [420 400] for dental 

hygienists. 

18VAC60-20-30. Other fees.  

A. Dental licensure application fees. The application fee for a dental license by examination, a 

license to teach dentistry, a full-time faculty license, or a temporary permit as a dentist shall be 

$225 [420 400]. The application fee for dental license by credentials shall be $[525 500]. 

B. Dental hygiene licensure application fees. The application fee for a dental hygiene license by 

examination, a license to teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall 

be $135 [185 175]. The application fee for dental hygienist license by endorsement shall be 

$[290 275]. 

C. Duplicate wall certificate. Licensees desiring a duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request 

in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate, accompanied by a fee of $25 

[65 60].  

D. Duplicate license. Licensees desiring a duplicate license shall submit a request in writing 

stating the necessity for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10 [21 20]. If a 

licensee maintains more than one office, a notarized photocopy of a license may be used.  



 4

E. Licensure certification. Licensees requesting endorsement or certification by this board shall 

pay a fee of $25 [40 35] for each endorsement or certification.  

F. Restricted license. Restricted license issued in accordance with §54.1-2714 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be at a fee of $150 [315 285].  

G. Endorsement license. License by endorsement issued in accordance with 18VAC60-20-80 for 

dental hygienists shall be at a fee of $135.  

H. Restricted volunteer license. The application fee for licensure as a restricted volunteer dentist 

or dental hygienist issued in accordance with §54.1-2712.1 or §54.1-2726.1 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be $25.  

I. Returned check. The fee for a returned check shall be $ 35.  

18VAC60-20-250. Registration of oral and maxillofacial surgeons.  

Within 60 days after the effective date of this section, every licensed dentist who practices as an 

oral and maxillofacial surgeon, as defined in §54.1-2700 of the Code of Virginia, shall register 

his practice with the board and pay a fee of $175 [185 175].  

1. After initial registration, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall renew his registration 

annually on or before December 31 by payment of a fee of $175 [185 175].  

2. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who fails to register or to renew his registration and 

continues to practice oral and maxillofacial surgery may be subject to disciplinary action by the 

board.  
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3. Within one year of the expiration of a registration, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon may 

renew by payment of the renewal fee and a late fee of $55 [65 55].  

4. After one year from the expiration date, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon who wishes to 

reinstate his registration shall update his profile and pay the renewal fee and a reinstatement fee 

of $175 [360 350].  

18VAC60-20-310. Credentials required for certification.  

A. An applicant for certification shall:  

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license from the board;  

2. Submit a completed application and fee of $225 [236 225];  

3. Complete an oral and maxillofacial residency program accredited by the Commission on 

Dental Accreditation;  

4. Hold board certification by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (ABOMS) 

or board eligibility as defined by ABOMS;  

5. Have current privileges on a hospital staff to perform oral and maxillofacial surgery; and  

6. If his oral and maxillofacial residency or cosmetic clinical fellowship was completed after July 

1, 1996, and training in cosmetic surgery was a part of such residency or fellowship, the 

applicant shall submit:  
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a. A letter from the director of the residency or fellowship program documenting the training 

received in the residency or in the clinical fellowship to substantiate adequate training in the 

specific procedures for which the applicant is seeking certification; and  

b. Documentation of having performed as primary or assistant surgeon at least 10 proctored 

cases in each of the procedures for which he seeks to be certified.  

7. If his oral and maxillofacial residency was completed prior to July 1, 1996, or if his oral and 

maxillofacial residency was completed after July 1, 1996, and training in cosmetic surgery was 

not a part of the applicant's residency, the applicant shall submit:  

a. Documentation of having completed didactic and clinically approved courses to include the 

dates attended, the location of the course, and a copy of the certificate of attendance. Courses 

shall provide sufficient training in the specific procedures requested for certification and shall be 

offered by:  

(1) An advanced specialty education program in oral and maxillofacial surgery accredited by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation;  

(2) A medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education or other 

official accrediting body recognized by the American Medical Association;  

(3) The American Dental Association (ADA) or one of its constituent and component societies or 

other ADA Continuing Education Recognized Programs (CERP) approved for continuing dental 

education; or  

(4) The American Medical Association approved for category 1, continuing medical education.  
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b. Documentation of either:  

(1) Holding current privileges to perform cosmetic surgical procedures within a hospital 

accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or  

(2) Having completed at least 10 cases as primary or secondary surgeon in the specific 

procedures for which the applicant is seeking certification, of which at least five shall be 

proctored cases as defined in this chapter.  

18VAC60-20-320. Renewal of certification.  

In order to renew his certification to perform cosmetic procedures, an oral and maxillofacial 

surgeon shall possess a current, active, unrestricted license to practice dentistry from the Virginia 

Board of Dentistry and shall submit along with the renewal application a fee of $100 [105 100] 

on or before December 31 of each year. If an oral and maxillofacial surgeon fails to renew his 

certificate, the certificate is lapsed and performance of cosmetic procedures is not permitted. To 

renew a lapsed certificate within one year of expiration, the oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall 

pay the renewal fees and a late fee of $35. To reinstate a certification that has been lapsed for 

more than one year shall require completion of a reinstatement form documenting continued 

competency in the procedures for which the surgeon is certified and payment of a reinstatement 

fee of $225.  
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Certification 
 

 
I certify that this regulation is full, true, and correctly dated. 
 
 
      
      

  Sandra K. Reen        
  Executive Director 

Virginia Board of Dentistry 
 
     Date: 
 

 
 


