
 

UNAPPROVED 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

LEGISLATIVE/REGULATORY COMMITTEE 

 MEETING MINUTES 

 

The Virginia Board of Physical Therapy Committee met on Thursday, March 21, 2013 at the 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, 3rd Floor Meeting Room, Henrico, 

Virginia. 

 

 

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: 

 

Robert Maroon, PT, Chair 

Melissa Wolff-Burke, PT, EdD 

 

DHP STAFF PRESENT FOR ALL OR PART OF THE MEETING: 

 

Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director 

Lynne Helmick, Deputy Executive Director 

Elaine Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst 

Missy Currier, Board Operations Manager 

Annie Artis, Licensing Manager 

Laura Mueller, Licensing Specialist 

 

QUORUM: 

 

With 2 members present, a quorum was established. 

 

GUESTS PRESENT 

 

None 

 

CALLED TO ORDER 

 

The committee meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. 

 

 

REGULATORY REVIEW 

 

1)   Active Practice - The Committee discussed the impediments that active practice 

requirements present for persons trying to re-enter into the profession.  Following much 

discussion, a decision was made to make the hours for active practice and reinstatement 

requirements consistent with renewal requirements.  The following changes were agreed 

by the Committee: 

 



Board of Physical Therapy 

Regulatory/Legislative Meeting 

March 21, 2013 

Page 2 of 7 

18VAC112-20-65. Requirements for licensure by endorsement. 

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in the United States, its territories, the District of Columbia, or 

Canada may be licensed in Virginia by endorsement.  

B. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit: 

1. Documentation of having met the educational requirements prescribed in 

18VAC112-20-40 or 18VAC112-20-50. In lieu of meeting such requirements, an 

applicant may provide evidence of clinical practice consisting of at least 2,500 hours 

of patient care during the five years immediately preceding application for licensure 

in Virginia with a current, unrestricted license issued by another U.S. jurisdiction; 

2. The required application, fees, and credentials to the board;  

3. A current report from the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) 

and a current report from the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

4. Evidence of completion of 15 hours of continuing education for each year in which 

the applicant held a license in another U.S. jurisdiction, or 60 hours obtained within 

the past four years; and 

5. Documentation of passage of an examination equivalent to the Virginia 

examination at the time of initial licensure or documentation of passage of an 

examination required by another state at the time of initial licensure in that state and 

active, clinical practice with a current, unrestricted license for at least five years 

prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. 

For the purpose of this subsection, active, clinical practice shall mean at least 2,500 

hours of patient care over a five-year period. 

C. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant seeking licensure by 

endorsement who has not actively practiced physical therapy in another state for at 

least 320 160 hours within the four two years immediately preceding his application 

for licensure shall first successfully complete 480 hours in a traineeship in 

accordance with requirements in 18VAC112-20-140 that is equal to the number of 

hours of active practice that were required for renewal of an active license in 

Virginia during the period in which the licensee has not actively practiced in another 

state, not to exceed 480 hours. If the applicant can document that he has met the PRT 

standard within the two years preceding application for reinstatement, he shall be 

credited with 160 hours towards required traineeship hours. 

D. A physical therapist assistant seeking licensure by endorsement who has not 

actively practiced physical therapy in another state for at least 160 hours within the 

two years immediately receding his application for licensure shall first successfully 

complete a traineeship in accordance with 18VAC112-20-140 that is equal to the 

number of hours of active practice required for renewal of an active license in 

Virginia during the period in which the licensee has not actively practiced in another 

state, not to exceed 320 hours.  

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC112-20-140
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18VAC112-20-135. Inactive license.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request on the renewal application and 

submission of the required renewal fee of $70 for a physical therapist and $35 for a 

physical therapist assistant, be issued an inactive license. The fee for the renewal of 

an inactive license due December 31, 2010, shall be $60 for a physical therapist and 

$30 for a physical therapist assistant. 

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to meet active practice 

requirements.  

2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to 

practice physical therapy in Virginia.  

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who holds an inactive license 

may reactivate his license by:  

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an inactive license and that of an 

active license for the biennium in which the license is being reactivated; and  

2. Providing proof of: a. Active active practice hours in another jurisdiction equal to 

those required for renewal of an active license in Virginia for the period in which the 

license has been inactive.  

a. If the inactive physical therapist licensee does not meet the requirement for active 

practice, the license may be reactivated by completing 480 hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 and that is equal to the 

number of hours of active practice requires for renewal of an active license in 

Virginia during the period in which the license was inactive, not to exceed 480 

hours.  If the applicant can document that he has met the standard of the PRT within 

the two years preceding application for reactivation in Virginia, he shall be credited 

with 160 hours towards required traineeship hours. 

b. If the inactive physical therapist assistant licensee does not meet the requirement 

for active practice, the license may be reactivated by completing a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 and that is equal to the 

number of hours of active practice required for renewal of an active license in 

Virginia during the period in which the license was inactive, not to exceed 320 hours; 

and  

b. Completion of 3. Completing the number of continuing competency hours required 

for the period in which the license has been inactive, not to exceed four years.  

18VAC112-20-136. Reinstatement requirements.  

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose Virginia license is 

lapsed for two years or less may reinstate his license by meeting the requirements for 

renewal and payment of the renewal and late fees fee as set forth in 18VAC112-20-

150 18VAC112-20-27 and completion of continued competency requirements as set 

forth in 18VAC112-20-131. 

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose Virginia license is 

lapsed for more than two years and who is seeking reinstatement shall:  
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1. Practice physical therapy in another jurisdiction for at least 320 hours within the 

four years immediately preceding applying for reinstatement or successfully complete 

480 hours as specified in 18VAC112-20-140; and Apply for reinstatement and pay the 

fee specified in 18VAC112-20-27; 

2. Complete the number of continuing competency hours required for the period in 

which the license has been lapsed, not to exceed four years; and 

3. Have actively practiced physical therapy in another jurisdiction for at least 160 

hours within the two years immediately preceding applying for reinstatement.  

a. If the physical therapist applicant does not meet the requirement for active 

practice, the license may be reactivated by completing hours in a traineeship that 

meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 and that is equal to the 

number of hours of active practice required for renewal of an active license in 

Virginia during the period in which the license was expired, not to exceed 480 hours. 

If the applicant can document that he has met the PRT standard within the two years 

preceding application for reinstatement, he shall be credited with 160 hours towards 

required traineeship hours. 

b. If the physical therapist assistant applicant does not meet the requirement for 

active practice, the license may be reinstated by completing a traineeship that meets 

the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 and that is equal to the number of 

hours of active practice required for renewal of an active license in Virginia during 

the period in which the license was expired, not to exceed 320 hours.  

 

2) Evaluation/Re-Evaluation/Periodic Evaluation – The Committee continued discussion 

from the February 15, 2013 meeting about better defining “Evaluation” and “Re-

evaluation”.  The following draft language was agreed by the Committee: 

 

18VAC112-20-10. Definitions. 

“Re-evaluation” means a process in which the physical therapist makes clinical 

judgments based on data gathered during an examination or screening in order to 

determine a patient’s response to the treatment plan and care provided. 

 

18VAC112-20-90. General responsibilities.  

A. The physical therapist shall be responsible for managing all aspects of the 

physical therapy care of each patient and shall provide:  

 

1. The initial evaluation for each patient and its documentation in the patient 

record; and  

2. Periodic evaluations re-evaluation, including documentation of the patient's 

response to therapeutic intervention.; and  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC112-20-140
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC112-20-140
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3. The documented status of the patient at the time of discharge, including the 

response to therapeutic intervention. If a patient is discharged from a health care 

facility without the opportunity for the physical therapist to re-evaluate the 

patient, the final note in the patient record may document patient status.  

 

18VAC112-20-120. Responsibilities to patients.  

D. The physical therapist shall reevaluate the patient as needed, but not less than 

according to the following schedules:  

 

1. For inpatients in hospitals as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia, it 

shall be not less than once every seven consecutive days.  

2. For patients in other settings, it shall be not less than one of 12 visits made to 

the patient during a 30-day period, or once every 30 days from the last evaluation 

re-evaluation, whichever occurs first.  

3. For patients who have been receiving physical therapy care for the same 

condition or injury for six months or longer, it shall be at least every 90 days from 

the last re-evaluation.  

  

  

3) 18VAC112-20-70 – Traineeship for unlicensed graduate scheduled to sit for the 

national exam - The Committee further reviewed whether or not to allow a traineeship to 

continue for 2 days following notification of failure on the exam.  The Committee agreed 

not to change the regulation at this time. 

 

4) 18VAC112-20-60 – Requirements for licensure by examination – The Committee 

agreed that to remove the entire section B as shown below:  

 

B.  If an applicant fails the national examination three times, he shall apply for 

approval to sit for any subsequent examination by submission of evidence 

satisfactory to the board of having successfully completed the following 

requirements: 

1. Provide the board with a copy of the deficiency report from the examination;  

2. Review areas of deficiency with the applicant's physical therapy educational 

program and develop a plan, which may include additional clinical training or 

coursework, to address deficiency areas; and 

 

3. Take an examination review course and the practice examination. 
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5) 18VAC112-20-150. Fees -   Upon Staff recommendation, the Committee agreed to repeal 

this section and replace with 18VAC112-20-27. (Fees).  Fees were not changed just the 

placement in the regulations as shown below: 

 

18VAC112-20-27. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not be refundable.  

B. Licensure by examination.  

1. The application fee shall be $140 for a physical therapist and $100 for a 

physical therapist assistant.  

2. The fees for taking all required examinations shall be paid directly to the 

examination services.  

C. Licensure by endorsement. The fee for licensure by endorsement shall be $140 

for a physical therapist and $100 for a physical therapist assistant.  

D. Licensure renewal and reinstatement.  

1. The fee for active license renewal for a physical therapist shall be $135 and for 

a physical therapist assistant shall be $70 and shall be due by December 31 in 

each even-numbered year. 

2. The fee for an inactive license renewal for a physical therapist shall be $70 and 

for a physical therapist assistant shall be $35 and shall be due by December 31 in 

each even-numbered year. 

3. A fee of $25 for a physical therapist assistant and $50 for a physical therapist 

for processing a late renewal within one renewal cycle shall be paid in addition to 

the renewal fee.  

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license that has expired for two or more years 

shall be $180 for a physical therapist and $120 for a physical therapist assistant 

and shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.  

E. Other fees.  

1. The fee for an application for reinstatement of a license that has been revoked 

shall be $1,000; the fee for an application for reinstatement of a license that has 

been suspended shall be $500.  

2. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5, and the fee for a duplicate wall 

certificate shall be $15.  

3. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

4. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to another jurisdiction shall be 

$10.  

F. Direct access certification fees. 

1. The application fee shall be $75 for a physical therapist to obtain certification 

to provide services without a referral. 

2. The fee for renewal on a direct access certification shall be $35 and shall be 

due by December 31 in each even-numbered year. 
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3. A fee of $15 for processing a late renewal of certification within one renewal 

cycle shall be paid in addition to the renewal fee. 

 

 

6) Traineeships in “Clinical Education Facilities” – Following discussion about students 

enrolled in traineeships and where they can be conducted,  the Committee agreed that 

clinical education facilities was too limiting and therefore made the decision to strike 

section (i) in the regulations as shown below: 

 

18VAC112-20-140. Traineeship requirements.  

The traineeship: (i) shall be in a facility that serves as a clinical education facility 

for students enrolled in an accredited program educating physical therapists in 

Virginia, (ii) is approved by the board, and (iii)(ii) is under the direction and 

supervision of a licensed physical therapist.  

1. The physical therapist supervising the inactive practice trainee shall submit a 

report to the board at the end of the required number of hours on forms supplied 

by the board.  

2. If the traineeship is not successfully completed at the end of the required hours, 

as determined by the supervising physical therapist, the president of the board or 

his designee shall determine if a new traineeship shall commence. If the president 

of the board determines that a new traineeship shall not commence, then the 

application for licensure shall be denied.  

3. The second traineeship may be served under a different supervising physical 

therapist and may be served in a different organization than the initial 

traineeship. If the second traineeship is not successfully completed, as determined 

by the supervising physical therapist, then the application for licensure shall be 

denied.  

 

 

The Committee will make its recommendations to the full board at its meeting scheduled for 

May 24, 2013.   

 

ADJOURNMENT 

 

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:02 a.m. 

 

 

 

________________________________  _____________________________ 

Robert Maroon, PT., Chair    Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director 

 

 

________________________________  ____________________________ 

Date       Date 


