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2.21 TERMINATION/SEPARATION 
 
 

 
OBJECTIVE: 
It is the Virginia Department of Social Services’ (VDSS) objective to identify the types of 
separation from state service, the related procedures, and to advise separating 
employees of benefits to which they may be entitled. 
 
Employees to whom policy applies 
This policy applies to positions covered under the Virginia Personnel Act to include full-
time and part-time classified. 
 
Types of termination/separation from state service 
The State Employee Separation & Transfer Checklist must be completed as soon as 
possible on any employee leaving or transferring within the agency but no later than two 
days following the employee’s separation thus allowing Human Resources, Finance, 
General Services, and Security time to perform their respective functions.  The form can 
be found at http://localagency.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dgs/warehouse.cgi.  Type in 
“Separation” or click: http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dis/tbss/files/forms/032-08-
0013-00-eng.doc. 
 
Resignation 
Resignation is an employee’s voluntary separation from state service. 
 
• Advance Notice 

An employee who plans to resign from state service is asked to give reasonable 
notice to his or her agency (preferably at least two weeks) along with a written 
explanation for the resignation. 

 
An employee’s failure to give the agency reasonable notice of resignation may be 
documented in the employee’s personnel file (i.e. on the Personnel Transaction 
Form). 

 
• Withdrawal of Resignation 

The employee who wishes to withdraw a resignation must submit a written 
request to withdraw the resignation no later than one month after the effective 
date of the proposed resignation and the position must still be vacant.  With the 
approval of the agency head or designee, the employee may be continued in his 
or her position as though the resignation had not been filed. 

 
• Involuntary 

A separation that is reported as a resignation but then is found to have been 
involuntary shall be treated as a discharge.  
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Retirement 
• Mandatory retirement age 

There is no mandatory retirement age for VDSS employees. 
 
• Disability retirement 

Any employee covered under the traditional sick leave program, regardless of 
years of State service, is eligible to apply for disability retirement while employed 
or within 90 days after termination, so long as: 

 
a) While employed, the employee acquires a disabling condition that is likely                             
           to be permanent, as documented by a physician; and 
 
b) The condition prevents the employee from performing his or her job. 

 
The amount of disability benefits will vary according to an employee’s years of 
service and age. 

 
• Early retirement 

An employee may take early retirement if he or she: 
 
a) Is at least age 55 and has at least five years of service; or 
 
b) Is at least age 50 and has less than 30 years of service. 

 
• Retirement as an Alternative 

Retirement as an alternative when an employee becomes unable to perform the 
job if: 
 
An employee becomes mentally or physically incapable of performing the job, and 
there is no reasonable accommodation including transfer or demotion to another 
position that will enable the employee to perform the work.  The agency may 
require the employee to apply for disability (if under the traditional sick leave 
plan) or early retirement if vested and under the Virginia Sickness and Disability 
Program. 
 
If an employee such as the one described above declines disability or early 
retirement, the agency may use Standards of Conduct to address unsatisfactory 
performance. 
 
For additional information on retirement benefits, consult the Virginia Retirement 
System’s Handbook for Members at http://www.varetire.org/ 

 
Discharge 
Discharge is an employee’s involuntary termination from state service but does not 
include termination as a result of layoff. 
 
Separation-Layoff 
Separation-layoff is a separation from state service:  
1) prior to the expiration of leave without pay/layoff,  
2) prior to return from temporary workforce reduction, or 
3) because the employee rejected an offer of recall that does not require relocation. 
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Separation-Leave without Pay/Layoff 
Separation-leave without pay/layoff is a separation from state service upon the expiration 
of the 12 consecutive months of leave without pay/layoff.  
 
Benefits upon termination/separation from state service 
In addition to retirement benefits that may be payable to retiring employees, employees 
separating from state service may be entitled to the following: 
1) Payment of accrued annual leave as allowed by policy 
2) Payment of accrued compensatory or overtime leave 
3) Continuation of health insurance per state policy 
4) Payment of one-fourth (l/4) sickleave up to $5000 if under traditional sick leave 

policy.  Same payment principle applies to disability credits under VSDP  
 
Recording date of termination/separation and accrued leave 
• Employee not on Paid Leave 

The termination report of an active employee (employee not on paid leave) shall 
state the separation date as the last day the employee worked and shall include 
any amounts to be paid for accrued leave. 

 
• Employee on Paid Leave 

The termination report of an employee on paid leave shall state the separation 
date as the last day that the employee was on paid leave. 

 
To Separate from State Service 
The supervisor shall retrieve from the employee any equipment, files, etc. which belong 
to the agency.   
 
The supervisor is responsible for forwarding to VDSS/DHRM the employee’s resignation 
letter and a Personnel Transaction Form (PTF) as soon as the supervisor is made aware 
the employee is leaving.  Also, the State Employee Separation & Transfer Checklist must 
be completed as soon as possible for any employee leaving the agency but no later than 
two days following separation thus allowing Human Resources, Finance, General Services, 
and Security to perform their respective functions.  Both the PTF and the Separation 
checklist can be found on the local agency website at 
http://localagency.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dgs/warehouse.cgi.  Type in “Personnel 
Transaction” or “State Separation Checklist”. 
 
The supervisor is responsible for ensuring the termination procedures are followed and 
leave balances are forwarded to VDSS/DHRM as soon as possible but within two days of 
separation. 
 
VDSS/DHRM will process paperwork and forward to payroll. 


