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Use of the Hospice Designation  
 

Hospice is a coordinated program of home and inpatient care that provides palliative/supportive 
medical and health care services to persons diagnosed with a terminal illness. The hospice program is 
designed to meet the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs of these individuals.  Hospice 
services shall be available 24 hours per day 7 days a week.  It is medically directed and care is provided by 
an interdisciplinary team.  
 

No person or organization shall establish a program of hospice care or operate a hospice program 
without a license pursuant to 32.1-162.3 issued by the Virginia Department of Health. Any person 
establishing, conducting, maintaining or operating a hospice program without a license shall be guilty of a 
Class I misdemeanor pursuant to §32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. Only licensed hospice programs may 
advertize themselves as a hospice provider. 
 

A dedicated hospice facility is an institution, place, or location providing room, board and 
appropriate patient care 24 hours/7 days per week to terminally ill patients.  Respite and supportive care is 
also provided to these individuals. In Virginia, a dedicated hospice facility intending to be 15 beds or less in 
size is not required to obtain a Certificate of Public Need (COPN). Facilities greater than 15 beds are 
classified as a medical institution and must obtain a COPN.  

 
Additional information regarding hospice provider requirements can be found at: 

www.vdh.virignia.gov/olc. 
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