Mmesterals CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

DIVISION OF MINES
/D e ot of BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS
andEnergy Website: http://dmme.virginia.gov/dm/default.ntm

UNDERGROUND DIESEL ENGINE MECHANIC INSTRUCTOR

PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia establishes requirements for certification of coal
mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.1-161.24 through §45.1-161.41 in
which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the
certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set
the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and
certifications.

CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION: *Underground Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor

This certification authorizes the holder to:
= Teach diesel engine mechanic initial and retraining courses as required by the Division
of Mines

APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:
= Application (BCME-1) and $40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
= Hold a valid diesel engine mechanic certification and provide teaching experience
= Hold a General Miner Certification
= Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced
Training acceptable)

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: Diesel Engine Mechanic Examination score may be used

in lieu of taking the examination if certifications are received at the same time. All instructors must
be monitored by a DM Representative prior to issuance of Instructor certification and may be asked to
co-teach a class with a DM Instructor.

PRIOR TO INSTRUCTING A CLASS (INITIAL OR RETRAINING):

= Instructors must hold a valid Diesel Engine Mechanic and Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor

certification issued by the Board of Coal Mining Examiners
= Notify the DM Regulatory Boards Administrator in writing 10 working days prior to class
e Instructor’s name

Social Security No.
Certification No.
Projected number of students (if possible)
Location, date, time of scheduled class

PRIOR TO COMPLETING CLASS:
= Provide DM Regulatory Boards Administrator with class roster and schedule a tentative
examination date
= Have students complete application, DM-BCME-1 and submit $40.00 fee (checks made
payable to Treasurer of Virginia)
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= Student attendance sheet must be submitted by instructor at the end of class or on exam
date if class attendance is used for experience. This must contain student’s name,
address, social security no., and each date attended.

RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:
= BCME Requirements
= Diesel Engine Mechanic Study Guide
= DMME Course Instructor’s Manual where available
= Rules and Regulations Governing the Use of Diesel Powered Equipment in
Underground Coal Mines
= First Aid for Miners Study Guide

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Department of Mines, Minerals and
Energy’s Big Stone Gap Office, Customer Assistance Center (276) 523-8233 and Keen Mountain
Field Office (276) 498-4533.

* Applicant shall maintain certification as required by 4 VAC 25-20-200 BCME Regulations —

teach at least one approved diesel mechanic course every two years or at least one approved
diesel engine mechanic continuing education course every year.
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