
Health Spa Contract Requirements 
 
All health spa contracts must be in writing. 
 
1. Every health spa contract must have the signature of the buyer and the date the 
contract was executed. 
 
2. A copy of the health spa contract must be delivered to the buyer at the time of 
execution. 
 
3. The health spa contact must state the starting and ending dates of the initial term of 
membership. 
 
4. No health spa contract shall have a duration for a period longer than thirty-six 
months, including any renewal period; however, a health spa contract may exceed thirty-six 
months provided that: 
 

A. Any initiation fee does not exceed ten times the initial monthly fee; 
B. All payments for health spa services, other than the initiation fee, are 

collected as monthly fees on a monthly basis; 
C. After an initial term of not more than twelve months, either party may cancel 

the health spa contract upon not more than thirty days’ notice; and 
D. The monthly fee is never reduced below eighty percent of the monthly fee at 

the time the contract is initially executed. 
 
5. The health spa contract must disclose the physical location of the health spa. 
 
6. The health spa contract must separately identify any initiation fee. 
 
7. Either in the health spa contract itself or in a separate notice provided to the buyer at 
the time the contract is executed, notify each buyer that the buyer should attempt to resolve 
with the health spa any complaint the buyer has with the health spa, and that the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Office of Consumer Affairs regulates 
health spas in the Commonwealth pursuant to the provisions of the Virginia Health Spa Act. 
 
8. The health spa contract must contain a notice with a conspicuous caption “BUYER’S 
RIGHT TO CANCEL” that shall read substantially as follows: 
 

If you wish to cancel this contract, you may cancel by making or delivering written notice to 
this health spa.  The notice must say that you do not wish to be bound by the contract and 
must be delivered or mailed before midnight of the third business day after you sign this 
contract.  The notice must be delivered or mailed to: (insert Health spa name and mailing 
address).  If canceled within three business days, you will be entitled to a refund of all 
monies paid.  You may also cancel this contract if this spa goes out of business or relocates 
and fails to provide comparable alternate facilities within five driving miles of the location 
designated in this contract.  You may also cancel if you become physically unable to use a 
substantial portion of the health spa services for 30 or more consecutive days, and your 
estate may cancel in the event of your death.  You must prove you are unable to use a 



substantial portion of the health spa services by a doctor’s, physician’s assistant or nurse 
practitioner’s certificate, and the health spa may also require that you submit to a physical 
examination, within 30 days of the notice of cancellation, by a doctor, physician’s assistant 
or nurse practitioner agreeable to you and the health spa.  If you cancel after the three 
business days, the health spa may retain or collect a portion of the contract price equal to 
the proportionate value of the services or use of facilities you have already received.  Any 
refund due to you shall be paid within 30 days of the effective date of cancellation. 

 
9. The health spa must make a refund owed to the buyer within thirty (30) days of the 
date of notification of the cancellation. 
 
10. All health spa contracts and any promissory note executed by the buyer in 
connection therewith shall contain the following provision on the face thereof in at least ten-
point, boldface type: 
 

NOTICE 
 

ANY HOLDER OF THIS CONTRACT OR NOTE IS SUBJECT TO ALL CLAIMS AND DEFENSES 
WHICH THE DEBTOR COULD ASSERT AGAINST THE SELLER OF GOODS OR SERVICES 
OBTAINED WITH THE PROCEEDS HEREOF.  RECOVERY HERUNDER BY THE DEBTOR 
SHALL NOT EXCEED AMOUNTS PAID BY THE DEBTOR HEREUNDER. 
 

11. If surety has not been posted with this office, the following disclosure must be 
printed on the face of every health spa contract, in ten-point boldfaced type or larger: 
 

THIS SPA IS NOT PERMITTED, PURSUANT TO THE VIRGINIA HEALTH SPA ACT, TO ACCEPT 
ANY INITIATION FEE IN EXCESS OF $125 OR ANY PAYMENT FOR MORE THAN THE 
PRORATED MONTHLY FEE FOR THE MONTH WHEN THE CONTRACT IS INITIALLY 
EXECUTED PLUS ONE FULL MONTH IN ADVANCE. 

 
12. Unless it so discloses fully in ten-point bold-faced type or larger on the face of each 
health spa contract, no health spa shall sell any health spa contract if any owner of the spa, 
regardless of the extent of his ownership, previously owned in whole or in part a health spa 
that closed for business and failed to: 
 

A. Refund all moneys due to holders of health spa contracts; or 
B. Provide comparable alternate facilities at another health spa that agreed in 

writing to honor all provisions of the health spa contracts. 
 
Any health spa that does not comply with the applicable provisions of the Virginia Health 
Spa Act (VHSA) shall be voidable at the option of the buyer. 
 
Any violation of the provisions of the VHSA shall constitute a prohibited practice pursuant to 
the provisions of §59.1-200 and shall be subject to any and all of the enforcement 
provisions of the Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§59.1-196 et seq.) 
 
Because of the severity of the penalties provided by law for non-compliant health spa 
contracts, it is highly recommended that you consult with your legal counsel regarding 
requirements for compliance of your health spa contract. 
 


