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On September 28, 2009, the Virginia Department of Taxation issued guidelines for the 
2009 Virginia Tax Amnesty program (Public Document 09-140).  These guidelines 
contained information regarding the 20 percent post-Amnesty penalty, as well as 
described certain situations in which the penalty would not apply.  It has become clear, 
however, that further clarification of these situations is required.  Therefore, Section VI, 
numbers 6 and 7 are amended as follows: 
 

6. Any assessment generated from a field audit of a business for an amnesty 
eligible period, provided that the audit is TAX’s first audit of the taxpayer, no 
penalty has been applied to the tax deficiency, any uncontested liability is paid 
within 30 days from the date of assessment, and payment for any contested 
liability remaining upon resolution of an appeal under Va. Code §§ 58.1-1821 or 
58.1-1825 is paid within 30 days from the date of the Tax Commissioner’s or the 
court’s final determination. 

 
7. Any assessment generated from a field audit of a business for an amnesty 

eligible period in cases where the audit is a second or subsequent audit of the 
taxpayer, provided that the Compliance Ratio is greater than 85 percent for sales 
tax and greater than 60 percent for use tax, no penalty has been applied to the 
tax deficiency, any uncontested liability is paid within 30 days from the date of 
assessment, and payment for any contested liability remaining upon resolution of 
an appeal under Va. Code §§ 58.1-1821 or 58.1-1825 is paid within 30 days from 
the date of the Tax Commissioner’s or the court’s final determination. 

In addition, Section VI is clarified with the addition of the following items to which the 20 
percent penalty will not be applied: 

9.  Any amnesty eligible bill that is being appealed under Va. Code § 58.1-1825 
during the amnesty period, provided the taxpayer pays the liability as determined 
by the circuit court or, if there is an appeal therefrom, the Supreme Court, within 
30 days of the date of entry of the final order making that determination.  If the 
taxpayer fails to satisfy the remaining liability within the 30 day period, the 20 
percent penalty will be applied. 

 
10. Any assessment generated from an audit or examination of a business or 

individual performed by TAX that does not require a visit to the residence or 
business for an amnesty eligible period, provided that no penalty has been 
applied to the tax deficiency, any uncontested liability is paid within 30 days from 
the date of assessment, and payment for any contested liability remaining upon 
resolution of an appeal under Va. Code §§ 58.1-1821 or 58.1-1825 is paid within 
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30 days from the date of the Tax Commissioner’s or the court’s final 
determination. 

 
 
Approved: 
 

 
________________________ 
Janie E. Bowen 
Tax Commissioner 

 
 

 
 


