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Summary of the Proposed Regulation 

 The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (board) proposes to amend the current Motor Vehicle 

Dealer Fees Regulations (24 VAC 22-20) and adjust some of the fees paid by motor vehicle 

dealers and salespersons.  The board also proposes to add language regarding the certification 

test fees to the regulations and revise several definitions for consistency with the Code of 

Virginia.  

Results of Analysis 

 There is insufficient data to accurately compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the 

costs.  Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

The Motor Vehicle Dealer Board is a Special Fund agency which receives no General 

Fund monies and operates on fees paid by motor vehicle dealers and salespersons. The current 

fee structure was established in 1996. At that time, the financial plan was for the board to build a 

surplus in revenue in its Special Fund in the first three years and those surplus revenues would 

cover revenue deficiencies in the last three years of the six-year financial plan. A combination of 

lower than projected expenditures and higher than expected revenues has allowed the Board to 

stretch its six year plan to about ten years. However, without an adjustment to the fee structure, it 

is projected that the agency will be close to running out of funds around January of 2008. 

The board proposes to increase some of the fees that motor vehicle dealers and 

salespersons are assessed by the board. Table 1 lists the proposed fee increases, the maximum 

fees set by statute, and the estimated increase in cost from the proposed changes. Application 
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fees for taking dealer-operator and salesperson certification test will increase from $25 to $50. 1 

The annual salesperson license fees will be raised from $20 to $25. The annual dealer license 

plate fees, which are currently $20 each for the first two plates and $15 for each additional plate, 

will be $ 30 for the first two plates and $26 for each additional plate.2 All of the proposed fees 

are still under the maximum fees set by the Code of Virginia. The proposed regulation also 

incorporates language regarding the certification test fees, which is currently stated in the 

instructions for the certification test.  Definitions of “motor vehicle dealer”  and “motor vehicle 

salesperson”  are revised for consistency with Code Section §46.2-1500.  

The proposed fee increases will cause increases in costs for motor vehicle dealers, 

salespersons, and applicants for dealer-operator and salespersons certification tests in Virginia. 

Column 3 of Table 1 shows the estimated number of certification tests taken every year, the 

estimated number of salesperson licenses issued and dealer license plates that are provided by the 

board. Column 4 calculates the estimated increased costs under the proposed fees compared to 

the current fee structure.  For example, the board estimates that there will be 7,619 dealer-

operator and salesperson certification tests taken every year, with about 10% of the tests taken by  

dealer-operator applicants and the other 90% from salesperson applicants. Each applicant will 

have to pay $25 more for taking the certification test. The estimated increase in costs will be 

approximately $190,475 for all of the applicants.  The $5 increase in annual salesperson license 

fees will increase costs by $132,145 for all the licensees. The proposed changes in the annual 

dealer license plate fees will increase costs by $324,742 for all of the dealers in Virginia. The 

total increase in costs from the proposed regulations will be approximately $716,962 annually 

statewide. According to the board, most of the dealers pay the salespersons licensing fees and all 

dealer plate fees.  Therefore, the proposed regulations will cause a total increase in costs of 

$526,487 for the 3,850 dealers in Virginia, with an average increase of $137 per year.3  Given 

that the current fee structure has not been changed since 1996, and the proposed fees are still 

                                                 
1 According to the Board, currently the certification test fee is stated in the instructions for the certification test. The 
proposed regulations will incorporate the certification test fees.  
2 According to §46.2-1546, for the first two dealer’s license plates issued to a dealer, twenty-four dollars shall be 
deposited into the Transportation Trust Fund and the remainder shall be deposited into the Motor Vehicle Dealer 
Fund. For each additional dealer’s license plate issued to a dealer, ten dollars and forty cents is deposited into the 
Transportation Trust Fund and the remainder is deposited into the Motor Vehicle Dealer Fund. Therefore, the fee for 
the first two dealer’s plates can not be less than twenty-four dollars and the fee for additional dealer’s license plates 
can not be less than ten dollars and forty cents each. 
3 Calculation: $526,487 / 3,850 = $137 
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under the maximum fees set by law over eleven years ago, the impact of the proposed 

regulations on the dealers, salesperson, and applicants for dealer-operator and salespersons 

certification tests will likely be modest.  And, part of the increase in costs may be passed on to 

the consumers in the form of higher prices.  

The proposed fee increases will generate an increase in revenue of about $716,962 to the 

Motor Vehicle Dealer Fund. This additional revenue will be used to maintain the functioning of 

the board to administer sections of the Commonwealth’s Motor Vehicle Dealer Laws and 

Regulations as charged, which will benefit both the automotive consumer and dealer body. The 

incorporation of new language about the certification test fees and the revision of definitions will 

improve clarity of the regulations and reduce potential confusions. Since the benefits from the 

proposed regulations will not be measured in dollar amount, it is not known whether the total 

costs will exceed total benefits.     

 

 



Economic impact of 24 VAC 22-20                                                                                                                                                                                                       3 

Table 1: Proposed Fee Increases and the Estimated Increase in Costs 

 Current Fees Proposed Fees Maximum 

Fees by 

Statute 

Estimated Number of Certification 

Tests Taken per Year /  Salesperson 

Licenses / Dealer License Plates b 

Estimated 

Increase in 

Costs 

Dealer-operator Certificate 

of Qualification 

$25 to take the 

certification test a 

$50 application fee $50 

Salesperson Certification 

of Qualification 

$25 to take the 

certification test a 

$50 application fee $50 

  

7,619  

 

$190,475 

Single year licenses  19,729 $98,645 

Multi-year (2-year) licenses 3,350 $33,500 

Annual Salesperson 

License Fee    

$20 $25 $50 

Total 23,079 $132,145 

First two plates 6,960 c $69,600 

Additional plates 29,522 $324,742 

Annual Dealer License 

Plate Fee 

First two plates: $20 

each; 

$15 for each 

additional 

First two plates: $30 

each; 

$26 for each 

additional 

$30 each 

Total 36,482 $394,342 

Note: 
a According to the board, currently the certification test fee is stated in the instructions for the certification test, not in the regulations. 
b The estimated number of certification tests taken every year, salesperson licenses, and dealer license plates are provided by the board.  
c  The board provides that there are 3,480 dealers with tags, therefore the number of first two plates is 6,960. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected 

 Motor vehicle dealers, salesperson and applicants for dealer-operator and salesperson 

certificate tests will be affected. Most dealers will pay the salespersons licensing fees and all 

dealer plate fees. Part of the increase in costs may be passed on to the consumers in the form of 

higher prices. Currently there are approximately 3,850 motor vehicle dealers in Virginia. The 

board estimates that there will be 7,619 dealer-operator and salesperson certification tests taken 

every year, with about 762 tests for dealer-operator certification and 6,857 for salesperson 

certification. The number of applicants affected every year will be lower because each applicant 

may take more than one test if he or she fails the first test.   

Localities Particularly Affected 

The proposed regulation affects localities throughout the Commonwealth.   

Projected Impact on Employment 

The proposed regulations will increase the compliance costs of motor vehicle dealers and 

may modestly reduce the number of dealer-operators and salespersons employed by a dealer.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

Motor vehicle dealers will experience an increase in costs due to the proposed fee 

increases, which may have a negative impact on the value of their assets. Given that the current 

fee structure has not been changed since 1996, and the proposed fees are still under the 

maximum fees set by law over eleven years ago, the impact of the proposed regulations will 

likely be modest. Part of the increase in costs may be passed on to the consumers in the form of 

higher prices. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects 

Nearly all of the 3,850 motor vehicle dealers are small businesses. On average the 

increase in costs to the motor vehicle dealers would be $137 per year. Given that the current fee 

structure has not been changed since 1996, and that the proposed fees are still under the 

maximum fees set by law over eleven years ago, the impact on small businesses will likely be 

modest.  
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

 The current fee increases are proposed so that the Motor Vehicle Dealer Fund will not be 

running out in the near future. There is no alternative method that can generate a smaller adverse 

impact.  

Legal Mandate 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this 

proposed regulation in accordance with Section 2.2-4007.H of the Administrative Process Act 

and Executive Order Number 21 (02).  Section 2.2-4007.H requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities 

to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or 

other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to 

be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 

regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 

regulation has adverse effect on small businesses, Section 2.2-4007.H requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 

businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other 

administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, including the 

type of professional skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 

statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 

regulation.  The analysis presented above represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic 

impacts. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


