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Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

The State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to amend its regulation that governs 

approval of resource, adoptive and family homes. Specifically, the Board proposes to:  

1) amend language to increase the clarity of the regulation,  

2) amend the definition of “caretaker” to conform it to a recent Virginia Court of 

Appeal decision,  

3) allow providers to submit the results of a physical exam done within 13 months 

(rather than 12 months) of application for approval,  

4) remove language that currently governs the issuance of variances to requirements 

of this regulation,  

5) change the firearms storage requirements provisions in this regulation so that they 

mirror state code, 

6) add a requirement that providers receive training on mandated reporter laws and 

responsibilities since the General Assembly made resource, adoptive and foster 

parents mandated child abuse and neglect reporters in 2012 and 

7) add a requirement that providers complete annual training outlined in Section 

1.5.7 of Chapter D of the Child and Family Services Manual as a condition of re-

approval. 
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Result of Analysis 

Benefits likely outweigh costs for most of the Board’s proposed regulatory changes. 

There is insufficient information to gauge whether benefits will outweigh costs for at least one 

proposed change. For one proposed change, costs will likely outweigh benefits.  

Estimated Economic Impact 

Most of the changes proposed by the Board in this action are aimed at making this 

regulation more easily understood and descriptive for interested parties. For instance, the Board 

proposes to add definitions for “foster care placement” and “kinship foster parent” to this 

regulation. Additions such as these as well as revisions to existing regulatory language, which 

will help readers to understand the rules for approval of resource, adoptive and foster care 

providers, are unlikely to lead to any additional costs for affected entities. Individuals who need 

to (or want to) understand the approval processes contained in this regulation will benefit from 

the added clarity that these changes will bring. 

Current regulation defines a “caretaker” as an individual who has the responsibility for 

caring for a child because (i) he/she is the parent or other person legally responsible for the 

child’s care, (ii) he/she has assumed caretaking responsibility through an agreement with the 

parent or legally responsible person, (iii) he/she is responsible by virtue of his/her conferred 

authority or because (iv) he/she is an adult person residing in the same home as the child. Earlier 

this year, the Virginia Court of Appeals ruled that the regulation’s definition was overly broad 

and went beyond the statutory definition in the Code of Virginia. Specifically, the court ruled 

that the Board could not deem someone who lives in the same house as a child a caregiver unless 

that person had explicitly agreed to care for the child. In response the Board now proposes to 

amend this definition so that it will comport with the court’s ruling. No entity is likely to incur 

costs on account of this change. To the extent that this change increases clarity for both Board 

and Department of Social Services staff and the public, all affected parties will likely benefit 

from this change. 

Current regulation requires that applicants for approval as resource, adoptive or foster 

parent submit the results of a physical examination done within 12 months of application 

approval. The Board proposes to extend this time period to 13 months to account for some 

insurance policy restrictions that do not allow reimbursement for more than one physical within a 
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12 month period. No one is likely to incur costs on account of this change. This change will 

benefit applicants who might currently have to pay out of pocket for a pre-approval physical or 

agencies that might choose to bear those costs for the applicants. 

Currently, this regulation contains language that allows local Departments of Social 

Services to request variances from requirements of this regulation from the state Department of 

Social Services so long as the safety and welfare of a child is not jeopardized and so long as the 

variances do not violate federal or state law or local ordinances. The Board now proposes to 

eliminate this language in response to a change to controlling state law that occurred in 2012. 

The law change assigns the Commissioner of the state Department of Social Services the power 

to grant variances from approval requirements that would allow approval of kinship foster care 

placements so long as the variances do not jeopardize the health or safety of the child who is the 

subject of the placement.  The Board believes that the 2012 law change contradicts other, older 

sections of the Code of Virginia that control issuance of variances and proposes to remove 

variance language from this regulation until the General Assembly addresses these 

contradictions. It is unclear whether this removal of variance language from the regulation will 

adversely impact the approval of kinship foster care, which is believed to be less disruptive and 

traumatic for the children involved. To the extent that variances that are currently approved 

would not be approved under the proposed regulation, affected children may be made worse off. 

Current regulation contains firearm storage requirements that are more restrictive than 

those in state law. Currently, resource, adoptive and foster care parent providers must follow 

provisions for gun safety contained on Code of Virginia § 18.2-56.2 which reads:  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to recklessly leave a loaded, unsecured 

firearm in such a manner as to endanger the life or limb of any child under the 

age of fourteen. Any person violating the provisions of this subsection shall be 

guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to authorize a child under the 

age of twelve to use a firearm except when the child is under the supervision 

of an adult. Any person violating this subsection shall be guilty of a Class 1 

misdemeanor. For purposes of this subsection, "adult" shall mean a parent, 

guardian, person standing in loco parentis to the child or a person twenty-one 

years or over who has the permission of the parent, guardian, or person 

standing in loco parentis to supervise the child in the use of a firearm.  
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and also must follow rules in this regulation which require that firearms be stored with activated 

safety mechanisms (trigger locks, etc.) in a locked closet or cabinet with bullets stored in a 

separate locked area. Upon advice from the Assistant Attorney General for the Board that 

provisions in the regulation were unconstitutional, the Board proposes to remove current 

regulatory requirements for gun storage and explicitly insert a reference to the Code of Virginia 

§ 18.2-56.2 that affected entities must follow. Although not explicitly mentioned in the proposed 

regulation, Code of Virginia § 18.2-371.1, which also would apply to all providers in the 

Commonwealth, makes it a Class 4 Felony for “Any parent, guardian, or other person 

responsible for the care of a child under the age of 18 who by willful act or omission or refusal to 

provide any necessary care for the child's health causes or permits serious injury to the life or 

health of such child.” To the extent that the more restrictive rules in current regulation may 

discourage people from becoming foster or adoptive parents, this change may lead to more 

individuals applying to be providers and more homes for agencies to place children in. 

The General Assembly made another change to the Code of Virginia in 2012 and added 

resource, adoptive and foster parent providers to the list of entities that are mandated reporters of 

suspected child abuse and neglect. The Board now proposes to amend pre-service training 

requirements so that resource, adoptive and foster parent providers are trained on the relevant 

laws and responsibilities of mandated reporters. Affected providers will likely benefit from this 

change as it will allow them to know what is expected of them under the law. Time costs for the 

pre-services training will likely increase for those providers. To the extent that this proposed 

change extends the total time taken doing pre-services training, local and state Departments of 

Social Services may have to pay higher costs for either staff time or increased fees for contract 

training providers. 

Current regulation requires providers to complete pre-service and annual in-service 

training. The Board proposes to add language to this requirement that makes completion of the 

required annual in-service training a condition of re-approval and proposes to require that 

providers complete the annual in-service training established in the state Department of Social 

Services guidance document, the Child and Family Services Manual. The first of these changes 

will only affect providers who are currently not completing required training. Those providers 

affected will incur costs for their time spent in training. Board staff reports that the Board is 
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choosing to make the second of these changes because they anticipate training will change 

quickly enough that it would be inefficient to list training requirements in this regulation rather 

than in Department of Social Services guidance. This approach, however, will likely cause 

search costs for providers who will not be able to know what is legally required of them without 

checking multiple sources. Providers and other interested parties would also suffer from a loss of 

transparency and opportunity to affect the rules that they must live by if the Board were allowed 

to legally require providers to follow rules that are in guidance rather than in regulation. It is 

possible, however, that the Board would have to follow the rulemaking process outlined in the 

Administrative Process Act every time that training requirements in the Child and Family 

Services Manual changes since this regulatory action would likely incorporate that document by 

reference. That being the case, it is unlikely that this change would shorten the process of 

changing training requirements but it will certainly make it more opaque and complicated for all 

parties involved.   

Businesses and Entities Affected 

This proposed regulation will affect all resource, adoptive and foster care providers 

licensed under the auspices of the Board as well as the children they care for or parent. Staff at 

the 119 local Departments of Social Services throughout the Commonwealth will also be 

affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected 

No localities will likely be disproportionately affected by this proposed regulatory 

change. 

Projected Impact on Employment 

This regulatory action will likely have little impact on employment in the 

Commonwealth. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

This regulatory action will likely have no impact on the use or value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects 

No small businesses are likely to be affected by this proposed regulation. 
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Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

No small businesses are likely to be affected by this proposed regulation. 

Real Estate Development Costs 

This regulatory action will likely have no effect on real estate development costs in the 

Commonwealth. 

Legal Mandate 

 

General:  The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of 

this proposed regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia and Executive 

Order Number 17 (2014). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed amendments.  Further the report should 

include but not be limited to: 

 

• the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulation 

would apply, 

• the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, 

• the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected,  

• the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the 

regulation, and  

• the impact on the use and value of private property.  

 

Small Businesses:  If the proposed regulation will have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses include: 

 

• an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the proposed 

regulation, 

• the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for small 

businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other documents, 

• a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, 

and  

• a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving the 

purpose of the proposed regulation.  
 

Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may have 

an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) is 

notified at the time the proposed regulation is submitted to the Virginia Register of Regulations 

for publication.  This analysis shall represent DPB’s best estimate for the purposes of public 

review and comment on the proposed regulation.   

 

AMH 
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