
 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT Page 1 of 12 
 
13 VAC 5-31. VIRGINIA AMUSEMENT DEVICE REGULATIONS. 
 
 
13 VAC 5-31-10. Purpose. 

 

A. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards for the regulation, design, construction, 

maintenance, operation, and inspection of amusement devices. 

 

B. The provisions of the USBC, including but not limited to all administrative procedures shall 

apply in the administration and enforcement of this chapter and to amusement devices to the 

extent they such provisions are not superseded by the provisions of this chapter. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-40. Incorporated standards. 

 

A. The following standards are hereby incorporated by reference for use as part of this chapter: 

 

1. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standard No. B77.1-90 for the 

regulation of passenger tramways; and 

 

2. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Standard Nos. F698-94, F747-95 

F747-97, F770-93, F846-92, F853-93 F853-98, F893-87, F1159-94 F1159-97a, F1193-95 

F1193-97, F1305-94, F1950-99, F1957-99 and F2007-00 for the regulation of amusement 

devices. 

 

The standards referenced above may be procured from: 
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ANSI      ASTM 

11 W. 42nd Street    100 Barr Harbor Dr. 

New York, NY 10036    West Conshohocken, PA 

         19428-2956 19428-2959 

 

B. The provisions of this chapter govern where they are in conflict with any provisions of the 

standards incorporated by reference in this chapter. 

 

C. The following requirements supplement the provisions of the ASTM standards incorporated 

by reference in this chapter: 

 

1. The operator of an amusement device shall be at least 16 years of age, except when the 

person is under the supervision of a parent or guardian and engaged in activities 

determined not to be hazardous by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of 

Labor and Industry; 

 

2. The amusement device shall be attended by an operator at all times during operation 

except that (i) one operator is permitted to operate two or more amusement devices 

provided they are within the sight of the operator and operated by a common control 

panel or station and (ii) one operator is permitted to operate two kiddie rides with 
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separate controls provided the distance between controls is no more than 35 feet and the 

controls are equipped with a positive pressure switch; and 

 

3. The operator of an amusement device shall not be (i) under the influence of any drugs 

which may affect the operator's judgment or ability to assure the safety of the public or 

(ii) under the influence of alcohol. 

 

D. Where an amusement device was manufactured under previous editions of the standards 

incorporated by reference in this chapter, the previous editions shall apply to the extent that they 

are different from the current standards. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-50. Certification of amusement device inspectors. 

 

A. Any person, including local building department personnel, inspecting an amusement device 

relative to a certificate of inspection shall possess a valid certificate of competence as an 

amusement device inspector from the BHCD. 

 

B. Local building department personnel enforcing this chapter and private inspectors shall attend 

periodic training courses as designated and provided required by DHCD. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-60. Appeals. Appeals from the local building department concerning the 

application of this chapter shall be made to the local board of building code appeals established 
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by the USBC. Application for appeal shall be filed with the local building department within 14 

calendar days after receipt of the decision of the local building department. The board of appeals 

shall hear the appeal within seven calendar days after the application for appeal is filed. After 

final determination by the board, any person who was a party to the appeal may appeal to the 

Technical Review Board within 14 calendar days of receipt of the decision to be appealed. Such 

appeal shall be in accordance with the procedures established in the USBC, under the authority 

granted by § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia where the provisions of Chapter 6 of Title 36 of the 

Code of Virginia and the USBC apply to amusement devices. 

 

NOTE: Because of the short time frames normally associated with amusement device operations, 

DHCD staff will be available to assist in finding a timely resolution to disagreements between 

owners or operators and the local building department upon request by either party. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-90. Accidents. 

 

In the event of an accident involving serious injury or death the owner or operator shall: 

 

1. Contact the responsible local building department as soon as practical, but not later 

than the next work day; 

 

2. Cease operation until the responsible local building department approves resuming 

operation, except that approval from the responsible local building department for 
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resuming operation is not required if the investigation required by subdivision 3 of this 

section provides reasonable evidence that the serious injury or death was not related to 

malfunction or improper operation; 

 

3. Conduct an investigation to include (i) an examination of the accident scene; (ii) an 

interview of any witnesses or persons involved in the accident; and (iii) compiling a 

written report. The report shall contain a summary of the investigation and a description 

of the device involved, including the name of the manufacturer, the serial number and the 

date of manufacture, if available; and 

 

4. Submit the investigation report to the responsible local building department within 24 

hours after the time of the accident except that if its office is closed during the 24-hour 

period, the report shall be submitted within four hours after the office reopens. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-100. Local building department. 

 

The local building department's official or representative shall be permitted to do the following 

relative to an amusement device or devices intended to be, or being, operated at a site within 

their jurisdiction: 

 

1. Collect fees for a permit to operate, renewal of a permit to operate and inspections 

conducted by staff to issue a certificate of inspection. The total for fees associated with 
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one permit to operate and any associated inspections or one renewal of a permit to 

operate and any associated inspections shall not exceed the following: 

 

a. $15 for each kiddie ride under the permit; 

 

b. $25 for each circular ride or flat-ride under the permit which can be inspected 

from less than 20 feet above ground; and 

 

c. $45 for each other type of amusement device under the permit. 

 

Notwithstanding the above, the fee for each amusement device under the permit shall be reduced 

by 50% when the inspection for obtaining a certificate of inspection for that device is conducted 

by a private inspector [ , and shall not exceed a maximum of $150 for one site ] ; 

 

2. In addition to the above, require permits and charge fees as appropriate under the 

USBC for amusement devices which are being initially constructed in whole or in part at 

a site within the jurisdiction for intended operation at that site. This authorization does 

not apply to an amusement device which is only being reassembled or undergoing a 

major modification at a site or being moved to a site for operation; 

 

3. Approve modifications of this chapter upon determination that the public health, safety 

and welfare are assured; 
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4. Conduct an inspection at any time when the device would normally be open for 

operation, or at any other time if permission is granted by the owner or operator, for 

compliance with this chapter; and 

 

5. Issue an order to temporarily cease the operation of an amusement device upon 

determination that it may be unsafe or otherwise endanger the public. The temporary 

order shall remain in effect until a new certificate of inspection is issued. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-110. Enforcement. 

 

The local building department's official or representative shall enforce the provisions of this 

chapter as provided herein and as interpreted by the State Building Code Technical Review 

Board (TRB). 

 

The local building department's official or representative shall be responsible for the following 

relative to an amusement device or devices intended to be, or being, operated at a site within 

their jurisdiction: 

 

1. Approving or rejecting any application made for a permit to operate, or renewal of a 

permit to operate, within five days after submittal and issuing or renewing the permit 

when appropriate. The permit shall be issued or renewed for the length of time the device 
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or devices will be operating at the site, except that if the length of time exceeds one year, 

the permit or renewal shall expire after one year. The permit to operate or renewed permit 

to operate shall state (i) the estimated length of time that the device or devices will be 

operated at the site; (ii) the name of, or otherwise identify, the device or devices covered 

by the permit; and (iii) the date when the permit expires; 

 

2. When a certificate of inspection is sought by the owner or operator, conducting an 

inspection to assure compliance with this chapter unless the owner or operator is 

providing an approved private inspector. If the owner or operator has given reasonable 

notice that a certificate of inspection is sought and designated a specific day for the 

inspection, then the inspection shall be conducted on that day; 

 

3. Accepting a written report of inspection from an approved private inspector; 

 

4. When in receipt of a written report of inspection from an approved private inspector or 

after assuring compliance with this chapter through inspection, completing a certificate of 

inspection distributed by DHCD and causing the certificate to be posted or affixed on or 

in the vicinity of the device in a location visible to the public; 

 

5. Accepting an existing certificate of inspection for a kiddie ride in which (i) the 

passenger height is limited to 54 inches or less; (ii) the capacity is 12 passengers or less; 

and (iii) the assembly time is two hours or less, provided the existing certificate of 
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inspection for the ride was issued by a local building department in this Commonwealth 

less than one year prior to the date for which a certificate of inspection is sought, 

regardless of whether disassembly has occurred. Notwithstanding the above, if the kiddie 

ride is determined to be in violation of this chapter, the existing certificate of inspection 

shall not be valid; and 

 

6. Issuing an order to cease operation upon discovery or notification that an accident 

involving the device has caused serious injury or death, except where the owner or 

operator has determined that the serious injury or death was not related to malfunction or 

improper operation of the device. Whether or not the order to cease operation has been 

issued, the official or representative shall conduct an inspection, or accept an inspection 

report from an approved private inspector, to assure the device complies with this chapter 

and is safe for operation. 

 

[ PART V. 

GRAVITY RIDES. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-180. General requirements. 

 

A. The provisions of this part are specific to gravity rides and are in addition to other applicable 

provisions of this chapter. 
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B. A ride using carriers shall be designed and constructed to retain the passengers in or on a 

carrier during the operation of the ride and retain the carrier on or within the track, slide, or chute 

system during the operation of the ride. 

 

C. A ride that conveys passengers not in or on a carrier shall be designed and constructed to 

retain the passengers within the chute or slide during the ride. 

 

D. At each loading or unloading area, a hard surface which is other than earth and which is 

reasonably level shall be provided. The surface shall be large enough to accommodate the 

intended quantity of passengers. 

 

E. Where loading or unloading platforms are elevated more than 30 inches from the adjacent 

areas, guard rails conforming to the USBC shall be provided. 

 

F. Passengers shall not have to step up or down more than 12 inches from the loading or 

unloading surface to enter or exit the ride. 

 

G. The frequency of departure of carriers or riders from the loading areas shall be controlled by a 

ride operator. The minimum distance between departures shall be determined by the designer of 

the specific ride. 
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H. When a passenger has control of the speed or course of the carrier, the passenger shall have a 

clear sight distance along the course of the ride long enough to allow the passenger to avoid a 

collision with another person or carrier. 

 

I. The unloading area of the ride shall be designed and constructed to bring riders and carriers to 

a safe stop without any action by the rider. 

 

J. There shall be attendants at the loading and unloading area when the ride is in use. Provided, 

however, where the physical structure of the ride is such that it is not capable of accommodating 

an attendant at both the loading and unloading area and the entire ride is visible and under the 

supervision of a single attendant, attendants at both the loading and unloading areas shall not be 

required. 

 

K. If the entire course of the ride is not visible to the operator, additional persons with 

communications equipment shall be provided or approved visual surveillance equipment shall be 

installed along the course of the ride which is not visible to the operator. 

 

L. Any moving or hot parts that may be injurious to the ride operator or the public shall be 

effectively guarded to prevent contact. 

 

M. Fencing or adequate clearance shall be provided that will prevent the riders from contact with 

persons or nearby objects. ] 
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[ PART VI. 

CONCESSION GO-KARTS. 

 

13 VAC 5-31-190. General Requirements. 

 

Concession go-karts shall be operated, maintained and inspected in accordance with ASTM 

F2007-00. ] 

 
 
 
I certify that this regulation is full, true, and corrected dated. 

 

   __________________________________________________ 
     William C. Shelton, Director 
     Department of Housing and Community Development 

 
 
   Date: _________________________________ 
 
 


