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Commonwealth of Virginia  
Board of Accountancy 
3600 West Broad Street, Suite 696 
Richmond, Virginia 23230-4916 
Office (804) 367-8505, Fax (804) 367-2174 
Website: http://www.boa.state.va.us 
E-mail: boa@boa.state.va.us 
 

 
Virginia Board of Accountancy 

CPA CERTIFICATE REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 
 

A check or  money order  payable to the TREASURER OF VIRGINIA 
must be mailed with your  application package. 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. 
 
� I t is the responsibility of the applicant for  reinstatement to become familiar  with the applicable 

sections of the Virginia Board of Regulations pr ior  to completing and submitting this application for  
reinstatement. 

 

Virginia 
CPA Cer tificate 

Number  

A 
 

Reinstatement Fee 

B 
 

Late Renewal Penalty 
Fee 

C 
 

Number of unpaid 
Renewal Periods x $24 

A+B+C 
 

Total Fees 

# $ 250.00 $ 25.00 $ $ 

 
1. Name ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
   First  Middle   Last   Generation 
           (SR, JR, III, etc.) 

 
2. Social Security Number  

(Application will not be accepted without a Social Security Number or Control Number. See below.
�

) 
 

3. Date of Birth             __________________________________ 
 
4. Street Address (P.O. Box not accepted)   ___________________________________________________________ 
 

City, State, Zip Code            ___________________________________________________________ 
 
5. E-mail Address             ___________________________________________________________ 
 
6. Telephone & Other Numbers         ________________           ________________           ________________ 

(Please include your area codes)  Telephone   Facsimile   Beeper/Cellular 
 

 
�

 State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in 
a business, trade, profession or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security 
number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

 

FOR OFFICE 
USE ONLY 

FEE PAID DATE RECEIVED ISSUE DATE CERTIFICATE NUMBER 

 

   -   -     
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7. List your reasons for failing to renew your CPA certificate. If necessary, you may attach any 

additional sheet(s) of paper. 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 
8. Have you ever been subject to a disciplinary action imposed by any (including Virginia) local, state or 

national regulatory body? 
 

No     � 
 

Yes     � If yes, list all the names of the jurisdictions in which the disciplinary action took place and the 
license number. Provide an explanation of events, including a description of the disciplinary 
proceeding and the type of sanctions that were imposed (i.e., suspension, revocation, voluntary 
surrender of license, monetary penalty, fine, reprimand, etc.). Attach copies of any correspondence 
or documentation (including a copy of the final order, decree or case decision) related to this 
matter. If necessary, you may attach any additional sheet(s) of paper. 

 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 

9. A. Have your ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony? Any guilty plea or plea of nolo  
contendere must be disclosed on this application. Do not disclose violations that were 
adjudicated as a minor in the juvenile court system. 

 

No   �  Yes   �    If yes, please provide the information requested in 9.C. 
 
B. Have you ever been convicted in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor? Any guilty plea or plea 

of nolo contendere must be disclosed on this application. Do not disclose violations that were 
adjudicated as a minor in the juvenile court system. 

 

No   �  Yes   �    If yes, please provide the information requested in 9.C. 
 
C. If you answered “yes”  to either question 9.A. or 9.B., list the felony and/or misdemeanor 

conviction(s). Attach a copy of all applicable criminal convictions, state police and court records; 
information on the current status of your incarceration, parole, probation, etc.; and any other 
information you wish to have considered with this application (i.e., reference letters, 
documentation of rehabilitation, etc.). If necessary, you may attach any additional sheet(s) of 
paper. 

 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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10. When your license is reinstated, do you plan to refer to yourself as a Certified Public Accountant, or 

“CPA,”  including the use of the “CPA” title on individual business cards, letterhead, and all other 
documents or devices except the CPA wall certificate, and: 

 
A. Perform or offer to perform any services involving accounting skills or auditing skills, issuing 

reports on financial advisory or consulting services, preparing tax returns, or furnishing advice on 
tax matters, for an employer or other organization and not for the public, or be employed as an 
educator in the field of accounting? 

 

No   �  Yes   �     If yes, effective July 1, 2002, you must obtain 45 hours of continuing 
professional education (CPE), with a minimum of 10 CPE hours per year. 
This requirement is effective for the three-year reporting cycle beginning 
January 1, 2003. Any CPE hours earned from July 1 through December 31, 
2002 can be used for the reporting year of January 1 to December 31, 2003. 

 
B. Perform or offer to perform any services involving accounting skills or auditing skills, issuing 

reports on financial advisory or consulting services, preparing tax returns, or furnishing advice on 
tax matters, for the public? 

 

No   �  Yes   �     If yes, you must attach evidence of having obtained 120 hours of CPE for the 
three years prior to the year the reinstatement application is submitted, with a 
minimum of 20 CPE hours per year. 

 
11. Please provide the information on your employment or self-employment by completing the 

Reinstatement – Employment/CPE Supplement Form.  A separate Supplement Form must be 
completed for each year that your license was expired.  Incomplete Forms cannot be accepted. 

 
12. By signing this application, I certify that I continue to meet the standards for renewal as set forth in 

18 VAC 5-21-80 of the Virginia Board of Accountancy Regulations. In addition, by signing this 
form, I affirm that: (i) I have complied with the Board’s standards of conduct and applicable 
standards of practice; (ii) I have met the applicable continuing professional education requirements 
set forth in 18 VAC 5-21-170 for the three years prior to the year the reinstatement application is 
submitted; and (iii) I have met the requirements set forth in 18 VAC 5-21-50 if the CPA certificate 
holder is responsible for supervising services involving the practice of public accounting, and signs or 
authorizes another person to sign the financial statement on behalf of the firm. I also certify that I 
understand, and have complied with, all the laws of Virginia affecting Certified Public Accountants 
under the provisions of Chapter  44 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, and the Virginia Board of 
Accountancy Regulations. 

 
Furthermore, I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and I have 
not suppressed any information that might affect the Virginia Board of Accountancy’s decision to 
approve this application. I will notify the Virginia Board of Accountancy if I am subject to any 
disciplinary action or convicted of any felony or misdemeanor charges (in any jurisdiction) prior to 
receiving the requested certificate. 

 
 
Signature _________________________________________________  Date ________________________ 
 
� Copies of the aforementioned sections of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board of Accountancy 

Regulations, as well as all applicable forms and other information, may be obtained online at 
http://www.boa.state.va.us, or by calling the Board office at (804) 367-8505. 
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Commonwealth of Virginia  
Board of Accountancy 
3600 West Broad Street, Suite 696 
Richmond, Virginia 23230-4916 
Office (804) 367-8505, Fax (804) 367-2174 
Website: http://www.boa.state.va.us 
E-mail: boa@boa.state.va.us 
 

 
Virginia Board of Accountancy 

REINSTATEMENT – EMPLOYMENT/CPE SUPPLEMENT FORM 
 

You must complete a separate form with your employment or  self-employment information (including 
business name and address) for  each year that your  license was expired. 

The completed form(s) must accompany your  CPA Cer tificate Reinstatement Application. 
INCOMPLETE FORMS CANNOT BE ACCEPTED. 

 
� I t is the responsibility of the applicant for  reinstatement to become familiar  with the applicable 

sections of the Virginia Board of Regulations pr ior  to completing and submitting the application for  
reinstatement. 

 
PLEASE PRINT ALL INFORMATION 

 
Virginia 

CPA Cer tificate Number  
Year  

addressed in this form: 

#  

 
 
13. Name ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
   First  Middle   Last   Generation 
           (SR, JR, III, etc.) 
 
14. Social Security Number  

(Application will not be accepted without a Social Security Number or Control Number. See below.
�

) 

 
EMPLOYMENT/SELF-EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 

 
15. Business Name             __________________________________________________________ 
 
16. Business Street Address            ___________________________________________________________ 
 

City, State, Zip Code            ___________________________________________________________ 
 
17. E-mail Address             ___________________________________________________________ 
 
18. Telephone & Other Numbers         ________________           ________________           ________________ 

(Please include the area codes)  Telephone   Facsimile   Beeper/Cellular 

 
 

�

 State law requires every applicant for a license, certificate, registration or other authorization to engage in 
a business, trade, profession or occupation issued by the Commonwealth to provide a social security 
number or a control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. 

 

FOR OFFICE 
USE ONLY 

FEE PAID DATE RECEIVED ISSUE DATE CERTIFICATE NUMBER 

 

   -   -     
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19. I used my CPA designation and provided services to the public during this year (i.e., prepared tax 

returns, estate planning, served as a consultant). 
 

No ����  Yes ���� 
 

20. I used my CPA designation but I did not provide services to the public during this year. 
 

No ����  Yes ���� 
 
21. I did not use my CPA designation at all during this year. 

 
No ����  Yes ���� 

 
 

22. I worked in Virginia during this year. 
 

No ����  Yes ���� 
 
23. I worked outside Virginia during this year. 

 
No ����  Yes ���� 

 
24. I worked both in Virginia and outside Virginia during this year. 

 
No ����  Yes ���� 

 
25. If my license is reinstated, I plan to use my CPA designation and provide services to the public. 

 
No ����  Yes ���� 

 
26. If my license is reinstated, I plan to use my CPA designation but I will not provide services to the 

public. 
 

No ����  Yes ���� 
 
27. If my license is reinstated, I do not plan to use my CPA designation and will not work as a CPA. 

 
No ����  Yes ���� 

 
 
� I f you answered “ Yes”  to (7& 10), (7& 11), (7& 12), or  (13) – You must provide proof of the required 

CPE (120 CPE hours over  a three-year  CPE repor ting cycle – the three calendar years immediately 
preceding your  application for  reinstatement). 

 
� I f you answered “ Yes”  to (8& 10), (8& 11), or  (14) – Beginning January 1, 2004, you must provide 

proof of the required CPE (45 CPE hours over  a three-year  CPE reporting cycle beginning January 
1st of 2003, 2004, and 2005). 

 
I, the undersigned, certify that the foregoing statements and answers are true, and accurate. 

 
 
Signature _________________________________________________  Date ________________________ 
 
� Copies of the Code of Virginia and the Virginia Board of Accountancy Regulations, as well as all 

applicable forms and other information, may be obtained online at http://www.boa.state.va.us, or by calling 
the Board office at (804) 367-8505. 


