
FINAL REGULATIONS 

18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq. 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene 

 

PART II. 

LICENSURE RENEWAL AND FEES. 

 

18 VAC 60-20-20.   License renewal and reinstatement. 

 

A.  Renewal fees.  Every person holding an active or inactive license, or a full-time faculty license or a 

restricted volunteer license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before March 31, 

renew his license.  Every person holding a teacher's license or a temporary permit to practice 

dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before June 30, renew his license. 

 

1. The fee for renewal of an active license shall be $100 for dentists and $40 for dental 

hygienists. 

 

2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $65 for dentists and $25 for dental 

hygienists. 

 

3. The fee for renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $15. 

 



B. Penalty fees.  Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by the deadline 

required in subsection A of this section shall be required to pay an additional penalty fee of $50 

for dentists and $35 for dental hygienists.  The board shall renew a license if the renewal form, 

renewal fee, and penalty fee are received within 30 days of the deadline required in subsection A 

of this section. 

 

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures.  The license of any person who does not return the completed 

renewal form and fees within 30 days of the deadline required in subsection A of this section shall 

automatically expire and become invalid and his practice of dentistry/dental hygiene shall be illegal.  

Upon such expiration, the board shall immediately notify the affected person of the expiration and 

the reinstatement procedures.   

 

1. Any person whose license has expired who wishes to reinstate such license shall submit to the 

board a reinstatement application, the renewal fee and the penalty fee of $50 for dentists and 

$35 for dental hygienists per month for each month or part of a month the license has been 

expired for a maximum amount of $600 for dentists and $420 for dental hygienists. 

 

2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action and 

additional fines by the board. 

 

3. The executive director shall reinstate such expired license provided that the applicant can 

demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to § 54.1-2706 of the 



Code of Virginia and 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant 

has paid all unpaid renewal fees and assessments. 

 

D. Reinstatement of a license previously revoked or indefinitely suspended.  Any person whose 

license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and 

fee of $750 for dentists and $500 for dental hygienists.  Any person whose license has been 

indefinitely suspended shall submit to the board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee 

of $350 for dentists and $250 for dental hygienists. 

 

18 VAC 60-20-30.   Other fees. 

 

A.  Dental licensure application fees.  The fee for a dental license, a license to teach dentistry, or a 

temporary permit as a dentist shall be $225. 

 

B.  Dental hygiene licensure application fees.  The fee for a dental hygiene license by examination, a 

license to teach dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall be $160. 

 

C.  Duplicate wall certificate.  Licensees desiring a duplicate wall certificate shall submit a request in 

writing stating the necessity for such duplicate wall certificate, accompanied by a fee of $15.   

 

D.  Duplicate license.  Licensees desiring a duplicate license shall submit a request in writing stating the 

necessity for such duplicate license, accompanied by a fee of $10. If a licensee maintains more 

than one office, a notarized photocopy of a license may be used. 



 

E.  Licensure certification.  Licensees requesting endorsement or certification by this board shall pay a 

fee of $25 for each endorsement or certification. 

 

F.  Restricted license.  Restricted license issued in accordance with § 54.1-2714 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be at a fee of $100. 

 

G.  Examination.  Each examination administered by the board shall be at a fee of $25. 

 

H. Endorsement license.  License by endorsement issued in accordance with 18 VAC 60-20-80 for 

dental hygienists shall be at a fee of $225.   

 

 I. Restricted volunteer license.  The application fee for licensure as a restricted volunteer dentist or 

dental hygienist issued in accordance with § 54.1-2712.1 or § 54.1-2726.1 shall be $25. 
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