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Agency name Board of Dentistry, Department of Health Professions  

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

18 VAC 60-20  

Regulation title Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene  

Action title Increase in fees  

Document preparation date 9/18/06  

 
This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 21 (2002) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 
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Please provide a brief summary (no more than 2 short paragraphs) of the proposed new regulation, 
proposed amendments to the existing regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the 
reader to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
              

Amendments to regulation are adopted in order to increase certain fees for the regulants of the 
Board, including dentists and dental hygienists, as necessary to provide sufficient funding for the 
licensing and disciplinary functions of the Board.  An annual renewal fee for a dentist would be 
increased from $150 to $285 and for a dental hygienist from $50 to $75.  Other fees, such as 
application and late fees that are tied to the renewal fee, would be increased correspondingly.    
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Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                
 
On September 15, 2006, the Board of Dentistry adopted a final regulation for 18VAC60-20-10 et 
seq., Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, to increase fees 
charged to applicants and regulated entities. 
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Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including  
(1) the most relevant law and/or regulation, including Code of Virginia citation and General Assembly 
chapter numbers, if applicable, and (2) promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Describe the 
legal authority and the extent to which the authority is mandatory or discretionary.   
              
 
18VAC60-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene 
are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
Section 54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 
administer the regulatory system and to levy fees: 
 
 § 54.1-2400. General powers and duties of health regulatory Boards.--The general powers and 
duties of health regulatory Boards shall be: 
 

…4. To establish schedules for renewals of registration, certification and licensure. 
 

5. To levy and collect fees for application processing, examination, registration, certification or 
licensure and renewal that are sufficient to cover all expenses for the administration and operation 
of the Department of Health Professions, the Board of Health Professions and the health regulatory 
Boards. 
 
6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq.) 
which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system. Such 
regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this chapter or of Chapter 1 and 
Chapter 25 of this title… 

 
The specific statutory mandate for an increase in fees is found in § 54.1 113: 
 
§ 54.1-113. Regulatory Boards to adjust fees.  
Following the close of any biennium, when the account for any regulatory Board within the Department 
of Professional and Occupational Regulation or the Department of Health Professions maintained under 
§ 54.1-308 or § 54.1-2505 shows expenses allocated to it for the past biennium to be more than ten 
percent greater or less than moneys collected on behalf of the Board, it shall revise the fees levied by it 
for certification or licensure and renewal thereof so that the fees are sufficient but not excessive to cover 
expenses.  
 

�
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Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation.  Describe the rationale or justification of the 
proposed regulatory action.  Detail the specific reasons it is essential to protect the health, safety or 
welfare of citizens.  Discuss the goals of the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended to solve. 
              
 
§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia requires that at the end of each biennium, an analysis of revenues 
and expenditures of each regulatory Board shall be performed to ensure that each Board has 
sufficient revenue to cover its expenditures.   At the conclusion of fiscal year ’05, the deficit of the 
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Board was $532,651; by the close of the 2004-2006 biennium, the Board of Dentistry had 
accumulated a deficit of $873,452 and will continue to have a deficit through the next biennium, 
estimated to grow to over $2 million by the end of FY08.  Since the fees from licensees will no 
longer generate sufficient funds to pay operating expenses for the Board, a fee increase is essential 
by the renewal deadline in March, 2007. 
 
As mandated by law, the purpose of the proposed amendments is to establish fees sufficient to 
cover the policy-making, licensing and disciplinary activities of the Board of Dentistry.  Without 
adequate funding, the licensing of practitioners could be delayed, and dental care in the 
Commonwealth would be less accessible.  In addition, sufficient funding is essential to carry out 
the investigative and disciplinary activities of the Board in order to protect the public health and 
safety.     
 

� 
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Please identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing sections, 
or both where appropriate.  A more detailed discussion is required under the “All changes made in this 
regulatory action” section.   
               
 
Section 20 is being amended to comply with a statutory mandate for the Board to provide 
sufficient funding to cover expenses related to licensing, investigations and disciplinary 
proceedings.  Renewal fees for dentists will increase from $150 to $285 per year; renewal fees 
for dental hygienists will increase from $50 to $75 per year.  Other fees are amended 
proportionately, i.e., inactive fees are typically one-half the active renewal fee and late fees are 
one-third the renewal fee.  The application fees for licensure by credentials are increased to $500 
for dentists and $275 for hygienists, compared to the $400 for licensure by examination for 
dentists and $175 for hygienists.  As proposed, the reinstatement fee would be inclusive of the 
renewal fee, the late fee and the fee for a reinstatement application. 
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Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including:  
1) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or 
businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions;  
2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth; and  
3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, and the public.   
If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, please indicate.    
              
  
1) The primary advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private 
citizens or businesses, of implementing the new or amended provisions: 
 
Fee increases proposed by the Board of Dentistry should have no disadvantage to the consuming 
public.  There is no projection of a reduction in the number of applicants for licensure or the number 
of licensed persons available to provide dental services to the public. In fact, with licensure by 
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credentials now available for dentists, there may be a modest increase in the number of 
practitioners. An increase in the renewal fee will result in an additional $135 per year for a dental 
license and $25 per year for a dental hygienist. With those increases spread across the patient 
population, it is not anticipated that the proposed fee increases will have any effect on prices for 
consumers. 
 
There would be considerable disadvantages to the public if the Board took no action to address its 
deficit by increasing its fees to cover expenses.  The only alternative currently available under the 
Code of Virginia would be a reduction in services and staff, which would result in delays in 
licensing applicants who would be unable to work and delays in approval or disapproval of 
candidates to sit for examinations.  Potentially, the most serious consequence would be a reduction 
in or reprioritization of investigation of complaints against dentists and dental hygienists.  There 
may be delays in adjudicating cases of substandard practice, resulting in potential danger to the 
patients in the Commonwealth.   
 
Practitioners licensed by the Board of Dentistry will experience increased renewal fees under the 
proposed regulations.  While that is a disadvantage to the licensees, the alternative of reduced 
services for the Board would be unacceptable to applicants, licensees and the general public.  As 
a special-fund agency, renewal fees pay the vast majority of the expenses of Board operations, 
which include inspections, investigation of complaints, adjudication of disciplinary cases, review 
and approval of applicants, verification of licensure and education to other jurisdictions and 
entities, and communications with licensees about current practice and regulation.   
 
2) The primary advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth:   
 
As is stated above, the consequence of not increasing fees of the Board would be a reduction in 
services and staff, resulting in delays in licensing, reductions or delays in the cases investigated and 
brought through administrative proceedings to a hearing before the Board. The Board is solely 
funded by the fees charged to applicants and licensees.   If increased fees are not adopted, the 
agency would have to cut its staff, both within the Board of Dentistry and within other divisions of 
the Department of Health Professions since the agency is dependent on revenues from the Board for 
approximately 5.42 % of its expenditures. 
 
3) Other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, government officials, 
and the public: 
 
There is no other pertinent matter of interest related to this action. 
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Please describe all changes made to the text of the proposed regulation since the publication of the 
proposed stage. For the Registrar’s office, please put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.   
              
 
After a re-analysis of the revenue and expenditures from FY06, the Board was able to reduce the 
fee proposal for licensees.  It had been projected that by the close of the 2004-2006 biennium, 
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the Board of Dentistry would accumulate a deficit of $1,047,443; the actual deficit was 
$873,452.  Therefore, there was a reduction in the renewal fee from $315 to $285 for dentists and 
from $85 to $75 for hygienists; all other proposed fee increases were also adjusted downward 
and the fee increases for oral and maxillofacial surgeons were eliminated.  It is estimated that the 
Board’s deficit will continue through 2007-08, but it will realize a surplus by 2009. 
 

�
�������� � ����

 
Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the proposed stage, and provide the agency response.  If no comment was received, please so indicate.  
                
 
Proposed regulations were published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on June 26, 2006.  
Public comment was requested for a 60-day period ending August 25, 2006.  Dr. Mark Crabtree, 
President of the Virginia Dental Association (VDA), wrote to express concern about the dramatic 
increase in fees.  The VDA acknowledged the need for an increase to address expenses incurred by 
licensing agencies, but questioned an increase in excess of 100%.  The VDA requested that the 
Board make sure the fee increases fairly and accurately reflect the cost of doing business. 
 
A Public Hearing before the Board of Dentistry was held on July 21, 2006. There was no comment 
on the fee increase received at the hearing. 
 
Board Response:  
 
While the Board understands the perspective of the comment and regrets the necessity for an 
increase in fees, it has a responsibility to uphold its statutory duty to: “…levy and collect fees for 
application processing, examination, registration, certification or licensure or the issuance of a 
multistate licensure privilege and renewal that are sufficient to cover all expenses for the 
administration and operation of the Department of Health Professions, the Board of Health 
Professions and the health regulatory boards.”    
 
After a re-analysis of the revenue and expenditures from FY06, the Board was able to reduce the 
renewal fee for dentists to less than a 100% increase.  The reduction for dentists was from a 
proposed $315 to $285; all other fee increases were also adjusted downward. 
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Please detail all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.  
Detail new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.     
              
 
 
Current 
section 
number 

Proposed change and rationale 

20 Establishes the Changes in the fees are listed as follows: 
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schedules and fees for 
renewal and 
reinstatement 

A. Renewal fees.  1. The fee for renewal of an active license or 
permit to practice or teach dentistry shall be $150 285, and the fee 
for renewal of an active license or permit to practice or teach dental 
hygiene shall be $50 75. 

Renewal fees were set as necessary to provide sufficient revenue 
for the board to eliminate a significant deficit and provide funding 
through the coming biennia adequate to avoid another fee 
increase. 

2. The fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $75 145 for 
dentists and $25 40 for dental hygienists.   

Inactive fees are set at ½ the active renewal fee. 

4. The application fee for a temporary resident’s license shall be 
$55 60. The annual renewal fee remains $35 a year.  

B. Late fees.  Any person who does not return the completed form 
and fee by the deadline required in subsection A of this section 
shall be required to pay an additional late fee of $50 100 for 
dentists with an active license and $20 25 for dental hygienists 
with an active license.  The late fee shall be $50 for dentists with 
an inactive license and $15 for dental hygienists with an inactive 
license.  

Late fees are set at 1/3 the renewal fees. 

C. Reinstatement fees and procedures. 1. Any person whose license 
has expired for more than one year and who wishes to reinstate 
such license shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, 
the renewal fee and the reinstatement fee of $225 500 for dentists 
and $135 200 for dental hygienists. 

The reinstatement fee is inclusive of the renewal fee, the late fee 
and an administrative fee for processing a reinstatement 
application.  If the fee had remained at $225 (as in the current 
regulation), it would have cost more to reinstate when the renewal 
fee is added.   

D. Any person whose license has been revoked shall submit to the 
board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $750 
1,000 for dentists and $500 500 for dental hygienists.  Any person 
whose license has been indefinitely suspended shall submit to the 
board for its approval a reinstatement application and fee of $350 
750 for dentists and $250 400 for dental hygienists. 

Fees for reinstatement after revocation or suspension are higher 
because the process involves a background investigation with 
significantly more costs than a normal reinstatement of a lapse 
license. 
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30 Sets other fees, such as 
application fees 

A. Dental licensure application fees. The application fee for a 
dental license by examination, a license to teach dentistry, a full-
time faculty license, or a temporary permit as a dentist shall be 
$225 400. The application fee for dental license by credentials 
shall be $500. 

B. Dental hygiene licensure application fees. The application fee 
for a dental hygiene license by examination, a license to teach 
dental hygiene, or a temporary permit as a dental hygienist shall be 
$135 175. The application fee for dental hygienist license by 
endorsement shall be $275. 

The application fee includes costs for review (sometimes involving 
board member time), processing and following up to ensure the 
application is complete and the renewal fee for one full renewal 
year.  There are additional requirements and verifications for 
licensure by credentials or endorsement, so the increased fee 
reflects the additional work involved in the review and approval of 
such an application. 

C. Duplicate wall certificate. Licensees desiring a duplicate wall 
certificate shall submit a request in writing stating the necessity for 
such duplicate wall certificate, accompanied by a fee of $25 60.  

The fee is calculated on the actual cost to the Board for producing 
the certificate and having it calligraphied.   

D. Duplicate license. Licensees desiring a duplicate license shall 
submit a request in writing stating the necessity for such duplicate 
license, accompanied by a fee of $10 20. If a licensee maintains 
more than one office, a notarized photocopy of a license may be 
used.  

The fee represents increased cost for staff time in producing a 
duplicate license and managing the contacts/mailings. 

E. Licensure certification. Licensees requesting endorsement or 
certification by this board shall pay a fee of $25 35 for each 
endorsement or certification.  

The fee represents increased cost for staff time in managing the 
contacts/mailings associated with endorsement to another 
jurisdiction. 

F. Restricted license. Restricted license issued in accordance with 
§54.1-2714 of the Code of Virginia shall be at a fee of $150 285.  

This licensure category is always consistent with the fee for active 
licensure, since persons holding this license can actively engage in 
full-time practice in certain settings. 

250 Sets fees for the Proposed fees were increased by a minimum of 5% across the 
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registration of oral and 
maxillofacial 
surgeons.  
 

board, so all fees for oral and maxillofacial surgeons were 
increased correspondingly. When other fees were reduced in 
the final action, the proposed fees in section 250 were 
eliminated with the exception of the reinstatement fee.  The 
proposed reinstatement fee was $360 (increased from $175); 
the final fee is $350 for an oral and maxillofacial surgeon 
who wishes to reinstate his registration after one year of 
expiration.  

310 Establishes the 
credentials for 
certification to do 
cosmetic procedures 

The proposed fee increase was eliminated. 
 

320 Establishes the 
procedure and fee for 
renewal of certification 

The proposed fee increase was eliminated. 
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Please assess the impact of the proposed regulatory action on the institution of the family and family 
stability. 
              

In its analysis of the proposed regulatory action, the agency has determined that there is no 
potential impact on the institution of the family and family stability.  There will be a modest 
impact on disposable family income, as dentists and dental hygienists will experience an increase 
in the cost of maintaining a license.  Compared to other costs of doing business, such as finding 
and hiring qualified personnel and third party billing, licensure fees are relatively insignificant. 
 


