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Agency name Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology, Department of 
Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

18 VAC 30-20 

Regulation title Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology & Speech-Language 
Pathology 

Action title Requirements for provisional licensure 

Document preparation date 5/19/06 
 
This form is used when an agency wishes to promulgate an emergency regulation (to be effective for up to one year), 
as well as publish a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action (NOIRA) to begin the process of promulgating a permanent 
replacement regulation.   
 
This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 21 (2002) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 
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The APA (Code of Virginia § 2.2-4011) states that an “emergency situation” is:  (i) a situation involving an 
imminent threat to public health or safety; or (ii) a situation in which Virginia statutory law, the Virginia 
appropriation act, or federal law requires that a regulation shall be effective in 280 days or less from its 
enactment, or in which federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect no later than 280 days from 
its effective date. 
 
1) Please explain why this is an “emergency situation” as described above.  
2) Summarize the key provisions of the new regulation or substantive changes to an existing regulation.   
              
 
The adoption of an “emergency”  regulation by the Board of Audiology & Speech-Language 
Pathology is required to comply with amendments to Chapter 26 of Title 54.1 and the second 
enactment clause of HB354 passed by the 2006 General Assembly, which requires: “That the 
Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology shall promulgate regulations to 
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implement provisions of this act within 280 days of its enactment..”  Chapter 97 was 
enacted on March 23, 2006, the day HB354 was signed by the Governor.  Emergency regulations 
must be in effect by December 28, 2006. 

The amended regulations will:  1) establish requirements for provisional licensure in audiology 
for applicants who have met the educational and examination qualifications in order to complete 
their clinical fellowship year, and 2) set out the requirements for supervision of persons 
practicing with a provisional license. 
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Other than the emergency authority described above, please identify the state and/or federal legal 
authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including: 1) the most relevant law and/or regulation, 
including Code of Virginia citation and General Assembly chapter number(s), if applicable, and 2) 
promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Describe the legal authority and the extent to which 
the authority is mandatory or discretionary.   
              
 
18VAC30-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology & Speech-Language 
Pathology are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology 
the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system: 
 

§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards  
The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:  
 … 
6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-
6.14:1 et seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 
regulatory system. Such regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this 
chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this 
title. … 
 

The legal authority to license and regulate audiologists may be found in the amended Chapter 26 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
 
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?061+ful+CHAP0097  
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Please describe the subject matter and intent of the planned regulatory action.  Also include a brief 
explanation of the need for and the goals of the new or amended regulation. 
              
 
By the year 2007, all graduate programs in audiology will be transformed into doctoral 
programs, as the master’s degree programs fade.  Currently, graduate programs in Audiology are 
transitioning into the doctoral program in which a student graduates with a Bachelor of Arts or 
Bachelor of Science degree and proceeds to a doctoral program.  Formerly, the student would 
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first obtain a master’s degree before proceeding to a doctoral degree. The new transitional 
program requires a supervised post-graduate clinical experience.  It is the general requirement 
within the profession to have all the students work under supervision during the post-graduate 
clinical experience.  Our neighboring states- North Carolina, West Virginia, Maryland, and 
Kentucky provide some type of temporary, limited or provisional licensure for these students.  
The establishment of a provisional license allows students who have completed all of the 
requirements of a master’s degree or an equivalent number of hours to practice audiology, yet 
they are supervised to ensure the needed training by a licensed audiologist to protect the 
consuming public prior to the issuance of the doctoral or terminal degree. The intent of the 
regulatory action is to comply with the requirements of Chapter 97 to implement provisional 
licensure in audiology.     
 

! ����
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Please detail any changes that are proposed.  Please outline new substantive provisions, all substantive 
changes to existing sections, or both where appropriate.  Set forth the specific reasons why the regulation 
is essential to protect the health, safety, or welfare of Virginians.  Delineate any potential issues that may 
need to be addressed as a permanent final regulation is developed.    
               
 
Current 
section 
number 

Current requirement Proposed change and rationale 

80 Establishes the fees for 
applications and renewal  

Addition of a $50 fee for an application for provisional 
licensure in audiology and a $25 fee for renewal of the license. 
 
Review of credentials, processing and issuing a license will be 
functions required for this new activity.  Board staff may need 
to consult with a committee of the board to determine 
eligibility if there are questions about credentials, especially 
the educational equivalency of a master’s degree. Therefore, 
the $50 fee is considered minimal for a licensure application.  
Likewise, the $25 fee for renewal is necessary to cover the 
ongoing costs for provisional licensees.   

170 Sets the requirements for 
licensure for audiologists, 
speech-language 
pathologists, and school 
speech-language 
pathologists 

Subsection B currently allows an applicant to obtain a license 
in audiology by having a master’s degree or its equivalent and 
passing the examination.  With the passage of HB 354, the 
Board now has authority to issue provisional licenses to 
persons seeking licensure in audiology who have met the 
educational and examination requirements and need a license 
in order to practice in a clinical fellowship.  Therefore, 
subsection B will only apply to persons seeking licensure in 
speech-language pathology.  Persons seeking full licensure in 
audiology will apply with credentials set out in subsection A, 
which includes a professional certification acquired after 
completion of a clinical fellowship year. 
 
With authorization to issue a provisional license, the Board is 
able to resolve a long-standing problem.  Other states do not 
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issue full, unrestricted licenses to audiologists without at least 
a year of supervised, clinical experience, but in order to 
engage in practice, audiology students in Virginia need some 
legal authorization or license.  Accordingly, the Board has 
had to issue full licenses prior to the clinical fellowship 
without any assurance that the applicant has any period of 
supervised practice and is competent to treat patients as an 
independent practitioner.  With provisional licensure, 
audiology students can engage in their professional under 
supervision with greater protection for public health and 
safety by oversight and, if necessary, intervention by a 
supervisor. 

New 171 n/a Subsection A sets out the requirements for a provisional 
license to include: 

A completed application and fee, and documentation that the 
applicant:  

1. Holds a master's degree or its equivalent as determined by 
the board or a doctoral degree from a college or university 
whose audiology program is regionally accredited by the 
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or an 
equivalent accrediting body; and  

2. Has passed a qualifying examination from an accrediting 
body recognized by the board within three years preceding the 
date of applying for provisional licensure in Virginia.  
 
The requirements for a provisional license are the same as for 
a full license minus the clinical practicum that the student will 
complete under supervision.  If a student holding a provisional 
license later applies for full licensure, he will only need to 
submit evidence of his credential issued by ASHA or ABA, 
indicating that he has completed his clinical fellowship year 
(CFY). 
 
Subsection B sets the duration of the license at one year, 
which is the amount of time required for a professional 
credential.   
 
Completion of the CFY and actually take 12 to 18 months, so 
the provisional license can automatically be renewed for an 
additional 12 months.  Renewal beyond that will necessitate 
an appeal to a committee of the board and evidence that the 
applicant has good cause for needing additional time to 
complete the clinical fellowship. The Board wants to ensure 
that individuals do not become “ permanent fellows”  working 
indefinitely with a provisional license. 
 
Subsection C sets out the responsibility of the provisional 
licensee to only practice under the supervision of a licensed 
audiologist in order to obtain the clinical experience required 
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for licensure and to be responsible and accountable for the 
safe performance of those direct patient care tasks to which he 
has been assigned. 
 
This provision is necessary to clearly state that a provisional 
licensee is accountable for his actions in patient care and can 
only practice with supervision.  A provisional licensee 
practices under this chapter in which the Board has the 
authority in section 280 to refuse to issue a license or to take 
disciplinary action for a variety of conduct considered 
unprofessional – such as inability to practice with skill and 
safety or incompetence or negligence in the practice of the 
profession 
 

Subsection D sets out the responsibilities of licensed 
audiologists who are providing supervision to include: 

1. Documenting the frequency and nature of the supervision of 
provisional licensees; 

2. Being responsible and accountable for the assignment of 
patients and tasks based on their assessment and evaluation of 
the provisional licensee’s knowledge and skills; and   

3. Monitoring clinical performance and intervening if 
necessary for the safety and protection of the patients. 

While subsection C establishes that the provisional licensee is 
responsible for the direct patient care tasks to which he has 
been assigned, the supervisor is responsible for evaluating the 
knowledge and skills of the provisional person and assigning 
tasks accordingly.  The supervisor must also document the 
supervision, monitor patient care and, if necessary, intervene 
for the protection of patients.  Responsibilities for a supervisor 
are consistent with standards set by the credentials bodies and 
with those in other professions, such as nursing. 

Subsection E specifies that the identity of a provisional 
licensee shall be disclosed to the client prior to treatment and 
shall be made a part of the client's file. 

It is important for the health and safety of patients that they 
know that the licensure of their treating practitioner.  
Disclosure can be accomplished by a variety of means – 
verbally by the supervisor or provisional licensee, by use of a 
title on a name tag or by a consent form the patient signs..   
Misrepresentation of one's professional credentials could be 
grounds for disciplinary action or for refusal to issue a full 
license. 
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Please describe all viable alternatives to the proposed regulatory action that have been or will be 
considered to meet the essential purpose of the action.   
              
 
There are no alternatives to the adoption of regulations; it is required by the second enactment 
clause of HB354.  The alternative to provisional licensure would be to grant a full license prior to 
completion of the doctoral program to allow students to obtain clinical experience, but that is 
opposed by the educational programs and is not in the best interest of patient safety since those 
individuals would have full licensure for independent practice without any period of supervised 
experience.  
 

#
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Please assess the impact of the emergency regulatory action on the institution of the family and family 
stability. 
               
 
There is no impact of the emergency regulatory action on the institution of the family and family 
stability. 


