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18 VAC 50-30 
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Action title Tradesmen Three-Year License Cycle 

Final agency action date April 24, 2018 

Date this document 
prepared 

May 9, 2018 

 
When a regulatory action is exempt from executive branch review pursuant to § 2.2-4002 or § 2.2-4006 of the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (APA) or an agency’s basic statute, the agency is not required, however, is encouraged to 
provide information to the public on the Regulatory Town Hall using this form.  Note:  While posting this form on the 
Town Hall is optional, the agency must comply with requirements of the Virginia Register Act, Executive Orders 17 
(2014) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual.  

 

 

Brief summary  
 

 

Please provide a brief summary of the proposed new regulation, proposed amendments to the existing 
regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the reader to all substantive matters or 
changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
                

 

Chapter 750 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly directs the Board for Contractors to amend its regulations to 
extend the license period for individuals licensed as tradesmen from two years to three years.   
 
Because all types of licenses and certifications issued by the Board currently renew on a two-year cycle, 
18 VAC 50-30-120 is amended to distinguish tradesmen licenses (i.e., electricians, gas fitters, HVAC, and 
plumbers) from other categories of individual credentials (e.g., liquefied petroleum gas fitters, elevator 
mechanics, water well system providers, etc.).  
 
Once segregated, language is added to provide that tradesmen licenses are valid for three years, and 
renewal fees for tradesmen are adjusted to align with the longer license term—the current two-year $130 
renewal fee on an annualized basis is $65, so for a three-year term the renewal fee would be $195.  
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The reinstatement fee is similarly adjusted by amending 18 VAC 50-30-130 to take into account the 
extended license period for tradesmen. For clarity, the gas fitter trade specialty (which falls under 
tradesmen licensure usually as a division within HVAC or plumbing) is also delineated in this section in 
order to ensure that it is not confused with the Natural Gas Fitter Provider and the Liquefied Petroleum 
Gas Fitter credentials, both of which are separate individual license programs established pursuant to Va. 
Code § 54.1-1129. 
 

 

Statement of final agency action 
 

 

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including: 1) the date the action was 
taken; 2) the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
                

 

The Board for Contractors authorized an exempt action for the Individual License and Certification 
Regulations on April 24, 2018. 

 

 

Family impact 
 

 

Please assess the impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability 
including to what extent the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights of 
parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage 
economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and 
one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or 
decrease disposable family income.  
              

 

There is no anticipated impact on the institution of the family or family stability.  
 


