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INTRODUCTION TO ADULT SERVICES 

 
 
 

1.1 Definitions 

When used in this chapter, the definitions below shall have the following meaning, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

Term Definition 

Adult Any person 60 years of age or older, or any person 18 years of 
age or older who is incapacitated and who resides in the 
Commonwealth; provided, however, “adult” may include 
qualifying nonresidents who are temporarily in the 
Commonwealth and who are in need of temporary or 
emergency protective services (§ 63.2-1603 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Adult Abuse The willful infliction of physical pain, injury, or mental anguish or 
unreasonable confinement of an adult (§ 63.2-100 of the Code 
of Virginia). 

Adult 
Exploitation 

The illegal use of an incapacitated adult or his resources for 
another’s profit or advantage (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Adult Foster 
Care 

Room and board, supervision, and special services to an adult 
who has a physical or mental condition. Adult foster care may 
be provided by a single provider for up to three adults (§ 63.2-
100 of the Code of Virginia). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
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Term Definition 

Adult Neglect Adult neglect means that an adult is living under such 
circumstances that he is not able to provide for himself or is not 
being provided services necessary to maintain his physical and 
mental health and that the failure to receive such necessary 
services impairs or threatens to impair his well-being. However, 
no adult shall be considered neglected solely on the basis that 
such adult is receiving religious nonmedical treatment or 
religious nonmedical nursing care in lieu of medical care, 
provided that such treatment or care is performed in good faith 
and in accordance with the religious practices of the adult and 
there is a written or oral expression of consent by that adult (§ 
63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia). 

Auxiliary Grants Cash payments made to certain aged, blind, or disabled 
individuals who receive benefits under Title XVI of the Social 
Security Act, as amended, or would be eligible to receive these 
benefits except for excess income (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Department The State Department of Social Services (VDSS) (§ 63.2-100 of 
the Code of Virginia). 

Domestic 
Violence 

A pattern of behavior in which one person uses violence to 
control others in the context of an intimate relationship. The 
pattern of violence may include physical violence, sexual 
violence, and/or emotional violence such as threats, 
intimidation, or isolation. 

Family Any individual adult or adults or children related by blood, 
marriage, adoption, or an expression of kinship who function as 
a family unit. (See Chapter 3, Adult Services Case 
Management, for additional information on case composition.) 

Family-Based An approach to social service delivery where the focus of 
service is on the family unit, not just individual members viewed 
in isolation. 

Family Services Social services which provide assessment and delivery of a 
broad range of services which include intake services, adult 
services, prevention and support services for families, adult 
protective services, child protective services, permanency 
services, and child care services.  

Incapacitated Any adult who is impaired by reason of mental illness, mental 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
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Term Definition 

Person retardation, physical illness or disability, dementia, or other 
causes to the extent that the adult lacks sufficient understanding 
or capacity to make, communicate, or carry out responsible 
decisions concerning his or her well-being. This definition is for 
the purpose of establishing an adult’s eligibility for adult 
protective services and such adult may or may not have been 
found incapacitated through court procedures (22 VAC 40-740-
10). 

Impaired Any person whose physical or mental capacity is diminished to 
the extent that he needs counseling or supervisory assistance 
or assistance with activities of daily living such as feeding, 
bathing and walking, or instrumental activities of daily living 
such as shopping and money management. 

Local 
Department 

The local department of social services (LDSS) of any county or 
city in this Commonwealth (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia).  

Virginia Uniform 
Assessment 
Instrument (UAI) 

The standardized multi-dimensional questionnaire that 
assesses an adult’s social, physical health, mental health, and 
functional abilities. The UAI is used to gather information for the 
determination of an adult’s care needs and service eligibility, 
and for planning and monitoring the adult’s care across various 
agencies and long-term care services. The UAI is composed of 
12 pages. There is a shorter, 2-page version of the UAI for 
private pay individuals applying to reside in or living in assisted 
living facilities (ALF). 

1.2 Organization of the department  

The VDSS designs programs to address those who are most in need, balance the role 
of providing effective intervention when necessary, and ensure the safety, stability, and 
well-being for the most vulnerable of our population.  

LDSS are an integral part of the social services delivery system and serve as the focal 
point within all local communities for the delivery of family-focused and family-based 
preventive and protective services. LDSS use federal, state, and local funds to deliver 
services. 

The State Board of Social Services was created by the state legislature in July 1974. 
The members are appointed by the Governor and include representatives from various 
regions of the state. Terms are for four years; no more than two successive terms are 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
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permitted. The State Board has responsibility for the adoption of rules and regulations 
consistent with federal and state law. 

The Commissioner of Social Services, who is appointed by the Governor, directs VDSS 
at the state level. The Home Office, located in Richmond, develops policies, 
procedures, regulations, training, and standards for social service programs. It is 
responsible for the monitoring and evaluation of these programs, and it allocates and 
manages funding to the local agencies. The Adult Services Programs are state 
supervised and locally administered. 

Adult Services/Adult Protective Services (AS/APS) Regional Program Consultants 
evaluate local programs, serve as resources in the areas of planning, organization, 
budgeting, and monitoring, and provide training, consultation, and technical assistance 
to local staff. 

VDSS supervises the administration of programs by the LDSS. The LDSS is the setting 
for direct contact with individuals requesting services. The components through which 
the LDSS can assist individuals fall into two major divisions: benefits and family services 
programs. The latter are administered by service workers, while eligibility workers 
handle benefit programs.  

LDSS staff determine eligibility for participation in service and benefits programs, 
authorize payments to individuals and vendors for services, and provide direct services 
to individuals. 

1.3 Adult Services programs 

VDSS administers the following programs through the Adult Services Programs Unit:  

• Adult Services 

• Adult Protective Services 

• Auxiliary Grants (AG) Program 

1.4 Mission of Adult Services programs 

The mission of the Adult Services Programs is to serve adults through programs that: 

• Protect older adults and incapacitated adults from abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

• Prevent the abuse, neglect, or exploitation of older adults and incapacitated 
adults. 

• Prevent the inappropriate institutionalization of the elderly and impaired adults. 
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• Assist when necessary with appropriate placement. 

• Maximize self-sufficiency. 

1.5 Purpose of Adult Services 

Adult Services (AS) are designed to allow the adult to remain in the least restrictive 
setting and function as independently as possible by establishing and/or strengthening 
appropriate family and social support systems or by supporting the adult in self-
determination. 

Adult Services are provided to impaired adults age 18 or older, and to their families 
when appropriate. Adult Services may include the provision of case management, 
home-based care, transportation, adult day services, nutrition services, placement 
services, and other activities to aid the adult. 

1.6 Purpose of Adult Protective Services 

Adult protective services (APS) are designed to establish and/or strengthen appropriate 
family and social support systems in order to protect adults at risk of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation and to prevent the occurrence of abuse, neglect or exploitation. 

APS consists of the identification, receipt, and investigation of complaints and reports of 
adult abuse, neglect or exploitation (or the risk thereof) as related to adults 60 years or 
older and incapacitated adults age 18 or older. This service also includes the provision 
of case management to alleviate the risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation. If appropriate 
and available, APS may include the provision of or arrangement for home-based care, 
transportation, adult day services, meal services, legal proceedings, and other activities 
to protect the adult. 

1.7 Distinction between Adult Services and APS 

• Provision of Adult Services to eligible adults 

o When there is no valid report of abuse, neglect, or exploitation or the risk 
thereof, and the adult requests services; or 

o Following APS intervention when the adult continues to need ongoing 
services but is no longer at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

• Provision of APS to eligible adults 

o When the LDSS receives and investigates a valid report. 

o The investigation determines the adult needs and accepts protective 
services or the court orders protective services. 
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1.8 Philosophy of Adult Services 

The following principles are inherent to the provision of Adult Services: 

• The worker is an advocate for the adult. 

• The adult is the focus of service delivery, and the worker shall preserve and 
protect the adult's right to self-determination even when there is a community or 
family request for the LDSS to intervene. 

• The least restrictive and least intrusive intervention necessary to stabilize the 
situation is the most appropriate. 

• The adult has the right to make decisions on his or her own behalf until he or she 
delegates that responsibility voluntarily or the court grants that responsibility to 
another individual. 

• A family-based approach to service delivery enhances services which support 
and strengthen the adult's informal support system. 

• Coordination and combination of formal and informal support systems provide 
the most effective delivery system. 

1.9 Philosophy of Adult Protective Services 

The following principles are basic to the planning and delivery of APS:  

• Proper protection of adults may require an APS worker to advocate for the right 
of the capable adult to make his or her own choices even when the community or 
family may oppose these choices. 

• The least restrictive and least intrusive intervention necessary to protect the adult 
and stabilize the situation is the most appropriate. 

• The adult has the right to make decisions on his or her own behalf until he or she 
delegates that responsibility voluntarily or the court grants that responsibility to 
another individual. 

• Adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation are primarily social problems and their 
resolution, for the most part, should be sought through the provision of social 
services and medical services rather than through the legal system. (Note: This 
does not include incidences of domestic violence, which should be addressed by 
the legal system, nor does it include felony abuse and neglect as defined in § 
18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
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• Services that support and strengthen the adult’s informal support system are vital 
to the protection of adults who are at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

• Legal action is considered only after all other alternatives have been explored. 
When legal intervention is required, the least restrictive means of intervention 
shall be used. 

1.10 Target populations for Adult Services 

Target populations served by the LDSS fall into three categories:  

• Those required to be served.  

• Those encouraged to be served to the extent that funds are available. 

• Those served at the option of the LDSS. 

1.10.1 Required to be served 

The target population required to be served includes the following:  

• Any impaired adult who is in need of nursing facility preadmission screening 
for nursing facility placement, Medicaid home- and community-based waiver 
services, or assisted living facility assessment.  

• Any impaired adult with low income who is in need of home-based services, 
to the extent that funds are available.  

 Each local board shall provide for the delivery of home-based 
services that include homemaker, companion, or chore services 
that will allow individuals to attain or maintain self-care and are 
likely to prevent or reduce dependency, to the extent the funds are 
made available to each locality. 

1.10.2 Encouraged to be served 

The target population encouraged to be served to the extent that funds are 
available include the following: 

• Any impaired adult who, upon emancipation from custody of the LDSS, is in 
need of services.  

• Any impaired adult who is in need of alternative living arrangements to avoid 
institutionalization and who requests services.  
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• Any adult who is in need of community-based care to avoid institutionalization 
and who requests services. 

1.10.3 Served at the option of LDSS  

• The target population to be served at the option of the LDSS includes any 
family with no minor children in the home that requests services.  

1.11 Target populations for APS 

Each LDSS, to the extent that funds are available, shall provide adult protective 
services for adults who are found to be abused, neglected, or exploited and who are: 

• 60 years of age or older; or 

• 18 years of age or older and incapacitated.  

The requirement to provide such services shall not limit the right of any individual to 
refuse to accept any of the services so offered, except as provided in § 63.2-1608.        
(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). 

1.12 Service workers as mandated reporters  

Service workers in an LDSS are mandated reporters pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the 
Code of Virginia. Even if the adult is currently receiving services, if the worker believes 
that an adult is abused, neglected or exploited, or at risk thereof, he shall report this to 
the appropriate staff in the LDSS. 

1.13 Confidentiality 

Section 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia requires that an adult’s information be kept 
confidential. With certain exceptions, an individual shall give written permission before 
information may be obtained from other sources or given to an individual or an agency. 
See Chapter 6 for additional information regarding confidentiality of an individual’s 
information. Also see the Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act 
(§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-
3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

See Chapter 2, Adult Protective Services, regarding confidentiality in Adult Protective 
Services cases. 

1.14 Documentation and record retention 

The Adult Services and Adult Protective Services Programs use a computerized web-
based case management system called ASAPS to record and maintain case 
management forms and functions needed to document the activities of the service 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC02020000038000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC02020000037000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC02020000037000000000000
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worker. ASAPS is in continuous development and future enhancements to ASAPS will 
gradually diminish the need for the LDSS to maintain paper documents in a case file. 
VDSS has designated ASAPS as the case management system of record for all AS and 
all APS cases. Service workers are required to use all of the ASAPS screens to 
document APS reports and investigations and the provision of services. All other 
required forms and documents should be maintained in the adult’s case record. The 
combination of ASAPS and the adult’s case record provide the required documentation 
of the activities of the service worker, the services provided to the adult and that the 
worker has met the requirements concerning frequency of case contact and other policy 
requirements.  

The LDSS shall maintain an adult’s case records in accordance with accepted 
professional standards and practices. All records shall be complete, accurate, 
accessible, and systematically organized according to requirements. All record entries, 
including forms, purchase of services orders, provider/vendor agreements, etc., shall be 
signed with name and professional title of the author and dated with the month, day, 
and year.  

The Record Analysis Services (RAS) unit at the Library of Virginia is responsible for 
ensuring that public records are maintained and available throughout their life cycle. 
RAS publishes Records Retention and Disposition Schedules to assist localities and 
state agencies with the efficient and economical management of their public records. 
The record retention and disposition schedule for county and municipal governments 
social services records (GS-15) is available online on the Library of Virginia’s website.  

• Adult Services cases that do not contain an APS report, an ALF assessment, or 
a PAS screening shall be retained for three years after the last case action.  

• Adult Services cases and APS cases with an APS report shall be retained five 
years after case closure.  

• Cases that contain ALF assessments or nursing facility PAS shall be retained 
five years after the date of assessment.  

• Approved Adult Services Providers Records shall be retained 3 years after last 
action.  

• Records or cases that have been retained for the appropriate time frame shall be 
destroyed according to number 8 on the first page of the GS-15.  

1.15 Legal basis – Code of Virginia 

The following serve as the legal basis for the Adult Services/Adult Protective Services 
Program from the Code of Virginia. Full text of each of the Code sections is available by 
accessing the Virginia General Assembly Legislative Information System website. 

http://www.lva.virginia.gov/
http://www.lva.virginia.gov/agencies/records/sched_local/index.htm
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/src.htm
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1.15.1 Homemaker, companion, or chore services  

Section 63.2-1600 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the provision of companion, 
chore, or homemaker services that will allow individuals to attain or maintain self-
care and are likely to prevent or reduce dependency. Such services shall be 
provided to the extent that federal or state matching funds are made available to 
each locality. 

1.15.2 Authority to provide adult foster care services  

Section 63.2-1601 of the Code of Virginia authorizes each local board of social 
services to provide adult foster care services that may include recruitment, approval, 
placement in, and supervision of adult foster care homes. 

1.15.3 Criminal history check for agency approved providers of services to 
adults  

Section 63.2-1601.1 of the Code of Virginia requires each local board to conduct a 
criminal background check on agency-approved providers as a condition of 
approval. 

1.15.4 Other adult services  

Section 63.2-1602 of the Code of Virginia requires each local board of social 
services to participate in Pre-Admission Screening for admissions to nursing homes, 
assessment for assisted living facilities; long-term care service coordination with 
other local agencies; provide social services, as appropriate, to individuals 
discharged from state facilities or training centers and participate in other programs 
pursuant to state and federal law. 

Pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia, "Preadmission Screening," all 
individuals who will be eligible for community or institutional long-term care services 
as defined in the state plan for medical assistance services shall be evaluated to 
determine their need for nursing facility services as defined in the plan. The 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) requires a preadmission 
screening of all individuals who, at the time of application for admission to a nursing 
facility, are eligible for medical assistance or will become eligible within six months 
following admission. This includes screening for both nursing facility and Medicaid 
home- and community-based waiver services (with the exception of the Mental 
Retardation/Intellectual Disability (MR/ID) Waiver). The community-based screening 
team shall consist of a nurse, service worker, and physician who are employees of 
the Department of Health or the LDSS. 

Pursuant to § 63.2-1804 of the Code of Virginia, "Uniform Assessment Instrument," 
in order to receive an Auxiliary Grant while residing in an ALF, an adult shall have 
been evaluated by a case manager or qualified assessor to determine his or her 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1600
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1601
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1601.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1602
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-330
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1804
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need for care. A uniform assessment instrument setting forth an individual’s care 
needs shall be completed for all individuals upon admission and for all individuals 
residing in an ALF at subsequent intervals as determined by State Board regulation. 

Pursuant to § 37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia, “Discharge from State Hospitals or 
Training Centers, Conditional Release, and Trial or Home Visits for Consumers,” the 
provision of social services to the individual discharged from a state hospital shall be 
the responsibility of the appropriate LDSS as determined by policy approved by the 
State Board of Social Services. The social services will be a component of the 
required discharge plan prepared by the prescription team pursuant to § 37.2-505. 

Pursuant to § 37.2-505 of the Code of Virginia, “Coordination of Services for 
Preadmission Screening and Discharge Planning,” local social services agencies are 
required to serve on the preadmission and discharge planning team that is 
established by the local community services board. The team has responsibility for 
integrating the community services necessary to accomplish effective prescreening 
and pre-discharge planning for an individual referred to the community services 
board. 

1.15.5 Appeal to Commissioner regarding home-based and adult foster care 
services  

Section 63.2-1602.1 of the Code of Virginia provides individuals receiving home-
based care and adult foster care services appeal rights concerning decisions 
affecting service delivery by the LDSS. 

1.15.6 Adult Protective Services  

Sections 63.2-1603 through 1610 of the Code of Virginia authorize provision of 
protective services to adults 60 years of age or older and to adults who are 18 years 
of age or older and who are incapacitated.  

1.15.7 Auxiliary Grants (AG) Program 

Section 63.2-800 of the Code of Virginia requires an adult who is applying for AG to 
be evaluated by a case manager or qualified assessor to determine his or her need 
for care.  

1.15.8 Community services boards; local government departments; and 
behavioral health authorities; powers and duties  

Sections 37.2-504 and 37.2-605 of the Code of Virginia require local boards of social 
services to enter into a written agreement with community services boards or 
behavioral health authorities to specify what services will be provided to individuals. 
Annual review of the agreement is required. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-837
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1602.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC63020000016000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-800
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-504
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-605
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1.16 Legal basis – department regulations 

The following serve as the  regulatory legal basis for the Adult Services/Adult Protective 
Services Program. Departmental regulations are reviewed at least every four years. Full 
text of each of the Department’s regulations (beginning with “VAC”) can be accessed 
via the Virginia General Assembly Legislative Information System website. 

22 VAC40-25 Auxiliary Grants Program 

22 VAC 40-740 Adult Protective Services 

22 VAC 40-745 Assessment in Assisted Living Facilities 

22 VAC 40-771 Adult Services Approved Providers 

22 VAC 40-780 Elimination of Financial Eligibility Criteria for Direct Social Services 

22 VAC 40-910 General Provisions for Maintaining and Disclosing Confidential 
Information of Public Assistance, Child Support Enforcement and 
Social Services Record 

1.17 Service Appeals 

When the LDSS takes an action on the adult’s application or case the adult may appeal 
the action taken.  

The adult may use the “Appeal to State Department of Social Services” form available 
on the VDSS internal website and on the VDSS public website to request an appeal. 

For additional information on service appeals, please see the Appeals and Fair 
Hearings Unit Procedure Manual located on the VDSS internal website and on the 
public website.  

1.18 Adult Services Program report 

Each year the Adult Services Program compiles an annual report of statistical data on 
each of its programs. This report also includes AS/APS contacts in each locality. The 
report is located on the VDSS internal website or the VDSS public website.  

    

http://leg1.state.va.us/000/src.htm
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-25
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0740
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0745
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0771
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-780
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0910
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/servtoadult.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/appeals/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/division/afh_manual.pdf
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/reports.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/geninfo/reports/adults/as.cgi
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1.19 Appendix A: Forms, brochures, and manuals  

VDSS maintains an intranet system, called SPARK, which is accessible only by state 
staff and LDSS staff. The SPARK home page provides information on VDSS divisions 
and programs.  

Information about Adult Services and Adult Protective Services can be accessed from 
the home page by clicking on “Division and Initiatives,” then “Family Services,” then 
“Adult Services” or by using the direct link.   

VDSS also maintains a Public website.  

1.19.1 Adult Services manuals, documents, and forms available on the web 

AS manuals and other informational documents are available on SPARK under the 
links “AS Documents” and “AS Manuals.”  

AS forms are posted on SPARK and on the VDSS public website. Forms are usually 
available in PDF and Word format. The worker can download these forms, as the 
Adult Services Program cannot provide copies of forms.  

1.19.2 VDSS forms available on the web 

Other VDSS forms are also located on SPARK.  

1.19.3 ASAPS Robo Help 

The ASAPS user’s manual (ASAPS-Robo Help), is found under the “Help” icon at 
the top of each screen in ASAPS. ASAPS-Robo Help is also located on SPARK on 
the “ASAPS” webpage. ASAPS-Robo Help may be downloaded from that site. 

1.19.4 Adult Services Programs brochures and educational materials  

Brochures and educational materials are available on the Adult Services website or 
on the VDSS public website.  

Additional educational information for mandated reporters is available on the VDSS 
public website.  

1.19.5 Medicaid provider manuals and forms 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) web portal has 
downloadable copies of all its program manuals and forms. Hard copies of Medicaid 
manuals are available for purchase. Contact Commonwealth Martin to order a copy 
of a DMAS manual. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/index.html
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/index.html
http://www.dss.state.va.us/index.html
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/servtoadult.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dgs/warehouse.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dis/asaps/
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/brochures.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/aps.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/aps.cgi
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManual
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderFormsSearch
http://www.cms-mpc.com/dmas.html
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The DMAS website also has information concerning the various Medicaid Waiver 
programs and other services offered by DMAS.  

http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/default.aspx
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/ltc-home.aspx
http://dmasva.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_pgs/ltc-home.aspx
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1.20 Appendix B: Adult Services/Adult Protective Services Program 
staff 

Home Office: 

Gail Nardi, Program Manager, 804-726-7537 

Paige McCleary, Program Consultant, 804-726-7536 

Tishaun Harris-Ugworji, Program Consultant, 804-726-7560 

Venus Bryant, Administrative Assistant, 804-726-7533  

Home Office Address: 

Virginia Department of Social Services 
Adult Services Program 
801 East Main Street  
Richmond, VA 23219 

AS/APS Regional Program Consultants:  

Carey Kalvig, Eastern Regional Office, 757-491-3983 

Marjorie Marker, Central Regional Office, 804-662-9783 

Carol McCray, Western Regional Office, 276-676-5636 

Angie Mountcastle, Piedmont Regional Office, 540-204-9640 

Andrea Jones, Northern Regional Office, 540-347-6313 
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1.21 Appendix C: Adult Services area assignments 

 
Eastern Central Northern Piedmont Western 

Carey Kalvig 
Pembroke Four,  
Suite 300 
Virginia Beach, VA 
23462 
 757-491-3983  
FAX: 757-552-1832 

Marjorie Marker 
1604 Santa Rosa Road 
Suite 130 
Richmond, VA 23229 
 804-662-9783 
FAX: 804-662-7023 

Andrea Jones 
170 West Shirley Avenue 
Suite 200 
Warrenton, VA 22186 
 540-347-6313 
FAX: 540-347-6331                                  

Angie Mountcastle 
1351 Hershberger Rd 
Suite 210 
Roanoke, VA 24012 
 540-204-9640 
FAX: 540-561-7536 

Carol McCray 
190 Patton Street 
Abingdon, VA 
24210 
 276-676-5636 
FAX: 276-676-
5621 

Agencies Agencies Agencies Agencies Agencies 

Accomack (001) 22 
Brunswick (025) 13 
Chesapeake (550) 23 
Dinwiddie (053) 19  
Franklin City (620) 23 
Gloucester (073) 18  
Greensville 
(081)/Emporia (595) 
19 
Hampton (650) 23 
Isle of Wight (093) 23 
James City (095) 23 
Matthews (115) 18 
Newport News (700) 
23 
Norfolk (710) 23 
Northampton (131) 22 
Portsmouth (740) 23 
Prince George (149) 
19 
Southampton (175) 23 
Suffolk (800) 23 
Surry (181) 19 
Sussex (183) 19 
Virginia Beach (810) 
23 
Williamsburg (830) 23 
York (199)/Poquoson 
(735) 23 
 

Amelia (007) 14 
Buckingham (029) 14 
Caroline (033) 16 
Charles City (036) 15 
Chesterfield (041)/ 
Colonial Heights (570) 
15 
Cumberland (049) 14 
Essex (057) 18 
Fluvanna (065) 10 
Goochland (075) 15 
Hanover (085) 15 
Henrico (087) 15 
Hopewell (670) 19 
King and Queen (097) 
18 
King William (101) 18 
Lancaster (103) 17 
Lunenburg (111) 14 
Middlesex (119) 18 
New Kent (127) 15 
Northumberland (133) 
17 
Nottoway (135) 14 
Petersburg (730) 19 
Powhatan (145) 15 
Prince Edward (147) 14 
Richmond City (760) 15 
Richmond County (159) 
17 
Westmoreland (193) 17 
 

Alexandria (510) 8 
Arlington (013) 8 
Clarke (043) 7 
Culpeper (047) 9 
Fairfax (059)/Fairfax City 
(600)/Falls Church (610) 8 
Fauquier (061) 9 
Frederick (069) 7 
Fredericksburg (630) 16 
Greene (079) 10 
Harrisonburg (660) 6/ 
Rockingham (165 
King George (099) 16 
Loudoun (107) 8 
Louisa (109) 10 
Madison (113) 9 
Manassas City (683) 8 
Manassas Park (685) 8 
Orange (137) 9 
Page (139) 7 
Prince William (153) 8 
Rappahannock (157) 9 
Shenandoah (171) 7 
Spotsylvania (177) 16 
Stafford (179) 16 
Warren (187) 7 
Winchester (840) 7 

Albemarle (003) 10 
Alleghany005)/Covington 
(580) 5/ Clifton Forge 
(560) 5 
Amherst (009) 11 
Appomattox (011) 11 
Bath (017) 6 
Bedford (019)/Bedford City 
(515) 11 
Botetourt (023) 5 
Campbell (031) 11 
Charlotte (037) 14 
Charlottesville (540) 10 
Craig (045) 5 
Danville (590) 12 
Franklin County (067) 12 
Halifax (083)/South 
Boston (780) 13 
Henry (089)/ Martinsville 
(690) 12  
Highland (091) 6 
Lynchburg (680) 11 
Mecklenburg (117) 13 
Nelson (125) 10 
Pittsylvania (143) 12 
Roanoke (770) 5 
Roanoke Co. (161)/Salem 
(775) 5 
Rockbridge (163)/Buena 
Vista (530)/ Lexington 
(678) 6 
Shenandoah Valley 
(Staunton (790)Augusta 
(015)/ Waynesboro 
(820)6) 
 

Bland (021) 3 
Bristol (520) 3 
Buchanan (027) 2 
Carroll (035) 3 
Dickenson (051) 2 
Floyd (063) 4 
Galax (640) 3 
Giles (071) 4 
Grayson (077) 3 
Lee (105) 1 
Montgomery (121) 
4 
Norton (720) 1 
Patrick (141) 12 
Pulaski (155) 4 
Radford (750) 4 
Russell (167) 2 
Scott (169) 1 
Smyth (173) 3 
Tazewell (185) 2 
Washington (191) 
3 
Wise (195) 1 
Wythe (197) 3 
 

 
The number in parentheses following locality name is the FIPS code; the number following the FIPS code is for the 
Planning District in which the locality is located. There are 120 LDSS. 
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2 
ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES  

 
 
 

2.1 Introduction 

Protective services to adults include the receipt and investigation of reports of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation of adults, as well as reports that adults are at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation. Protective services also include the following: 

• Assessing service needs. 

• Determining whether the subject of the report is in need of protective services. 

• Documenting the need for protective services.  

• Specifying what services are needed.  

• Providing or arranging for service delivery.  

Services to adults whose situations do not allege abuse, neglect, or exploitation, or the 
risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, are provided under Adult Services. 

2.2 Legal basis 

The mandate for providing protective services to adults is placed with local departments 
of social services (LDSS) by the Code of Virginia (§§ 63.2-1603 through 63.2-1610) and 
by the State Board of Social Services. Throughout this chapter, indented text marked 
with a blue, vertical line denotes verbatim content from the Code of Virginia and/or the 
Department’s Adult Protective Services (APS) Regulations (22 VAC 40-740). 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). Each local board, to the extent that federal or state 
matching funds are made available to each locality, shall provide, subject to supervision of 
the Commissioner and in accordance with regulations adopted by the Board, adult protective 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0740
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
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services for adults who are found to be abused, neglected or exploited and who meet one of 
the following criteria: (i) the adult is 60 years of age or older or (ii) the adult is 18 years of 
age or older and is incapacitated. The requirement to provide such services shall not limit the 
right of any individual to refuse to accept any of the services so offered, except as provided 
in § 63.2-1608. 

2.3 Charge to LDSS  

(§ 63.2-1605 F of the Code of Virginia). Local departments shall foster the development, 
implementation, and coordination of adult protective services to prevent adult abuse, neglect, 
and exploitation. 

2.4 Definitions  

The following words and terms are defined in the Code of Virginia and state regulations. 
When used in this chapter, they shall have the following meaning, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

Term Definition 

Abuse (i) Knowing and willful conduct that causes physical injury or 
pain or (ii) knowing and willful use of physical restraint, including 
confinement, as punishment, for convenience or as a substitute 
for treatment, except where such conduct or physical restraint, 
including confinement, is a part of care or treatment and is in 
furtherance of the health and safety of the incapacitated person 
(§ 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia). Note: this definition 
appears in the criminal section of the Code of Virginia. 

Adult Any person 60 years of age or older, or any person 18 years of 
age or older who is incapacitated and who resides in the 
Commonwealth. Adult may include qualifying nonresidents who 
are temporarily in the Commonwealth and who are in need of 
temporary or emergency protective services (§ 63.2-1603 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

Adult Abuse The willful infliction of physical pain, injury, mental anguish, or 
unreasonable confinement of an adult (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
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Adult at Risk An adult who is in an endangering situation that may result in 
imminent injury, death, and/or loss without the provision of adult 
protective services. 

Adult Neglect A condition in which an adult is living under such circumstances 
that he is not able to provide for himself or is not being provided 
services necessary to maintain his physical and mental health 
and that the failure to receive such necessary services impairs 
or threatens to impair his well-being. However, no adult shall be 
considered neglected solely on the basis that such adult is 
receiving religious nonmedical treatment or religious nonmedical 
nursing care in lieu of medical care, provided that such treatment 
or care is performed in good faith and in accordance with the 
religious practices of the adult and there is a written or oral 
expression of consent by that adult (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Adult Protective 
Services 

Services provided by the LDSS that are necessary to protect an 
adult from abuse, neglect, or exploitation (§ 63.2-100 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

APS also includes the receipt, investigation, and disposition of 
complaints and reports of adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation 
of adults 18 years of age and older who are incapacitated and 
adults 60 years of age and over by the LDSS. Adult protective 
services also include the provision of casework and care 
management by the LDSS in order to stabilize the situation or to 
prevent further abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an adult at 
risk of abuse, neglect, and  exploitation. If appropriate and 
available, adult protective services may include the direct 
provision of services by the LDSS or arranging for home-based 
care, transportation, adult day services, meal service, legal 
proceedings, alternative placements, and other activities to 
protect the adult (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Aggravated 
Sexual Battery 

Sexual abuse in which: the complaining witness is less than 13 
years of age, or the act is accomplished through the use of the 
complaining witness’s mental incapacity or physical 
helplessness, or the act is accomplished against the will of the 
complaining witness by force, threat or intimidation, and the 
complaining witness is at least 13 but less than 15 years of age, 
or the accused causes serious bodily or mental injury to the 
complaining witness, or the accused uses or threatens to use a 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
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dangerous weapon (§ 18.2-67.3 of the Code of Virginia). 

Annual Report 
of Guardian 

An annual report on the personal status of a person who is 
incapacitated for whom a guardian was appointed. The court- 
appointed guardian is to file the Annual Report of Guardian with 
the LDSS in the jurisdiction in which the guardian was 
appointed. The “Annual Report of Guardian for an Incapacitated 
Person” form is available on the DSS internal website. 

ASAPS The automated state system used to collect case and client 
information and provide case management for the Adult Service 
and Adult Protective Services Programs. 

Collateral A person whose personal or professional knowledge may help 
confirm or rebut the allegations of adult abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation or whose involvement may help ensure the safety of 
the adult (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Complaining 
Witness 

The person alleged to have been subjected to rape, forcible 
sodomy, inanimate or animate object sexual penetration, marital 
sexual assault, aggravated sexual battery, or sexual battery (§ 
18.2-67.10 of the Code of Virginia). 

Conservator A person appointed by the court who is responsible for 
managing the estate and financial affairs of an incapacitated 
person and where the context plainly indicates, includes a 
“limited conservator” or a “temporary conservator” (§64.2-2000 
of the Code of Virginia). 

Department The state department of social services (§ 63.2-100 of the Code 
of Virginia). 

Disorder A disorder includes any physical or mental disorder or 
impairment, whether caused by injury, disease, genetics, or 
other cause (§ 37.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia). 

Disposition The determination of whether or not adult abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation has occurred (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Documentation Information and materials, written or otherwise, concerning 
allegations facts and evidence (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Emergency Circumstances in which an adult is living in conditions that 
present a clear and substantial risk of death or immediate and 
serious physical harm to himself or others (§ 63.2-1603 of the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.3
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-1100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
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Code of Virginia). 

Exploitation The illegal use of an incapacitated adult or his resources for 
another’s profit or advantage (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

This includes acquiring an adult’s resources through the use of 
the adult’s mental or physical incapacity; the disposition of the 
incapacitated adult’s property by a second party to the 
advantage of the second party and to the detriment of the 
incapacitated adult; misuse of funds; acquiring an advantage 
through threats to withhold needed support or care unless 
certain conditions are met; persuading an incapacitated adult to 
perform services including sexual acts to which the adult lacks 
the capacity to consent (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Family Abuse Any act involving violence, force, or threat that results in bodily 
injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of death, sexual 
assault or bodily injury and that is committed by a person against 
such person’s family or household member. Such act includes, 
but is not limited to, any forceful detention, stalking, criminal 
sexual assault in violation of Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of 
Chapter 4 of Title 18.2, or any criminal offense that results in 
bodily injury or places one in reasonable apprehension of death, 
sexual assault, or bodily injury (§16.1-228 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Family or 
Household 
Member 

• The person’s spouse, whether or not he or she resides in 
the same home with the person; 

• The person’s former spouse, whether or not he or she 
resides in the same home with the person; 

• The person’s parents, stepparents, children, stepchildren, 
brothers, sisters, half-brothers, half-sisters, grandparents, 
and grandchildren, regardless of whether such persons 
reside in the same home with the person; 

• The person’s mother-in-law, father-in-law, sons-in-law, 
daughters-in-law, brothers-in-law, and sisters-in-law who 
reside in the same home with the person; 

• Any individual who has a child in common with the 
person, whether or not the person and that individual 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-228
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have been married or have resided together at any time; 
or  

• Any individual who cohabits or who, within the previous 
12 months, cohabited with the person, and any children of 
either of them then residing in the same home with the 
person (§ 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia). 

Financial 
Institution Staff 

Any employee of a bank, savings institution, credit union, 
securities firm, accounting firm, or insurance company (§ 63.2-
1606 of the Code of Virginia). 

Guardian A person appointed by the court who is responsible for the 
personal affairs of an incapacitated person, including 
responsibility for making decisions regarding the person's 
support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, therapeutic 
treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of involuntary 
admission, residence. Where the context plainly indicates, the 
term includes a "limited guardian" or a "temporary guardian" (§ 
64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia). 

Guardian Ad 
Litem 

An attorney appointed by the court to represent the interest of 
the adult for whom a guardian or conservator is requested. on 
the hearing of the petition for appointment of a guardian or 
conservator, the guardian ad litem advocates for the adult who is 
the subject of the hearing, and his duties are usually concluded 
when the case is decided (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Incapable of 
Making an 
Informed 
Decision 

Unable to understand the nature, extent, or probable 
consequences of a proposed treatment or unable to make a 
rational evaluation of the risks and benefits of the proposed 
treatment as compared with the risks and benefits of alternatives 
to the treatment. Persons with dysphasia or other 
communication disorders who are mentally competent and able 
to communicate shall not be considered incapable of giving 
informed consent (§ 37.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia). 

Incapacitated 
Person 

Any adult who is impaired by reason of mental illness, 
intellectual disability, physical illness or disability, advanced age, 
or other causes to the extent that the adult lacks sufficient 
understanding or capacity to make, communicate, or carry out 
responsible decisions concerning his or her well-being. This 
definition is for the purpose of establishing an adult’s eligibility 
for adult protective services and such adult may or may not have 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-228
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-1100
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been found incapacitated through court procedures (22 VAC 40-
740-10). 

An incapacitated person also means an adult who has been 
found by a court to be incapable of receiving and evaluating 
information effectively or responding to people, events, or 
environments to such an extent that the individual lacks the 
capacity to (i) meet the essential requirements for his health, 
care, safety, or therapeutic needs without the assistance or 
protection of a guardian or (ii) manage property or financial 
affairs or provide for his support or for the support of his legal 
dependents without the assistance or protection of a 
conservator. A finding that the individual displays poor judgment 
alone shall not be considered sufficient evidence that the 
individual is an incapacitated person within the meaning of this 
definition (§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia). Note: This 
definition is used by the court to determine need for the 
appointment of a guardian or a conservator. 

Intimate Parts The genitalia, groin, breast, or buttocks of any person (§ 18.2-
67.10 of the Code of Virginia). 

Involuntary 
Protective 
Services 

Those services authorized by the court for an adult who has 
been determined to need protective services and who has been 
adjudicated incapacitated and lacking the capacity to consent to 
receive the needed protective services (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Lacks Capacity 
to Consent 

A preliminary judgment of an LDSS service worker that an adult 
is unable to consent to receive needed services for reasons that 
relate to emotional or psychiatric problems, intellectual disability, 
developmental delay, or other reasons which impair the adult's 
ability to recognize a substantial risk of death or immediate and 
serious harm to himself. The lack of capacity to consent may be 
either permanent or temporary. The worker shall make a 
preliminary judgment that the adult lacks capacity to consent 
before petitioning the court for authorization to provide protective 
services on an emergency basis pursuant to § 63.2-1609 of the 
Code of Virginia (22 VAC-40-740-10). 

Legally 
Incapacitated 

A condition describing a person who has been adjudicated 
incapacitated by a circuit court because of a mental or physical 
condition which renders him, either wholly or partially, incapable 
of taking care of himself or his estate (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
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Legitimate 
Interest 

A lawful, demonstrated privilege to access the information as 
defined in § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia (22 VAC 40-740-
10). 

Local 
Department 

The local department of social services (LDSS) of any county or 
city in this Commonwealth (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia). 

Local Director The director or his designated representative of the LDSS of the 
city or county (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia). 

Mental Anguish A state of emotional pain or distress resulting from activity 
(verbal or behavioral) of a perpetrator. The intent of the activity is 
to threaten or intimidate, to cause sorrow or fear, to humiliate, 
change behavior or ridicule. There must be evidence that it is the 
perpetrator’s activity that has caused the adult’s feelings of pain 
or distress (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Neglect Neglect includes the failure of a caregiver or another responsible 
person to provide for basic needs to maintain the adult's physical 
and mental health and well-being, and it includes the adult's 
neglect of self. Neglect includes, but is not limited to: 

• The lack of clothing considered necessary to protect a 
person's health. 

It is generally expected that an adult needs clothing to 
provide protection from excessive cold. Inadequate 
clothing would be clothing that is insufficient or 
inappropriate for the weather.  

• The lack of food necessary to prevent physical injury or to 
maintain life, including failure to receive appropriate food 
for adults with conditions requiring special diets. 

• Shelter that is not structurally safe; has rodents or other 
infestations which may result in serious health problems; 
or does not have a safe and accessible water supply, safe 
heat source or sewage disposal. Adequate shelter for an 
adult will depend on the impairments of an adult; 
however, the adult must be protected from the elements 
that would seriously endanger his health (e.g., rain, cold 
or heat) and could result in serious illness or debilitating 
conditions. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
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• Inadequate supervision by a caregiver (paid or unpaid) 
who has been designated to provide the supervision 
necessary to protect the safety and well-being of an adult 
in his care. 

• The failure of persons who are responsible for caregiving 
to seek needed medical care or to follow medically 
prescribed treatment for an adult, or the adult has failed to 
obtain such care for himself. The needed medical care is 
believed to be of such a nature as to result in physical 
and/or mental injury or illness if it is not provided. 

• Medical neglect includes, but is not limited to, the 
withholding of medication or aids needed by the adult 
such as dentures, eye glasses, hearing aids, walker, etc. 
it also includes the unauthorized administration of 
prescription drugs, over- or under-medicating, and the 
administration of drugs for other than bona fide medical 
reasons, as determined by a licensed health care 
professional. 

• Self-neglect by an adult who is not meeting his own basic 
needs due to mental and/or physical impairments. Basic 
needs refer to such things as food, clothing, shelter, 
health or medical care (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Neglect The knowing and willful failure by a responsible person to 
provide treatment, care, goods, or services which results in 
injury to the health or endangers the safety of an incapacitated 
adult (§ 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia). Note: this definition 
appears in the criminal section of the Code of Virginia. 

Notification Informing designated and appropriate individuals of the local 
LDSS’s actions and the individual’s rights (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Person 
Interested in the 
Welfare of a 
Principal 

For purpose of this guidance, unless otherwise provided in the 
power of attorney, this means a person who may make a 
reasonable request that the agent disclose the extent to which 
he has chosen to act and the actions taken on behalf of the 
principal. 

These persons identified in § 64.2-1612 of the Code of Virginia 
are:  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1612
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• A person authorized to make health care decisions for the 
principal.  

• The principal’s spouse, parent, or descendant.  

• An adult who is a brother, sister, niece, or nephew of the 
principal.  

• A person named as a beneficiary to receive any property, 
benefit, or contractual right on the principal’s death or as 
a beneficiary of a trust created by or for the principal that 
has a financial interest in the principal’s estate.  

• The adult protective services unit of the LDSS for the 
county or city where the principal resides or is located.  

• The principal’s caregiver or another person who 
demonstrates sufficient interest in the principal’s welfare.  

• A person asked to accept the power of attorney.  

A person interested in the welfare of a principal may also include 
a person who may petition a court to construe a power of 
attorney or review the agent’s conduct, and grant appropriate 
relief. These persons are: 

• The principal or the agent. 

• A guardian, conservator, personal representative of the 
estate of a deceased principal, or other fiduciary acting for 
the principal. 

• A person authorized to make health care decisions for the 
principal.  

• The principal’s spouse, parent, or descendant.  

• An adult who is a brother, sister, niece, or nephew of the 
principal.  

• A person named as a beneficiary to receive any property, 
benefit, or contractual right on the principal’s death or as 
a beneficiary of a trust created by or for the principal that 
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has a financial interest in the principal’s estate.  

• The adult protective services unit of the LDSS for the 
county or city where the principal resides or is located.  

• The principal’s caregiver or another person who 
demonstrates sufficient interest in the principal’s welfare.  

• A person asked to accept the power of attorney (§ 64.2-
1614 of the Code of Virginia). 

Preponderance 
of Evidence 

Circumstances in which the evidence as a whole shows that the 
facts are more probable and credible than not. It is evidence that 
is of greater weight or more convincing than the evidence 
offered in opposition (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Principal An individual who grants authority to an agent in a power of 
attorney (§ 64.2-1600 of the Code of Virginia). 

Public 
Conservator 

A person who is provided through (i) a local or regional program 
designated by the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
Services as a public conservator pursuant to Article 6 (§ 51.5-
149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 or (ii) any local or 
regional tax-exempt charitable organization established pursuant 
to § 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code to provide 
conservatorial services to incapacitated persons. Such tax-
exempt charitable organization shall not be a provider of direct 
services to the incapacitated person (§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Public Guardian A person provided through (i) local or regional program 
designated by the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
Services as a public guardian pursuant to Article 6 (§51.5-149 et 
seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 or (ii) any local or regional tax-
exempt charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c) 
(3) of the Internal Revenue Code to provide guardian services to 
incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable organization 
shall not be a provider of direct services to the incapacitated 
person (§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia). 

Report An allegation by any person that an adult is in need of protective 
services. The term "report" shall refer to both reports and 
complaints of abuse, neglect, and exploitation of adults. The 
report may be made orally or in writing to the LDSS or to the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1614
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1614
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1600
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
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Adult Protective Services hotline (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Responsible 
Person 

A person who has responsibility for the care, custody, or control 
of an incapacitated person by operation of law or who has 
assumed such responsibility voluntarily, by contract or in fact (§ 
18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia). 

The term “operation of law” refers to care, custody, or control 
through some legal means such as guardianship or 
conservatorship. 

Serious Bodily 
Injury or Disease 

The term “serious bodily injury or disease” shall include but is 
not be limited to (i) disfigurement, (ii) a fracture, (iii) a severe 
burn or laceration, (iv) mutilation, (v) maiming, or (vi) life-
threatening internal injuries or conditions, whether or not caused 
by trauma (§ 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia). 

Sexual Abuse An act committed with the intent to sexually molest, arouse, or 
gratify any person, where:  

• The accused intentionally touches the complaining 
witness's intimate parts or material directly covering such 
intimate parts;  

• The accused forces the complaining witness to touch the 
accused's, the witness's own, or another person's intimate 
parts or material directly covering such intimate parts; or  

• The accused forces another person to touch the 
complaining witness's intimate parts or material directly 
covering such intimate parts (§ 18.2-67.10 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Sexual Battery Any sexual abuse against the will of the complaining witness by 
force, threat, intimidation, or ruse (§ 18.2-67.4 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.4
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Uniform 
Assessment 
Instrument (UAI) 

The department’s designated assessment form (22 VAC 40-745-
10). 

Unreasonable 
Confinement 

The use of restraints (physical or chemical), isolation, or any 
other means of confinement without medical orders, when there 
is no emergency and for reasons other than the adult’s safety or 
well-being or the safety of others (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Voluntary 
Protective 
Services 

Those services provided to an adult who, after investigation by 
the LDSS, is determined to be in need of protective services and 
consents to receiving the services so as to prevent further 
abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an adult at risk of abuse, 
neglect and exploitation (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

2.5 Adult Protective Services intake 

2.5.1 Accepting reports 

Adult Protective Services (APS) intake includes those activities whereby reports 
concerning the abuse, neglect, or exploitation of adults are received by local 
agencies, evaluated for appropriateness against the criteria for a valid report, and 
either accepted for investigation or determined invalid and not appropriate for an 
APS investigation. 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). Upon receipt of the report pursuant to § 63.2-
1606, the local department shall determine the validity of such report and shall initiate an 
investigation within 24 hours of the time the report is received in the local department.  

Valid reports that adults are at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall be 
accepted and investigated to determine whether or not the individual needs 
protective services and, if so, what services are needed. 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). The local department shall refer any appropriate 
matter and all relevant documentation to the appropriate licensing, regulatory, or legal 
authority for administrative action or criminal investigation.  

2.5.2 Entering reports into ASAPS 

The report shall be reduced to writing within 72 hours by completing the 
appropriate screens in ASAPS. See ASAPS-Robo Help. 

An example of an APS report form is available on the VDSS internal website.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-745-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-745-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dis/asaps/
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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2.5.3 Source of reports 

2.5.3.1 Mandated reporters 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Matters giving reason to suspect the abuse, 
neglect or exploitation of adults shall be reported immediately upon the reporting 
person's determination that there is such reason to suspect.  

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). The report shall be made in accordance with 
subsection A to the local department of the county or city wherein the adult resides 
or wherein the adult abuse, neglect or exploitation is believed to have occurred or to 
the adult protective services hotline. Nothing in this section shall be construed to 
eliminate or supersede any other obligation to report as required by law.  

Virginia law requires that certain persons having reason to suspect that an 
adult is abused, neglected, or exploited, report the matter immediately to the 
LDSS. Persons required to make reports of suspected abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation include:  

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any person licensed, certified, or registered 
by health regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-2503, with the exception of persons 
licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine;  

• Board of Nursing: Registered Nurse (RN); Licensed Nurse Practitioner 
(LNP); Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN); Clinical Nurse Specialist; 
Certified Massage Therapist; Certified Nurse Aide (CNA); Medication 
Aides. 

• Board of Medicine: Doctor of Medicine and Surgery, Doctor of 
Osteopathic Medicine; Doctor of Podiatry; Doctor of Chiropractic; Interns 
and Residents; University Limited Licensee; Physician Assistant; 
Respiratory Therapist; Occupational Therapist; Radiological 
Technologist; Radiological Technologist Limited; Licensed 
Acupuncturists; Certified Athletic Trainers. 

• Board of Pharmacy: Pharmacists; Pharmacy Interns; Permitted 
Physicians; Medical Equipment Suppliers; Restricted Manufacturers; 
Humane Societies; Physicians Selling Drugs; Wholesale Distributors; 
Warehousers, Pharmacy Technicians.  

• Board of Dentistry: Dentists and Dental Hygienists Holding a License, 
Certification, or Permit Issued by the Board. 

• Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers: Funeral Establishments; 
Funeral Services Providers; Funeral Directors; Funeral Embalmers; 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2503
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Resident Trainees; Crematories; Surface Transportation and Removal 
Services; Courtesy Card Holders.  

• Board of Optometry: Optometrist. 

• Board of Counseling: Licensed Professional Counselors; Certified 
Substance Abuse Counselors; Certified Substance Abuse Counseling 
Assistants; Certified Rehabilitation Providers; Marriage and Family 
Therapists; Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners. 

• Board of Psychology: School Psychologist; Clinical Psychologist; 
Applied Psychologist; Sex Offender Treatment Provider; School 
Psychologist – Limited. 

• Board of Social Work: Registered Social Worker; Associate Social 
Worker; Licensed Social Worker; Licensed Clinical Social Worker 

• Board of Long-Term Care Administrators: Nursing Home 
Administrator; ALF Administrator. 

• Board of Audiology and Speech Pathology: Audiologists; Speech-
Language Pathologists; School Speech-language Pathologists. 

• Board of Physical Therapy: Physical Therapist; Physical Therapist 
Assistant. 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any mental health services provider as 
defined in § 54.1-2400.1;  

1. Any emergency medical services personnel certified by the board of health 
pursuant § 32.1-111.5, unless such personnel immediately reports the suspected 
abuse, neglect or exploitation directly to the attending physician at the hospital to 
which the adult is transported, who shall make such report forthwith;  

2. Any guardian or conservator of an adult; 

3. Any person employed by or contracted with a public or private agency or facility 
and working with adults in an administrative, supportive or direct care capacity; 

4. Any person providing fully, intermittent, or occasional care to an adult for 
compensation, including but not limited to companion, chore, homemaker, and 
personal care workers; and 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2400.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-111.5
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5. Any law-enforcement officer.  

2.5.3.2 Requirements of employers of mandated reporters 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). An employer of a mandated reporter shall 
not prohibit a mandated reporter from reporting directly to the local department or 
to the adult protective services hotline.  

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Employers whose employees are mandated 
reporters shall notify employees upon hiring of the requirement to report.  

Employers may use the Acknowledgment of Mandated Reporter Status form to 
document notification to their mandated reporter staff. Page two of the form 
contains a list of the indicators of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation and is to 
be retained by the employee who signed the form. Use of the Acknowledgment 
of Mandated Reporter Status form is optional. 

2.5.3.3 Training for mandated reporters 

LDSS are encouraged to notify and provide training directly to mandated 
reporters in their communities as well as to their employers to supplement state 
office efforts to inform mandated reporters of their responsibilities.  

Mandated reporters of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation may learn more 
about their mandated reporting responsibilities by taking the free, online course 
ADS5055: Mandated Reporters: Recognizing and Reporting Abuse, 
Neglect and Exploitation of Adults available on the VDSS public website. 
Once on the webpage, select the [+] sign next to “Mandated Reporters”. The 
self-paced, interactive, online course offers an overview of the signs of adult 
abuse, neglect, and exploitation and guidance on making an APS report. 

2.5.3.4 Duplicate reports from mandated reporters  

A mandated reporter has fulfilled the statutory responsibility to report suspected 
abuse, neglect, and exploitation to APS when the following information has 
been provided to the LDSS or to the toll-free, 24-hour APS hotline at 1-888-
832-3858 (1-888-83ADULT):  

• A description of the situation. 

• The information that caused the suspicion of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/aps_mandated.html
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/aps.cgi
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A mandated reporter who makes a report has no responsibility to make 
additional reports when the situation of the adult who is the subject of the report 
remains unchanged and when the mandated reporter has not received written 
notification from APS that the APS investigation has been completed. 

When additional incidents of abuse, neglect, or exploitation are suspected, or 
when there is additional information relative to the original report, the mandated 
reporter is obligated to make an additional report or make the additional 
information available to the APS worker as prescribed by law (§ 63.2-1606 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

2.5.3.5 Exceptions to immediate reporting requirement for mandated 
reporters  

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). No person or entity shall be obligated to 
report any matter if the person or entity has actual knowledge that the same matter 
has already been reported to the local department or to the adult protective services 
hotline.  

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). If a person required to report under this 
section receives information regarding abuse, neglect or exploitation while 
providing professional services in a hospital, nursing facility or similar institution, 
then he may, in lieu of reporting, notify the person in charge of the institution or his 
designee, who shall report such information, in accordance with the institution's 
policies and procedures for reporting such matters, immediately upon his 
determination that there is reason to suspect abuse, neglect or exploitation.  

Mandated reporters are encouraged to document when they suspect adult 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation and have reported it to the person in charge of 
the institution in accordance with the institution’s policies and procedures for 
reporting such matters.  

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Medical facilities inspectors of the 
department of health are exempt from reporting suspected abuse immediately while 
conducting federal inspection surveys in accordance with § 1846 of Title XVIII and 
Title XIX of the Social Security Act, as amended, of certified nursing facilities as 
defined in § 32.1-123.  

Findings of abuse, neglect, or exploitation by the medical facilities inspectors 
shall be made known to APS after the exit interview with the facility. Based on 
the information, the APS worker will decide on a case-by-case basis if 
additional follow-up services are needed for individuals residing in the facility 
who may be at risk of further abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-123
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2.5.3.6 Reports of deaths that are results of abuse and neglect 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any mandated reporter who has reasonable 
cause to suspect that an adult died as a result of abuse or neglect shall immediately 
report such suspicion to the appropriate medical examiner and to the appropriate 
law-enforcement agency, notwithstanding the existence of a death certificate signed 
by a licensed physician. The medical examiner and the law-enforcement agency 
shall receive the report and determine if an investigation is warranted. The medical 
examiner may order an autopsy. If an autopsy is conducted, the medical examiner 
shall report the findings to law enforcement, as appropriate, and to the local 
department or to the adult protective services hotline.  

2.5.3.7 Failure to report 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any person who fails to make a required 
report or notification pursuant to subsection A shall be subject to a civil penalty of 
not more than $500 for the first failure and not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 
for any subsequent failures. Civil penalties under subdivision A 7 (Law 
enforcement) shall be determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, in its 
discretion. All other civil penalties under this section shall be determined by the 
Commissioner or his designee.  

22 VAC 40-740-80 addresses the procedures for imposition of a civil penalty for 
failure to report. 

(22 VAC 40-740-80) 1. Based on a decision by the local department director or his 
designee that a mandated reporter failed to report as required by § 63.2-1606 of the 
Code of Virginia, the local director shall prepare a written statement of fact 
concerning the mandated reporter's failure to report and submit the statement of fact 
to the commissioner. 

The local director may request that the Commissioner impose a civil penalty on 
the mandated reporter for failure to report by completing the form “Request to 
Impose a Civil Penalty.” This completed form serves as the written statement of 
fact concerning the mandated reporter’s failure to report.  

(22 VAC 40-740-80) 2. The local director or his designee shall notify the mandated 
reporter in writing within 15 calendar days from the date of the determination of the 
intent to recommend that a civil penalty be imposed. The notification will include a 
copy of the local director's statement of fact concerning the mandated reporter's 
failure to report. The notification shall state the mandated reporter's right to submit 
a written statement to the commissioner concerning the mandated reporter's failure 
to report. The date of the notification is the postage date. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-80
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Within 15 days of deciding to request that the Commissioner impose a civil 
penalty, the director shall provide the mandated reporter with written notification 
of the intent to request that a civil penalty be imposed. The written notification 
shall state the mandated reporter's right to submit a written statement to the 
Commissioner concerning the failure to report. An example of a letter to the 
mandated reporter is found in Appendix K. The director's statement of fact shall 
accompany the written notification to the mandated reporter. It is recommended 
that the director's letter to the mandated reporter be mailed certified mail, return 
receipt requested. 

Any information that the director considered in his decision to request that a 
civil penalty be imposed shall also be provided to the mandated reporter. 
Confidential information, such as the identity of the mandated reporter, shall be 
redacted. 

(22 VAC 40-740-80) 3. The mandated reporter's statement concerning his failure to 
report must be received by the commissioner within 45 days from the date of the 
local director's notification of intent to recommend the imposition of a civil penalty. 
A mandated reporter's statement received after the 45 days shall not be considered 
by the commissioner.  

The mandated reporter's written statement concerning his failure to report shall 
be received by the Commissioner with 45 days of the postmark of the director's 
letter to the mandated reporter. The Commissioner shall not consider a 
statement received after 45 days.  

(22 VAC 40-740-80) 1. The commissioner or his designee shall review the local 
director's written statement of fact concerning the mandated reporter's failure to 
report and the mandated reporter's written statement in determining whether to 
impose a civil penalty.  

(22 VAC 40-740-80) 2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged to 
have not reported as required, the commissioner or his designee shall forward the 
recommendation to a court of competent jurisdiction. 

The Commissioner shall review the local director's statement of fact (and 
additional information, if provided) and the mandated reporter's statement in 
determining whether to impose a civil penalty.  

If the mandated report is a law-enforcement officer, the Commissioner shall 
forward a recommendation to a court of competent jurisdiction. 

The Commissioner shall notify the mandated reporter whether a civil penalty 
will be imposed and, if so, the amount of the penalty. If a civil penalty is 
imposed, a copy of the notice to the mandated reporter shall be sent to the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-80


Virginia Department of Social Services  October 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Protective Services 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   2 Adult Protective Services    

appropriate licensing, regulatory, or administrative agency and to the local 
director who recommended the imposition of the penalty. 

2.5.3.8 Types of reports 

2.5.3.8.1 Reports of sexual abuse, criminal abuse and neglect, other 
criminal activity 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). Local departments or the adult protective 
services hotline, upon receiving the initial report pursuant to § 63.2-1606 shall 
immediately notify the local law-enforcement agency where the adult resides, or 
where the alleged abuse, neglect or exploitation took place, or if these places are 
unknown, then where the alleged abuse, neglect or exploitation was discovered, 
when in receipt of a report describing any of the following: 
  
1. Sexual abuse as defined in § 18.2-67.10;  

2. Death, serious bodily injury or disease as defined in § 18.2-369 that is 
believed to be the result of abuse or neglect; or 

3. Any other criminal activity involving abuse or neglect that places the adult in 
imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm.  

The APS worker shall contact the local law-enforcement agency and 
coordinate the investigation. If the law-enforcement agency declines to 
participate in the investigation, the APS worker shall continue the 
investigation without the participation of the law-enforcement agency. 

2.5.3.8.2 Financial institution staff reports 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any financial institution staff who 
suspects that an adult has been exploited financially may report such suspected 
exploitation to the local department of the county or city wherein the adult 
resides or wherein the exploitation is believed to have occurred or to the adult 
protective services hotline. For purposes of this section, financial institution 
staff means any employee of a bank, savings institution, credit union, securities 
firm, accounting firm, or insurance company.  

2.5.3.8.3 Voluntary reports 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any person other than those specified in 
subsection a who suspects that an adult is an abused, neglected or exploited 
adult may report the matter to the local department of the county or city wherein 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
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the adult resides or wherein the abuse, neglect or exploitation is believed to 
have occurred or to the adult protective services hotline.  

2.5.3.8.4 Anonymous reports 

Any individual has the right to make an anonymous report of suspected 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation or a report that an adult is at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation. No one can require that the reporter disclose his or 
her identity as a condition for accepting the report. All valid reports shall be 
investigated regardless of whether the reporter is identified. If a mandated 
reporter reports anonymously, he or she shall be encouraged to document 
that a report was made.  

2.5.3.8.5 Self-reports 

Requests for protective services come in many forms and the words 
“neglect, abuse, or exploitation” may not always be used by the adult or the 
reporter requesting services. The fact that an adult requests services for 
himself or herself does not necessarily mean that he or she is able to 
protect himself or herself. A self-referral for protective services is 
appropriate when the described condition falls within the definition of an 
adult being abused, neglected, or exploited, or an adult at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation. 

2.5.3.8.6 Domestic violence reports 

When the alleged abuser is reported to be a family or household member 
(as defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia), of the adult who is 
suspected to be abused, neglected, or exploited, an APS report shall be 
taken if the alleged victim is 60 years of age or older or is 18 years of age or 
older and incapacitated and the other criteria for a valid report are met. (See 
Section 2.7 for information on valid reports.) 

A 24-hour “Family Violence and Sexual Assault Hotline” for Virginia is 1-
800-838-8238. All domestic violence (DV) survivors and their families 
should be provided this number to assist them in obtaining appropriate DV 
services. DV services in the community may include temporary emergency 
housing, crisis intervention, crisis counseling, emergency transportation, 
information and referral, and legal aid. In a valid report, the APS worker 
should coordinate with DV professionals. 

2.5.3.8.7 LDSS worker generated reports 

When an APS worker recognizes that the circumstances in an open case 
meet the criteria for a valid APS report, the APS worker completes the 
appropriate screens in ASAPS and follows procedures for investigating a 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-228
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report that an adult is suspected of being abused, neglected, or exploited, or 
at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

2.5.3.8.8 Reports of ongoing cases 

When a valid report is received on the adult who is receiving services in an 
ongoing case, the APS worker completes the appropriate screens in ASAPS 
and follows procedures for investigating a report that an adult is suspected 
to be abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation.  

2.5.3.8.9 Reports that the adult is incapable of making and signing an 
application for Medicaid  

Medicaid policy states that eligibility workers will report to APS when they 
suspect that an adult applying for Medicaid (or Medicaid redetermination) is 
incapacitated and incapable of understanding the Medicaid eligibility 
process, and the adult has no authorized representative or substitute family 
member who is willing and able to apply or sign on his or her behalf. The 
eligibility worker completes the Eligibility Worker Referral form and forwards 
it to APS. The referral requests that APS begin an investigation to determine 
whether the person is abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation. If the need for guardianship is identified as a 
protective service need, the cost of petitioning is reimbursable to the LDSS 
through the Department of Medical Assistance Services. The APS worker 
completes the Response to Medicaid Referral form. See Chapter 3, Case 
Management, Appendix C for additional information on Cost Code 21704, 
Guardianship Petitions. 

2.5.3.8.10 APS hotline reports 

All APS reports that are phoned to the 24-hour hotline are forwarded to the 
LDSS of jurisdiction on-call worker or to another person or agency 
designated by the department. If the APS report indicates that sexual 
abuse, criminal abuse and neglect, and/or other criminal activity involving 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation that places the adult in imminent danger of 
death or serious bodily harm has occurred, as those terms are defined in 
the criminal section § 18.2-369, the APS hotline will immediately report the 
case to local law enforcement. The LDSS has responsibility for determining 
if the report received through the hotline is a valid report. 

The date/time that the report is received by the LDSS from the hotline 
should be used to determine the timeframe for initiating an investigation. 

Statewide APS Hotline   1- 888- 832- 3858 (toll-free) 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
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Richmond Area and Out-of-State   1- 804- 371- 0896 

2.5.3.8.11 When an annual report is not filed or is filed and creates 
reason to suspect 

The LDSS has the responsibility to review the “Annual Report of Guardian 
for an Incapacitated Person” for all guardianships adjudicated in its 
jurisdiction or transferred into its jurisdiction. The appropriate ASAPS 
screens shall be completed and all APS procedures followed, if: 

• The contents of the report provide reason to suspect that the subject 
of the annual report is abused, neglected, or exploited; 

• The individual who is the subject of the annual report is determined to 
be at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; or 

• After a good faith effort by the LDSS to obtain the guardian’s report, 
the guardian continues to fail to submit the report within four months 
from the last day of the reporting period. 

2.5.3.8.12 Reports involving resignation of agent  

(§ 64.2-1616 of the Code of Virginia). Unless the power of attorney provides a 
different method for an agent’s resignation, an agent may resign by giving 
notice to the principal and, if the principal is incapacitated: 

1. To the conservator or guardian, if one has been appointed for the principal, 
and a coagent or successor agent;  

2. If there is no person described in subdivision 1, to an adult who is a spouse, 
child or other descendant, parent, brother or sister of the principal;  

3. If none of the foregoing persons is reasonably available, another person 
reasonably believed by the agent to have sufficient interest in the principal’s 
welfare; or  

4. If none of the foregoing persons is reasonably available, the adult protective 
services unit of the local department of social services for the county or city 
where the principal resides or is located.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1616


Virginia Department of Social Services  October 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Protective Services 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   2 Adult Protective Services    

2.5.4 Rights of persons who report 

2.5.4.1 Immunity 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any person who makes a report or provides 
records or information pursuant to subsection a (mandated reporters), c 
(financial institution staff) or d (voluntary reporters), or who testifies in any 
judicial proceeding arising from such report, records or information, or who takes 
or causes to be taken with the adult's or the adult's legal representative's informed 
consent photographs, video recordings, or appropriate medical imaging of the adult 
who is subject of a report shall be immune from any civil or criminal liability on 
account of such report, records, information, photographs, video recordings, 
appropriate medical imaging or testimony, unless such person acted in bad faith or 
with a malicious purpose.  

2.5.4.2 Malicious reports 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Any person 14 years of age or older who 
makes or causes to be made a report of adult abuse, neglect or exploitation that he 
(or she) knows to be false shall be guilty of a class 4 misdemeanor. Any subsequent 
conviction of this provision shall be a class 2 misdemeanor.  

2.5.4.3 Protecting the identity of the reporter 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). The report and evidence received by the 
local department and any written findings, evaluations, records, and recommended 
actions shall be confidential and shall be exempt from disclosure requirements of 
the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700).  

Reports, documentary evidence, and other information gathered in the course 
of an APS investigation are exempt from the Virginia Freedom of Information 
Act (FOIA). APS records are not open to inspection by the public. 

 (22 VAC 40-740-50). The identity of the person who reported the suspected abuse, 
neglect or exploitation shall be held confidential unless the reporter authorizes the 
disclosure of his identity or disclosure is ordered by the court.  

The APS worker should request the reporter’s consent to release his or her 
identifying information to appropriate regulatory agencies if needed during the 
investigation. The oral or written consent should be noted in the APS 
assessment narrative. Written consent should be obtained, if possible. If the 
reporter refuses to grant such release, the APS worker shall respect his or her 
decision and shall not release the information. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3700
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
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(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). 3. Criminal investigative reports received 
from law-enforcement agencies shall not be further disseminated by the 
investigating agency nor shall they be subject to public disclosure: such reports 
may, however, be disclosed to the adult fatality review team as provided in § 32.1-
283.5 and if reviewed by the team, shall be subject to all of the team’s 
confidentiality requirements.  

2.5.4.4 Information to be given to the reporter 

The service worker receiving the report should explain the following to the 
person making the report: 

• The rights of persons making a report (i.e., immunity, protection of 
identity). 

• The LDSS’ responsibility to contact the person making the report to 
notify him or her that the report has been investigated. 

• If the report alleges sexual abuse, criminal abuse and neglect, or other 
criminal activity involving abuse, neglect, or exploitation that places the 
adult in imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm, the LDSS is 
required to report such suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation to the 
local law enforcement agency and to the medical examiner, as 
appropriate.  

2.5.4.5 Additional information to be given to mandated reporters 

All mandated reporters identified in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia should 
be informed of their responsibility under that Code section to disclose all 
information that is the basis for the suspicion of adult abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation and, upon request, make available to the investigating APS 
workers any records or reports that document the basis for their suspicion of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

The requirement to make pertinent information available is without regard to 
who made the protective services report (i.e., any mandated reporter shall 
make pertinent information available to the APS worker investigating the report 
whether he or she or some other person made the APS report).  

Note: Applications for benefits such as Medicaid are not permitted to be 
disclosed to the APS worker per the Code of Federal Regulations (42 CFR 
431.300 through 431.307). Unless the APS investigation is related to the 
administration of the Medicaid program, confidential information about the 
individual, including a completed Application for Benefits form, cannot be 
disclosed by DMAS or the LDSS that possesses the benefit information. The 
APS worker conducting the investigation may use the “Consent to Exchange 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-283.5
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-283.5
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=0b70ea4d9e953ed9155d8062be7ce438&rgn=div6&view=text&node=42:4.0.1.1.2.6&idno=42
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=0b70ea4d9e953ed9155d8062be7ce438&rgn=div6&view=text&node=42:4.0.1.1.2.6&idno=42
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi


Virginia Department of Social Services  October 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Protective Services 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   2 Adult Protective Services    

Information” form to request that the adult or the adult’s representative release 
the Application for Benefits. If the adult or the representative refuses to sign the 
release, the APS worker may consult with the LDSS attorney regarding the 
appropriateness of obtaining a subpoena. 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Upon request, any person required to make 
the report shall make available to the Adult Protective Services worker and the local 
department investigating the reported case of adult abuse, neglect or exploitation 
any information, records or reports which document the basis for the report. All 
persons required to report suspected adult abuse, neglect or exploitation shall 
cooperate with the investigating adult protective services worker of a local 
department and shall make information, records and reports which are relevant to 
the investigation available to such worker to the extent permitted by state and 
federal law.  

Section 164.512 of the Code of Federal Regulations for the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) authorizes covered entities 
to disclose health information that “is required by law and disclosure complies 
with and is limited to the relevant requirements of the law.” This includes 
sharing information with APS for the purposes of an APS investigation. 

All providers of medical services are also authorized to disclose records of a 
patient to APS under the § 32.1-127.1:03 D6 of the Code of Virginia (Health 
Records Privacy). 

2.5.5 Confidentiality 

See Chapter 6 for general information on confidentiality. Information in Chapter 6 
applies to all APS cases. Section 2.37 also provides information on confidentiality in 
APS cases and should be used in conjunction with Chapter 6. 

2.6 Intake interview 

The primary purpose of the intake interview is to explore with the reporter the 
allegations being made in order to determine whether there is reason to suspect that 
adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation is occurring or has occurred or that the adult is at 
risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation and whether an emergency exists. Sufficient 
information shall be gathered to evaluate the concerns of the person making the report 
and to judge whether the report is valid. In taking a report, the APS worker should make 
every effort to enable the reporter to make as factual a report as possible. 

The intake interviewer shall obtain as much of the following information as is known by 
the person making the report: 

• Name and location of the adult and directions to the adult’s place of residence. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=d33ae217ec602d175406fb6af2b1d4b2&rgn=div8&view=text&node=45:1.0.1.3.79.5.27.8&idno=45
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-127.1C03
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• Names and relationships of other members of the household. 

• Age of the adult. 

• Alleged incapacity of the adult (see the definition of “incapacitated person” in 
Section 2.4 of this chapter). 

• Name and address of caregiver, if any. 

• The circumstances that describe the abuse, neglect, or exploitation, or the 
reason(s) the reporter suspects the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation. 

• Whether an emergency exists. 

• Identity of person(s) who witnessed the incident, their addresses and telephone 
numbers. 

• Any information about previous abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the adult. 

• The name, address, and relationship of any other person(s) or agencies who 
might be concerned or have knowledge of the adult.  

• Name of the adult’s physician(s) and pharmacies. 

• Known medication(s) and/or treatment(s). 

• Identity and relationship of the alleged perpetrator. 

• Living arrangement of the adult (e.g., in own home, lives with spouse, lives with 
alleged perpetrator, lives alone, etc.). 

• Name, address, and phone number of person reporting if the reporter is willing to 
give this information. 

• Source of the reporter’s information. 

• Any other information that might be helpful in establishing the cause of the 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation or the risk of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation. 

• Permission to give the reporter's name and phone number to the appropriate 
regulatory authority. 

• The adult’s income and other resources, if known. 



Virginia Department of Social Services  October 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Protective Services 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   2 Adult Protective Services    

2.7 Determining validity of reports 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). Local departments shall consider valid any report 
meeting all of the following criteria: (i) the subject of the report is an adult as defined in this 
article, (ii) the report concerns a specific adult and there is enough information to locate the 
adult, and (iii) the report describes the circumstances of the alleged abuse, neglect or 
exploitation.  

See Section 2.4 for the definition of adult.  

2.7.1 Characteristics of a valid report of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

The following characteristics shall exist simultaneously to meet criteria for a valid 
APS report:  

• Adult is at least 60 years or older or age 18 to 59 and incapacitated. 

• Adult is living and identifiable. 

• Circumstances allege abuse, neglect, or exploitation or risk of abuse, neglect 
or exploitation.  

• The LDSS receiving the report is the LDSS of jurisdiction. 

2.7.1.1 Age or incapacity 

(§ 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia). Adult means any person 60 years of age or 
older, or any person 18 years of age or older who is incapacitated and who resides 
in the Commonwealth; provided, however, "adult" may include qualifying 
nonresidents who are temporarily in the Commonwealth and who are in need of 
temporary or emergency protective services.  

2.7.1.1.1 Age 

Adults 60 years of age or older who are suspected of being abused, 
neglected, or exploited or at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation are 
eligible for protective services without any other qualifiers. 

2.7.1.1.2 Incapacity 

In determining the validity of the report, incapacity is an APS worker’s 
judgment (see definition of “incapacitated person” in Section 2.4 of this 
document). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
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Adults 18 years of age or older who are incapacitated and who are 
suspected of being abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation are eligible for protective services. 

The definition for incapacity includes adults 18 years of age or older with 
mental or physical impairments. Mental impairment includes those 
conditions that render the adult unable to recognize the consequences of 
his or her behavior, unable to identify his or her needs and take steps 
necessary to see that those needs are met, or unable to perceive relevant 
facts and reach a decision based on those facts. Mental impairments may 
include mental illness, intellectual disability, emotional disturbance, 
developmental delays, and dementia. 

Physical impairment includes conditions that render the adult unable to take 
care of basic needs such as personal hygiene, necessary shopping, bill 
paying, food preparation, or obtaining required medical care. This includes 
adults who are 18 years of age or older and who have some physical 
disability that renders them unable to take care of themselves and/or their 
affairs. 

An adult may be considered incapacitated in one aspect of his or her life 
while able to function adequately in other areas.  

Adults who are involuntarily committed to facilities operated by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) are 
incapacitated for the purposes of this chapter. 

2.7.1.2 Identifiable adult 

The report is individual-specific inasmuch as there is an identifiable, living adult 
who is alleged to need protective services. The reporter may not know the 
adult’s name but must be able to provide enough information to enable the APS 
worker to locate the subject of the report. 

2.7.1.3 Circumstances of abuse, neglect, and exploitation 

The circumstances described must allege suspected abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation, or must allege that the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation as those terms are defined in Section 2.4 of this chapter. 

2.7.1.4 LDSS of jurisdiction 

The LDSS receiving the report must be the LDSS of jurisdiction.  



Virginia Department of Social Services  October 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Protective Services 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   2 Adult Protective Services    

2.7.1.5 When report is received in the wrong jurisdiction 

If the receiving LDSS is not the LDSS of jurisdiction, the LDSS that received the 
report has the responsibility to refer the report to the appropriate LDSS. If the 
report has been entered into ASAPS, the report shall be transferred in ASAPS 
to the appropriate LDSS (See ASAPS-Robo Help). The LDSS that received the 
report initially shall notify the appropriate LDSS that the report is being 
transferred. 

 If the report has not been entered into ASAPS yet, the LDSS that received the 
report shall provide the report information to the appropriate LDSS.  

2.7.2  Determining jurisdiction 

The following order determines which LDSS has jurisdiction.  

2.7.2.1 Place of residence 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). Where the subject of the investigation resides when the place 
of the residence is known and when the alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
occurred in the city or county of residence.  

If the adult lives in the jurisdiction of the LDSS that received the report and the 
alleged abuse, neglect or exploitation occurred or is occurring in the city or 
county where the adult lives, the LDSS that received the report has jurisdiction.  

The adult for whom a report that alleges need for protective services is made, 
may be an individual living in the community, a nursing facility, an assisted 
living facility, an adult foster care home, an acute-care hospital, a DBHDS 
operated or licensed facility or program, or other type of facility. 

For the purposes of this section, an adult who is residing in a nursing facility, 
assisted living facility, group home, or facility licensed or operated by DBHDS is 
"residing" in the locality in which the facility is located. 

• The adult lives in a facility in County A. The report alleges the adult was 
neglected in the facility. The LDSS in County A has jurisdiction.  

2.7.2.2 Outside of the place of residence 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation is believed to have 
occurred when the report alleges that the incident occurred outside of the city or 
county of residence.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
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If the abuse, neglect or exploitation occurred in a location other than the county 
or city where the adult resides, the LDSS in the county or city where the abuse 
occurred has jurisdiction.  

• The adult resides in County B and attends a senior center in County C. 
The report alleges the adult was physically abused at the center by a 
staff person. The LDSS in County C has jurisdiction.  

2.7.2.3 Where abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered if 
the incident did not occur in the city or county of residence or if the city or county 
of residence is unknown and the place where the abuse, neglect or exploitation 
occurred is unknown. 

If the abuse, neglect or exploitation did not occur in the adult's city or county of 
residence, or if the adult's residence is not known and the location where the 
abuse, neglect or exploitation occurred is not known, then the LDSS in the city 
or county where the abuse, neglect or exploitation was discovered has 
jurisdiction.  

• The adult occasionally is homeless and shows up one day at his 
relative’s house in County E. He asks if he can stay at the house for a 
few days. The relative agrees and later that day the relative discovers 
the adult’s back is covered in bruises. The adult refuses to talk about the 
bruises. The relative calls the LDSS in County E to make a report of 
physical abuse. The LDSS in County E has jurisdiction.  

• The adult resides in County W. She attends day treatment services in 
County X, where she discloses to staff that the van driver has been 
sexually abusing her. These incidences have occurred in the van as she 
is being driven to the day treatment program. A day treatment staff 
person makes the report to the LDSS in County X. The LDSS in County 
X has jurisdiction. 

2.7.2.4 Nonresident in the Commonwealth 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered if 
the subject of the report is a nonresident who is temporarily in the Commonwealth.  

If the adult is not a resident of the Commonwealth and is temporarily in the 
Commonwealth, the LDSS in the city or county were the abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation was discovered has jurisdiction.  

• The adult who is homeless and living under a bridge overpass located in 
County G. He looks like he has not eaten recently and may also need 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
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medical attention. He may or may not be from Virginia. The LDSS in 
County G has jurisdiction.  

2.7.2.5 When the alleged victim is incarcerated in a state corrections 
facility 

The LDSS shall not investigate allegations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 
adults incarcerated in state correctional facilities (§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of 
Virginia). If the alleged victim is incarcerated in a state correctional facility, the 
reporter should be referred to the Virginia Department of Corrections State 
Ombudsman (telephone 1-804-674-3014). 

2.8 Validity 

Any report that meets the criteria specified in Section 2.7 of this chapter is a valid report 
regardless of the referral source, the method by which the report is received, and 
without regard to the adult’s income, assets, or living arrangement.  

2.8.1 When the report is not valid 

If a report is determined to be not valid (i.e., does not meet criteria for a valid report), 
the LDSS should: 

• Inform the person who has reported, if the person’s identity is known, of the 
reasons why the case is not being accepted for an APS investigation. The 
reporter should be informed that the case may be referred to another agency 
for administrative or criminal investigation if appropriate. 

• Document the receipt of the report in ASAPS following ASAPS procedures 
(See ASAPS-Robo Help) 

• When appropriate, contact the individual who is the subject of the APS report 
to offer adult services, provide consultation, or/and make direct referrals for 
other services. 

• Refer the situation being reported to other entities as appropriate (i.e., local 
law enforcement, state or local Ombudsman, other state agencies for 
possible administrative actions). The “Notifications” under APS tab in ASAPS 
provides the means of documenting these referrals (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 
The form “Referral for Investigation from Adult Protective Services” is 
available on the VDSS internal website.  

• Refer reports that allege that the adult died as a result of abuse, neglect or 
exploitation to law-enforcement authorities, the medical examiner, and/or 
appropriate regulatory agencies. Appropriate information should also be 
provided to the Adult Fatality Review Team (See Section 2.16.2). A report of 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an adult who has died is not an appropriate 
situation for an APS investigation. The purpose of an APS investigation is to 
determine whether the living adult is in need of protective services and what 
services are needed. 

• Refer the adult to the local DV program when the report alleges domestic 
violence. When alleged DV reports meet criteria for an APS investigation, an 
APS report should be taken and an investigation initiated.  

• Refer endangering situations to regulatory authorities where appropriate (See 
Section 2.23 to Section 2.36 of this chapter). If an adult, who was believed to 
have been abused, neglected, or exploited while residing in a licensed facility, 
is no longer in that facility and is no longer at risk when the report is received, 
regulatory authorities should be notified that a report was received and no 
protective services investigation will be conducted. The “Notifications” under 
APS tab in ASAPS provides the means of documenting these referrals (See 
ASAPS-Robo Help). The form “Referral for Investigation from Adult Protective 
Services” is available on the VDSS internal website. The “Notifications” under 
APS tab in ASAPS provides the means of documenting the notification/letter 
to the reporter (See ASAPS-Robo Help).  

• If the adult alleged to have been abused, neglected or exploited has been 
permanently relocated and is no longer at risk at the time the report is 
received, the report will be considered invalid, and no investigation will be 
conducted. The “Notifications” under APS tab in ASAPS provides the means 
of documenting the notification/letter to the reporter (See ASAPS-Robo Help).  

• If a facility staff person who is alleged to be the perpetrator of abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation of an adult residing in the facility has been permanently 
terminated as an employee of the facility at the time the report is received, the 
investigation will not be conducted. However, the situation should be reported 
to other entities as appropriate. The “Notifications” under APS tab in ASAPS 
provides the means of documenting these referrals (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 
The form “Referral for Investigation from Adult Protective Services” is 
available on the VDSS internal website. Note: If the facility staff person who 
is alleged to be the perpetrator of abuse, neglect, or exploitation has been 
suspended or reassigned the investigation shall be conducted.  

• If the person alleged to be the perpetrator of abuse, neglect, or exploitation is 
another patient/resident who has been permanently separated from the 
alleged victim, and the separation is such as to assure that no further abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation will occur, no investigation will be conducted. For 
situations alleging resident-to-resident abuse, see Section 2.24.2 of this 
chapter. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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• Refer the reporter to the APS program in the appropriate state if the reporter 
indicates that the alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred in a state 
other than Virginia. Contact information for State APS units is available on the 
National Center for Elder Abuse website. Click the link to “Help Hotline” or 
use the direct link. 

2.9 Documenting the APS Report in ASAPS 

ASAPS is the official system to document the receipt and investigation of valid APS 
Reports. Prior to entering APS report information, the worker should conduct an ASAPS 
external search to determine if the adult is known to ASAPS. 

2.9.1 When there is no service case in ASAPS 

From the My Caseload screen, the worker should select “New Case.” 

2.9.1.1 APS Report screen in ASAPS 

Complete the APS Report Screen (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.9.1.2 Case Info screen in ASAPS 

Complete the Case Info Screen (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.9.2 When there is a closed service case in ASAPS 

“Open closed case” in ASAPS (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.9.2.1 Case Info screen in ASAPS  

The Case Info screen should be updated as needed. Information concerning 
the client’s income and financial resources should be entered if known. “APS 
Investigation” should be selected as the case type if the investigation has not 
been completed (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.9.2.2 APS Report screen in ASAPS 

Under the APS Tab, select “New APS Report”. The Report screen must be 
completed (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.9.3 When there is an open service case in ASAPS 

When the case is already an open service case in ASAPS, access the case.  

http://www.ncea.aoa.gov/ncearoot/Main_Site/index.aspx
http://www.ncea.aoa.gov/NCEAroot/Main_Site/Find_Help/State_Resources.aspx
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2.9.3.1 APS Report screen in ASAPS 

Under the APS Tab, select “New APS Report”. The Report screen must be 
completed (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.9.3.2 Case Info screen in ASAPS 

The case type should not be changed until the investigation is completed. If the 
disposition is “Needs Protective Services and Accepts,” change the case type 
to the appropriate APS case type. 

2.9.4 Invalid reports 

LDSS are encouraged to document invalid reports in ASAPS to improve the 
efficiency of managing invalid reports and to provide accurate credit for the worker’s 
time spent in obtaining the information, evaluating the validity of the report and 
making appropriate referrals. Follow the procedures above, depending on whether 
the report occurred in a New, Closed, or Open case.  

2.10 Time frame for initiating an APS investigation  

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). Upon receipt of the report pursuant to § 63.2-1606, the 
local department shall determine the validity of such report and shall initiate an investigation 
within 24 hours of the time the report is received in the local department.  

To initiate the investigation, the service worker must gather enough information 
concerning the report to determine if an immediate response is needed to ensure the 
safety of the alleged victim. Pertinent information can be obtained from the report, case 
record reviews, and contact with the alleged victim, the reporter, friends, neighbors, and 
service providers. 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). When determining the need for an immediate response, the social 
worker should consider the following factors: 

a. The imminent danger to the adult; 

b. The severity of the alleged abuse, neglect or exploitation; 

c. The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse, neglect or exploitation; and 

d. The physical and mental condition of the adult. 

A face-to-face contact with the alleged victim shall be made as soon as possible but not later 
than five calendar days after the initiation of the investigation unless there are valid reasons 
that the contact could not be made. Those reasons shall be documented in the adult protective 
services assessment narrative.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
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2.11 Hotline reports 

For APS reports received through the APS hotline, the date/time the report was 
received by the LDSS is the timeframe to use to initiate the investigation. 

2.12 Preparing for the investigation 

Conduct an ASAPS search to identify all department records pertaining to the adult. 
Review all appropriate department records including records that are not in ASAPS. 

Review the need to request access to any records, reports, or other information 
maintained by any mandated reporter (§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). 

If the report alleges sexual abuse, criminal abuse and neglect, and/or other criminal 
activity involving abuse, neglect, or exploitation that places the adult in imminent danger 
of death or serious bodily harm, report the matter immediately to the local law-
enforcement agency. The intake worker shall report the situation to law enforcement as 
soon as the intake interview is complete. Consider whether the cooperation of law 
enforcement and/or other state and local departments, agencies, authorities, and 
institutions will be needed as required under § 63.2-1606 K of the Code of Virginia. If 
the need for such cooperation is indicated, initiate contact with the appropriate persons. 

2.12.1 Coordinating with other investigators 

The LDSS has primary responsibility for investigating all reports of suspected adult 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation in all settings except state correctional facilities. This 
responsibility shall not be delegated. However, investigations may be conducted 
cooperatively with such authorities. The APS worker should take the following 
actions for coordinating investigations:  

• Notify the local law-enforcement agency when a report alleges sexual abuse, 
criminal abuse and neglect, and/or other criminal activity involving abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation that places the adult in imminent danger of death or 
serious bodily harm. 

• Refer any appropriate matter and all relevant documentation to the 
appropriate licensing, regulatory, or legal authority for administrative action or 
criminal investigation. (§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). 

• Determine the need to include other investigators as participants in planning 
for how the investigation will be conducted. Joint investigations are 
encouraged in situations where law enforcement, regulatory authorities, or 
other service agencies have a legitimate interest in investigating and 
resolving the issue that is the basis for the report. The form “Referral for 
Investigation from Adult Protective Services” is located on the VDSS internal 
website and shall be used to notify the appropriate agencies. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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• Immediately contact potential co-investigators to notify them of the receipt of 
the report and determine whether a joint investigation will be conducted. 

The APS worker shall proceed with the investigation within 24 hours even if other 
persons who may appropriately be included as participants in the investigation are 
not available to proceed promptly with the investigation. 

The APS worker determines who will be interviewed and in what order. In most 
situations, the APS worker should contact the adult first, as he or she is usually the 
primary source of information. 

The APS worker decides whether to notify the adult and/or any legally appointed 
guardian or conservator before the home visit. While advance notification may be 
desirable, circumstances may warrant unannounced visits. 

2.12.2 Where the investigation extends across city or county lines 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). When an investigation extends across city or county lines, local 
departments in those cities or counties shall assist with the investigation at the request of 
the local department with primary responsibility.  

2.12.3 Conflict of interest 

Some situations may be expected to present a conflict of interest for an LDSS in 
fulfilling its responsibility to investigate and/or provide protective services.  

Examples of such situations include reports of suspected abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation that: 

• Implicate an employee or relative/spouse of an employee of the LDSS; 

• Implicate a member of the local board or relative/spouse of a member of the 
local board; 

• Implicate other local governmental entities; 

• Implicate the LDSS-approved provider of a service (i.e., companion services); 
or 

• Present other situations in which the department or department staff may feel 
compromised or pressured. 

If the LDSS believes there is a conflict of interest, the LDSS should contact a 
neighboring LDSS county or city department of social services for assistance in 
investigating the report and/or delivering protective services. The LDSS requesting 
assistance retains financial responsibility for the purchase of services needed during 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
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the investigation and/or the delivery of services. The LDSS may contact the 
appropriate AS/APS Regional Program Consultant for assistance in assigning 
investigatory and/or service delivery responsibility to another LDSS. 

2.13 Conducting the investigation 

The purpose of the investigation is to determine whether the adult alleged to be abused, 
neglected, or exploited or at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation is in need of 
protective services and, if so, to identify what services are needed to provide the 
protection. 

The need for protective services may be based on the circumstances of abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation identified in the report, or it may be based on the circumstances of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation the APS worker identifies during the investigation, or 
both. 

2.13.1 Authority to initiate and conduct investigations 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). Upon receipt of the report pursuant to § 63.2-
1606, the local department shall determine the validity of such report and shall initiate an 
investigation within 24 hours of the time the report is received in the local department.  

LDSS are given authority by the § 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia to initiate and 
facilitate investigations of suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation. The courts have 
the power to enforce statutory authority.  

The LDSS has the authority and responsibility to:  

• Determine an adult’s need for protective services. 

• Identify the specific services needed.  

• Provide or arrange for the provision of protective services (§ 63.2-1605 of the 
Code of Virginia and 22 VAC 40-740-60). 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). The local department of social services shall conduct a thorough 
investigation of the report.  

The investigation shall include a visit to the adult alleged to be abused, neglected, or 
exploited or at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

If the LDSS is refused access to the alleged victim to conduct the investigation, it is 
incumbent upon the LDSS to attempt to complete the investigation to determine the 
need for protective services, to assess whether the adult “has capacity to consent” to 
receive protective services, and to determine whether the adult requests or agrees 
to receive services. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-60
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
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2.13.2 Consultation with other investigators 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). The investigation shall include consultation with others having 
knowledge of the facts of the particular case.  

Virginia law and regulations authorize that information may be disclosed to persons 
having legitimate interest in the matter in accordance with §§ 63.2-102 and 63.2-104 
and pursuant to official interagency agreements or memoranda of understanding 
between state agencies (§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia and 22 VAC 40-740-
50).  

The Code of Virginia also requires that: 

(§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). All persons required to report suspected adult 
abuse, neglect or exploitation shall cooperate with the investigating adult protective 
services worker of a local department and shall make information, records and reports 
which are relevant to the investigation available to such worker to the extent permitted by 
state and federal law.  

2.13.3 Authority to gain access 

Without permission or court authorization, an APS worker cannot enter or remain in 
the home. If the LDSS is denied access to the adult, the APS worker should advise 
that he or she is required to investigate the report and may need to seek court 
authorization to gain entry to conduct the investigation. The reason for the inability to 
complete the visit should be documented in the APS assessment narrative in 
ASAPS. 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). If a local department is denied access to an adult 
for whom there is reason to suspect the need for adult protective services, then the local 
department may petition the circuit court for an order allowing access or entry or both. 
Upon a showing of good cause supported by an affidavit or testimony in person, the court 
may enter an order permitting such access or entry.  

2.13.4 Required visit and private interview 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). The investigation shall include a visit and private interview with 
the adult alleged to be abused, neglected or exploited.  

A visit with the adult alleged to be the victim of abuse, neglect, or exploitation or 
alleged to be at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation is required. A private interview 
with this individual is essential. In most situations, the adult alleged to be the victim 
should be interviewed at the beginning of the investigation, as he or she is usually a 
primary source of information. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-102
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
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There may be occasions in which the adult requests the presence of another person 
in the interview. A determination must be made on a case-by-case basis as to 
whether the request should be honored or whether the request is the result of 
coercion or intimidation. If the private interview is not conducted, the reason for not 
conducting the interview should be documented in the appropriate fields of the 
investigation screen in ASAPS. 

2.13.5 When the required visit and private interview cannot be completed 

There may be times when the required visit and private interview with the adult may 
need to be discontinued because the individual is uncooperative or violent. The APS 
worker should take any necessary precautions to protect himself or herself. 

In some situations, the adult and/or homeowner may refuse to permit an APS worker 
to enter the home. In other situations, an APS worker may be asked to leave before 
the interview is completed. In either situation, the APS worker must respect the 
homeowner and/or adult’s decision. 

If the adult’s capacity to consent is in question, the investigation should continue 
using other sources of information in order to reach a determination about the adult’s 
capacity to consent. 

2.13.6 Separate interviews with alleged victim and alleged perpetrator 

The alleged perpetrator and the alleged victim should be interviewed separately. 

2.13.7 Taking and using photographs, video or appropriate medical imaging 
of an adult 

(§ 63.2-1605 E of the Code of Virginia). In any case of suspected adult abuse, neglect or 
exploitation, local departments, with the informed consent of the adult or his legal 
representative, shall take or cause to be taken photographs, video recordings, or 
appropriate medical imaging of the adult and his environment as long as such measures 
are relevant to the investigation and do not conflict with § 18.2-386.1. However, if the 
adult is determined to be incapable of making an informed decision and of giving 
informed consent and either has no legal representative or the legal representative is the 
suspected perpetrator of the adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation, consent may be given 
by an agent appointed under an advance medical directive or medical power of attorney, 
or by a person authorized, pursuant to § 54.1-2986. In the event no agent or authorized 
representative is immediately available then consent shall be deemed to be given. 

Written consent is recommended and should be filed in the case record. The form 
“Consent for Photography in APS Investigations” is located on the VDSS internal 
website. APS investigation photography guidelines are available in Appendix N. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-386.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2986
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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2.13.8 The alleged perpetrator 

2.13.8.1 Identity of perpetrators 

Perpetrators of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation may be family members, 
friends, caregivers, service providers, neighbors, or any other person whose 
treatment of an adult conforms to the definition of terms found in Section 2.4. 
However, it is not necessary for the APS worker to know the identity of the 
alleged perpetrator(s) in order to initiate an investigation.  

2.13.8.2 Timing of interview with the alleged perpetrator 

The APS worker should conduct a private interview with the alleged 
perpetrator.  

The interview with the alleged perpetrator should be conducted as late in the 
investigation as possible so that the APS worker has a significant amount of 
information concerning the investigation and has assembled all available 
documentation. An exception should be made if a delay in conducting the 
interview will intensify the risk to the alleged victim named in the report, result in 
a lost opportunity to interview the alleged perpetrator, or could negatively 
impact the interview in other ways. 

2.13.8.3 Setting for the interview with the alleged perpetrator 

The private interview with the alleged perpetrator should occur in the setting 
that offers the best opportunity to elicit the cooperation of the alleged 
perpetrator and information pertinent to the investigation. If the alleged 
perpetrator is alleged to be violent, this should be considered in selecting a 
setting for the interview. Law enforcement should be contacted and requested 
to accompany the APS worker if there is a concern about the APS worker’s 
safety.  

2.13.8.4 Interview with the alleged perpetrator who is a minor 

When the alleged perpetrator is a minor, written permission to interview shall be 
obtained from a parent or a legal guardian before the private interview. Without 
permission, the minor may not be interviewed. The APS worker should 
document the reason for not interviewing the minor and should complete the 
investigation without the interview. 

The APS worker should determine what services may need to be provided to 
the alleged juvenile perpetrator as well as to the responsible parent or guardian 
or should make an appropriate referral for the determination of service needs. 
Such services should be offered and arranged. 
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2.13.8.5 The interview with the alleged perpetrator is not completed 

There may be times when an interview with the alleged perpetrator is not 
practical or is not in the best interest of the alleged victim. There may be times 
when the interview may need to be discontinued (i.e., the APS worker feels his 
or her safety or the safety of the alleged victim is in jeopardy). The APS worker 
must always give priority to the safety of the alleged victim and to his or her 
own safety. 

If the private interview is not completed, the reason for not conducting the 
interview should be documented in the APS assessment narrative in ASAPS.  

2.13.9 Consultation with collaterals 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). The investigation shall include consultation with others having 
knowledge of the facts of the particular case.  

The investigation shall include information gathered from relatives and friends when 
appropriate. Background information about the adult may be significant to determine 
whether the current situation represents a change of behavior or level of functioning. 

When needed to clarify the adult’s medical and/or psychiatric history, the 
investigation should include information gathered from physicians and/or other 
health professionals to whom the adult is known. Contact with other agencies and 
persons may be needed in order to gather additional information for assessing the 
adult’s needs. 

2.13.10 Requirement to release information by mandated reporters 

All persons mandated to report and identified in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia 
shall disclose all information that is the basis for the suspicion of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation of the adult and, upon request, make available to the APS worker 
investigating the report any information, records or reports that document the basis 
for their suspicion of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

The requirement to make pertinent information, records or reports available is 
without regard to who made the protective services report (i.e., any mandated 
reporter shall make pertinent information, records, or reports available to the APS 
worker investigating the report whether he or she or some other person made the 
protective services report). 

2.13.11 Authority to access information and records regarding action taken 
by attorneys-In-fact or other agents  

The APS unit of the LDSS is designated by § 64.2-1614 of the Code of Virginia as 
having an interest in the welfare of persons believed to be unable to attend to their 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1614
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affairs. (See definition of “Person Interested in the Welfare of a Principal” in Section 
2.4 of this chapter.)  

The APS worker who is conducting an APS investigation or providing protective 
services and who needs information and/or records pertaining to actions taken within 
the past five years by the attorney-in-fact, should request the needed information 
and/or records from the attorney-in-fact, citing § 64.2-1612 of the Code of Virginia. If 
so requested, within 30 days the agent shall comply with the request or provide a 
writing or other record substantiating why additional time is needed and shall comply 
with the request within an additional 30 days. 

If the attorney-in-fact fails to comply with the request for information and/or records, 
a petition for discovery of information and records pertaining to actions taken within 
the past five years from the date of request may be filed in circuit court. 

(§ 64.2-1614 of the Code of Virginia). The court, upon the hearing on the petition and 
upon consideration of the interest of the principal and his estate, may dismiss the petition 
or may enter such order or orders respecting discovery as it may deem appropriate, 
including an order that the agent respond to all discovery methods that the petitioner 
might employ in a civil action or suit subject to the Rules of the Supreme Court of 
Virginia. Upon the failure of the agent to make discovery, the court may make and 
enforce further orders respecting discovery that would be proper in a civil action subject 
to such Rules and may award expenses, including reasonable attorney fees, as therein 
provided. Furthermore, upon completion of discovery, the court, if satisfied that prior to 
filing the petition the petitioner had requested the information or records that are the 
subject of ordered discovery pursuant to § 64.2-1612, may, upon finding that the failure 
to comply with the request for information was unreasonable, order the agent to pay the 
petitioner's expenses in obtaining discovery, including reasonable attorney fees.  

2.13.12 Requests to include other individuals in interviews with collaterals 

When the collateral requests the presence of another person in the interview, a 
determination must be made on a case-by-case basis as to whether the request 
appears legitimate and is not the result of coercion or intimidation. If the other 
person is not included in the interview, the collateral may choose not to be 
interviewed. If the request to have another person present appears to be the result 
of coercion or intimidation and the collateral does not agree to be interviewed alone, 
the department may choose not to conduct the interview. The reason for not 
conducting the interview should be documented in the APS assessment narrative in 
ASAPS. 

2.13.13 Collaterals in facilities 

In a facility investigation, the APS worker should inform the collateral and others 
present that it is a violation of § 32.1-138.4 of the Code of Virginia (Nursing Facility), 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1612
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1614
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1612
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-138.4
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§ 63.2-1731 of the Code of Virginia (Assisted Living Facility) and § 32.1-125.4 of the 
Code of Virginia (Hospital) to retaliate or discriminate against any person who in 
good faith provides information to or otherwise cooperates with the department. 

The APS worker may schedule an interview with the collateral at another time and 
location and setting that would promote greater cooperation from the collateral. 

2.13.14 Transferring an investigation to another LDSS 

If the subject of the APS report relocates to another jurisdiction during the 45-day 
investigation period, the investigation has not been concluded, and there is reason 
to suspect that the individual remains at risk, the investigation should be transferred 
to the LDSS where the person is currently residing.  

The LDSS may also complete the investigation and issue a disposition. If the adult 
has relocated or been relocated by the alleged perpetrator and is still at risk for 
abuse, the LDSS shall make an APS report to the LDSS in the jurisdiction where the 
adult is now residing.  

2.14 APS assessment 

(22 VAC 40-740-21). The purpose of the investigation is to determine whether the adult 
alleged to be abused, neglected or exploited or at risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation is in 
need of protective services and, if so, to identify services needed to provide the protection.  

Accurate assessment of all of the adult’s abilities and needs is crucial to making the 
disposition and determining the services needed to alleviate the abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation. 

Assessment is an ongoing process. The assessment is based on the APS worker’s 
observations, interviews with the alleged victim and the alleged perpetrator, and 
information obtained from collateral contacts. 

2.14.1 Components of the assessment 

The two components of the APS assessment are:  

• The APS assessment narrative under “Assessment Hide/Show” (found on the 
Investigation screen under the APS Tab in ASAPS). 

• The assessment of the adult’s circumstances presented in sub-headed titles 
under “Assessment Hide/Show.” 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1731
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-125.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-21
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2.14.1.1 The APS assessment narrative 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). An Assessment narrative shall be required for all protective 
services investigations and shall be titled Adult Protective Services Assessment 
Narrative. 

There are text boxes in the “Assessment Hide/Show” narrative to address the 
following:  

(22 VAC 40-740-40). 1. The allegations in the report or circumstances discovered 
during the investigation meet definitions of abuse, neglect or exploitation. 

2. The extent to which the adult is physically, emotionally, and mentally capable of 
making and carrying out decisions concerning his health and well-being. 

3. Risk of serious harm to the adult. 

4. Need for an immediate response by the adult protective services worker upon 
receipt of a valid report. 

5. The ability to conduct a private interview with the alleged victim, alleged 
perpetrator (if known) and any collateral contacts having knowledge of the case  

6. If appropriate, the inability to complete the investigation within the 
required time frames and the plan to complete the investigation. 

7. Evidence that supports the disposition. The basis for the disposition shall 
be documented under “Investigative Findings” in the Investigation section 
under the APS Tab in ASAPS (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

The APS assessment narrative may include confidential APS information and 
any additional information specific to APS.  

2.14.1.2 The assessment of the adult’s circumstances presented in 
sub-headed titles 

The following areas must be assessed for each alleged victim as part of the 
APS investigation: Environment, Functional Ability, Physical Health, Mental 
Health/Psychosocial, Support System, and Income and Resources. In the 
“Assessment Hide/Show,” there are check-off assessment factors and text 
boxes for each assessment area.  

The information within each sub-headed assessment area should document the 
major facts used by the APS worker to substantiate the APS worker’s 
disposition and be summarized in the “Investigative Findings” section. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
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The following areas must be assessed in the sub-headed title sections in the 
“Assessment Hide/Show” on the Investigation screen in ASAPS: 

2.14.1.2.1 Environment  

Assess the daily living environment to make a judgment whether this 
contributes to the adult’s endangerment. This should include consideration 
as to whether: 

• The dwelling is structurally sound. 

• The adult is mobile to the extent that he or she can exit the building. 

• The living quarters are adequately heated or cooled. 

• Toilet facilities are available and in working condition. 

• There is refrigeration and other adequate storage for food. 

• There is ready availability of a telephone to summon help. 

• There is no animal, rodent, or insect infestation. 

• Utilities are working.  

• There are no other endangering housing deficiencies.  

The assessment of the physical environment should include identification of 
type and feasibility of needed improvements or changes to the adult’s 
environment, and whether the adult is isolated in his or her environment. 

2.14.1.2.2 Functional ability 

There is a direct relationship between an adult’s risk of being abused, 
neglected, or exploited and his or her dependence on others for 
performance of activities of daily living (ADLs). An assessment of the adult’s 
ability to manage these daily living activities is one consideration in 
assessing his or her need for protective services. The individual’s ability to 
handle tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and eating 
should be evaluated. 

Other activities to be considered are the instrumental activities of daily living 
(IADLs) that include the ability to use the telephone, shop for essential 
supplies, prepare food, perform housekeeping and laundry tasks, travel 
independently, assume responsibility for medication, and manage his or her 
own finances. 
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Physical examination and other reports from physicians and other health 
care professionals should be requested when needed to facilitate a 
determination of the adult’s functional abilities and need for protective 
services. 

2.14.1.2.3 Physical health 

The assessment of the adult’s physical health may be based on reports of 
illness, disabilities, and symptoms by the individual or by friends, relatives, 
or other contacts, or by the APS worker’s observation of apparent medical 
problems. Additional areas to consider when assessing physical health 
include: 

• The adult’s current medical condition, including any diagnosis or 
prognosis available, and any services being used. 

• Symptoms observed by the APS worker or reported by the adult or 
other observers that may not have been diagnosed or treated. 

• The number and types of medication(s) the adult is currently taking 
(prescription and non-prescription) and whether medication is being 
prescribed by multiple physicians. 

• Diet and eating habits (nutrition and hydration). 

• The adult’s need for assistive devices (eyeglasses, hearing aids, 
dentures, and mobility aids to compensate for physical impairments, 
etc.). 

2.14.1.2.4 Mental/psychosocial health 

While an APS worker’s assessment of an adult’s psychological functioning 
cannot take the place of a formal clinical evaluation, it can suggest that a 
psychiatric condition is present and is contributing to the adult’s 
endangerment. This assessment can provide the APS worker with reason 
for recommending a more complete assessment by mental health 
professionals. Additional areas to consider when assessing psychosocial 
status include: 

• The adult’s general appearance is appropriate and consistent with 
age, social, and economic status. This includes, but is not limited to, 
an evaluation of appropriateness of dress and personal hygiene. 

• The adult’s perceived emotional or behavioral problem(s). 
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• Adult’s orientation to person, place and time as well as memory and 
judgment capacity. 

• Any manifestations of emotional or behavioral problems (e.g., 
insomnia, nightmares, crying spells, depression, agitation, unusual 
fears, thoughts, perceptions, delusions, hallucinations, etc.). 

• Any major life changes/crises in the past year (e.g., death of a 
significant person, loss of income, a move, an illness, divorce, 
institutional placement, etc.). 

• Ability to follow simple instructions, ability to manage financial affairs, 
appropriate responses to questions. 

• Self-endangering behavior of the adult (e.g., suicidal behavior, 
refusal of medical treatment, gross self-neglect, wandering, 
aggressive acts against which others may retaliate, etc.). 

• The APS worker’s evaluation regarding the adult’s ability to make 
responsible, rational, and informed decisions as well as the ability to 
understand the probable consequences of his or her decisions. 

Guidelines for determining capacity to consent 

Mental illness, intellectual disability, physical illness, dementia, disability, 
alcoholism, substance abuse, and other conditions may be reasons why an 
adult is unable to make, communicate, or carry out responsible decisions 
concerning his or her well-being. 

A review of the following abilities will help the APS worker differentiate 
between those who are and those who are not able to make, communicate, 
or carry out responsible decisions concerning his or her well-being. 

o Ability to communicate a choice 

Assess the adult’s ability to make and communicate a choice from the 
realistic choices available. Assess the adult’s ability to maintain the choice 
made until it can be implemented.  

o Ability to understand relevant information 

Assess the adult’s ability to understand information that is relevant to the 
choice that is to be made (i.e., without treatment gangrene will likely cause 
death). 

o Ability to compare risks and benefits of available options 
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Assess the adult’s ability to compare risks and benefits of available options. 
This requires weighing risks and benefits of a single option and weighing 
more than one option at the same time. Can the adult give a logical 
explanation for the decision he or she reached in terms of its risks and 
benefits? 

o Ability to comprehend and appreciate the situation 

Assess the adult’s ability to comprehend and appreciate the situation. An 
adult may be able to understand relevant information (i.e., without treatment 
gangrene will likely cause death) and yet be unable to appreciate his or her 
own situation (i.e., believes his or her own gangrenous foot will not cause 
his or her death or disregards medical opinion and denies that the foot is 
gangrenous). An adult who comprehends and appreciates the situation will 
acknowledge illness when it is shown to be present and acknowledge the 
risks and benefits of available treatment options for himself or herself. 

2.14.1.2.5 Support system 

To assess the adult’s support system, the APS worker must first identify 
those family, friends, neighbors, religious and other voluntary groups, and 
any formal supports that comprise the adult’s social network. To assess the 
support of these persons or groups, it may be helpful to answer the 
following questions: 

• Does the adult have family, friends, neighbors, and organizations 
available to assist him or her? 

• Are these persons and organizations able to provide effective and 
reliable assistance? 

• What is the frequency and quality of assistance available to the adult 
from informal and formal support systems? 

2.14.1.2.6 Income and resources 

Assess the adult’s knowledge of his income and resources and his ability to 
manage his financial affairs. Dementia, disorientation, and short-term 
memory loss leaves an individual vulnerable to financial exploitation by 
others or can lead to self-neglecting circumstances such as utility cut-offs or 
the inability to purchase needed medication. If the adult is unable to discuss 
his income and financial management ability, the APS worker should 
contact family members, supportive friends, substitute decision makers or 
financial institutions who have knowledge of an individual’s income and 
resources. Obtaining this information will not only address the issue of 
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exploitation but also be useful for service planning and assistance with 
benefit program eligibility determinations.  

2.15 Decision making, disposition, and application 

2.15.1 Decision making 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). After investigating the report, the adult protective services worker 
must review and evaluate the facts collected and make a disposition as to whether the 
adult is in need of protective services and, if so, what services are needed.  

2.15.2 Eligible adults 

The need for protective services may be based on the adult’s age, impaired health, 
or disability. 

(§ 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia). "Adult" means any person 60 years of age or 
older, or any person 18 years of age or older who is incapacitated and who resides in the 
Commonwealth; provided, however, "adult" may include qualifying nonresidents who 
are temporarily in the Commonwealth and who are in need of temporary or emergency 
protective services. 
  
“Incapacitated person” means any adult who is impaired by reason of mental illness, 
intellectual disability, physical illness or disability, advanced age or other causes to the 
extent that the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make, communicate or 
carry out responsible decisions concerning his or her well-being. 

Adults 60 years of age or older are eligible for protective services without other 
qualifying conditions. An adult may be considered incapacitated in one facet of his or 
her life but able to function adequately in other areas.  

2.15.3 Dispositions 

2.15.3.1 Time frame for making dispositions 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). The investigation shall be completed and a disposition 
assigned by the local department within 45 days of the date the report was received. 
If the investigation is not completed within 45 days, the record shall document 
reasons.  

The investigation shall be completed no later than 45 days from the date the 
report was received. Any delay in completing the investigation within the 45-day 
period shall be documented in the APS “Assessment Hide/Show” narrative in 
ASAPS. The narrative should specify a plan for completing the investigation. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
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Evidence supporting the disposition shall be documented in the APS 
Assessment Narrative in ASAPS at the time the disposition is made.  

Based on the investigative findings, the APS worker can reach one of five 
dispositions. 

2.15.3.2 “Needs protective services and accepts” 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). This disposition shall be used when: 

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of evidence that adult abuse, 
neglect, an/or exploitation has occurred or is occurring; 

b. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of evidence that the adult is at risk 
of abuse, neglect or exploitation and needs protective services in order to reduce 
that risk; 

c. The adult consents to receive services pursuant to § 63.2-1610 of the code of 
Virginia; or 

d. Involuntary services are ordered by the court pursuant to § 63.2-1609 or Article 1 
(§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Chapter 20 of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

The disposition that the adult needs protective services is based on a 
preponderance of evidence that abuse, neglect, or exploitation has occurred, is 
occurring, or that the individual is at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation and 
needs protective services in order to reduce the risk. 

A finding that an adult is in need of protective services is based on the 
substantiation of information reported or it is based on circumstances 
discovered during the investigation, or both. 

When the adult has the capacity to consent to receive services 

(§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia). The local department shall provide or 
arrange for protective services if the adult requests or affirmatively consents to 
receive these services. 

If the adult needs protective services and agrees to accept services, a service 
application will be completed. The case type should be changed to Adult 
Protective Services. A service plan will be developed and service delivery 
initiated. 

If the adult needs protective services and refuses to accept specific services(s) 
offered (i.e., nursing facility placement), but will accept other protective services 
(i.e., home-based services), a service application will be completed, a service 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
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plan will be developed, and service delivery initiated. The appropriate 
disposition is “needs protective services and accepts.” 

When the adult’s capacity to consent to receive services is questionable 

When the adult’s capacity to consent to receive services is questionable, an 
evaluation must be made to determine if the adult has sufficient understanding 
and/or capability to make, communicate, or carry out responsible decisions 
concerning his or her well-being. 

If the adult needs protective services and lacks the capacity to consent, the 
services may be ordered by the circuit court on an involuntary basis (see 
Section 2.20.3). 

When services are ordered by the circuit court, the appropriate disposition is 
“needs protective services and accepts.” The case type should be changed to 
Adult Protective Services. A department-initiated application shall be 
completed, a service plan developed, and service delivery initiated. 

2.15.3.3 “Needs protective services and refuses” 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). This disposition shall be used when: 

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of evidence that adult abuse, neglect 
or exploitation has occurred or is occurring or the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect 
and exploitation; and  

b. The adult refuses or withdraws consent to accept protective services pursuant to § 
63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia.  

(§63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia). If the adult withdraws or refuses consent, the 
services shall not be provided. 

If an adult needs protective services and has capacity to make decisions for 
himself or herself, he or she may accept or refuse the services needed. If the 
capable adult refuses to accept all of the services offered, the case will be 
closed or appropriate referrals made.  

2.15.3.4 “Need for protective services no longer exists” 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). This disposition shall be used when: 

A review of the facts shows a preponderance of evidence that adult abuse, neglect 
or exploitation has occurred. However, at the time the investigation is initiated, or 
during the course of the investigation, the adult who is the subject of the report 
ceased to be at risk of further abuse, neglect or exploitation.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
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If there is a preponderance of evidence that abuse, neglect or exploitation has 
occurred and one of the following scenarios occurs at the time the investigation 
is initiated or during the course of the investigation, then the disposition shall be 
“need no longer exists:”  

• The adult resides in a facility and the perpetrator of the abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation has been permanently terminated as an employee of the 
facility, thereby removing the risk to the adult; or  

• The adult permanently relocated and, thus, is not expected to return to 
the setting where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred, thereby 
removing the risk to the adult, or  

• The perpetrator of abuse, neglect, or exploitation is another 
patient/resident who has been permanently separated from the adult so 
that future contact between the two is not possible, thereby removing the 
risk to the adult, or 

• The subject of the report died during the course of the investigation., or  

• For reasons other than an intervention by the APS worker, the risk of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation has been removed. 

The case shall be reported to the local law enforcement agency and the 
medical examiner when there is a suspicion that the adult’s death was the 
result of abuse or neglect  

Investigations, in which the disposition is need no longer exists, shall be closed.  

2.15.3.5 “Unfounded” 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). This disposition shall be used when: 

A review of the facts does not show a preponderance of evidence that abuse, 
neglect or exploitation occurred or that the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect or 
exploitation.  

If the APS worker is unable to complete the investigation, the disposition should 
be unfounded. An investigation may not be able to be completed if the subject 
of the APS report cannot be located. 

If there is no preponderance of evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, the 
disposition should be unfounded. 

If the disposition is unfounded, protective services are not offered. Adult 
services may be offered if the adult is eligible for services and agrees to the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
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service delivery. For a new case, appropriate adult services may be offered or 
the case should be closed. 

If the investigation occurred in an ongoing case (e.g. AS-Intensive), and the 
disposition was unfounded, the case will remain open to the appropriate 
service(s). 

The APS worker shall notify regulatory or licensing authorities if the 
investigation indicated a situation (e.g. maintenance issues in a facility) that 
should be addressed by these entities. 

2.15.3.6  “Invalid” 

If, after an investigation has been initiated, the report is found not to meet the 
criteria of a valid report, the APS worker should select “Invalid” in the 
disposition drop-down box in ASAPS. The worker shall not change the answer 
to the question “Report Valid” on the report screen to “no.” 

Upon determining that the adult needs protective services, the need for protective 
services no longer exists, the report is unfounded or determined to be invalid, the 
APS worker documents the finding on the Investigation screen in ASAPS (See 
ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.15.4 APS report form 

After completing the Report and Investigation screens in ASAPS, the APS report 
form can be printed if needed.  

2.16 Notification/time frames 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). Notice of the completion of the investigation must be made in writing 
and shall be mailed to the reporter within 10 working days of the completion of the 
investigation.  

If the person making the report is a mandated reporter, the notice of the completed 
investigation shall be in writing and shall be mailed within ten working days of the 
completion of the investigation. The Notification screen in ASAPS is used to document 
these required letters. The notice should inform the reporter that his or her report has 
been investigated and that necessary action has been taken. 

If the person making the report is a voluntary reporter, the notice of the completed 
investigation shall be in writing and shall be mailed within ten working days of the 
completion of the investigation. The APS worker should inform the reporter that his or 
her report has been investigated and that necessary action has been taken. Oral 
notification may be given if the voluntary reporter did not wish to provide an address and 
should be documented on the Notification screen in ASAPS. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
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2.16.1 Notification of the adult or his or her legal guardian and/or 
conservator or responsible person 

The adult who is the subject of the investigation or his or her legally appointed 
guardian and/or conservator or responsible person should be informed of the 
findings of the investigation. This notification may be either oral or written and should 
be documented in the case narrative within ten working days of the completion of the 
investigation. 

If, in the APS worker’s judgment, informing the adult or his or her legal guardian 
and/or conservator or responsible person would not be appropriate, the reason(s) 
should be documented in the APS assessment narrative in ASAPS. 

2.16.2 Referrals to law enforcement, medical examiners, Commonwealth 
Attorneys, and the Adult Fatality Review Team 

If the APS report or the investigative findings indicate that sexual abuse, criminal 
abuse and neglect, and/or other criminal activity involving abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation that places the adult in imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm 
has occurred, as those terms are defined in the criminal section § 18.2-369 of the 
Code of Virginia, the APS worker shall report the case immediately to local law 
enforcement.  

If the APS report or the investigative findings indicate there is a suspicious death 
that may have been the result of abuse or neglect, the APS worker shall report the 
case immediately to the appropriate medical examiner (see Appendix G for medical 
examiner contact information). The Commonwealth’s attorney may also be notified. 

The Adult Fatality Review Team shall be notified of a suspicious death of any 
incapacitated adult age 18 or older or any adult age 60 or older who was the subject 
of an APS investigation, whose death was due to abuse or neglect or acts that 
suggested abuse or neglect or whose death is under the jurisdiction of the Office of 
the Chief Medical Examiner. 

The LDSS meets the requirement to notify the Adult Fatality Review Team of a 
qualifying death when the APS worker provides case information on the adult’s 
death to the Adult Services Regional Program Consultant. The information shall be 
sent by email and shall include “Adult Fatality” in the subject line and the ASAPS 
case ID in the body of the email.   

2.16.3 Agencies or programs with a legitimate interest  

Agencies or programs identified in Section 2.38.1 have a legitimate interest in the 
disposition of the report.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
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2.17 Opening a case to Adult Protective Services 

(22 VAC 40-740-60). Once a disposition of the report and an assessment of the adult’s need 
and strengths have been made, the department shall assess the adult’s service needs. A case 
shall be opened for adult protective services when: 

a. The disposition is that the adult needs protective services; and 

b. The service needs are identified; and 

c. The adult agrees to accept protective services or protective services are ordered by the 
court.  

A service application shall be completed when services are to be delivered beyond the 
investigation.  

(22 VAC 40-740-31). The application process is designed to assure the prompt provision of 
needed adult protective services including services to adults who are not able to complete and 
sign a service application.  

The following persons may complete and sign a service application for adult protective 
services on behalf of an adult in need of services: 

(22 VAC 40-740-31). 1. The adult who will receive the services or the adult’s legally 
appointed guardian or conservator;  

2. Someone authorized by the adult; or 

3. The local department.  

The APS worker may complete and sign the service application when the adult is 
believed to be incapacitated, in cases of an emergency, or when the individual verbally 
accepts services but does not sign the application. The case record should document 
reason(s) for the LDSS-initiated service application at the bottom of the service 
application or within the case narrative. 

2.18 Service planning and service delivery  

2.18.1 The service plan 

(22 VAC 40-740-60). A service plan which is based on the investigative findings and the 
assessment of the adult’s need for protective services shall be developed. The service 
plan is the basis for the activities that the worker, the adult, and other persons will 
undertake to provide the services necessary to protect the adult.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-60
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-31
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-31
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-60
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2.18.2 Assessment 

Upon determining that protective services will be provided, the APS worker shall 
complete a full Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI).The UAI in ASAPS is 
used to meet this requirement (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

2.18.3 Service plan requirements 

The development of the service plan involves reaching agreement with the adult and 
with formal and informal community resources regarding a specific, time-limited plan 
for addressing his or her needs and for utilizing available resources in order to 
eliminate or mitigate the risk to the adult of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. The plan 
should include initial linkages with community supports and ongoing contacts to 
assess service delivery and make appropriate modifications to the plan. 

Services may also be provided to the perpetrator, as appropriate, in order to stop the 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation and protect the adult (i.e., respite care may be 
appropriate to a family caregiver whose abusive behavior is related to the stress of 
unrelieved caregiving). 

• Each open case shall have a service plan that addresses the protective 
service needs of the adult. The Services Plan shall be completed within 60 
days of the date that the adult agrees to accept services. The Service Plan in 
ASAPS shall be used (See ASAPS-Robo Help). 

• The details in the service plan will vary according to the individual’s situation 
and will be based on the investigative findings, the assessment, and the 
adult’s preferences. 

2.18.4 Participation of the adult 

When the service plan is being developed, the APS worker should discuss all 
possible resources and services with the adult. When the individual who is the 
subject of the service plan has capacity, his or her participation in the development 
of his or her service plan is essential. The adult needs to be presented with options, 
informed about those options, and then decide which services to accept. 

(22 VAC 40-740-40). The adult protective services program shall respect the rights of 
adults with capacity to consider options offered by the program and refuse services, even 
if those decisions do not appear to reasonably be in the best interests of the adult.  

2.18.5 Participation of the adult’s representative 

When working with an incapacitated adult, the APS worker shall adhere to the 
following: 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-40
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• When the adult has a legally appointed guardian or conservator, that person 
must be respected as a spokesperson for the adult. 

• When the adult has an informal representative (usually a family member), this 
person should participate in the development of the service plan. The adult 
should also participate to the fullest extent possible.  

• When the adult’s representative is incapable or unwilling to assure the adult’s 
protection, the LDSS needs to take action to insure the needed protection. 
When appropriate, the service plan can be used to develop a variety of 
activities and services from the least to the most restrictive level. 

2.18.6 Incapacitated adult with no representative 

When the adult appears to be incapacitated but does not have either a legal or an 
informal representative or the representative is the alleged perpetrator of the abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation, the APS worker may need to complete a service plan 
without the participation of the adult or his or her representative. In this situation, a 
service plan objective will be to secure appropriate representation for the adult (see 
Section 2.20). 

2.18.7 Review of available resources 

The APS worker should identify the services needed to protect the adult. 

It is necessary for the APS worker to be aware of resources that are available to 
alleviate the situation that is causing the adult to be abused, neglected, or exploited 
or at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

The APS worker should consider the extent to which the adult is able to participate 
in implementing the service plan. Responsible relatives or other appropriate persons 
may be available to help facilitate resolution of the problem. In some cases, family 
and/or friends will be able to meet some of the individual’s needs and the LDSS may 
be needed only to provide guidance and support. 

The APS worker needs to identify other professionals necessary to facilitate 
resolution of the problem. The APS worker should make full use of the knowledge 
and expertise of other professionals in determining the adult’s ability or lack of ability 
to care for himself or herself or his or her affairs in planning for the adult and in 
service delivery. Physicians, psychiatrists, public health and mental health 
professionals, domestic violence professionals, and professionals in the field of 
aging should be appropriately involved. 
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2.18.8 Community-based services 

If the adult is found to be in need of protective services, the first consideration shall 
be to provide the needed services in the individual’s own home or place of 
residence. Any one or a combination of services (e.g., medical care, counseling, 
homemaker/chore/companion services, day services, nutrition services, 
transportation, financial management, financial assistance for which the adult may 
be eligible, informal supportive services, home repair, protective orders, or referral to 
other community services etc.) should be considered as methods of protection in 
one’s own home. 

2.18.9 Alternative living arrangements 

Some adults may be unable to remain in their own homes even with a variety of 
services. An appropriate out-of-home setting should be considered in these 
circumstances. 

2.18.9.1 When the adult consents to an alternative living arrangement 

When alternative living arrangement such as a nursing facility, an assisted 
living facility, an adult foster care home, or some other out-of-home setting is 
indicated, it is important for the APS worker to have the consent of the adult, 
the adult’s guardian, or a substitute decision-maker designated by the adult. 
Without the adult’s consent or consent by one of the substitute decision 
makers, changing an adult's residence will require legal action. 

2.18.9.2 Voluntary admission to a state facility 

 (§ 37.2-805 of the Code of Virginia). Any state facility shall admit any person 
requesting admission who has been: 

(i) Screened by the community services board or behavioral health authority that 
serves the city or county where the person resides or, if impractical, where the 
person is located,  

(ii) Examined by a physician on the staff of the state facility; and 
  
(iii) Deemed by both the board or authority and the state facility physician to be in 
need of treatment, training, or habilitation in a state facility.  

 

2.18.9.3 Placement when the adult lacks capacity to consent 

Section 2.20 addresses the provision of protective services when the adult 
lacks the capacity to consent. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-805
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2.18.10 Protective services ordered by the court 

If an adult needs protective services and lacks the capacity to consent to receive the 
services, the court may order these services through: 

• An emergency order for adult protective services (§ 63.2-1609 of the Code of 
Virginia); 

• A judicial authorization of treatment and detention of certain persons (§ 37.2-
1101 of the Code of Virginia); 

• The appointment of a guardian or conservator in accordance with § 64.2-2000 
of the Code of Virginia; 

• Medical treatment for certain persons incapable of giving informed consent (§ 
54.1-2970 of the Code of Virginia); or 

• Emergency custody (§ 37.2-808 of the Code of Virginia) and involuntary 
temporary detention (§ 37.2-809 of the Code of Virginia). 

2.18.11 Purchased services 

Services may be purchased for the adult during an investigation as well as during 
the service delivery phase when the need for the service(s) has been documented. 
In providing protective services to adults, purchased service components may be 
provided, within limits approved by the local board, without regard to income, in 
order to stabilize the situation of the individual and provide the needed protection. 

Purchased services that are often identified for APS include home-based services, 
adult day services, home-delivered or congregate meals, emergency shelter, 
transportation, other emergency needs, and any other services to stabilize the 
situation and/or prevent institutionalization. Purchased services for APS cases are 
funded through Budget Line 895. 

2.18.12 The least restrictive level of intervention 

The least restrictive intervention is the most appropriate. The adult has the right to 
make decisions about himself or herself and his or her affairs unless he or she has 
voluntarily given that right to another person or the court has assigned that right to 
another person. 

2.18.13 Components of the service plan 

All APS service plans shall include the following components:  

• Goal(s). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-1101
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-1101
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2970
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-808
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-809
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• Unmet need(s). 

• Objectives(s). 

• Task(s) (e.g., services to be provided, service-related activities, resources to 
be used). 

• Target dates for meeting objectives. 

• Evaluation of services once tasks are completed.  

Goals and objectives are developed after the situation has been assessed and a 
determination made regarding the protective services needed and the adult’s 
preferences. 

2.18.13.1 Goals 

The following are goals for APS: 

• To stop the abuse, neglect, or exploitation by providing the protection the 
adult requires with the least restriction of his or her liberty; 

• To assist the adult in remaining in his or her own home as long as 
possible and as long as this is the most appropriate plan of care; 

• To restore or retain independent functioning to the greatest extent 
possible; and/or 

• To assist in arranging out-of-home placement when that is appropriate 
and it is the choice of the adult or guardian or the court orders it.  

2.18.13.2 Unmet needs 

An unmet need is an identified need that is not being met in a way that assures 
the safety and well-being of the adult. Unmet needs appear in Section 5 
(Assessment Summary) of the UAI. They are identified after the completion of 
the assessment and should correspond to the unmet needs identified in the 
service plan. Unmet needs are listed in ASAPS as follows.  
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2.18.13.3 Objectives 

• Objectives should reflect the desired outcome of service delivery. 
Objectives and services selected should be relevant to the goal. 

• Each objective shall state clearly WHAT will be achieved in order to 
accomplish the goals(s).  

• Objectives should be: 

o Identified to eliminate or diminish identified need(s). 

o Supportive of the goal(s) selected. 

o Stated in terms of measurable results to be achieved or desired 
outcome(s). 

o As behaviorally specific as possible.  

o Updated as the adult’s situation changes. 

 Example of an objective: To assist client in obtaining medical 
care to manage health issues. 

2.18.13.4 Tasks 

Tasks describe the actual provision of services, identifying HOW to achieve 
each objective WHO will be involved in accomplishing each objective, WHERE 
services will be provided, and WHEN services will be provided. Tasks shall be 
specific and measureable. All services types shall be selected from the drop 
down menu in ASAPS. 
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Note: Expenditures of APS 895 funds on behalf of an individual should be 
documented in this section of the service plan. For example, “Worker received 
approval to use $200 of APS funds for emergency utility payment on behalf the 
adult.”  

• Example of a service: Transportation 

• Example task: Worker will assist adult in securing transportation to 
medical appointments. 

If a provider is providing the service, the provider, the number of hours per 
week the service will be provided and the rate of pay shall be identified on the 
service plan. 

2.18.13.5 Start and target dates 

The service plan shall include dates for services to start and target dates for 
achievement of objectives. These dates should be realistic, and should not 
exceed the annual redetermination date on the Case Info Screen in ASAPS.  

2.18.13.6 Date resolved 

The date resolved will indicate when the objective is met and closes out the 
service in the service plan. If the objective is not achieved by the target date, 
the reasons should be documented in the “Evaluation of Services” section on 
the Service Plan in ASAPS. 

2.18.13.7 Evaluation of services 

The evaluation of services will provide a brief description of the status of the 
task at its conclusion, and whether or not objectives were accomplished in a 
timely manner. When all services have been completed and evaluated, the 
service plan is closed.  
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2.18.13.8 Service plan: An example 

 

 

2.19 Implementaton of the service plan  

Implementation is the delivery of the services needed to provide adequate protection to 
the adult. The services may be delivered directly, through purchase of service, through 
casework services and case management by the APS worker, through informal support, 
or through referral. The continuous monitoring of the adult’s progress towards reaching 
the service plan goals and revising the objectives and tasks in response to that progress 
is a part of the implementation phase. 

Once the investigation has been completed and a service plan has been developed, the 
APS worker has the responsibility to: 
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• Make contact with the adult to clarify any issues around service delivery (what 
services, provided by whom, for how long, etc.). 

• Initiate delivery of those services identified in the service plan. 

• Monitor the progress made toward meeting the objectives and time frames set 
forth in the service plan and reassess and revise the service plan as appropriate.  

• Make a face-to-face, home visit, office visit, or phone to/from contact with the 
adult, the legal representative, or the designated primary caregiver at least 
monthly and more frequently as needed to monitor progress and assure 
protection of the adult. See Chapter 3, Case Management Section 3.16.1 for 
additional information on legal representatives and designated primary 
caregivers. The APS worker should verify by observation or personal interview 
that the adult is receiving the planned services. If the monthly contact with the 
adult does not occur, the reason(s) should be documented in the case narrative. 

2.20 Judicial proceedings 

Protective services may be provided without the consent of the adult when the adult 
lacks capacity to consent and the court orders the provision of the services needed to 
protect the adult. 

It is the shared responsibility of the LDSS and the circuit court to protect incapacitated 
adults from abuse, neglect, or exploitation. A cooperative working arrangement between 
the LDSS and the court is essential to provide effective adult protective services. 
Procedures will vary across localities. 

The filing of petitions is the practice of law and must be performed by the LDSS 
attorney. APS workers may offer background information and other facts and provide 
other assistance, as requested, by the LDSS attorney. 

2.20.1 Access to provide protective services 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). If a local department is denied access to an adult 
for whom there is reason to suspect the need for adult protective services, then the local 
department may petition the circuit court for an order allowing access or entry or both. 
Upon a showing of good cause supported by an affidavit or testimony in person, the court 
may enter an order permitting such access or entry.  

2.20.2 Order to enjoin interference 

(§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia). No person shall interfere with the provision of 
adult protective services to an (i) adult who requests or consents to receive such services, 
or (ii) for whom consent has been lawfully given. In the event that interference occurs on 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
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a continuing basis, the director may petition the court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin 
such interference.  

Obtaining an order to enjoin interference is appropriate when the APS worker has 
made every effort to alleviate the fear or hostility of the person who interferes with 
the provision of protective services.  

2.20.3 Emergency order for Adult Protective Services (§ 63.2-1609 of the 
Code of Virginia) 

(§ 63.2-1608 of the Code of Virginia). If an adult lacks the capacity to consent to receive 
adult protective services, these services may be ordered by a court on an involuntary 
basis through an emergency order pursuant to § 63.2-1609 or by a guardian or 
conservator appointed pursuant to Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 64.2.  

If the adult is in need of protective services, an emergency exists, and the adult is 
incapacitated and lacks the capacity to consent to receive adult protective services, 
a petition should be filed through the LDSS attorney for a hearing to obtain the 
earliest possible court date requesting court authorization to provide protective 
services on an emergency basis. 

An emergency order can be granted for 15 days and may be extended for an 
additional five days. 

See Appendix C, Appendix D, and Appendix E for examples of orders. 

The following are procedures for when an emergency order is requested: 

• Petition shall include: 

o The name, address, and interest of the petitioner. 

o The name, age, and address of the adult in need of protective services. 

o The nature of the emergency. 

o If the 24-hour notice will seriously jeopardize the adult’s welfare, clearly 
explain in the petition why the notice should be waived. 

o The nature of the adult’s incapacity. 

o Evidence of the adult’s incapacity and lack of capacity to consent. 

o Facts showing attempts to obtain the adult’s consent and the outcomes 
of attempts. 

o The specific authority requested and rationale for the request.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC64020000020000000000000
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o The proposed adult protective services. 

o If the adult who is subject of the emergency order is indigent, the 
department should request that the costs of the proceeding be borne by 
the Commonwealth (see Section 2.21.1.2). 

 An APS worker or other person appointed as temporary guardian 
should immediately request a copy of the court order and 
certification to document authority to carry out the order. 

 If the 15 days allotted is inadequate, the APS worker should petition 
the court for a renewal as soon as it is realized that additional time 
is needed. 

 If an ongoing guardian will be needed, the APS worker needs to 
locate a suitable person to be appointed. 

 Upon completion of emergency services, the APS worker files a 
report with the court to inform the court about:  

- Services provided during the emergency guardianship 
period. 

- The status of the adult.  

- Any plan for ongoing protection of the adult. 

2.20.4 Judicial authorization of treatment and detention of certain persons  

If the protective service needed is a specific treatment or course of treatment for a 
mental or physical condition, the LDSS or any person may file a petition with the 
circuit court, a district court, or special justice or with a judge requesting 
authorization of the specific treatment or course of treatment. Before authorizing 
treatment pursuant to this section, the court shall find: 

(§ 37.2-1101 of the Code of Virginia). 1. That there is no legally authorized person 
available to give consent;  

2. That the person who is the subject of the petition is incapable of making an informed 
decision regarding a specific treatment or course of treatment or is physically or mentally 
incapable of communicating such a decision; 

3. That the person who is the subject of the petition is unlikely to become capable of 
making an informed decision or of communicating an informed decision within the time 
required for decision; and 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-1101


Virginia Department of Social Services  October 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Protective Services 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   2 Adult Protective Services    

4. That the proposed course of treatment is in the best interest of the person. However, 
the court shall not authorize a proposed course of treatment that is proven by a 
preponderance of the evidence to be contrary to the person's religious beliefs or basic 
values, unless the treatment is necessary to prevent death or a serious irreversible 
condition. The court shall take into consideration the right of the person to rely on 
nonmedical, remedial treatment in the practice of religion in lieu of medical treatment.  

2.20.5 Filing petition for appointment of a guardian and/or conservator (§ 
64.2-2001 of the Code Virginia) 

Any person may file a petition for the appointment of a guardian or conservator with 
the circuit court of the county or city in which the adult resides or is located or in 
which the adult resided immediately prior to becoming a patient in a hospital or 
admission to in a nursing facility, state mental health facility, assisted living facility or 
any other similar institution. If the petition is for the appointment of a conservator for 
a nonresident with property in the state, the petition may be filed in the city or county 
in which the adult’s property is located. (See Chapter 7, Guardianship and 
Conservatorship for procedures for petitioning for a guardian and/or conservator.) 

2.20.6 Appointment of a guardian 

If the adult has become incapacitated to the extent that he or she lacks the capacity 
to meet essential requirements for his or her health, care, safety or therapeutic 
needs without the assistance or protection of a guardian, the LDSS may petition the 
circuit court to appoint a guardian. 

2.20.7 Appointment of a conservator 

The LDSS may petition the circuit court to appoint a conservator if an adult has 
become incapacitated to the extent that he or she lacks the capacity to:  

• Manage property or financial affairs;  

• Provide for his or her support; or 

• Provide for the support of legal dependents without the assistance or 
protection of a conservator. 

2.20.8 Procedure in absence of an advance directive (§ 54.1-2986 of the 
Code of Virginia) 

In the absence of an Advanced Directive, a number of individuals in a specific order 
of priority are authorized to make decisions concerning the health care of an 
incapacitated adult. Health care is defined as: 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2001
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2986
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(§ 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia). "Health care" means the furnishing of services to 
any individual for the purpose of preventing, alleviating, curing, or healing human illness, 
injury or physical disability, including but not limited to, medications; surgery; blood 
transfusions; chemotherapy; radiation therapy; admission to a hospital, nursing home, 
assisted living facility, or other health care facility; psychiatric or other mental health 
treatment; and life-prolonging procedures and palliative care.  

The attending physician of an adult patient must certify in writing upon personal 
examination of the patient that the patient is incapable of making an informed 
decision regarding health care and has obtained written certification from a capacity 
reviewer that, based upon a personal examination of the patient, the patient is 
incapable of making an informed decision. However, certification by a capacity 
reviewer shall not be required if the patient is unconscious or experiencing a 
profound impairment of consciousness due to trauma, stroke, or other acute 
physiological condition. When the determination has been made that the adult is 
incapable of making an informed decision about providing, withholding, or 
withdrawing a specific health care treatment or course of treatment because of 
mental illness, intellectual disability, or any other mental disorder or a physical 
disorder that precludes communication or impairs judgment, and if the adult patient 
has not made an advance directive, the attending physician may provide, withhold, 
or withdraw from the adult patient any health care or treatment upon the 
authorization of any of the following persons, in the specified order of priority: 

• A guardian for the patient. (This shall not be construed to require the 
appointment of a guardian in order that a treatment decision can be made.); 

• The patient’s spouse except where a divorce action has been filed and the 
divorce is not final; 

• An adult child of the patient; 

• A parent of the patient; 

• An adult brother or sister of the patient; or 

• Any other relative of the patient in the descending order of blood relationship, 
except in cases in which the proposed treatment recommendation involves 
the withholding or withdrawing of a life-prolonging procedure, any adult, 
except any director, employee, or agent of a health care provider currently 
involved in the care of the patient, who (i) has exhibited special care and 
concern for the patient and (ii) is familiar with the patient's religious beliefs 
and basic values and any preferences previously expressed by the patient 
regarding health care, to the extent that they are known. A quorum of a 
patient care consulting committee as defined in § 54.1-2982 of the facility 
where the patient is receiving health care or, if such patient care consulting 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2982
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2982
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committee does not exist or if a quorum of such patient care consulting 
committee is not reasonably available, two physicians who (a) are not 
currently involved in the care of the patient, (b) are not employed by the 
facility where the patient is receiving health care, and (c) do not practice 
medicine in the same professional business entity as the attending physician 
shall determine whether a person meets these criteria and shall document the 
information relied upon in making such determination.  

The capacity reviewer providing written certification that a patient is incapable of 
making an informed decision, if required, shall not be otherwise currently involved in 
the treatment of the person assessed, unless an independent capacity reviewer is 
not reasonably available. 

(§ 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia). "Capacity reviewer" means a licensed physician or 
clinical psychologist who is qualified by training or experience to assess whether a 
person is capable or incapable of making an informed decision.  
 
 (§ 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia). "Incapable of making an informed decision" 
means the inability of an adult patient, because of mental illness, intellectual disability, or 
any other mental or physical disorder that precludes communication or impairs judgment, 
to make an informed decision about providing, continuing, withholding or withdrawing a 
specific health care treatment or course of treatment because he is unable to understand 
the nature, extent or probable consequences of the proposed health care decision, or to 
make a rational evaluation of the risks and benefits of alternatives to that decision. For 
purposes of this article, persons who are deaf, dysphasic or have other communication 
disorders, who are otherwise mentally competent and able to communicate by means 
other than speech, shall not be considered incapable of making an informed decision. 

2.20.9 Admission of incapacitated persons to a mental health facility 
pursuant to advance directives or by guardians  

Absent a prohibition in an Advanced Directive or with the authority granted in the 
court order appointing a guardian; the agent, guardian or public guardian may admit 
an adult to a mental health facility if the following conditions are met: 

(§ 37.2-805.1 of the Code of Virginia). Prior to admission, a physician on the staff of or 
designated by the proposed admitting facility examines the person and states, in writing, 
that the person  

(a) Has a mental illness,  

(b) Is incapable of making an informed decision, as defined in § 54.1-2982 regarding 
admission, and  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2982
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2982
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-805.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2982
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(c) Is in need of treatment in a facility;  

(ii) The proposed admitting facility is willing to admit the person; and  
In addition, for admission to a state facility, the person shall first be screened by the 
community services board that serves the city or county where the person resides or, if 
impractical, where the person is located.  

2.20.9.1 Additional requirements 

Admission by an advanced directive agent 

(§ 37.2-805.1 of the Code of Virginia). The person has executed an advance 
directive in accordance with the health care decisions Act (§ 54.1-2981 et seq.) 
authorizing his agent to consent to his admission to a facility and, if the person 
protests the admission, he has included in his advance directive specific 
authorization for his agent to make health care decisions even in the event of his 
protest as provided in § 54.1-2986.2. 

Admission by a guardian  

(§ 37.2-805.1 of the Code of Virginia). The guardianship order specifically 
authorizes the guardian to consent to the admission of such person to a facility, 
pursuant to § 64.2-2009.  

(§ 37.2-805.1 of the Code of Virginia). A person admitted to a facility pursuant to 
this section shall be discharged no later than 10 calendar days after admission 
unless, within that time, the person's continued admission is authorized under other 
provisions of law.  

2.20.10 Involuntary admission  

(§ 37.2-801 of the Code of Virginia). Any person alleged to have a mental illness to a 
degree that warrants treatment in a facility may be admitted to a facility by compliance 
with one of the following admission procedures: 

1. Voluntary admission by the procedure described in § 37.2-805, or 

2. Involuntary admission by the procedure described in §§ 37.2-809 through 37.2-820.  

When hospitalization in a mental health facility or a facility providing intellectual 
disability services is needed, the APS worker should consult with the local 
community services board for procedures in that locality. 

Criteria for commitment include: 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-805.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2981
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2986.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-805.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2009
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-805.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-801
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-805
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-809
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-820
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(§ 37.2-815 of the Code of Virginia). (i) The person has a mental illness and there is a 
substantial likelihood that, as a result of mental illness, the person will, in the near future; 
 
(a) Cause serious physical harm to himself or other as evidenced by recent behavior 
causing, attempting, or threatening harm and other relevant information, if any, or 

(b) Suffers serious harm due to his lack of capacity to protect himself from harm or to 
provide for his basic human needs, and 

(ii) Requires involuntary inpatient treatment.  

2.20.11 Mental health Emergency Custody and involuntary Temporary 
Detention Orders  

A magistrate may issue an order for emergency custody of an individual upon the 
sworn petition of any person when he has probable cause to believe that the 
individual meets the criteria for involuntary commitment.  

(§ 37.2-808 of the Code of Virginia). When considering whether there is probable cause 
to issue an emergency custody order, the magistrate may, in addition to the petition, 
consider (1) the recommendations of any treating or examining physician or psychologist 
licensed in Virginia, if available, (2) any past actions of the person, (3) any past mental 
health treatment of the person, (4) any relevant hearsay evidence, (5) any medical records 
available, (6) any affidavits submitted, if the witness is unavailable and it so states in the 
affidavit, and (7) any other information available that the magistrate considers relevant to 
the determination of whether probable cause exists to issue an emergency custody order. 

The Emergency Custody Order (ECO) will require that the adult be taken into 
custody and transported to a convenient location to assess the need for 
hospitalization or treatment. The evaluation will be conducted by a person 
designated by the community services board or behavioral health authority who is 
skilled in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness. The period of custody may 
not exceed four hours unless the magistrate grants an extension for up to two hours. 
If, after examination of all available evidence, the magistrate concludes that the adult 
is mentally ill and in need of hospitalization, the magistrate may issue a Temporary 
Detention Order (TDO) that may include transportation to a medical facility for 
emergency medical evaluation and/or treatment. 

A magistrate may issue a TDO without an emergency custody order proceeding. A 
magistrate may also issue a TDO without a prior in-person evaluation if: 

(§ 37.2-809 of the Code of Virginia). (i) The person has been personally examined within 
the previous 72 hours by an employee or designee of the local community services board 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-815
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-808
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-809
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or (ii) There is a significant physical, psychological, or medical risk to the person or to 
others associated with conducting such evaluation.  

2.20.12 Preliminary protective order in cases of family abuse  

(§ 16.1-253.1 of the Code of Virginia). Upon the filing of a petition alleging that the 
petitioner is or has been, within a reasonable period of time, subjected to family abuse, 
the court may issue a preliminary protective order against an allegedly abusing person in 
order to protect the health and safety of the petitioner or any family or household member 
of the petitioner.  

If the adult eligible for adult protective services is a victim of family abuse, the 
preliminary protective order may be used to provide temporary protection. Abuse is 
considered family abuse when an act of violence is committed by the abuser against 
the abuser’s family member including:  

• Spouse or former spouse, whether or not the spouse or former spouse 
resides in the same house with the abuser. 

• Parents, stepparents, children, stepchildren, brothers, sisters, half-brothers, 
half-sisters, grandparents, and grandchildren, regardless of whether such 
persons reside in the same home with the abuser. 

• Mother-in-law, father-in-law, sons-in-law, daughters-in-law, brothers-in-law 
and sisters-in-law who reside in the same home with the abuser. 

• Any individual who has a child in common with the abuser whether or not the 
individual and the abuser have been married or lived together at any time. 

• Any individual who cohabits or who, within the previous 12 months, cohabited 
with the abuser, and any children of either of them then residing in the same 
home with the abuser. 

2.20.13 Emergency protective orders authorized in certain cases  

When a law enforcement officer or an allegedly abused person asserts under oath 
and a judge or magistrate finds reasonable grounds to believe that a person has 
committed assault and battery against a family or household member and there is 
probable danger of a further offense against a family or household member by the 
person, the judge or magistrate may issue a written or verbal emergency protective 
order: 

• prohibiting acts of family abuse or criminal offenses that result in injury to 
persons or property; 

• prohibiting contact between the parties; and  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.1
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• granting the family or household member possession of the premises 
occupied by the parties, and exclude from the premises the offending party. 
(§ 16.1-253.4 of the Code of Virginia) 

2.20.14 Arrest without a warrant in cases of assault and battery against a 
family or household member  

Law-enforcement officers shall make an arrest without a warrant in cases in which 
family or household members are abused and when there is probable cause that 
assault and battery has occurred (§ 19.2-81.3 of the Code of Virginia). 

2.20.15 Criminal abuse and neglect of incapacitated adults 

(§ 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia). It shall be unlawful for any responsible person to 
abuse or neglect any incapacitated adult as defined in this section. Any responsible 
person who abuses or neglects an incapacitated adult in violation of this section and the 
abuse or neglect does not result in serious bodily injury or disease to the incapacitated 
adult shall be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. Any responsible person who is convicted 
of a second or subsequent offense under this subsection shall be guilty of a class 6 felony. 

Any responsible person who abuses or neglects an incapacitated adult in violation of this 
section and the abuse or neglect results in serious bodily injury or disease to the 
incapacitated adult shall be guilty of a class 4 felony. Any responsible person who abused 
or neglects an incapacitated adult in violation of this section and the abuse or neglect 
results in the death of the incapacitated adult is guilty of a class 3 felony.  

Abuse and neglect of an incapacitated adult can be prosecuted as a criminal offense 
when the abuse or neglect is perpetrated by a “responsible person” as defined in 
Section 2.4. 

Abuse and neglect meeting definitions under § 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia 
should be referred to the Commonwealth’s Attorney for possible prosecution. 

2.21 Reimbursement for legal services 

Legal representation for advice to and representation of the local department on an 
adult-specific basis for cases before the court related to adult protective services may 
be reimbursed from administration funds or Budget Line 895 (APS Purchase of 
Services) as long as the adult is eligible for adult protective services. 

When an LDSS is the petitioner and the subject of the proceedings is indigent, all fees 
and court costs will be waived by the court. Section 17.1-266 of the Code of Virginia 
prohibits payment to clerks, sheriffs, or other officers from the state treasury for services 
rendered in Commonwealth cases, except when it is allowed by statute. LDSS, as 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-81.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+17.1-266
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recipients of state funds, are considered Commonwealth agencies and are included in 
this provision. 

2.21.1 Payment for emergency order proceedings 

2.21.1.1 When cost is borne by the subject of the petition 

(§ 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia). If the adult is not indigent, the court may 
order that the cost of the proceeding shall be borne by such adult. 

2.21.1.2 When cost is borne by the Commonwealth 

(§ 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia). If the adult is indigent, the cost of the 
proceeding shall be borne by the Commonwealth.  

2.21.2 Payment for guardianship proceedings 

2.21.2.1 When cost is borne by the petitioner 

The petitioner is responsible for payment of the filing fee and costs. The court 
may waive service fees and court costs if it is alleged under oath that the estate 
of the adult is unavailable or insufficient. 

(§ 64.2-2008 of the Code of Virginia). If a guardian or conservator is appointed and 
the estate of the incapacitated person is available and sufficient therefore, the court 
shall order that the petitioner be reimbursed from the estate for all costs and fees.  

2.21.2.2 When cost is borne by the Commonwealth 

(§ 64.2-2008 of the Code of Virginia). If the adult subject of the petition is 
determined to be indigent, any fees and costs of the proceeding that are fixed by the 
court or taxed as costs shall be borne by the Commonwealth.  

2.21.3 Payment for guardians ad litem and other attorney fees 

2.21.3.1 When cost is borne by the petitioner 

(§ 64.2-2003 of the Code of Virginia). The guardian ad litem shall be paid a fee that 
is fixed by the court to be paid by the petitioner or taxed as costs, as the court 
directs.  

 
(§ 64.2-2006 of the Code of Virginia). Counsel appointed by the court shall be paid 
a fee that is fixed by the court to be taxed as part of the costs of the proceeding.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2008
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2008
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2003
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2006
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2.21.3.2 When cost is borne by the Commonwealth 

(§ 64.2-2008 of the Code of Virginia). In any proceeding filed pursuant to this 
article, if the adult subject of the petition is determined to be indigent, any fees and 
costs of the proceeding which are fixed by the court or taxed as costs shall be borne 
by the Commonwealth.  

2.21.3.3 Payment for guardianship proceeding for Medicaid referrals 

When an LDSS petitions for the appointment of a guardian for an adult who 
was referred by an eligibility worker for the purpose of determining whether the 
adult needs a guardian appointed to apply or re-apply for Medicaid on his or her 
behalf, the cost of petitioning, which cannot be waived by the court, is 
reimbursable through a fund established at the VDSS for this purpose.  

The funds are available only for those cases referred by an eligibility worker 
(via the Eligibility Worker Referral form) and in which the appointment of a 
guardian is necessary for making and signing a Medicaid application. The form 
Response to Medicaid Referral is used to request reimbursement for the costs 
of these guardianship proceedings and is located on the VDSS internal 
website.  

See Chapter 3, Case Management, Appendix C for additional information on 
Cost Code 21704, Guardianship Petitions.  

2.21.4 Payment for psychological and physical examination 

The cost of psychological and physical examinations may be paid from 
administrative funds when they are not available under Title XVIII (Medicare), Title 
XIX (Medicaid), or other sources. 

The cost of an evaluation for an adult who has been referred to APS by an eligibility 
worker to determine whether the adult needs a guardian appointed in order to apply 
for Medicaid on his or her behalf may also be reimbursed using the form Response 
to Medicaid Referral located on the VDSS internal website.  

2.21.5 Reimbursement for cost of providing protective services  

Sections 63.2-1608 and 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia permit the court to 
authorize reasonable reimbursement to the LDSS for the cost of providing protective 
services, excluding administrative costs. 

Reimbursement to the LDSS would be authorized by the court from the adult’s 
assets after a finding that the adult is financially able to make such payment. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2008
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
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2.21.5.1 Involuntary adult protective services 

(§ 63.2-1608 of the Code of Virginia). The adult shall not be required to pay for 
involuntary adult protective services, unless such payment is authorized by the 
court upon a showing that the person is financially able to pay. In such event the 
court shall provide for reimbursement of the actual costs incurred by the local 
department in providing adult protective services, excluding administrative costs.  

2.21.5.2 Voluntary adult protective services 

(§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia). The actual costs incurred by the local 
department in providing adult protective services shall be borne by the local 
department, unless the adult or his representative agrees to pay for them or a court 
orders the local department to receive reasonable reimbursement for the adult 
protective services, excluding administrative costs, from the adult's assets after a 
finding that the adult is financially able to make such payment.  

2.22 Evaluation/reassessment 

2.22.1 Evaluation 

The evaluation shall address the effectiveness of the service plan in eliminating or 
mitigating the abuse, neglect, or exploitation or risks of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation. The evaluation should indicate which objectives have been met. Unmet 
needs should be identified and reasons such needs remain unmet should be 
addressed. A brief summary of the effectiveness of the service plan should be 
documented in the “Evaluation of Services” section in the Service Plan in ASAPS. If 
additional space is needed the service worker should enter the information in the 
ASAPS Narrative and identify the type of contact as a “Case Action.” 

2.22.2 Reassessment 

A reassessment of the adult’s situation and evaluation of the effectiveness of 
services provided shall be conducted as frequently as indicated by changes in the 
adult’s situation but not less frequently than every 12 months. 

The UAI must be updated to reflect the findings from reassessments. The UAI in 
ASAPS should be updated by following the instructions in the ASAPS-Robo Help for 
placing a copy of the UAI in “History” and revising the current UAI.  

The case should be continued for adult protective services, transferred, or closed 
based on the updated UAI and the evaluation. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
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2.22.2.1 Continue Adult Protective Services 

The adult protective services case should be continued and the service plan 
updated to address current needs when: 

• The adult is being abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation.  

• Unmet needs are identified in the reassessment and documented on the 
UAI. 

2.22.2.2 Transfer to Adult Services 

The adult protective services case should be transferred to adult services and 
the case type changed to reflect the current status of the case when: 

• The adult is no longer being abused, neglected, or exploited and is not at 
risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

• The adult continues to need services but service needs are no longer 
protective in nature. 

2.22.3 Closing the case 

The adult protective services case should be closed when: 

• The goals and objectives outlined in the service plan have been attained and 
the adult is no longer at risk and has no other service needs; 

• The adult decides to terminate services and the LDSS determines that the 
individual has the capacity to consent and court action is not warranted; 

• The adult moves out of the department’s jurisdiction. If the adult continues to 
need protective services, a referral should be made to and case information 
shared with the locality to which the individual relocates; or 

• The adult dies. 

2.22.3.1 Procedure for closure 

When a decision is made to close an adult protective services case, the APS 
worker shall: 

• Send a written notice of action to the adult and/or his or her legally 
appointed guardian and/or conservator and other service providers who 
may be participating in the service plan. 
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• Document in the case narrative the reasons for not notifying, if 
notification is not appropriate. (Refer to Chapter 3, Case Management 
for additional information on closing a case.) 

• Close case in ASAPS. 

• Initiate referrals, if appropriate, to other services within the department, 
to other LDSS, or to community resources. 

2.23 Investigations in long-term care facilities, acute-care facilities, 
and other group care facilities 

For the purposes of this section, long-term care facilities, acute care facilities, and other 
group care facilities include, but are not limited to: 

• Acute-care hospitals. 

• Nursing facilities. 

• Assisted living facilities. 

• State hospitals. 

• Private psychiatric facilities. 

• Group homes.  

• Facilities that provide programs for adults for some part of the day (e.g., adult 
day services, senior centers, day treatment centers, sheltered workshops, and 
school systems). 

Reports of suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of adults perpetrated by employees 
of agencies providing home-based care to adults (e.g., hospices, home care 
organizations) shall be investigated according to procedures outlined in Section 2.5 to 
Section 2.23. 

All reports of suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of adults in facilities are 
investigated without consideration of the relationship of the alleged perpetrator to the 
adult, i.e., the alleged perpetrator may be facility staff or faculty, persons visiting the 
facility, another individual residing at the facility, or any other person. 
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2.24 Accepting facility reports 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). The local department shall refer any appropriate 
matter and all relevant documentation to the appropriate licensing, regulatory, or legal 
authority for administrative action or criminal investigation.  

Upon receipt of a valid report involving a facility, the APS worker should immediately 
contact the appropriate licensing or regulatory agency to report the receipt of the 
information and coordinate an investigation if appropriate. Sexual abuse, criminal abuse 
and neglect, or other criminal activity involving abuse, neglect, or exploitation that 
places the adult in imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm shall be 
immediately reported to local law enforcement and the APS worker should coordinate 
the investigation with law enforcement.  

2.24.1 Person-specific reports 

If the APS worker determines that the report is valid, the APS worker shall assess 
the appropriateness of a joint investigation and determine who should participate in 
the joint investigation. Individual investigations shall be conducted on each individual 
on whom a valid report is received.  

If the information received alleges that a specific group(s) of individuals residing in 
the facility or the entire population of the facility is abused, neglected, or exploited or 
is at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, the LDSS shall decide on the 
appropriateness of APS investigations on a case-by-case basis. The case-by-case 
decision will be based on the probability of mental or physical damage or injury to 
individuals residing the facility.  

2.24.2 Resident-to-resident reports 

When a report is received that both the alleged perpetrator and alleged victim of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation reside in the facility, the report is considered valid if it 
meets validity criteria set forth in this chapter and one or more of the following 
situations are alleged: 

• One or more individuals received injuries that required medical attention from 
a physician or a nurse; or 

• Sexual abuse of one resident by another; or 

• One resident profited financially at the expense of another resident; or 

• Abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a resident at the hands of another resident 
is on-going; or 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
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• Facility staff has not taken action to stop and/or address the abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation of the individual. 

2.24.3 When the perpetrator resident continues to reside in the facility 

When an investigation of a report of resident to resident abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation finds that one of the residents needs protection from the second 
resident, the service plan shall address how the resident in need of protection will be 
protected. 

2.24.4 Incident reports 

A facility incident report that is made available to APS should be accepted as a 
report of suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation, and, if it meets the validity 
criteria, an investigation should be initiated. 

2.24.5 Injuries of unknown origin 

When an individual residing in the facility sustains an injury and the cause of the 
injury is unknown, and there is reason to suspect that the injury is the result of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation, an APS report shall be taken and investigated. 
Reports of repeated injuries of unknown origin involving the same individual shall be 
taken and investigated. 

2.24.6 Sexual abuse and sexual assault in long-term care facilities, acute-
care facilities, and other group care facilities 

When one adult does not consent to sexual activity, or when one or more adults 
involved in the sexual activity lack the capacity to consent, and sexual abuse and/or 
sexual assault is alleged, an APS investigation shall be initiated. The APS worker 
shall immediately contact local law enforcement to report the allegation of sexual 
abuse and coordinate the investigation. If the law enforcement agency does not 
investigate, the APS worker shall initiate the investigation within required 
timeframes. 

2.24.7 Abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a resident who is away from the 
facility 

If there is a report of suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation about an individual 
who resides in a facility, while that individual is away from the facility (e.g., during a 
home visit), procedures in Section 2.7.2 shall be followed to determine which LDSS 
has responsibility for the investigation. 

The LDSS with responsibility for the investigation will notify the facility’s 
administrator of the report and will enlist the cooperation of the facility, where 
appropriate, in completing the investigation. 
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If the alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred outside of the jurisdiction in 
which the facility is located, and if contact with the facility is essential to the 
investigation, the LDSS responsible for the investigation may request assistance 
from the LDSS in the jurisdiction in which the facility is located. 

2.25 Facility reports that do not meet validity criteria  

In some instances a report involving facility does not meet criteria for a valid APS report. 
For example, at the time the report was received, the subject of the report has been 
permanently relocated or the facility staff person who is alleged to be the perpetrator 
has been permanently discharged or terminated from the facility. However, the 
circumstances reported are within the purview of licensing or regulatory agencies. 

If APS worker determines that the report is not valid and does not meet criteria for an 
APS investigation but is within the purview of licensing or regulatory agencies, the APS 
worker shall refer the person making the report to the appropriate regulatory authority 
(see Appendix G for contact information). The APS worker should also promptly forward 
a written summary of the reported incident(s) to the appropriate regulatory authority. 
The written summary should state the reason an APS investigation will not be 
conducted. The form “Referral for Investigation from Adult Protective Services” may be 
used to provide the written statement and a copy filed in the individual’s case record (if 
available).  

The invalid report may be entered into ASAPS following the procedures for ASAPS 
depending on whether the case is open, closed or a new APS case. The notification can 
be documented on the Notification screen. If the only case action is to document the 
invalid report, the case will be “Closed” on the Case Info Screen once the notification is 
mailed. 

2.25.1 Reports that address the general conditions of a facility 

Reports/complaints addressing the general conditions of a facility (i.e., food choices, 
building maintenance issues, etc.) that are not specific to a resident(s) are not 
appropriate for an APS investigation. Upon determining that the report is of a 
general nature, the LDSS shall refer the person making the report to the appropriate 
regulatory or licensing authority (see Appendix G for contact information). The APS 
worker should also promptly forward a written summary of the reported incident(s) to 
the appropriate regulatory authority. The written summary should state the reason 
an APS investigation will not be conducted. The form “Referral for Investigation from 
Adult Protective Services” may be used to provide the written statement. 

2.26 Responsibility of the APS worker in facilty investigations 

Valid reports alleging that individuals residing in long-term care facilities, acute care 
facilities, and other group care facilities are abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall be investigated by the LDSS. With the exception of 
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state correctional facilities, LDSS have the same responsibility for investigating, 
determining the need for protective services, and providing and/or arranging the needed 
services for all individuals residing in long-term care and acute care facilities and other 
group care facilities as they have for adults in other living arrangements. The 
responsibility to investigate shall not be delegated to other investigatory authorities. 
However, joint investigations, when appropriate, are encouraged. 

2.27 Coordination with investigators with related responsibilities 

The receipt, investigation, disposition, and provision of protective services in response 
to reports of suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation is closely aligned with the 
authority and responsibilities of state organizations with regulatory functions and 
statutory authority to provide services to a targeted population.  

In an investigation in a facility for which there is not a state regulatory authority, such as 
in schools, the APS worker may ask the facility administrator or school superintendent 
to designate a staff person to assist in the investigation. 

• When a valid APS report is received on an individual residing in a long-term care 
or acute care facility or other group care facility, the APS worker shall determine 
whether it is appropriate to ask other agencies or programs with regulatory or 
licensing responsibility for investigations to participate in a joint investigation. In 
all cases, the APS worker shall notify the appropriate agencies or programs that 
a report has been received concerning an individual residing in a regulated 
facility. 

• It is appropriate to give other agencies and programs an opportunity to 
participate in a joint investigation when such agency or program has regulatory 
authority that is compatible with the LDSS’s responsibility to provide protective 
services to incapacitated and/or older adults. 

• If staff from other agencies or programs are not available to participate in a joint 
investigation within the timeframe that APS shall initiate the investigation, the 
APS investigation shall not be delayed. 

2.28 Investigators with regulatory or statutory authority 

For current contact information, including telephone numbers and addresses of 
investigators with regulatory or licensing authority, see Appendix G. See Section 2.38.1 
regarding additional information about referrals to regulatory or licensing authorities.  

2.28.1 The Department of Social Services, Division of Licensing Programs 

The licensing authority is located in the area serving each LDSS. The Division of 
Licensing Programs (DOLP) has regulatory authority for assisted living facilities and 
adult day care centers. The Licensing Programs staff should be given the 
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opportunity to participate when the suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation is 
alleged to have occurred in a licensed assisted living facility or a licensed adult day 
care facility. 

2.28.2 The Department of Health, Office of Licensure and Certification 

The Office of Licensure and Certification (OLC), is a division of the Virginia 
Department of Health. This office has regulatory authority for nursing facilities, acute 
care hospitals, hospices, and home health care organizations. OLC staff is not 
generally available for joint investigations. However, OLC shall be informed when an 
APS report has been received on an adult in an OLC licensed facility and that the 
report will be investigated. 

2.28.3 The Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 
(DBHDS) 

The DBHDS Office of Licensure has licensure authority for any non-state operated 
hospital, facility, institution or outpatient program that provides care or treatment for 
adults with mental illness, intellectual disability, or substance abuse problems. When 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation is alleged to have occurred in a facility or 
program licensed by this office, the Office of Licensure should be given the 
opportunity to participate.  

The Office of Human Rights is located in Richmond with Human Rights Advocates 
located in communities and in each state facility. The advocate acts as the 
representative of individuals who are receiving services and whose rights are 
alleged to have been violated. The advocate also investigates conditions or 
practices that may interfere with the free exercise of an individual’s rights. When 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation is alleged to have occurred in a state-
operated facility or program, the Office of Human Rights should be given the 
opportunity to participate. Human Rights Advocates are available throughout the 
state and can be reached through the state hospitals and other state programs. 

2.28.4 The Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 

The Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman is located within the Virginia 
Association of Area Agencies on Aging. In addition to the State Ombudsman, sub-
state programs are located in some, but not all, area agencies on aging throughout 
the state. The long-term care ombudsman serves as an advocate for older adults 
who receive long-term care services and works to resolve complaints made by or on 
behalf of those older adults. When suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation is 
alleged to have occurred in a licensed nursing facility or licensed assisted living 
facility, the long-term care ombudsman should be provided the opportunity to 
participate.  
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2.28.5 The Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy  

The Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy (VOPA) is an independent state 
agency. VOPA is authorized to receive and investigate complaints regarding any 
activity, practice, policy, or procedure in institutional or community settings that 
adversely affects the health, safety, welfare, civil or human rights of any person with 
mental, cognitive, sensory, or physical disabilities. Individuals who have problems 
that are targeted in its program goals may also receive advocacy services and/or 
legal representation by VOPA. VOPA has the option of working in collaboration APS 
or, if the circumstances warrant, may investigate alone. VOPA should be informed 
when the report of suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation specifies an adult in an 
institutional setting who has mental, cognitive, sensory, or physical disabilities.  

2.28.6 The Department of Health Professions 

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) receives and investigates complaints 
made against regulated health care professionals (e.g., nursing facility and ALF 
administrators, physicians, nurses, nurse aides, medication aides, and pharmacists). 
When a report alleges abuse, neglect, or exploitation by a regulated health care 
professional, DHP should be notified and informed that the report will be 
investigated.  

2.28.7 Office of the Attorney General, Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 

The Medicaid Fraud Control Unit (MFCU) is located in Richmond. The unit conducts 
investigations statewide of alleged fraud by Medicaid providers and allegations of 
abuse and neglect of elderly and incapacitated adults in the care of providers who 
are receiving payment through the Medicaid program. The MFCU conducts criminal 
investigations of abuse and neglect of elderly and incapacitated adults in either 
home or institutional settings even if victims have died or been transferred to other 
facilities or home. Joint investigations with APS are acceptable. Referrals are not 
mandatory but encouraged.  

2.28.8 Local law enforcement 

The LDSS shall immediately notify local law enforcement where the adult resides, or 
where the alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation took place, or if these places are 
unknown, then where the alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered, 
when in receipt of a report describing any of the following:  

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). 1. Sexual abuse as defined in § 18.2-67.10;  

2. Death, serious bodily injury or disease as defined in § 18.2-369 that is believed to be 
the result of abuse or neglect; or  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
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3. Any other criminal activity involving abuse or neglect that places the adult in 
imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm.  

2.29 Information sharing 

See Chapter 6 for general information on confidentiality which also applies to APS 
cases. Section 2.37 also applies to APS cases and should be used in conjunction with 
Chapter 6. 

2.29.1 Sharing information when coordinating a joint investigation 

When a joint investigation is appropriate, team members should review their 
respective needs for information and determine whether these needs coincide and 
can be met with joint interviews or with information sharing. 

The following information relative to the report being investigated may be shared 
with other members of the investigatory team for the purpose of coordinating a joint 
investigation:  

• Name, address, age, race, and gender of the adult who is the subject of the 
report. 

• Name, address, age, race, and gender of the person who is alleged to have 
perpetrated the abuse, neglect, or exploitation, if this person’s identity is 
known. 

• Description of suspected incident(s) of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

• Description of any alleged medical (physical and/or mental/cognitive) 
conditions of the adult who is the subject of the report.  

If requested to do so, the LDSS may share the APS report with the investigative 
team. However, any information that identifies the reporter shall be redacted unless 
the reporter has authorized disclosure of his identity.  

It is appropriate to share the Referral for Investigation from APS form with the 
investigative team. 

2.29.2 Disclosure of the identity of the reporter 

(22 VAC 40-740-50). The identity of the person who reported the suspected abuse, 
neglect or exploitation shall be held confidential unless the reporter authorizes the 
disclosure of his identity or disclosure is ordered by the court.  

The identity of the person who reported the suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation 
may be disclosed if the reporter authorizes the disclosure of his or her identity or 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
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disclosure is ordered by the court. If the report is in regard to an individual residing in 
a long-term care facility, an acute care facility, or other group care facility, the worker 
taking the report should ask the reporter for oral or written consent to release his or 
her name to a representative from the appropriate regulatory authority so direct 
contact with the reporter can be made by the representative. Oral consent shall be 
documented on the Report screen in ASAPS. Written consent will be maintained in 
the client’s record. If the reporter does not agree to release his or her identifying 
information, the APS worker shall not release it unless ordered by the court. 

2.29.3 Information sharing when a joint investigation is not planned 

When agencies with legitimate interest in confidential information, as specified in 
Section 2.38.1, are not participants in a joint investigation, the information specified 
in Section 2.38.3 shall be shared as needed. 

2.29.4 Assurances that information will be held confidential 

The APS worker shall obtain assurances according to Section 2.38.4 and Section 
2.38.5 that the persons or agencies identified in Section 2.38.1 and Section 2.38.2 
who receive confidential information will protect the information. State-level 
agreements pursuant to Section 2.38.5 are in effect with:  

• Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS). 

• Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS). 

• Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired (DBVI).  

• Department of Health (VDH). 

• Department of Health Professions (DHP). 

• DSS Division of Licensing Programs (DOLP). 

• Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS). 

When sharing confidential information with representatives of these programs, 
additional assurances are not necessary. 

2.29.5 Confidential information collected by the investigatory team 

Information collected by the investigatory team should be considered as information 
that belongs to the team and treated as confidential by all members of the team. 
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2.29.6 Confidential information not collected by the investigatory team 

Information that is maintained in APS records and not included in information 
collected by the investigatory team shall be shared according to guidance outlined in 
Section 2.38. 

2.30 Preparing for the facility investigation 

The APS worker and other members of an investigatory team should review the 
available information thoroughly to familiarize themselves with the allegations and 
supporting facts. 

2.30.1 Availability of records 

Any person who is required to report suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation to the 
LDSS is also required to make available to the APS worker any records and/or 
reports that document the basis for the report. Mandated reporters are required to 
make pertinent records and reports available without regard to who reported the 
alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

Section 164.512 of the Code of Federal Regulations for the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) authorizes covered entities to 
disclose health information that “is required by law and disclosure complies with and 
is limited to the relevant requirements of the law.” This includes sharing information 
with APS for the purposes of an APS investigation. 

All providers of medical services are also authorized to disclose records of a patient 
to APS under § 32.1-127.1:03 D.6 of the Code of Virginia (Health Records Privacy). 

2.30.2 Sources of information available within a facility 

The following sources of information may be useful in documenting the alleged 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an adult residing in a facility: 

• Admission records. 

• Emergency Room (ER) records. 

• Dietary records. 

• Medical records. 

• Nurses’ notes. 

• Therapy records. 

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=d33ae217ec602d175406fb6af2b1d4b2&rgn=div8&view=text&node=45:1.0.1.3.79.5.27.8&idno=45
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-127.1C03
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• Physicians’ orders. 

• Medication charts. 

• Staff time sheets. 

• Psychosocial records. 

• Minimum Data Set (MDS). 

• Incident reports. 

• Adult’s financial records. 

• Individual Service Plans (ISPs). 

• Lab and X-ray reports. 

2.30.3 DBHDS incident reports 

Incident reports in DBHDS facilities are confidential and are filed separately from the 
medical record. The APS worker should be permitted access to review the incident 
reports. 

2.31 Persons to inform when a facility report will be investigated 

2.31.1 Facility administrator/director/superintendent/person in charge 

Before entering a facility to investigate, the APS worker shall make a good faith 
effort to contact the facility administrator, director, superintendent, or other person in 
charge to inform him or her that a report has been received and to request his or her 
cooperation with the investigation. Contact with the facility administrator, director, 
superintendent, or person in charge may be by telephone prior to the initial on-site 
visit, or it may be during the initial on-site visit after arriving at the facility, but before 
initiating the investigation. It is the APS worker’s prerogative to decide whether the 
investigation will be assisted by arriving at the facility unannounced or by a prior 
telephone call to the facility. 

Without prior contact with the facility administrator, director, superintendent, or 
person in charge, the APS worker may initiate the investigation without entering the 
facility (e.g., interview individuals residing in an assisted living facility at another 
location; interview facility staff in their homes; interview students or school personnel 
in their homes). 
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2.31.2 When the person in charge cannot be located  

When an APS worker arrives at a facility to investigate a report and no person on the 
premises is in charge, the APS worker should take reasonable steps to locate a 
person in charge to notify him or her of the APS worker’s presence in the facility and 
the purpose of the visit. If reasonable efforts to locate a person in charge are 
unsuccessful, the APS worker should initiate the investigation, and document that no 
person was in charge at the facility. 

2.31.3 Notification when no person is in charge 

When an APS worker finds no person in charge at a facility, the appropriate 
licensing authority should be immediately notified of this situation. 

2.31.4 Legally appointed guardians/conservators 

If the adult who is alleged to be abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation has a legally appointed guardian and/or conservator, that 
person(s) should be notified that a valid APS report has been received and will be 
investigated.  

If the legally appointed guardian and/or conservator is also the alleged perpetrator, 
the APS worker should notify him or her of the report and interact with him or her 
according to Section 2.16.1. 

2.31.5 Responsible person 

When an adult residing in a facility or a participant in a facility program has 
designated a person to receive information on his or her behalf or to be notified in 
case of injury, that person may be informed that a report has been received and will 
be investigated.  

If the person designated by the individual to receive information is the alleged 
perpetrator, the APS worker should notify him or her of the report and interact with 
him or her according to Section 2.16.1. 

2.32 Facility Investigation 

The APS worker shall arrange for a private face-to-face interview with the individual who 
is the alleged victim of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. If the private interview does not 
occur, reasons shall be documented in the appropriate field on the Investigation screen 
in ASAPS. If additional space is needed, the service worker should enter the information 
in the “Investigation Notes” text box in the APS Assessment Hide/Show section the 
ASAPS Investigation screen.  
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The APS worker shall arrange for private interviews, when appropriate, with facility staff. 
Such interviews should occur in non-resident areas of the facility. If the facility 
management refuses to allow private interviews with staff, the APS worker shall arrange 
for private interviews with staff at some location other than the facility. 

The APS worker shall arrange for private interviews, as appropriate, with individuals 
residing in the facility, the alleged perpetrator, available witnesses, and other persons 
having knowledge of the facts of the particular case.  

Nursing facilities are prohibited by § 32.1-138.4 of the Code of Virginia from retaliating 
or discriminating against any person who cooperates with an agency having 
responsibility for protecting the rights of patients of nursing facilities. Hospitals are 
prohibited by § 32.1-125.4 of the Code of Virginia from retaliating or discriminating 
against any person who cooperates with an agency having responsibility for protecting 
the rights of individuals treated in hospitals. Assisted living facilities and adult day care 
centers have the same prohibitions under the §§ 63.2-1730 and 63.2-1731 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

If the LDSS investigates independently and not in conjunction with an investigatory 
team, the APS worker should review all records, reports, and other documentation as 
appropriate; interview all appropriate persons; and prepare a report of the findings. The 
Investigation screen in ASAPS may be used for this report. The APS Report form can 
be printed from ASAPS (See ASAPS Robo Help). 

If the investigation is a team effort, the APS worker, as a team member, shall participate 
in planning for and implementation of the review of all pertinent information and the 
interviewing of all persons who can reasonably be expected to have knowledge of the 
facts of the case. 

2.33 Conclusion of a facility investigation 

At the conclusion of the facility investigation, the APS worker: 

• Makes a disposition. If the APS worker makes a disposition that varies or is in 
conflict with the findings of other members of the investigatory team, he or she 
shall document the differences in the APS assessment narrative. 

• Completes the Investigation screen in ASAPS. 

• Records appropriate information in ASAPS.  

• Prepares a written report of findings. The letter to a facility or others may serve 
as the written report. The worker should specify whether the report is a 
department or team report. If it is a team report, the worker identifies what 
agencies or programs participated on the team. This report should include only 
the specific confidential information that may be disclosed as outlined in Section 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-138.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-125.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1730
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1731
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2.38.3. This report may be shared with agencies or persons with a legitimate 
interest as specified in Section 2.38.2. 

2.34 Notifications and Reports 

2.34.1 Notifications 

The APS worker notifies, in writing, the following persons regarding findings of 
facility investigations: 

• Long-term care and group care facility administrators, directors, and 
superintendents. 

• Acute-care hospital administrators. 

• Administrators and/or owners of group care facilities (e.g., nursing facilities, 
assisted living facilities, facilities operated by DBHDS).  

• Superintendents of school systems. 

• The adult’s legally appointed guardian, conservator, or authorized 
representative. 

• The person who made the report. 

The person who made the initial report shall be notified according to procedures in 
Section 2.16. 

2.34.2 Reports 

The APS worker sends a report as follows:  

• The appropriate AS/APS Regional Program Consultant shall be notified by 
email of the completion of the facility investigation. The email should provide 
the ASAPS case number and the adult’s name. The Regional Program 
Consultant will review the case online through ASAPS.  

• The Investigatory Team shall receive a copy of the written report of the APS 
worker’s findings when members of the investigation team reach different 
conclusions regarding the disposition.  

• Regulatory or statutory agencies/programs shall receive relevant information 
except the identity of the reporter unless the release is authorized by the 
reporter (See Section 2.38.1). 
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Sending a completed Referral for Investigation from APS form satisfies the 
requirements in Section 2.34.2. 

2.35 Identification of service needs and service planning 

When the investigation finds that the adult needs protective services as described in 
Section 2.15.3, a service plan shall be developed. When other agencies/facilities will 
participate in implementing the service plan, the plan shall specify what each participant 
agrees to do to eliminate or reduce the risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. If the 
service plan is developed without the consensus of all concerned, points of 
disagreement shall be noted. 

While services are being identified and the service plan developed, the APS worker 
should be aware that deficiencies in licensure and certification requirements should be 
assessed by the appropriate regulatory staff. The authority to cite non-compliance with 
licensure or certification requirements rests with the appropriate regulatory agency. The 
APS worker does not make recommendations about the continued employment of staff 
by a facility. 

2.36 Monitoring and follow-up 

The APS worker shall make follow-up contacts and take other appropriate action, as 
needed, in cases with “needs protective services” disposition until the service plan goals 
have been met and the adult is no longer at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

Post-investigative follow-up with the facility to ensure corrective action of regulatory 
deficiencies is the responsibility of the regulatory authority and the facility administration 
or, in public schools, the local school board.  

If the facility administrator, local school board, and/or the appropriate regulatory 
authority do not agree with the findings of the APS investigation and indicate that action 
will not be taken to protect the adult, the APS worker shall consult with the adult, 
appropriate family members, a legally appointed guardian, and/or other persons with a 
legitimate interest in the well-being of that individual to discuss options to assure that 
the adult is protected. 

2.37 Confidentiality in all APS cases 

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). The report and evidence received by the local 
department and any written findings, evaluations, records, and recommended actions shall be 
confidential and shall be exempt from disclosure requirements of the Virginia Freedom of 
Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq.), except that such information may be disclosed to 
persons having a legitimate interest in the matter in accordance with §§ 63.2-102 and 63.2-
104 and pursuant to official interagency agreements or memoranda of understanding between 
state agencies.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3700
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-102
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
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Criminal investigative reports from law-enforcement agencies shall not be disseminated 
by APS or disclosed to the public.  

 (§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia). Criminal investigative reports received from law-
enforcement agencies shall not be further disseminated by the investigating agency nor shall 
they be subject to public disclosure; such reports may, however, be disclosed to the Adult 
Fatality Review Team as provided in § 32.1-283.5 and, if reviewed by the Team, shall be 
subject to all of the Team's confidentiality requirements.  
 

See Chapter 6 for general information on confidentiality that also applies to all APS 
cases. The following language also applies to APS cases and should be used in 
conjunction with Chapter 6. 

2.38 Release of information 

Agencies and/or individuals receiving confidential information shall provide the LDSS 
with assurances that the information will be held confidential. See Section 2.38.5 for 
methods of obtaining assurances.  

Exception: Such assurances are not required of:  

• Department staff who shall have regular access to APS records maintained by 
LDSS.  

• An attorney representing an LDSS in an APS case.  

• Collaterals contacted as part of the investigation. 

2.38.1 Agencies with licensing, regulatory and legal authority who have a 
legitimate interest in confidential information 

(22 VAC 40-740-50). The following agencies have licensing, regulatory, and legal 
authority for administrative action or criminal investigations, and they have a legitimate 
interest in confidential information when such information is relevant and reasonably 
necessary for the fulfillment of their licensing, regulatory and legal responsibilities: 
 
1. Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services; 
 
2. Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy; 
 
3. Office of the Attorney General, including the Medicaid Fraud Control Program; 
 
4. Department for the Aging; 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-283.5
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
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5. Department of Health, including the Office of Licensure and Certification and the 

Office of the Chief Medical Examiner; 
 
6. Department of Medical Assistance Services; 
 
7. Department of Health Professions; 
 
8. Department of the Blind and Vision Impaired; 
 
9. Department of Social Services, including the Division of Licensing Programs; 
 
10. The Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman and Local Ombudsman; 
 
11. Law-enforcement agencies; 
 
12. Medical examiners; 
 
13. Adult Fatality Review Teams; 
 
14. Prosecutors; and 
 
15. Any other entity deemed appropriate by the Commissioner or local department 
director that demonstrates a legitimate interest.  
 
The local department shall disclose all relevant information to representatives of the 
agencies identified (above) except the identity of the person who reported the abuse, 
neglect or exploitation unless the reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or the 
disclosure is ordered by the court.  

LDSS are required to share information with certain agencies that need this 
information to fulfill their licensing, regulatory and legal responsibilities. The “Referral 
for Investigation from APS” form is an appropriate form to use to provide this 
information. However, in some instances certain agencies, such as the Department 
of Health Professions, may be required to share information with the alleged 
perpetrator if the alleged perpetrator is licensed by that state agency. LDSS may 
redact information on the “Referral for Investigation from APS” form before sending 
the form. The LDSS attorney should be consulted for additional questions regarding 
the sharing of confidential information.  

There may be instances when the agency requests additional information not 
included on the form. If this information is needed for the agency to perform their 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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licensing, regulatory or legal responsibilities, with the exception of the name of the 
individual who made the report, the LDSS shall provide the requested information.  

2.38.2 Other individuals or agencies with legitimate interest 

(22 VAC 40-740-50). Local departments may release information to the following 
persons when the local department has determined the person making the request has 
legitimate interest in accordance with § 63.2-104 and the release of information is in the 
best interest of the adult: 

1. Representatives of public and private agencies including community services boards, 
area agencies on aging and local health departments requesting disclosure when the 
agency has legitimate interest;  

2. A physician who is treating an adult whom he reasonably suspects is abused, neglected 
or exploited; 

3. The adult’s legally appointed guardian or conservator; 

4. A guardian ad litem who has been appointed for an adult who is the subject of an adult 
protective services report; 

5. A family member who is responsible for the welfare of an adult who is the subject of 
an adult protective services report; 

6. An attorney representing a local department in an adult protective services case; 

7. The Social Security Administration; or 

8. Any other entity that demonstrates to the commissioner or local department director 
that legitimate interest is evident.  

2.38.3 Specific confidential information that may be disclosed 

Any or all of the following specific information may be disclosed at the discretion of 
the LDSS to agencies or persons specified in Section 2.38.2: 

(22 VAC 40-740-50). 1. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the adult who is the 
subject of the request for information; 
 
2. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the person who is alleged to have perpetrated 
the abuse, neglect, or exploitation; 
 
3. Description of the incident or incidents of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; 
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
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4. Description of medical problems to the extent known; 
 
5. Disposition of the adult protective services report; and 
 
6. The protective services needs of the adult.  

However, the identity of the person who reported the suspected abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation shall not be disclosed unless the reporter authorized the disclosure of 
his or her identity or disclosure is ordered by the court.  

The LDSS may provide the above information in verbal or written format.  

2.38.4 Assurances to the LDSS 

Agencies or persons who receive confidential information pursuant to Section 2.38.1 
and Section 2.38.2 shall provide the following assurances to the LDSS: 

(22 VAC 40-740-50). 1. The purpose for which information is requested is related to the 
adult protective services goal in the services plan for adult; 
 
2. The information will be used only for the purpose for which it is made available and; 
 
3. The information will be held confidential by the department or individual receiving the 
information except to the extent that disclosure is required by law  

2.38.5 Methods of obtaining assurances 

Any one of the following methods may be used to obtain assurances. 

• Use of the form “Consent to Exchange Information” located on the VDSS 
internal website when the form has been completed and signed by the adult 
giving permission to share the information requested with the individual or 
organization making the request. 

• An agreement between the LDSS and other community service agencies that 
provides blanket assurances required in Section 2.38.4 for all adult protective 
services cases (see Appendix H). 

• State-level agreements that provide blanket assurances required in Section 
2.38.4 for all adult protective services cases. 

• Use the “Assurances of Confidentiality” form located on the VDSS internal 
website. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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2.38.5.1 Notification that information has been disclosed 

(22 VAC 40-740-50). When information has been disclosed pursuant to this 
chapter, notice of the disclosure shall be given to the adult who is the subject of the 
information or to his legally appointed guardian. If the adult has given permission 
to release the information, further notification shall not be required.  

Notice to the adult is not required when information is shared with collateral 
sources to elicit information essential to the investigation. 

2.38.6 Other circumstances mandating disclosure of confidential 
information 

APS records are not subject to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and limited disclosure is authorized by the 
Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). However, if the court orders disclosure the LDSS shall comply.  

2.38.6.1 When disclosure is ordered by the court 

If a subpoena is issued for an APS case record, for LDSS representatives to 
testify in connection with an investigation, or for proceedings not directly related 
to the purpose for which the information in the record was collected and 
maintained, the worker needs to notify the LDSS attorney. The LDSS shall 
follow the advice of the attorney. 

2.38.6.2 Notification to reporter 

When a person has made an APS report and an investigation has been 
completed, the person who made the report shall be notified that the 
investigation has been completed and appropriate actions have been taken by 
the department. Notification letters are available under the Notification Tab 
on the investigation screen in ASAPS.  

2.38.6.3 Request for private information 

LDSS are required to disclose information when a request for access to 
information is made pursuant to the Government Data Collection and 
Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 of the Code of Virginia) (22 VAC 40-
740-50). 

Any individual, including perpetrators of abuse, neglect, and exploitation, has 
the right to review and challenge personal information only about himself or 
herself contained in an APS case record. The individual has a right to review 
personal information about himself or herself only and may not review other 
information contained in the case record. The name of the reporter is not 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC02020000037000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC02020000038000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3800
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-50
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disclosed. The individual has a right to challenge, correct, or explain information 
about himself or herself maintained in the APS record. The individual may file a 
statement of not more than 200 words explaining his or her position according 
to procedures set forth in § 2.2-3806 of the Code of Virginia. 

LDSS are encouraged to consult the LDSS attorney for a request for 
information made pursuant to the Government Data Collection and 
Dissemination Practices Act.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3806
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2.39 Appendix A: APS forms 

The following forms may be used during the provision of Adult Protective Services. 
Unless otherwise indicated, these forms are located on the Adult Services forms page 
of the VDSS internal website.  

Acknowledgment of Mandated Reporter Status 
This optional form is used by employers to document that employees have been notified 
of mandated reporting responsibilities. The form is located on the VDSS public website.  

APS Intake Report 
This form may be used to take an APS report. 

Assurances of Confidentiality 
This form is used by the LDSS to ensure that information provided by the LDSS to other 
agencies will be held confidential except to the extent that disclosure is required by law.  

Consent to Exchange Information 
This form can be used to assist the LDSS in obtaining information needed from other 
agencies to determine an individual’s eligibility for services or benefits.  

Consent for Photography for APS Investigation 
This form is used to document consent for photographs to be taken during an APS 
investigation.  

Eligibility Worker Referral 
This form is used by LDSS eligibility workers to refer to APS an individual who is 
incapable of understanding the Medicaid application process and has no authorized 
representative or substitute family member who is willing and able to apply and sign the 
application on his or her behalf.  

Referral for Investigation from APS 
This form is used to notify other agencies of an APS investigation.  

Report of Guardian for Incapacitated Person 
This form is used by the guardian to complete the initial report and subsequent annual 
guardianship report.  

Request to Impose Civil Penalty 
This form is used to request that the DSS Commissioner impose a civil penalty for a 
mandated reporter’s failure to report.  

Response to Medicaid Referral 
This form is used by the APS worker to respond to the Eligibility Worker Referral form. 

  

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/aps.cgi
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2.40 Appendix B: Preponderance of evidence 

Evidence is the type of information gathered by the APS worker during an investigation 
which is used in making the disposition. Evidence may be either direct or circumstantial. 
Direct evidence includes statements by eyewitnesses, statements by experts such as 
physicians and nurses addressing certain medical conditions or injuries, observations 
by the APS worker, documents such as nursing notes and bank statements, objects, 
and photographs. Circumstantial evidence does not come directly from a witness, the 
alleged victim, or the alleged perpetrator, but relies upon inference and presumptions to 
prove or disprove the allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

In many APS cases, the eyewitness type evidence (“I saw him slap his mother”) may 
not be available or the alleged victim may be confused and disoriented. Developing 
circumstantial evidence becomes essential in providing the information needed to make 
the disposition. Prior threats to the alleged victim, previous substantiated incidents of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation, proximity (an adult child living in the home) and access 
(a provider of direct care) to the alleged victim, unexplained injuries, and unaccounted 
for funds may point to a disposition of “Needs Protective Services”, but each piece of 
information is “circumstantial” evidence rather than “direct” evidence. 

Preponderance of evidence is the greater weight of the evidence required to decide in 
favor of one side or the other. Effectively, preponderance of evidence is satisfied if there 
is a greater than 50% chance that an incident occurred. This preponderance is based 
on the more convincing evidence and its probable truth or accuracy, and not on the 
amount of evidence. As an example, statements of a credible eyewitness could meet 
this standard over statements made by a person suffering from dementia. 

In making a disposition, the APS worker shall weigh both the credibility and probability 
of all the available evidence, both direct and circumstantial.  
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2.41 Appendix C: Sample notice of hearing (to consider ordering 
emergency services) 

VIRGINIA 
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE CITY/COUNTY OF (name of city or county)  
IN RE: (name of the adult who will be before the court). 
 

NOTICE 
 
TO: (name of the adult; notice shall also be given to the adult’s spouse, or if 

none, to his nearest known next of kin) 
 

You are hereby notified that on the ____ day of ________________ (month) 
_____ (year), at the hour of __________ (time of day) or as soon thereafter as may be 
heard, the ____________________________________________ (local department of 
social services that is petitioning) pursuant to Section 63.2-1609 of the Code of 
Virginia, as amended, will petition the circuit court of the ____________ (city or county) 
of ________________________________________(city or county) to order emergency 
protective services for ________________________________(adult’s name) and for the 
appointment of a temporary guardian. 
 

At the above-mentioned time and place, you may appear and take whatever action 
you deem advisable to protect your interests in the matter. 
 
By                       
 
Attachment: Copy of the Petition 
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2.42 Appendix D: Sample petition for emergency protective services 
and appointment of a temporary guardian 

The undersigned petitioner representing the (local department of social services) 
respectfully represents to the court as follows: 
 
That _____________________________________________________(adult’s name), 
an adult ________(age of adult) years of age is a resident of the _________________ 
(the word “city or county”) of ________________________________________(city or 
county) residing at 
____________________________________________________________ (adult’s 
address) and that _________ (he/she) is presently in need of emergency protective 
services by 
reaso_________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________
___ (state the nature of the emergency and the nature of the adult’s incapacity) and 
that the petitioner attempted on ___________________________________(pertinent 
dates) to obtain ____________________________________________________ 
(adult’s name) consent for the services and 
___________________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________ 
(state the outcome of the attempts). 
 

Your petitioner further represents that it is his or her reasonable belief that: 
 

 (type of services needed) services are necessary to improve or correct the 
conditions creating the emergency; and 

 
 That hospitalization or a change of residence (“is or is not”) necessary. 
 

WHEREFORE, pursuant to Section 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia, as amended, your 
petitioner hereby requests that the court order emergency adult protective services for 
(name of adult) and that the petitioner be appointed temporary guardian. 
 
                                  

Date       Petitioner and Title 
  

                                  
Name and Address of Department 
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2.43 Appendix E: Sample order of emergency protective services 

 
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE CITY/COUNTY OF (city or county)  
 
IN RE: (name of adult). 

 
ORDER 

 
This matter came to be heard upon the petition of (name, title, and department), 

asking that the court order emergency protective services for (name of adult) under 
Section 63.2-1608 of the Code of Virginia as amended and upon proof of service of notice 
of this proceeding upon the said (name of adult); and upon the evidence taken in open 
court respecting said petition and argued. 

 
And it appearing to the court that the said (name of adult) is: 

 
 incapacitated; and 
 an emergency exists; and 
 the adult lacks the capacity to consent to receive adult protective services. 

 
The Court doth Adjudge, Order and Decree that emergency protective services (type of 
services ordered) be provided for (name of adult); and that hospitalization or a change 
of address (is or is not) necessary. 
 
Further, the Court orders that the said emergency protective services may be provided 
only for a period of 15 days. This order may be renewed once for a 5 day period upon 
showing to this Court that the continuation of this original order is necessary to remove 
the emergency. 
 
Further, the Court orders that the cost of the proceeding shall be borne by (the 
Commonwealth or the adult; if the adult is indigent, the cost of the proceeding shall be 
borne by the Commonwealth. If the adult is not indigent, the cost of the proceeding shall 
be borne by the adult). 
 
ENTERED THIS _____ (day) day of _______________ (month), __________ (year).  
  
 

_____________________________                       
  Judge 
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2.43  Appendix F: AS/APS Regional Program Consultants service 
areas 

 
Eastern Central Northern Piedmont Western 

Carey Kalvig 
Pembroke Four,  
Suite 300 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462 
 757-491-3983  
FAX: 757-552-1832 

Marjorie Marker 
1604 Santa Rosa Road 
Suite 130 
Richmond, VA 23229 
 804-662-9783 
FAX: 804-662-7023 

Andrea Jones 
170 West Shirley Avenue 
Suite 200 
Warrenton, VA 22186 
 540-347-6313 
FAX: 540-347-6331                                  

Angie Mountcastle 
1351 Hershberger Rd 
Suite 210 
Roanoke, VA 24012 
 540-204- 9640 
FAX: 540-561-7536 

Carol McCray 
190 Patton Street 
Abingdon, VA 24210 
 276-676-5636 
FAX: 276-676-5621 
 

Agencies Agencies Agencies Agencies Agencies 
Accomack (001) 22 
Brunswick (025) 13 
Chesapeake (550) 23 
Dinwiddie (053) 19  
Franklin City (620) 23 
Gloucester (073) 18  
Greensville 
(081)/Emporia (595) 19 
Hampton (650) 23 
Isle of Wight (093) 23 
James City (095) 23 
Matthews (115) 18 
Newport News (700) 23 
Norfolk (710) 23 
Northampton (131) 22 
Portsmouth (740) 23 
Prince George (149) 19 
Southampton (175) 23 
Suffolk (800) 23 
Surry (181) 19 
Sussex (183) 19 
Virginia Beach (810) 23 
Williamsburg (830) 23 
York (199)/Poquoson 
(735) 23 
 

Amelia (007) 14 
Buckingham (029) 14 
Caroline (033) 16 
Charles City (036) 15 
Chesterfield (041)/ 
Colonial Heights (570) 
15 
Cumberland (049) 14 
Essex (057) 18 
Fluvanna (065) 10 
Goochland (075) 15 
Hanover (085) 15 
Henrico (087) 15 
Hopewell (670) 19 
King and Queen (097) 
18 
King William (101) 18 
Lancaster (103) 17 
Lunenburg (111) 14 
Middlesex (119) 18 
New Kent (127) 15 
Northumberland (133) 
17 
Nottoway (135) 14 
Petersburg (730) 19 
Powhatan (145) 15 
Prince Edward (147) 14 
Richmond City (760) 15 
Richmond County (159) 
17 
Westmoreland (193) 17 
 

Alexandria (510) 8 
Arlington (013) 8 
Clarke (043) 7 
Culpeper (047) 9 
Fairfax (059)/Fairfax City 
(600)/Falls Church (610) 
8 
Fauquier (061) 9 
Frederick (069) 7 
Fredericksburg (630) 16 
Greene (079) 10 
Harrisonburg (660) 6/ 
Rockingham (165 
King George (099) 16 
Loudoun (107) 8 
Louisa (109) 10 
Madison (113) 9 
Manassas City (683) 8 
Manassas Park (685) 8 
Orange (137) 9 
Page (139) 7 
Prince William (153) 8 
Rappahannock (157) 9 
Shenandoah (171) 7 
Spotsylvania (177) 16 
Stafford (179) 16 
Warren (187) 7 
Winchester (840) 7 

Albemarle (003) 10 
Alleghany005)/Covington 
(580) 5/ Clifton Forge 
(560) 5 
Amherst (009) 11 
Appomattox (011) 11 
Bath (017) 6 
Bedford (019)/Bedford 
City (515) 11 
Botetourt (023) 5 
Campbell (031) 11 
Charlotte (037) 14 
Charlottesville (540) 10 
Craig (045) 5 
Danville (590) 12 
Franklin County (067) 12 
Halifax (083)/South 
Boston (780) 13 
Henry (089)/ Martinsville 
(690) 12  
Highland (091) 6 
Lynchburg (680) 11 
Mecklenburg (117) 13 
Nelson (125) 10 
Pittsylvania (143) 12 
Roanoke (770) 5 
Roanoke Co. (161)/Salem 
(775) 5 
Rockbridge (163)/Buena 
Vista (530)/ Lexington 
(678) 6 
Shenandoah Valley 
(Staunton (790)Augusta 
(015)/ Waynesboro 
(820)6) 
 

Bland (021) 3 
Bristol (520) 3 
Buchanan (027) 2 
Carroll (035) 3 
Dickenson (051) 2 
Floyd (063) 4 
Galax (640) 3 
Giles (071) 4 
Grayson (077) 3 
Lee (105) 1 
Montgomery (121) 4 
Norton (720) 1 
Patrick (141) 12 
Pulaski (155) 4 
Radford (750) 4 
Russell (167) 2 
Scott (169) 1 
Smyth (173) 3 
Tazewell (185) 2 
Washington (191) 3 
Wise (195) 1 
Wythe (197) 3 
 

 
The number in parentheses following locality name is the FIPS code; the number following the FIPS code is for the 
Planning District in which the locality is located. There are 120 LDSS. 
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2.44 Appendix G: Directory of agencies/programs 

While conducting APS investigations, it is frequently appropriate to work with other 
agencies/programs with a related interest. This appendix provides websites, addresses, 
telephone numbers, and areas served for some of those agencies/programs with a 
related interest. Note: Numbers and addresses are subject to change. Please consult 
the agency’s/organization’s website for the most current contact information. 

DIVISION OF LICENSING PROGRAMS 
  DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/contact_us/dolp_district.pdf  
CENTRAL AREA            (804) 662-9743 
1604 Santa Rosa Road       (804) 662-7023 FAX 
Richmond, VA 23229-5008 
COUNTIES SERVED: Albemarle, Amelia, Brunswick, Caroline, 
Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fluvanna, Goochland, 
Hanover, Henrico, King and Queen, King George, King William, 
Lancaster, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Northumberland, 
Nottoway, Powhatan, Richmond, Westmoreland 
CITIES SERVED: Blackstone, Colonial Heights, Farmville, 
Lawrenceville, Petersburg, Richmond, West Point, Charlottesville 

PIEDMONT AREA    (540) 204-9631 
                   (540) 561-7536 FAX 
1351 Hershberger Rd, Suite 210 
Roanoke, VA 24012 
COUNTIES SERVED: Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, 
Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, 
Craig, Franklin, Halifax, Henry, Nelson, Patrick, Pittsylvania, 
Prince Edward, Roanoke, Rockbridge 
CITIES SERVED: Bedford, Buena Vista, Clifton Forge, 
Covington, Danville, Lexington, Lynchburg, Martinsville, 
Roanoke, Salem, South Boston 

EASTERN AREA           (757) 491-3990 
Pembroke Office Park        (757) 417-3640 FAX 
Pembroke IV Office Building, Suite 300 
291 Independence Boulevard 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462-5496 
COUNTIES SERVED: Accomack, Northampton, Greensville, Isle of 
Wight, Southampton 
CITIES SERVED: Chesapeake, Emporia, Franklin, Norfolk, 
Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach 

VALLEY AREA            (540) 332-2330 
Augusta Professional Park   (540) 332-7748  
57 Beam Lane, Suite 102 
Fishersville, VA 22939  
COUNTIES SERVED: Augusta, Clarke, Frederick, Greene, 
Highland, Madison, Orange, Page, Rockingham, 
Shenandoah, Warren 
CITIES SERVED: Harrisonburg, Staunton, Waynesboro, 
Winchester 

PENINSULA AREA            (757) 247-8020 
                            (757) 247-8024 FAX 
2600 Washington Ave., Suite 202 
Newport News, VA 23607 
COUNTIES SERVED: Charles City, Gloucester, James City, 
Mathews, Middlesex, New Kent, Surry, Sussex, York 
CITIES SERVED: Hampton, Hopewell, Newport News, Poquoson, 
Williamsburg 

NORTHERN AREA     (540) 347-6345 
                     (540) 347-6304 FAX 
170 W. Shirley Avenue, Suite 200 
Warrenton, VA 20186 
COUNTIES SERVED: Culpeper, Fauquier, Prince William, 
Rappahannock, Spotsylvania, Stafford  
CITIES SERVED: Fredericksburg, Manassas, Manassas 
Park, Woodbridge, Dale City 

FAIRFAX AREA               (703) 934-1505 
                            (703) 934-1558 FAX 
3701 Pender Drive, Suite 125 
Fairfax, VA 22030 
COUNTIES SERVED: Arlington, Loudoun, Fairfax 
CITIES SERVED: Alexandria, Annandale, Centreville, Fairfax, Falls 
Church, Herndon 

WESTERN AREA      (276) 676-5490 
190 Patton Street       (276) 676-5621 FAX 
Abingdon, VA 24210  
COUNTIES SERVED: Bland, Buchanan, Carroll, 
Dickenson, Floyd, Giles, Grayson, Lee, Montgomery, 
Pulaski, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, 
Wise, Wythe  
CITIES SERVED: Blacksburg, Christiansburg, Bristol, 
Galax, Norton, Radford 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/contact_us/dolp_district.pdf
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OFFICE OF LICENSING 
DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL SERVICES and DEVELOPMENTAL 

SERVICES 
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/OL-default.htm  

Central Office 
PO Box 1797 
Richmond, VA 23218 
804-786-1747 
804-692-0066 FAX 

Office of Licensing 
Northern Virginia Training Center 
9901 Braddock Road 
Fairfax, VA 22032 
703-323-2097 
703-323-3197 
703-323-2110 FAX 

Office of Licensing 
Eastern State Hospital 
4601 Ironbound Road, Building 4, PO Box 8791 
Williamsburg, VA 23187 
757-253-5465 
757-253-5440 FAX 

Office of Licensing 
Southeastern Virginia Training Center 
2100 Steppingstone Square 
Chesapeake, VA 23320-2591 
757-424-8364 
757-424-8348 FAX 

Office of Licensing 
Western State Hospital 
PO Box 2500 
Staunton, VA 24401 
540-332-8423 
540-332-8314 FAX 

Office of Licensing 
Southwestern Satellite Office 
PO Box 1797 
Richmond, VA 23218 
276-676-5790 
276-676-5790 FAX 

 
OFFICE OF HUMAN RIGHTS, 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH and DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/OHR-default.htm  

Office of Human Rights 
P. O. Box 1797 
Richmond, VA 23218 
804-786-3988 
804-371-2308 FAX 
Staff Roster: http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/documents/HumanRights/OHR-Staff-Roster.pdf  

LONG-TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN PROGRAM 
http://www.vaaaa.org/LTCOP/ 

Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 
Virginia Association of Area Agencies on Aging 
24 East Cary Street, Suite 100 
Richmond, VA 23219 
Telephone: 804-565-1600; FAX: 804-644-5640 
Toll free: 1-800-552-3402 
State Ombudsman: Joani Latimer Ferguson 
Assistant State Ombudsman: Gail Shirley 
Email: gshirley@theV4A.org; jlatimer@theV4A.org;  

 
 
 
 

http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/OL-default.htm
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/OHR-default.htm
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/documents/HumanRights/OHR-Staff-Roster.pdf
http://www.vaaaa.org/LTCOP/
mailto:gshirley@theV4A.org
mailto:jlatimer@theV4A.org
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LOCAL OMBUDSMAN PROGRAMS  
http://www.vaaaa.org/LTCOP/localombud.asp  

 Planning Service Area Areas Served 
Mountain Empire Older Citizens, Inc. 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
P.O. Box 888 
Big Stone Gap, VA 24219-0888 
Phone: 276-523-4202   
FAX: 276-523-4208 
Toll Free: 1-800-252-6362 

Counties: Lee, Wise, & Scott. 
City: Norton 
 

Appalachian Agency For Senior Citizens  
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
P.O. Box 765 
Cedar Bluff, VA 24609 
Phone: 276-964-7127   
FAX: 276-963-0130 
Toll Free: 1-800-656-2272 

Counties: Dickenson, Buchanan, Tazewell, & 
Russell 
 

District Three Governmental Cooperative 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
4453 Lee Highway 
Marion, VA 24354-4270 
Phone: 276-783-8157 x.3131       
FAX: 276-783-3003 
Toll Free: 1-800-541-0933 

Counties: Washington, Smyth, Wythe, Bland, 
Grayson, & Carroll 
Cities: Galax & Bristol 
 

New River Valley Agency on Aging 
141 East Main Street, Ste. 500 
Pulaski, Virginia 24301 
Phone: (540) 980-7720  
Fax: (540) 980-7724 
Toll-Free: 1-866-260-4417 

Counties: Giles, Floyd, Pulaski, & Montgomery 
City: Radford 
 

LOA-Area Agency on Aging 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
P.O. Box 14205 
Roanoke, Virginia 24038-4205 
Phone: 540-345-0451 x3041 
FAX: 540-206-0002 

Counties: Roanoke, Craig, Botetourt, & Allegany 
Cities: Salem, Roanoke, Clifton Forge, & 
Covington 
 

Valley Program for Aging Services, Inc. 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
P.O. Box 415 
2137 Magnolia Ave.  
Buena Vista, Virginia 24416 
Phone: 540-261-2553 
FAX: 540-261-7477 
Toll Free: 1-866-816-9020 

Counties: Rockingham, Rockbridge, Augusta, 
Highland, & Bath. 
Cities: Buena Vista, Lexington, Staunton, 
Waynesboro, & Harrisonburg 
 

Shenandoah Area Agency on Aging, Inc. 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
207 Mosby Lane 
Front Royal, Virginia 22630-2611 
Phone: 540-635-7141 ext. 211  
FAX: 540-636-7810 
Toll Free: 1-800-883-4122 

Counties: Page, Shenandoah, Warren, Clarke, & 
Frederick 
City: Winchester 
 

http://www.vaaaa.org/LTCOP/localombud.asp
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Northern Virginia Long-Term Care 
Ombudsman Program 
12011 Government Center Pkwy., Ste. 708  
Fairfax, Virginia 22035 - 1104 
Phone: 703-324-5861   
FAX: 703-324-3575 

Counties: Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, & Prince 
William 
Cities: Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, 
Manassas, & Manassas Park 
 

Rappahannock-Rapidan Community Services Board 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
P.O. Box 1568 
15361 Bradford Road 
Culpeper, Virginia 22701 
Phone: 540-825-3100 x 3450 
 FAX: 540-825-6245 

Counties: Orange, Madison, Culpeper, 
Rappahannock, & Fauquier 
 

Jefferson Area Board For Aging 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
674 Hillsdale Drive, Suite 9 
Charlottesville, Virginia 22901 
Phone: 434-817-5222   
FAX: 434-817-5230 

Counties: Nelson, Albemarle, Louisa, Fluvanna, 
& Greene 
City: Charlottesville 
 

Central Virginia Area Agency on Aging 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
501 12th St., Suite A 
Lynchburg, Virginia 24501 
Phone: 434-385-9070   
FAX: 434-385-9209 
Toll-Free: 1-866-255-6868 

Counties: Bedford, Amherst, Campbell, & 
Appomattox 
Cities: Bedford & Lynchburg 
 

Southern Area Agency on Aging 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
204 Cleveland Ave. 
Martinsville, Virginia 24112 
Phone: 276-632-6442   
FAX: 276-632-6252 
Toll Free: 1-800-468-4571 

Counties: Patrick, Henry, Franklin, & Pittsylvania 
Cities: Martinsville & Danville 
 

Lake Country Area Agency on Aging 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
1105 West Danville, Street 
South Hill, Virginia 23970-3501 
Phone: 434-447-7661 x57   
FAX: 434-447-8760 
Toll Free: 1-800-252-4464 

Counties: Halifax, Mecklenburg, & Brunswick 
City: South Boston 
 

Piedmont Senior Resources Area Agency on Aging, Inc. 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
P.O. Box 398 
Burkeville, Virginia 23922-0398 
Phone: 434-767-5588   
FAX: 434-767-4608 

Counties: Nottoway, Prince Edward, Charlotte, 
Lunenburg, Cumberland, Buckingham, & Amelia 
 

Senior Connections-Capital Area Agency on Aging, Inc. 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
24 East Cary Street 
Richmond, Virginia 23219-3796 
Phone: 804-343-3000   
FAX: 804-649-2258 
Toll Free: 1-800-989-2286 

Counties: Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, 
Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, & Powhatan 
City: Richmond 
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Rappahannock Area Agency on Aging, Inc. 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
171 Warrenton Road 
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22405 
Phone: 540-371-3375   
FAX: 540-371-3384 
Toll Free: 1-800-262-4012 

Counties: Caroline, Spotsylvania, Stafford, & King 
George 
City: Fredericksburg  
 

Bay Aging Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
P.O. Box 610  
Urbanna, Virginia 23175-0610 
Phone: 804-758-2386 x. 44 
FAX: 804-758-5773 
 
100 Parker View Court 
Williamsburg, VA 23188 
Phone: 757-220-1577 
FAX:   757-220-1577 

Counties: Westmoreland, Northumberland, 
Richmond, Lancaster, Essex, Middlesex, 
Mathews, King & Queen, King William, & 
Gloucester 
 
 
 
Counties: James City & York 
Cities: Williamsburg, Newport News, & Hampton, 
Poquoson 

Crater District Area Agency on Aging 
23 Seyler Drive 
Petersburg, Virginia 23805 
Phone: 804-732-7020   
FAX: 804-732-7232 

Counties: Dinwiddie, Sussex, Greensville, Surry, 
& Prince George 
Cities: Petersburg, Hopewell, Emporia, & Colonial 
Heights 

Hampton Roads Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
Senior Services of Southeastern VA 
5 Interstate Corporate Center 
6350 Center Drive, Suite 101 
Norfolk, VA 23502-4121 
Phone:1-800-766-8059 
FAX: 757-461-1068 

Counties: Southampton & Isle of Wight 
Cities: Franklin, Suffolk, Portsmouth, 
Chesapeake, Virginia Beach, & Norfolk 
 

Eastern Shore Area Agency on Aging-Community 
Action Agency, Inc. 
Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program 
5432 Bayside Rd 
Exmore, VA 23350 
Phone: 757-442-9652  
FAX:  757-442-9303 
Toll-Free: 1-800-452-5977 

Counties: Accomack & Northampton 
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Office of the Chief Medical Examiner 
400 E. Jackson Street 
Richmond, VA 23219 
Phone: 804-786-3174 

www.vdh.virginia.gov/medexam/  
 

District Areas Served 
 
Central District 
400 East Jackson Street 
Richmond, VA 23219 
Phone: 804-786-3174 
Fax: 804-371-8595  

Counties 
Albemarle, Amelia, Brunswick, Buckingham, Caroline, Charles City, 
Charlotte, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fluvanna, 
Gloucester, Goochland, Greene, Greensville, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, 
James City, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Louisa, 
Lunenburg, Matthews, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Nelson, New Kent, 
Northumberland, Nottoway, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George, 
Spotsylvania, Stafford, Surry, Sussex, Richmond County, Westmoreland. 
Cities 
Charlottesville, Colonial Heights, Emporia, Fredericksburg, Hopewell, 
Petersburg, Richmond, South Boston, Williamsburg. 
 

Northern District 
10850 Pyramid Place 
Suite 121 
Manassas, VA 20110 
Phone: 703-530-2600 
Fax: 703-530-0510 

Counties 
Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, Loudoun, Madison, 
Orange, Page, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah,  
Warren  
Cities 
Alexandria, Fairfax City, Falls Church, Manassas City, Manassas 
Park, Winchester. 

Tidewater District 
830 Southampton Ave. 
Suite 100 
Norfolk, VA 23510 
Phone: 757-683-8366 
Fax: 757-683-2589 

Counties 
Accomack, Isle of Wight, Northampton, Southampton, York.  
Cities 
Chesapeake, Franklin City, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, 
Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach. 
 

Western District 
6600 Northside High 
School Road 
Roanoke, VA 24019 
Phone: 540-561-6615 
Fax: 540-561-6619 

Counties 
Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, 
Buchanan, Campbell, Carroll, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, 
Grayson, Henry, Highland, Lee, Montgomery, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Pulaski, 
Roanoke, Rockbridge, Rockingham, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, 
Washington, Wise, Wythe.  
Cities 
Bedford, Bristol, Buena Vista, Clifton Forge, Covington, Danville, Galax, 
Harrisonburg, Lexington, Lynchburg, Martinsville, Norton, Radford, Roanoke, 
Salem, Staunton, Waynesboro. 
 

 
  

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/medexam/
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/ 

Department of Health Professions 
Perimeter Center 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, VA 23233 

804-367-4400 
804-527-4475 FAX 
Complaints about licensees: 800-533-1560 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology 
 

804-367-4630 
804-527-4471 FAX 

Board of Counseling 804-367-4610 
804-527-4435 FAX 

Board of Dentistry 
 

804-367-4538 
804-527-4428 FAX 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 
 

804-367-4479 
804-527-4413 FAX 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators 804-367-4595 
804-527-4413 FAX 

Board of Medicine       
 

 804-367-4600: Inquiries regarding Medicine,   
Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, Chiropractic, and 
Physician Assistant  
 
 804-786-0370: Inquiries regarding Occupational 
Therapy, Respiratory Care, Licensed 
Acupuncture, Athletic Training, Certified 
Professional Midwifery, Radiologic Technology 
and Polysomnography 
 
 804-527-4426 FAX 

Board of Nursing        
 

804-367-4515    
804-527-4455 FAX 

Medication Aide Registry      804-367-4569 
804-527-4455 FAX 

Board of Optometry  
 

804-367-4508 
804-527-4471 FAX 

Board of Pharmacy 
 

804-367-4456    
804-527-4472 FAX 

Board of Physical Therapy 804-367-4674 
804-527-4413 FAX 

Board of Psychology 804-367-4697 
804-527-4435 FAX 

Board of Social Work 804-367-4441 
804-527-4435 FAX 

VIRGINIA OFFICE FOR PROTECTION AND ADVOCACY 
www.vopa.state.va.us 

Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy 
1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5 
Richmond, VA 23230 
Toll-free: 1-800-552-3962 
Fax: 804-662-7057 
 
 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
http://www.vopa.state.va.us/
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, 
OFFICE OF LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 

www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/index.htm 
Virginia Department of Health 
Office of Licensure and Certification 
9960 Mayland Dr., Suite 401 
Richmond, VA 23233 
Main #: 804-367-2102  
Complaints Metro Richmond area: 804-367-2106 
Complaint Hotline: 1-800-955-1819 
Complaints Fax: 804-527-4503 

MEDICAID FRAUD CONTROL UNIT 
Office of the Attorney General 
Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 
900 East Main Street 
Richmond, VA 23219 
804-786-2071 
800-371-0824 
FAX: 804-786-3509 or 804-786-9136  

 
 

ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES TOLL-FREE HOTLINE 
 

1-888-832-3858 
or 

1-888-83ADULT 
 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT TOLL-FREE 
HOTLINE 

 
1-800-838-8238  

http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/OLC/index.htm
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2.45 Appendix H: Letter of understanding  

We, the undersigned, understand and agree that the_____(local department 
name)________ Department of Social Services and     (the agency to receive 
information)___ have service provision and       (insert nature of the responsibility of the 
agency receiving information)  responsibility respectively when there is abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation of an adult    (list any qualifying terms that may apply; for example an 
adult who is a resident in a DBHDS facility).   
 
The Code of Virginia (Section 63.2-104) addresses the confidentiality of records and 
information concerning the provision of social services. The Code states:  

“The records, information, and statistical registries of the Department, local 
departments, and of all child-welfare agencies concerning social services to 
or on behalf of individuals shall be confidential information, provided that the 
Commissioner, the Board, and their agents shall have access to such 
records, information, and statistical registries, and that such records, 
information, and statistical registries may be disclosed to any person having a 
legitimate interest in accordance with state and federal law and regulation.” 

It shall be unlawful for any officer, agent, or employee of any child-welfare agency, the 
Commissioner, the State Board, their agents or employees, any person who has held any 
such position, and any other person to whom any such record or information is disclosed to 
disclose, directly or indirectly, any such confidential record or information, except as herein 
provided or pursuant to § 63.2-105. Every violation of this section shall constitute a Class 1 
misdemeanor.” 
 
All reports, documentary evidence, and other information received or maintained by the 
director (of the local Department of Social Services) shall be confidential and not subject to 
the Virginia Freedom of Information Act except that such information may be disclosed to 
persons having a legitimate interest therein where disclosure of the information is 
reasonably necessary for the conduct of investigations by state or local government 
agencies or the provision of services to the adult who is the subject of the Adult Protective 
Services report, in accordance with regulations promulgated by the Board. Such 
regulations shall require that the Board receive appropriate assurances from the agencies 
to which the information is disclosed that it will be held confidential except to the extent that 
disclosure is required by law. 
  
The  (agency to receive information)  is recognized in Social Services Board policy 
(effective January 1, 1990) as having legitimate interest in confidential APS information 
pursuant to this section of the Code. 
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This Letter or Understanding, when signed by both parties, shall serve as assurance that 
confidential Adult Protective Services information shared with (agency to receive 
information) pursuant to this section shall be held confidential in accordance with the 
provisions of 22 VAC 40-740-50. 
 
 
(Signature of Department Head)  (Date)     (Signature of Agency Head)  (Date) 
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2.46 Appendix I: Indicators of abuse, neglect, and exploitation  

 

INDICATORS OF ABUSE, NEGLECT AND EXPLOITATION 
ABUSE 

Multiple/severe bruises, burns, welts 
Bilateral bruises on upper arms 
Clustered bruises on trunk 
Bruises which resemble an object 
Old and new bruises 
Signs of bone fractures 
Broken bones, open wounds, skull fracture 
Striking, shoving, beating, kicking, scratching 
Internal injuries 

Sprains, dislocation, lacerations, cuts, 
punctures, black eyes, bed sores 
Untreated injuries, broken glasses/frames,  
Untreated medical condition: Burns, 
Scalding 
Restrained: tied to bed, tied to chair, 
locked in, isolated, over-medicated 

Verbal assaults, threats, intimidation 
Prolonged interval between injury and 
treatment 
Demonstrates fear of caregiver 
Case manager not allowed to see 
adult alone 
Recent or sudden changes in behavior 
Unexplained fear 
Unwarranted suspicion 

SEXUAL ABUSE 
Genital or urinary irritation, injury, infection or 
scarring 
Presence of a sexually transmitted disease 
Frequent, unexplained physical illness 

Intense fear reaction to an 
individual or to people in general 
Mistrust of others 
Nightmares, night terrors, sleep 
Direct or coded disclosure of 
sexual abuse 

Disturbed peer interactions 
Depression or blunted affect 
Poor self-esteem 
Self-destructive activity or 
suicidal behavior 
 

NEGLECT 
Untreated medical condition 
Untreated mental health problem(s) 
Bedsores 
Medications not taken as prescribed 
Malnourishment 
Dehydration 
Dirt, fleas, lice on person 
Fecal/urine smell 
Animal infested living quarters 

Insect infested living quarters 
No functioning toilet 
No heat, running water, electricity 
Homelessness 
Lacks needed supervision 
Lack of food or inadequate food 
Uneaten food over period of time 
Accumulated newspapers/debris 

Unpaid bills 
Inappropriate or inadequate clothing 
Needs but does not have glasses, 
hearing aide, teeth, prosthetic device 
Hazardous living conditions 
Soiled bedding/furniture 
Frequent moving 
House too hot or cold 

FINANCIAL EXPLOITATION 
Unexplained disappearance of funds or 
valuables 
Dependent relationship (i.e., adult child is 
financially dependent upon the older person 
or the older person is dependent for 
caregiving by the alleged abuser) 
Misuse of money or property by another 
person 
Transfer of property, savings, etc. 
Excessive payment for care and/or services 
Adult unaware of income amount 
Depleted bank account 
Sudden appearance of previously 
uninvolved relatives/friends 

Change in payee, power of attorney, will 
Caregiver is overly frugal 
Unexplained cash flow 
Unusual household composition 
Chronic failure to pay bills 
 

Personal belongings missing 
Adult is kept isolated 
Signature on check that does not 
resemble the adult’s signature 
Adult complains doesn’t know what 
happened to money 
Checks no longer come to house 
Adult reports signing papers and 
doesn’t know what was signed 
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2.47 Appendix J: Code of ethics 

The Adult Protective Services Worker is committed to the preservation of the 
older/incapacitated adult’s rights, safety, and life style to the greatest degree possible. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker accepts the older/incapacitated adult’s right to 
make decisions until he or she delegates that right to another person or a court grants 
that right to another. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker will respect the privacy of the older/incapacitated 
adult and hold in confidence all information obtained in the course of providing services, 
following law and Department policy. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker will represent the interest of the 
older/incapacitated adult when the interest of family, community, and others compete. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker will exercise due diligence in investigating reports 
and providing protection to older/incapacitated adults. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker will develop relationships with other 
professionals, agencies, and organizations to facilitate a multi-disciplinary approach to 
enhance the quality of protective services. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker will promote community awareness of the 
problem of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of older/incapacitated adults and will provide 
leadership to the community in responding to the problem. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker will participate in professional development 
opportunities and will be proficient in best practice methods of the profession. 

The Adult Protective Services Worker will participate in research and studies that 
expand the knowledge base needed to increase the effectiveness of Adult Protective 
Services. 

Approved by the State Board of Social Services              April 20, 1995 
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2.48 Appendix K: Sample letter to mandated reporter (intent to 
impose civil penalty) 

 
Dear: 
 
Based on § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia, you are a mandated reporter of 
suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation. This is to notify you of the (name of 
local department) Department of Social Services’ intent to request that a civil penalty 
be imposed on you for failure to meet your reporting requirements. 
 
Attached is a copy of the “Request to Impose Civil Penalty” form that identifies the 
incident you failed to report. This request has been submitted to the Commissioner of 
the Virginia Department of Social Services, who will review the request and determine 
the action to be taken. 
 
If imposed, the penalty for the first failure to report may be up to $500. The fine for 
subsequent failures will be not less than $100 or more than $1000. 
 
You may submit a written statement regarding your failure to report to the 
Commissioner. Your statement must be received within 45 days of the postmark of this 
letter. If your statement is received in a timely manner, the Commissioner will review 
your statement and the agency’s request to determine if a civil penalty will be imposed. 
You will receive a written notice of the Commissioner’s decision. 
 
The Commissioner’s address is: 
 

  (enter DSS home office address) 
 
 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
(Director) 
(Name of Local Department) 
(Address) 
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2.49 Appendix L: Chapter 16 (§§ 63.2-1603 through 63.2-1610) of Title 
63.2 of the Code of Virginia 

§ 63.2-1603. Protection of adults; definitions.  

As used in this article:  

"Adult" means any person 60 years of age or older, or any person 18 years of age or older 
who is incapacitated and who resides in the Commonwealth; provided, however, "adult" may 
include qualifying nonresidents who are temporarily in the Commonwealth and who are in 
need of temporary or emergency protective services.  

"Emergency" means that an adult is living in conditions that present a clear and substantial 
risk of death or immediate and serious physical harm to himself or others.  

"Incapacitated person" means any adult who is impaired by reason of mental illness, 
intellectual disability, physical illness or disability, advanced age or other causes to the extent 
that the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make, communicate or carry out 
responsible decisions concerning his or her well-being.  

 
§ 63.2-1604. Establishment of Adult Protective Services Unit; powers and duties.  

There is hereby created the Adult Protective Services Unit within the Adult Services Program 
in the Department, which, in coordination with adult protective services programs in the 
LDSS, shall have the following powers and duties:  

1. To support, strengthen, and evaluate adult protective services programs at local 
departments.  

2. To assist in developing and implementing programs to respond to and prevent adult abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation.  

3. To prepare, disseminate, and present educational programs and materials on adult abuse, 
neglect and exploitation to mandated reporters and the public.  

4. To establish minimum standards of training and provide educational opportunities to 
qualify service workers in the field of adult protective services to determine whether reports 
of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation are substantiated. The VDSS shall establish, and the 
Board shall approve, a uniform training program for adult protective services workers in the 
Commonwealth. All adult protective services workers shall complete such training within 
one year from the date of implementation of the training program or within the first year of 
their employment.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1604
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5. To develop policies and procedures to guide the work of persons in the field of adult 
protective services.  

6. To prepare and disseminate statistical information on adult protective services in Virginia. 

7. To operate the adult protective services 24-hour toll-free hotline and provide training and 
technical assistance to the hotline staff.  

8. To provide coordination among the adult protective services program and other state 
agencies.  

9. To work collaboratively with other agencies in the Commonwealth to facilitate the 
reporting and investigation of suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

 
§ 63.2-1605. Protective services for adults by local departments.  

A. Each local board, to the extent that federal or state matching funds are made available to 
each locality, shall provide, subject to supervision of the Commissioner and in accordance 
with regulations adopted by the Board, adult protective services for adults who are found to 
be abused, neglected, or exploited and who meet one of the following criteria: (i) the adult is 
60 years of age or older or (ii) the adult is 18 years of age or older and is incapacitated. The 
requirement to provide such services shall not limit the right of any individual to refuse to 
accept any of the services so offered, except as provided in § 63.2-1608.  

B. Upon receipt of the report pursuant to § 63.2-1606, the local department shall determine 
the validity of such report and shall initiate an investigation within 24 hours of the time the 
report is received in the local department. The local department shall consider valid any 
report meeting all of the following criteria: (i) the subject of the report is an adult as defined 
in this article, (ii) the report concerns a specific adult and there is enough information to 
locate the adult, and (iii) the report describes the circumstances of the alleged abuse, neglect, 
or exploitation.  

C. The local department shall refer any appropriate matter and all relevant documentation to 
the appropriate licensing, regulatory, or legal authority for administrative action or criminal 
investigation.  

D. If a local department is denied access to an adult for whom there is reason to suspect the 
need for adult protective services, then the local department may petition the circuit court for 
an order allowing access or entry or both. Upon a showing of good cause supported by an 
affidavit or testimony in person, the court may enter an order permitting such access or entry.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
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E. In any case of suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation, local departments, with the 
informed consent of the adult or his legal representative, shall take or cause to be taken 
photographs, video recordings, or appropriate medical imaging of the adult and his 
environment as long as such measures are relevant to the investigation and do not conflict 
with § 18.2-386.1. However, if the adult is determined to be incapable of making an 
informed decision and of giving informed consent and either has no legal representative or 
the legal representative is the suspected perpetrator of the adult abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation, consent may be given by an agent appointed under an advance medical directive 
or medical power of attorney, or by a person authorized, pursuant to § 54.1-2986. In the 
event no agent or authorized representative is immediately available then consent shall be 
deemed to be given.  

F. The local department shall foster the development, implementation, and coordination of 
adult protective services to prevent adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation.  

G. The local department shall not investigate allegations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 
adults incarcerated in state correctional facilities.  

H. The local department shall notify the local law-enforcement agency where the adult 
resides, or where the alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation took place, or if these places are 
unknown, then where the alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered, when in 
receipt of a report describing any of the following:  

1. Sexual abuse as defined in § 18.2-67.10;  

2. Death, serious bodily injury, or disease as defined in § 18.2-369 that is believed to be the 
result of abuse or neglect; or  

3. Any other criminal activity involving abuse or neglect that places the adult in imminent 
danger of death or serious bodily harm.  

I. The report and evidence received by the local department and any written findings, 
evaluations, records, and recommended actions shall be confidential and shall be exempt 
from disclosure requirements of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700), 
except that such information may be disclosed to persons having a legitimate interest in the 
matter in accordance with §§ 63.2-102 and 63.2-104 and pursuant to official interagency 
agreements or memoranda of understanding between state agencies.  

 
§ 63.2-1606. Protection of aged or incapacitated adults; mandated and voluntary reporting.  

A. Matters giving reason to suspect the abuse, neglect, or exploitation of adults shall be 
reported immediately upon the reporting person's determination that there is such reason to 
suspect. Medical facilities inspectors of the Department of Health are exempt from reporting 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-386.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2986
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-67.10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3700
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-102
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
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suspected abuse immediately while conducting federal inspection surveys in accordance with 
§ 1864 of Title XVIII and Title XIX of the Social Security Act, as amended, of certified 
nursing facilities as defined in § 32.1-123. Reports shall be made to the local department or 
the adult protective services hotline in accordance with requirements of this section by the 
following persons acting in their professional capacity:  

1. Any person licensed, certified, or registered by health regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-
2503, with the exception of persons licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine.  

2. Any mental health services provider as defined in § 54.1-2400.1.  

3. Any emergency medical services personnel certified by the Board of Health pursuant to § 
32.1-111.5, unless such personnel immediately reports the suspected abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation directly to the attending physician at the hospital to which the adult is 
transported, who shall make such report forthwith; 

4. Any guardian or conservator of an adult.  

5. Any person employed by or contracted with a public or private agency or facility and 
working with adults, in an administrative, supportive or direct care capacity.  

6. Any person providing full, intermittent or occasional care to an adult for compensation, 
including but not limited to, companion, chore, homemaker, and personal care workers.  

7. Any law-enforcement officer.  

B. The report shall be made in accordance with subsection A to the local department of the 
county or city wherein the adult resides or wherein the adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation is 
believed to have occurred or to the adult protective services hotline. Nothing in this section 
shall be construed to eliminate or supersede any other obligation to report as required by law. 
If a person required to report under this section receives information regarding abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation while providing professional services in a hospital, nursing facility or 
similar institution, then he may, in lieu of reporting, notify the person in charge of the 
institution or his designee, who shall report such information, in accordance with the 
institution's policies and procedures for reporting such matters, immediately upon his 
determination that there is reason to suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation. Any person 
required to make the report or notification required by this subsection shall do so either orally 
or in writing and shall disclose all information that is the basis for the suspicion of adult 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation. Upon request, any person required to make the report shall 
make available to the adult protective services worker and the local department investigating 
the reported case of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation any information, records or reports 
which document the basis for the report. All persons required to report suspected adult abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation shall cooperate with the investigating adult protective services worker 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-123
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2503
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2503
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2400.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-111.5
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of a local department and shall make information, records and reports which are relevant to 
the investigation available to such worker to the extent permitted by state and federal law. 
Criminal investigative reports received from law-enforcement agencies shall not be further 
disseminated by the investigating agency nor shall they be subject to public disclosure; such 
reports may, however, be disclosed to the Adult Fatality Team as provided in § 32.1-283.5 
and, if reviewed by the Team, shall be subject to all of the Teams confidentiality 
requirements.  

C. Any financial institution staff who suspects that an adult has been exploited financially 
may report such suspected exploitation to the local department of the county or city wherein 
the adult resides or wherein the exploitation is believed to have occurred or to the adult 
protective services hotline. For purposes of this section, financial institution staff means any 
employee of a bank, savings institution, credit union, securities firm, accounting firm, or 
insurance company.  

D. Any person other than those specified in subsection A who suspects that an adult is an 
abused, neglected, or exploited adult may report the matter to the local department of the 
county or city wherein the adult resides or wherein the abuse, neglect, or exploitation is 
believed to have occurred or to the adult protective services hotline.  

E. Any person who makes a report or provides records or information pursuant to subsection 
A, C or D, or who testifies in any judicial proceeding arising from such report, records or 
information, or who takes or causes to be taken with the adult's or the adult's legal 
representative's informed consent photographs, video recordings, or appropriate medical 
imaging of the adult who is subject of a report shall be immune from any civil or criminal 
liability on account of such report, records, information, photographs, video recordings, 
appropriate medical imaging or testimony, unless such person acted in bad faith or with a 
malicious purpose.  

F. An employer of a mandated reporter shall not prohibit a mandated reporter from reporting 
directly to the LDSS or to the adult protective services hotline. Employers whose employees 
are mandated reporters shall notify employees upon hiring of the requirement to report.  

G. Any person 14 years of age or older who makes or causes to be made a report of adult 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation that he knows to be false shall be guilty of a Class 4 
misdemeanor. Any subsequent conviction of this provision shall be a Class 2 misdemeanor.  

H. Any person who fails to make a required report or notification pursuant to subsection A 
shall be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $500 for the first failure and not less than 
$100 nor more than $1,000 for any subsequent failures. Civil penalties under subdivision A, 
7 shall be determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, in its discretion. All other civil 
penalties under this section shall be determined by the Commissioner or his designee. The 
Board shall establish by regulation a process for imposing and collecting civil penalties, and 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-283.5
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a process for appeal of the imposition of such penalty pursuant to § 2.2-4026 of the 
Administrative Process Act.  

I. Any mandated reporter who has reasonable cause to suspect that an adult died as a result of 
abuse or neglect shall immediately report such suspicion to the appropriate medical examiner 
and to the appropriate law-enforcement agency, notwithstanding the existence of a death 
certificate signed by a licensed physician. The medical examiner and the law-enforcement 
agency shall receive the report and determine if an investigation is warranted. The medical 
examiner may order an autopsy. If an autopsy is conducted, the medical examiner shall report 
the findings to law enforcement, as appropriate, and to the local department or to the adult 
protective services hotline.  

J. No person or entity shall be obligated to report any matter if the person or entity has actual 
knowledge that the same matter has already been reported to the local department or to the 
adult protective services hotline.  

K. All law-enforcement departments and other state and local departments, agencies, 
authorities and institutions shall cooperate with each adult protective services worker of an 
LDSS in the detection, investigation, and prevention of adult abuse, neglect, and exploitation.  

 
§ 63.2-1608. Involuntary adult protective services.  

A. If an adult lacks the capacity to consent to receive adult protective services, these services 
may be ordered by a court on an involuntary basis through an emergency order pursuant to § 
63.2-1609 or by a guardian or conservator appointed pursuant to Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et 
seq.) of Title 64.2.  

B. In ordering involuntary adult protective services, the court shall authorize only that 
intervention which it finds to be least restrictive of the adult's liberty and rights, while 
consistent with his welfare and safety. The basis for such finding shall be stated in the record 
by the court.  

C. The adult shall not be required to pay for involuntary adult protective services, unless such 
payment is authorized by the court upon a showing that the person is financially able to pay. 
In such event, the court shall provide for reimbursement of the actual costs incurred by the 
local department in providing adult protective services, excluding administrative costs.  

 
§ 63.2-1609. Emergency order for adult protective services. 

A. Upon petition by the local department to the circuit court, the court may issue an order 
authorizing the provision of adult protective services on an emergency basis to an adult after 
finding on the record, based on a preponderance of the evidence, that:  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4026
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1608
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC64020000020000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1609
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1. The adult is incapacitated.  

2. An emergency exists. 

3. The adult lacks the capacity to consent to receive adult protective services.  

4. The proposed order is substantially supported by the findings of the local department that 
has investigated the case, or if not so supported, there are compelling reasons for ordering 
services.  

B. In issuing an emergency order, the court shall adhere to the following limitations:  

1. Only such adult protective services as are necessary to improve or correct the conditions 
creating the emergency shall be ordered, and the court shall designate the approved services 
in its order. When ordering adult protective services, the court shall consider the right of a 
person to rely on non-medical remedial treatment in accordance with a recognized religious 
method of healing in lieu of medical care.  

2. The court shall specifically find in the emergency order whether hospitalization or a 
change of residence is necessary. Approval of the hospitalization or change of residence shall 
be stated in the order. No adult may be committed to a mental health facility under this 
section.  

3. Adult protective services may be provided through an appropriate court order only for a 
period of 15 days. The original order may be renewed once for a five-day period upon a 
showing to the court that continuation of the original order is necessary to remove the 
emergency.  

4. In its order, the court shall appoint the petitioner or another interested person, as temporary 
guardian of the adult with responsibility for the adult's welfare and authority to give consent 
for the adult for the approved adult protective services until the expiration of the order.  

5. The issuance of an emergency order and the appointment of a temporary guardian shall not 
deprive the adult of any rights except to the extent provided for in the order or appointment. 

C. The petition for an emergency order shall set forth the name, address, and interest of the 
petitioner; the name, age and address of the adult in need of adult protective services; the 
nature of the emergency; the nature of the adult's incapacity, if determinable; the proposed 
adult protective services; the petitioner's reasonable belief, together with facts supportive 
thereof, as to the existence of the facts stated in subdivisions A 1 through A 4; and facts 
showing the petitioner's attempts to obtain the adult's consent to the services and the 
outcomes of such attempts.  
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D. Written notice of the time, date and place for the hearing shall be given to the adult, to his 
spouse, or if none, to his nearest known next of kin, and a copy of the petition shall be 
attached. Such notice shall be given at least 24 hours prior to the hearing for emergency 
intervention. The court may waive the 24-hour notice requirement upon showing that (i) 
immediate and reasonably foreseeable physical harm to the adult or others will result from 
the 24-hour delay, and (ii) reasonable attempts have been made to notify the adult, his 
spouse, or if none, his nearest known next of kin.  

E. Upon receipt of a petition for an emergency order for adult protective services, the court 
shall hold a hearing. The adult who is the subject of the petition shall have the right to be 
present and be represented by counsel at the hearing. If it is determined that the adult is 
indigent, or, in the determination of the judge, lacks capacity to waive the right to counsel, 
the court shall locate and appoint a guardian ad litem. If the adult is indigent, the cost of the 
proceeding shall be borne by the Commonwealth. If the adult is not indigent, the court may 
order that the cost of the proceeding shall be borne by such adult. This hearing shall be held 
no earlier than 24 hours after the notice required in subsection D has been given, unless such 
notice has been waived by the court.  

F. The adult, the temporary guardian, or any interested person may petition the court to have 
the emergency order set aside or modified at any time there is evidence that a substantial 
change in the circumstances of the adult for whom the emergency services were ordered has 
occurred.  

G. Where adult protective services are rendered on the basis of an emergency order, the 
temporary guardian shall submit to the court a report describing the circumstances thereof 
including the name, place, date and nature of the services provided. This report shall become 
part of the court record. Such report shall be confidential and open only to such persons as 
may be directed by the court.  

H. If the person continues to need adult protective services after the renewal order provided 
in subdivision B 3 has expired, the temporary guardian or the local department shall 
immediately petition the court to appoint a guardian pursuant to Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et 
seq.) of Title 64.2.  

 
§ 63.2-1610. Voluntary adult protective services.  

A. The local department shall provide or arrange for protective services if the adult requests 
or affirmatively consents to receive these services. If the adult withdraws or refuses consent, 
the services shall not be provided.  

B. No person shall interfere with the provision of adult protective services to an (i) adult who 
requests or consents to receive such services, or (ii) for whom consent has been lawfully 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC64020000020000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1610
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given. In the event that interference occurs on a continuing basis, the director may petition 
the court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin such interference.  

C. The actual costs incurred by the local department in providing adult protective services 
shall be borne by the local department, unless the adult or his representative agrees to pay for 
them or a court orders the local department to receive reasonable reimbursement for the adult 
protective services, excluding administrative costs, from the adult's assets after a finding that 
the adult is financially able to make such payment. 
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2.50 Appendix M: Code of Virginia, criminal abuse or neglect of 
incapacitated adults 

(§ 18.2-369). Abuse and neglect of incapacitated adults; penalty. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any responsible person to abuse or neglect any incapacitated adult 
as defined in this section. Any responsible person who abuses or neglects an incapacitated 
adult in violation of this section and the abuse or neglect does not result in serious bodily 
injury or disease to the incapacitated adult shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Any 
responsible person who is convicted of a second or subsequent offense under this subsection 
shall be guilty of a Class 6 felony.  

B. Any responsible person who abuses or neglects an incapacitated adult in violation of this 
section and the abuse or neglect results in serious bodily injury or disease to the incapacitated 
adult shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony. Any responsible person who abuses or neglects an 
incapacitated adult in violation of this section and the abuse or neglect results in the death of 
the incapacitated adult is guilty of a Class 3 felony. 

C. For purposes of this section:  

"Abuse" means (i) knowing and willful conduct that causes physical injury or pain or (ii) 
knowing and willful use of physical restraint, including confinement, as punishment, for 
convenience or as a substitute for treatment, except where such conduct or physical restraint, 
including confinement, is a part of care or treatment and is in furtherance of the health and 
safety of the incapacitated person.  

"Incapacitated adult" means any person 18 years or older who is impaired by reason of 
mental illness, intellectual disability, physical illness or disability, advanced age or other 
causes to the extent the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make, 
communicate or carry out reasonable decisions concerning his well-being.  

"Neglect" means the knowing and willful failure by a responsible person to provide 
treatment, care, goods or services which results in injury to the health or endangers the safety 
of an incapacitated adult.  

"Responsible person" means a person who has responsibility for the care, custody, or control 
of an incapacitated person by operation of law or who has assumed such responsibility 
voluntarily, by contract or in fact.  

"Serious bodily injury or disease" shall include but not be limited to (i) disfigurement, (ii) 
fracture, (iii) severe burn or laceration, (iv) mutilation, (v) maiming, or (vi) life-threatening 
internal injuries or conditions, whether or not caused by trauma.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
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2.51 Appendix N: APS investigation photography guidelines  

(§ 63.2-1605 of the Code of Virginia). In any case of suspected adult abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation, local departments, with the informed consent of the adult or his legal 
representative, shall take or cause to be taken photographs, video recordings, or appropriate 
medical imaging of the adult and his environment as long as such measures are relevant to 
the investigation and do not conflict with § 18.2-386.1. However, if the adult is determined to 
be incapable of making an informed decision and of giving informed consent and either has 
no legal representative or the legal representative is the suspected perpetrator of the adult 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation, consent may be given by an agent appointed under an 
advance medical directive or medical power of attorney, or by a person authorized, pursuant 
to § 54.1-2986. In the event no agent or authorized representative is immediately available 
then consent shall be deemed to be given.  

2.51.1 Photographs taken during investigations  

• Prior to taking any photographs during the course of an APS investigation, the 
APS worker shall document all efforts to obtain consent from the adult or his 
or her legal representative. Written consent is recommended and the form 
“Consent for Photography for Adult Protective Services (APS) Investigation” 
may be used. The consent form is located on the DSS internal website. 

• If an APS worker takes photographs during an APS investigation, one or 
more photographs should be printed for inclusion in the hard copy case 
record (if available). All of the photographs do not need to be printed. One or 
two photographs may suffice but should clearly represent the injury or the 
situation which prompted the investigation. At least one (1) photograph should 
be an overall photograph that identifies the adult. The hard copy case record 
photographs should be large enough to be easily viewed. Each photograph or 
page of photographs should be labeled with the APS worker’s name, the 
ASAPS case ID, date of the APS report, and the date the photograph was 
taken. 

• After downloading photographs from the camera, all photographs should be 
stored on a CD. Photographs taken by the APS worker will be put on that CD 
and placed in the adult’s hard copy case record (if available). Each CD should 
be identified with the adult’s ASAPS case ID, date of the APS report, and the 
date the photographs were taken. If a hard copy case record is not available, 
the CD should be stored in a secure location. If the APS worker leaves his or 
her position in the APS program, the CD will be given to the APS supervisor. 

• Under no circumstances should photographs be stored on a computer hard 
drive or on any network drive. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1605
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-386.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2986
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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• Photographs cannot be digitally altered. 

• The LDSS may share the photographs with licensing, regulatory, or legal 
authority for administrative action or criminal investigation when appropriate. 
If sharing photographs electronically, the files shall be encrypted to ensure 
confidentiality. 

2.51.2 Cases going to court  

• If the photographs will be used in court, the photographs should be printed on 
photo paper with the size to be determined in consultation with the attorney 
representing the agency. Cases going to court should have all the 
photographs printed and each photograph or page of photographs should be 
labeled with the APS worker’s name, the ASAPS case ID, the date of the APS 
report, and the date the photographs were taken. 

2.51.3 Equipment 

• Digital cameras are recommended. The type of camera an LDSS selects 
should be based on price and ease of use. The camera should be able to 
produce good quality 8X10 images. A padded camera case is recommended 
to prolong the life of the camera. 

• Each LDSS APS unit should have a camera. APS units should consider 
making backup arrangements with the CPS unit to ensure a camera is 
available when needed. 

• A color printer is recommended for printing photographs. Photo paper should 
be used when the photographs are to be used in court. 
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3 
ADULT SERVICES CASE MANAGEMENT 

 
 
 

3.1 Case management 

The case management process is a systematic approach essential to effective service 
delivery that actively involves the service worker, the adult, and the adult’s family in 
developing, achieving, and maintaining meaningful goals. The purpose of case 
management in Adult Services is to structure the service worker's focus and activities to 
assist the adult in reaching his or her goals and to assure that the adult receives 
appropriate services in a timely manner.  

3.2 Definitions  

The following words and terms are defined in state regulation and the Code of Virginia. 
When used in this chapter, they shall have the following meaning, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

Term Definition 

Auxiliary Grants 
Program 

A state and locally funded assistance program to supplement 
income of a Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipient or 
adult who would be eligible for SSI except for excess income, 
who resides in an assisted living facility or in adult foster care 
with an approved rate (22 VAC 40-25-10). 

Department 
(VDSS) 

The Virginia Department of Social Services (22 VAC 40-740-
10). 

Direct Service Services provided to adults directly by local social services staff 
(22 VAC 40-780-10). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-25-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-780-10
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Term Definition 

Eligibility 
Determination 

The process of deciding whether an individual or family meets 
the criteria for receiving a service (22 VAC 40-780-10). 

Local 
Department 
(LDSS) 

Any local department of social services in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Purchased 
Service 

Services provided by paid resource other than local social 
services staff (22 VAC 40-780-10). 

Service Worker The worker responsible for case management or service 
coordination and meeting the Department's requirements for the 
provision of services. 

SSI 
(Supplemental 
Security Income) 

A federal cash transfer program to help assure individuals a 
minimum income. Begun in 1974, SSI replaced the federal-state 
assistance program for the low-income aged, blind, and 
disabled that was originally established under the Social 
Security Act of 1935. 

Universal 
Access 

The provision of services without regard to income or 
membership in an income maintenance group (22 VAC 40-780-
10). 

3.3 Confidentiality 

The Code of Virginia and federal laws and regulations require that an individual’s 
information be kept confidential. With certain APS program exceptions, the adult shall 
give written permission before information may be obtained from other sources or given 
to another person or agency. The form, entitled Consent to Exchange Information is 
located on the VDSS internal website and should be used when sharing information. 
See Chapter 6, “Confidentiality” for additional information on confidentiality. 

3.4 Adult services intake 

Intake services provide an initial access point for services provided by the LDSS. Upon 
determining that there is no valid APS report, the worker proceeds with the adult 
services intake process. The initial contact may be made by telephone, office visit, 
and/or through a referral from another agency. Services provided may include 
information and referral, initial screening and assessment, crisis intervention, and 
assistance with emergency needs if indicated by the case situation or assessment. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-780-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-780-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-780-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-780-10
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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3.4.1 Information and referral 

Information and referral is one way to handle a request for services. Providing 
information and referral helps the individual locate and use resources to meet his or 
her needs. Any adult is eligible for information and referral assistance, regardless of 
income or eligibility for benefit or service programs.  

Situations that may be handled by providing information and referral may include: 

• The adult asks for information only. 

• The service about which the adult inquires is provided by another 
organization or program. 

An ASAPS case is not opened for information and referral. If assistance is needed 
beyond information and referral, the adult may complete a Service Application. 

3.4.1.1 Information 

The service worker provides information on the availability, accessibility, and 
use of resources. This may be all the individual needs to make his or her own 
arrangements to access a resource. 

3.4.1.2 Referral 

The service worker contacts a resource and helps the adult arrange to receive 
the needed service. This is appropriate for individuals who are unable to use 
the information without additional help. 

The Statewide Information and Referral (I&R) System, also known as 211, 
provides citizens of the Commonwealth with free and confidential information 
and referral to health and human service resources. To access 211, individuals 
may dial “211” on their phone or visit the 211 website.  

3.5 Application for adult services 

Anyone may apply for services. There shall be no requirement as to citizenship or 
length of residence in the jurisdiction. The application may be requested in person, by 
mail, or by telephone. Telephone calls to the LDSS are not considered an “application” 
unless the LDSS started a department-initiated application. A Service Application is 
available on the following VDSS websites:  

Internal Website  

Public Site 

http://www.211virginia.org/211provider/consumer/index211.do
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/servtoadult.cgi
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3.5.1 LDSS responsibilities 

• LDSS shall accept all applications. 

• Eligibility shall be determined as promptly as possible. LDSS shall notify the 
individual of its decision or lack of decision promptly but no later than 45 days 
after the application is received. 

• An individual shall be given the opportunity to complete a service application 
on the day services are requested. An application requested by mail or 
telephone shall be mailed the same day. The individual should be informed 
that applications are also available on the VDSS public website. 

• Assistance with completing the application shall be given if the individual 
requests assistance. A home visit may be necessary if the individual is unable 
to get to the department. If the individual is capable, the worker shall discuss 
the service request with the individual to ensure that the services requested or 
applied for are desired by the individual.   

• The following shall be explained at intake: 

o How eligibility is determined. 

o Rights and responsibilities of the individual applying for services. Rights 
and responsibilities are listed on the service application. 

• The individual shall be referred for financial assistance when appropriate. 

3.5.2 Service application initiated by the individual 

If the individual or authorized representative applies for services, a service 
application shall be completed.  

The application may be initiated as pending or approved. The term "case" refers only 
to an approved case. Until approval, it is considered a pending application. 

3.5.3 LDSS-initiated service application 

The service application may be initiated by the LDSS for any of the following 
reasons: 

• When the applicant is unable to sign the application or is incapacitated; 

• A request for services is made from another agency or individual within or 
outside of the Commonwealth; or 
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• The application may be taken and processed by a service vendor if the 
agreement/contract with the vendor specifies this responsibility. 

Service applications are not required for case type “ALF Reassessment” if the only 
service provided is the annual reassessment or case type “Guardian Report” if the 
only service provided is the review of the Annual Report of the Guardian (Note: the 
Application Date for the Case Info screen in ASAPS would be the date the case 
information is received in the LDSS). If additional services are provided beyond the 
service required for each of these case types, a signed service application shall be 
obtained. For additional information on case types see Section 3.11. 

3.5.4 Date of application 

The date of application is one of following:  

• The day the completed and signed Service Application or program-specific 
form is received by the LDSS.  

• The date of the receipt of a valid Adult Protective Services (APS) Report. The 
report serves as the application until a disposition is made. If the disposition is 
“Needs Protective Services and Accepts”, the worker will obtain a signed and 
dated application from the individual or his representative or the worker will 
complete a department-initiated application. 

• The date a vendor receives the application, when the vendor is responsible, 
per the agreement/contract, for receiving the service application and 
determining eligibility. 

3.5.5  When a new application is needed 

A new application is needed only when a case is properly closed and the individual 
wishes to reapply. It is not to be taken when a new service is added to an open case 
or when the basis of eligibility for service changes. 

3.6 Determining eligibility and opening a case 

A service case is opened based on eligibility, determination of need, and the availability 
and intent to deliver the service. Financial eligibility requirements as designated by local 
social services boards in local policy shall be considered. 

3.6.1 Target populations and criteria 

An adult who receives Adult Services (i.e., companion, chore, or homemaker 
services, adult day services, or adult foster care) shall fall within one of the target 
populations and meet one of the following criteria: 
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• Be 60 years of age or older; or 

• Be 18 years of age or older and be impaired.  

“Impaired” means as any person whose physical or mental capacity is diminished to 
the extent that he needs counseling or supervisory assistance, or assistance with 
activities of daily living such as feeding, bathing, and walking or instrumental 
activities of daily living such as shopping and money management.   

An individual does not need to be determined eligible for SSA, SSI, or SSDI benefits 
prior to receiving services from the LDSS. 

Adult protective services are provided to incapacitated adults 18 years of age or over 
and adults 60 years of age or over who are abused, neglected or exploited or at risk 
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.  

“Incapacitated person” is defined as: 

(22 VAC 40-740-10). Any adult who is impaired by reason of mental illness, intellectual 
disability, physical illness or disability, advanced age or other causes to the extent that the 
adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make, communicate or carry out 
reasonable decisions concerning his or her well-being. This definition is for the purpose 
of establishing an adult's eligibility for adult protective services and such adult may or 
may not have been found incapacitated through court procedures. 

3.6.2 Case opening procedures 

To open a case to Adult Services, proper procedures shall be followed regarding 
ASAPS and Notice of Action. See the ASAPS-Robo Help on the VDSS internal 
website.  

3.6.3 Notification 

The LDSS shall notify the individual of application decisions promptly, but no later 
than 45 days after the application is received. 

3.7  Financial eligibility 

Eligibility for services shall be determined by a service worker or a volunteer under the 
supervision of a service worker. Eligibility is documented on the General Information 
screen in ASAPS.  

To receive services an individual or family shall be found eligible in one of three 
categories: 

• Universal Access 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dis/asaps/
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• Income Maintenance 

• Eligibility Based on Income 

3.7.1 Universal access 

Individuals receiving services under universal access are eligible for services without 
regard to income. The LDSS may elect to provide all direct services on a universal 
access basis. Certain purchased services are universal access, depending on APS 
program requirements and local board policy. The LDSS may choose one of two 
options in providing direct services on a universal access basis: 

• All individuals needing direct services may be served on a universal access 
basis.  

• Only individuals needing the following services/components may be served 
on a universal access basis.  

o APS. 

o Services provided to elderly and incapacitated adults at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation. 

3.7.2 Income maintenance 

Individuals are eligible for services in this category because they receive SSI or 
Auxiliary Grant. The applicable direct and purchased services available in this 
category are those provided by the LDSS within the limits set by the local board. 
Income verifications are recorded in the “Eligibility/Income” section on the General 
Information screen in ASAPS. 

3.7.2.1 Verification of receipt of income maintenance 

• The service worker views written verification or verifies the SSA income 
information by accessing SVES, SOLQ, or the SDX listing.   

• Auxiliary Grant eligibility should be verified by Benefit Programs staff at 
the LDSS that processed the individual’s AG application.  

3.7.3 Eligibility based on income  

Eligibility in this category is determined by measuring the gross income and the 
number in the family unit against the State Median Income (SMI) chart. The SMI is 
issued by a Broadcast each year prior to September 1st. The SMI chart is also 
available within the “Eligibility/Income” section on the General Information screen in 
ASAPS and the VDSS internal website. The local board of social services selects 
the percentage cut-off point used and records this decision in the board minutes. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/smi_charts.cgi
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The applicable direct and purchased services available to this broad category are 
those provided by the LDSS within limits set by the local board. Verifications are 
recorded in the “Eligibility/Income” section on the General Information screen in 
ASAPS.  

Example of completed eligibility/income section in ASAPS: 

 

3.7.3.1 Verification of income eligibility and determination of monthly 
income 

• Count only income (not resources). Income counted or excluded is listed 
in Appendix B. Income shall be verified, and the individual is expected to 
assist with the verification process. To obtain a monthly income, multiply 
a weekly income by 4 and 1/3. 

• To verify income, viewing of recent written verification is acceptable.  

o If income fluctuates, the amount should be averaged over a period 
sufficient to take fluctuations into consideration. Usually three (3) 
months is sufficient; however, for farm income or seasonal 
employment, a year may be necessary. 

o Accept an individual’s statement (preferably in writing) that he or 
she has no income unless there is reason to doubt the statement. 

3.7.3.2 Family size and income   

• For the AS/APS program, the family is the basic unit for social services 
delivery. Family means any individual adult, spouses or adult(s) who 
function as a family unit. 
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• For purposes of determining financial eligibility, base the family size on 
the number of family members in the case (see Section 3.7.3.3). 

• Count the income from those family members as well as income 
received from any legally responsible adult who may not be living in the 
family. Count income from family members temporarily absent from the 
household for whom the family claims financial responsibility for tax 
purposes. 

3.7.3.3 Case composition 

For purposes of opening a case in ASAPS, each individual has a separate 
case. For example, if one spouse needs companion services and the other 
spouse does not, a case would only be opened on the spouse needing 
services. If both spouses needed services, two separate cases would be 
opened in ASAPS.  

However, when determining eligibility, spouses are considered a family of two 
and this should be reflected in the section “Number in Family Unit” in the 
Income/Eligibility section of the General Information screen.   

Adult children are always a considered a family of one. Common narrative can 
be linked through “Linked person” function in ASAPS (see ASAPS-Robo Help). 

3.7.3.4 Use of the Median Income Chart 

The State Median Income (SMI) Chart identifies the maximum income levels by 
family size by percentage of median income. Except for special condition 
groups, the maximum percentage of median income is 50 percent. If a local 
board decides to limit the incremental percentage below 50 percent for any 
service, the percent selected shall be documented in local board minutes or in 
local board approved policy. 

Twenty percent above the selected SMI percentage is used for individuals with 
a disability including individuals who are blind, deaf, have an intellectual 
disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, or autism. Adults at risk of institutionalization 
may be included at local option.  

3.7.3.5 Effective dates and annual redetermination dates 

The effective date is the date that the service began for the currently eligibility 
period. The effective date for Universal Access is usually the date of the service 
application and the date that financial eligibility conditions are established for 
Income Maintenance and Eligibility Based on Income cases. The annual 
redetermination date is one year and one day less than the effective date. 
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• Example: Effective date is 1/5/12.  Annual redetermination date is 
1/4/13. 

 

 

See Section 3.18 for information on redetermination of eligibility. 

3.8 Fraud 

The LDSS shall explain to individuals applying for Adult Services the importance of 
providing accurate and thorough information and of notifying the LDSS of changes 
during service delivery. Anyone who causes the LDSS to make an improper vendor 
payment by withholding information or by providing false information may be required to 
repay the amount of the improper payment. Section 63.2-522 of the Code of Virginia 
deems any person guilty of larceny who obtains assistance or benefits by means of a 
willful false statement or who knowingly fails to notify the LDSS of a change in 
circumstances that could affect eligibility for assistance. Individuals deemed guilty of 
larceny, upon conviction, are subject to penalties as specified in the § 18.2-95 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

3.9 Assessment process  

3.9.1 Basis 

The assessment process is a mutual process between the service worker and the 
adult that begins at intake. Completing the assessment is the first step in service 
planning. The purpose of assessment is to determine whether the adult is in need of 
services, and, if so, to identify what services are needed. Assessment should take 
place throughout the entire case management process and is essential to service 
planning. When an individual applies for a service, a preliminary assessment shall 
be made to determine the presenting issue(s) or immediate need(s). The 
assessment is to continue on a mutual basis between the individual and service 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-522
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-95
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worker in order to document further service needs as a basis for the setting of long-
range service objectives, the selection of services to fulfill those objectives, and the 
choices of resources to be used. These activities will be reflected in the completed 
service plan. 

3.9.2 The Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) 

The UAI is used by public human services agencies in the Commonwealth to assess 
adults for service needs and service eligibility. The definitions used and procedures 
for completing the UAI are found in the User's Manual: Virginia Uniform Assessment 
Instrument. The User’s Manual and the UAI are available on the VDSS internal 
website. 

The UAI is also found in ASAPS (see ASAPS-Robo Help) and may be printed as 
needed. 

The following are guidelines for use of the UAI by an LDSS: 

• At a minimum, the following five areas shall be addressed in the assessment 
process: the individual’s physical health, psychosocial status, functional 
abilities, support systems, and physical environment. The UAI provides a 
format that assesses each area.  

• If, during an assessment, it is determined that the individual is being abused, 
neglected, or exploited or is at risk of being abused, neglected, or exploited, 
an APS report shall be made and APS procedures followed according to 
Chapter 2. 

• The entire UAI shall be completed for any purchased services including 
home-based services (companion, chore, and homemaker), and adult day 
services. When the entire UAI is completed, the worker has met the 
assessment requirements for the development of the service plan for an Adult 
Services case. In an Adult Protective Services case, an assessment to 
determine the need for protective services is required (see Chapter 2). If 
services are provided after the determination of the protective services needs, 
the entire UAI shall be completed.  

• The UAI shall be completed in its entirety for nursing facility preadmission 
screening. For nursing facility preadmission screenings, the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) will accept a UAI with the initial 
assessment and only one reassessment.  

• The UAI shall be completed for assisted living facility (ALF) assessments per 
guidance in the Assisted Living Facility Assessment Manual.  

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/manual.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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• For case types AS (Adult Services) and AS – Intensive Services that are NOT 
purchased services (e.g., assisting with SSI or Social Security issues), the 
short form of the UAI (pages 1 through 4) shall be completed. When using the 
short form, the worker shall ensure that all required assessment areas (e.g., 
physical health, psychosocial status, etc.) are addressed.  

• The UAI shall be used for reassessments. The term "Reassessment" and 
date shall be noted on the front of the UAI to indicate that it has been used for 
this purpose. When using the UAI in ASAPS, follow the instructions in ASAPS 
Robo Help for placing a copy of the UAI in “History” and revising the current 
UAI. 

• For ALF assessments and reassessments and nursing facility preadmission 
screenings, the original UAI should be sent to the facility in which the 
individual will reside.  

• The UAI is not required for case type “Guardian Report” if review of the 
guardian report is the only reason the case has been opened. 

3.9.3 Required assessment areas 

Assessments shall be performed in all of the five following areas for all adult 
services cases. Completion of the UAI meets this requirement. Additional 
assessments may be necessary as determined by the worker. 

3.9.3.1 Physical environment (section 1 of UAI) 

An assessment of the individual’s physical environment provides information 
about safety and health risks. When assessing the physical environment, the 
worker should consider: 

• An evaluation of the dwelling for structural soundness, safety hazards, 
utilities, cleanliness, and barriers to mobility or use. 

• Identification of type and feasibility of needed improvements or changes 
to the individual’s environment. 

3.9.3.2 Functional status (section 2 of UAI) 

An assessment of the individual’s ability to manage activities of daily living 
(ADLs) and instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs) shall be made when 
assessing an individual’s need for services. Some areas to consider when 
assessing functional capacity include: 

• The physical, emotional, and cognitive status of the individual, assessing 
how well he or she performs the various ADL tasks including bathing, 
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dressing, eating/feeding, toileting, transferring in and out of a bed or 
chair, and maintaining continence. 

• The physical, emotional, and cognitive status of the individual, assessing 
how well he or she performs the various IADL tasks which include meal 
preparation, housework, laundry, shopping, transportation, money 
management, using the telephone, and/or home maintenance. 

3.9.3.3 Physical health assessment (section 3 of the UAI) 

The assessment of physical health may be based on the individual’s reports of 
illness, disabilities, and symptoms, the individual’s friends or family members, 
the individual’s physician with an authorized release of information, other 
contacts or records, or based on worker observations. Some areas to consider 
when assessing physical health include: 

• The individual’s current medical condition, including any diagnosis or 
prognosis available, and any services being used. 

• Symptoms observed by the worker that may not have been diagnosed or 
treated, including signs of physical injury. 

• The number and type of medication(s) the individual is currently taking 
(prescription and non-prescription) and whether medication is being 
prescribed by multiple physicians. (Note: The worker may ask to see 
medication containers to get more accurate information.) 

• Diet and eating habits (nutrition). 

• The individual’s general appearance and whether it is consistent with the 
adult's circumstances and environment. 

• The adult's need for assistive devices (e.g., eyeglasses, hearing aids, 
dentures, mobility aid to compensate for physical impairments, etc.). 

3.9.3.4 Psychosocial (mental health) assessment (section 4 of the UAI) 

The worker's assessment of an individual’s psychological functioning cannot 
take the place of a formal clinical evaluation. However, the worker's findings 
may suggest that a psychiatric problem is present and contributing to the 
individual’s need for services. This assessment can also provide the worker 
with documentation for recommending a more complete assessment by health 
professionals to rule out organic and/or physical causes of psychological 
symptoms. Some areas to consider when assessing psychosocial status 
include: 
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• Evidence that the individual is lonely, isolated, or lacking stimulation. 

• The individual’s perceived emotional or behavioral condition(s). 

• Any manifestations of emotional, mental, or behavioral problems (e.g., 
insomnia, nightmares, crying spells, depression, agitation, unusual fears, 
thoughts, or perceptions, delusions, hallucinations, etc.). 

• Any major life change/crisis in the past year (e.g., death of a significant 
person, divorce, loss of income, a move, an illness, institutional 
placement, etc.). 

• A suspected untreated mental illness where the individual likely needs, 
but is not receiving, psychotropic medications or other appropriate 
treatment. 

• Use of any psychotropic medication(s), who prescribed them, and for 
what purpose. 

• The individual’s orientation to person, place, and time as well as memory 
and judgment capacity. 

3.9.3.5 Support systems (sections 1, 4, and 5 of the UAI) 

The support systems assessment includes an assessment of the individual’s 
family and community support system. It is important that the worker identify 
those family, friends, neighbors, faith-based, and other voluntary groups and 
formal supports that comprise the individual’s social network. Some areas to 
consider when assessing support system(s) include:  

• Any strong dynamics among family members/caregiver(s)/formal support 
systems as related to the care of the individual. 

• Frequency and quality of contacts from informal and formal support 
systems. 

• Social contacts and activities the individual has in the community and 
changes in the pattern of these contacts. 

3.10 The service plan 

A service plan will be initiated that includes the services to be provided, resources to be 
used to meet the presenting or immediate problem area(s), and an identification of initial 
target dates. The Service Plan may be printed from ASAPS. It is recommended that the 
adult or the adult’s representative sign a completed service plan. 
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3.10.1 Service plan requirements 

• The Service Plan Screen in ASAPS shall be used (see ASAPS Robo Help for 
details) when developing a service plan.  

• Service plans are not required for case types “ALF Reassessment” and 
“Guardian Report” if the ALF reassessment or the review of the guardianship 
report is the only service provided.  

• A case in which the only service being offered is a preadmission screening is 
not required to have a service plan.  If the adult will be receiving other 
services and the case will remain open, a service plan is required.  

• The details in the service plan will vary according to the individual’s situation 
and will be based on the assessment of the individual’s strengths and needs. 

• Within 60 days of the date of eligibility, the service plan shall be entered into 
ASAPS. Service plans are formulated jointly between the individual and the 
service worker as well as the individual’s family, when appropriate. 

• The service plan shall address the long-term and short-term needs of the 
adult. Components of the plan include:   

o Goal(s).  

o Unmet need(s).  

o Objective(s). 

o Task(s) (e.g., services to be provided, service-related activities, 
resources to be used). 

o Target dates for meeting objectives.   

o Evaluation of services once tasks are completed.  

3.10.2 Goals, unmet needs, objectives, tasks, and target dates 

3.10.2.1 Goals  

The following are goals for Adult Services cases: 

• To assist the individual to remain in his or her own home as long as 
possible provided that this is the most appropriate plan of care. 

• To restore or retain the individual’s independent functioning to the 
greatest extent possible. 
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• To assist in arranging out-of-home placement when that is appropriate 
and the individual or the guardian consents. 

Other goals as deemed appropriate may be described on the hard copy of the 
service plan when printed.  

3.10.2.2 Unmet needs 

An unmet need is an identified need that is not currently being met in a way that 
assures the safety and welfare of the adult. Unmet needs appear in section 5 
(Assessment Summary) of the UAI.  They are identified after the completion of 
the assessment and should correspond to the unmet needs identified in the 
services plan. Unmet needs are listed in ASAPS as follows:  

 

3.10.2.3 Objectives 

• Objectives should reflect the consensus of the individual, the individual’s 
family (where appropriate), and service worker regarding the desired 
outcome(s) of service delivery. Objectives and services selected should 
be relevant to the goal.  

• Each objective shall state clearly WHAT will happen in order to 
accomplish the goal(s). 

• Objectives should be: 

o Identified by the individual or representative and worker to eliminate 
or diminish identified unmet need(s). 

o Supportive of the goal(s) selected. 
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o Stated in terms of measurable result(s) to be achieved or desired 
outcome(s). 

o As behaviorally specific as possible.  

o Updated as the individual’s situation changes. 

 Example of an objective: To assist client in obtaining medical 
care to manage health issues. 

3.10.2.4 Tasks 

Tasks describe the actual provision of services, identifying HOW to achieve 
each objective, WHO will be involved in accomplishing each objective, WHERE 
services will be provided, and WHEN services will be provided. Tasks shall be 
specific and measurable. All services types shall be selected from the drop 
down menu provided in ASAPS.  

• Example of a service: Transportation 

• Example Task: Worker will assist client in securing transportation to 
medical appointments. 

If a provider is providing the service, the provider, the number of hours per 
week the service will be provided and the rate of pay shall be identified on the 
service plan. 

3.10.2.5 Start and target dates 

The service plan shall include dates for services to start and target dates for 
achievement of objectives. Target dates should be realistic, and should not 
exceed the redetermination date on the Case Info screen in ASAPS. 

3.10.2.6  Date resolved 

The date resolved will indicate when the objective is met and closes out the 
service in the service plan. If the objective is not achieved by the target date, 
the reasons should be documented in the “Evaluation of Services” section on 
the Service Plan in ASAPS. 

3.10.2.7 Evaluation of services 

The evaluation of services describes the status of the task at its conclusion, 
and whether or not objectives were accomplished in a timely manner. The adult 
and the service worker shall conduct, collaboratively, an evaluation of progress 
towards meeting goals and objectives and the delivery of services at the time of 
any completion or termination of a service or at other times as appropriate, not 
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to exceed the time standards for case reviews and redetermination. The 
evaluation of the service delivery shall be documented in the “Evaluation of 
Service” section in the service plan. If additional space is needed the service 
worker should enter the information in the ASAPS Narrative and identify the 
type of contact as a “Case Action.” When all services have been completed and 
evaluated, the service plan is closed. 

3.10.2.8 Service plan: an example  

 
 

3.11 Case type selection 

Each open service case shall have a primary "case type" designated. Cases shall be 
opened according to one of the following case type definitions: 

APS  

When the APS report has been investigated and the disposition was “Needs Protective 
Services and Accepts” the case should be case typed APS. Protective services are 
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being provided except there are no home-based care services being provided. Contacts 
shall be made at least monthly with the adult, legal representative or designated 
primary caregiver.  

APS – home-based care  

When the APS report has been investigated and the disposition was “Needs Protective 
Services and Accepts” and home-based care (companion, chore, or homemaker) is one 
of the protective services being provided, the case should be case type APS-home-
based care. The “-Home Based Care” extension was added to make it easier to identify 
a case with home-based care services within a caseload listing. Contacts shall be made 
at least monthly with the adult, legal representative or designated primary caregiver.  

APS investigation  

When the APS report is being investigated and no disposition has been made, the case 
should be case typed APS investigation. Once a disposition has been made, the case 
type is changed if the case remains open, or the case is closed. 

AS  

A case in which intervention is primarily needed to maintain and monitor on-going 
services to promote self-sufficiency and enhance functioning of the adult should be case 
typed AS. At least a quarterly contact with the adult, legal representative or designated 
primary caregiver shall be made.  

AS – home-based care  

A case in which intervention is primarily needed to maintain and monitor on-going 
services to promote self-sufficiency and enhance functioning of the adult should be case 
typed AS-home-based care. Home-based care (companion, chore, or homemaker) is 
one of the services being provided. The “-Home Based Care” extension makes it easier 
to identify a case with home-based care services within a caseload listing. At least a 
quarterly contact with the adult, legal representative or designated primary caregiver 
shall be made.  

AS – intensive services  

A case in which intervention may be intense and require many resources in an attempt 
to stabilize the situation should be case typed AS-intensive services. Frequent and 
planned contacts with the adult/collateral are documented in the service plan. Contacts 
shall be made at least monthly with the adult, legal representative or designated 
primary caregiver.  

AS – Intensive services-home based care  
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A case in which intervention may be intense and require many resources in an attempt 
to stabilize the situation should be case typed AS-intensive services-home based care. 
Frequent and planned contacts with the adult/collateral are documented in the service 
plan. Home- based care (companion, chore, or homemaker) is one of the services being 
provided. The “-Home Based Care” extension makes it easier to identify a case with 
home-based care services within a caseload listing. Contacts shall be made at least 
monthly with the adult, legal representative or designated primary caregiver.  

ALF reassessment  

A case in which the only service being provided is the annual reassessment of the adult 
in an ALF a requirement to maintain eligibility for AG should be case typed ALF 
reassessment. The case is opened and the redetermination date is the date the 
reassessment is due. 

Guardian report  

A guardian report case is a case in which the only service being provided is the receipt 
and review of the Annual Report of the Guardian as required by § 64.2-2020 of the 
Code of Virginia. The case is opened and the redetermination date is the date the initial 
or annual report is due. See Chapter 7, Guardianship and Conservatorship for details 
on the required time frames for guardian reports. 

Depending on the situation, cases in which the only service offered is preadmission 
screening should be case typed AS or AS-Intensive. A “Home Based Care” extension 
case type should not be used when the only service being provided is a preadmission 
screening. 

3.12 Resource appraisal and selection 

The individual may require a service provider outside of the LDSS. Guidance manuals 
listed below provide references on resources and are available on the VDSS internal 
website:   

Long-Term Care Services   Chapter 4 
Adult Services Providers    Chapter 5 
 

The Local Finance Guidelines Manual is also available on the VDSS internal website.  

Purchase of Services Local Finance Guidelines Manual, 
Section 5.20 –Purchase of 
Services 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/manual.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dof/local_support/manual/
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3.13 Service delivery 

Social services shall be provided directly, by referral, or by purchase as required in 
order to assure appropriate service delivery and resource utilization necessary for 
implementation of the service plan.   

3.13.1 Direct services 

Direct services are those services provided, arranged, monitored, and/or referred by 
the LDSS staff as outlined in the service plan. Case management is an inherent part 
of the provision of direct services. 

3.13.2 Referrals 

Referrals are made when the worker directs the adult to an outside source for 
assistance. 

3.13.3 Purchased services 

Purchased services are those services purchased for adults by LDSS from approved 
providers, including department-approved providers and providers with whom the 
LDSS contracts. A Purchase of Services Order is available on the VDSS internal 
website.  

3.13.4 Ongoing service planning and delivery 

Following the initiation of the service plan, the assessment is to continue on a mutual 
basis between the individual and worker in order to document further service needs 
as a basis for the setting of long-range service objectives, the selection of services 
to fulfill those objectives, and the choices of resources to be used.   

3.14 Waiting lists 

If department funds are inadequate to maintain the level of service to adults of an 
optional service or service mandated to the extent funds are available, localities should 
maintain a waiting list. Service by date of request is an acceptable means of 
administering a waiting list. Any other proposed policy for a waiting list, such as by 
degree of need or at-risk status, shall be sent to the appropriate AS/APS Regional 
Program Consultant for approval prior to submission to the local board of social 
services. Waiting list criteria shall be uniformly applied to all individuals requesting the 
service. Waiting lists should be updated at least annually.  

The service worker should indicate on the Service Plan if the individual has to be placed 
on a waiting list for the designated service.  See ASAPS-Robo Help for additional 
information about placing an individual on a waiting list.  

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dis/asaps/
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3.15 Fees for services 

Upon approval from the VDSS, the LDSS may also charge fees for other services. 
Agencies are encouraged to test fee systems where appropriate. Fee systems for 
service programs should be submitted to the appropriate AS/APS Regional Program 
Consultant for review prior to being submitted to the local board for approval. 

3.16 Required contacts 

For adult services and adult protective services, contact includes communication with 
the adult, the adult’s legal representative or the adult’s designated primary caregiver.  
More frequent contact should occur as needed. The worker should verify by observation 
or personal interview that the adult is receiving the planned services and identify any 
changes in his or her situation. The worker shall make timely, regular contacts with 
providers to monitor the provision of services and the well-being of the individual. All 
contacts should be documented in the ASAPS case narrative. Required provider 
monitoring contacts should be documented on the Compliance Form for Agency 
Approved Providers (See Chapter 5, Section 5.25). 

3.16.1 Types of contact 

For purposes of meeting the requirements of a case contact, contact with the adult, 
the adult’s legal representative, or the adult’s designated primary caregiver shall be 
in the form of face-to-face, home visit, office visit, phone to/from.  

Example of visit types in the ASAPS narrative screen: 

 

All contacts, including other types of contacts such as fax to/from and email to/from 
shall also be documented in ASAPS. Contacts should be conducted for the purpose 
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of determining the individual’s progress toward achieving objectives stated in the 
service plan. 

The following table identifies who is considered a legal representative or designated 
primary caregiver: 

Legal Representative Designated Primary Caregiver 

Power of Attorney, guardian, and 
conservator 

Father, mother, daughter, son, spouse, 
wife, and husband 

 

Example of case contact with adult’s daughter: 

 

Example of case contact with the adult: 

 

3.16.2 Cases requiring monthly contact 

For case types AS-Intensive Services, AS-Intensive Services-Home Based Care, 
APS and APS-Home Based Care, contacts shall be made at least monthly. More 
frequent contacts may be needed depending on the case situation.  

3.16.3 Cases requiring quarterly contact 

For case types AS and AS-Home Based Care, contacts are required at least every 
three months (quarterly). LDSS are strongly encouraged to conduct a face-to-face 
contact every six months.  

3.16.4 Collateral contacts 

Collateral contacts with other interested parties, vendors of service, other community 
providers/agencies, volunteers working with the individual, and the court may include 
face-to-face, telephone conversations, and written or email correspondence. 
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3.16.5 Written correspondence 

Written correspondences, including letter to/from, fax to/from, and email to/from and 
collateral contacts do not count toward the monthly and quarterly contact 
requirements. 

3.16.6 Regular quarterly contact not required 

Regular quarterly contacts are not required for the following: 

• Case type “Guardian Report.” 

• Case type “ALF Reassessment.” 

• The individual’s whereabouts prevent the department from having contact 
within the required time frame. The case record shall specify why the contact 
was not made. 

3.17 Monitoring  

Monitoring is the process by which the service worker maintains contact with the 
individual, support systems, and service provider(s) to ensure the efficient and effective 
delivery of services relating to the achievement of the stated objectives. The monitoring 
function shall begin upon delivery of service(s) and shall be continuous. The LDSS will 
be responsible for the monitoring of service delivery whenever it uses a vendor or non-
agency provider to offer services to an individual. 

3.18 Redetermination 

Redetermination shall be performed at least annually. Redetermination shall be 
conducted in the same manner as the initial determinations (the adult does not have to 
sign a new service application). Verification is recorded in the “Eligibility/Income” section 
on the General Information screen in ASAPS. The effective date and redetermination 
dates on the General Information page in ASAPS are updated to reflect the 
updated/new eligibility period. 

If information is received in the interim that affects eligibility, redetermination shall be 
performed within 30 days of receipt of information.  

3.19 Reassessment  

The service worker shall reassess a case when there is significant change in the 
individual’s circumstances, but no less than once every 12 months. A significant change 
in an individual’s condition occurs when the change is expected to last more than 30 
days or appears to warrant a change in the individual’s service plan or level of care. The 
reassessment shall include an updated UAI and a brief summary evaluation of the 
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effectiveness of service delivery and an update of the service plan as appropriate. 
Follow the instructions in the ASAPS-Robo Help for placing a copy of the UAI in 
“History” and revising the current UAI. 

Based on the UAI reassessment, the worker shall document: 

• The effectiveness of the service plan; the service plan shall be updated, if 
necessary. 

• A description of the individual’s current situation with input from the individual and 
family, if applicable, to determine if there are needs which should be addressed. 

• An indication of whether additional services are needed. If so, the service plan 
shall be revised accordingly. If no further services are needed, the case should 
be closed. 

3.20 Closure of an adult services case 

An adult services case may be closed under any one of the following circumstances: 

• The service plan goals and objectives have been met. 

• Services are no longer needed. 

• The individual requests closure, and, in the worker's professional judgment, the 
individual has the capacity to make that decision. 

• The individual is no longer eligible due to excess income. 

• The capable individual fails to follow the mutually agreed upon service plan, and 
the case record documents repeated attempts by worker to implement the plan. 

• The LDSS is no longer able to serve the individual, and the individual is not a 
required population to be served. 

• The time limit expires on a specific program. 

• The LDSS is not able to maintain contact with the individual at least every quarter 
because the individual cannot be located or is not available. 

• The individual relocates to another jurisdiction. Entering a long-term care facility 
may be considered a relocation. 

• The individual dies. 
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3.21 Relocation 

If a relocation is temporary, the original jurisdiction keeps the case, and depending on 
the distance, provides any needed services or requests the new jurisdiction to assist. 
Service payments are the responsibility of the original jurisdiction in this situation.  

A permanent relocation means the individual will be residing in a new locality. The 
LDSS previously providing services may close the case. The case is opened by the 
LDSS serving the jurisdiction where the individual now resides.  The case may also be 
transferred by the supervisor in the original jurisdiction to a designated worker in the 
new jurisdiction.  ASAPS-Robo Help provides information on transferring a case from 
one locality to another.  See the guidance under the heading "Supervisors Tasks in 
ASAPS." 

When an individual plans a permanent relocation to a facility in another jurisdiction and 
the individual will need services in the new jurisdiction, the LDSS involved should assist 
each other with needs concerning the individual’s admission. If services will be needed, 
the sending LDSS should: 

• Notify the receiving LDSS of the expected date of the admission, the facility 
selected, and the services needed. 

• If only ALF Reassessment is needed, the sending LDSS shall notify the receiving 
LDSS of the admission date and the name of the facility. 

• Offer to assist in completing an application if needed. 

• If the individual requests it, send a copy of the record and a brief summary to the 
receiving LDSS before the individual arrives. 

For case type Guardian Report follow the procedures in Chapter 7, Guardianship and 
Conservatorship. 

3.22 Notice of action 

Proper procedures regarding notice to the individual and documentation shall be 
followed regarding a decision on an application or when closing a case. Proper notice is 
also required for all purchase of services. The form Notice of Action for Service 
Programs may be used to inform an individual about actions taken on his or her case 
and is available on the VDSS internal website.  

3.22.1 Notice of action/application 

• LDSS shall notify the individual of its decision or lack of decision on an 
application promptly but no later than 45 days after application is received. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dis/asaps/
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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• If the application is approved, the notice may be oral. If approval includes a 
purchase of service payment, the notice shall be written. 

• Written notice shall be sent for denial of application or if a decision has not 
been made. 

3.22.2 Termination of application other than approval or denial 

• The individual may withdraw the application. For special procedures on Adult 
Protective Services, see Chapter 2. 

• If the withdrawal was done by letter, telephone call or personal visit, a Notice 
of Action or letter shall be sent to acknowledge the withdrawal in order to 
protect the department and individual from any misunderstanding. 

• The individual should be told that he or she may reapply at any time. 

3.22.3 Failure to follow through or disappearance 

If an individual disappears or fails to follow through with an application, VDSS does 
not need to try to find the individual unless a valid Adult Protective Service report 
has been made. If there has been no valid APS report, a Notice of Action terminating 
the application is sent 45 days after the application was received. 

3.22.4 Notice of action/case management requirements 

• A Notice of Action or letter shall be mailed or given to the individual when a 
purchased service payment is approved, reduced, suspended, or terminated. 

• When mailed, send the Notice of Action approximately 14 days before the 
date the action is to become effective so that the individual has a 10-day 
notice. 

• Notices are not required for fluctuations in purchased service payments when 
the Purchase Order authorization remains the same. 

• Use either a Notice of Action or a letter when written notice is required. If a 
letter is used, it shall specify: 

o The action taken or planned. If a service payment is involved, the letter 
must give the current amount, if any, and proposed amount. 

o The effective date. 

o The reason for the action. 

o Information on appeal procedures. 
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3.22.5 Early notice due to reduction in funding for home based services 

If the adult appeals the action within 10 days of the effective date of the Notice of 
Action, services must continue.  The LDSS is encouraged to provide notice earlier 
than the recommended 14 days before the action becomes effective, particularly 
when the action is due to lack of or reduction in funding to provide a particular 
service. (e.g. companion services).  Providing early notice of the intent to reduce or 
discontinue services due to funding constraints will provide sufficient time for 
services to continue during the appeal before funding is exhausted.  

3.22.6 Notice of action/closure 

A Notice of Action or letter shall be mailed or given to the individual or his/her 
representative when a case is closed. 

3.23 Death of the adult 

If the LDSS receives reliable information of an individual’s death, the LDSS closes the 
case. A Notice of Action or letter may be sent to an appropriate relative or to the 
person(s) with whom applicant was living. 
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3.24 Appendix A:  Forms 

The following forms may be used for case management purposes. Unless otherwise 
indicated, these forms are located on the Adult Services forms page on the VDSS 
internal website. 

Notice of Action for Service Programs  

This form is used to notify an individual about an action that has been taken or will be 
taken on his or her case. 

Purchase of Services Order 

This form is used to order services from vendors. This form is also used for 
unscheduled termination of, or change to, an existing POS Order. 

Service Application 

This form should be used by an individual to apply for services. 

  

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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3.25 Appendix B:  Income eligibility determination 

Income, not resources, is counted in determining if an individual meets the category of 
Eligibility Based on Income. All income, except items listed below, is to be counted.  

Net income from self-employment, farm or non-farm, is to be counted. This is gross 
receipts minus expenses. The value of goods consumed by the client and his/her family 
is not to be counted.  

The gross amount in wages or salary received is the figure to be used. However, if the 
wage earner voluntarily has additional amounts taken out for savings such as bonds, 
these amounts shall be counted as income.  

Do count income from Social Security, but do not count income from Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI). 

Income to be excluded  
 

• Per capita payments to or funds held in trust for any individual in satisfaction of a 
judgment of the Indian Claims Commission or the Court of Claims. 

• Money received from sale of property, such as stock, bonds, a house, or a car 
(unless the person was engaged in the business of selling such property in which 
case the net proceeds would be counted as income from self-employment). 

• Earnings of less than $25.00 a month. 

• Withdrawals of bank deposits. 

• Money borrowed. 

• Tax refunds. 

• Gifts. 

• Lump sum insurance payments. 

• Capital gains. 

• The value of Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits. 

• The value of USDA donated foods. 

• The value of supplemental food assistance under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 
and the special food service program for children under the National School 
Lunch Act as amended. 
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• Earnings of a child under 14 years of age. 

• Any benefits received under Title III, Nutrition Program, of the Older Americans 
Act, as amended. 

• Any grant or loan to any undergraduate for educational purposes made or 
insured under any program administered by the Commissioner of Education. 

• Any other scholarship loan or grant obtained and used under conditions that 
preclude its use for current living costs. 

• Home produce used for household consumption. 

• Earnings received by any youth under the Youth Employment Demonstration 
Program of the Comprehensive Employment and Training Act of 1973 (CETA). 

• Payment to Americorp/VISTA volunteers. 

• Payment to vendors for services to recipients. These are not to be considered 
income for the recipient. 

• Garnished wages. 

• The portion of income paid for child support, if being paid, whether court-ordered 
or not. The child support payment is income for the person receiving it. 

• SSI. 



Virginia Department of Social Services  November 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Case Management 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   3  Adult Services Case Management    

3.26 Appendix C:  Expenditures for services 

3.26.1 Funding allocations 

Each LDSS receives funding to purchase services needed by an adult to meet the 
goals of the adult’s service plan. LDSS are encouraged to make maximum use of 
this funding in providing services to adults and shall be aware of the number of 
cases their allocations will support throughout the year. During the course of the 
fiscal year, if the LDSS realizes that it has been allocated more funds than are 
needed to serve its adults, the LDSS should return the surplus funds in a timely 
manner to the state for reallocation to other LDSS. The LDSS should make an effort 
to spend all of their funding for necessary services for the elderly and impaired 
adults in their communities. 

3.26.2 LASER 

The Division of Finance utilizes an automated system referred to as LASER (Locality 
Automated System for Expenditure Reimbursement) to process LDSS expenditures 
for the purpose of providing reimbursement from VDSS. 

3.26.3 Budget lines, cost codes, and descriptions used by Adult Services 

Budget lines and cost code descriptions including examples of reimbursable 
expenses are available on SPARK.  

21704 GUARDIANSHIP PETITIONS  

Provides for the costs of petitioning the court for appointment of a guardian for a 
Medicaid applicant who is unable to apply for himself or herself.  

Note: VDSS does not provide a local budget allocation for this cost code, all 
expenditures entered in 21704 will be funded using 100% state General Funds.  

Localities should complete page two of the Response to Medicaid Referral form 
located on the VDSS internal website. Expenses shall be itemized, attached to the 
form, and retained by the LDSS as documentation for reimbursement.  

Localities should submit a BRS to request funds to cover the expenditures. The 
request will be reviewed and acted on by the Adult Services program manager. 

Reimbursable examples 
Expenses incurred during a guardianship proceeding for a Medicaid applicant who is 
unable to apply for himself or herself:  

• Evaluation.  

• Guardian ad litem legal fees.  

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dof/local_support/laser/index.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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• Attorney legal fees.  

• Court filing fees.  

• Other costs (itemized). 

ADULT SERVICES (833)  

83304  Adult Services- Home-Based Companion (State Supplement) 

Companion services are performed by an individual or an agency provider who 
assists adults unable to care for themselves without assistance and where there is 
no one available to provide the needed services without cost. Services may include 
dressing, bathing, toileting, feeding, household and financial management, meal 
preparation, and shopping. Companion services shall only be provided to an eligible 
adult who lives in his or her own home.  

83301 Adult Services – Home-Based Care -- Chore (State Supplement) 

Chore services are the performance of non-routine, heavy home maintenance for 
adults unable to perform such tasks themselves. Chore services are provided only to 
adults living in an independent situation who are responsible for maintenance of their 
own home or apartment and have no one available to provide this service without 
cost. Chore services include yard maintenance, painting, chopping wood, carrying 
wood and water, snow removal, and minor repair work in the home.   

83303 Adult Services – Home-Based Homemaker (State Supplement) 

Homemaker services are provided by an individual or agency provider who gives 
instruction in, or where appropriate, performs activities to maintain a household. The 
activities may include personal care, home management, household maintenance, 
nutrition, consumer education, and hygiene education.  

83302  Adult Day Services 

Program funds are used to purchase adult day services from approved/licensed 
providers for a portion of a 24-hour day. Adult day services assess the needs of 
participants and offer services to meet those needs. Participants attend on a 
planned basis. Services include: personal supervision of the adult and activities that 
promote physical and emotional well-being through socialization.  

ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES (895) 

89501 Adult Protective Services 

This budget line is used to fund the APS program. This funding may be used for 
reimbursable expenses of the Adult Protective Services Program at the local level. A 
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base amount is provided to each locality. Additional APS funding is distributed using 
a need-based formula.   

Protective services to adults consist of the receipt and thorough investigation of 
reports of abuse, neglect or exploitation of adults and of reports that adults are at 
risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation. APS provides services to elders and to 
incapacitated adults.  

The purchase of goods or services is appropriate under the following circumstances:  

• An APS report has been taken and the investigation has determined that an 
elder or an incapacitated adult needs protective services and the service to 
be purchased is part of the service plan to protect the adult from ongoing 
abuse, neglect or exploitation; or  

• An APS report has been taken and the protective services investigation has 
found an elder or an incapacitated adult to be at risk of abuse, neglect or 
exploitation and the service to be purchased is part of the service plan to 
prevent abuse, neglect or exploitation from occurring. 

Guardianship Fees 

Section 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia requires a guardian to complete and 
submit an annual report, on the incapacitated adult for whom a guardian has been 
appointed, to the LDSS in the jurisdiction in which the guardian was appointed. 
Section 64.2-2020 requires that the annual report, when filed, be accompanied by a 
filing fee of $5.00. The $5.00 filing fee that accompanies annual guardianship report 
shall be used in the provision of services to protect vulnerable adults and prevent 
abuse, neglect or exploitation of vulnerable adults. 

To record the receipt of guardianship fees, the LDSS should enter the amount 
collected as a credit, using Account Code 40895 Receipt of Guardianship Fees.   

Admin Adult Protective Services 

Administrative costs of operating the APS program are included in Services Staff 
and Operations or Services Staff and Operations Pass-Thru (budget lines 854 and 
857). Reimbursable examples include on-call coverage for staff who provide 
coverage for APS on nights, holidays, weekends, and other times outside of regular 
office hours; costs of staff travel for investigating, for ongoing service delivery, for 
training/education purposes, or other travel costs related to the APS program; office 
supplies and equipment dedicated to the operation of the APS program; and costs of 
community outreach to increase awareness of the problem of adult abuse.  

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
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REIMBURSEMENT THROUGH RANDOM MOMENT SAMPLING (RMS) 
 

Preadmission Screenings 

Individuals who are Medicaid eligible or will be Medicaid eligible within 180 days of 
placement and who are seeking Medicaid coverage for nursing facility care shall be 
screened to determine their need for the service (§ 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia). 
LDSS are reimbursed for Medicaid pre-admission screenings through the RMS 
process. 

Assisted Living Facility (ALF) Assessments 

LDSS assess individuals receiving Auxiliary Grant (AG) using the UAI to determine 
the level of care (residential or assisted living) required in an ALF. A short or full 
assessment is completed depending on the adult’s condition or level of assistance 
he needs. LDSS also reassess individuals receiving AG annually to determine if the 
adult continues to meet the level of care that is required in an ALF. LDSS are 
reimbursed for ALF assessments and reassessments through the RMS process. 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-330
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4 
LONG-TERM CARE SERVICES 

4.1 Introduction 

It is the responsibility of the service worker working with the adult and/or his or her 
representative to determine the most appropriate method of service delivery such as 
direct services, purchased services, or referral to another agency. This chapter 
identifies the primary services provided by local Adult Services programs and describes 
the responsibilities of the local department of social services (LDSS) in relation to other 
agencies. 

4.2 Home-Based Care Services to adults 

4.2.1 Home-Based Care Services defined 

Home-Based Care Services consist of three components: Companion, Chore, and 
Homemaker services.  

Each local board shall provide for the delivery of at least one of these services to the 
extent that federal and/or state matching funds are made available. The local board 
shall determine which of the three services is mandated (§ 63.2-1600 of the Code of 
Virginia).  

The local board shall develop policy addressing all aspects of home-based care 
provided in the locality, including criteria for receiving home-based services, financial 
eligibility criteria, which home-based service(s) will be provided, and how an 
assessment will be conducted to determine the number of approved hours. The 
policy shall be reviewed and approved by an AS/APS Regional Program Consultant 
prior to board approval. 

4.2.2 Purpose of Home-Based Care Services 

Home-Based Care Services are used for the following purposes: 

• To provide protection to adults or prevent abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1600
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• To assist adults in attaining or retaining self-care, self-sufficiency, and 
independence. 

• To prevent inappropriate institutionalization.  

4.2.3 Eligibility for Home-Based Care Services 

4.2.3.1 Financial eligibility 

Eligible individuals are adults who meet financial eligibility criteria contained in 
Chapter 3, Adult Services Case Management and local board policy, and who 
are assessed to need the service. 

4.2.3.2 Living arrangements 

An adult is eligible to receive Home-Based Care Services if one of the following 
conditions is met: 

• The home is owned in full or in part by the adult; or 

• The rent or mortgage and utilities, etc. are paid in the adult's name; or 

• The rent or mortgage, utilities, household expenses, etc., are shared 
between the adult and others; or 

• The adult lives in the home of a relative, friend, roommate, or other 
housing situation; or  

• The adult does not live in a residential care setting such as a nursing 
facility, assisted living facility, or a hospital. 

4.2.3.3 Prioritizing need for Home-Based Services/waiting lists 

When funds are inadequate to maintain the level of services or to increase 
service delivery as needed, the LDSS shall develop criteria for prioritizing need 
and/or establish a waiting list. Waiting list criteria shall be uniformly applied to 
all adults requesting the service. Waiting lists should be updated at least 
annually. Service by date of request is an acceptable means of administering a 
waiting list. The LDSS may adopt additional criteria regarding the adult's living 
situation if diminished funding has reduced the availability of the service. 
Acceptable examples of additional criteria include providing the service only to 
adults who live alone or who are at risk of institutionalization. Any other 
proposed policy shall be sent to the appropriate AS/APS Regional Program 
Consultant for approval prior to local board approval. Documentation of local 
board approval shall be submitted to the appropriate AS/APS Regional 
Program Consultant.  
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4.2.3.4 Temporary reduction or termination of SSI 

In cases where the Social Security Administration (SSA), the Virginia 
Department of Social Services (VDSS), or the LDSS has made an error that 
requires a temporary reduction or temporary termination of an individual’s SSI 
payment due to an overpayment, the adult may continue to be eligible for 
service as an SSI recipient. The case record shall identify error(s) resulting in 
overpayment, who was responsible for the error(s), and what affect the error(s) 
had on the adult's SSI benefits. 

4.2.4 Criteria for Companion Services 

4.2.4.1 Definition 

Companion Services are performed by an individual or an agency provider who 
assists adults unable to care for themselves without assistance and where 
there is no one available to provide the needed services without cost. 
Companion Services shall be provided only to an individual who meets the 
eligibility requirements in Section 4.2.3. Activities include, but are not limited to: 

• Bathing. 

• Dressing. 

• Toileting. 

• Eating/feeding. 

• Transportation. 

• Meal preparation. 

• Shopping. 

• Supervision. 

• Light housekeeping. 

• Companionship.  

• Household/financial management. 

4.2.4.2 Provision of Companion Services 

• A parent, spouse, or other relative of an eligible adult may be approved 
as a companion provider if the written documentation shows that: 
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o He or she is the most available and/or qualified person to provide 
the service.  

o He or she is unable or unwilling to provide these services free of 
charge.  

o In the professional judgment of the worker, this would be the best 
plan of care for the adult. 

• An LDSS shall not establish policy that prohibits the utilization of a 
relative as a companion provider. 

4.2.5 Criteria for Chore Services 

4.2.5.1 Definition 

Chore Services are the performance of non-routine, heavy home maintenance 
for adults unable to perform such tasks. Chore Services shall be provided for 
adults living in an independent situation who are responsible for maintenance of 
their residence and have no one available to provide this service without cost. 
Heavy home maintenance activities include but are not limited to: 

• Performing minor repair work on furniture and appliances in the home. 

• Carrying coal, wood, and water. 

• Chopping wood. 

• Removing snow. 

• Yard maintenance. 

• Painting. 

4.2.5.2 Eligible persons - Chore Services 

To qualify for Chore Services, the following information shall be documented in 
the case record: 

• The adult is living in an independent situation and is responsible for 
maintenance of his or her residence. 

• The adult is unable to perform the necessary heavy home maintenance 
task(s). 
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4.2.5.3 Provision of Chore Services 

Chore Services shall not be purchased from a relative who is a member of the 
household; however, chore services may be purchased from a relative who is 
not a member of the household. 

4.2.6 Criteria for Homemaker Services 

4.2.6.1 Definition 

Homemaker Services are performed by an individual or an agency provider 
who provides instruction in (or, where appropriate, performs) activities to 
maintain a household. The activities include: 

• Personal care. 

• Home management. 

• Household maintenance. 

• Nutrition. 

• Consumer education. 

• Hygiene education. 

4.2.6.2 Provision of Homemaker Services 

• Homemaker Services may be provided directly by staff of the LDSS. 

• Services provided by all homemaker providers shall be supervised and 
monitored by the service worker or supervisor. 

• The adult receiving care shall meet the requirements of Section 4.2.3. 

4.2.7 Assessment required for Home-Based Care Services  

4.2.7.1 Use of Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument 

The LDSS shall use the Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) to 
assess the need for home-based services. The UAI may be found in ASAPS 
and may be printed as needed. 

4.2.7.2 Assessment procedure 

Each LDSS shall establish a procedure for conducting a home-based care 
assessment to determine the required number of service hours. The method 
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used to determine the amount of services to be provided shall be approved by 
the local board and uniformly applied within each LDSS. Services should not be 
authorized prior to the date of assessed need. Any change in authorized hours 
shall be documented on an assessment form. The home-based care 
assessment shall be completed as needed, but at least annually for each adult 
receiving home-based services. 

4.2.7.3 Types of services 

As part of the assessment, informal services (e.g., family, friends, community 
groups) and formal services shall be explored that could help meet the adult's 
needs. Home-based services may be used to complement informal and/or 
formal service providers, or they may be the only service provided to the 
individual. 

4.2.7.4 Duplication of service activities 

An adult receiving home-based services may be assessed by the nursing 
facility preadmission screening team for nursing facility admission or 
community-based care when he or she is at risk of institutionalization. Although 
an adult may receive services from both home-based services and Waiver 
personal care simultaneously in order to meet his or her needs, duplication of 
service activities shall be avoided. Documentation in the service plan should 
demonstrate services provided by the LDSS and other providers. Service plans 
should be developed in coordination with other providers when possible. 

4.2.8 Service delivery – Home-Based Care Services 

4.2.8.1 Maximum hours 

Each LDSS shall establish local board policy to specify the maximum number 
of hours of home-based services that may be provided per adult per week. 

4.2.8.2 Provider pay rate 

Each LDSS shall establish local board policy to specify the rate of pay for 
providers. Home-based providers shall be paid at least minimum wage. 

4.2.8.3 Methods of service delivery 

Social services are provided directly, by referral, or by purchase as required to 
ensure appropriate service delivery and resource utilization necessary for the 
implementation of the service plan. 
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4.2.8.4 Sliding-fee system 

The LDSS may develop a sliding-fee system for services. The LDSS fee 
system shall be approved by the appropriate AS/APS Regional Program 
Consultant prior to local board approval. 

4.2.8.5 LDSS responsibility 

When home-based services are contracted out to other agencies (i.e., not 
managed directly by the LDSS), the LDSS continues to be responsible for 
ensuring that the UAI and any needed reassessments are completed as well as 
ensuring compliance with other requirements noted in this section. 

4.2.8.6 Licensing standards 

Home-based services shall be purchased from providers who are approved as 
meeting the standards established by the State Board of Social Services as set 
forth in 22 VAC 40-771 and Chapter 5 Adult Services Providers or by 
demonstration of appropriate licensure through a licensing authority. 

4.2.8.7 Minimal safety standards 

If the adult's living situation does not meet minimal standards of safety (such as 
is required for the provision of Medicaid-funded personal care), the LDSS 
cannot deny services to the adult. However, the situation may preclude a 
provider from entering the home. 

4.2.9 Receiving Home-Based Care Services and Medicaid Waiver Personal 
Care Services  

Eligibility for one service does not necessarily preclude an adult's eligibility for 
another service. 

The LDSS shall not deny or terminate home-based services solely because the adult 
is eligible for or receiving Medicaid Waiver services. Before home-based services 
are terminated, the Medicaid Waiver hours necessary to meet the individual’s needs 
shall be approved or recommended by the Medicaid Waiver provider and/or the 
preadmission screening team; the Medicaid Waiver program hours shall be ready to 
be implemented. This does not prohibit the LDSS from terminating home-based 
services if the combination of support systems and Medicaid Waiver can meet the 
adult's assessed needs.  

Home-based services cannot be denied based on the home-based services 
provider’s level of training, education, or professional credentials as long as the 
provider can meet the needs of the adult and meets standards established in 22 
VAC 40-771 and Chapter 5. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0771
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0771
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0771
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If an adult is eligible for other services (such as Medicaid Waiver services), but 
cannot afford the co-payment or chooses companion services in lieu of Medicaid 
Waiver services, the LDSS cannot deny services to that adult if he or she meets 
eligibility requirements for the requested service(s). 

4.2.10 The LDSS as the adult's fiscal agent 

See Chapter 5 for information on the relationship between department-approved 
providers of home-based services and the adult receiving care. Neither the state nor 
the LDSS is the provider's employer.  

4.3 Adult Day Services 

4.3.1 Definition – Adult Day Services 

Adult Day Services is the purchase of day services from approved providers or 
licensed providers for a portion of a 24-hour day. Adult Day Services include 
personal supervision of the adult and promotion of social, physical, and emotional 
well-being through companionship, self-education, and leisure activities. 

4.3.2 Eligible individuals - Adult Day Services 

Eligible individuals are those adults who meet financial eligibility criteria contained in 
Chapter 3 and local board policy, and who fall within all of the following categories: 

• The adult has been assessed using the Virginia UAI as needing assistance 
with ADLs, IADLs, and/or supervision. 

• The adult is in a family situation where the people normally responsible for his 
or her care are not available to provide such care. 

• The adult does not live in an assisted living facility, nursing facility, hospital, or 
other institution. 

4.3.3 Purchase components - Adult Day Services 

The following are purchase components for Adult Day Services: 

• Registration required by facilities when not a part of unit cost. 

• Transportation to and from center or home.  

• Day services provided by a licensed or an approved provider. 
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4.3.4 Providers - Adult Day Services 

Adult Day Services providers are either:  

• Licensed by VDSS, Division of Licensing Programs; or 

• Approved by the LDSS. The provider and home shall meet the standards 
found in Chapter 5, Adult Services Providers. 

4.3.5 Rates of payment - Adult Day Services 

Rates of payment for services shall be negotiated by the LDSS on an individual 
basis with each vendor according to guidance regarding governing purchase of 
services or by the rate-setting process for department-approved providers by the 
local board.  

4.3.6 Service requirements - Adult Day Services 

The entire UAI shall be completed to begin this service and shall be updated at least 
annually. 

4.4 Adult Foster Care (AFC) 

4.4.1 Definition – AFC 

AFC is a optional local program that provides room and board, supervision, and 
special services to an adult who has a physical or mental health need (§ 63.2-1601 
of the Code of Virginia). The adult shall be assessed prior to admission to the 
program using the Virginia UAI and determined to be incapable of independent living 
or unable to remain safely in his or her own home. AFC may be provided for up to 
three adults by any one provider. Care provided for more than three adults requires 
licensure by the VDSS as an assisted living facility. 

The provision of an AFC program shall be approved by the local board of social 
services. Placements are made in homes approved by the LDSS. There shall be 
local board policy addressing AFC when this option is chosen. The LDSS is 
responsible for approving AFC homes in which adult placements are made. If an 
AFC provider is approved by the LDSS, the provider is bound by the department-
approved provider standards located in Chapter 5 and regulations (22 VAC 40-771). 

The LDSS may only approve AFC homes in which it will make placements. The 
LDSS may not approve AFC homes for placements by other agencies that are not 
part of the VDSS system. 

Additional guidance about AFC is available in the AFC Program Manual on SPARK.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1601
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0771
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/manual.cgi
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4.4.2 Eligible individuals/payment sources - AFC 

4.4.2.1 Local-only funding eligibility  

Eligible individuals are those adults who meet financial eligibility criteria 
contained in Chapter 3 and local board policy, and who are assessed to need 
the service. 

4.4.2.2 Auxiliary Grant (AG) eligibility  

Eligible individuals are those adults who meet the criteria for a payment under 
the AG Program (to be determined by the eligibility worker), and local board 
policy, and who are assessed to need the service. 

4.4.2.3 Private pay  

Eligible individuals are those adults who are incapable of independent living or 
unable to remain safely in their own homes and have the resources to pay for a 
private placement in an approved AFC home. This option should be outlined in 
the LDSS’s AFC local policy and approved by the local board of social services. 

4.4.3 LDSS services - AFC 

Services that the LDSS shall provide as part of AFC are: 

4.4.3.1 Recruitment, screening, and approval of AFC homes  

The intent of the AFC program is to keep the adult in his or her own community. 
The recruitment of AFC homes and the placement of adults are limited to 
bordering city/county jurisdictions, so long as the adult’s specified needs can be 
met in the AFC home. 

Prior to the recruitment and approval of AFC homes and the placement of an 
adult in another bordering jurisdiction, there shall be a written agreement 
between the placing and receiving jurisdictions. The appropriate AS/APS 
Regional Program Consultant shall receive a copy of the agreement prior to the 
placement. A sample interagency agreement is available on the DSS internal 
website. 

Refer to Chapter 5 for additional information on recruitment, screening, and 
approval. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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4.4.3.2 Assessment using the Virginia UAI 

The entire UAI shall be completed for each individual applying for AFC prior to 
the beginning of the service and shall be updated at least annually. Each 
individual applying for AFC is assessed to determine his or her need for AFC 
and special services. The worker shall evaluate the adult's ability to perform 
activities of daily living, instrumental activities of daily living, manage 
medications, the adult’s behavior pattern and orientation, and assess the 
availability of the informal support systems (e.g., family, friends, neighbors, 
community groups, etc.) to assist in meeting the adult's needs. Based on the 
results of the UAI assessment, the LDSS will determine if the adult’s needs: 

• Can be met by independent living with supportive services; 

• Can be met by an AFC provider; or 

• Require a higher level of care such as an assisted living facility or 
nursing facility. 

4.4.3.3 Assistance with placement  

Assistance with placement arrangements is provided to match the adult to an 
approved provider. This is based on: 

• The adult's assessed need(s). 

• Compatibility with the provider and other individuals residing in the AFC 
home. 

• Ability of the AFC provider to provide any needed special services as 
identified by the assessment.  

The LDSS shall arrange for any needed services from other community 
agencies prior to the individual’s admission to the AFC home. 

4.4.3.4 Monitoring 

The LDSS shall monitor the services that are provided to the adult and the 
provider for ongoing compliance. LDSS staff shall visit the home of the provider 
as often as necessary, but at least every six (6) months. The purpose of the 
monitoring visit is to determine the provider’s compliance with applicable 
requirements and the progress and well-being of the adult. The provider 
monitoring visits shall be documented on the Compliance Form for Department 
Approved Providers, which is available on the DSS internal website. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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The LDSS will reapprove the provider prior to the end of the 24-month approval 
period if the provider continues to meet requirements. The LDSS shall 
determine and document that the provider is qualified to provide the special 
services required by the adult. For example, if the physician has instructed the 
provider on the correct procedure for dressing changes or medication 
management, and the provider is able to and does provide the services, then 
this is to be documented in the provider’s record. 

4.4.3.5 Ongoing contact 

The placing LDSS will maintain contact with the adult residing in AFC and the 
provider as required by Adult Services manual guidance. The placing LDSS 
maintains responsibility for the provision of direct services, case management, 
ongoing supervision of the adult, and monitoring of services provided in the 
AFC home. The adult’s case shall remain open as long as services are 
provided, and the service plan shall be evaluated and updated in accordance 
with Chapter 3, Adult Services Case Management. 

4.4.3.6 LDSS responsible for determining AG eligibility 

The LDSS where an individual resided prior to entering an institution or AFC is 
responsible for determining the individual’s eligibility for AG and issuing the AG 
payment.  

4.4.4 Medical examination - AFC 

Each adult in an AFC home shall submit a medical statement from a licensed 
physician or a local health department that contains the following information: 

• Date of last physical examination (must have been within 60 days of 
admission in AFC). 

• Diagnoses of significant problems. 

• Documentation that the adult is believed to be free from tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. 

• Recommendation for care including medication, diet, and therapy(ies). 

4.4.5 Monthly AG Rate- AFC 

The following services are included in the AG rate paid to the AFC provider: 

4.4.5.1 Room and board 

• Provision of a furnished room in a home that meets applicable zoning, 
building, and fire safety codes. 
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• Housekeeping services based on the needs of the adult. 

• Meals and snacks, including extra portions and special diets. 

• Clean bed linens and towels as needed and at least weekly. 

4.4.5.2 Maintenance and care 

• Assistance with personal hygiene including bathing, dressing, oral 
hygiene, hair grooming and shampooing, care of clothing, shaving, care 
of toenails and fingernails, arranging for haircuts as needed, care of 
needs associated with menstruation or occasional bladder or bowel 
incontinence. 

• Medication monitoring. 

• Provision of generic personal toiletries including soap and toilet paper. 

• Assistance with the following: care of personal possessions; care of 
personal funds if requested by the adult and the home’s policy permits it; 
use of telephone; arranging transportation; obtaining necessary personal 
items and clothing; making and keeping appointments; and 
correspondence. 

• Securing health care and transportation when needed for medical 
treatment. 

• Providing social and recreational activities as required by provider 
standards. 

• General supervision for safety. 

4.4.6 AG - Adult Foster Care  

4.4.6.1 Maximum rate to be paid to AFC providers 

Individuals eligible for an AG payment and approved for AFC shall pay the 
provider a rate not to exceed the established AG rate.  

The AFC home may not request or require the receipt of any money, gift, 
donation, or other consideration from or on behalf of an adult as a condition of 
admission or continued stay. AG checks shall be provided directly to the adult 
or his responsible party who then pays the provider. The AFC home is required 
to provide each adult residing in the home, a monthly statement or itemized 
receipt of the adult’s expenses not covered by the AG payment. Unless a 
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guardian or conservator has been appointed by the court, the adult is free to 
manage his or her personal finances. 

4.4.6.2 Third party payments on behalf of individuals receiving AG 

An AFC provider may accept payment by a third party for services provided to 
an individual receiving AG. These payments are not to be counted as income 
when determining eligibility for AG. 

Pursuant to § 63.2-800 of the Code of Virginia, third party payments shall be 
made: 

• Directly to the AFC provider by the third party on behalf of the individual 
receiving AG; 

• Voluntarily by the third party, and not in satisfaction of a condition of 
admission, stay, or provision of proper care and services to the individual 
receiving AG; and  

• For specific goods and services provided to the individual receiving AG 
other than food, shelter, or specific goods or services required to be 
provided by the AFC provider as a condition of participation in the AG 
program.  

The AFC provider shall document all third-party payments received on behalf of 
an individual receiving AG, including the source and amount of the payment 
and the goods and services for which these payments are to be used.  

Documentation shall be provided to the Department upon request. AFC 
providers shall provide each individual receiving AG with a written list of goods 
and services that are covered by the grant and a statement that the AFC 
provider may not charge an individual receiving AG or the individual’s family 
additional amounts for goods or services included on such list.  

4.4.6.3 Room, board, supervision, and special services 

An agreement stating the amount to be paid by the adult shall be reduced to 
writing and fully explained to the adult. The service worker, AFC provider, and 
the adult residing in AFC shall sign this agreement. A sample agreement for 
AFC is available on the VDSS internal website.  

Any modifications in the amount to be paid shall be indicated on the signed 
agreement and initialed and dated by the service worker, the AFC provider, and 
the adult residing in AFC. Appropriate notification to the eligibility worker shall 
be made.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-800
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi


Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Long-Term Care 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   4 Long-Term Care Services    

The adult shall retain a personal needs allowance for personal use. The 
amount retained shall not be less than what is allowable under the AG program. 

4.4.6.4 Coordinating the process for AG eligibility 

For an adult to be eligible for an AG payment in AFC, the following shall occur: 

• Both the service worker and the eligibility worker shall determine the 
adult's eligibility. Whoever has contact with the adult first shall refer the 
adult to the other. 

• The service and financial eligibility determination processes shall occur 
simultaneously when possible. The service worker shall assess the 
adult's needs and arrange for the potential placement. The eligibility 
worker shall determine financial eligibility and shall notify the service 
worker of the adult's eligibility for AG.  

• Upon notification that the adult is eligible for AG, the service worker shall 
assist with the adult with admission to the AFC. The service worker shall 
provide verification to the eligibility worker of the placement. The 
eligibility worker shall approve the case and determine the amount of the 
AG payment. The LDSS shall ensure that there is coordination of 
information between the service worker and the eligibility worker. 

4.4.7 Coordination with local Community Services Boards (CSB) – AFC 

LDSS are encouraged to coordinate with CSBs in the provision of AFC to adults with 
mental illness and/or intellectual disability. Prior to assisting individuals who receive 
services from the local CSB, the LDSS shall enter into an administrative support 
agreement with the local CSB concerning AFC. This agreement should specify 
which agency will be responsible for assessment, monitoring of services, placement, 
and discharge services provided to an adult with mental illness and/or intellectual 
disability in the AFC home.  

The LDSS is responsible to approve the AFC home and follow the requirements of 
this chapter when the adult’s assessment and residence in AFC is funded by the 
LDSS.  

The LDSS has no responsibility for approving AFC homes when placement and 
services are provided and funded by the CSB or any other agency. 
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4.5 Assisted Living Facility (ALF) assessment  

4.5.1 Introduction to ALF assessment 

The following is a brief overview of the assessment process for individuals residing 
in an ALF. Please refer to the Assisted Living Facility Assessment Manual, which is 
located on the DSS internal website, for complete information. 

For information on assessment of private pay individuals, see the Assisted Living 
Facility Private Pay Assessment Manual on the DSS internal website. 

4.5.2 Definition of ALFs 

ALFs are licensed by the VDSS Division of Licensing Programs to provide care and 
maintenance to four or more adults. ALF placement is appropriate when the adult is 
assessed to need assistance with activities of daily living (ADLs), instrumental 
activities of daily living (IADLs), administration of medication, and/or supervision due 
to behavioral conditions, but does not require the level of care provided in a nursing 
facility. 

4.5.3 Persons to be assessed in ALFs 

Individuals applying to reside in or residing in ALFs, regardless of payment status or 
anticipated length of stay, shall be assessed using the Virginia UAI to determine the 
individual’s need for residential or assisted living. Except in the case of a 
documented emergency, no one can be admitted to an ALF prior to an assessment.  

4.5.4 Assessors for public pay individuals in ALFs 

Employees of the following agencies can conduct ALF assessments: 

• LDSS. 

• Area agencies on aging. 

• Local departments of health. 

• Community services boards. 

• Centers for independent living. 

• State facility staff of the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS). Note: initial assessments only. 

• Designated staff of the Department of Corrections. Note: initial assessments 
only. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/manual.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/manual.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/manual.cgi
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• Entities contracting with DMAS to perform nursing home preadmission 
screening (NHPAS) or to complete the UAI for a home- and community-based 
waiver program, including an independent physician contracting with DMAS 
to complete the UAI for individuals in ALFs, or any hospital that has 
contracted with DMAS to perform NHPAS. An independent physician is a 
physician chosen by the individual and who has no financial interest in the 
ALF, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 
independent contractor with the residence. 

Pursuant to 22 VAC 40-745-90, the LDSS is the assessor of last resort if there is no 
other assessor willing or able to perform the assessment or reassessment. 

4.5.5 Assessors for private pay individuals in ALFs 

Unless a private pay individual requests that an assessment be completed by a 
public assessor, qualified staff of the ALF or an independent private physician may 
complete the UAI for private pay individuals. Qualified staff of the ALF is an 
employee with documented training in the completion of the UAI. The administrator 
or the administrator's designated representative shall approve and sign the 
completed assessment.  

4.5.6 Assessment and determination of services to be provided in ALFs 

The User’s Manual: Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, available on the DSS 
internal website, provides thorough instructions regarding completion of the 
assessment. Information gathered on the UAI will allow the assessor to determine 
whether the individual meets the level of care criteria for ALF placement. An 
individual shall meet these criteria to be considered for public-funded ALF 
placement. 

The UAI for ALFs is comprised of a short assessment or a full assessment. The 
short assessment may be used when the intake information indicates that the adult 
will need only residential level of care. The short assessment (Part A or pages 1-4) 
plus an assessment of the individual's medication management (“How do you take 
your medicine?” question on page 5 of the UAI) and behavior (“Behavior Pattern” 
section on page 8 of the UAI) is designed to briefly assess the individual's need for 
services and to determine if a full assessment (Parts A+B or entire UAI) is needed. 
The UAI and the short form attachment are available on the DSS internal website. 
The assessment focuses on the individual’s ability to function while documenting 
functional dependencies and other needs. Emphasis shall be on assessing the total 
individual to determine activities he or she is able to safely perform in his or her 
usual environment. 

For public pay individuals, the short assessment shall be completed. (Note: DMAS 
will reimburse the assessor only at the short-form rate if that is all that is needed 
even if the full assessment is completed.) If, upon completing the short assessment, 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-745-90
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/manual.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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it is noted that the individual is rated dependent in two or more ADLs or is rated 
dependent in behavior pattern, then a full assessment is completed. DMAS will 
monitor assessments to ensure that the appropriate version (i.e., short vs. full) is 
completed.  

4.5.7 When to complete a UAI for individuals residing in an ALF 

• The UAI shall be completed or updated within 90 days prior to the date of 
admission to the ALF. No one can be admitted to an ALF without having been 
assessed prior to admission except in the case of a documented emergency 
admission.  

• An assessment using either the short-form or full UAI, as appropriate, shall be 
completed or updated at least once every 12 months on all individuals 
residing in an ALF.  

• The UAI shall be completed or updated as needed whenever there is a 
change in the individual's condition that appears to warrant a change in the 
individual’s approved level of care. 

4.5.8 Criteria for placement in an ALF 

4.5.8.1 Criteria for residential living 

Individuals meet the criteria for residential living as documented on the UAI 
when at least one of the following describes their functional capacity: 

• Rated dependent in only one of seven ADLs (i.e., bathing, dressing, 
toileting, transferring, bowel function, bladder function, and 
eating/feeding) (page 4 of UAI). 

• Rated dependent in one or more of four selected IADLs (i.e., meal 
preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and money management) (page 4 
of UAI). 

• Rated dependent in medication administration (page 5 of UAI). 

4.5.8.2 Criteria for assisted living 

Individuals meet the criteria for assisted living as documented on the UAI when 
at least one of the following describes their functional capacity: 

• Rated dependent in two or more of seven ADLs (page 4 of UAI). 

• Rated dependent in behavior pattern (i.e., abusive, aggressive, or 
disruptive) (page 8 of UAI). 
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4.5.8.3 Prohibited conditions 

Assessors shall also determine that individuals do not have any of the 
prohibited conditions listed below before authorizing placement in an ALF. If 
any of these conditions are present, the assessor shall document that they are 
present on the UAI and the individual is not eligible for ALF placement. Please 
refer to the Assisted Living Facilities Assessment Manual for more specific 
information on prohibited conditions. 

State law prohibits admission or retention of individuals in an ALF when they 
have any of the following conditions or care needs: 

• Ventilator dependency. 

• Dermal ulcers stage III and IV except those stage III ulcers which are 
determined by an independent physician to be healing and care is 
provided by a licensed health care professional under a physician's 
treatment plan. 

• Intravenous therapy or injection directly into the vein except for 
intermittent intravenous therapy managed by a health care  professional 
licensed in Virginia. 

• Airborne infectious disease in a communicable state that requires 
isolation of the individual or requires special precautions by the caretaker 
to prevent transmission of the disease. 

• Psychotropic medications without appropriate diagnosis and treatment 
plans. 

• Nasogastric tubes. 

• Gastric tubes except when the individual is capable of independently 
feeding himself or herself and caring for the tube. 

• Individuals presenting an imminent physical threat or danger to self or 
others. 

• Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care (seven days a 
week, 24 hours a day). 

• Individuals whose physician certifies that placement is no longer 
appropriate. 

• Unless the individual's independent physician determines otherwise, 
individuals who require maximum physical assistance as documented by 
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the UAI and meet Medicaid nursing facility level of care criteria as 
defined in the State Plan for Medical Assistance. 

• Individuals whose health care needs cannot be met in the specific 
assisted living facility as determined by the ALF. 

4.5.8.4 Private pay individuals only - exceptions to the above 

At the request of the private pay individual, care for the conditions or care 
needs specified in the third and seventh bullet above may be provided to an 
individual in an ALF by a physician licensed in Virginia, a nurse licensed in 
Virginia under a physician’s treatment plan, or by a home care organization 
licensed in Virginia when the resident’s independent physician determines that 
such care is appropriate for the individual residing in the ALF. This exception 
does not apply to individuals receiving AG. 

When care for an individual’s special medical needs is provided by licensed 
staff of a home care agency, the ALF staff may receive training from the home 
care agency staff in appropriate treatment monitoring techniques regarding 
safety precautions and actions to take in case of emergency. 

4.5.9 Possible results from an ALF assessment 

• A recommendation for ALF care; 

• Referral to a Nursing Facility Preadmission Screening (PAS) Team to 
determine if the individual is appropriate for Medicaid-funded community-
based care or nursing facility care; 

• Referrals to other community resources (non-Medicaid-funded) such as 
home-based care services, health services, adult day care centers, home-
delivered meals, etc.; or 

• Referral for services not required. 

4.5.10 Case management ALF assessments  

Cases should be opened following all usual adult services assessment and case 
management procedures. Case typing will depend upon the adult’s situation at the 
time of the initial assessment. For individuals needing ALF services, only the 
assessment requirements for completing the designated sections of the UAI shall be 
followed. Once placement has been made and the case management agency has 
been designated, if applicable, the case may be closed if the placement is outside of 
the LDSS’s jurisdiction. If no other case management agency has been designated, 
the LDSS making the placement shall notify the LDSS where the placement is made 
that an individual receiving AG is residing in an ALF in its jurisdiction. The receiving 
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LDSS will open the case with a case type of ALF Reassessment if the annual 
reassessment is the only case management service needed. 

If other services are being provided, the AS (Adult Services) case type may be 
selected. However, depending on the intensity of the needed case management 
services, case type AS – Intensive Services may be appropriate for Medicaid-funded 
ALF targeted assessment. 

Case type APS is used in all cases where an individual residing in an ALF has been 
a victim of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, or is at risk of abuse, neglect, or 
exploitation, and all APS procedures found in Chapter 2, Adult Protective Services 
shall be followed if the individual is receiving protective services. If the adult remains 
in the LDSS jurisdiction and no other services are being offered to the individual who 
is receiving AG in the ALF, the worker should change the case type to ALF 
Reassessment, keep the case open and complete the required annual 
reassessment one year from the date of the placement assessment.  

When an LDSS has been notified that an individual who is receiving AG is residing 
in an ALF in its jurisdiction and no other services are needed, the receiving 
department should open the case in case type ALF Reassessment and follow 
procedures for completing the required annual reassessment. If the individual needs 
other services, the worker should follow procedures in the ASAPS-Robo Help to 
determine the proper case type and to document the need for the required annual 
reassessment. 

4.6 Nursing facility preadmission screening 

Individuals who are Medicaid eligible or will be Medicaid eligible within 180 days of 
placement and who are seeking Medicaid coverage for nursing facility care shall be 
screened to determine their need for the service (§ 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia). 
See the Preadmission Screening Manual on the DMAS website for details on policies 
and procedures.  

4.6.1 Community-Based Preadmission Screening (PAS) team 

4.6.1.1 Composition of the team 

The team shall consist of a physician, a nurse, and a service worker who are 
employees of either the local department of health or LDSS. 

4.6.1.2 Responsibilities and procedures of the team 

• The team determines: 

o If the adult meets nursing facility criteria upon completion of the 
UAI. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dis/asaps/
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-330
https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManual
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o If the adult has a condition of mental illness, intellectual disability, or 
a related condition, the team shall determine whether an additional 
screening for active treatment needs is necessary. 

o If the adult’s needs can best be provided in a nursing facility or in 
the community. 

• The service worker and/or the nurse on the team shall collaborate with 
the adult and the adult's family to identify resources to meet the adult's 
needs. All community-based services are to be considered. 

• The team shall notify the adult by letter of its decision to approve or deny 
the requested services. 

4.6.2 LDSS responsibilities 

• The LDSS has screening responsibilities for adults who: 

o Are residing in the community and desire a preadmission screening. 

o Move or plan to move into the LDSS’ jurisdiction and request services 
(see the Pre-Admission Screening Manual for the requirements). 
Medicaid Manuals are available on the DMAS website.  

o Are being paroled or otherwise released from a correctional facility and 
need a determination of Medicaid eligibility for admission to a nursing 
facility. LDSS are to accept these Medicaid applications even though the 
individual may be an inmate in a public institution at the time of 
application. The purpose of these applications is to determine eligibility 
for the individual at the time of release from prison. The correctional 
facility staff will complete the Medicaid application and, if needed, the 
Medicaid History and Disability Report, and will send the application to 
the locality of residence prior to the inmate's incarceration. Preadmission 
screening will be completed by the local department of health or LDSS. 
Applications are subject to regular processing time frames. 

• LDSS do not have nursing facility preadmission screening responsibilities for 
individuals who are: 

o In acute-care hospitals. Adults seeking nursing facility preadmission 
screening when in an acute-care hospital should be referred to the 
hospital-based preadmission screening team. For adults being 
discharged from military or Veterans' Administration hospitals, refer to 
the Medicaid Nursing Home Preadmission Screening Manual. 

https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/ProviderManual
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o Discharged from state mental health/intellectual 
disability/substance abuse facilities. Adults seeking nursing facility 
preadmission screening prior to discharge from a state mental 
health/mental retardation or substance abuse facility should be referred 
to DMAS for screening.  

o Transferred between nursing facilities within the state. Adults 
transferred between nursing facilities within the state are not required to 
be screened by local screening teams. The nursing facility from which 
the individual is transferring sends a copy of all screening material to the 
receiving facility; the receiving facility initiates appropriate documentation 
for admission certification purposes. 

o Transferred from out-of-state nursing facilities entering in-state 
nursing facilities. Direct transfers from an out-of-state nursing facility 
should be referred to the receiving nursing facility. 

o Currently receiving Medicaid-funded community-based care 
waivers. The local preadmission screening team is not responsible for 
screenings for individuals who are in the Elderly or Disabled with 
Consumer Direction (EDCD) Waiver and who are transferring to a 
nursing facility. 

o Currently receiving nursing facility services and transferred to a 
Medicaid-funded community-based waiver. The local preadmission 
screening team is not responsible to screen individuals who currently are 
in a nursing facility and are transferring to a Medicaid-funded 
community-based waiver program. 

4.6.3 Procedures for adults residing in the community 

• Adults or their representatives should be referred to the local health 
department and/or LDSS for screening in the jurisdiction in which the adult is 
living at the time of application. 

• If the adult is not already Medicaid-eligible, the adult should also be referred 
to the LDSS so that eligibility for Medicaid can be determined. Screening may 
occur either before or after determination of financial eligibility for Medicaid. 
DMAS will reimburse for screenings of individuals who are currently 
financially Medicaid-eligible or are expected to be financially eligible within 
180 days of receipt of nursing facility care. 

• Decisions of the screening committees may be appealed. If an individual 
wishes to appeal, he or she must submit a written request within 30 days of 
the PAS team’s action. The request must be sent to the Client Appeals Unit, 
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Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

4.7 The Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) and Community Services Boards (CSB) 

4.7.1 Case management 

The local community services board (CSB) shall be contacted for information 
regarding the availability of case management services in the locality that it serves. 
CSB case management services include assessing the need for services, planning 
for service delivery, linking the adult to the needed services, and monitoring the 
provision of services to the individual. The LDSS may participate in the case 
management process.  

4.7.2 Case review by a prescription team 

The local CSB should be contacted for information regarding the specific activities 
and services of the local CSB prescription team. 

The LDSS is identified in the Code of Virginia as a member of the prescription team 
established by the CSB. The team, under the direction of the CSB, shall be 
responsible for integrating the community services necessary to accomplish effective 
prescreening and pre-discharge planning for adults referred to the CSB (§§ 37.2-505 
and 37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia). 

4.7.3 Admission to a state facility operated by DBHDS 

The LDSS shall refer adults to the local CSB for preadmission screening for 
admission into state psychiatric and intellectual disability facilities. When admission 
to a state facility operated by DBHDS is being sought, the LDSS may be requested 
to assist in preparing portions of the comprehensive evaluation. 

4.7.4 Convalescent leave and discharge planning 

When an adult returns to the community from a DBHDS facility, an LDSS may be 
requested to participate in the facility's pre-discharge planning process (§§ 37.2-505 
and 37.2-837 of the Code of Virginia). Adults released on convalescent status or 
expected to be discharged from DBHDS facilities who will be in need of social 
services are the responsibility of the LDSS of: 

• First, the county or city where the adult was residing at the time of admission; 
or 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-505
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-837
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-505
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+37.2-837
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• Second, the locality where the adult has chosen to reside, if the locality where 
the adult previously resided has not maintained service responsibility for the 
case; or 

• Third, in the absence of such a place, the jurisdiction of the institution from 
which the adult is being released. 

4.8 Long-term care coordinating committees 

The Code of Virginia requires the establishment of a local long-term care coordinating 
committee in each city or county or combination thereof. Pursuant to § 63.2-1602 of the 
Code of Virginia, the LDSS is a member of the committee. The purpose of the 
committee is to guide the coordination and administration of public long-term care 
services in the locality. 

(§ 51.5-138 of the Code of Virginia). The governing body of each county or city, or a 
combination thereof, shall designate a lead agency and member agencies to accomplish the 
coordination of local long-term care services and supports. The agencies shall establish a 
long-term care coordination committee composed of, but not limited to, representatives of 
each agency. The coordination committee shall guide the coordination and administration of 
public long-term care services and supports in the locality. The membership of the 
coordination committee shall be comprised of, but not limited to, representatives of the local 
department of public health, the local department of social services, the community services 
board or community mental health clinic, the area agency on aging, the local nursing home 
pre-admission screening team, and representatives of housing, transportation, and other 
appropriate local organizations that provide long-term care services. A plan shall be 
implemented that ensures the cost-effective utilization of all funds available for long-term 
care services and supports in the locality. Localities are encouraged to provide services and 
supports within each category of service in the continuum and to allow one person to deliver 
multiple services, when possible.  

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1602
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-138
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4.9 Appendix A: Forms 

The following forms may be used during the provision of Adult Services. Unless 
otherwise indicated, these forms are located on the Adult Services forms page of the 
DSS internal website.  

Adult Foster Care Agreement 
This form is used as an agreement among the individual receiving foster care services, 
the LDSS and the foster care provider.  

Adult Foster Care Interagency Agreement 
This form is used when an LDSS is placing an adult in an AFC home in a neighboring 
jurisdiction.  

Short Form Attachment 
This form is used when it is determined that an individual will only need residential level 
of care in an ALF setting. The attachment is used in conjunction with pages 1-4 of the 
UAI. 

Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) 
This form is used to assess an individual’s need for services including assisted living, 
home-based services, and Medicaid funded services. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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5 
ADULT SERVICES PROVIDERS  

 
 
 

5.1 Legal basis 

Legal authority and requirements for Adult Services Providers are based in the Code of 
Virginia and state regulation (22 VAC 40-771). Throughout this section, text that is 
indented with a blue vertical line denotes material taken verbatim from the Code or the 
Department’s regulations. 

This section describes policies and procedures for providers of services to adults who 
are approved by the local department of social services (LDSS). The services include: 

• Home-based services (i.e., companion, chore, and homemaker services).  

• Adult foster care.  

• Adult day services.  

5.2 Definitions  

The following words and terms are defined in state regulation (22 VAC 40-771-10). 
When used in this section, they shall have the following meaning, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

Term Definition 

Activities of 
Daily Living 
(ADLs) 

Bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder 
control, and eating/feeding. A person’s degree of independence 
in performing these activities is part of determining the 
appropriate level of care and services. 

Adult Any individual 18 years of age or over. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0771
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-10
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Term Definition 

Adult Abuse The willful infliction of physical pain, injury or mental anguish, or 
unreasonable confinement of an adult. 

Adult Day 
Services 
Provider 

A provider who gives personal supervision for up to three adults 
for part of a day. The provider promotes social, physical, and 
emotional well-being through companionship, self-education, 
and satisfying leisure activities. Adult day services that are 
provided for more than three adults require licensure by the 
Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS). 

Adult 
Exploitation 

The illegal use of an incapacitated adult or his resources for 
another’s profit or advantage. 

Adult Foster 
Care 

Room and board, supervision, and special services to an adult 
who has a physical or mental condition or an emotional or 
behavioral problem. Adult foster care may be provided by a 
single provider for up to three adults. 

Adult Foster 
Care Provider 

A provider who gives room and board, supervision, and special 
services in his own home for up to three (3) adults who are 
unable to remain in their own home because of a physical or 
mental condition or an emotional or behavioral problem. Care 
provided for more than three (3) adults requires licensure by the 
VDSS. 

Adult Neglect A condition in which an adult is living under such circumstances 
that he is not able to provide for himself or is not being provided 
services necessary to maintain his physical and mental health 
and that the failure to receive such necessary services impairs 
or threatens to impair his well-being.  

Adult Services Services that are provided to adults 60 years of age and older 
and to adults 18 years of age and older who are impaired. 

Assistant Any individual who is responsible to assist an adult services 
approved provider in caring for adult clients. Assistants shall 
meet the same requirements as the provider. 
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Term Definition 

Chore Provider A provider who performs non-routine, heavy home maintenance 
tasks for adult clients unable to perform such tasks for 
themselves. Chore services include minor repair work on 
furniture and appliances in the adult’s home; carrying coal, 
wood, and water; chopping wood; removing snow; yard 
maintenance; and painting. 

Client Any adult who needs supervision and/or services and seeks 
assistance in meeting those needs from a local department of 
social services (LDSS). 

Companion 
Provider 

A provider who assists adult clients unable to care for 
themselves without assistance and where there is no one 
available to provide the needed services without cost in 
activities such as light housekeeping, companionship, shopping, 
meal preparation, transportation, household management, and 
activities of daily living (ADLs). 

Department The Virginia Department of Social Services or VDSS. 

Home-Based 
Services 

Companion, chore, and homemaker services that allow 
individuals to attain or maintain self-care and are likely to 
prevent or reduce dependency. 

Homemaker 
Services 

A provider who gives instruction in or, where appropriate, 
performs activities such as personal care, home management, 
household maintenance, and nutrition, consumer, or hygiene 
education. 

In-Home 
Provider 

An individual who provides care in the home of the adult client 
needing supervision and/or services. In-home providers include 
companion, chore, and homemaker providers. 

Instrumental 
Activities of 
Daily Living 
(IADLs) 

Meal preparation, housekeeping/light housework, shopping for 
personal items, laundry, or using the telephone. An adult client’s 
degree of independence in performing these activities is part of 
determining the appropriate level of care and services. 

Local Board The local board of social services representing one or more 
counties or cities. 

Local 
Department 
(LDSS) 

The local department of social services of any county or city in 
this Commonwealth. 
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Term Definition 

Local 
Department-
Approved 
Provider 

A provider that is not subject to licensure and is approved by an 
LDSS to provide services to VDSS clients. 

Out-of-Home 
Provider 

An individual who provides care in the individual's own home to 
adult clients who enter the home for purposes of receiving 
needed supervision and/or services. 

Personal Care 
Services 

The provision of non-skilled services including assistance in the 
activities of daily living, and may include instrumental activities 
of daily living related to the needs of the adult client, to maintain 
the adult client’s health and safety in their home. 

Responsible 
Person 

An individual designated by or for an adult client who is 
authorized to make decisions concerning the adult client and/or 
to receive information about the adult client. 

5.3 LDSS-approved providers  

(22 VAC 40-771-20). This regulation applies to providers approved by a local department 
and does not apply to facilities or organizations licensed by a licensing or regulatory agency. 

The local department is not required to accept provider applications for any type of service 
when the local department has a sufficient number of providers for that service to meet the 
client population needs or does not offer the type of service. 

Prior to approving an out-of-home provider located in another jurisdiction, the local 
department shall seek written permission from the local department where the provider will 
provide services. 

Local departments may use an approved provider from another jurisdiction without 
performing another approval study when the local department obtains written permission and 
a copy of the approval documents from the local department which conducted the approval 
study.  

This guidance is applicable to the following providers who are approved by the LDSS: 

• Out-of-Home Providers  

o Adult day services providers 

o Adult foster care providers 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-20


Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Services Providers 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   5 Adult Services Providers    

• In-Home Providers 

o Companion providers 

o Chore providers  

o Homemaker providers 

5.3.1 Mixed programs 

Approval of a provider for more than one type of care is permitted. The requirements 
applicable to each specific type of care provided shall be met.  

5.3.2 Subcontracted providers 

This guidance is applicable to individual providers who are subcontracted by the 
LDSS, such as home health care providers who are subcontracted by the LDSS to 
perform home-based care services. 

5.4 Requirements for providers and their households  

The following guidance applies to providers of adult services and their households. 

5.4.1 Age  

(22 VAC 40-771-30). All local department-approved adult services homemaker providers 
shall be at least 18 years of age. 

All local department-approved adult services chore and companion providers shall be at 
least 16 years of age. If the local department chooses to approve a chore or companion 
provider who is at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age, the local department 
shall determine that the provider is competent and able to provide the service. 

Any assistant to a local department-approved in-home provider for adult services shall be 
at least 16 years of age.  

5.4.2 Criminal records 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The provider and any assistant, the spouse of the provider, or other 
adult household members who come in contact with adults in care shall identify any 
criminal convictions and consent to a criminal record search.  

A new criminal record background check shall be required at the time of renewal.  

The following persons shall be prohibited from being approved as providers of 
services to adults:  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
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• The provider. 

• The assistant. 

• The spouse of the provider.  

• Other adult household members who come in contact with adults in care. 

If either of the following applies: 

• They are convicted of crimes listed in § 63.2-1719; or  

• They have been convicted of any other felony or misdemeanor that, in the 
judgment of the LDSS, jeopardizes the safety or proper care of adults.  

(22 VAC 40-771-30). Conviction of a crime listed in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia 
will result in the revocation of the provider’s approval unless an allowable variance is 
granted by the local department. 

When the provider and any assistant, and for adult foster care, spouse of the provider, or 
other adult household members who come in contact with adults in care has been 
convicted of a felony or misdemeanor not listed in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia, 
the local department may approve the provider, if the local department determines that 
the conviction does not jeopardize the safety or proper care of the adult.  

5.4.2.1 Application 

The Application for Department Approved Provider requires the provider to 
identify any criminal convictions. 

5.4.2.2 Central Criminal Records Exchange – all providers 

Virginia State Police maintain criminal history record information for arrests and 
convictions in Virginia. Section 19.2-389 authorizes the LDSS to request 
criminal history for all agency approved providers of Adult Services directly from 
the Virginia State Police through the Central Criminal Records Exchange. SP-
230 is the State Police form to use when requesting this information. The SP-
230 and instructions are available on the Virginia State Police website.  

SP-230 may be downloaded as a PDF document or an electronic form may be 
submitted directly from the website. The cost for each Central Criminal Records 
Exchange search is $15.00. The payment for criminal records checks is made 
through the Administrative Budget Line 854. 

The LDSS should consider establishing a payment account with the State 
Police to use the electronic submission form. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-389
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/
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A statewide criminal record check shall be performed on the provider, any 
assistant, the provider’s spouse, and all other adult household members who 
have contact with adults receiving adult foster care services. This shall be done 
regardless of the response to the criminal records question on the Application. 
These checks should be repeated at the time of renewal. 

5.4.2.2.1 Local police records  

Local police have access to criminal history record information. The LDSS 
should explore what criminal record information is available through the 
local police. Information, if available, may be on local convictions only, on 
statewide convictions, or on convictions from other states. In exploring this 
question with local police, the LDSS should establish a process for obtaining 
criminal history information in the event an emergency placement or 
provider approval is needed. 

5.4.2.2.2 Criminal record information from other states  

If not available through the local police, criminal record information on 
arrests and convictions occurring in other states may be obtained from the 
state where the provider or household member resided if the other state's 
law allows information to be disseminated. 

5.4.2.2.3 National criminal background check 

The Virginia State Police can also conduct a national criminal background 
check for employees or volunteers providing care to elderly individuals and 
individuals with a disability using form SP-24 available on the Virginia State 
Police website. One applicant fingerprint card (FD-258) must be completed 
and attached to this form. The Virginia State Police or local law enforcement 
may be contacted for information about the fingerprint card. Search fees are 
$37.00 for an employee or $26.00 for a volunteer.  

5.4.2.3 Information received from the Central Criminal Record 
Exchange  

• If no record exists on the individual, the Central Criminal Records 
Exchange will stamp and return the form to indicate this. 

• If a record exists, the information furnished will include identifying 
information, contributing agency, date of occurrence, charge, and 
disposition. 

• Information on providers and all household members will only include 
information on convictions. 

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/
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• The Central Criminal Records Exchange will provide information 
concerning offenses enumerated in § 63.2-1719. It does not contain 
information on certain offenses such as driving a motor vehicle while 
intoxicated; disorderly conduct; trespassing; and class III and IV 
misdemeanors (such as gambling, slander, drunk in public, etc.).  

5.4.2.4 Determining when criminal convictions jeopardize adults 

• If the following persons have been convicted of any offense enumerated 
in § 63.2-1719, they shall be prohibited from being approved as an 
LDSS-approved provider of services to adults. See Appendix J for the 
list of barrier crimes. 

o The provider. 

For adult day services and AFC: 

o The spouse of the provider. 

o The assistant. 

o Any other household member who comes in contact with the adult 
receiving care. 

• The LDSS will need to exercise judgment in the approval or denial of 
providers when convictions of other felonies and misdemeanors not 
listed in § 63.2-1719 are found. The provider record should document 
the reasons for the approval or denial. No denial may be based solely on 
arrest information where no conviction has been made.  

5.4.2.5 Confidentiality of criminal record information  

Criminal record information can only be used for the purpose intended. It shall 
not be shared with anyone other than the individual identified in the record. For 
example, conviction information on a household member cannot be shared with 
the provider. However, the provider could be told that he or she is being denied 
because this requirement is not met.  

(§ 63.2-1601.1). If approval as an agency approved provider is denied because of 
information obtained through a Central Criminal Records Exchange search, the 
local board, upon request, shall provide a copy of the information obtained to the 
individual who is the subject of the search. Further dissemination of the criminal 
history record information is prohibited.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1601.1
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5.5 Interviews, references, employment history, and assessment  

The sections below describe interviews, references, employment history, and 
assessments for providers of adult services. 

5.5.1 Interviews – all providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The provider shall participate in interviews with the local 
department.  

5.5.1.1 Out-of-home providers 

At least one interview with an out-of-home provider shall occur in the provider's 
home (where care is to be provided) at the time of the initial approval and at 
renewal. If 24-hour care will be provided, all household members should be 
interviewed.  

 (22 VAC 40-771-30). For adult foster care and adult day services, at least one 
interview shall occur in the home where the care is to be provided. All adult 
household members shall be interviewed to ensure that they understand the 
demands and expectations of the care to be provided.  

 

5.5.1.2 In-home providers 

At least one interview with an in-home provider shall be face-to-face at the time 
of initial approval and at renewal. For in-home providers used by the LDSS, the 
LDSS representative will interview the provider face-to-face as often as 
necessary, but at least semi-annually to monitor the provider. 

5.5.2 References – all providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The provider shall provide at least two references from persons 
who have knowledge of the provider's ability, skill, or experience in the provision of 
services and who shall not be related to the provider.  

The LDSS may request more than two (2) references. 

5.5.2.1 Follow-up  

• The LDSS shall check references for the initial approval. References do 
not need to be rechecked at renewal.  

• The LDSS may contact references by telephone, face-to-face interview, 
or request a reference in writing. References which are not written shall 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
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be documented in the provider record by the worker. A sample format for 
reference questions is contained in Appendix C.  

5.5.3 Employment history – all providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The provider shall provide information on the provider's 
employment history.  

5.5.3.1  Application 

The provider shall list previous employment on the Application for Department 
Approved Provider. 

5.5.3.2 Follow-up 

The LDSS shall check employment that is relevant to the type of care to be 
provided at initial approval. The LDSS may wish to check other employment to 
assess the prospective provider on characteristics identified in Section 5.5.4. 
The LDSS may check employment by telephone, face-to-face interview, or 
through written verification. 

5.5.3.3 Additional requirements 

The LDSS may further evaluate the applicant to ensure that he or she is able to 
meet the demands of providing the services. 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The provider shall have the capability to fully perform the 
requirements of the position, have the moral and business integrity and reliability to 
ensure good faith performance and be determined by the local department to meet 
the requirements of the position.  

5.5.4 Assessment of provider – all providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The local department shall use the interviews, references, and 
employment history to assess that the provider is: 

a. Knowledgeable of and physically and mentally capable of providing the necessary care 
for adults. 

b. Able to sustain positive and constructive relationships with adults in care, and to relate 
to adults with respect, courtesy, and understanding. 

c. Capable of handling emergencies with dependability and good judgment.  

d. Able to communicate and follow instructions sufficiently to ensure adequate care, 
safety and protection for adults.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
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5.5.4.1 Additional requirement for adult foster care providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). For adult foster care providers, the local department shall 
further use the interview, references, and employment history to assess that the 
provider has sufficient financial income or resources to meet the basic needs of his 
own family and has the knowledge, skills, and abilities to care for adults, including, 
but not limited to: 

a. Provision of a furnished room in the home that meets applicable zoning, building, 
and fire safety codes. 

b. Housekeeping services based on the needs of the adult in care. 

c. Nutritionally balanced meals and snacks, including extra portions and special 
diets as necessary. 

d. Provision of clean bed linens and towels at least once a week and as needed by 
the adult. 

e. Assistance with personal hygiene including bathing, dressing, oral hygiene, hair 
grooming and shampooing, care of clothing, shaving, care of toenails and 
fingernails, arranging for haircuts as needed, care of needs associated with 
menstruation or occasional bladder or bowel incontinence. 

f. Provision of generic personal toiletries including soap and toilet paper. 

g. Assistance with the following: care of personal possessions; care of personal 
funds if requested by the adult and adult foster care home’s policy permits it; use of 
telephone; arranging transportation; obtaining necessary personal items and 
clothing; making and keeping appointments; and correspondence. 

h. Securing health care and transportation when needed for medical treatment. 

i. Providing social and recreational activities as required by the LDSS and 
consistent with licensing regulations.  

j. General supervision for safety education.  

The purpose of this assessment is to determine that the provider is not relying 
on the payment made for the foster care adult to be income to support his or 
her family. The payment is to support the adult. It is not taxable income to the 
provider.  

This requirement can be addressed during the interview by determining how 
the provider is able to pay his or her personal bills. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
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5.5.4.2 Homemaker providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). For homemaker providers, the local department shall further 
use the interview, references, and employment history to assess that the provider 
has knowledge, skills, and ability, as appropriate, in: 

a. Home management and household maintenance; 

b. The types of personal care of the elderly or adults with a disability permitted by 
regulation;  

c. Nutrition education and meal planning and preparation, including special diets; 
and 

d. Personal hygiene and consumer education. 

5.6 Training – all providers  

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The local department shall provide some basic orientation to any 
approved provider. 

The provider shall attend any orientation and training required by the local department. The 
provider shall bear the cost of any required training unless the local department subsidizes 
the cost for all local department approved providers.  

5.7 Medical requirements – all providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The provider and assistant shall submit the results of a physical and 
mental health examination when requested by the local department.  

• If the LDSS needs verification to determine if the provider is physically or 
mentally capable of providing the necessary care for adults, the LDSS should 
request an examination.  

• The physical or mental health examination may be paid by the LDSS as an 
administrative cost charged to services if not covered by any other insurance 
program.  

5.7.1 Tuberculosis 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). The provider; for out-of-home care, the assistant, the provider’s 
spouse, and all other adult household members who come in contact with adults in care 
shall submit a statement from the local health department or licensed physician that he is 
believed to be free of tuberculosis in a communicable form.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
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• The statement shall indicate that the individual is free from tuberculosis in a 
communicable form. This does not mean that the actual test shall be 
performed; a risk assessment is permitted. The Request for Tuberculosis 
Statement form is available on the VDSS internal website and may be used to 
obtain the statement. 

• After initial approval, a statement regarding tuberculosis does not need to be 
obtained again unless the individual has contact with someone who has 
tuberculosis or develops chronic respiratory symptoms (more than four weeks 
in duration). 

• If the individual was tested for tuberculosis within the past year, a new test 
does not need to be performed as long as the statement is obtained. 

• The cost of any tuberculosis test may be paid by the LDSS as an 
administrative cost charged to services if not covered by any other insurance 
program. 

If the individual named within this section is not believed to be free of tuberculosis in 
a communicable form, the individual may not provide services to adults, assist with 
the adult’s care, or live in the same household. 

5.8 Changes in household 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). All local department approved providers shall keep the local 
department informed of changes in the household that may affect approval of the provider.  

5.9 Requirements for care 

The following sections describe the requirements for all providers. 

5.9.1 Non-discrimination  

(22 VAC 40-771-40). The provider shall provide care that does not discriminate on the 
basis of race, ethnicity, sex, national origin, age, religion, disability or impairment.  

5.9.2 Supervision  

(22 VAC 40-771-40). The provider shall have a plan for seeking assistance from police, 
firefighters, and medical professionals in an emergency.  
 
A responsible adult or an approved assistant shall always be available to provide 
appropriate care for the adult in case of an emergency. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
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The provider shall ensure that adequate care and supervision is provided to adults in care 
and that the adult’s health, safety, and well-being are protected.  

5.9.3 Substitute arrangements 

(22 VAC 40-771-40). If extended absence of the provider is required, the local 
department shall approve any substitute arrangements the provider wishes to make. 
An extended absence shall be defined as greater than one day.  

• The LDSS shall approve substitute arrangements prior to the provision 
of services by the substitute provider. The approval may include contact 
with the substitute.  

• The substitute provider shall meet the requirements of this section as 
appropriate. 

5.10 Food – adult foster care and adult day services providers  

This section does not require that the provider supply all food. In adult day services, 
the adult may bring food. In adult foster care or adult day services, the individual 
may eat elsewhere. 

(22 VAC 40-771-40). The following standards apply to food provided to adult clients by 
adult day services and adult foster care providers: 

1. Adults in care shall receive nutritionally balanced meals and snacks appropriate to the 
length of time in care each day and the daily nutritional needs of each adult. 

2. Adults in care shall receive special diets if prescribed by a licensed physician or in 
accordance with religious or ethnic requirements, the adult’s preferences, or other special 
needs. 

3. Adequate drinking water shall be available at all times.  

Adults in adult foster care shall receive a minimum of three well-balanced meals a 
day (22 VAC 40-25-30). 

5.11  Clothing – adult foster care 

(22 VAC 40-771-40). The adult foster care provider shall ensure that adults in care have 
adequate, properly fitting, and seasonal clothing and that all clothing is properly laundered or 
cleaned and altered or repaired as necessary.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-25-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
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5.12  Transportation  

Pursuant to 22 VAC 40-771-40 persons who transport adults in adult day services or 
adult foster care may include: 

• The provider; 

• The assistant in out-of home services; 

• Spouse of the provider; 

• Volunteer, or 

• Any other agent involved in the day-to-day operation. 

The provider or the person transporting adults in adult day services or adult foster care 
shall: 

• Have a valid driver’s license. 

• Have automobile liability insurance. 

• Ensure the vehicle transporting the adults has a valid license and inspection 
sticker.  

• Ensure that all passengers use safety belts in accordance with requirements of 
Virginia law. 

In addition: 

• Minimum liability insurance coverage in Virginia applies. 

• An "uninsured motorist" can operate a vehicle in Virginia and have no insurance 
coverage. This does not meet the insurance requirement.  

• Transportation costs of any provider are not a reimbursable cost through Budget 
Line 833. If it can be determined that the adult in care will be neglected or at risk 
of being neglected without transportation assistance and transportation is a part 
of the service plan, Budget Line 895 (APS) funding could be used after all Adult 
Protective Services procedures are followed.  

5.13  Medical care – all providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-40). The provider shall have the name, address, and telephone number of 
each adult's physician and responsible person easily accessible. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
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The provider shall be able to meet the identified needs of the adult before accepting the adult 
for care and in order to continue to provide services to the adult.  

The provider shall seek emergency medical care as needed and immediately report all 
major or serious injuries and accidents to the individual’s responsible person and the 
LDSS.  

5.13.1 Medical care – adult foster care and adult day services providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-40). The adult foster care and adult day services provider shall: 

1. Ensure that the adult receives prescription drugs only in accordance with an order 
signed by a licensed physician or authentic prescription label and, with the responsible 
person’s written consent, as appropriate;  

2. Document all medications taken by adults in care, including over-the-counter 
medications; 

3. Ensure that the adult in care receives nonprescription drugs only with the adult's or 
responsible person’s written consent, as required;  

4. Keep medications separate from food except those items that shall be refrigerated; 

5. Report all major injuries and accidents to the adult’s responsible person immediately; 

6. Have authorization for emergency medical care for each adult in care; and 

7. Have first aid supplies easily accessible in case of accidents.  

5.13.2 Additional requirement for adult foster care providers 

(22 VAC 40-771-40). Admission or retention of adults in an adult foster care home is 
prohibited when the adult’s care needs cannot be met by the provider as determined by 
the assessment of the adult services worker or by the adult’s physician.  

5.14  Activities – adult foster care and adult day services  

(22 VAC 40-771-40). The adult day services and adult foster care provider shall provide 
recreational and other planned activities appropriate to the needs, interests, and abilities of 
the adults in care.  

5.15  Requirements for the home of the out-of-home provider  

The following describe the physical requirements for the home of the provider of out-of-
home adult services. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
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5.15.1 Physical accommodations  

(22 VAC 40-771-50). Physical accommodations requirements include: 

1. The home shall have appropriate space and furnishings for each adult receiving care in 
the home to include: 

a. Space to keep clothing and other personal belongings; 

b. Accessible and adequate basin and toilet facilities; 

c. Comfortable sleeping or napping furnishings; 

d. For adults unable to use stairs unassisted, sleeping space on the first floor of the home; 

e. Adequate space for recreational activities; and 

f. Sufficient space and equipment for food preparation, service, and proper storage. 

2. All rooms used by adults shall be heated in winter, dry, and well ventilated. 

3. All doors and windows used for ventilation shall be appropriately screened. 

4. Rooms used by adults in care shall have adequate lighting for activities and the 
comfort of adults. 

5. The provider and any adult in care shall have access to a working telephone in the 
home. 

6. The home shall be in compliance with all local ordinances.  
 
7. Additional standards for adult foster care include: 
 
a. No more than two adults shall share a sleeping room unless they request and consent to 
sharing such a sleeping arrangement. 
 
b. There shall be space in the household for privacy outside of the sleeping rooms for the 
adult to entertain visitors and talk privately. 

c. For adult foster care, at least one toilet, one basin, and one tub or shower for 
every eight persons living in the home (including the adult in care and any 
household members).  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-50
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5.16  Home safety – adult foster care and adult day services  

(22 VAC 40-771-50). Home safety requirements include: 

1. The home and grounds shall be free from litter and debris and present no hazard to the 
safety of the adults receiving care. 

2. The provider shall permit a fire inspection of the home by appropriate authorities if 
conditions indicate a need for approval and the LDSS requests it. 

3. The provider shall have a written emergency plan that includes, but is not limited to, fire or 
natural disaster and rehearse the plan at least twice a year. The provider shall review the plan 
with each new adult placed in the home. 

4. Attics or basements used by adults in care shall have two emergency exits. one of the 
emergency exits shall lead directly outside and may be a door or an escapable window. 

5. Possession of any weapons, including firearms, in the home shall be in compliance with 
federal, state, and local laws and ordinances. The provider shall store all weapons, firearms, 
and ammunition in a locked cabinet with safety mechanisms activated. The key or 
combination to the cabinet shall not be accessible to the adult in care. Any glass cabinets 
used to store any weapons, including firearms, shall be shatterproof. 

6. The provider shall protect adults from household pets that may be a health or safety 
hazard. Household pets shall be inoculated as required by state or local ordinances. 
Documentation of inoculations shall be made available upon local department request. 

7. The provider shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic substances stored away from 
food and out of the reach of adults in care who are mentally incapacitated. 

8. The provider shall provide and maintain at least one approved, properly installed, and 
operable battery-operated smoke detector, at a minimum, in each sleeping area and on each 
additional floor. Existing installations that have been approved by the state or local fire 
marshal are exempted from this requirement.  

A sleeping area can include several bedrooms in the same area. However, a home with 
bedrooms in two wings would require a smoke detector in each wing. 

5.16.1 Fire and safety inspections 

• Each LDSS should determine the appropriate local authority to inspect for 
safety hazards and may wish to develop an internal guide based on direction 
from that authority. See Appendix G for an example of a request for fire 
inspection. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-50
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• The LDSS may wish to do the following prior to requesting a safety 
inspection:  

o Determine if there are any overloaded electrical wall outlets.  

o Determine if there is any deteriorated insulation on electrical equipment.  

o Inquire if the furnace is serviced regularly.  

o Observe if any wood stove is on a non-combustible surface and 
combustibles are at least three feet away.  

o Inquire if the chimney flue is lined and cleaned regularly.  

o  Inquire if a permit was obtained for any liquid propane (LP) gas heater.  

o Observe if there is any accumulation of grease around the range or 
oven. 

o Observe if there is excessive trash, old rags, or other combustibles lying 
around. 

5.17  Sanitation – adult foster care and adult day services 

(22 VAC 40-771-50). Sanitation requirements include: 

1. The provider shall permit an inspection of the home's private water supply and sewage 
disposal system by the local health department if conditions indicate a need for approval and 
the local department requests it. 

2. The home and grounds shall be free of garbage, debris, insects, and rodents that would 
present a hazard to the health of the adult in care.  

5.17.1 Water testing fee 

The usual and customary fee for water testing by the State Department of Health 
applies. This fee may be paid as an administrative cost charged to services. See 
Appendix H for an example of a request for sanitation inspection. 

5.18  Capacity – adult foster care and adult day services 

(22 VAC 40-771-50). Capacity standards include: 

1. The provider shall not exceed the maximum allowable capacity for the type of care 
provided and approved by the local department.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-50
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2. The adult day services provider shall not accept more than three adults in the home at any 
one time. A provider who has more than three adults receiving day services shall be licensed 
by the Department. 

3. The adult foster care provider shall not accept more than three adults for the purpose of 
receiving room, board, supervision, or special services, regardless of relationship of any adult 
to the provider. A provider who accepts more than three adults for these purposes shall be 
licensed as an assisted living facility by the Department. 

5.18.1 Out-of-home provider providing more than one type of care  

The LDSS shall carefully evaluate all providers who request to provide more than 
one type of care (e.g. child foster care and adult foster care) to ensure the provider 
is able to meet the needs of the individuals receiving care.  

5.19  Record requirements for the out-of-home provider  

(22 VAC 40-771-60). Record requirements for adult foster care and adult day services 
providers: 

A. The provider shall maintain written legible information on each adult in care. 

B. Information on the adult in care shall include: 

1. Identifying information on the adult in care; 

2. Name, address, and home and work telephone numbers of responsible persons; 

3. Name and telephone number of person to be called in an emergency when the responsible 
person cannot be reached; 
4. Name, address, and home and work telephone numbers of persons authorized to pick up 
the adult in care; 

5. Name of persons not authorized to call or visit the adult in care; 

6. Date of admission and discharge of the adult in care;  

7. Daily attendance records, where applicable. Daily attendance records are required for adult 
day services; 

8. Medical information pertinent to the health care of the adult in care; 

9. Correspondence related to the adult in care as well as other written adult information 
provided by the local department; and 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-60
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10. Placement agreement between the provider and the adult and his responsible person, 
where applicable. 

C. Adult records are confidential and shall not be shared without the approval of the adult in 
care or responsible person. 

D. The local department and its representatives shall have access to all records. 

E. The Department and its representative shall have access to all records.  

5.19.1 Confidentiality 

• When the adult leaves the home, the LDSS may request that certain 
information be returned to the LDSS, the adult, or his representative in order 
to accompany the individual to his or her next placement.  

• After the adult leaves, the provider may wish to keep information needed for 
the provider's purposes such as copies of unpaid invoices or other information 
for income taxes.  

5.20  Provider approval – all providers  

5.20.1 Approval period  

(22 VAC 40-771-70). The approval period for a provider may be up to 24 months when 
the provider meets the standards. In the case of adult day services and adult foster care, 
the home shall also meet the standards.  

5.20.2  Application  

• An Application for Department Approved Provider shall be completed by each 
applicant provider for the initial approval. It is not necessary for a renewal.  

• The application, once received by the LDSS, should be acted upon as quickly 
as possible.  

• A copy of the requirements should be given to each applicant provider. 

5.20.3 Compliance form  

A Compliance Form for Department Approved Provider (Parts A & B) should be 
completed for each applicant provider at the initial approval/denial determination and 
for each provider at each renewal. Part B of this form is only applicable to the out-of-
home provider (e.g., adult day services and adult foster care).  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-70
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi


Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Services Providers 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   5 Adult Services Providers    

5.20.4 Certificate of Approval 

A Certificate of Approval should be issued to the adult services provider when the 
provider is approved.  

5.20.5 Expiration of approval period 

The expiration date for the approval period should be set for the last day of the 
month in which approval is granted and be two (2) years hence unless the approval 
is emergency, provisional, or suspended. 

5.20.6 Notification  

The applicant provider or provider shall receive written notification within 10 
working days regarding action on the application or at renewal. A Certificate of 
Approval is adequate written notice for approved providers. See Appendix D for a 
sample denial letter. 

5.21  Allowable variance 

22 VAC 40-771-80 describes allowable variances. 

A. The provider may request an allowable variance on a standard if the variance does not 
jeopardize the safety and proper care of the adult or violate federal, state, or local law and the 
local department approves the request. 

B. The local department shall consult with the state adult services consultant prior to 
granting an allowable variance. 

C. The allowable variance shall be in writing with a copy maintained by the local 
department and the provider. 

D. The local department and the provider shall develop a plan to meet the applicable 
standard for which the allowable variance has been granted. 

E. The allowable variance shall be requested and granted by the local department prior to 
the approval of the provider or at the time of the provider’s renewal. 

5.21.1 Procedures for requesting a variance 

• The provider cannot request a variance without the LDSS' agreement. If the 
LDSS decides to accept the variance request, the LDSS will assist the 
provider in preparing the written variance request for review. 

• The request should specify, at a minimum: 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-80
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o The type of provider. 

o What specific reasons or circumstances exist in the situation that justify 
requesting the variance. 

o The requirement(s) for which a variance is requested. 

o What efforts have been/will be made to meet the requirement(s).  

o The length of time for which a variance is requested. 

o What precautions are being taken to ensure the safety and protection of 
the adults in care while the variance is in effect.  

• The request shall be signed by the LDSS director or his designee.  

• The AS/APS Regional Program Consultant shall review the variance request 
and provide technical assistance, if needed. 

5.21.2 Approval or denial of a variance  

If the LDSS approves the variance, the decision will indicate the length of time for 
which the variance is granted. 

A copy of the variance request and LDSS’ decision will be maintained in the 
provider’s record. 

5.22  Emergency approval of a provider  

State regulation (22 VAC 40-771-90) applies to the emergency approval of a provider. 

A. Emergency approval of a provider may be granted under the following conditions: 

1. The court orders emergency placement; or 

2. The adult or his responsible person requests placement or service in an emergency. 

B. A representative of the local department shall visit the provider’s home to ensure that 
minimum safety standards are evident and that the provider is capable of providing the care 
prior to the emergency placement of the adult in adult foster care or adult day services. 

C. For an in-home provider, the representative of the local department shall interview the 
provider to ensure that the emergency provider is capable of providing the needed services. 

D. Emergency approval should not exceed 30 days. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-90
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E. The provider shall meet all applicable standards if services shall be provided beyond the 
thirty-day emergency approval or if the emergency approval is extended beyond 30 days. 

5.22.1 Criminal history information 

The LDSS shall request criminal history information on the provider and household 
members who may have contact with the adult (see Section 5.4.2). 

5.22.2 Length of time 

• Emergency approval should not exceed 30 days.  

• A full compliance study shall be initiated immediately if the LDSS plans to use 
the provider beyond the 30 days. 

• If medical, water and sanitation, fire inspection, or criminal record check 
requirements cannot be determined within the 30-day period, emergency 
approval could continue up to 45 days as long as other requirements are met. 
It shall not exceed 45 days. Appropriate documentation shall be made in the 
provider record explaining why the emergency approval exceeded 30 days. 

5.22.3 Denial of approval 

Emergency approval may be denied by the LDSS if the provider, and in the case of 
adult foster care or adult day services, the home does not meet minimum standards. 
The LDSS reviewing the request for approval shall indicate the reason for the denial 
of the emergency approval on the Compliance Form. 

5.22.4 Notification 

The approval or denial of the emergency application shall be in writing and given to 
the adult and the prospective provider. See Appendix E for an example of an 
emergency approval or denial letter.  

5.23  Provider monitoring 

22 VAC 40-771-100 describes procedures for monitoring of providers. 

A. For adult day services or adult foster care providers, the local department representative 
shall visit the home of the provider as often as necessary, but at least semi-annually to 
monitor the performance of the provider. 

B. For home-based care providers, the local department representative shall interview the 
provider face-to-face as often as necessary, but at least semi-annually, to monitor the 
performance of the provider. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-100
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C. Provider monitoring shall include interviews with adults receiving care from the provider. 

D. The adult in care or his responsible person shall have access to all provider monitoring 
reports completed by the local department upon request.  

• The purpose of the monitoring visits/interviews is to allow the LDSS staff to 
determine the provider’s compliance with applicable standards. If the provider 
had difficulty meeting a particular standard, this should be checked at the 
monitoring contact. It is not intended to be a reexamination of all standards.  

• The monitoring can be performed by the staff person who approved the provider, 
a staff person who facilitated the adult-provider relationship, or another LDSS 
staff person designated by the appropriate LDSS supervisor. 

• Monitoring visits shall be documented on the Compliance Form for Department 
Approved Provider or in a provider narrative maintained in the provider’s record.  

5.24  Renewal process  

(22 VAC 40-771-110). The local department shall reapprove the provider prior to the end of 
the approval period if the provider continues to meet the standards. In the case of adult day 
services or adult foster care providers, the home also shall continue to meet the standards.  

The following areas do not need to be reexamined unless the LDSS feels there is a 
need:  

• Application (no renewal application is necessary).  

• Tuberculosis Statement.  

• References.  

• Employment History.  

The Compliance Form for Department Approved Provider shall be completed to 
document the initial approval and each renewal. 

5.25  Provider responsibilities 

A provider in good standing is an LDSS approved provider who:  

• Has the capability, in all respects, to perform fully the requirements of an LDSS 
approved provider.  

• Has the moral and business integrity and the reliability that will assure good faith 
performance.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-110
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• Has been approved by the LDSS as meeting the requirements for the type of 
provider the individual applies or is approved to be.  

In determining whether the provider has good standing, a number of factors, including 
but not limited to the following, are considered. The provider should: 

• Have a satisfactory record of performance, including providing services in a 
timely manner, being present to provide care when assigned, and having no 
legitimate complaints from the adult in care about the care and services received. 

• Comply with the required performance of job duties. 

• Have the necessary facilities, organization, experience, technical skills, and 
financial resources to fulfill the terms of the requirements of the position, as 
needed. 

• Have no active allegation(s) of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation made against 
him or her. In this case, it is within the purview of the LDSS to find a substitute 
provider until the allegation(s) has been resolved; a substantiated APS allegation 
shall be used as a basis for revocation of the approval of the provider or denial of 
the applicant. 

• Have satisfactory monitoring assessments completed by the LDSS indicating that 
quality work is performed according to the vendor agreement with the LDSS. 

• For in-home providers, provide documentation of time worked and be able to 
verify that services were provided to the adult as agreed. For out-of-home 
providers, be able to verify that services were provided to the adult in care 
pursuant to the adult foster care/adult day care agreement between the provider 
and the LDSS. 

The provider who does not meet these requirements shall be considered to no longer 
be in good standing as a provider. In such case, the LDSS has the authority to grant 
provisional approval, suspend approval, or revoke approval.  

5.26  Inability of the provider to meet requirements 

(22 VAC 40-771-120). If the provider cannot meet the standards for adult services approved 
providers, the local department shall grant provisional approval, suspend approval, or revoke 
approval, depending on the duration and nature of noncompliance.  

The provider shall be given the opportunity to correct any non-compliance issues and 
be reassessed by the LDSS, at which time the provider approval may be reinstated as 
being in good standing with or without a variance, suspended, or revoked. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-120
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5.26.1 Provisional approval  

(22 VAC 40-771-120). The local department may grant provisional approval if 
noncompliance does not jeopardize the safety or proper care of the adults in care. 
Provisional approval shall not exceed three months.  

5.26.2 Suspension of approval  

(22 VAC 40-771-120). The local department may suspend approval if noncompliance 
may jeopardize the safety and proper care of the adults in care. Suspension shall not 
exceed three months. During the suspension, the provider can give no care to adults 
referred by the local department.  

5.26.3 Revocation of approval  

(22 VAC 40-771-120). If the provider is found to be out of compliance with the standards 
set forth herein and cannot meet standards within three months and a variance is not 
granted, the approval shall be revoked. 

The local department shall immediately revoke its approval if noncompliance jeopardizes 
the health, safety and proper care of the adults in care. Adults in adult foster care and 
adult day services shall be removed within five calendar days from the date of the 
decision.  

5.26.4 Notification of action  

(22 VAC 40-771-120). The decision to grant provisional approval, suspend approval or 
revoke approval shall be in writing with the effective date of the decision noted.  

The LDSS shall notify the provider in writing, specify the reasons for provisional 
approval, suspension, or revocation, and indicate the provider's right of review. See 
Appendix F for a sample letter. 

5.27 Relocation of the out- of-home provider – adult foster care and 
adult day services  

The following sections describe the circumstances when an out-of-home provider 
relocates.  

5.27.1 Within the approving jurisdiction 

(22 VAC 40-771-130). If the out-of-home provider moves, the local department 
approving the provider shall determine continued compliance with standards related to 
the home as soon as possible, but no later than 30 days after relocation to avoid 
disruption of services to the adult in care.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-120
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-120
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-120
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-120
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-130
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The renewal period does not change unless a full re-approval is done at the same 
time. A new Certificate of Approval does not need to be issued unless the provider 
requests one.  

5.27.2 Outside of the approving jurisdiction 

(22 VAC 40-771-130). If an out-of-home provider moves outside of the locality that 
approved the provider, the local department in the new place of residence may accept the 
provider approval of the initial local department based upon the recommendation of the 
initial local department or may initiate the approval process itself.  

The receiving LDSS shall visit to determine compliance with requirements for the 
home as soon as possible but no later than 30 days after relocation to avoid a 
disruption in services to the adult(s) in care.  

5.28  Right of review  

(22 VAC 40-771-140). The provider shall have the right to request that the decision of the 
LDSS be reviewed by the local director of social services.  

The provider shall request the review within 10 calendar days from the effective date of the 
Notice of Action.  

5.28.1 Review process 

If a dispute cannot be resolved between an approved provider or applicant provider 
and an LDSS, the applicant/provider has the right to request a review of the LDSS’ 
decision by the local director of social services. The request to review the LDSS’ 
decision shall be made within 10 calendar days from the effective date of the 
department’s written notice. The steps of the review are as follows:  

1. The LDSS shall schedule a review conference within 10 working days of 
receipt of the written request by the applicant/provider. 

2. Participants in the review conference may include: 

• The applicant/provider(s).  

• The appropriate LDSS staff.  

• The LDSS director or his designee.  

• Up to two (2) other individuals chosen by the applicant/provider.  

3. The LDSS shall write a summary of the review conference within 10 working 
days of the conference. The summary of the review will also include the local 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-140
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director’s decision. A copy of the summary shall be shared with all 
participants. The decision of the local director is final. 

5.29  Use of provider by more than one LDSS  

The initial approving LDSS is responsible for continued approval of providers used by 
more than one LDSS.  

An LDSS may accept the provider approval of another LDSS. The other LDSS shall 
notify and obtain prior approval of the initial approving LDSS for each adult who is to 
receive services. 

5.30  LDSS record-keeping   

The LDSS shall maintain a separate file on each approved provider. Documentation in 
the file shall be complete, accurate, and legible and signed with LDSS staff person’s 
name and title and dated with month, day, and year. Confidentiality of records shall be 
ensured. 

5.30.1 Contents of the provider file 

• Application for Department Approved Provider or earlier version of an 
application. 

• Compliance Form for Department Approved Provider and for out-of-home 
providers (Parts A and B).  

• Purchase of Service Agreements. 

o An Individual Vendor Agreement may be used when services are 
purchased from the following providers: adult day services, adult foster 
care, and chore, companion, and homemaker. 

o Any Purchase of Service Orders and Vendor Invoices (related to the 
Individual Vendor Agreement) should be maintained in the adult's 
record, not the provider's file. Copies of these documents may be 
maintained in the provider file.  

o Other information may include, where applicable, medical statements, 
criminal record check, fire inspection, water and sanitation inspection, 
correspondence, and provider narrative.  

5.31  Department data system 

LDSS approved providers should be entered into ASAPS or local data system when 
they are approved. 
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5.32  When the provider is the subject of an APS allegation 

If a provider is the subject of an APS allegation against an adult in care, the LDSS may 
assign another provider to care for the adult until the allegation is resolved.  

5.33  The LDSS as the adult’s fiscal agent 

In an agreement reached between the VDSS and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), it 
was determined that there is a common-law employer-employee relationship between 
the adult services home-based provider (companion, chore, and homemaker) and the 
adult. The VDSS/IRS agreement was effective January 1, 1995. Per the agreement, 
LDSS act as fiscal agents on behalf of the adult by ensuring that necessary taxes are 
paid. The services performed by the home-based provider constitute "domestic service 
in a private home of the employer." Therefore, the adult is the employer of the provider. 
Neither the state nor the LDSS is the provider's employer. 

LDSS have to file Form 941-Employer’s Quarterly Federal Tax Return and Form 940-
Employer’s Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return under the EIN of the 
filing entity. Each return should report an aggregate of all of the taxable wages paid by 
the entity on behalf of the individual receiving services.  

However, the IRS has confirmed that LDSS are not required to file Schedule R (Form 
941) and Schedule R (Form 940) because the LDSS are not in a section 3504 
relationship with the client.  

5.33.1 Authorization to act on adult’s behalf 

The LDSS should inform the adult that the LDSS is acting as fiscal agent on his or 
her behalf in paying and withholding the required taxes. Authorization should be 
obtained and retained in the individual’s record. The signed form should be filed in 
the adult’s record. A copy of the form may also be filed in the provider’s record. This 
form is located on the VDSS internal website.  

5.33.2 Purchase of Services Orders 

For each Purchase of Services Order written, the LDSS should encumber, as fiscal 
agent for the adult, the funds required to pay the applicable taxes. A Purchase of 
Services Order is available on the VDSS internal website.  

5.33.3 Immigration and Naturalization Service verification 

The LDSS, as fiscal agent for the adult, is responsible for completing the I-9 form 
from the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) on behalf of the adult. The I-9 
form is available on the INS website. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://www.uscis.gov/files/form/i-9.pdf
http://www.uscis.gov/files/form/i-9.pdf
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5.33.4 Contracting with an external organization for home-based services 

If an LDSS chooses to contract with an external organization to provide home-based 
services, that contract organization shall assume responsibility for collecting and 
paying FICA and payment of unemployment taxes, if applicable, and for issuing W-2 
or W-4 forms to providers. 

5.33.5 SSI benefits received by provider 

In cases where a provider is receiving SSI, SSA, or other public assistance benefits, 
the income received as a provider may have an effect on the provider's amount of or 
entitlement to SSI. The effects of receiving this additional income shall be discussed 
with the provider. The provider shall be advised of his responsibility for notifying the 
Social Security Administration. 

5.33.6 Rate of payment for home-based services 

Each LDSS shall establish local board policy to specify the maximum number of 
hours of service and rate of pay for providers. The rate of payment for companion, 
chore, and homemaker services shall be at least the minimum wage. 

5.34  Abuse, neglect, and exploitation reporting – all providers  

(22 VAC 40-771-40). All providers of adult services shall immediately report any suspected 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation of any adult in care to the local department or to the 24-hour 
toll-free hotline (hotline number: 888-83-ADULT). Providers covered by this regulation are 
mandatory reporters in accordance with § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. Failure to 
report could result in the imposition of civil penalties.  

5.35  Rights of adults in care 

Adults in the care of LDSS approved providers have extensive rights specified by 
regulation. Each individual in care, or his or her representative, shall receive a copy of 
these rights and acknowledge receipt of these rights by signing another copy which will 
be maintained in the adult’s record. All approved providers shall also receive a copy of 
the rights of adults in care and acknowledge receipt of the rights by signing another 
copy which will be placed in the provider’s record. The out-of home providers (Adult 
Foster Care and Adult Day Care) shall make available in an easily accessible place a 
copy of these rights and responsibilities. In addition, the out-of-home provider shall 
include with the rights, the telephone number of the Adult Protective Services Hot Line 
of the Department as well as the toll-free telephone number of the Virginia Long-Term 
Care Ombudsman Program and any local ombudsman program serving the jurisdiction. 
See Appendix B for a copy of these rights. A copy is also available online on the VDSS 
internal website. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-40
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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5.36  Responsibilities of adults in adult foster care or adult day 
services 

22 VAC 40-771-160 describes the responsibilities of adults in adult foster care or adult 
day services.  

A. The adult in care shall follow the rules of the provider unless these rules are in violation of 
adults’ rights. 

B. Adults in care, or the local department when appropriate, shall give a two-week written 
notice of intent to leave the placement. 

C. Adults in care shall notify providers if there are changes in the adult’s health status.  
 

5.37  Fraud 

(22 VAC 40-771-30). Any provider who causes the local department to make an improper 
payment by withholding information or providing false information may be required to pay 
the amount of the improper payment. Failure to repay any improper payment shall result in a 
referral for criminal or civil prosecution.  

Section 63.2-522 deems guilty of larceny any person who obtains assistance or benefits 
by means of a willful false statement or who knowingly fails to notify of a change in 
circumstances that could affect eligibility for assistance. Recipients deemed guilty of 
larceny, upon conviction, are subject to penalties as specified in the § 18.2-95. The 
LDSS shall explain to individuals applying for adult services and providers the 
importance of providing accurate and thorough information and of notifying the LDSS of 
changes during service delivery. The LDSS shall have a tracking system in place to 
ensure that claims are established and satisfied.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-160
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-771-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-522
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-95
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5.38 Appendix A: Forms 

The following forms may be used for Adult Service Providers. These forms are located 
on the Adult Services forms page of the VDSS internal website. 

Application for Department Approved Provider 
This form is completed by an individual who wants to become an adult services 
provider.  

Authorization to Act on Adult’s Behalf 
This form is used to explain to the adult that the LDSS is acting as fiscal agent on his or 
her behalf in paying and withholding the required taxes.  

Certificate of Approval 
This form is issued to providers once they have been approved. 

Compliance Form  
This form is completed on each provider during initial approval process and at renewal.  

Purchase of Services Order 
This form is used to order services from vendors or to terminate or change existing 
orders. 

 Rights of Adults in Care 
This form lists the rights of adults who are receiving care from department approved 
providers. 

Tuberculosis Statement 
This form is used to certify that an individual who wants to become an adult services 
provider is free from tuberculosis.  

 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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5.39 Appendix B: Rights of adults in care 

Adults in the care of LDSS approved providers shall have the rights and responsibilities 
specified in this section. The provisions of this section shall not be construed to restrict 
or abridge any right that any adult has under the law. The provider shall establish 
policies and procedures to ensure that adults in care are aware of the following rights: 

• To be fully informed, prior to the beginning of the provision of services, of his 
rights and of all rules and expectations governing his conduct and 
responsibilities; the adult and, if appropriate, his responsible persons shall 
acknowledge, in writing, receipt of this information, which shall be filed in his 
record. 

• To be fully informed, prior to the beginning of the provision of services, of 
services available and of any related charges, if any; this shall be reflected by the 
adult’s written acknowledgment of having been so informed, which shall be filed 
in his record. 

• Unless a conservator of such person has been appointed, to be free to manage 
his personal finances and funds; to be entitled to access to personal account 
statements reflecting financial transactions made; and, when receiving adult 
foster care, to be given at least a quarterly accounting of financial transactions 
made on his behalf. 

• To be afforded confidential treatment of his personal affairs and records and to 
approve or refuse their release to any individual outside the home except as 
otherwise provided in law and except in case of his transfer to another setting. 

• When receiving adult foster care or adult day services, to be transferred or 
discharged only when provided with a statement of reasons, or for nonpayment 
for his stay, and to be given advance notice of at least 30 days; upon notice of 
discharge or upon giving reasonable advance notice of his desire to move, the 
adult shall be afforded reasonable assistance to ensure an orderly transfer or 
discharge; such actions shall be documented in his record; the LDSS that made 
the placement shall be given advance notice of at least 30 days for any transfer 
or discharge. 

• An adult receiving adult foster care or adult day services may be discharged 
immediately if his physical or mental health conditions or his behavior places 
himself or others at risk of serious bodily harm or injury; the discharge shall be to 
a setting which will ensure the protection of the adult’s health, safety and welfare; 
the LDSS which made the placement shall be notified of the emergency 
discharge as soon as practicable but no later than 24 hours after the 
emergency discharge.  
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• In the event a medical condition should arise while he is under the care of the 
provider, to be afforded the opportunity to participate in the planning of his 
program or care and medical treatment and the right to refuse treatment. 

• When receiving care from an adult foster care or adult day services provider, to 
not be required to perform services for the home except as voluntarily contracted 
pursuant to an agreement for services that states the terms of consideration or 
remuneration and is documented in writing and retained in his record. 

• To be free to select health care services from reasonably available resources. 

• To be free from mental, emotional, physical, sexual, and financial abuse or 
exploitation; to be free from forced isolation, threats, or other degrading or 
demeaning acts against him; and, when receiving care from an adult foster care 
or adult day services provider, to not have his known needs neglected or ignored 
by the provider. 

• To be treated with courtesy, respect, and consideration as a person of worth, 
sensitivity, and dignity. 

• To be free to voice grievances and recommend changes in policies and services, 
free of coercion, discrimination, threats, or reprisal. 

• When receiving care from an out-of-home LDSS-approved provider, to be 
permitted to retain and use his personal clothing and possessions as space 
permits unless to do so would infringe upon rights of other adults. 

• To be encouraged to function at his highest mental, emotional, physical, and 
social potential. 

• To receive and send uncensored, unopened mail. 

• To refuse medication unless there has been a court finding of incapacity. 

• To choose which services are included in the service agreement and to receive 
all physician-prescribed treatments. Adults also have the right to refuse services, 
if doing so does not endanger the health or safety of other adults.  

• To be free of physical, mechanical, or chemical restraint except in the following 
situations and with appropriate safeguards, including training for the provider on 
the use of restraints: 

o As necessary to respond to unmanageable behavior in an emergency 
situation that threatens the immediate safety of the adult or others.  
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o As medically necessary, as authorized in writing by a physician, to provide 
physical support to a weakened adult. 

• To be free of prescription drugs except where medically necessary, specifically 
prescribed, and supervised by the attending physician. 

• To be accorded respect for ordinary privacy in every aspect of daily living, 
including but not limited to the following: 

o In the care of his personal needs except as assistance may be needed. 

o In any medical examination or health-related consultations that the adult 
may have at the home. 

o In communications, in writing, or by telephone. 

o During visitations with other persons. 

o When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, in the adult’s room or 
portion thereof; adults shall be permitted to have guests or other adults in 
their rooms unless to do so would infringe upon the rights of other adults; 
staff may not enter an adult’s room without making their presence known 
except in an emergency or in accordance with safety oversight 
requirements included in regulations of the State Board of Social Services.  

o When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, in visits with his spouse; 
if both are adults of the home they are permitted, but not required, to share 
a room unless otherwise provided in the adult’s agreements.  

• Is permitted to meet with and participate in activities of social, faith-based, and 
community groups at his discretion unless medically contraindicated as 
documented by his physician in his medical record. 

If the adult is unable to fully understand and exercise the rights and responsibilities 
contained in this section, the LDSS shall require that a responsible person, of the adult’s 
choice when possible, designated in writing in the adult’s record, be made aware of 
each item in this section and the decisions that affect the adult or relate to specific items 
in this section; an adult shall be assumed capable of understanding and exercising 
these rights unless a physician determines otherwise and documents the reasons for 
such determination in the adult’s record. 

The out-of-home provider shall make available in an easily accessible place a copy of 
these rights and responsibilities and shall include in them the name and telephone 
number of the Adult Protective Services Hotline of the VDSS as well as the toll-free 
telephone number for the Virginia Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program and any state 
ombudsman program serving the area. 
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The out-of-home provider shall make its policies and procedures for implementing this 
section available and accessible to adults, relatives, agencies, and the general public. 

Each out-of-home provider shall provide appropriate staff training to implement each 
adult’s rights included in this section. 

Adults in care have the right to be fully informed in advance about recommended care 
and treatment and of any recommended changes in that care or treatment. 

Adults in care have the right to freedom from searches of personal belongings without 
the adult or responsible person’s permission, unless the care provider has reason to 
suspect that the adult possesses items that are illegal or prohibited in the out-of-home 
provider setting and the adult is present during the search.  

When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, adults have the right to be notified 
before the adult’s room or roommate is changed. 

When receiving care from an out-of-home provider, adults have the right to 
communicate privately and without restriction with any other adult who does not object 
to the communications. 

Adult Protective Services Hotline  (888) 832-3858 
State Long-Term Care Ombudsman (804) 565-1600 
 
Local Adult Protective Services    _________________ 
 
Local Ombudsman Program    _________________ 
 
 
 
 
______________________________   _________________ 
  (Signature)      (Date) 
 
 
 
______________________________   __________________ 
  (Signature)      (Date) 
 
 
 
 
______________________________   ____________________ 
     (Service Worker)     (Date) 
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______________________________ 
  (Telephone Number) 
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5.40 Appendix C: Sample letter – reference/employment verification 

 
 
Dear______________________________________ (reference or employer): 
 
__________________________ (provider's name) has applied to our local  
 
department to be _______________________________ (type of provider) and has 
given your name as a reference (or employer). We would appreciate your answering the 
following questions. Your comments are necessary to assist our local department to 
determine this individual's ability, skill, and experience in providing care to adults.  
 

We appreciate your time and assistance. If you have any questions, please call 
me at _____________ (telephone number). A stamped, self-addressed envelope is 
enclosed for your convenience. Thank you very much. 
  

Sincerely,  
 

________________________  
 (Service Worker) 

 
1. How long have you known this person? 
 
2. Explain how you came to know this person. 

 
3. What abilities, skills, and/or experiences does this person have to provide care to 

adults? 
 

4. Is this person:  
 

Physically and mentally capable of providing care to adults?  
yes   no   Comment:__________________________ 

 
Able to have positive and constructive relationships with adults?  
yes   no   Comment:__________________________ 
 
Able to relate to adults with respect, courtesy, and understanding?    
yes   no  Comment:___________________________ 
 
Capable of handling emergencies with dependability and good judgment?  
yes   no  Comment:___________________________ 
 
Able to communicate and follow instructions sufficiently to assure an adult’s 
safety and protection?    
yes   no  Comment:___________________________ 

 
Your signature ______________________________________________ 
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5.41 Appendix D: Sample letter – denial of application or renewal 

 
Date:__________________________ 
 
Dear ______________________________: 
 

 This is to notify you that our local department has taken the following action: 
 
 
 Denied your application or renewal as a (type of provider) because:  
 
______________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________ 
 
If you have any questions, please call me at (telephone number). If you are not satisfied 
with the action of the local department, you have the right to request a review of the 
department’s decision by the director of the local department. The request for review 
shall be made within 10 calendar days from the date of this notice. The local director’s 
decision is final. 

  
 

Sincerely,  
__________________________ 
 (Service Worker) 

 
__________________________  
     (Title) 
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5.42  Appendix E: Sample letter – emergency approval or denial 

 
 
 Date:______________________________ 
 
  

Dear ______________________________: 
 

 This is to notify you that our local department has taken the following action: 
 

 Approved you as a (type of provider) on an emergency basis. Your 
approval period is from (date) to (date). In order to be considered for full 
approval, you will need to meet the following requirement(s) (specify 
requirement(s) to be met): 

  
  
  
  
 
  Denied your application as a (type of provider) because:  
 
  
  
  
 
 
If you have any questions, please call me at (telephone number). If you are not satisfied 
with the action of the local department, you have the right to request a review of the 
department’s decision by the director of the local department. The request for review 
shall be made within 10 calendar days from the date of this notice. The local director’s 
decision is final. 

 
 

Sincerely,  
 
 

__________________________ 
 (Service Worker) 

 
__________________________  
     (Title) 
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5.43 Appendix F: Sample letter – provisional, suspension, or 
revocation of approval 

 
Date:___________________________ 
 
 
 
Dear ___________________________: 
 
This is to notify you that our local department has taken the following action regarding 
your status as a (type of provider) until (date).  
 
  Provisional approval   Suspension of approval  Revocation of Approval 
 
The reason for this action is that you do not meet the following requirements (specify 
requirements):  

 
  
  
  
  
 
 
If you have any questions about this, please call me at (telephone number). If you are 
not satisfied with the action of the local department, you have the right to request a 
review of the department’s decision by the director of the local department. The request 
for review shall be made within 10 calendar days from the date of this notice. The local 
director’s decision is final. 
 

Sincerely,  
 
 
 

     __________________________ 
(Service Worker) 

 
     ___________________________ 

     (Title) 



Virginia Department of Social Services  July 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual Adult Services Providers 
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   5 Adult Services Providers    

5.44  Appendix G: Sample letter – request for fire inspection 

 
 
 
DATE:   
 
TO:  Fire Inspection Authority    
 
FROM: (Worker name, agency, telephone number, and address) 
 
SUBJECT: REQUEST FOR FIRE INSPECTION  
 
 
The following individual(s) has applied to be a 
_____________________(type of provider).  
We request that you inspect the home to determine compliance with the applicable fire 
safety code and provide us a report of your findings.  
 
Thank you.  
 
 

 
Name of Provider/Applicant: 

 

 
Address: 

 

 
 

 

 
Directions to Home: 
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5.45 Appendix H: Sample letter – request for sanitation inspection 

 
DATE: 
 
TO:  Health Department     
 
FROM: (Worker name, agency, telephone number, and address) 
 
SUBJECT: REQUEST FOR SANITATION INSPECTION  
 
 

The following individual(s) has applied to be ______________________(type of 
provider). The home has a private water supply (and/or sewage disposal system). We 
request that you inspect this home to determine if it meets the rules and regulations 
governing "semi-public restaurants serving 12 or less recipients of service" and provide 
us a report of your findings.  
 

Please request the State Health Department to bill our agency for the fee to test 
water. The address is as follows:  
 

Agency Name/Address 
 
Thank you.  
 

 
Name of Provider/Applicant: 

 

 
Address: 

 

 
 

 

 
Directions to Home: 
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5.46 Appendix I: Code of Virginia – criminal history release 

(§ 19.2-389). Dissemination of criminal history record information. 

A. Criminal history record information shall be disseminated, whether directly or through an 
intermediary, only to:  

35. Public agencies when and as required by federal or state law to investigate (i) applicants 
as providers of adult foster care and home-based services or (ii) any individual with whom 
the agency is considering placing an adult on an emergency, temporary, or permanent basis 
pursuant to § 63.2-1601.1, subject to the restriction that the data shall not be further 
disseminated by the agency to any party other than a federal or state authority or court as 
may be required to comply with an express requirement of law for such further 
dissemination, subject to limitations set out in subsection G; and  

36. Other entities as otherwise provided by law.  

Upon an ex parte motion of a defendant in a felony case and upon the showing that the 
records requested may be relevant to such case, the court shall enter an order requiring the 
Central Criminal Records Exchange to furnish the defendant, as soon as practicable, copies 
of any records of persons designated in the order on whom a report has been made under the 
provisions of this chapter.  

Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the contrary, upon a written request 
sworn to before an officer authorized to take acknowledgments, the Central Criminal 
Records Exchange, or the criminal justice agency in cases of offenses not required to be 
reported to the Exchange, shall furnish a copy of conviction data covering the person named 
in the request to the person making the request; however, such person on whom the data is 
being obtained shall consent in writing, under oath, to the making of such request. A person 
receiving a copy of his own conviction data may utilize or further disseminate that data as he 
deems appropriate. In the event no conviction data is maintained on the data subject, the 
person making the request shall be furnished at his cost a certification to that effect.  

B. Use of criminal history record information disseminated to noncriminal justice agencies 
under this section shall be limited to the purposes for which it was given and may not be 
disseminated further.  

C. No criminal justice agency or person shall confirm the existence or nonexistence of 
criminal history record information for employment or licensing inquiries except as provided 
by law.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-389
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1601.1
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D. Criminal justice agencies shall establish procedures to query the Central Criminal Records 
Exchange prior to dissemination of any criminal history record information on offenses 
required to be reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange to ensure that the most up-
to-date disposition data is being used. Inquiries of the Exchange shall be made prior to any 
dissemination except in those cases where time is of the essence and the normal response 
time of the Exchange would exceed the necessary time period. A criminal justice agency to 
whom a request has been made for the dissemination of criminal history record information 
that is required to be reported to the Central Criminal Records Exchange may direct the 
inquirer to the Central Criminal Records Exchange for such dissemination. Dissemination of 
information regarding offenses not required to be reported to the Exchange shall be made by 
the criminal justice agency maintaining the record as required by § 15.2-1722.  

E. Criminal history information provided to licensed nursing homes, hospitals and to home 
care organizations pursuant to subdivision 15 of subsection A shall be limited to the 
convictions on file with the Exchange for any offense specified in §§ 32.1-126.01, 32.1-
126.02, and 32.1-162.9:1.  

F. Criminal history information provided to licensed assisted living facilities, licensed district 
homes for adults, and licensed adult day-care centers pursuant to subdivision 16 of 
subsection A shall be limited to the convictions on file with the Exchange for any offense 
specified in § 63.1-189.1 or § 63.2-1720. 

G. Criminal history information provided to public agencies pursuant to subdivision 35 of 
subsection A shall be limited to the convictions on file with the Exchange for any offense 
specified in § 63.2-1719.  

(§ 63.2-1601.1). Criminal history check for agency approved providers of services to adults. 

A. Each local board shall obtain, in accordance with regulations adopted by the Board, 
criminal history record information from the Central Criminal Records Exchange of any 
individual the local board is considering approving as a provider of home-based services 
pursuant to § 63.2-1600 or adult foster care pursuant to § 63.2-1601. The local board may 
also obtain such a criminal records search on all adult household members residing in the 
home of the individual with whom the adult is to be placed. The local board shall not hire for 
compensated employment any persons who have been convicted of an offense as defined in § 
63.2-1719. If approval as an agency approved provider is denied because of information 
obtained through a Central Criminal Records Exchange search, the local board, upon request, 
shall provide a copy of the information obtained to the individual who is the subject of the 
search. Further dissemination of the criminal history record information is prohibited. 
B. In emergency circumstances, each local board may obtain from a criminal justice agency 
the criminal history record information from the Central Criminal Records Exchange for the 
criminal records search authorized by this section. The provision of home-based services 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+15.2-1722
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-126.01
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-126.02
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-126.02
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+32.1-162.9C1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.1-189.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1720
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1601.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1600
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1601
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
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shall be immediately terminated or the adult shall be removed from the home immediately, if 
any adult resident has been convicted of a barrier crime as described in § 63.2-1719. 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
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5.47  Appendix J: Code of Virginia – barrier crimes 

 
The following terms are defined in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia. 

As used in this section, "barrier crime" means a conviction of: 

• A felony violation of a protective order as set out in § 16.1-253.2; 

• Murder or manslaughter as set out in Article 1 (§ 18.2-30 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of 
Title 18.2; 

• Malicious wounding by mob as set out in § 18.2-41;  

• Abduction as set out in subsection A or B of § 18.2-47;  

• Abduction for immoral purposes as set out in § 18.2-48;  

• Assaults and bodily woundings as set out in Article 4 (§ 18.2-51 et seq.) of 
Chapter 4 of Title 18.2;  

• Robbery as set out in § 18.2-58;  

• Carjacking as set out in § 18.2-58.1;  

• Extortion by threat as set out in § 18.2.59; 

• Threats of death or bodily injury as set out in § 18.2-60;  

• Felony stalking as set out in § 18.2-60.3;  

• A felony violation of a protective order as set out in § 18.2.60.4; 

• Sexual assault as set out in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 
18.2;  

• Arson as set out in Article 1 (§ 18.2-77 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 18.2;  

• Drive-by shooting as set out in § 18.2-286.1;  

• Use of a machine gun in a crime of violence as set out in § 18.2-289;  

• Aggressive use of a machine gun as set out in § 18.2-290;  

• Use of a sawed-off shotgun in a crime of violence as set out in subsection A of § 
18.2-300;  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1719
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+16.1-253.2
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-30
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-41
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-47
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-48
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-51
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-58
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-58.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-59
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-60
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-60.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-60.4
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-61
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-77
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-286.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-289
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-290
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-300
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• Pandering as set out in § 18.2-355;  

• Crimes against nature involving children as set out in § 18.2-361;  

• Incest as set out in § 18.2-366;  

• Taking indecent liberties with children as set out in § 18.2-370 or § 18.2-370.1;  

• Abuse and neglect of children as set out in § 18.2-371.1;  

• Failure to secure medical attention for an injured child as set out in § 18.2-314;  

• Obscenity offenses as set out in § 18.2-374.1;  

• Possession of child pornography as set out in § 18.2-374.1:1;  

• Electronic facilitation of pornography as set out in § 18.2-374.3;  

• Abuse and neglect of incapacitated adults as set out in § 18.2-369;  

• Employing or permitting a minor to assist in an act constituting an offense under 
Article 5 (§ 18.2-372 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 as set out in § 18.2-379;  

• Delivery of drugs to prisoners as set out in § 18.2-474.1;  

• Escape from jail as set out in § 18.2-477;  

• Felonies by prisoners as set out in § 53.1-203;  

• Or an equivalent offense in another state. In the case of child welfare agencies 
and foster and adoptive homes approved by child-placing agencies, "barrier 
crime" shall also include convictions of burglary as set out in Article 2 (§ 18.2-89 
et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 18.2 and any felony violation relating to possession 
or distribution of drugs as set out in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of 
Title 18.2, or an equivalent offense in another state.  

"Offense" means a barrier crime and, in the case of child welfare agencies and foster 
and adoptive homes approved by child-placing agencies:  

• A conviction of any other felony not included in the definition of barrier crime 
unless five years have elapsed since conviction.  

• A founded complaint of child abuse or neglect within or outside the 
Commonwealth. In the case of child welfare agencies and foster and adoptive 
homes approved by child-placing agencies, convictions shall include prior adult 
convictions and juvenile convictions or adjudications of delinquency based on a 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-355
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-361
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-366
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-370
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-370.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-371.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-314
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-374.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-374.1C1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-374.3
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-369
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-372
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-379
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-474.1
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-477
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+53.1-203
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-89
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-247
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crime that would be a felony if committed by an adult within or outside the 
Commonwealth.  
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CONFIDENTIALITY 

 
 
 

6.1 Introduction 

It is the policy of the Commonwealth to promote ready access to records in the custody 
of public officials and free entry to meetings of public bodies wherein the business of the 
Commonwealth is being conducted. The purpose for promoting open disclosure of the 
activities of state government is to foster an increased awareness by all persons of 
governmental activities and afford every opportunity to citizens to witness the operations 
of government.  

In performing its statutory duties, such as conducting an investigation of a report of adult 
abuse, neglect or exploitation, LDSS will collect and maintain personal information 
about an individual. Having recognized that the collection, maintenance, use and 
dissemination of personal information directly affect an individual’s rights concerning 
privacy, the Code of Virginia authorizes the release of certain information under the 
Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act. The Virginia Freedom of 
Information Act provides a person access to records in the custody of public officials.  

When the LDSS receives a request for information, the LDSS must determine whether 
the information requested is confidential and must be protected or whether the 
information requested should be released under the Virginia Freedom of Information 
Act, the Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act or Virginia 
Administrative Code. 

For any request, LDSS are encouraged to seek legal advice and counsel prior to 
responding to a request the release of information.  

6.2 Legal basis 

The legal basis for this chapter is § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC02020000037000000000000
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Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2.-3800 of the Code 
of Virginia), and by regulation promulgated the State Board of Social Services. 
Throughout this chapter, text that appears indented with a blue, vertical line denotes 
verbatim material from the Code of Virginia and/or the Department’s Regulations 22 
VAC 40-910, General Provisions for Maintaining and Disclosing Confidential Information 
of Public Assistance, Child Support Enforcement and Social Services Records. 

6.3 Definitions  

The following words and terms are defined in state regulation (22 VAC 40-910-10). 
When used in this chapter, they shall have the following meaning, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

Term Definition 

Agency A local department of social services (LDSS). 

Agent Any individual authorized to act on behalf of or under the 
direction of the commissioner of the Virginia Department of 
Social Services (VDSS) or State Board of Social Services for 
the sole purpose of accessing confidential client records in the 
administration of public assistance, child support enforcement, 
or social services programs. 

Client Any applicant for or recipient of public assistance or social 
services or any individual about whom the child support 
enforcement division maintains information. 

Client Record 
or Client 
Information 

Any identifying or nonidentifying information, including 
information stored in computer data banks or computer files, 
relating to a client. 

Department The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS). 

Provider Any person, agency, or organization providing public 
assistance, child support enforcement services, or social 
services through a contract or an agreement with the 
department or agency. 

Research A systematic investigation, including research development, 
testing, and evaluation, designed to develop or contribute to 
general knowledge, including research for the development of 
new knowledge or techniques that would be useful in the 
administration of public assistance, child support enforcement, 
or social services programs. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3800
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0910
http://leg1.state.va.us/000/reg/TOC22040.HTM#C0910
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-10
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Term Definition 

Social Services 
Program 

Foster care, adoption, adoption assistance, adult services, 
adult protective services, child protective services, domestic 
violence services, family preservation, or any other services 
program implemented in accordance with regulations 
promulgated by the State Board of Social Services. 

6.4 Ownership of client records 

 
(22 VAC 40-910-20). 1. Client records are the property of the department or agency. 
Employees and agents of the department or agency must protect and preserve such records 
from dissemination except as provided herein.  

2. Only authorized employees and agents may remove client records from the department or 
agency's premises.  

3. The department and agency shall destroy client records pursuant to records retention 
schedules consistent with federal and state regulations. 

 

6.5 Virginia Freedom of Information Act  

The Virginia Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) ensures the people of the Commonwealth ready access to records in the 
custody of public officials and free entry to meetings of public bodies wherein the 
business of the people is being conducted. The affairs of government are not intended 
to be conducted in an atmosphere of secrecy since at all times the public is to be the 
beneficiary of any action taken at any level of government.  

Record requests can be complex and it is recommended that the LDSS work their 
attorney when responding to FOIA requests. Even though an individual may request 
information pursuant to Virginia FOIA, the LDSS may not be able to disclose all 
information requested.  

Responses to a FOIA request shall occur within five working days of the receipt of the 
request. Failure to respond timely to a FOIA request is considered a denial of the 
request and violation of FOIA. 

The DSS public website contains information about Virginia FOIA. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3700
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/geninfo/foia.html
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6.6 Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practice Act 

The Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices Act ensures safeguards 
for personal privacy by record keeping agencies. The following principles of information 
practice have been established to ensure safeguards for personal privacy: 

(§ 2.2-3800 of the Code of Virginia). 1. There shall be no personal information system whose 
existence is secret.  

2. Information shall not be collected unless the need for it has been clearly established in 
advance.  

3. Information shall be appropriate and relevant to the purpose for which it has been 
collected.  

4. Information shall not be obtained by fraudulent or unfair means.  

5. Information shall not be used unless it is accurate and current.  

6. There shall be a prescribed procedure for an individual to learn the purpose for which 
information has been recorded and particulars about its use and dissemination.  

7. There shall be a clearly prescribed and uncomplicated procedure for an individual to 
correct, erase or amend inaccurate, obsolete or irrelevant information.  

8. Any agency holding personal information shall assure its reliability and take precautions to 
prevent its misuse.  

9. There shall be a clearly prescribed procedure to prevent personal information collected for 
one purpose from being used for another purpose.  

10. The Commonwealth or any agency or political subdivision thereof shall not collect 
personal information except as explicitly or implicitly authorized by law.  

6.6.1 Exceptions to the Government Data Collection and Dissemination 
Practices Act 

Section 2.2-3802 of the Code of Virginia contains exceptions to disclosing personal 
information.  

Records maintained by VDSS related to child welfare, adult services or adult 
protective services, or public assistance programs are exempt when requests for 
personal information are made to VDSS. Requests for information from these 
systems shall be made to the appropriate LDSS, which is the custodian of that 
record. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3800
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3802
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6.7 Review of records pursuant to the Virginia Adminstrative Code 

(22 VAC 40-910-60). Any client has the right to obtain their client record upon written or 
verbal request. The client must be permitted to review or obtain a copy of his client record 
with the following exceptions:  

1. Information that the department, agency or provider is required to keep confidential 
pursuant to federal and state laws or regulations.  

2. Information that the department, agency or provider may withhold from the client pursuant 
to the Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

3. Information that would breach another individual's right to confidentiality. When the 
material requested includes confidential client information about individuals other than the 
client, the parts of the client record relating to other individuals will be redacted.  

6.8 Intra-department disclosures 

(22 VAC 40-910-100). The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social Services, the 
State Board of Social Services and their agents shall have access to all social services client 
records pursuant to § 63.2-104 of the code of Virginia.  
 
(22 VAC 40-910-20). The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social Services, the 
State Board of Social Services and their agents do not have to obtain consent from the client 
to obtain or review client records.  

Information may be exchanged between eligibility and service workers in the LDSS in 
pursuance of their official duties. Under no circumstances shall a service worker 
withhold information from the eligibility staff which may affect an individual’s eligibility for 
assistance. 

6.9 Inter-department disclosures  

The LDSS may furnish information regarding an individual to other LDSS without a 
release from the individual when the disclosure is for purposes directly related to the 
administration of the programs. 

6.10 Disclosure of information without an individual’s consent 

The Virginia Administrative Code permits release of information without a client’s written 
permission under the following circumstances. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-60
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3700
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-20
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(22 VAC 40-910-20). a. A court of competent jurisdiction has ordered the production of 
client records and the department, agency or provider does not have sufficient time to notify 
the client or legally responsible person before responding to the order.  
 
b. For research purposes as provided in 22 VAC 40-910-50.  

The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social Services, the State Board of Social 
Services and their agents shall have the discretion to release nonidentifying statistical 
information. A client's written permission is not required in order to release nonidentifying 
statistical information.  

The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social Services, the State Board of Social 
Services and their agents do not have to obtain consent from the client to obtain or review 
client records.  

6.11 Disclosing information to and obtaining information from 
outside sources 

(22 VAC 40-910-100). Social services client records must be confidential and can only be 
released to persons having a legitimate interest in accordance with federal and state laws and 
regulations pursuant to § 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia. Section 63.2-104 of the Code of 
Virginia does not apply to the disclosure of adoption records, reports and information. The 
disclosure of adoption records, reports and information is governed by § 63.2-1246 of the 
Code of Virginia.  

With certain exceptions found in the APS chapter, an individual or his or her legal 
authorized representative shall give written permission before the individual’s 
information may be given to a person or LDSS or obtained from other sources. 

6.11.1 Consent process 

(22 VAC 40-910-20). As part of the application process for public assistance or social 
services, the client or legally responsible person must be informed of the need to consent 
to a third-party release of client information necessary for verifying his eligibility or 
information provided. Whenever a person or organization that is not performing one or 
more of the functions delineated in 22 VAC 40-910-80 C or does not have a legitimate 
interest pursuant to 22 VAC 40-910-100 requests client information, the person or 
organization must obtain written permission from the client or the legally responsible 
person for the release of the client information unless one of the conditions delineated in 
this subsection exists. A client's authorization for release of client information obtained 
by the department, agency or provider also satisfies this requirement.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-50
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1246
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-20
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-80
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-910-100
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The “Consent to Exchange Information” form is recommended for use when several 
agencies are involved in providing services to the same family or individual. The use 
of this form does not change any state or federal laws regarding confidentiality or 
supersede current program policy regarding the type of information that may be 
released. Under a memorandum of understanding, all human services agencies are 
mandated to accept a properly completed Consent to Exchange Information form 
without requiring an individual or his or her representative to complete another 
release form. The Consent to Exchange Information form and instructions are 
available on the DSS internal website.  

The service worker shall read and discuss the consent forms with the individual 
upon initial contact and at subsequent times when appropriate to ensure that an 
individual understands his or her rights. 

6.11.2 Access rules 

The individual, the individual’s guardian and/or guardian ad litem, and the 
individual’s authorized representative shall be accorded access to all eligibility and 
service material contained in LDSS files except for mental health records under 
certain conditions. An individual’s representative is anyone designated to act in the 
individual’s interest. The individual or the representative shall be required to furnish 
proper identification. A proper release of information, including those not required to 
be notarized, shall be obtained. The service worker shall verify the representative’s 
authorization either by viewing a guardian certification, court order, notarized 
statement from the individual, or by speaking directly to the individual. 

6.11.3 Exceptions 

An exception to the individual’s right to see his or her own records is in the case of 
mental health records, including psychiatric and psychological examination reports. 
These records may not be personally reviewed by the individual when the treating 
physician has made a written statement that, in his or her opinion, a review of such 
records by the individual would be injurious to his or her physical or mental health or 
well-being. 

6.12 Judicial proceedings  

In the event a subpoena is issued for a case record or for any LDSS representative to 
testify in connection with an investigation or proceeding not directly related to the 
administration of a public assistance program, the local director shall immediately notify 
the LDSS attorney. The LDSS shall follow the advice of the LDSS attorney. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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6.12.1 Confidential records and information concerning social services; 
penalty  

(§ 63.2-104 of the Code of Virginia). It shall be unlawful for any officer, agent or 
employee of any child-welfare agency; for the Commissioner, the State Board or their 
agents or employees; for any person who has held any such position; and for any other 
person to whom any such record or information is disclosed to disclose, directly or 
indirectly, any such confidential record or information, except as herein provided or 
pursuant to § 63.2-105. Every violation of this section shall constitute a Class 1 
misdemeanor. 
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-105
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6.13 Appendix A: Forms 

The following forms may be used to address confidentiality issues in Adult Services and 
Adult Protective Services cases. These forms are located on the Adult Services forms 
page of the DSS internal website.  

Assurance of Confidentiality 
This form is used to document requests for information on an individual and also to 
document appropriate assurances that the LDSS requesting the information will keep 
the information confidential. 

Consent to Exchange Information 
This form can be used to assist the LDSS in obtaining information needed from other 
agencies to determine an individual’s eligibility for services or benefits. 

Disclosure Log 
This form may be used to list agencies that have received information from an LDSS 
about an individual.  

Interagency Consent to Release Confidential Information for Alcohol or Drug 
Patients  
This form can be used to request information from or send information to a substance 
abuse program. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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7 
GUARDIANSHIP AND CONSERVATORSHIP 

 
 
 

7.1 Definitions 

The following words and terms are defined in the Code of Virginia and state regulations 
as identified below. When used in this chapter, they shall have the following meaning, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

Term Definition 

Adult Any person 60 years of age or older, or any person 18 years of 
age or older who is incapacitated and who resides in the 
Commonwealth; provided, however, “adult” may include qualifying 
nonresidents who are temporarily in the Commonwealth and who 
are in need of temporary or emergency protective services (§ 
63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia). 

Annual Report 
of Guardian 

An annual report on the personal status of a person who is 
incapacitated for whom a guardian was appointed. The court- 
appointed guardian is to file the Annual Report of Guardian with 
the LDSS in the jurisdiction in which the guardian was appointed. 
The “Annual Report of Guardian for an Incapacitated Person” form 
is available on the DSS internal website. 

Conservator A person appointed by the court who is responsible for managing 
the estate and financial affairs of an incapacitated person and 
where the context plainly indicates, includes a “limited 
conservator” or a “temporary conservator” (§ 64.2-2000 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

Guardian A person appointed by the court who is responsible for the 
personal affairs of an incapacitated person, including responsibility 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1603
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
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Term Definition 

for making decisions regarding the person's support, care, health, 
safety, habilitation, education, therapeutic treatment, and, if not 
inconsistent with an order of involuntary admission, residence. 
Where the context plainly indicates, the term includes a "limited 
guardian" or a "temporary guardian" (§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

Guardian Ad 
Litem 

An attorney appointed by the court to represent the interest of the 
adult for whom a guardian or conservator is requested. On the 
hearing of the petition for appointment of a guardian or 
conservator, the guardian ad litem advocates for the adult who is 
the subject of the hearing, and his duties are usually concluded 
when the case is decided (22 VAC 40-740-10). 

Incapacitated 
Person 

An adult who has been found by a court to be incapable of 
receiving and evaluating information effectively or responding to 
people, events, or environments to such an extent that the 
individual lacks the capacity to (i) meet the essential requirements 
for his health, care, safety, or therapeutic needs without the 
assistance or protection of a guardian or (ii) manage property or 
financial affairs or provide for his support or for the support of his 
legal dependents without the assistance or protection of a 
conservator. A finding that the individual displays poor judgment 
alone shall not be considered sufficient evidence that the 
individual is an incapacitated person within the meaning of this 
definition (§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia).  

Limited 
Guardian 

A person appointed by the court who has only those 
responsibilities for the personal affairs of an incapacitated person 
as specified in the order of appointment. 

Public 
Conservator 

A person who is provided through (i) a local or regional program 
designated by the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 
Services as a public conservator pursuant to Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 
et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 or (ii) any local or regional tax-
exempt charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c) 
(3) of the Internal Revenue Code to provide conservatorial 
services to incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable 
organization shall not be a provider of direct services to the 
incapacitated person (§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia). 

Public Guardian A person provided through (i) local or regional program 
designated by the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+22VAC40-740-10
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
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Term Definition 

Services as a public guardian pursuant to Article 6 (§51.5-149 et 
seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 or (ii) any local or regional tax-
exempt charitable organization established pursuant to § 501(c) 
(3) of the Internal Revenue Code to provide guardian services to 
incapacitated persons. Such tax-exempt charitable organization 
shall not be a provider of direct services to the incapacitated 
person (§ 64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia). 

Respondent An allegedly incapacitated person for whom a petition for 
guardianship or conservatorship has been filed (§ 64.2-2000 of 
the Code of Virginia). 

Significant-
Connection 
State 

A state, other than the home state, with which a respondent has a 
significant connection other than mere physical presence and in 
which substantial evidence concerning the respondent is available 
(§ 64.2-2105 of the Code of Virginia). 

7.2 Protecting vulnerable adults through guardianship and/or 
conservatorship 

7.2.1 Basis and purpose 

A guardian or conservator is appointed for a person who has been found by the 
court to be incapable of receiving and evaluating information effectively or 
responding to people, events, or environments to such an extent that the person 
lacks the capacity to make decisions concerning his or her health and well-being. 
The purpose of the guardianship and/or conservatorship is to protect the 
incapacitated person or his or her assets from abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

The creation, conduct, and termination of a guardianship or conservatorship is 
based on Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

The 2011 Session of the General Assembly passed the Uniform Adult Guardianship 
and Protective Proceedings Jurisdiction Act, which addresses jurisdiction for 
appointment of a guardianship, the transfer of a guardianship or conservatorship to 
another state and the transfer of a guardianship or conservatorship to Virginia (§§ 
64.2-2100 through 64.2-2120 of the Code of Virginia).  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2105
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC64020000020000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC64020000021000000000000
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7.2.2 Types of protection and responsibilities 

7.2.2.1 Guardian 

Guardians are appointed by the circuit court to make decisions about the 
personal life and affairs of the incapacitated adult. The guardian may be 
authorized by the court to make all personal decisions for the incapacitated 
adult or may be authorized to make decisions in only those areas specified by 
the court. The primary responsibilities of the guardian are to make decisions 
about where the incapacitated adult will live, how meals and personal care will 
be provided, and how health care and personal care decisions are made. 

7.2.2.2 Conservator 

Conservators are appointed by the circuit court to manage the incapacitated 
adult’s assets such as, paying bills and making financial decisions. The court 
may authorize the conservator to make all property and financial decisions or 
may limit that authority to certain areas. The conservator shall have prior 
approval from the court to buy or sell real property. The authority to buy or sell 
real property may be a part of the original order. If the authority is not a part of 
the original order and if the conservator needs to buy or sell property, he or she 
will need to petition the court for an amended or supplemental order. 

7.2.2.3 Guardians and conservators 

An individual may be appointed to serve as both guardian of the incapacitated 
adult and conservator of the adult’s estate. The individual appointed by the 
court has authority for both personal and financial decisions and for property 
management. The court may appoint two individuals to fulfill these duties by 
naming one as guardian and the other as conservator. 

7.2.3 Situations that indicate need for a guardian or conservator 

Section 64.2-2000 of the Code of Virginia specifies that an adult is incapacitated 
when he or she is incapable of receiving and evaluating information effectively or 
responding to people, events, or environments. 

In Virginia, a court may appoint a guardian or conservator for the following 
situations: 

• The court finds that an adult lacks the capacity to meet the essential 
requirements for his or her health, safety, or therapeutic needs without the 
assistance and protection of a guardian.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2000
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• The court finds that an adult lacks the capacity to manage property or 
financial affairs or to provide for his or her support or the support of legal 
dependents without the assistance and protection of a conservator. 

7.2.4 Determining the need for a guardian and/or conservator 

In the petitioning process, the adult is referred to as the respondent. The petitioning 
party has the responsibility to present clear and convincing evidence to substantiate 
the need for the appointment of a guardian and/or conservator for the respondent. 
Evidence generally consists of: 

• Medical and/or psychiatric testimony concerning the adult’s illness and his or 
her inability to handle his or her personal and/or financial affairs. 

• Testimony of friends, relatives, service workers, and other professionals 
concerning self-endangering behavior. 

• An evaluation report of the adult that documents the appropriateness and 
necessity of guardianship and/or conservatorship. This report is required 
under § 64.2-2005 of the Code of Virginia. See Section 7.2.5.1 for information 
on the evaluation report. 

7.2.5 Documenting incapacity 

7.2.5.1 The comprehensive evaluation 

(§ 64.2-2005 of the Code of Virginia). A report evaluating the condition of the 
respondent shall be filed with the court and provided to the guardian ad litem within 
a reasonable time prior to the hearing on the petition. The report shall be prepared 
by one or more licensed physicians or psychologists or licensed professionals 
skilled in the assessment and treatment of the physical or mental conditions of the 
respondent as alleged in the petition.  

Prior to the guardianship or conservatorship hearing, the circuit court requires 
that one or more licensed physicians, psychologists, or licensed professionals 
skilled in the assessment of the physical or mental conditions alleged prepare a 
comprehensive evaluation of the current condition of the respondent. 

The LDSS may be asked to assist with the portion of the evaluation of which it 
has knowledge. If the LDSS is the petitioner, the report shall be prepared 
before going to court. 

The purpose of the report is to inform the court about the condition and abilities 
of the respondent. The report shall include the best available information and 
represent the belief of those who sign the report. It shall include the following: 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2005
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2005
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• A description of the nature, type, and extent of the adult’s incapacity, 
including the adult’s specific functional impairments. 

• A diagnosis or assessment of the adult’s mental and physical condition, 
including a statement as to whether the adult is on any medications that 
may affect his or her actions or demeanor. Where appropriate and 
consistent with the scope of the evaluator’s license, the report should 
include an evaluation of the adult’s ability to learn self-care skills, 
adaptive behavior, and social skills and a prognosis for improvement. 

• The date(s) of the examination(s), evaluation(s) and assessment(s) upon 
which the report is based. 

• The signature of the person conducting the evaluation and the nature of 
the professional license held by the evaluator. 

If the evaluation report is not available, the court may hold the hearing without 
the report for good cause shown if the guardian ad litem does not object. The 
court, at its discretion, may order a report be prepared and delay the hearing 
until the report is available. The model form “Physician’s Evaluation of 
Respondent” is posted on the VDSS internal website and may be provided to 
the physician who is conducting the evaluation. The LDSS may modify this 
form as needed. 

The cost of the evaluation may be charged as part of the costs of the 
proceedings at the discretion of the court. See Section 7.2.8.7 for information 
on the cost of proceedings.  

7.2.5.2 Role of the service worker 

The service worker shall examine all available information concerning the 
alleged incapacitated adult’s decision-making in areas that are critical to the 
adult. The worker shall document situations in which the adult has been unable 
to make decisions in his or her own interest, including but not limited to, the 
following areas: 

• Arranging and/or receiving essential health and/or personal care. 

• Providing or arranging for nutritional needs. 

• Securing and wearing adequate clothing appropriate to the weather. 

• Securing adequate and appropriate housing. 

• Arranging and maintaining personal safety including safe shelter. 

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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• Management of financial affairs including the use of funds to provide for 
one’s basic needs. 

• Management of his or her estate including both real and personal 
property. 

7.2.6 Who serves as guardian or conservator? 

Every effort should be made to locate the most appropriate guardian/conservator for 
the alleged incapacitated adult. A family member or close friend may be appropriate 
to serve as guardian/conservator. The first person considered for the 
guardian/conservator should be the adult’s spouse unless the spouse is unable or 
unwilling to serve. 

The following should be considered when determining the appropriateness of a 
person to serve as guardian or conservator:  

• A relationship with the adult alleged to need a guardian/conservator. 

• Geographic accessibility to the alleged incapacitated adult.  

• The absence of a conflict of interest.  

• A willingness to fulfill the required duties of guardianship or conservatorship. 

• Ability to understand the requirements of guardianship or conservatorship, 
including the submission of required reports. 

• Emotional stability.  

• Good physical health of the proposed guardian or conservator. 

The LDSS may develop its own guidance on whether LDSS employees may serve 
as guardians or conservators. The Code of Virginia does not prohibit LDSS 
employees from serving as a guardians or conservators, though the LDSS should 
carefully evaluate whether it is appropriate for an LDSS employee to be named as a 
guardian for an incapacitated adult. See Section 7.3.2.7 for procedures regarding 
the review of the guardian report when an LDSS employee is the guardian. 

7.2.6.1 Guardians/conservators who are Virginia residents 

An appropriate person who is a resident of the Commonwealth may be 
appointed and allowed to qualify as guardian/conservator of the adult. 
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7.2.6.2 Guardians/conservators who are non-residents 

A non-resident adult parent, brother, sister, spouse, child, or other adult 
descendant of the adult or any combination thereof, may be appointed and 
allowed to qualify as guardian/conservator of an incapacitated adult. At the time 
of qualification, a non-resident guardian/conservator shall file with the clerk of 
the circuit court his or her consent in writing that service of process in any 
action or proceeding against him or her as fiduciary, or any other notice with 
respect to the administration of the estate, trust or person in his or her charge in 
the Commonwealth, may be by service upon the clerk of the circuit court in 
which he or she is qualified or upon a resident of the Commonwealth and at the 
address that he or she specifies in the written instrument (§ 64.2-1426 of the 
Code of Virginia).  

7.2.7 Eligibility for public guardian or conservator 

(§ 64.2-2010 of the Code of Virginia). The circuit court may appoint a local or regional 
program authorized by the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services pursuant to 
Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 as the guardian or conservator 
for any resident of the Commonwealth who is found to be incapacitated if the court finds 
that (i) The incapacitated person's resources are insufficient to fully compensate a private 
guardian and pay court costs and fees associated with the appointment proceeding and  
(ii) There is no other proper and suitable person willing and able to serve in such capacity 
or there is no guardian or conservator appointed within one month of adjudication 
pursuant to § 64.2-2015.The court shall use the guidelines for determining indigency set 
forth in § 19.2-159 in determining the sufficiency of the respondent's estate. If the 
respondent would be eligible for the appointment of counsel pursuant to § 19.2-159, he 
shall be eligible for the appointment of a public guardian or conservator pursuant to this 
section. 

Additional information about the Virginia Public Guardianship Program is available 
on the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services website. 

7.2.8 Procedures to petition for appointment of a guardian/conservator 

7.2.8.1 Circuit court in which petitions are to be filed 

The guardianship/conservatorship petition is to be filed in the circuit court of the 
county or city in which the subject of the petition resides or is located or in 
which the subject of the petition resided immediately prior to entering a nursing 
facility, assisted living facility, state mental health facility, or any other similar 
facilities. The circuit court in which the proceeding is first commenced may 
order a transfer to another locality if it would be in the best interest of the 
incapacitated adult. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1426
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2010
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+51.5-149
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2015
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-159
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-159
http://www.vda.virginia.gov/vapublicguardpgm.asp
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If the petition is for the appointment of a conservator for a non-resident with 
property in the state, the petition is to be filed in the city or county in which the 
alleged incapacitated adult’s property is located (§ 64.2-2001 of the Code of 
Virginia). 

7.2.8.2 Jurisdiction  

A court in the Commonwealth has jurisdiction to appoint a guardian for a 
respondent if: 

• The Commonwealth is the respondent’s home state; 

• On the date the petition is filed, the Commonwealth is a significant-
connection state and; 

o The respondent does not have a home state or a court of the 
respondent’s home state has declined to exercise jurisdiction 
because the Commonwealth is a more appropriate forum; or 

o The respondent has a home state, a petition for appointment is not 
pending in a court of that state or another significant-connection 
state, and, before the court makes the appointment: 

 A petition for an appointment is not filed in the respondent’s 
home state; 

 An objection to the court’s jurisdiction is not filed by a person 
required to be notified of the proceeding; and  

 The court in the Commonwealth concludes that it is an 
appropriate forum (§ 64.2-2107 of the Code of Virginia). 

7.2.8.3 Special jurisdiction 

A court of the Commonwealth lacking jurisdiction has special jurisdiction to do 
any of the following: 

• Appoint a guardian in an emergency for a term not exceeding 90 days 
for a respondent who is physically present in the Commonwealth. 

• Appoint a guardian or conservator for an incapacitated or protected 
person for whom a provisional order to transfer the proceeding from 
another state has been issued.  

If a petition for the appointment of a guardian in an emergency is brought in the 
Commonwealth and the Commonwealth was not the respondent’s home state 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2001
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2107
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on the date the petition was filed, the court shall dismiss the proceedings at the 
request of the court of the home state, if any, whether dismissal is requested 
before or after the emergency appointment (§ 64.2-2108 of the Code of 
Virginia).  

7.2.8.4 Appropriate forum 

A court of the Commonwealth that has jurisdiction to appoint a guardian may 
decline to exercise its jurisdiction if it determines at any time that a court of 
another state is a more appropriate forum.  

In determining whether it is an appropriate forum, the court shall consider all 
relevant factors, including: 

• Any expressed preference of the respondent. 

• Whether abuse, neglect, or exploitation of the respondent has occurred 
or is likely to occur and which state could best protect the respondent 
from abuse, neglect or exploitation. 

• The length of time the respondent was physically present in or was a 
legal resident of the Commonwealth or another state. 

• The distance of the respondent from the court in each state. 

• The financial circumstances of the respondent’s estate. 

• The nature and location of the evidence. 

• The ability of the court in each state to decide issue expeditiously and 
the procedures necessary to present evidence. 

• The familiarity of the court of each state with the facts and issues in the 
proceeding. 

• If an appointment were made, the court’s ability to monitor the conduct of 
the guardian or conservator (§ 64.2-2110 of the Code of Virginia). 

7.2.8.5 Who may file a petition? 

Any interested person may petition the circuit court to have a 
guardian/conservator or both appointed for an alleged incapacitated adult. The 
petitioner is the person who presents evidence to the court that the respondent 
is unable to take care of himself or his financial affairs or both and is, therefore, 
in need of a guardian/conservator to perform certain duties. The petitioner’s 
attorney files a petition with the court and is responsible for notifying relatives of 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2108
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2110
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the respondent of the guardianship and/or conservatorship hearing (§ 64.2-
2002 of the Code of Virginia). 

Petitioners are frequently relatives. It is appropriate for an LDSS to petition in 
an APS case when there is no family member or other interested person to file. 

If the LDSS is petitioning for the appointment of a guardian, the “Request for 
the Appointment of a Guardian” form may be used by the LDSS to gather 
relevant information about the respondent that needs to be included in the 
petition. The LDSS may modify this form as needed or when advised to do so 
by the LDSS attorney. The form is posted on the VDSS internal website. 

If a guardian/conservator is needed to protect the incapacitated adult from 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation, the LDSS attorney should be consulted as a first 
step in planning for petitioning the circuit court for the appointment. 

7.2.8.6 Information included in a petition 

The filing of a guardianship/conservatorship petition with the clerk of court 
constitutes the practice of law and shall be performed by an attorney. However, 
APS workers are frequently expected to gather essential information and 
complete certain paperwork in preparation for the filing.  

The petition shall specify the type of guardianship or conservatorship requested 
and a brief description of the nature and extent of the adult’s alleged incapacity 
(§ 64.2-2002 of the Code of Virginia). 

If a limited conservator is requested, include the specific areas of management 
and assistance being requested. 

 (§ 64.2-2002 of the Code of Virginia). The petition shall state the petitioner’s 
name, place of residence, post office address, and relationship, if any, to the 
respondent, and, to the extent known as of the date of filing, shall include the 
following: 

1. The respondent’s name, date of birth, place of residence or location, post office 
address, and the sealed filing of the social security number. 

2. The names and post office addresses of the respondent’s spouse, adult children, 
parents and adult siblings or, if no such relatives are known to the petitioner, at least 
three other known relatives of the respondent, including step-children. If three such 
persons cannot be identified and located, that fact should be included in the petition. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2002
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2002
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2002
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2002
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3. The name, place of residence or location, and post office address of the 
individual or facility, if any, that is responsible for or has assumed responsibility for 
the respondent’s care or custody. 

4. The name, place of residence or location, and post office address of any agent 
designated under a durable power of attorney or an advance directive of which the 
respondent is the principal, or any guardian, committee or conservator currently 
acting, whether in this state or elsewhere. The petitioner shall attach a copy of any 
such document, if available. 

5. The type of guardianship or conservatorship requested and a brief description of 
the nature and extent of the respondent’s alleged incapacity.  

6. When the petition requests appointment of a guardian, a brief description of the 
services currently being provided for the respondent’s health, care, safety, or 
rehabilitation and, where appropriate, a recommendation as to living arrangement 
and treatment plan.  

7. If the appointment of a limited guardian is requested, the specific areas of 
protection and assistance to be included in the Order of Appointment should be 
listed. If the appointment of a limited conservator is requested, the specific areas of 
management and assistance to be included in the order should be listed. 

8. The name and post office address of any proposed guardian or conservator or any 
guardian or conservator requested by the respondent, and that person’s relationship 
to the respondent. 

9. The native language of the respondent and any necessary alternative mode of 
communicating. 

10. A statement of the financial resources of the respondent, that shall, to the extent 
known, list the approximate value of the respondent’s property and the anticipated 
annual gross income other receipts and debts. 

11. A statement of whether the petitioner believes the respondent’s attendance at 
the hearing would be detrimental to his/her health, care or safety; and 

12. A request for appointment of a guardian ad litem. 

7.2.8.7 Cost of proceedings waived or borne by the Commonwealth 

If it is alleged under oath that the estate of the alleged incapacitated adult is 
unavailable or insufficient to pay the fees and costs of the proceedings, the 
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court may waive such fees and costs as prescribed by § 64.2-2008 of the Code 
of Virginia). Those fees include the fees for the respondent’s attorney and the 
guardian ad litem. 

When an adult subject of a guardianship and/or conservatorship petition is 
determined by the circuit court to be indigent, any fees and costs of the 
proceeding that are fixed by the court or taxed as costs shall be borne by the 
Commonwealth (§ 64.2-2008 of the Code of Virginia).  

The guidelines for determining indigence set forth in § 19.2-159 of the Code of 
Virginia shall be used by the court in determining the sufficiency of the 
incapacitated adult’s estate. If the incapacitated adult would be eligible for the 
appointment of counsel pursuant to § 19.2-159, he or she shall be eligible for 
the appointment of a guardian/conservator pursuant to this section.  

7.2.9 Compensation to guardian ad litem, attorney, and evaluator 
appointed by the court  

The court may allow reasonable compensation from the estate of the incapacitated 
adult to any guardian ad litem, attorney, or evaluator appointed by the court. Any 
compensation allowed shall be taxed as costs of the proceeding (§ 64.2-2012 of the 
Code of Virginia). 

7.2.10 Duties and powers of guardians 

A guardian’s relationship to the incapacitated adult for whom he or she was 
appointed guardian is based on trust. The guardian stands in a fiduciary relationship 
to the incapacitated adult. A guardian may be held personally liable for a breach of 
trust in his or her performance of duties on behalf of the incapacitated adult. A 
guardian is not liable for the acts of the incapacitated adult, unless the guardian is 
personally negligent. A guardian is not required to expend his or her personal funds 
on behalf of the incapacitated adult.  

Pursuant to § 64.2-2019 of the Code of Virginia, the guardian has the following 
responsibilities: 

• Maintaining sufficient contact with the incapacitated adult to know of his or her 
capabilities, limitations, needs, and opportunities. The guardian shall visit the 
incapacitated adult as often as necessary. 

• Seeking prior court authorization to change the incapacitated adult’s 
residence to another state, to terminate or consent to a termination of the 
adult’s parental rights, or to initiate a change in the adult’s marital status. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2008
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2008
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-159
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+19.2-159
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2012
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2019
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• To the extent feasible, encouraging the incapacitated adult to participate in 
decisions, to act on his or her own behalf, and to develop or regain the 
capacity to manage personal affairs. A guardian, in making decisions, shall 
consider the expressed desires and personal values of the incapacitated adult 
to the extent known, and shall otherwise act in the adult’s best interest and 
exercise reasonable care, diligence and prudence  

• Having the authority to make arrangements for the funeral and disposition of 
the adult’s remains, if the guardian is not aware of any person that has been 
otherwise designated to make such arrangements or if the next of kin does 
not wish to make the arrangements or the next of kin cannot be located.  

The guardian also has the responsibility to file an annual report on the incapacitated 
adult’s condition with the LDSS for the jurisdiction in which he or she was appointed 
(§ 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia). 

7.2.11 Petition for restoration of capacity, modification, termination of the 
guardianship/conservatorship or removal of the 
guardian/conservator 

Any adult found by the court to be incapacitated, the guardian/conservator of any 
adult found by the court to be incapacitated, or any other person may petition the 
court to restore the incapacitated adult’s capacity. Likewise, a petition may be filed to 
request modification of the guardianship/conservatorship, or to terminate, or to order 
the removal of the guardian/conservator (§ 64.2-2012 of the Code of Virginia). 

If the petition is for modification to expand the scope of the guardianship/ 
conservatorship, notice of the hearing and a copy of the petition shall be personally 
served on the incapacitated adult and mailed to other persons entitled to notice. The 
court shall appoint a guardian ad litem for the incapacitated adult and may appoint 
one or more licensed physicians or psychologists, or licensed professionals skilled in 
the assessment and treatment of the physical or mental conditions of the 
incapacitated adult. 

Revocation, modification, or termination may be ordered upon a finding that it is in 
the best interests of the incapacitated adult and that: 

• The incapacitated adult is no longer in need of the assistance or protection of 
a guardian/conservator; 

• The extent of protection, management, or assistance previously granted is 
either excessive or insufficient considering the incapacitated adult’s current 
need; 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2012
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• The incapacitated adult’s understanding or capacity to manage the estate and 
financial affairs or to provide for his or her health, care or safety has so 
changed as to warrant the proposed action; or 

• Circumstances are such that the guardianship/conservatorship is no longer 
necessary or is insufficient. 

7.2.12 Reasons for termination of guardianship 

A guardianship order shall terminate for any of the following reasons: 

• The death of the incapacitated adult. 

• The court orders the termination of the guardianship following a hearing on 
the petition of any interested person. 

• The death, resignation, or removal of the guardian. 

A guardianship that terminates due to the guardian’s death, resignation or removal 
does not necessarily mean that the adult is no longer in need of guardianship. The 
adult’s needs and risk shall be assessed by the service worker. The LDSS or 
another appropriate individual may need to file another petition for guardianship.  

7.2.13 Transfer of guardianship or conservatorship 

(§ 64.2-2114 of the Code of Virginia). A guardian or conservator appointed in the 
Commonwealth may petition the court to transfer the guardianship or conservatorship to 
another state.   

Notice of a petition to transfer shall be given to the persons that would be entitled to 
notice of a petition in the Commonwealth for the appointment of a guardian or 
conservator. 

7.2.14 Accepting guardianship or conservatorship transferred to the 
Commonwealth 

A guardian appointed in another state may petition the court in the Commonwealth 
to accept the guardianship or conservatorship. Notice of a petition for transfer shall 
be given to those persons that would be entitled to notice if the petition were a 
petition for the appointment of a guardian in both the transferring state and the 
Commonwealth (§ 64.2-2115 of the Code of Virginia). 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2114
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2115


Virginia Department of Social Services  October 2012 
Adult and Family Services Manual  Guardianship and 

Conservatorship  
 

 

 
VDSS Division of Family Services   7 Guardianship and Conservatorship    

7.2.15 Registration of guardianship orders 

(§ 64.2-2116 of the Code of Virginia). If a guardian has been appointed in another state 
and a petition for the appointment of a guardian is not pending in the Commonwealth, the 
guardian appointed in the other state, after giving notice to the appointing court of an 
intent to register, may register the guardianship order in the Commonwealth by filing as a 
foreign judgment in a court, in any appropriate county or city of the Commonwealth, 
certified copies of the order and letters of office.  

7.3 Case managing a guardianship case 

7.3.1 Case typing and service planning in guardianship cases 

Guardianship cases in which the only services being provided are the receipt and 
review of the annual report shall be designated in ASAPS as case type Guardian 
Report. The case is opened and the redetermination date is the date the initial or 
annual report is due.  

Guardianship cases, in which additional services such as ALF reassessment are 
being provided, may have another case type selected. See Chapter 3, Section 3.11 
for additional information on case types. 

A service plan and the Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) are not required to be 
completed in a guardianship case if the only services being provided are receipt and 
review of the guardianship report. If other services are being performed a service 
plan and UAI would be required per guidance. See Chapter 3, for additional 
information on service planning and UAI requirements.  

LDSS, particularly those with many Guardian Report cases, may develop a tool or 
form to help track guardian report due dates and other information. However use of 
a tracking tool does not replace the need to document in ASAPS.  

7.3.2 Guardian reports filed with the LDSS 

When a guardian qualifies before the clerk of the circuit court, the clerk is required 
by § 64.2-2011 of the Code of Virginia to forward a copy of the Order of Appointment 
to the LDSS in the jurisdiction where the incapacitated adult resides. It is 
recommended that the LDSS obtain both the qualification document (to confirm the 
date of qualification) and the order of appointment.  

The guardian is responsible for filing an annual report on the incapacitated adult’s 
condition with the LDSS in the jurisdiction in which he or she was appointed. The 
report form “Report of Guardian for an Incapacitated Person” is located on the VDSS 
internal and public website. Note: Temporary or limited guardians are also required 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2116
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2011
http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/aps.cgi
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to file guardian reports. Instructions for newly appointed guardians are found in 
Appendix B.  

The LDSS may notify the guardian when the initial or annual report is due. See 
Appendix D for a sample letter. 

7.3.2.1 First (initial) report 

Within six months from the date of the guardian’s qualification date (not the 
appointment date,) the guardian is required to file the first report on the status 
of the incapacitated adult with the LDSS in the jurisdiction where he or she was 
appointed. This first report addresses the status of the incapacitated adult 
during the first four months, beginning on the date of qualification of the 
guardian. 

Sample timeline for initial report: 

 

When the incapacitated adult lives outside the Commonwealth of Virginia, the 
court that appointed the guardian retains jurisdiction and reports shall continue 
to be made to the LDSS in the jurisdiction in which the guardian was appointed. 

If the incapacitated adult relocates to or resides in a jurisdiction other than 
where the guardian was appointed, it is the responsibility of the LDSS where 
the guardian was appointed to forward the guardian’s report to the LDSS in the 
jurisdiction where the incapacitated adult currently resides. 

The guardian shall submit a $5.00 filing fee with the first report. If the filing fee 
is in the form of a check it shall be made payable to the LDSS (§ 64.2-2020 of 
the Code of Virginia). If the filing fee is in the form of cash, the LDSS shall issue 
a receipt to the guardian.  

July 1, 2012: 

Qualification 
date 

November 1, 
2012:  

Initial reporting 
period ends  

January 1, 2013: 
The ASAPS 

redetermination 
date  

November 1, 
2012 or no later 
than January 1, 

2013:  

Initial report is 
due 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
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7.3.2.2 Subsequent guardian reports 

Subsequent guardian reports will be for a period of 12 months. Reports will be 
due within four months from the last day of the previous 12-month reporting 
period. Each report shall be accompanied by a $5.00 filing fee. 

Sample timeline for subsequent reports: 

 

7.3.2.3 Co-guardian reports 

When co-guardians are appointed, each co-guardian is required to sign the 
“Annual Report of Guardian for an Incapacitated Person” form if filing jointly. 
One filing fee of $5.00 shall accompany the report signed by co-guardians. 
Each co-guardian may file a separate report. Separate co-guardian reports 
shall each be accompanied by the $5.00 filing fee.  

7.3.2.4 Exception to filing guardian report 

In rare instances, the guardianship order may state that the guardian is 
excused from the requirement to file any guardian reports. The LDSS shall 
follow the guardianship order. As appropriate, the LDSS may ask their attorney 
to review an order that contains this exception. 

7.3.2.5 Processing the guardian report filing fees 

Guardianship filing fees received by the LDSS shall be used in the provision of 
services to adults in need of protection. The LDSS should report all guardian 
report filing fees as a receipt to Adult Protective Services, Budget Line 895, 
Cost Code 89501. To record the receipt of Guardianship Fees, the LDSS 
should enter the amount collected as a credit, using Account Code 40895 
Receipt of Guardianship Fees. 

November 1, 
2012: 

Initial reporting 
period ends 

November 1, 
2012 to 

November 1, 
2013: 

12-month 
timeframe for 
annual report  

March 1, 2014: 

The ASAPS 
redetermination 

date 

March 1, 2014: 

Latest date 
annual report is 

due (four  
months from the 

end  of the 
reporting period) 
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7.3.2.6 When the filing fee is not sent 

Some guardians may submit the report without including the $5.00 filing fee. 
The LDSS may develop their own guidance on how to address the issue of 
guardians who do not submit the $5.00 filing fee.  

The service worker is still responsible for reviewing the report even if the $5.00 
was not submitted with the report.  

7.3.2.7 When the LDSS or LDSS employee is the guardian 

When the LDSS or an employee of the LDSS in the jurisdiction in which the 
incapacitated adult resides is the guardian, the Order of Guardianship shall be 
forwarded to a neighboring LDSS and the annual reports shall be made by the 
guardian to the neighboring department. The LDSS may contact the 
appropriate AS/APS Regional Program Consultant for assistance in assigning 
responsibility to another LDSS. 

7.3.2.8 Forwarding guardian reports to another LDSS  

When a guardian is appointed, the clerk of the circuit court is instructed by § 
64.2-2011 of the Code of Virginia to promptly forward a copy of the order 
appointing the guardian to the LDSS in the jurisdiction where the incapacitated 
adult resides. Guardians are instructed by § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia 
to file annual reports with the LDSS for the jurisdiction in which he or she was 
appointed. Section 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia assigns to the LDSS 
receiving the report the responsibility for forwarding the annual report to the 
LDSS in the jurisdiction where the incapacitated adult currently resides. The 
report shall be forwarded no later than five working days after the report was 
received. The $5.00 filing fee shall accompany the forwarded guardian report. 

The LDSS for the jurisdiction where the incapacitated adult resides is required 
to follow guidance in Sections 7.3.2.9 through 7.3.2.11.  

7.3.2.9 Review of guardian report by the LDSS 

The date the LDSS received the guardian report should be stamped or noted 
on the report form. Within 10 calendar days of the receipt of a guardian report, 
the service worker should review the report. The review should assess: 

• Whether the report has been properly completed in its entirety. 

• Whether the contents of the report provide reason to suspect that the 
subject of the report is being abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk 
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. See Appendix C for guidelines on 
reviewing guardian reports.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
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7.3.2.10 Worker’s response to review of the guardian report 

If the review of the guardian report finds the report is incomplete, the guardian 
should be requested to submit the missing information. 

If it is the judgment of the service worker that there is reason to suspect that the 
subject of the report is abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk of abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation, an APS case should be opened in ASAPS and 
procedures for documenting the report followed (see ASAPS-Robo Help). An 
investigation shall be initiated. 

If the incapacitated adult lives outside the Commonwealth and there is reason 
to suspect that the subject of the report is abused, neglected, or exploited, or is 
at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, the service worker shall make an APS 
report to the appropriate state, county, or city where the incapacitated adult 
resides. 

If an APS case is opened, a copy of the guardian’s report shall be filed in the 
case record. 

If it is the judgment of the APS worker that there is no reason to suspect that 
the subject of the report is abused, neglected, or exploited, or is at risk of 
abuse, neglect, or exploitation, the date of review and the name of the APS 
worker should be noted and the report filed in a place designated by the local 
department. Documentation of the review shall be entered in the case narrative 
in ASAPS. The LDSS may send a letter confirming of receipt of the report and 
the date the next report is due. See Appendix G for a sample letter.  

(§ 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia). Within 60 days of the receipt of the annual 
report, the local department of social services shall file a copy of the report with the 
clerk of the circuit court that appointed the guardian, to be placed with the court 
papers pertaining to the guardianship case.  

7.3.2.11 When a guardian fails to file a required report 

If the guardian fails to file a required report within thirty days of its due date, the 
worker shall send a letter to the guardian to notify him that the report is overdue 
(see Appendix E and F for sample letters). 

The LDSS may also: 

• Ask the court whether the guardianship was transferred to another state. 

• Send a second letter by certified mail, return receipt requested, stating 
the report is overdue. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
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• Contact the guardian by phone or other means.  

• Notify the court earlier than required by § 64.2-2020 of the Code of 
Virginia if the guardian is delinquent in submitting the report and does 
not respond to letters sent by the LDSS. 

• Visit the home of the guardian and/or incapacitated adult.  

All efforts to contact the guardian shall be documented in the ASAPS case 
narrative.  

If, after a good faith effort by the LDSS to obtain the guardian report, the 
guardian continues to fail to submit the report within four months from the last 
day of the reporting period and the well-being of the incapacitated adult is 
unknown or is in question, the LDSS shall, at its discretion, initiate an APS 
report and proceed with an investigation. 

However, if the incapacitated adult has relocated outside of Virginia and the 
guardian fails to file the report, the LDSS will not be able to conduct an APS 
investigation. If the LDSS is concerned that the incapacitated adult may be at 
risk for abuse, neglect or exploitation, the LDSS shall make a report to APS in 
the appropriate state. The LDSS shall consult the LDSS attorney for additional 
guidance, as appropriate.  

Twice each year the LDSS shall file with the appropriate circuit court a list of all 
guardians who are more than ninety days delinquent in filing an annual report 
(§ 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia). 

7.3.2.12 Death of the incapacitated adult; final report 

When the incapacitated adult dies, the guardian shall prepare a summary 
report and include with the report the notice of the incapacitated adult’s death. 
The summary report will be filed with the LDSS as required by § 64.2-2020 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

7.3.2.13 Maintenance of the guardian report  

When the guardian report has been reviewed by the service worker, and no 
further action is needed, the completed report form should be filed in the adult’s 
record (if available) or in a place designated by the LDSS. Once a guardian 
report becomes part of a case record, the report is considered a confidential 
social service record pursuant to §§ 63.2-104 and 2.2 3705.5 14 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-104
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-3705.5
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7.3.2.14 Purging of the guardian report  

Guardian report forms filed with the LDSS in compliance with § 64.2-2020 of 
the Code of Virginia may be purged by the LDSS following the schedule (GS-
15) established by the Library of Virginia. GS 15 is located on the Library of 
Virginia’s website. 

• Adult Services cases that do not contain an APS report, an ALF 
assessment or a preadmission screening (PAS) shall be retained for 
three years after the last action.  

• Adult Services cases and APS cases with an APS report shall be 
retained five years after case closure.  

• Cases that contain ALF assessments or nursing facility PAS shall be 
retained five years after the date of assessment. 

• Records or cases that have been retained for the appropriated time 
frame shall be destroyed according to number 8 on the first page of the 
GS-15.  

7.4 Conservators 

7.4.1 General duties and liabilities of conservators 

A conservator stands in a fiduciary relationship to the incapacitated adult for whom 
he or she was appointed conservator and may be held personally liable for a breach 
of fiduciary duty to the incapacitated adult.  

The powers of a conservator shall terminate upon the death of the incapacitated 
adult or upon the death, resignation, or removal of the conservator or upon the 
termination of the conservatorship. 

The conservator’s responsibilities to the incapacitated adult include: 

• Acting in the best interest of the incapacitated adult and, to the extent known, 
considering the incapacitated adult’s expressed desires and personal values. 

• Caring for and preserving the estate of the incapacitated adult and managing 
it to the best advantage; applying the income from the estate to the payment 
of the incapacitated adult’s debts including reasonable compensation to the 
conservator and to any guardian appointed and to the incapacitated adult’s 
legal dependents. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://www.lva.virginia.gov/agencies/records/sched_local/index.htm
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• Encouraging the incapacitated adult to participate in decisions, to act on his 
or her own behalf, and to develop or regain capacity to manage the estate 
and his or her financial affairs (§ 64.2-2021 of the Code of Virginia). 

7.4.2 Management powers and duties of the conservator 

A conservator, in managing the estate of an incapacitated adult, has the following 
management powers and duties (§ 64.2-2022 of the Code of Virginia): 

• To ratify or reject a contract entered into by the incapacitated adult; 

• To pay bills for the benefit of the incapacitated adult; 

• To maintain life, health, casualty and liability insurance for the benefit of the 
incapacitated adult or his or her legal dependents; 

• To manage the estate following termination of the conservatorship until it is 
delivered to the incapacitated adult or his or her successors; 

• To execute and deliver all documents and to take all other actions that will 
serve the best interest of the incapacitated adult; 

• To initiate a proceeding:  

o To revoke a power of attorney under the provisions of the Uniform Power 
of Attorney Act (§ 64.2-1600 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), or  

o To claim a share of the estate of a deceased spouse under § 64.2-302 of 
the Code of Virginia; 

• To borrow money as seems advisable and/or to mortgage portions of the 
incapacitated adult’s estate to secure loan(s) or renew existing loan(s). 

7.4.3 Accounting responsibilities of the conservator 

The conservator accounts to the Commissioner of Accounts. At the time of 
qualification, the clerk of the circuit court will provide the conservator with the name 
and address of the Commissioner of Accounts.  

(§ 64.2-2021 of the Code of Virginia). A conservator shall comply with and be subject to 
the requirements imposed upon fiduciaries generally under Part A (§ 64.2-1200 et seq.) 
of this subtitle, specifically including the duty to account set forth in § 64.2-1305.  

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2021
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2022
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+TOC64020000016000000000000
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-302
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2021
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1200
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1305
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An accounting is a record of all money, property, and other assets for which the 
conservator is responsible. The accounting includes a record of money spent, a 
record of any investments, and a statement of available cash. 

The first accounting covers the first four months of the conservatorship and shall be 
filed with the Commissioner of Accounts within six months of qualification. After the 
initial accounting, other accounts are due annually. 

7.4.4 APS reports involving conservators 

When the LDSS receives an APS report that the incapacitated adult’s funds are 
being misused by the conservator, and the report is valid an APS investigation shall 
be initiated. 
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7.5 Appendix A: Forms 

The following forms are used in guardianship cases. These forms are located on the 
Adult Services forms page of the DSS internal website.  

 
Physician’s Evaluation of Respondent  
This form may be provided to the physician who is conducting an evaluation. 

Report of Guardian for an Incapacitated Person 
This form is used by the guardian to complete the initial report and subsequent annual 
guardianship report.  

Request for the Appointment a Guardian/Conservator  
This form may be used by the LDSS to gather information about the respondent for 
inclusion in the petition.  

http://spark.dss.virginia.gov/divisions/dfs/as/forms.cgi
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7.6 Appendix B: Instructions to newly appointed guardians 

Court-appointed guardians are required under § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia, to 
file an annual report with the LDSS for the jurisdiction in which he or she was appointed. 

The first report to be filed by the guardian is due at the LDSS within six months from the 
date of the guardian’s qualification and covers the activity performed on behalf of the 
incapacitated person during the first four months of the guardianship. 

After the first report has been filed, reports are due annually. Each annual report covers 
a 12 month period. Reports will be due within four months from the last day of the 
previous 12-month reporting period. (§ 64.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia). 

The report shall be on a form prepared by the Office of the Executive Secretary of the 
Supreme Court. The first reporting form will be provided by the clerk of the court at the 
time of qualification. Subsequent annual reporting forms will be provided by the LDSS. 
The guardian has four months from the end of the reporting period in which to complete 
the annual report and submit it to the LDSS. All questions on the form must be 
answered. Incomplete report forms will be returned to the guardian for 
completion. 

The report form shall be accompanied by a $5.00 filing fee. If the fee is submitted in 
check form, the check should be made payable to the LDSS. 

If the guardian is to be compensated for his or her duties as guardian, the rate of 
compensation may be set in the court’s order. If compensation is not set in the court 
order, the Commissioner of Accounts will need to approve the amount the conservator 
pays the guardian. 

The guardian will need to make a written request for compensation from the conservator 
of the incapacitated person’s estate. The amount of compensation that is requested 
should be reported in the section for itemizing “reasonable and necessary expenses” on 
the “Annual Report of Guardian for an Incapacitated Person” report form. 

Twice each year the LDSS is required under § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia to file 
with the Clerk of the Circuit Court a list of all guardians who are more than ninety days 
delinquent in filing an annual report as required.  

If the incapacitated person relocates to a jurisdiction in Virginia other than where the 
guardian was appointed, please inform the LDSS promptly. The LDSS is responsible for 
forwarding the guardian report to the LDSS in the new jurisdiction for review. 

If the incapacitated adult moves outside of Virginia, please notify this LDSS promptly. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-1305
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
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If the incapacitated person dies, the guardian will prepare a summary report and include 
within the report the notice of the incapacitated person’s death. The report will be filed 
with the LDSS as required by § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia. 

Mail the report form and check as follows: 
 
 

ANNUAL GUARDIAN REPORT 
ATTENTION: __________________________________ 
Department of Social Services 
______________________________________________ 
______________________________________________ 

 
The local department of social services contact person regarding annual guardian reports 
is _________________________. The contact person may be reached by telephone at                     
or by writing ___________________________. 
 

Guardians and Conservators are Mandated Reporters 
 
Section 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia requires that when Guardians and 
Conservators suspect that an adult has been abused, neglected, or exploited or is at risk 
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, they shall immediately report their suspicions to Adult 
Protective Services of the department of social services in the locality where the 
incapacitated person resides or to the 24-hour, toll-free APS Hotline at 1-888-832-3858.  
 
Section 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia provides the following definitions: 
 
"Adult abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury or mental anguish or unreasonable 
confinement of an adult. 
 
"Adult neglect" means that an adult is living under such circumstances that he is not able to provide for 
himself or is not being provided services necessary to maintain his physical and mental health and that the 
failure to receive such necessary services impairs or threatens to impair his well-being. However, no adult 
shall be considered neglected solely on the basis that such adult is receiving religious nonmedical treatment 
or religious nonmedical nursing care in lieu of medical care, provided that such treatment or care is 
performed in good faith and in accordance with the religious practices of the adult and there is a written or 
oral expression of consent by that adult. 
 
"Adult exploitation" means the illegal use of an incapacitated adult or his resources for another's profit or 
advantage. 
 
For additional information on mandated reporting visit the VDSS public website.  
 
A Virginia Handbook for Guardians and Conservators: A Practical Guide for Court-
Appointed Guardians and Conservators of Adults may be ordered from the Virginia 
Guardianship Association. An order form is available on the website. 
 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+64.2-2020
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-1606
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+63.2-100
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/as/aps.cgi
http://www.vgavirginia.org/default.asp
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7.7  Appendix C: Guidelines for review of guardian’s report 

Name of Incapacitated Person: The name of the person who is the subject of this 
report. 

Circuit Court Where Guardian Appointed: The name of the circuit court where the 
guardian who is completing this report was appointed. 

Age: The age of the person who is the subject of this report. 

Circuit Court Case No.: The case number assigned by the circuit court where the 
guardian was appointed. 

Date Appointed: The date the guardian who is completing this report was appointed to 
serve as guardian for the person who is the subject of this report. 

Guardian’s Name: The name of the guardian who is completing this report. 

Guardian’s Address: The address of the guardian who is completing this report. 

Guardian’s Telephone Number: The telephone number of the guardian who is 
completing this report. 

Conservator’s Name: The name of the person who serves as conservator for the 
person who is the subject of this report, if the person has a conservator and if the 
conservator is someone other than the person who serves as guardian. 

Conservator’s Address: The address of the person who serves as conservator for the 
person who is the subject of this annual report, if the person has a conservator and if 
the conservator is someone other than the person who serves as guardian. 

Conservator’s Telephone Number: The telephone number of the person who serves 
as conservator for the person who is the subject of this annual report, if the person has 
a conservator and if the conservator is someone other than the person who serves as 
guardian. 

Same as Guardian: A check mark should be placed on the line if the same person 
serves as both guardian and conservator for the person who is the subject of this report. 

The Period Covered by This Report: The date the reporting period began and the 
date the reporting period ended. 

Describe the current mental, physical, and social condition of the incapacitated 
person (attach additional pages if necessary): This section should describe any 
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mental, physical and/or social problems observed by the guardian and should note any 
changes observed in these areas in the past year. 

State any changes in the condition of the incapacitated person in the past year: 
This section should describe any changes from the previous report. 

Describe the living arrangements of the incapacitated person, including address: 
This section should describe the setting in which the incapacitated person lives (i.e., 
with relatives, in a nursing home or assisted living facility, alone, etc.) 

Describe all medical, educational, vocational and professional services provided 
to the incapacitated person for the period covered by the report, and state your 
opinion of the adequacy of the care received by the incapacitated person: This 
section should explain the various services provided to the incapacitated person during 
the reporting period. This should include a statement that, in the opinion of the guardian, 
the services provided were adequate or were not adequate. If the guardian considers 
the services provided to be not adequate, the guardian should state what he or she 
plans to do to assure that services will improve. The guardian should identify areas in 
which he or she may need assistance from the LDSS to assure adequate care. 

State the number of times you visited the incapacitated person, the nature of your 
visits and describe your activities on behalf of the incapacitated person: This 
section should include a statement regarding the number of times the guardian visited 
the incapacitated person and the purpose of the visits. This should also include a 
statement describing activities performed by the guardian on behalf of the incapacitated 
person.  

State whether or not you agree with the current treatment or care plan: This 
section should include a statement regarding whether the guardian believes that 
treatments, services, or current living arrangement is adequate or effective to meet the 
incapacitated person’s needs. 

State your recommendations as to the need for continued guardianship, any 
recommended changes in the scope of the guardianship, and any other 
information useful, in your opinion, to a consideration of the guardianship: The 
guardian may recommend a continuation of the guardianship without changes; he or 
she may recommend expanding the authority of the guardian to areas not designated in 
the court order; or he or she may recommend rescinding all or part of the authority of 
the guardian and restoring all or part of the authority of the incapacitated person. In 
each case, the guardian should attach documentation to support the recommendations. 

Itemize all reasonable and necessary expenses you incurred and list any request 
for compensation you have made: In this section the guardian should itemize 
expenses incurred and state the amount of compensation requested. Any request for 
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compensation should be made to the conservator who has control of the person’s 
financial affairs. 

I certify that the information contained in this Annual Report is true and correct to 
the best of my knowledge. 

Date: This should note the date the annual report is signed and dated by the guardian 

Signature of Guardian: The guardian should use this line to affix his or her signature to 
the annual report. 

 
 

 
 

DSS Use Only: 
 
Date Received: The date the completed annual report is received at the LDSS should 
be entered on this line. If an incomplete report is received and returned to the guardian 
for completion, the date of receipt of the completed report is the date to be entered. 

Date Reviewed: The date the report is reviewed by an APS worker should be entered 
on this line. 

Reviewer’s Signature and Title: The APS worker who reviews the annual report 
should sign the report and include his/her title. 
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7.8  Appendix D: Sample letter-the initial report is now due 

 
Reminder: INITIAL GUARDIAN REPORT WILL SOON BE DUE 

 
Date 
 
Guardian’s Address 
 
Dear (guardian’s name): 
 
This is to notify you that the (name of department) Department of Social Services has 
received notice that you were appointed guardian for (name of incapacitated person). 
Section 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia requires a guardian of an incapacitated adult to file 
an initial report with the local department of social services in the jurisdiction in which the 
guardian was appointed within six months of the qualification date.  
 
It is now time to file the initial guardian report for the reporting period of (date) through (date). 
The initial report is due no later than (date).The initial report should address the status of the 
incapacitated person for the first four months of the guardianship. 
 
The guardian is also required to submit a $5.00 fee with the report. If the $5.00 is in the form of 
a check, please make the check out to (name of local department). 
 
A blank copy of the report, with instructions, has been enclosed for your convenience. If you 
need assistance with completing the form or if you have questions, you may contact me at 
(phone number/email address). 
 
Please send your report to my attention at the address below: 
 
Name of APS Worker to Receive the Report 
Address of the Local Department 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Enclosure 
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7.9 Appendix E: Sample letter-the initial report is overdue 

 
NOTICE OF OVERDUE INITIAL GUARDIAN REPORT 

 
 

Date 
 
Guardian’s Address 
 
Dear (guardian’s name) 
 
This is to notify you that the (name of department) Department of Social Services has not 
received your initial guardian report on (name of incapacitated person) which was due in this 
office on (date report was due). Section 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia, requires a 
guardian of an incapacitated adult to file an initial report with the local department of social 
services in the jurisdiction in which the guardian was appointed within six months of the 
qualification date.  
 
I am required by § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia to provide a list of guardians who 
are more than 90 days delinquent in filing the report to the Clerk of the Circuit Court. In 
addition to notifying the court, an Adult Protective Services Investigation may be initiated if we 
do not received a response from you by (date). 
 
A blank copy of the report, with instructions, is enclosed for your convenience. A $5.00 fee is 
also required to be submitted with the report. If the $5.00 is in the form of a check, please 
make the check out to (name of local department). 
 
 If you need assistance with completing the form or if you have questions, you may contact me 
at (phone number/email address). 
 
Please send your report to my attention at the address below: 
  
Name of APS Worker to Receive the Report 
Address of the Local Department 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Enclosure 
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7.10 Appendix F: Sample letter-the annual report is overdue 

NOTICE OF OVERDUE ANNUAL GUARDIAN REPORT 
 
 

Date 
 
Guardian’s Address 
 
Dear (guardian’s name) 
 
This is to notify you that the (name of department) Department of Social Services has not 
received your annual guardian report on (name of incapacitated person) which was due in 
this office on (date report was due). Section 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia, requires a 
guardian of an incapacitated adult to file an annual report with the local department of social 
services in the jurisdiction in which the guardian was appointed. 
 
The report covers the one year period that began (date) and ended (date). The report should 
address the status of (name of incapacitated person) for this 12-month period.  
 
I am required by § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia to provide a list of guardians who 
are more than 90 days delinquent in filing the annual report to the Clerk of the Circuit 
Court. In addition to notifying the court, an Adult Protective Services Investigation may be 
initiated if we do not received a response from you by (date). 
 
A blank copy of the report, with instructions, is enclosed for your convenience. A $5.00 fee is 
also required to be submitted with the report. If the $5.00 is in the form of a check, please 
make the check out to (name of local department). 
 
 If you need assistance with completing the form or if you have questions, you may contact me 
at (phone number/email address). 
 
Please send your report to my attention at the address below: 
  
Name of APS Worker to Receive the Report 
Address of the Local Department 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Enclosure 
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7.11 Appendix G: Sample letter-the initial/annual report was 
received/next due date 

Date 
 
Guardian’s Address 
 
Dear (guardian’s name) 
 
This is to notify you that the initial/annual guardian report on (name of incapacitated person) 
was received and the next report is due (date next report is due). Section 64.2-2020 of the 
Code of Virginia, requires a guardian of an incapacitated adult to file an annual report with the 
local department of social services in the jurisdiction in which the guardian was appointed. 
 
If the adult relocates to a jurisdiction that different than the jurisdiction in which the guardian 
was appointed, please promptly notify me. I am required to forward the report to the local 
department of social services in the jurisdiction where the adult currently resides. 
 
A blank copy of the report, with instructions, is enclosed for your convenience. A $5.00 fee is 
also required to be submitted with the report. If the $5.00 is in the form of a check, please 
make the check out to (name of local department). 
 
 If you need assistance with completing the form or if you have questions, you may contact me 
at (phone number/email address). 
 
Please send the next annual report to my attention at the address below: 
  
Name of APS Worker to Receive the Report 
Address of the Local Department 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Enclosure 
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