Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Plan
For
Virginia
FFY 2012-2013

PART 1
ADMINISTRATION

1.1 Contact Information

The agency shown below has been designated by the Chief Executive Officer of the
State (or Territory), to represent the State (or Territory) as the Lead Agency. The Lead
Agency agrees to administer the program in accordance with applicable Federal laws and
regulations and the provisions of this Plan, including the assurances and certifications
appended hereto.(658D, 658E)

1.1.1 Who is the Lead Agency designated to administer the CCDF program? ldentify
the Lead Agency and Lead Agency"s Chief Executive Officer designated by the
State/Territory. ACF will send official grant correspondence such as grant awards, grant
adjustments, Plan approvals and disallowance notifications to the designated contact
identified here. (658D(a), §98.10)

Name of Lead Agency: Virginia Department of Social Services

Address of Lead Agency: 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219-2901

Name and Title of the Lead Agency's Chief Executive Officer: Martin D. Brown, Commissioner
Phone Number: 804 726-7011

Fax Number: 804 726-7015

E-Mail Address: martin.brown@dss.virginia.gov

Web Address for Lead Agency (if any): www.dss.virginia.gov

1.1.2 Who is the CCDF administrator? Identify the CCDF administrator designated by
the Lead Agency, the day-to-day contact, with responsibility for administering the
State/Territory's CCDF program. ACF will send programmatic communications such as
program announcements, program instructions, and data collection instructions to the
designated contact identified here. If there is more than one designated contact with
equal or shared responsibility for administering the CCDF program, please identify
the co-administrator or entity with administrative responsibilities and include
contact information. (8898.16(a) and (c)(1))

a) Contact Information for CCDF Administrator:

Name of CCDF Administrator: Dottie Wells

Title of CCDF Administrator: Director, Office of Child Care and Early Childhood Development
Address of CCDF Administrator: 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219-2901

Phone Number: 804 726-7639

Fax Number: 804 726-7655

E-Mail Address: dottie.wells@dss.virginia.gov



Web Address for Lead Agency (if any): www.dss.virginia.gov
Phone Number for CCDF program information

(for the public) (if any): 800-552-3431 (toll-free); 804-726-7000
Web Address for CCDF program

(for the public) (if any): www.dss.virginia.gov

Web Address for CCDF program policy manual

(if any): http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cc/assistance.cgi
Web Address for CCDF program administrative rules

(if any): N/A

b) Contact Information for CCDF Co-Administrator (if applicable):

Name of CCDF Co-Administrator: N/A
Title of CCDF Co-Administrator: N/A
Address of CCDF Co-Administrator: N/A
Phone Number: N/A

Fax Number: N/A

E-Mail Address: N/A
Description of the role of the Co-Administrator:

N/A

1.2 Estimated Funding

1.2.1 What is your expected level of funding for the first year of the FY 2012 - FY
2013 plan period?

The Lead Agency estimates that the following amounts will be available for child care
services and related activities during the 1-year period from October 1, 2011 through
September 30, 2012. (898.13(a)).

FY 2012 Federal CCDF allocation (Discretionary, Mandatory and Matching): $ 104,991,106
Federal TANF Transfer to CCDF: $ 15,398,136

Direct Federal TANF Spending on Child Care: $ 0

State CCDF Maintenance-of-Effort Funds: $ 21,328,762

State Matching Funds: $ 41,690,954

Reminder - Lead Agencies are reminded that not more than 5 percent of the aggregate
CCDF funds, including federal funds and required State Matching funds, shall be
expended on administration costs (898.52) once all FY2012 funds have been liquidated.
State Maintenance-of-Effort funds are not subject to this limitation.



1.2.2 Which of the following funds does the Lead Agency intend to use to meet the
CCDF Matching and maintenance-of-effort (MOE) requirements described in
98.53(e) and 98.53(h)? Check all that apply.

Territories not required to meet CCDF Matching and MOE requirements should mark

[T N/A here

Note:The Lead Agency must check at least public and/or private funds as matching, even
If pre-kindergarten (pre-k) funds also will be used.

M Public funds to meet the CCDF Matching Fund requirement. Public funds may include
any general revenue funds, county or other local public funds, State/Territory-specific

funds (tobacco tax, lottery), or any other public funds.
If checked, identify source of funds:

A combination of State General, Pre-K, and local funds will be the source of public funds used to meet
Federal CCDF Matching requirements.

If known, identify the estimated amount of public funds the Lead Agency will receive: $
63,019,716

I Private Donated Funds to meet the CCDF Matching Fund requirement. Only private
received by the designated entities or by the Lead Agency may be counted for match
purposes. ( 98.53(f))

If checked, are those funds:
I donated directly to the State?

I donated to a separate entity(ies) designated to receive private donated funds?

If checked, identify the number of entities designated to receive private donated funds
and provide name, address, contact and type:

If known, identify the estimated amount of private donated funds the Lead Agency will
receive:

M State expenditures for Pre-K programs to meet the CCDF Matching Funds
requirement.

If checked, provide the estimated percentage of Matching Fund requirement that will be
met with pre-k expenditures ( not to exceed 30%): 19%

If percentage is more than 10% of the Matching fund requirement, describe how the State
will coordinate its pre-k and child care services:

Locally, child care staff and the state’s pre-k programs coordinate needed child care services to wrap
around both pre-k and Head Start programs, when needed. Communities are encouraged to plan early
learning networks as a partnership among local school superintendents, local departments of social
services, Head Start directors, and representatives of the child care community so that the various
funding streams can be leveraged and used most effectively to provide choices for parents and to meet
their work-life needs.



If known, identify the estimated amount of pre-k funds the Lead Agency will receive for

Matching Funds requirement: $7,966,307
Describe the Lead Agency efforts to ensure that pre-k programs meet the needs of
working parents:

The state-funded pre-k programs are administered by the local school system and operate for at least a
half day. Locally, child care staff and the state’s pre-k programs coordinate needed child care services to
wrap around both pre-k and Head Start programs, when needed. Communities are encouraged to plan
early learning networks as a partnership among local school superintendents, local departments of

social services, Head Start directors, and representatives of the child care community so that the various
funding streams can be leveraged and used most effectively to provide choices for parents and to meet
their work-life needs.

M State expenditures for Pre-K programs to meet the CCDF Maintenance of Effort (MOE)
requirements.

If checked,
M The Lead Agency assures that its level of effort in full-day/full-year child care services

has not been reduced, pursuant to 98.53(h)(1).
Estimated percentage of MOE Fund requirement that will be met with pre-k expenditures

( not to exceed 20%): 20%
If percentage is more than 10% of the MOE fund requirement, describe how the State will
coordinate its pre-k and child care services to expand the availability of child care:

Staff from the state pre-k program and from the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development
at VDSS serve together on committees that promote coordination and cooperation. Early learning
opportunities across child care, Head Start, and state-funded preschool programs are coordinated in
ways that leverage access, availability, and quality.

If known, identify the estimated amount of pre-k funds the Lead Agency will receive for

MOE Fund requirement: $ 4,265,753
Describe the Lead Agency efforts to ensure that pre-k programs meet the needs of
working parents:

Locally, child care staff and the state’s pre-k programs coordinate needed child care services to wrap
around both pre-k and Head Start programs, when needed. Communities are encouraged to plan early
learning networks as a partnership among local school superintendents, local departments of social
services, Head Start directors, and representatives of the child care community so that the various
funding streams can be leveraged and used most effectively to provide choices for parents and to meet
their work-life needs.



1.2.3 Describe the activities for which quality funds (including targeted quality
funds for infants and toddlers, school-age children, and resource and referral) will
be used in FY 2012. In as much detail possible, list the activities that will be funded, the
estimated amount of CCDF quality funds that will be used for each activity, and how
these activities relate to the Lead Agency's overall goal of improving the quality of child

care for low-income children.

Activity Estimated Amount
of CCDF Quality
Funds (indicate if
targeted funds will
be used)

Purpose

Projected Impact
and Anticipated
Results




(1) Train and support
infant and toddler child
care providers in use of
social and emotional
development, screening
tools, and promotion of
healthy social and
emotional development.
(2) Support child care
providers and mental
health professionals in
achieving endorsement
through the VA
Association of Mental
Health, VA Infant Mental
Health Competency and
Endorsement System.
(3) Continue the
statewide Infant and
Toddler Specialist
Network

(4) Fourth Pilot Year of
the Virginia Star Quality
Initiative

(5) Fourth Year of the
Virginia Star Quality
Initiative Pilot

(6) Provide statewide
resource and referral
services for families
through the Virginia
Child Care Resource and
Referral Network, a
private, non-profit
organization

(7) Professional
development for the child
care workforce

(8) Child Care Licensing
Inspectors

(9) Quality Initiative
Activities for the Local
Departments of Social
Services

(1) Infant and Toddler
Targeted Funds -
$1,350,000

(2) Infant and Toddler
Targeted Funds -
$50,000

(3) Infant and Toddler
Targeted Funds -
$1,595,370

(4) Quality Funds -
$500,000

(5) Infant and Toddler
Targeted funds -
$450,000

(6) Resource and
Referral/School-age
Targeted Funds -
$425,000

(7) Quality Funds -
$505,000

(8) Quality Funds -
$10,833,255

(9) Quality Funds -
$,1,420,702

(1) Provide child care
providers with tools to
assess the
social/lemotional status of
infants and toddlers and
tools to enhance the
child care settings.

(2) Provide child care
providers and mental
health professionals with
expertise in infant and
toddler mental health.
(3) Achieve excellence
in early care by
increasing the
educational level and
skills of those who care
for infants and toddlers,
whether in family homes
or in centers, including
those that serve at-risk
children.

(4) Continue the pilot of
the Virginia Star Quality
Initiative, working with
local coalitions to rate
child care programs
based on statewide
standards and
assessments.

(5) Provide mentoring
and Quality Improvement
Plans for caregivers/
programs that serve
children ages birth
through 36 months.

(6) Support resource
and referral/school-age
activities statewide to
support families in their
search for quality care
that meets their needs.
(7) Provide training for
child care providers,
including distance
learning; training for
Quiality Rating and
Improvement System
(QRIS) raters, mentors
and local coordinators;
coaching and mentoring
literacy training; QRIS
mentoring training for 3-4
pilot year programs; and
implementation of a new
training/trainer approval
process.

(8) Provide basic health
and safety inspections
and the follow-up needed
to ensure that regulated

(1) Infants and toddlers
at risk will be identified
and appropriate supports
provided. Child care
settings promote the
appropriate
social/emotional
development of infants
and toddlers.

(2) Infants and toddlers
will have access to
informed and competent
child care providers and
mental health
professionals.

(3) Onsite consultation,
mentoring, and support
for selected programs
using quality
improvement plans
resulting in increased
quality according to
ITERS-R/FCCERS-R
and achievement of
program goals; training
and technical assistance
leading to increased
knowledge of
caregivers/teachers and
directors; and provide
resources/linkages to
existing professional
development
opportunities.

(4) High quality child
care for all children
involved in the pilot
programs, especially
those receiving
subsidies.

(5) Improved program
quality through
environmental and
programming changes,
increasing knowledge of
caregivers/teachers/direc
tors, and providing
resources and
community connections
for providers.

(6) Increased assistance
for families seeking child
care for children with
special needs, provide
technical assistance for
child care providers and
families about quality
care, and track
requirements for
providers receiving
subsidy dollars, and
provide data on child
care providers.




facilities meet minimum
standards

(9) Provide localities
with funding to support
Quiality Initiatives in their
child care communities.

VACCRRN is leading the
way on school-age
programs and statewide
collaboration, also.

(7) Improved program
quality for past and
current Quality Rating
and Improvement
System (QRIS)
programs, higher level of
skill and knowledge for
child care staff, improved
program implementation
based on research and
best practices, and
successful
trainer/training quality
assurance program
implementation.

(8) Accountability and
documentation of basic
health and safety of child
care programs

(9) Meet local needs
with a 15.5% local match
to enhance the quality of
child care through
training providers,
purchase of educational
materials, or educating
parents about quality
child care; increasing the
availability of quality child
care for all; and/or
improving the
accessibility of quality
child care to low-income
children.

$1,420,702

Describe:

[ Yes, all guality funds will be distributed to local entities
[ Other.

1.2.4 Will the Lead Agency distribute quality funds to counties or local entities?
No, the Lead Agency will manage all quality funds directly

M Yes, the Lead Agency will manage some quality funds directly and distribute a portion
to local entities. Estimated amount or percentage to be distributed to localities




1.3 CCDF Program Integrity and Accountability

Program integrity is defined to include efforts that ensure effective internal controls over
the administration of CCDF funds. The Lead Agency is responsible for monitoring
programs and services, ensuring compliance with the rules of the program, promulgating
rules and regulations to govern the overall administration of the plan and oversee the
expenditure of funds by sub-grantees and contractors. (8 98.11(b)) Accountability
measures should address administrative error, which includes unintentional agency error,
as well as address program violations, both unintentional and intentional, that may or
may not result in further action by the Lead Agency, including those cases suspected of
and/or prosecuted for fraud.

1.3.1. Describe the strategies the Lead Agency will utilize to ensure effective
internal controls are in place. The description of internal controls may include, but is
not limited to a description of processes to ensure sound fiscal management, to identify
areas of risk or to establish regular evaluation of control activities.

Describe:

The Fiscal Unit within the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development (CC&ECD) acts as
liaison between CC&ECD and the Department’s Division of Finance (DOF). The Fiscal Unit manages
CC&ECD'’s financial activities. Routine functions include formulating the annual budget based on federal
awards and state general fund appropriations; monitoring program expenditures; ensuring that subsidy
and quality activities are managed within appropriated amounts; reconciling transactions initiated by
CC&ECD to expenditures on the federal quarterly 696 report within federal obligation and liquidation
requirements as prescribed in 45 CFR 898.50; and performing periodic desktop reviews of
reimbursements to local departments and other sub-recipients to ensure that funds are used according
to federal and state guidelines. Upon identification of ineffective internal controls, the Fiscal Unit
coordinates with the program and DOF to develop guidance documents to correct deficiencies identified.

a. Fiscal Reporting

The Federal Grants Unit within DOF is responsible for preparing the quarterly 696 financial report. Total
reported expenditures are taken from state accounting systems. The Fiscal Unit within CC&ECD
collaborates with the Federal Grants Unit to compare detailed program records to totals posted to state
accounting systems. Prior to preparing the federal 696 report, program records are reviewed and
reconciled to amounts posted to state accounting systems. The reports are then reviewed with the
division director prior to submission.

b. Quality

Completing a risk assessment is part of the sub-recipient monitoring process. Monthly or quarterly and
annual fiscal reports are required and reviewed carefully by the contract/grant manager. Site visits with a
fiscal component are conducted when there is a determined high level of risk, a new program, or large
grant/contract. Sub-recipient monitoring plans are in place and reviewed/updated annually. Sub-
recipients who receive a large dollar amount are required to provide annual third party audit reports of
their organization according to state requirements.

c. Subsidy

Federal 801 reporting is an automated monthly process that is based on local department reporting.
Form 800 reporting is completed annually by the Finance Manager, rather than program staff, and is
uploaded via ACF website on or before the last working day of December.



1.3.2. Describe the processes the Lead Agency will use to monitor all sub-
recipients.Lead Agencies that use other governmental or non-governmental sub-
recipients to administer the program must have written agreements in place outlining
roles and responsibilities for meeting CCDF requirements. (98.11 (a) (3))

Definition: A sub-recipient (including a sub-contractor and or sub-grantee) is a non-
Federal entity that expends Federal awards (contract or grant) received from another
entity to carry out a Federal program, but does not include a vendor nor does it include an
individual who is a beneficiary of such a program. OMB Circular A-133 Section 210
provides additional information on the characteristics of a sub-recipient and vendor
(http://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/circulars/al33_compliance_supplement 2010). The
description of monitoring may include, but is not limited to, a discussion of written
agreements, fiscal management, review of policies and procedures to ensure compliance
with CCDF regulations, monitoring/auditing contractors or grantees to ensure that eligible
children are served and eligibility documentation is verified, and establishing performance
indicators or measures related to improper payments.

Describe:

Quality and Head Start: Memoranda of Understanding/Agreement are written for all sub-recipients of
federal Child Care and Development Funds that include performance measures and criteria for receiving
funds. Fund disbursement is typically based on documentation for reimbursement of purchases or
services, according to the requirements of the contract. All contracts are reviewed closely by the
Department’s Office of General Services and meet the state standards for contracts, including the
requirement to meet all federal, state, and local laws. Written monitoring plans are in place for all sub-
recipients. Monitoring plans include a risk assessment to be completed in the first 30-60 days of the
grant or contract for non-state entities, close scrutiny of quarterly or monthly reports of program
performance and fiscal management, site visits as prescribed based on the dollar amount and level of
risk, as well as independent audits for organizations receiving large dollar amounts. A second and third
level of fiscal monitoring is completed during the payment process by the Division of Child Care and
Early Childhood Development’s fiscal manager and randomly by audit staff, as well as the fiscal staff in
the Division of Finance. When an error or issue is identified with a sub-recipient, immediate action is
taken to reimburse the state for monies reported or received incorrectly and/or 30-day improvement
needed action plans are implemented.

Subsidy:VDSS staff within the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development is responsible
for training, technical assistance, and monitoring of the implementation of the child care subsidy program
by local departments of social services. Monitoring assures the accurate and appropriate use of federal,
state, and local funding, and the correct implementation of program policies and procedures. Program
monitoring includes the regular review of case management reports, financial reports, case records, and
may include staff interviews. VDSS Regional Consultants follow a process outlined in an annual
monitoring plan to ensure case accuracy and local department compliance. Each Regional Consultant
reviews a minimum of eight local departments annually. The major components of Program reviews
include:

» A desk review of available fiscal and program management reports.

* Review of client case records and associated vendor (provider) files.

» On-site interviews with local Child Care staff, local fiscal staff, or Office Manager and the local Director
when necessary, to assure required processes and procedures are followed.

Case Management reports available on the Division’s website include locality-specific information as
well as statewide data. The monthly review of Agency Demographic Data, Exception Reports, and



Budget Line data reports can indicate the need for technical assistance, training, or a Program review.

A standardized monitoring schedule based on risk assessment is used to determine which localities will
be reviewed in a given year and what type of review will be conducted. The agency size, frequency, and
nature of technical assistance provided, knowledge of local operations, and past history of performance
are used as part of the risk assessment to determine the order in which local departments will be
reviewed in a given yeatr.

When a Program review warrants corrective action to be taken, local departments are required to submit
a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) to the VDSS Regional Consultant. Upon receipt of the local department’s
CAP, the VDSS Regional Consultant will determine if it appropriately addresses all the findings cited. In
addition, the VDSS Regional Consultant will advise the local department of any follow-up procedures
necessary to ensure that the CAP has been implemented and that the local department is in compliance.
The type of follow-up review will depend on the particular finding. Repeat findings from case record
reviews will warrant the need for re-reviews of all areas cited during the initial review. Re-reviews are
conducted upon receipt, approval, and implementation of the local department’'s CAP.

While sub-recipient monitoring provides for the review of local operations, it can also identify program
weaknesses and training or technical assistance needs. Technical assistance is offered to each local
department when deficiencies are noted and upon request.

In addition, training is offered at least twice each year in each region, in addition to an online new worker
training.

1.3.3. Describe the activities the Lead Agency will have in place to identify program
violations and administrative error to ensure program integrity using the chart
below. Program violations may include intentional and unintentional client and/or
provider violations as defined by the Lead Agency. Administrative error refers to areas
identified through the Error Rate Review process (98.100). Check which activities, if
any, the Lead Agency has chosen to conduct.

Type of Activity Identify Program Identify Administrative
Violations Error

Share/match data from other
programs (e.g. TANF, Child
and Adult Care Food M M
Program (CACFP), Food
and Nutrition Service (FNS),
Medicaid))

Share/match data from other
databases (e.g., State
Directory of New Hires,
Social Security [ [
Administration, Public
Assistance Reporting
Information System (PARIS))

Run system reports that flag = O
errors (include types)
Review of attendance or i -

billing records




Audit provider records 7 ]
Conduct quality control or v 7
quality assurance reviews

Conduct on-site visits to

providers or sub-recipients to ] ]
review attendance or

enrollment documents

Conduct supervisory staff

reviews [ =
Conduct data mining to

identify trends a =
Train staff on policy and/or

audits o o
Other. Describe = =
None ' '

For any option the Lead Agency checked in the chart above other than none,
please describe:

In order to comply with 45 CFR, part 100, which requires states to report their error rates every three
years via the “State Improper Authorizations for Payment Report (ACF-402)”, Virginia maintains a
Payment Accuracy unit within the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development. The purpose
of this unit is to review a sample of 276 Child Care Subsidy cases for each federal fiscal year in order to
report review findings to the Office of Child Care. Virginia's program is nearing completion of its third
year of reviews, and we will report our findings to OCC again in June, 2012.

Subsidy program activities designed to insure program integrity in sub-recipient monitoring are described
in Section 1.3.2. Periodic desktop reviews of local department subsidy expenditures and financial
activities are conducted in order to substantiate projections and to identify anomalies.

Allegations of vendor fraud are investigated thoroughly. It is the responsibility of the Attorney General to
determine if the facts warrant criminal prosecution.

Quality and Head Start program strategies utilized to maintain program integrity are described in
Sections 1.3.1 and 1.3.2.

If the Lead Agency checked none, please describe what measures the Lead
Agency has or plans to put in place to address program integrity:

N/A

1.3.4. What strategies will the Lead Agency use to investigate and collect improper
payments due to program violations or administrative error? Check and describe in
the chart below which strategies, if any, the Lead Agency will use for each of the following
areas: Unintentional program violations (UPV), intentional program violations (IPV) and/or
fraud, and administrative error as defined in your State/Territory. The Lead Agency has
the flexibility to recover misspent funds as a result of errors. The Lead Agency is



required to recover misspent funds as a result of fraud (98.60(i)).

Strategy

UPV

IPV and/or Fraud

Administrative
Error

Require recovery
after a minimum
dollar amount in
improper payment.
Identify the minimum
dollar amount: $

Coordinate with and
refer to other
State/Territory
agency (e.g.
State/Territory
collection agency,
law enforcement).
Describe:

Recover through
repayment plans

Reduce payments in
the subsequent
months

Recover through
State/Territory tax
intercepts

Recover through
other means.
Describe:

Establish a unit to
investigate and
collect improper
payments. Describe
composition of unit:

Other. Describe:

The Lead Agency
requires sub-recipients
(county/city local
departments of social
services) to investigate
and collect improper
payments.

None

-

~

-

For any option the Lead Agency checked in the chart above other than none,

please describe:




Local departments of social services establish repayment plans with the entity that is responsible for the
improper payment if the entire amount of the improper payment cannot be repaid in a lump sum. Local
departments are responsible for collection of repayments. Failure of a recipient or a provider to repay
overpayments may result in exclusion from the program.

1.3.5. What type of sanction, if any, will the Lead Agency place on clients and
providers to help reduce improper payments due to program violations?

™ None

¥ Disqualify client.

If checked, please describe, including a description of the appeal process for clients who
are disqualified

Parents will be disqualified from participating in the child care subsidy program for three months upon
the first finding of child care fraud, 12 months upon the second finding, and permanently upon the third
finding through the conviction of child care fraud by a court of appropriate jurisdiction. Recipients who
wish to appeal must make their request know orally or in writing within 30 days of notification of the
disqualification. Valid appeals are scheduled for a hearing with a hearing officer, at which time they or
their representative may present their facts and substantiating arguments. Appellants may request a
judicial review of the hearing officer’s decision within 30 days of the receipt of the decision. Appellants
may also request an administrative review of the hearing process to review the hearing process;
however, this review does not change the decision provided by the hearing officer.

¥ Disqualify provider.
If checked, please describe, including a description of the appeal process for providers
who are disqualified

Vendors will be permanently disqualified from participating in the child care subsidy program upon the
first finding of child care fraud by a court of appropriate jurisdiction. Disqualified vendors may appeal the
disqualification within 30 days of receipt of notice of the disqualification. The hearing is conducted by a
hearing officer (an attorney provided by the Supreme Court of Virginia) at which time the vendor or their
representative may present evidence and question state and local staff. The provider may request
judicial review of the hearing officer’s decision within 30 days of receipt of the decision.

M Prosecute criminally

I Other.
Describe.



1.3.6 Based on responses provided from Question 14 in the most recent ACF-402
report, please describe those actions the Lead Agency has taken or plans to take

to reduce identified errors in the table below. Territories not required to complete the
Error Rate Review should mark

Activities identified |Cause/Type of Error|Actions Taken or Completion Date
in ACF-402 (if known) Planned (Actual or planned)
(if known)




1. The OECD Subsidy
Unit has begun an
intensive review and
rewrite of policy to
strengthen it and make it
more prescriptive. This
is being done to limit, or
in some cases eliminate
local options, in order to
achieve consistency in
application of policy.
This is expected to result
in a reduced error rate
and allow development
of a statewide automated
case management
system.

2. A Child Care Program
Consultant position was
created to be responsible
for oversight of all
corrective action for the
Subsidy Program,
including development
of a corrective action
plan. The Child Care
Program Consultant
serves on the Divisions
Corrective Action Panel.

3. Each local
department found to
have an error(s) in a
case selected for a
Payment Accuracy
review will be required to
write a corrective action
plan to detail the steps it
plans to take to eliminate
or rectify the causes of
errors.

4. The instrument used
by Regional Consultants
to conduct sub-recipient
monitoring has been
modified to include
elements included in the
Payment Accuracy
reviews.

5. VDSS is developing
an automated case
management system to
support the Subsidy
program. A Request for
Proposals (RFP) to seek
bids was closed July 21,
2009, and a contract for
development was
awarded to Deloitte
Consulting. Pilot of the
new automated system,
VaCMS, will begin in
August, 2011.

6. Subsidy staff, with

1. No specific
cause/type of error could
be attributed to needed
policy rewrite.

2. This initiative was
taken by Virginia to lead
corrective action efforts
and provide guidance on
monitoring local
department case
management.

3. Requiring corrective
action plans from local
departments will
contribute to the overall
improvement of
casework.

4. The review instrument
was developed to assess
the overall performance
of local departments and
focus on any errors
found during the
monitoring reviews,
noting the specific type
of error found in the
review.

5. VaCMS is being
developed to assist local
staff with case
management but will
eliminate a variety of
errors identified to date,
as it will require a
complete case
assessment and
evaluation in accordance
with standardized policy
and procedures. Many
local options have been
eliminated in order to
achieve uniformity in
application of policy.

6. Errors have been
previously cited because
of a lack of discernible
information in the case
record regarding the
applicant and household
members. The new
service application form
requires specific
information based on
policy requirements for
determination of
eligibility.

7. This change will
eliminate many errors
previously cited because
the methodology for
authorizing care varied
widely across the state,

1. The re-write of policy
continues. Policy has
been strengthened and
local program options
have been reduced, both
of which have resulted in
a more uniform
application of policy. We
are about to conclude
the review of FFY10 and
have noted a decline in
the errors that result in
an improper
authorization.

2. The position has been
extremely beneficial in
the tracking of errors by
region and statewide,
and monitoring corrective
actions.

3. Corrective action
planning has become a
routine part of all
monitoring efforts when
errors/deficiencies are
noted in Payment
Accuracy reviews or
agency monitoring visits
conducted by state
Regional Consultants.

4. The monitoring
instrument used by
Regional Consultants
has proven very
successful.

5. Full statewide
implementation will begin
in October, 2011.

6. The new application
form allows the worker to
capture more
comprehensive
information on
composition,
relationships, and
income of the household.

7. Policy has been
changed as described. It
is too soon to determine
the efficacy of the new

policy.

1. Continuing.

2. Ongoing.

3. Ongoing.

4. This initiative was
completed after Virginia

filed the ACF402 report
in June 2009.

5. Full statewide
implementation will be
completed by June,
2012.

6. Completed in
November 2009.

7. Completed June
2010.




input from a policy in some instances based
committee made up of a |on individual automated
cross section of state program requirements
and local Child Care used across the state.
staff, has re-designed
the subsidy program
service application in
order to obtain more
comprehensive
information about the
family and household
members, including
relationship and income,
and the need for child
care subsidy. The new
application/redeterminati
on form will enable local
departments to capture
information necessary to
determine eligibility, and
more information will be
recorded in the case
record, thereby
decreasing the number
of findings due to
missing or insufficient
documentation. The
effective date of the new
application/
redetermination form
was November 1, 2009.

7. The methodology for
determining the amount
of child care authorized
was changed effective
June 2010, to require
that authorizations be
based on half-day and
full-day rates rather than
weekly, daily or hourly
rates. This will result in
fewer errors made
because it will remove
confusion and ambiguity
around calculation when
less than a full weeks
care is authorized.

1.4 Consultation in the Development of the CCDF Plan

Lead Agencies are required to consult with appropriate agencies in the development of its
CCDF Plan (898.12, §898.14(a),(b), 898.16(d)).

Definition: Consultation involves the meeting with or otherwise obtaining input from an
appropriate agency in the development of the State or Territory CCDF Plan. Ata
minimum, Lead Agencies must consult with representatives of general purpose local
governments. (8898.12(b), 98.14(a)(1))




1.4.1 Identify and describe in the table below who the Lead Agency consulted with
in the development of the CCDF Plan (658D(b)(2), §§98.12(b), 98.14(b)).

Agency/Entity

Describe how the Lead Agency
consulted with this Agency/entity in
developing the CCDF Plan

v
Representatives of general purpose
local government (required)

This may include, but is not limited to:
representatives from counties and
municipalities, local human service
agencies, local education representatives
(e.g., school districts), or local public health
agencies.

The State Plan Preprint was shared with the
Virginia League of Social Services Executives
Child Care Committee (directors/designees from
the local departments of social services) on 3/11/11
for input and questions.

The information was posted on the VDSS SPARK
Website for local and state social services’
employee input and on the Lead Agency'’s public
website at www.dss.virginia.gov for public
comment.

For the remaining agencies, check and describe (optional) any which the Lead
Agency has chosen to consult with in the development of its CCDF Plan.

3
State/Territory agency responsible for
public education

This may include, but is not limited to,
State/Territory pre-kindergarten programs
(if applicable), programs serving school-age
children (including 21st Century Community
Learning Centers), or higher education.

Input was solicited from partners at the Virginia
Department of Education, Virginia Community
College System’s Early Childhood Development
Peer Group, and Virginia Partnership for Out-of-
School Time (to reach the public school-age
programs).

2
State/Territory agency responsible for
programs for children with special needs

This may include, but is not limited to:
State/Territory early intervention programs
authorized under the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (Part C for infants
and toddlers and Section 619 for
preschool), or other State/Territory
agencies that support children with special
needs

Feedback was requested from the Virginia
Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services, the Virginia Department
of Education’s Special Education division, as well
as the Partnership for People with Disabilities.

3

State/Territory agency responsible for
licensing (if separate from the Lead
Agency)

The VDSS Division of Licensing Programs
provided input on the State Plan. A link to the draft
of the Child Care and Development Fund
(CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-2013, located on the
Lead Agency’s website at www.dss.virginia.gov,
was provided to the Child Day Care Council, the
governing body that regulates child care center-
based programs.



http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/

2
State/Territory agency with the Head Start
Collaboration grant

The Head Start State Collaboration Office was
consulted on the development of the Child Care
and Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY
2012-2013

v
Statewide Advisory Council authorized by
the Head Start Act

The Office of Child Care and Early Childhood
Development, providing staff support to the Virginia
Early Childhood Advisory Council, provided
information to the ECAC members for the State
Plan. A link to the draft of the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was provided to ECAC as
well.

2

Other Federal, State, local, Tribal (if
applicable), and/or private agencies
providing early childhood and school-
agel/youth-serving developmental services

A link to the draft of the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was provided to the Virginia
Child Care Resource and Referral Network and to
the Virginia Partnership for Out-of-School Time for
comment.

2

State/Territory agency responsible for the
Child and Adult Care Food Program
(CACFP)

A link to the draft of the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was provided to colleagues
at the Virginia Child and Adult Care Food Program
for comment.

v

State/Territory agency responsible for
implementing the Maternal and Early
Childhood Home Visitation programs grant

A link to the draft of the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was provided to colleagues
at the Virginia Home Visiting Consortium for
comment.

2

State/Territory agency responsible for
public health (including the agency
responsible for immunizations and
programs that promote children's emotional
and mental health)

Colleagues from the Virginia Department of
Health’s Early Childhood division were sent a link
to the draft of the Child Care and Development
Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-2013, located on
the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, for comment.

2
State/Territory agency responsible for child
welfare

The Virginia Department of Social Services is
responsible for child welfare and our Division of
Benefit Programs was consulted on the Plan.

"2

State/Territory liaison for military child care
programs or other military child care
representatives

A link to the draft of the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was sent to Virginia's new
National Association of Child Care Resource and
Referral Agencies (NACCRRA) liaison for military
child care for comment.



http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/

3

State/Territory agency responsible for
employment services/workforce
development

A link to the draft of the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was sent to colleagues at the
Virginia Department of Labor and with workforce
development at the Virginia Community College
System for comment.

3

State/Territory agency responsible for
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF)

The Virginia Department of Social Services is the
agency responsible for TANF, and the Division of
Benefit Programs administers this program. Their
division provided consultation for the Plan.

] Indian Tribes/Tribal

Organizations

v

N/A: No such entities
exist within the
boundaries of the
State

Virginia’s tribes are not federally recognized.

v

Private agencies/entities including national
initiatives that the Lead Agency is
participating in such as BUILD,
Strengthening Families, Mott Statewide
After-school Networks, Ready by 21

The Virginia Partnership for Out-of-School Time,
Virginia’s Mott After-school Network, provided input
on the draft Plan.

2
Provider groups, associations or labor
organizations

A link to the draft of the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was sent to our provider
contacts within the Virginia Alliance of Family Child
Care Associates, Virginia Association for Early
Childhood Education, Greater Richmond Early
Childhood Development Collaboration, City of
Richmond Early Childhood Development Initiative,
and Smart Beginnings Coalitions.

Local community organizations (child care
resource and referral, Red Cross)

2 A draft of the Child Care and Development Fund

Parent groups or Organizations (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-2013, was posted on
the VDSS website at www.dss.virginia.gov

2 A link to the draft of the Child Care and

Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for FFY 2012-
2013, located on the Lead Agency’s website at
www.dss.virginia.gov, was sent to the Virginia Child
Care Resource and Referral Network (VACCRRN)
and its 12 member agencies for comment.

O
Other

N/A

1.4.2. Describe the Statewide/Territory-wide public hearing process held to provide
the public an opportunity to comment on the provision of child care services under



http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/

this Plan. (658D(b)(1)(C), 8898.14(C)). At a minimum, the description should include:

a) Date(s) of notice of public hearing: 04/08/2011
Reminder - Must be at least 20 days prior to the date of the public hearing.

b) How was the public notified about the public hearing? Notice was provided on the Lead
Agencys website at www.dss.virginia.gov as well as by email notifications to interested parties. c)
Date(s) of public hearing(s): 04/28/2011

Reminder - Must be no earlier than 9 months before effective date of Plan (October 1,
2011).

d) Hearing site(s) Fairfax County Office for Children, Pennino Building, 12011 Government Center
Parkway, Suite 734, Fairfax, VA 22035 Second hearing held on May 25, 2011 at Departmen of Social
Services Central Regional Office, Hanover Room, 1604 Santa rosa Road, Richmond, VA 23229

e) How was the content of the Plan made available to the public in advance of the public
hearing(s)? A draft of the Plan was available on the Lead Agencys website.

f) How will the information provided by the public be taken into consideration in the
provision of child care services under this Plan? All comments about the State Plan will be
considered and discussed. If the input is relevant, practical, and provides for improved outcomes, it is
highly likely that the Lead Agency will integrate the suggestion into the Plan. The input will be weighed
against other priorities and analyzed based on resources needed versus resources available, as well as
how the suggestion fits with the overall goals of the program. Individual input is also evaluated in
relation to the needs of the entire state. The Division Director and the Commissioner of Social Services
have the final authority on what is included in the Plan.

1.4.3. Describe any strategies used by the Lead Agency to increase public
consultation on the Plan or access to the public hearing. For example, translating the
public hearing notice into multiple languages, using a variety of sites or technology (e.g.,
video) for the public hearing, holding the hearing at times to accommodate parent and
provider work schedules.

1.4.3. Describe:

Different sites across the state were used

Public meetings were held at times to accommodate parent and provider work schedules.

Public comments were accepted online on Lead Agency’s website.

Interested parties/groups/organizations were briefed by division staff on the Plan and encouraged to
attend the public hearings or provide written comment.

1.5. Coordination Activities to Support the Implementation of CCDF Services

Lead Agencies are required to coordinate with other Federal, State, local, Tribal (if
applicable) and private agencies providing child care and early childhood development
services

Definition - Coordination involves child care and early childhood and school-age




development services efforts to work across multiple entities, both public and private

(such as in connection with a State Early Childhood Comprehensive System (SECCS)
grant or the State Advisory Council funded under the Head Start Act of 2007).
(658D(b)(1)(D), 8898.12(a), 98.14(a)(1))

1.5.1. Identify and describe in the table below with whom the Lead Agency
coordinates in the delivery of child care and early childhood and school-age
services (898.14(a)(1)).

Agency/Entity
(check all that

Describe how the Lead Agency
will coordinate with this

Describe the goals or results
you are expecting from the

apply) Agency/entity in delivering child |coordination
care and early childhood
services Examples might include increased
supply of full-day/full-year services,
aligned eligibility policies, blended
funding, or access to more training
and technical assistance resources
shared across agencies.
Representati The Lead Agency patrticipates in the The ultimate goals are to correct current
ves of Child Care Committee meetings of the  |obstacles to success, streamline the
general Virginia League of Social Services state-supervised, locally-administered
Executives (VLSSE), an organization processes, and leverage our resources
purpose local |representing the directors of 120 local  |to maximize our collective efforts to
government |departments of social services. better serve families in need and all child
(required) care providers.
The Lead Agency is piloting the
This may ACF/OPRE data collection research and |The data collection project identified
include. but demonstration grant with local school funding streams, local/state child care
. " divisions, local departments of social partners, data gaps in the state, policy
is not limited |seryices, and other local groups yetto  |questions that can be answered with
to: ~ |be named. data, and will begin to answer the
representativ research questions to inform state
es from decision-makers.
¥ |counties and

municipalities
, local human
service
agencies,
local
education
representativ
es (e.g.,
school
districts), or
local public
health
agencies.




State/Territor
y agency
responsible
for public
education
(required)
This may
include, but
Is not limited
to,
State/Territor
y pre-
kindergarten
programs (if

The Lead Agency sponsors Virginia’s
Office of Early Childhood Development
(OECD), which is a liaison to the
Department of Education, and
consequently, the Virginia Preschool
Initiative (VPI), a voluntary education
program for at-risk 4 year olds.VPI is a
partner in the CCDF Maintenance of
Effort requirement and partnered to align
early learning guidelines with VPI's
Foundation Blocks for Learning.

The Lead Agency serves on the Virginia
Partnership for Out-of-School Time, an
advisory board stemming from the Mott
Foundation Grant to the Virginia Child
Care Resource and Referral Network to
improve school-age programs.

Continued blending of funding and
resources between VPI, Head Start,
Child Care Subsidy, and Quality
Initiatives.

Increased involvement of VPI programs
in the QRIS.

Increased resource sharing between VPI
and the Lead Agency'’s professional
development initiatives.

Creation of a new introductory and
advanced school-age credential.

Increased collaboration among school-
age programs, leveraging resources and

applicable), funding to achieve collective goals.
programs The Lead Agency works with the Virginia |Collaborate with a book publishing
v serving Community College System Early company to print the Milestones of Child
school-age |Childhood Development Peer Group and [Development and Competencies for
children 4-year college faculty to request input on [Early Childhood Professionals to sell in
(including initiatives, provide curricula college bookstores for easier access for
21st Century development/review, and frequently students.
C it provides updates on initiatives, etc.
ommunity Build a stronger, formal education
Learning Through the OECD and the Early system to better prepare students to
Centers), or |Childhood Advisory Council, work with  |positively contribute to high quality child
higher community college and 4-year care programs.
g commmt . )
education. institutions of higher learning to re-
establish 4-year college and master’s Infuse current training curricula with
level degree programs dedicated to early|information on working with children who
childhood development. have special needs.
The Lead Agency partners with the
Department of Education’s Special Make all early childhood and school-age
Education division to participate in post- |[initiatives as inclusive as possible,
grant and grant activities for the including making revisions to the current
SpecialQuest and National Professional [Milestones and Competencies
Development Center on Inclusion documents.
Programs.
Other The Lead Agency partners with the Continue the QRIS grants, expanding
Federal, Virginia Early Childhood Foundation to  |them as funding allows, and infusing the
State. local implement Virginia's Star Rating home-based pilot into the framework.
Trib I’ if ' |Initiative for center-based and now
rnoa (i family-based child care programs. Continue the resource and referral
applicable), services to families and tracking of
and/or The Lead Agency partners with the subsidy program requirements for
private Virginia Child Care Resource and providers as funding allows.
agencies Referral Network to provide resource _
™ providing and referral services statewide and Continue the Infant and Toddler
| tracking of the subsidy program Specialist Network to provide technical
carly participation requirements for unlicensed |assistance and training/mentoring to
Chl(;dhor(])d | child care providers. more programs statewide.
and school-
age/youth- The Lead Agency partners with Child
serving Development Resources for the Infant
development and Toddler Specialist Network.
al services

(required)




State/Territor
y agency
responsible
for public
health
(required)

This may
include, but
is not limited
to, the
agency
responsible
for
Immunization
s and
programs
that promote
children's
emotional
and mental
health

The Lead Agency partners with the
Virginia Department of Health (VDH) on
the research and demonstration grant
with ACF/OPRE, as well as with VDH’s
Home Visiting Consortium, Early
Childhood

Division, and Health Consultant
Network.

The Lead Agency partners with the
Virginia Department of Behavioral Health
and Development Services on the Infant
and Toddler Mental Health pilot
communities, and the Infant and Child
Mental Health Committee of Virginia.

Add VDH data to the federated data
collection system being developed under
the 3-year grant.

Add competencies for the home visitor
early childhood development
professionals in the Competencies
document.

Share resources and coordinate
Medication Administration Training of
Trainers with the Health Consultant
network through Medical Home Plus.

Continue the pilots as long as feasible
based on funding, targeting the services
that are offered to more specifically meet
the needs of the communities being
served while expanding their capacity for
future service.

Continue the work of the Infant and Child
Mental Health Committee of Virginia,
leveraging resources across sectors.

State/Territor
y agency
responsible
for
employment
services /
workforce
development
(required)

With the development of the child care
and early childhood professionals
registry, we will be able to provide data
for the Virginia Department of Labor on
numbers of working child care
practitioners, their education levels, and
experience in the field.

To supply data about the child care
industry workforce that will help policy-
makers and workforce development staff
make decisions about identified needs.

Enhanced ability to evaluate program
and policy decisions because of the
availability of integrated data.

State/Territor
y agency
responsible
for providing
Temporary
Assistance
for Needy
Families
(TANF)
(required)

The Lead Agency is responsible for
providing TANF funds to families in
need.

Continue to assist families that need
child care services while they transition
off TANF benefits.

Indian
Tribes/Tribal
Organizations
(required)

v

N/A: No such
entities exist
within the
boundaries of

the State

The Virginia Tribes are not federally-
recognized and are not formally
coordinated.

For the remaining agencies, check and describe (optional) any with which the
Lead Agency has chosen to coordinate early childhood and school-age service
delivery




State/Territor

The Lead Agency is responsible for
licensing child care programs; however,

The two divisions coordinate on
mandated training, new initiatives that

y agency : : : : ! UM \

responsible licensing of a child care program is improve quality (including the data

for i . handled by a separate division. collection and integration project), and

v (ﬁcrs:ecpe;é:tneg funding child care program licensing

inspectors.

from the

Lead

Agency)

State/Territor | The Lead Agency has the Head Start Closer alignment of CCDF and Head

y agency Collaboration grant and will participate  |Start requirements.

with the with the grant director to conduct an _

Head Start alignment of the current Competencies |Stable or increased supply of Head Start

Collaboration
grant

for Early Childhood Professionals and
the current Milestones of Child
Development with The Head Start Child
Development and Early Learning
Framework (Framework). This process
will include a review of the relationship
between the Child Care Manual and the
Framework.

The Lead Agency will earmark funds for
Head Start wrap-around child care
services, provided by Head Start

wrap-around services to enable families
to obtain the comprehensive services of
Head Start and have child day needs
met.

Enhanced ability to evaluate program
and policy decisions because of the
availability of integrated data.

[+ programs and child care providers.
The Lead Agency will be the conduit for
approval of the Office of Head Start-
approved Infant/Toddler Certificate and
Early Childhood Development
Certificate.
The Lead Agency will incorporate Head
Start data into Project Child HANDS, an
integrated, cross-agency web-based
state data system.
The Lead Agency patrticipates, along
with the Head Start Collaboration Office,
in a state-level cross-sector professional
development leadership team.
Statewide The Lead Agency’s Office of Early Provide funding on the final development
Advisory Childhood Development provides staff  |and ongoing maintenance of the newly
Council support for the Head Start Early developed childhood data collection
horized b Childhood Advisory Council and works  [system.
autnorized bY |t coordinate early childhood initiatives
[ |the Head across sectors and agencies. Continue coordination among statewide
Start Act early childhood initiatives to maximize
the available funding and resources
while growing a comprehensive and
sustainable statewide early childhood
system.
State/Territor | The Virginia Department of Health Continue the technical assistance
y agency administers the Child and Adult Care relationship as needed.
responsible Food Program. Recently we collaborated _ .
for the Child on a course about preventing childhood [Partner to provide more comprehensive
e |TOr Ine LNIA - gpesity. information to child care providers.
and Adult
Care Food
Program

(CACEP)




State/Territor
y agency
responsible
for programs
for children

The Lead Agency patrticipates in the
Infant and Toddler Mental Health
Committee of Virginia, as led by the
Virginia Department of Behavioral Health
and Developmental Services (DBHDS),
the administrator of Part C for infants

Align the competencies for the
professionals who work with children
who have special needs with the
Competencies for Early Childhood
Professionals.

with special |and toddlers. This Department provides |Continue our positive relationships with
needs technical assistance on early these agencies and organizations that
intervention issues. specialize in working with children who
: have special needs.
ThIS may The Lead Agency collaborates with the
!nclude_, bUt Virginia Department of Education’s Continue to embed inclusion best
is not limited |Special Education division and the practices in the Competencies for Early
to: Partnership for People with Disabilities |Childhood Professionals, as well as all
State/Territor |(PPD, through Virginia Commonwealth |VDSS training curricula, and eventually
y early University) on the SpecialQuest post- higher education curricula.
intervention grant activities, as well as the National
Professional Development Center on
programs Inclusion grant activities. PPD’s Training
authorized and Technical Assistance Center at VCU
¥ |under the also provides training services for the
Individuals raters and mentors of The Virginia Star
with Quality Initiative. All three organizations
Disabilities provide ongoing technical assistance/
. feedback regarding early childhood
Education fijtiatives.
Act (Part C
for infants
and toddlers
and Section
619 for
preschool),
or other
State/Territor
y agencies
that support
children with
special
needs
State/Territor |The Lead Agency collaborates with the | Include Home Visiting Professionals in
y agency Virginia Department of Health’'s Home  |the Competencies document.
responsible Visiting Consortium on revising the _
for Milestones of Child Development and Continue to partner on relevant

implementing
the Maternal

the Competencies for Early Childhood
Professionals. The Home Visiting
Consortium is represented on the data

initiatives to leverage resources,
technical assistance opportunities, and
streamline efforts.

and Early collection task force.

Childhood

Home

Visitation

programs

grant

State/Territor |The Lead Agency is responsible for child [Our divisions work together to make

y agency welfare; however, those programs are  [sure CCDF dollars are maximized to
[ responsible administered by a separate division. Our|meet the child care needs of eligible

f hild divisions work together to provide child |families.

or chi care services for eligible child welfare

welfare recipients in need.




State/Territor
y liaison for
military child
care
programs or
other military

Through NACCRRA, Virginia recently
hired a liaison position to improve the
coordination of child care services for
military families. We are planning to
work together to share training
resources through Penn State University
and the Nebraska Cooperative

Strengthen the connection to the military
child care world and begin to share
resources, ideas, and improvement
measures for Virginia.

child care Extension that will benefit child care

representativ providers serving military families, as

es well as other child care providers.

Private The Lead Agency patrticipates on the Assist in applying for a National League

agencies/enti
ties including
national
initiatives
that the Lead
Agency is
participating
in such as
BUILD,
Strengthenin
g Families,
Mott
Statewide
After-school
Networks,
Ready by 21

advisory board for the MOTT Statewide
After-school Networks grant,
administered by the Virginia Child Care
Resource and Referral Network.

of Cities grant to hold a Mayoral Summit
to gain political and business leader
support/ advocates for after school
programs.

Local
community
organizations
(child care
resource and
referral, Red

Renew the contract with the Virginia
Child Care Resource and Referral
Network, a network of 12 member
agencies statewide.

The Lead Agency will continue to partner
with local child care coalitions, providing

Continue the resource and referral
services, specializing in identifying
programs that serve children with special
needs, such as odd hour care, sick care,
or medical/developmental assistance.

Evaluate the initiatives for best practices

Cross) technical assistance and educational and lessons learned. As funding allows,
resources through The Virginia Star continue the initiatives that are most
Quiality Initiative for center-based and successful.
home-based child care programs, the
Infant and Toddler Specialist Network,
and the Infant and Toddler Mental
Health pilot communities.
Provider Provide informal updates and technical | Reach out more often to these groups to
groups, assistance for the Virginia Alliance of |solicit their feedback as drafts of plans
associations Family Child Care Associations, Virginia |are completed.
I~ or labor Association of Early Childhood

organizations

Education, vocational education
teachers, individual employers, and
other provider groups as needed.

Parent N/A N/A
[ |groups or

organizations
"1 |Other N/A N/A

1.5.2. Does the State/Territory have a formal early childhood and/or school-age
coordination plan? Lead Agencies are not required to have an early childhood nor a
school-age coordination plan, but the State/Territory may have such plans for other
purposes, including fulfilling requirements of other programs.




v Yes. If yes,

a)

Provide the name of the entity responsible for the coordination plan(s):
Virginia Early Childhood Foundation (VECF), in partnership with the Lead Agencys
Office of Early Childhood Development

b)

Describe the age groups addressed by the plan(s):

Birth to Five

c)

Indicate whether this entity also operates as the State Advisory Council
(as authorized under the Head Start Act of 2007):

[T Yes

[+ No

d)
Provide a web address for the plan(s), if available:
http://www.vecf.org/storage/pdfs/VA_Plan_10_10.pdf

[ No

1.5.3. Does the State/Territory have a designated entity(ies) responsible for
coordination across early childhood and school-age programs?  (658D(b)(1)(D),
898.14(a)(1)) Check which entity(ies), if any, the State/Territory has chosen to designate.

¥ State/Territory-wide early childhood and/or school-age cabinet/advisory council/task
force/commission.

If yes, describe entity, age groups and the role of the Lead Agency
The Virginia Department of Social Services provides support for school age child care programs but
offers assistance with coordinating school-age activities statewide through the Virginia Partnership for

Out-of-School Time (VPOST). A Department employee serves as a Member at Large on the VPOST
Executive Leadership Team.

M State Advisory Council (as described under the Head Start Act of 2007).

If yes, describe entity, age groups and the role of the Lead Agency

The Early Childhood State Advisory Council is responsible for the coordination of activities across early
childhood programs that serve children from birth to kindergarten age.



Il Local Coordination/Council

If yes, describe entity, age groups and the role of the Lead Agency

" Other

Describe

"l None

1.5.4 Does the Lead Agency conduct or plan to conduct activities to encourage
public-private partnerships that promote private sector involvement in meeting
child care needs? (898.16(d))

M vYes .
If yes, describe these activities or planned activities, including the tangible results
expected from the public-private partnership:

The Virginia Early Childhood Foundation (private, non-profit) works with the Lead Agency to implement
the Virginia Star Quality Initiative (VSQI). We anticipate growth of this program to include home-based
child care programs as well as center-based child care. The tangible results would include a higher
number of child care programs participating in VSQI, ratings that improve from year to year within the
same program, and overall expansion of the initiative.

™ No

1.6. Child Care Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan

It is recommended, but not required, that each Lead Agency develop a plan to address
preparedness, response, and recovery efforts specific to child care services and
programs. Plans should cover the following areas: 1) planning for continuation of services
to CCDF families; 2) coordination with other State/Territory agencies and key partners; 3)
emergency preparedness regulatory requirements for child care providers; 4) provision of
temporary child care services after a disaster; and 5) rebuilding child care after a disaster.
For further guidance on developing Child Care Emergency Preparedness and Response
Plans see the Information Memorandum (CCDF-ACF-IM-2011-XX) located on the Office
of Child Care website at:
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ccb/law/state_topic_emergency.htm



1.6.1. Indicate which of the following best describes the current status of your
efforts in this area. Check only ONE.

O Planning. Indicate whether steps are under way to develop a plan. If so, describe the
time frames for completion and/or implementation, the steps anticipated and how the plan
will be coordinated with other emergency planning efforts within the State/Territory.

T Developed. A plan has been developed as of [insert date]. 02/01/2010and put into
operation as of [insert date]: 02/01/2010, if available. Provide a web address for this plan,

if available: N/A

[l Other.
Describe:

1.6.2. Indicate which of the core elements identified in the Information
Memorandum are or will be covered in the Lead Agency child care emergency
preparedness and response plan. Check which elements, if any, the Lead Agency
includes in the plan.

¥ Planning for continuation of services to CCDF families

M Coordination with other State/Territory agencies and key partners

¥ Emergency preparedness regulatory requirements for child care providers
™ Provision of temporary child care services after a disaster

] Rebuilding child care facilities and infrastructure after a disaster

"l None



PART 2

CCDF SUBSIDY PROGRAM ADMINISTRATION

2.1 Administration of the Program

The Lead Agency has broad authority to administer (i.e., establish rules) and operate
(i.e., implement activities) the CCDF program through other governmental, non-
governmental, or other public or private local agencies as long as it retains overall
responsibility for the administration of the program. (658D(b), 898.11(a))

2.1.1. Which of the following CCDF program rules and policies are set or
established at the State/Territory versus the local level? Identify the level at which the
following CCDF program rules and policies are established.

Eligibility rules and policies (e.g., income limits) are set by the:

¥ State/Territory

I Local entity.
If checked, provide the name(s) of the local entity:

! Other.
Describe:

Sliding fee scale is set by the:

¥ State/Territory

I Local entity.
If checked, provide the name(s) of the local entity:

M other.
Describe:

The state has approved four alternate fee scales in four localities throughout the state.

Payment rates are set by the:

¥ State/Territory
I Local entity.



If checked, provide the name(s) of the local entity:

I Other.
Describe:

2.1.2. How is the CCDF program operated in your State/Territory? In the table below,
identify which agency(ies) performs these CCDF services and activities.

Implementation of CCDF Services/Activities

Who determines eligibility?

Note: If different for families receiving TANF benefits and families not receiving TANF
benefits, please describe:

Agency (Check all that apply)
[ CCDF Lead Agency

[ TANF agency
[T Other State/Territory agency.

Describe:

¥ Local government agencies such as county welfare or social services departments
[T Child care resource and referral agencies

[ Community-based organizations

[ Other.

Describe:

Who assists parents in locating child care (consumer education)?

Agency (Check all that apply)
¥ CCDF Lead Agency

[T TANF agency
[T Other State/Territory agency.

Describe:

Local government agencies such as county welfare or social services departments
Child care resource and referral agencies

Community-based organizations

Other.

R AR

Describe:




Who issues payments?

Agency (Check all that apply)
[T CCDF Lead Agency

[ TANF agency
[T Other State/Territory agency.

Describe:

¥ Local government agencies such as county welfare or social services departments
[T Child care resource and referral agencies

¥ Community-based organizations

[l Other.

Describe:

Describe to whom is the payment issued (e.g., parent or provider) and how are
payments distributed (e.qg., electronically, cash, etc)
Payments are issued directly to the child care provider via checks.

Other. List and describe:

2.2. Family Outreach and Application Process

Lead Agencies must inform parents of eligible children and the general public of the
process by which they can apply for and potentially receive child care services.
(658D(b)(1)(A), 658E(c)(2)(D) & (3)(B), §898.16(k), 98.30(a)-(e). Note - For any
information in questions 2.2.1 through 2.2.10 that differs or will differ for families receiving
TANF, please describe in 2.2.11.

2.2.1. By whom and how are parents informed of the availability of child care
assistance services under CCDF? (658E(c)(2)(A), 898.30(a)) Check all agencies and
strategies that will be used in your State/Territory.

M cCDF Lead Agency

M TANF offices

M Other government offices

M Child care resource and referral agencies
[’ Contractors

T Community-based organizations

I Public schools

M Internet

(provide website): http://www.dss.virginia.gov/

["* Promotional materials
[ Community outreach meetings, workshops or other in-person meetings




! Radio and/or television
! Print media

I Other.
Describe:

2.2.2. How can parents apply for CCDF services? Check all application methods that
your State/Territory has chosen to implement.

M In person interview or orientation
¥ By mail

¥ By Phone/Fax

[ Through the Internet

(provide website):

¥ By Email
I Other.
Describe:

2.2.3. Describe how the Lead Agency provides consumer education to parents
applying for CCDF assistance to promote informed choices about the quality of
care provided by various providers.

Lead Agencies must certify that the State/Territory will collect and disseminate to parents
of eligible children and the general public, consumer education information that will
promote informed child care choices (658E (c)(2)(G), 898.33).

For example, memorandums of understanding with resource and referral agencies to
provide consumer education to families applying for CCDF assistance, providing parents
with provider lists showing licensing history and/or Quality Rating and Improvement
System (QRIS) ratings, or informational brochures that address importance of quality and
different care options available.

Parents are provided information on selecting and monitoring quality child care through brochures
available at local departments of social services, discussions with their local child care subsidy worker, a
contract with the Virginia Child Care Resource and Referral Network (VACCRRN), and through a public
web site for facilities approved through the Department’s Division of Licensing Programs. This website
provides general licensure information, complaint records, and violations with plans for correction.

2.2.4. Describe how the Lead Agency will support child care programs to increase
the likelihood that CCDF-served children receive higher quality care as defined in
your State/Territory.




For example, methods used to promote upward movement in quality rating and
iImprovement system, methods used to encourage high quality programs to participate in
the subsidy program such as tiered reimbursement, or incentives used to support high
quality programs in rural, suburban, urban, and low-income communities.

A differential payment scale is in place to provide higher reimbursement rates for licensed versus
unlicensed programs. ARRA funds were used to provide cash incentives or products to providers who
were rated. The amount of the incentive was based on their rating and the percent of children served
who received a subsidy. The chart below outlines the available incentives. With the loss of ARRA funds,
these incentives are no longer available.

Children Served

Star Rating 5-25 26-50 51-76 76+

1 $500 $750 $1000 $1250
2 $1000 $1250 $1500 $1750
3 $1500 $1750 $2000 $2250
4 $2000 $2250 $2500 $2750
5 $2500 $2750 $3000 $3250

2.2.5. How will the Lead Agency promote access to the CCDF subsidy program?
Check the strategies that will be implemented by your State/Territory.

[ Provide access to program office/workers such as by:
] Providing extended office hours

¥ Accepting applications at multiple office locations

¥ Providing a toll-free number for clients

I Other.
Describe:

] Using a simplified eligibility determination process such as by:

] Simplifying the application form (such as eliminating unnecessary questions, lowering
the reading level)

] Developing a single application for multiple programs

] Developing web-based and/or phone-based application procedures

¥ Coordinating eligibility policies across programs.

List the program names: TANF

] Streamlining verification procedures, such as linking to other program data systems
] Providing information multi-lingually
] Including temporary periods of unemployment in eligibility criteria for new applicants
(job search, seasonal unemployment).



Length of time:

I Other.
Describe:

I Other.
Describe:

"l None

2.2.6. Describe the Lead Agencies policies to promote continuity of care for
children and stability for families. Check the strategies, if any, that your State/Territory
has chosen to implement.

[ Provide CCDF assistance during periods of job search.
Length of time:

[ Establish two-tiered income eligibility to allow families to continue to receive child care
subsidies if they experience an increase in income but still remain below 85% of State
median income (SMI)

] Synchronize review date across programs
List programs:

¥ Longer eligibility re-determination periods (e.g., 1 year).
Describe:

Families remain eligible for one year unless a significant change occurs, such as a change in income to
a level that exceeds the eligibility limit for their family.

M Extend periods of eligibility for families who are also enrolled in either Early Head Start

or Head Start and pre-k programs.
Describe:

Subsidy may continue for a child enrolled in a Head Start/Early Head Start program for the summer prior
to attendance in a part-year Head Start/Early Head Start program and for the summer following the end
of a part-year Head Start/Early Head Start.

[ Extend periods of eligibility for school-age children under age 13 to cover the school
year.



Describe:

M Minimize reporting requirements for changes in family's circumstances that do not
impact families' eligibility, such as changes in income below a certain threshold or change
in employment

[ Targeted case management to help families find and keep stable child care
arrangements

O Using non-CCDF Funds to continue subsidy for families who no longer meet eligibility,
such as for children who turn 13 years of age during the middle of a program year

M Other.
Describe:

Income eligibility limits for families caring for children they are not legally obligated to support
(grandparents, relative, adults acting in loco parentis) are set at the highest level used in the state in
order to prevent foster care and to promote family support.

B None

2.2.7. How will the Lead Agency provide outreach and services to eligible families
with limited English proficiency? Check the strategies, if any, that your State/Territory
has chosen to implement.

[ Application in other languages

[ Informational materials in non-English languages

[ Training and technical assistance in non-English languages

[ Website in non-English languages

7 Lead Agency accepts applications at local community-based locations
¥ Bilingual caseworkers or translators available

I Other.
Describe:

[ None
(Optional) If the Lead Agency checked any option above related to providing
information or services in other non-English languages, please describe the

languages offered :

2.2.8. How will the Lead Agency overcome language barriers with providers? Check
the strategies, if any, that your State/Territory has chosen to implement.

[ Informational materials in non-English languages
] Training and technical assistance in non-English languages



"' CCDF health and safety requirements in non-English languages
[ Provider contracts or agreements in non-English languages

[ Website in non-English languages

¥ Bilingual caseworkers or translators available

I Other.
Describe:

' None

(Optional) If the Lead Agency checked any option above related to providing
information or services in other non-English languages, please describe the
languages offered:

2.2.9. Describe how the Lead Agency documents and verifies applicant information
using the table below. (898.20(a))

Check the strategies that will be implemented by your State/Territory. Attach a copy of
your parent application for the child care subsidy program(s) as Attachment 2.2.9 or
provide a web address, if available: http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cc/assistance.cgi

The Lead Agency requires Describe how the Lead Agency
documentation of: documents and verifies applicant
information:
A face-to-face interview is required at initial
W Applicant identity application. The interview is documented in the

case file. No further verification required.

An applicant must list household members at initial
. application and at eligibility redetermination. The
¥ Household composition information is documented on the application. No
further verification is required.

An applicant must declare relationship on the

i ' i i i application. The information is documented on the
4 Applicants relationship to the child application. Relationship is not verified.

_ ) _ o An applicant must declare child’s information on
7 Child's information for determining the application. The information is documented on

eligibility (e.g., identity, age, etc.) the application. No further verification is required.

An applicant must declare work and/or

o ) education/training programs on the application.

W Work, Job Training or Educational The information is documented on the application.
Program Earnings are verified by pay stubs or a statement

from the employer.




An applicant must declare income on the
application. Income counted in determining
eligibility must be
verified. Earnings are verified as noted above.
¥ Income Other VA public assistance is verified through
state systems or communication with eligibility
workers. Federal benefits are verified though other
state systems or by documentation from the
source.

[T Other. Describe:

2.2.10. Which strategies, if any, will the Lead Agency use to assure the timeliness
of eligibility determinations upon receipt of applications?

M Time limit for making eligibility determinations.
Describe length of time 30 days

™ Track and monitor the eligibility determination process

! Other.
Describe

"l None

2.2.11. Are the policies, strategies or processes provided in questions 2.1.1.
through 2.1.10 different for families receiving TANF? (658E(c)(2)(H) & (3)(D),
8898.16(g)(4), 98.33(b), 98.50(e))

Myes.
If yes, describe:

TANF recipients are presumed eligible for Child Care Services. Participants in the Virginia Initiative for
Employment not Welfare (VIEW), the TANF work program, do not have to submit an application for Child
Care assistance. The VIEW worker can initiate services or refer the family to a Child Care worker using
the VIEW activity and service plan. The SNAP Education & Training Program Plan of Participation may
substitute for a Child Care application for participants in the SNAP education and training program.

"' No.

2.2.12. Informing parents who receive TANF benefits about the exception to the
individual penalties associated with the TANF work requirement.

The regulations at §98.33(b) require the Lead Agency to inform parents who receive
TANF benefits about the exception to the individual penalties associated with the work
requirement for any single custodial parent who has a demonstrated inability to obtain



needed child care for a child under 6 years of age. Lead Agencies must coordinate with
TANF programs to ensure, pursuant that TANF families with young children will be
informed of their right not to be sanctioned if they meet the criteria set forth by the State
TANF agency in accordance with section 407(e)(2) of the Social Security Act. In fulfilling
this requirement, the following criteria or definitions are applied by the TANF agency to
determine whether the parent has a demonstrated inability to obtain needed child care.
NOTE: The TANF agency, not the CCDF Lead Agency, is responsible for establishing
the following criteria or definitions. These criteria or definitions are offered in this Plan as
a matter of public record.

a) ldentify the TANF agency that established these criteria or definitions:
State/Territory TANF Agency Virginia Department of Social Services

b) Provide the following definitions established by the TANF agency.

« "appropriate child care": child care arranged by the participant or, if the participant cannot arrange
for the child's care, child care arranged by the local department of social services with a legally operating
provider.

« "reasonable distance": the travel time from the child's home to the child care provider and the work
site is generally no more than one hour, based on transportation available to the parent.

« "unsuitability of informal child care": the child care arrangement does not meet the requirements
for relative care in the Virginia Department of Social Services Child Care Services policy.

- "affordable child care arrangements": the cost of the child care is less than or equal to the
payment amounts specified in the Virginia Department of Social Services Child Care Services policy.

c) How are parents who receive TANF benefits informed about the exception to individual
penalties associated with the TANF work requirements?

M In writing
] Verbally
[ Other.

Describe:

2.3. Eligibility Criteria for Child Care

In order to be eligible for services, children must (1) be under the age of 13, or under the
age of 19 if the child is physically or mentally disabled or under court supervision; (2)
reside with a family whose income is less than 85 percent of the State's median income
for a family of the same size; and (3) reside with a parent or parents who is working or
attending job training or an educational program; or (4) be receiving or needs to receive
protective services. (658P(3), §98.20(a))



2.3.1. How does the Lead Agency define the following eligibility terms?
residing with -

A child is considered to be residing with the parent if that parent is responsible for the day-to-day care
and control of the child and if any temporary living situation is not an out-of-home placement.

in loco parentis -

means an adult(s) with whom the child is living who has assumed responsibility for the day-to-day care
and supervision of the child.

2.3.2. Eligibility Criteria Based Upon Age

a) The Lead Agency serves children from 0 weeks to 13 years (maximum age under age
13).

b) Does the Lead Agency allow CCDF-funded child care for children age 13 and above
but below age 19 years who are physically and/or mentally incapable of self-care?
(658E(c)(3)(B), 658P(3), 898.20(a)(1)(ii))

M ves,and the upper age is 18
Provide the Lead Agency definition of physical or mental incapacity -

Children with documented developmental disabilities, mental retardation, emotional disturbance, sensory
or motor impairment, or significant chronic illness who require special health surveillance or specialized
programs, interventions, technologies, or facilities.

™ No.

c) Does the Lead Agency allow CCDF-funded child care for children age 13 and above
but below age 19 years who are under court supervision? (658P(3), 658E(c)(3)(B),
898.20(a)(1)(ii))

M Yes,and the upper age is 18
" No.

2.3.3. Eligibility Criteria Based Upon Work, Job Training or Educational Program

a) How does the Lead Agency define "working" for the purposes of eligibility? Provide a
narrative description below, including allowable activities and if a minimum number of
hours is required.



Reminder - Lead Agencies have the flexibility to include any work-related activities in its
definition of working, including periods of job search and travel time. (8898.16(f)(3),

98.20(b))
working-

Individuals are considered to be working if they meet the established work requirements of TANF, VIEW,
or SNAPET or have regular gainful employment in a part time or fulltime capacity.

b) Does the Lead Agency provide CCDF child care assistance to parents who are
attending job training or an educational program? (8898.16(g)(5), 98.20(b))

Myes.

If yes, how does the Lead Agency define "attending job training or educational program”
for the purposes of eligibility? Provide a narrative description below.

Reminder - Lead Agencies have the flexibility to include any training or education-related
activities in its definition of job training or education, including study time and travel time.

attending job training or educational program -

Attending job training or educational program refers to an individual in job training or educational activity
who participates in that activity on a regular basis as stipulated in state regulations or policy. Child care
approved for education/training activities is limited to curriculum related to the fulfillment of an
individual’s employment goal. Participants must show that they are making satisfactory progress.

"' No.

2.3.4. Eligibility Criteria Based Upon Receiving or Needing to Receive Protective
Services

a) Does the Lead Agency provide child care to children in protective services?
(8898.16(f)(7), 98.20(a)(3)(i))(A) & (B))

Myes.

If yes, how does the Lead Agency define "protective services" for the purposes of
eligibility? Provide a narrative description below.

Reminder - Lead Agencies have the flexibility to define protective services beyond formal
child welfare or foster care cases. Lead Agencies may elect to include homeless children
and other vulnerable populations in the definition of protective services.

Note - If the Lead Agency elects to provide CCDF-funded child care to children in foster
care whose foster care parents are not working, or who are not in education/training
activities for CCDF purposes these children are considered to be in protective services
and should be included in this definition.



protective services

The identification, receipt and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged child abuse or
neglect for children under 18 years of age. It also includes assessment, and arranging for and providing
necessary protective and rehabilitative services for a child and his family when the child has been found
to have been abused or neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected.

"' No.

b) Does the Lead Agency waive, on a case-by-case basis, the co-payment and income
eligibility requirements for cases in which children receive, or need to receive, protective
services? (658E(c)(3)(B), 658P(3)(C)(ii), 898.20(a)(3)(ii)(A))

Cyes,
FNO.

2.3.5. Income Eligibility Criteria

a) How does the Lead Agency define "income" for the purposes of eligibility? Provide the
Lead Agency's definition of "income" for purposes of eligibility determination.
(8898.16(g)(5), 98.20(b))

income -

Income is defined as the gross countable monthly income of all household members who are included in
the family unit. Earnings and unearned income from sources such as Social Security and child support
for children in the family unit are counted.

b) Which of the following sources of income, if any, will the Lead Agency exclude from
calculations of total family income for the purposes of eligibility determination? Check any
income the Lead Agency chooses to exclude, if any.

] Adoption subsidies

[ Foster care payments

] Alimony received or paid

[ child support received

M child support paid

M Federal nutrition programs

M Federal tax credits

T State/Territory tax credits

O Housing allotments, Low-Income Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP) or energy
assistance

[ Medical expenses or health insurance related expenses

¥ Military housing or other allotment/bonuses

T Scholarships, education loans, grants, income from work study
[ Social Security Income



¥ Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

[ Veteran's benefits

] Unemployment Insurance

¥ Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
™ Worker Compensation

M Other types of income
not listed above:

* Transitional payments of $50.00 per month to former Virginia Initiative for Employment not Welfare
(VIEW) patrticipants;

» Diversionary Assistance payments;

* General Relief benefits;

* Value of USDA donated food;

 Value of supplemental food assistance under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 and lunches provided
under National School Lunch Act;

» Earnings of a child under the age of 18 years;

» Garnisheed wages;

e Lump sum child support payments;

» Any scholarships, loans, or grants for education except any portion specified for child care;

» Payment to AmeriCorps volunteers;

» Tax refunds;

* Lump sum insurance payments;

* Monetary gifts for identifiable one-time occasions or normal annual occasions;

* Vendor payments made by non-financially responsible persons, unless this payment is made in lieu of
wages

» Loans and other money borrowed;

* Money received from sale of property such as stocks, bonds, a house, or a car (unless the person was
engaged in the business of selling such property, in which case the net proceeds would be counted as
income from self-employment);

» Earnings of less than $25.00 a month;

» Capital gains;

» Withdrawals of bank deposits;

Gl Bill benefits;

» Reimbursement, such as for mileage;

» Foreign government restitution payments to Holocaust survivors;

» Payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or any other fund established for settlement of
Agent Orange product liability litigation;

» Monetary benefits provided to the children of Vietham Veterans as described in 38 U.S.C. 1823 (c).

] None

c) Whose income will be excluded, if any, for purposes of eligibility determination? Check
anyone the Lead Agency chooses to exclude, if any.

™ Children under age 18

[ Children age 18 and over - still attending school

[ Teen parents living with parents

["1 Unrelated members of household

"7 Al members of household except for parents/legal guardians
M Other.



Describe:

Any person deemed not to be a member of the family unit.

"l None

d) Provide the CCDF income eligibility limits in the table below. Complete columns (a)
and (b) based upon maximum eligibility initial entry into the CCDF program. Complete
Columns (c) and (d) ONLY IF the Lead Agency is using income eligibility limits lower than
85% of the SMI.

Reminder - Income limits must be provided in terms of State Median Income (SMI) (or
Territory Median Income) even if federal poverty level is used in implementing the
program. (898.20(a)(2)). FY 2011 poverty guidelines are available at
http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/11poverty.shtml.

IF APPLICABLE
Income Level if lower than 85% SMI

Family (a) (b) (c) (d)
Size
$/month % of SMI
100% of State 85% of State [Divide (c) by (a),
Median Income | Median Income multiply by 100]

(SMI)($/month) | (SMI)($/month)
[Multiply (]a) by
0.85

1 3,707 3,151 2,257 61
2 4,848 4,120 3,036 63
3 5,988 5,090 3,815 64
4 7,129 6,060 4,594 64
5 8,269 7,029 5,373 65

e) Will the Lead Agency have "tiered eligibility" (i.e., a separate income limit at re-
determination to remain eligible for the CCDF program)?

Cyes.
If yes, provide the requested information from the table in 2.3.5d and describe below:

Note: This information can be included in the table below.

FNO.

IF APPLICABLE
Income Level if lower than 85% SMI




Family (a) (b) (c) (d)
Size
$/month % of SMI[Divide
100% of State 85% of State (c) by (a), multiply
Median Income | Median Income by 100]
(SMI) ($/month) (SMI)
($/month)[Multiply
(a) by 0.85]
1
2
3
4
5

f) SMI Year FFY and SMI Source Federal Register, Vol. 75, No. 91,
2011

g) These eligibility limits in column (c) became or will become effective on:
October 1, 2010

2.3.6. Eligibility Re-determination

a) What is the re-determination period upon initial authorization of CCDF services for
most families?

"'6 months
M 12 months
24 months
[ Other.
Describe:

|_Length of eligibility varies by county or other jurisdiction.
Describe:

b) Is the re-determination period the same for all CCDF eligible families?

FYes.

["'No. If no, check the categories of families for whom authorizations are different
and describe the redetermination period for each.

["! Families enrolled in Head Start and/or Early Head Start Programs.
Re-determination period:

["! Families enrolled in pre-kindergarten programs.
Re-determination period:



[ Families receiving TANF.
Re-determination period:

"' Families who are very-low income, but not receiving TANF.
Re-determination period:

I Other.
Describe:

c) Does the Lead Agency use a simplified process at re-determination?

™ Yes.
If yes, describe:

2.3.7. Waiting Lists

Describe the Lead Agency's waiting list status. Select ONE of these options.

[ Lead Agency currently does not have a waiting list and:

All eligible families who apply will be served under State/Territory
eligibility rules

] Not all eligible families who apply will be served under
State/Territory eligibility rules

M Lead Agency has an active waiting list for:

Any eligible family who applies when they cannot be served at the
time of application

[T Only certain eligible families.
Describe those families:

FWaiting lists are a county/local decision.



Describe:

Local Departments of Social Services maintain waiting lists for income eligible families who are not
employed TANF recipients or VIEW participants, or are not Head Start families. Currently, 53 local
departments have waiting list with 6,893 families (10,767 children) waiting for services.

" Other.
Describe:

2.3.8. Appeal Process for Eligibility Determinations
Describe the process for families to appeal eligibility determinations:

For every case action affecting eligibility, co-payment, or the amount of services authorized, a Notice of
Action (NOA) must be sent to the family prior to implementation of the action. The NOA must include
information on the family’s right to have an informal conference with the local department of social
services, the right to appeal, and the time frames within which the appeal must be made. Once a request
for an appeal is received, either orally or in writing, a Department Hearing Officer determines if the
appeal is valid. Valid appeals are scheduled for a hearing. The family is notified of the date and the time
of the hearing and of their right to have representation and/or withesses present at the hearing. The
Hearing Officer must provide a decision on the appeal within 60 days of the hearing and must notify the
appellant of that decision. Appellants have the right to request a judicial review if they disagree with the
Hearing Officer’s decision within 30 days of that decision.

Families also have the right to request an administrative review of the hearing officer's decision. The
Administrative Review Panel reviews the decision and/or the way in which the hearing was conducted.
The Administrative Review Panel will determine if the agency’s instructions or procedures that were the
basis for the hearing are clear.

2.4. Sliding Fee Scale and Family Contribution

The statute and regulations require Lead Agencies to establish a sliding fee scale that
varies based on income and the size of the family to be used in determining each family's
contribution (i.e., co-payment) to the cost of child care (658E(c)(3)(B) §98.42).

2.4.1. Attach a copy of the sliding fee scale as Attachment 2.4.1.

The attached sliding fee scale was or will be effective as of: since implementation of the



program

2.4.2. Will the attached sliding fee scale provided as Attachment 2.4.1. be used in
all parts of the State/Territory?

Cyes
FNO.

If no, attach other sliding fee scales and their effective date(s) as Attachment 2.4.2a,
2.4.2b, etc.

2.4.3. What income source and year will be used in creating the sliding fee scale?
(658E(c)(3)(B)) Check only one option.

[ State Median Income,

Year:

[ Federal Poverty Level,

Year:

"Income source and year varies by geographic region.

Describe income source and year:

M Other.

Describe income source and year: : The familys co-payment is determined based on 10% of the
familys gross monthly income, based on their current years income.

2.4.4. How will the family's contribution be calculated and to whom will it be
applied? Check all that the Lead Agency has chosen to use. (898.42(b))

[l Fee as dollar amount and
[T Fee is per child with the same fee for each child

[T Fee is per child and discounted fee for two or more children
[T No additional fee charged after certain number of children
[T Fee per family

M Fee as percent of income and
[T Fee is per child with the same percentage applied for each child

Fee is per child and discounted percentage applied for two or
more children

M No additional percentage applied charged after certain number of
children



¥ Fee per family

I Contribution schedule varies by geographic area.
Describe:

[ Other.
Describe:

If the Lead Agency checked more than one of the options above, describe:

The family’s co-payment is assessed at 10% of their gross monthly countable income. The fee is
assessed per family.

2.4.5. Will the Lead Agency use other factors in addition to income and family size
to determine each family's contribution to the cost of child care? (658E(c)(3)(B),
898.42(b))

|-Yes,
and describe those additional factors:

FNO.

2.4.6. The Lead Agency may waive contributions from families whose incomes are
at or below the poverty level for a family of the same size. (898.42(c)). Select ONE of
these options.

Reminder - Lead Agencies are reminded that the co-payments may be waived for only
two circumstances - for families at or below the poverty level or on a case-by-case basis
for children falling under the definition of "protective services" (as defined in 2.3.4.a).

[T ALL families, including those with incomes at or below the poverty level for families of
the same size, ARE required to pay a fee.

"'NO families with income at or below the poverty level for a family of the same size
ARE required to pay a fee.

The poverty level used by the Lead Agency for a family of 3 is:

¥ SOME families with income at or below the poverty level for a family of the same size
ARE NOT required to pay a fee. The Lead Agency waives the fee for the following
families:




The Lead Agency waives the fee for the following families:

TANF Families and Head Start families whose income is at or below the poverty level

2.5. Prioritizing Services for Eligible Children and Families

At a minimum, CCDF requires Lead Agencies to give priority for child care assistance to
children with special needs, or in families with very low incomes. Prioritization of CCDF
assistance services is not limited to eligibility determination (i.e., establishment of a
waiting list or ranking of eligible families in priority order to be served). Lead Agencies
may fulfill priority requirements in other ways such as higher payment rates for providers
caring for children with special needs or waiving co-payments for families with very low
incomes (at or below the federal poverty level). (658E(c)(3)(B), 898.44)

2.5.1. How will the Lead Agency prioritize child care services to children with
special needs or in families with very low incomes? (658E(c)(3)(B), 898.44) Lead
Agencies have the discretion to define children with special needs and children in families
with very low incomes. Lead Agencies are not limited in defining children with special
needs to only those children with physical or mental disabilities (e.g., with a formal
Individual Education Plan (IEP) required under the Individuals with Disabilities Education
Act (IDEA)). Lead Agencies could consider children in the child welfare system, children
of teen parents, or homeless children as examples of children with special needs.

Children with special needs
Provide the Lead Agency definition of Children with Special Needs:

Children with
documented
developmental
disabilities, mental
retardation, emotional
disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant chronic
illness who require
special health
surveillance or
specialized

programs,
interventions,
technologies, or
facilities.

Describe:



Children in families with very low incomes

Provide the Lead Agency definition of Children in Families with Very Low Incomes:

Families who are
eligible for TANF or
Head Start

Describe:

How will the

Eligibility Priority

Is there atime

Other Priority Rules

special needs

CCDF-eligible families

¥ Same priority as other
CCDF-eligible families

[T Guaranteed subsidy
eligibility
[T1Other.

The time limit
IS:

¥ No

Lead Agency |(Check only one) limit on the
prioritize CCDF eligibility
services for: priority or
guarantee?
Children with [ Priority over other MYes. [ Different eligibility

thresholds.
Describe:

¥ Higher rates for
providers caring for
children with special
needs requiring
additional care

[T Prioritizes quality
funds for providers
serving these children

[T1Other.
Describe:

Children in families
with very low
incomes

[T Priority over other
CCDF-eligible families

[T Same priority as other
CCDF-eligible families

[+ Guaranteed subsidy
eligibility
[T1Other.

[TYes.

The time limit
IS:

¥ No

[T Different eligibility
thresholds.

Describe:

W Waiving co-payments
for families with
incomes at or below
the Federal Poverty
Level

[T Other.
Describe:

2.5.2. How will CCDF funds be used to provide child care assistance to meet the
needs of families receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF),




those attempting to transition off TANF through work activities, and those at risk of
becoming dependent on TANF? (658E(c)(2)(H), Section 418(b)(2) of the Social
Security Act, 8898.50(e), 98.16(g)(4)) Reminder - CCDF requires that not less than 70
percent of CCDF Mandatory and Matching funds be used to provide child care assistance
for families receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), those attempting
to transition off TANF through work activities, and those at risk of becoming dependent on
TANF.

M uUse priority rules to meet the needs of TANF families (describe in 2.5.1 or 2.5.3.)

M wWaive fees (co-payments) for some or all TANF families who are below poverty level
M Coordinate with other entities (i.e. TANF office, other State/Territory agencies, and
contractors)

I Other.
Describe:

2.5.3. List and define any other eligibility conditions, priority rules and definitions
that will be established by the Lead Agency. (658E(c)(3)(B), 898.16(g)(5), 898.20(b))
Reminder - Lead Agencies are reminded that any eligibility criteria and terms provided
below must comply with the eligibility requirements of §98.20 and provided in section 2.2.
Any priority rules provided must comply with the priority requirements of §98.44 and
provided in section 2.4.1.

Term(s) - Definition(s)

Describe:

Term(s) Definition(s)
Families with an adult standing in loco
parentis are a priority group and will
have their income evaluated at 250% of
the Federal Poverty Level.

in loco parentis—means an adult(s) with whom the
child is living who has assumed responsibility for the
day-to-day care and supervision of the child.

2.6. Parental Choice In Relation to Certificates, Grants or Contracts

The parent(s) of each eligible child who receives or is offered financial assistance for
child care services has the option of either enrolling such child with a provider that has a
grant or contract for the provision of service or receiving a child care certificate.
(658E(c)(2)(A), 898.15(a))

2.6.1. Child Care Certificates



a) When is the child care certificate (also referred to as voucher or authorization) issued
to parents? (658E(c)(2)(A)(iii), 658P(2), 898.2, §98.30(c)(4) & (e)(1) & (2))

[ Before parent has selected a provider
M After parent has selected a provider

! Other.
Describe:

b) How does the Lead Agency inform parents that the child care certificate permits them
to choose from a variety of child care categories, including child care centers, child care
group homes, family child care homes, and in-home providers? (898.30(¢e)(2))

[ Certificate form provides information about choice of providers

[ Certificate is not linked to a specific provider so parents can choose provider of choice
M Consumer education materials (flyers, forms, brochures)

["! Referral to child care resource and referral agencies

M verbal communication at the time of application

[ Public Services Announcement

] Agency

Website:

O Community outreach meetings, workshops, other in person activities
O Multiple points of communication throughout the eligibility and renew process

M Other.
Describe:

When a family is determined eligible for a child care subsidy through CCDF, they are informed that they
may select any legally operating provider who meets the training requirements of and passes the
background checks for the subsidy program. A Purchase of Service Order form is then issued to the
provider selected by the parent.

c) What information is included on the child care certificate? Attach a copy of the child
care certificate as Attachment 2.6.1. (658E(c)(2)(A)(iii))

M Authorized provider(s)

M Authorized payment rate(s)
M Authorized hours

O Co-payment amount

M Authorization period

[ Other.



Describe:

d) What is the estimated proportion of services that will be available for child care
services through certificates?

99%

2.6.2. Child Care Services Available through Grants or Contracts

a) In addition to offering certificates, does the Lead Agency provide child care services
through grants or contracts for child care slots? (658A(b)(1), 658P(4), §898.16(g)(1),
98.30(a)(1) & (b)). Note: Do not check "yes" if every provider is simply required to sign an
agreement in order to be paid in the certificate program.

M ves.

If yes, describe the type(s) of child care services available through grants or contracts,
the process for accessing grants or contracts, and the range of providers that will be
available through grants or contracts:

A sole source contract with the Rural Family Development of the Virginia Council of Churches provides
for wrap-around child care services for seasonal workers on Virginia's Eastern Shore.

" No.

b) Will the Lead Agency use grants or contracts for child care services to achieve any of
the following? Check the strategies, if any, that your State/Territory chooses to
implement.

M Increase the supply of specific types of care

] Programs to serve children with special needs
¥ Wrap-around or integrated child care in Head Start, Early Head Start, pre-k, summer or
other programs

] Programs to serve infant/toddler

O School-age programs

! Center-based providers

O Family child care providers

O Group-home providers

O Programs that serve specific geographic areas
[ Urban

[ Rural

[ Other.



Describe:

] Support programs in providing higher quality services
Support programs in providing comprehensive services

Serve underserved families.
Specify:

I Other.
Describe:

c) Are child care services provided through grants or contracts offered throughout the
State/Territory? (658E(a), §98.16(g)(3))

I Yes.
M No,
and identify the localities (political subdivisions) and services that are not offered:

See 2.6.2.a above

d) How are payment rates for child care services provided through grants/contracts
determined?

The same payment rates are used statewide.

e) What is the estimated proportion of direct services that will be available for child care
services through grants/contracts?

<1%

2.6.3. How will the Lead Agency inform parents and providers of policies and
procedures for affording parents unlimited access to their children whenever their
children are in the care of a provider who receives CCDF funds? (658E(c)(2)(B),
898.31)) Check the strategies that will be implemented by your State/Territory.

] Signed declaration
[ Parent Application



M Parent Orientation
M Provider Agreement
I Provider Orientation

I Other.
Describe:

2.6.4. The Lead Agency must allow for in-home care (i.e., care provided in the
child's own home) but may limit its use. (8898.16(g)(2), 98.30(e)(1)(iv)) Will the Lead
Agency limit the use of in-home care in any way?

™ No

™ Yes. If checked, what limits will the Lead Agency set on the use of in-home care?
Check all limits the Lead Agency will establish.

M Restricted based on minimum number of children in the care of the provider to meet
minimum wage law or Fair Labor Standards Act

I Restricted based on provider meeting a minimum age requirement

[ Restricted based on hours of care (certain number of hours, non-traditional work
hours)

[ Restricted to care by relatives

I Restricted to care for children with special needs or medical condition

[l Restricted to in-home providers that meet some basic health and safety requirements

I Other.
Describe:

2.6.5. Describe how the Lead Agency maintains a record of substantiated parental
complaints about providers and makes substantiated parental complaints available
to the public on request. (658E(c)(2)(C), §898.32)

Staff in VDSS Division of Licensing Programs (DOLP) accepts complaints regarding regulated and
unregulated child care providers. Complaints may be reported to DOLP through the complaint and
information line (1-800-543-7545); by contacting the DOLP Home Office directly; or through direct
contact with one of eight licensing field offices. Complaint records are not gathered, stored, or sorted by
complainant. Complaint records are stored by facility or home involved in the complaint. Most complaints
are investigated through the field offices. Once an investigation is concluded, the findings and actions
are public information. Callers may receive information on complaints by contacting the licensing field
offices or by visiting the VDSS website (see links below). Information provided to the public includes the
nature of the complaint, the findings of the investigation and the final determination, including any
required corrective action or negative action taken. The statewide toll-free number is listedon VDSS's
internet site and in child care booklets and brochures developed by VDSS.



Information on licensed facilities (including complaint and licensing compliance history) and most
unlicensed providers may be obtained through VDSS’s public Web site at:
http://lwww.dss.virginia.gov/facility/search/licensed.cgi.

All licensing inspection reports are public information. The following must also be posted by the childcare
provider for public viewing in the facility: license, inspection report/compliance plan, notice of revocation
or denial letter detailing reasons for revocation or denial, and notice of probationary status. Information
that is not subject to public inspection without a court order would include medical information,
information that would identify a complainant, identities of families and children and any information
deemed excluded by the Freedom of Information Act.

2.7. Payment Rates for Child Care Services

The statute at 658E(c)(4) and the regulations at 898.43(b)(1) require the Lead Agency to
establish adequate payment rates for child care services that ensure eligible children
equal access to comparable care.

2.7.1. Provide a copy of your payment rates as Attachment 2.7.1.

The attached payment rates were or will be effective as of: November 2009. The attached
payment rates are based on the cost of care in each region. The same document is attached as 2.7.2.

2.7.2. Are the attached payment rates provided in Attachment 2.7.1 used in all parts
of the State/Territory? T

[ Yes.
M No. If no, attach other payment rates and their effective date(s) as Attachment 2.7.2a,
2.7.2b, etc.

2.7.3. Which strategies, if any, will the Lead Agency use to ensure the timeliness of
payments?

] Policy on length of time for making payments.
Describe length of time:

[ Track and monitor the payment process

M Other.
Describe:

The Department of Social Services requires all state and local offices to abide by the Prompt Payment
Act, which specifies that payments made by the state must be made within 30 days of receipt of an


http://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/search/licensed.cgi

invoice and that payments made by localities must be made within 45 days of the receipt of the invoice.

] None

2.7.4. Market Rate Survey

Lead Agencies must complete a local Market Rate Survey (MRS) no earlier than two
years prior to the effective date of the Plan (no earlier than October 1, 2009). The MRS
must be completed prior to the submission of the CCDF Plan (see Program Instruction
CCDF-ACF-PI1-2009-02
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ccb/law/guidance/current/pi2009-02/pi2009-02.htm for
more information on the MRS deadline).

a) Provide the month and year when the local Market Rate Survey(s) was completed
(898.43(b)(2)): 05/2010

b) Attach a copy of the MRS instrument and a summary of the results of the survey
as Attachment 2.7.4. For Lead Agencies that use an administrative provider database,
provide a copy of the intake form as the instrument. The summary should include a
description of the sample population, data source, the type of methodology used,
response rate, description of analyses, and key findings.

2.7.5. Will the Lead Agency use the local Market Rate Survey identified in 2.7.4a
(i.e., the most recent MRS) to set its payment rates?

[ Yes
7 No.

If no, list the MRS year that the payment rate ceiling is based upon: 2004, with an increase in
infant rates based on the 2007-2008 survey

2.7.6. At what percentile of the most recent local MRS are or will payment rates be
set? Provide the percentile for your payment rate ceiling in relation to the most recent
survey and describe:

Note: Identify the percentile where payment rates fall according to the most recent local
MRS (identified in 2.7.4a) regardless of whether or not you use the most recent survey to
set rates. If the percentile(s) varies across categories of care (e.g., different for centers
and family child care homes), regions or ages of children, provide the range of the
highest and lowest percentile in relation to the most recent survey.

Level 2 Rate Percentiles.

Level 2 providers include state licensed providers and providers approved under local ordinance as


http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ccb/law/guidance/current/pi2009-02/pi2009-02.htm

aIIow

by the Code of Virginia. For Level 2 centers, the MRRs ranged across age groups from the 20

th

to 35! percentiles of the rates from the 2009- 2|910 markeﬁ rate survey. For Level 2 family providers, the
MRRs ranged across age groups from the 200 the 30! percentiles of the rates from the 2009-2010
market rate survey.

The table below provides the percentiles for each age group.

Childcare Rate Percentiles - Level 2 Rates
Infant Toddler Preschool Before/After School Age [Total
School

Center 35.0 30.0 30.0 20.0 20.0 26.7

Family 30.0 30.0 30.0 20.0 30.0 27.6

Total 33.5 30.0 30.0 20.0 2.4 26.9
Level 1 Rate Percentiles.
Level 1 providers are unlicensed providers.

th

For Level 1 centers, the MRRs ranged across age groups from the 10
from the 2009-2010 market rate survey.

th t

to 15thpercentiles of the rates

h

For Level 1 family providers, the MRRs ranged across age groups from the 5 'to the 15" percentiles of
the rates from the 2009-2010 market rate survey.

The table below provides the percentiles for each age group.

Childcare Rate Percentiles - Level 1 Rates

Infant Toddler Preschool Before/After School Age [Total
School
Center 10.0 10.0 10.0 15.0 10.0 11.2
Family 5.0 10.0 5.0 15.0 10.0 0.4
Total 5.9 10.0 6.0 15.0 10.0 0.7




2.7.7. Will the Lead Agency provide any type of tiered reimbursement or differential
rates on top of its base reimbursement rates for providing care for children
receiving CCDF subsidies? Check which types of tiered reimbursement, if any, the
Lead Agency has chosen to implement.

I"] Differential rate for nontraditional hours.
Describe:

™ Differential rate for children with special needs as defined by the State/Territory.
Describe:

Care for children with special needs may be paid at a rate up to two times the maximum reimbursable
rate for a child of the same age in the same locality.

I"] Differential rate for infants and toddlers.
Describe:

[ Differential rate for school-age programs.
Describe:

[ Differential rate for higher quality as defined by the State/Territory.
Describe:

] Other differential rate.
Describe:

[ None.



2.7.8. Will the Lead Agency allow providers to charge parents any additional fees?
Check the policies, if any, the Lead Agency has chosen to establish regarding additional
fees.

™ Providers are allowed to charge the difference between the maximum reimbursement
rate and their private pay rate

M Providers are allowed to charge registration fees

[ Providers are allowed to charge for transportation fees

[ Providers are allowed to charge for meals.

M Providers are allowed to charge additional incidental fees such as field trips or supplies

[ Policies vary across region, counties and or geographic areas.
Describe:

I No, providers may not charge parents any additional fees

[ Other.
Describe:

[ None

2.7.9. Describe how payment rates are adequate to ensure equal access to the full
range of providers based on the Market Rate Survey.

CCDF regulations require the Lead Agency to certify that the payment rates for the
provision of child care services are sufficient to ensure equal access for eligible families
to child care services comparable to those provided to families not eligible to receive
CCDF assistance. To demonstrate equal access, the Lead Agency shall provide at a
minimum a summary of facts describing: (898.43(a))

a) How a choice of the full range of providers, e.g., child care centers, family child care
homes, group child care homes and in-home care, is made available (§98.43(a)(1)):

Parents are permitted to select any legally operating provider who meets the criteria for program
participation. If a parent selects a vendor that chooses to charge fees about the state maximum
reimbursable rates, the family has elected to pay the difference.

b) How payment rates are adequate based on the most recent local MRS (8§98.43(a)(2)):

Although the Maximum Reimbursable Rates are below the recommended 75th percentile, families are
not reporting the inability to find care. While they may not be able to select their provider of first choice,
families that receive subsidies are facing the same decisions faced by families that do not receive
assistance, i.e., what child care can be purchased with the available funds.

c) How family co-payments based on a sliding fee scale are affordable (§898.43(a)(3)):



The family co-payment is set at 10% of their gross monthly countable income. That is the amount noted
in the preamble to the federal CCDF regulation as the upper limit of an acceptable amount of an
affordable co-payment.

d) Any additional facts the Lead Agency considered to determine that its payment rates
ensure equal access:

N/A

2.7.10 Goals for the next Biennium -

In this section, Lead Agencies are asked to identify at least one goal for the upcoming
biennium. Lead Agencies are encouraged to include measurable and achievable goals.
Lead Agencies may include existing goals (e.g., already identified in a State strategic
plan or established by the Governor for a Lead Agency). ACF will target technical
assistance efforts to help Lead Agencies achieve their goal(s). What are the Lead
Agency's goals for the administration of the CCDF subsidy program in the coming
Biennium? For example, what progress does the State/Territory expect to make on
continuing improved services to parents and providers, continuity of care for children,
improving outreach to parents and providers, building or expanding information
technology systems, or revising rate setting policies or practices):

The Child Care Subsidy Program plans to implement a statewide automated system for the program. It
will include case management, vendor management, and payments.

Another goal of the program is to simplify many provider management processes by the state assuming
responsibility for payments and approval for program participation for many unlicensed providers.

The program also hopes to implement a revised statewide co-payment schedule.



PART 3

Health and Safety and Quality Improvement Activities

3.1. Activities to Ensure the Health and Safety of Children in Child Care
(Component #1)

This section is intended to collect information on how Lead Agencies meet the statutory
and regulatory provisions related to licensing and health and safety requirements. The
CCDBG statute and the CCDF regulations address health and safety primarily in two
ways.

First, Lead Agencies shall certify that they have in effect licensing requirements
applicable to child care services provided within the area served by the Lead Agency
(898.40(a)(1)). These licensing requirements need not be applied to specific types of
providers of child care services (658(E)(c)(2)(E)(i). Lead Agencies must describe those
licensing requirements and how they are effectively enforced. Second, Each Lead
Agency shall certify that there are in effect, within the State or local law, requirements
designed to protect the health and safety of children that are applicable to child care
providers of services for which assistance is provided under CCDF.

The relationship between licensing requirements and health and safety requirements
varies by State/Territory depending on how comprehensive the licensing system is. In
some States and Territories, licensing may apply to the majority of CCDF-eligible
providers and the licensing standards cover the three CCDF health and safety
requirements so the State/Territory has few, if any, providers for whom they need to
establish additional CCDF health and safety requirements. In other cases, States and
Territories have elected to exempt large numbers of providers from licensing which
means that those exempted providers who care for children receiving assistance from
CCDF will have to meet to the CCDF health and safety requirements through an
alternative process outside of licensing. The State/Territory may also elect to impose
more stringent standards and licensing or regulatory requirements on child care providers
of services for which assistance is provided under the CCDF than the standards or
requirements imposed on other child care providers. (898.40(b)(1)) Section 3.1 asks the
State/Territory to identify and describe the components of both the licensing and CCDF
health and safety requirements, indicate which providers are subject to the requirements,
and describe compliance and enforcement activities. (658E(c)(2)(F), 898.41)

3.1.1. Compliance with Applicable State/Territory and Local Regulatory
Requirements on Licensing

Lead Agencies shall certify that they have in effect licensing requirements applicable to



child care services provided within the area served by the Lead Agency (898.40(a)(1)).
These licensing requirements need not be applied to specific types of providers of child
care services (658(E)(c)(2)(E)(i). Lead Agencies must describe those licensing
requirements and how they are effectively enforced.

Definition: Licensing requirements are defined as regulatory requirements, including
registration or certification requirements established under State, local, or tribal law,
necessary for a provider to legally operate and provide child care services in a State or
locality (898.2). This does not include registration or certification requirements solely for
child care providers to be eligible to participate in the CCDF program. Those
requirements will be addressed in 3.1.2.

a) Is the Lead Agency responsible for child care licensing? (§98.11(a))
M Yes.

™ No.

Please identify the State or local (if applicable) entity/agency responsible for licensing:

b) Provide a brief overview of the relationship between the licensing requirements and
CCDF health and safety requirements in your State/Territory. At a minimum, describe
whether the State/Territory's licensing requirements serve as the CCDF health and safety

requirements.
Licensing requirements serve as the CCDF health and safety requirements for facilities regulated
through the Division of Licensing Programs but not for unlicensed/unregulated providers.

c) CCDF identifies and defines four categories of care: child care centers, family child
care homes, group child care homes and in-home child care providers (898.2). The
CCDF definition for each category is listed below. Within each CCDF category of care,
please identify which types of providers are exempt from licensing in your State/Territory
in the chart below.

CCDF Category of Care CCDF Definition (898.2) Are any providers in your
State/Territory which fall
under this CCDF category
exempt from licensing?




Center-Based Child Care

Center-based child care
providers are defined as a
provider licensed or
otherwise authorized to
provide child care services
for fewer than 24 hours per
day per child in a non-
residential setting, unless
care in excess of 24 hours is
due to the nature of the
parent(s)' work.

Describe which types of
center-based settings are
exempt from licensing in
your State/Territory.

For example, some
jurisdictions exempt school-
based centers, centers
operated by religious
organizations, summer
camps, or Head Start
programs

Programs of instructional or
recreational activities in which no
child less than 6 attends for more
than 6 hours per week and no
child over 6 attends more than 6
hours per week during school
session and no more than 12
hours per week when school is
not in session, single focus
instructional programs, programs
that operate less than 20 days,
instructional programs offered by
schools, come and go programs,
early intervention programs,
competitive sports leagues,
religious instruction, child minding
services, certified preschools,
local government recreational
programs




Group Home Child Care

N/A. Check if your
State/Territory does not have
group home child care.

-

Group home child care
provider is defined as two or
more individuals who provide
child care services for fewer
than 24 hours per day per
child, in a private residence
other than the child's
residence, unless care in
excess of 24 hours is due to
the nature of the parent(s)'
work.

Describe which types of
group homes are exempt
from licensing:

‘Family day home’ means a child
day program offered in the
residence of the provider or the
home of any of the children in
care for one through 12 children
under the age of 13, exclusive of
the provider's own children and
any children who reside in the
home, when at least one child
receives care for compensation.
Family day homes serving six
through twelve children, exclusive
of the provider’s own children and
any children who reside in the
home, must be licensed.
However, no family day home
may care for more than four
children under the age of two,
including the provider’'s own
children and any children who
reside in the home, unless the
family day home is licensed or
voluntarily registered. A family
day home where the children in
care are all grandchildren of the
provider shall not be required to
be licensed.” (Code of Virginia
63.2-100). Licensed family day
system-approved family day
homes are not required to obtain
a license. (Code of Virginia, §
63.2-1715) “Family day system’
means any person who approves
family day homes as members of
its system; who refers children to
available family day homes in that
system; and who, through
contractual arrangement, may
provide central administrative
functions including, but not limited
to, training of operators of
member homes; technical
assistance and consultation to
operators of member homes;
inspection, supervision,
monitoring, and evaluation of
member homes; and referral of
children to available health and
social services.” (Code of Virginia
863.2-100) Voluntarily Registered
Family Day Homes serve fewer




than 6 children so are not
required to be licensed. Any
person who maintains a family
day home serving fewer than six
children, exclusive of the
provider's own children and any
children, who reside in the home,
may apply for voluntary
registration. (Code of Virginia
863.2-1704) "Certificate of
registration” means a document
issued by the Commissioner to a
family day home provider,
acknowledging that the provider
has been certified by the
contracting organization or VDSS
and has met the Voluntary
Registration of Family Day
Homes—Requirements for
Providers (22VAC-40-180) or the
current regulation under the
Voluntary Registration Program
for Family Day Homes. Local
Ordinance Approved Family Day
Homes are exempted from
licensure by the Code of Virginia
§15.2-914). These homes are in
three localities in the State
(Fairfax, Alexandria, and
Arlington) whose local
governments have ordinances for
the regulation and licensing of the
homes. Unregulated Family Day
Homes serve fewer than 6
children so are not required to be
licensed.




Family Child Care

Family child care provider is
defined as one individual
who provides child care
services for fewer than 24
hours per day per child, as
the sole caregiver, in a
private residence other than
the child's residence, unless
care in excess of 24 hours is
due to the nature of the
parent(s)'s work. Reminder -
Do not check if family child
care home providers simply
must register or be certified
to participate in the CCDF
program separate from the
State/Territory regulatory
requirements.

Describe which types of
family child care home
providers are exempt from
licensing:

‘Family day home’ means a child
day program offered in the
residence of the provider or the
home of any of the children in
care for one through 12 children
under the age of 13, exclusive of
the provider's own children and
any children who reside in the
home, when at least one child
receives care for compensation.
Family day homes serving six
through twelve children, exclusive
of the provider’s own children and
any children who reside in the
home, must be licensed.
However, no family day home
may care for more than four
children under the age of two,
including the provider’'s own
children and any children who
reside in the home, unless the
family day home is licensed or
voluntarily registered. A family
day home where the children in
care are all grandchildren of the
provider shall not be required to
be licensed.” (Code of Virginia
63.2-100).

Licensed family day system-

approved family day homes are
not required to obtain a license.
(Code of Virginia, § 63.2-1715)

‘Family day system’ means any
person who approves family day
homes as members of its system;
who refers children to available
family day homes in that system;
and who, through contractual
arrangement, may provide central
administrative functions including,
but not limited to, training of
operators of member homes;
technical assistance and
consultation to operators of
member homes; inspection,
supervision, monitoring, and
evaluation of member homes;
and referral of children to




available health and social
services.” (Code of Virginia 863.2
-100)

Voluntarily Registered Family Day
Homes serve fewer than 6
children so are not required to be
licensed. Any person who
maintains a family day home
serving fewer than six children,
exclusive of the provider's own
children and any children, who
reside in the home, may apply for
voluntary registration. (Code of
Virginia 863.2-1704)

"Certificate of registration” means
a document issued by the
Commissioner to a family day
home provider, acknowledging
that the provider has been
certified by the contracting
organization or VDSS and has
met the Voluntary Registration of
Family Day
Homes—Requirements for
Providers (22VAC-40-180) or the
current regulation under the
Voluntary Registration Program
for Family Day Homes. Local
Ordinance Approved Family Day
Homes are exempted from
licensure by the Code of Virginia
815.2-914). These homes are in
three localities in the State
(Fairfax, Alexandria, and
Arlington) whose local
governments have ordinances for
the regulation and licensing of the
homes.

Unregulated Family Day Homes
serve fewer than 6 children so are
not required to be licensed.




In-Home Care In-home child care provider |Describe which types of in-
is defined as an individual home child care providers

who provides child care are exempt from licensing:
services in the child's own g5ty day home’ means a child

home. Reminder - Do not
respond if in-home child care
providers simply must

day program offered in the
residence of the provider or the

register or be certified to home of any of the children in
participate in the CCDF care for one through 12 children
program separate from the under the age of 13, exclusive of

State/Territory regulatory the provider's own children and
requirements. any children who reside in the

home, when at least one child
receives care for compensation.
Family day homes serving six
through twelve children, exclusive
of the provider’s own children and
any children who reside in the
home, must be licensed.
However, no family day home
may care for more than four
children under the age of two,
including the provider's own
children and any children who
reside in the home, unless the
family day home is licensed or
voluntarily registered. A family
day home where the children in
care are all grandchildren of the
provider shall not be required to
be licensed.” (Code of Virginia
863.2-100 Definitions).

Note: In lieu of submitting or attaching licensing regulations to certify the requirements of
898.40(a)(1), Lead Agencies may provide their licensing regulations to the National
Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education. Please check
the NRCKid's website at http://nrckids.org/ to verify the accuracy of your licensing
regulations and provide any updates to the National Resource Center. Check this box to
indicate that the licensing requirements were submitted and verified at NRCKid's:

v

d) Indicate whether your State/Territory licensing requirements include any of the
following four indicators for each category of care*.

*Source: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early
Education. (2003) Stepping Stones to Using Caring for Our Children: National Health and
Safety Performance Standards, 2nd Ed. Health Resources and Services Administration,
Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Available online: http://nrckids.org/stepping

Indicator Center-Based |Group Home Family Child In-Home Care
Child Care Child Care Care



http://nrckids.org/
http://nrckids.org/STEPPING/index.htm

Do the licensing
requirements
include
child:staff
ratios and
group sizes? If
yes, specify age
group, where
appropriate:

v
Child:staff ratio
requirement:

-

Child:staff ratio
requirement:

-

Child:staff ratio
requirement:

-

Child:staff ratio
requirement:

0-16 mos. 1:4; 16
mos-2 yrs.- 1:5; 2
yr olds - 1:8; 3-K
1:10; 5-8 yrs. 1:18;
9-12 yrs. 1:20

7
Group size
reguirement:

v
Group size
requirement:

-

Group size
requirement:

-

Group size
requirement;

-

No
requirements.

Based on a point
system; no
caregiver can
exceed 16 points
as follows:
Caregivers own
children under 8
yrs. old count in
point maximums; 0
-15 mos. = 4 points
each; 16-23 mos.
= 3 points each; 2-
4 yrs. = 2 points
each; 5-9yrs. =1
point each; 10 yrs.
and older =0
points

-

No
requirements.

Based on a point
system; no
caregiver can
exceed 16 points
as
follows:Caregiver's
own children under
8 years old count
in point
maximums; 0-15
mos = 4points
each; 16-23 mos =
3 points each; 2-4
years = 2 points
each; 5-9 years =
1 point each; 10
years and older =
0 points

-

No
requirements.

-

No
requirements.




Do the licensing
requirements
identify specific
experience and
educational
credentials for
child care
directors?

B [ I~ r

High High High High
school/GED school/GED school/GED school/GED
I~ r B r

Child Child Child Child
Development Development Development Development
Associate Associate Associate Associate
(CDA) (CDA) (CDA) (CDA)

[ r [ r

State/ Territory ||State/ Territory || State/ Territory ||State/ Territory
Credential Credential Credential Credential

I~ r B r
Associate's Associate's Associate's Associate's
degree degree degree degree

I~ r B r

Bachelor's Bachelor's Bachelor's Bachelor's
degree degree degree degree

[ r [ r

No credential
required for

No credential
required for

No credential
required for

No credential
required for

licensing licensing licensing licensing
L] ] L] ]
Other: Other: Other: Other:




Do the licensing
requirements
identify specific
experience and
educational
credentials for
child care
teachers?

I~ [ I~ r

High High High High
school/GED school/GED school/GED school/GED
B r B r

Child Child Child Child
Development Development Development Development
Associate Associate Associate Associate
(CDA) (CDA) (CDA) (CDA)

[ r [ r

State/ Territory ||State/ Territory || State/ Territory ||State/ Territory
Credential Credential Credential Credential

B r B r
Associate's Associate's Associate's Associate's
degree degree degree degree

B r B r

Bachelor's Bachelor's Bachelor's Bachelor's
degree degree degree degree

[ r [ r

No credential
required for

No credential
required for

No credential
required for

No credential
required for

licensing licensing licensing licensing
L] ] L] ]
Other: Other: Other: Other:
Do the licensing | — M M M
requirements
specify that At least 30 At least 30 At least 30 At least 30

directors and
caregivers must
attain a specific
number of
training hours
per year?

training hours
required in first
year

training hours
required in first
year

training hours
required in first
year

training hours
required in first
year

-
At least 24
training hours
per year after
first year

-

At least 24
training hours
per year after

=

At least 24
training hours
per year after

-

At least 24
training hours
per year after

=

No training
requirement

first year first year first year
N [ N
No training No training No training

reguirement

requirement

reguirement

WV
Other:

™
Other:

™
Other:

-
Other:

16 hours annually

12 hours annually

12 hours annually




e) Do you expect the licensing requirements for child care providers to change in
FY2012-20137

M ves.

Describe:Family Day Home annual training requirements will increase to 14 hours annually beginning
7/1/2012.

™ No.

3.1.2. Compliance with Applicable State/Territory and Local Regulatory
Requirements on Health and Safety

Each Lead Agency shall certify that there are in effect, within the State or local law,
requirements designed to protect the health and safety of children that are applicable to
child care providers of services for which assistance is provided under CCDF. Such
requirements shall include the prevention and control of infectious diseases (including
immunization), building and physical premises safety, and minimum health and safety
training appropriate to the provider setting. These health and safety requirements apply to
all providers caring for children receiving CCDF services and which also may be covered
by the licensing requirements. (658E(c)(2)(F), §898.41)

a) Describe the Lead Agency's health and safety requirements for prevention and control
of infectious disease in effect for child care providers of services for which assistance is
provided under CCDF using the table below. (658E(c)(2)(F)(i), 898.41(a)(1))

For each health and safety requirement checked, identify which providers under
the CCDF category must meet the requirement. Check all that apply.

The Lead Center-based Family child care (Group home In-home child
Agency child care home providers |[child care care providers
requires: providers providers

] [ ] [ ]

Physical exam or
health statement
for providers

! ¥ ! ¥ L
Physical exam or
health statement
for children




W~
Tuberculosis
check for
providers

-
Tuberculosis
check for
children

-

Provider
immunizations

W~
Child
immunizations

v
Hand-washing
policy for
providers and
children

™
Diapering policy
and procedures

[~

Providers to
submit a self-
certification or
complete health
and safety
checklist

2

Providers to
meet the
requirements of
another
oversight entity
that fulfill the
CCDF health
and safety
reguirements

-
Other.

Describe:




b) Describe the Lead Agency's health and safety requirements for building and physical

premises safety, including policies and practices to protect from environmental hazards,

in effect for child care providers of services for which assistance is provided under CCDF
using the table below. (658E(c)(2)(F)(ii), §98.41(a)(2))

The Lead Center-based |Family child Group home In-home child
Agency child care care home child care care providers
requires: providers providers providers

[V T [ N [

Fire inspection

[ = [ [ [

Building

iInspection

v [ ] [ ]

Health

inspection

v T v T ]

Inaccessibility of
toxic substances
policy

[+ v [+ v
Safe sleep policy

[+ 7 [+ 7

Tobacco
exposure
reduction

v 3 ] [ ]
Transportation
policy

I~ r I~ " I~
Providers to
submit a self-
certification or
complete health
and safety
checklist

I~ 7 I~ 7 B
Providers to
meet the
requirements of
another
oversight entity
that fulfill the
CCDF health
and safety
requirements




Other.
Describe:

I_ [ [

c) Describe the Lead Agency's health and safety requirements for health and safety
training in effect for child care providers of services for which assistance is provided
under CCDF using the table below. (658E(c)(2)(F)(iii), 898.41(a)(3))

CCDF Categories of |Health and safety

Care

training
requirements

Pre-Service

On-Going




Child Care Centers

CPR (Child Care
Centers)

(1) There shall be at
least one staff member
trained in first aid,
cardiopulmonary
resuscitation, and rescue
breathing as appropriate
to the age of the children
in care who is on the
premises during the
center's hours of
operation and also one
person on field trips and
wherever children are in
care.

This person shall be
available to children; and
This person shall have
current certification by
the American Red Cross,
American Heart
Association, National
Safety Council, or other
designated program
approved by the
Department of Social
Services [no hours of
training or topics for first
aid or CPR training are
specified]

(2) Primitive camps shall
have a staff member on
the premises during the
hours of operation who
has at least current
certification in first
responder training. [no
hours of training or topics
for first responder
training are specified]

(3) For therapeutic child
day programs and
special needs child day
programs, if a child has a
known seizure disorder
or neurological, genetic

Same as Pre-service.




or physiological disability
causing increased
medical risk and that
child is being
transported, one center
aide or adult who is not
the driver and who is
trained in CPR shall be
present in the vehicle.
[no hours of training or
topics for CPR training
are specified]




First Aid (Child Care
Centers)

(1) There shall be at
least one staff member
trained in first aid,
cardiopulmonary
resuscitation, and rescue
breathing as appropriate
to the age of the children
in care who is on the
premises during the
center's hours of
operation and also one
person on field trips and
wherever children are in
care.

This person shall be
available to children; and
This person shall have
current certification by
the American Red Cross,
American Heart
Association, National
Safety Council, or other
designated program
approved by the

Department of Social
Services [no hours of
training or topics for first
aid or CPR training are
specified]

(2) Primitive camps shal
have a staff member on
the premises during the
hours of operation who
has at least current
certification in first
responder training. [no
hours of training or topics
for first responder
training are specified]

(3) For therapeutic child
day programs and
special needs child day
programs, if a child has a
known seizure disorder

Same as Pre-service.




or neurological, genetic
or physiological disability
causing increased
medical risk and that
child is being
transported, one center
aide or adult who is not
the driver and who is
trained in CPR shall be
present in the vehicle.
[no hours of training or
topics for CPR training
are specified]




Training on infectious
diseases (Child Care
Centers)

(1) By the end of their
first day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
standards that relate to
the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers these
standards relating to
preventing the spread of
infectious diseases are:

Excluding sick children
Notifying parents of
children’s exposure to
communicable diseases
Cleaning and sanitizing
surfaces contaminated
with body fluids

Hand washing
procedures for staff and
children

Diapering and handling
soiled clothing

Sanitizing toilet chairs
Sanitizing tables and
high chair trays

Having drinking fountains
or individual disposable
cups with safe drinking
water accessible at all
times

(2) There shall always b
at least one staff
member on duty who has
obtained within the last
three years instruction in
performing the daily
health observation of
children. [no hours of

Same as Pre-service.

A\1”4




training are specified]

Daily health observation
training shall include:

Components of daily
health check for children;
Inclusion and exclusion
of the child from the
class when the child is
exhibiting physical
symptoms that indicate
possible illness;
Descriptions of how
diseases are spread and
the procedures or
methods for reducing the
spread of disease;
Information concerning
the Virginia Department
of Health Notification of
Reportable Diseases
pursuant to 12 VAC 5-90
-80 and 12 VAC 5-90-90,
also available from the
local health department
and the website of the
Virginia Department of
Health; and

Staff occupational health
and safety practices in
accordance with
Occupational Safety and
Health Administration’s
(OSHA) Blood borne
Pathogens regulation.




SIDS prevention
(i.e., safe sleep)
(Child Care Centers)

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
standards that relate to
the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers the
standards relating to
SIDS prevention are:

When staff are
supervising children,
they shall always ensure
their care, protection,
and guidance. For
Infants this includes:

When an infant is placed
in his crib, he shall be
placed on his back
(supine).

When an infant is able to
easily turn over from the
back (supine) to the belly
(prone) position and he
is placed in his crib, he
shall still be put on his
back (supine) but
allowed to adopt
whatever position he
prefers. This applies
unless otherwise
directed by the infant's
physician in writing.

If the side position is
used, caregivers shall
bring the dependent arm
forward to lessen the
likelihood of the infant
rolling into a belly (prone)

Same as Pre-service.




position.

Resting or sleeping
infants shall be
individually checked
every 15-20 minutes
Bottles shall not be
propped or used while
the child is in his
designated sleeping
location and

Cribs shall be used for
children under 12
months of age and for
children over 12 months
of age who are not
developmentally ready to
sleep on a cot or mat.
Pillows and filled
comforters shall not be
used by children under
two years of age.

Use of crib bumper pads
shall be prohibited.




Medication
administration (Child
Care Centers)

State regulations for
Child Day Centers
require:

(1) Medication
administration shall be
performed by a:
staff member or
independent contractor
who has satisfactorily
completed a training
program for this purpose
approved by the Board of
Nursing and taught by a
registered nurse,
licensed practical nurse,
doctor of medicine or
osteopathic medicine, or
pharmacist [no hours of
training are specified]; or
staff member or
independent contractor
who is licensed by the
Commonwealth of
Virginia to administer
medications.

(2) Staff required to have
the medication
administration training
shall be retrained at
three-year intervals [no
hours of training are
specified]

The medication
administration course,
which shall include
competency guidelines,
shall reflect currently
accepted safe
medication
administration practices,
including instruction and
practice in topics such
as, but not limited to:
Reading and following

Same as Pre-service.




manufacturer’'s
instructions;

Observing relevant laws,
policies and regulations;
Demonstrating
knowledge of safe
practices for medication
storage and disposal,
recording and reporting
responsibilities, and side
effects and emergency
recognition and
response.

(3) By the end of their
first day of assuming job
responsibilities,
caregivers shall receive
training on the standards
that relate to the staff
member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers, these
standards relating to
medication
administration are: Any
child for whom
emergency medications
(such as, but not limited
to, Albuterol, Glucagon,
and epipen) have been
prescribed shall always
be in the care of a staff
member or independent
contractor trained in
medication
administration.

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities,




caregivers shall receive
training [no hours of
training are specified] on
the center’s policy for
administration of
medication (22VAC15-30
-310 A) that:

Includes any general
restrictions of the center.
For non-prescription
medication, be
consistent with the
manufacturer’'s
instructions for age,
duration and dosage.
Includes duration of the
parent's authorization for
medication, provided that
it shall expire or be
renewed after 10
workdays. Long-term
prescription drug use
and over-the-counter
medication may be
allowed with written
authorization from the
child's physician and
parent.

Includes methods to
prevent use of outdated
medication.




Mandatory reporting
of suspected abuse
or neglect (Child
Care Centers)

Child Day Centers are
required by The Code of
Virginia to:

Have staff receive the
following training no later
than the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities:
Recognizing child abuse
and neglect and the legal
requirements for
reporting suspected child
abuse as required by §
63.2-1509 of the Code of
Virginia [hours of training
are not specified];

§ 63.2-1509 The
following persons who, in
their professional or
official capacity, have
reason to suspect that a
child is an abused or
neglected child, shall
report the matter
immediately to the local
department of the county
or city wherein the child
resides or wherein the
abuse or neglect is
believed to have
occurred or to the
Department's toll-free
child abuse and neglect
hotline:

Any person providing full
-time or part-time child
care for pay on a
regularly planned basis;
and the initial report may
be an oral report but
such report shall be
reduced to writing by the
child abuse coordinator

Same as Pre-service.




of the local department
on a form prescribed by
the Board. Any person
required to make the
report pursuant to this
subsection shall disclose
all information that is the
basis for his suspicion of
abuse or neglect of the
child and, upon request,
shall make available to
the child-protective
services coordinator and
the local department,
which is the agency of
jurisdiction, any
information, records, or
reports that document
the basis for the report.
All persons required by
this subsection to report
suspected abuse or
neglect who maintain a
record of a child who is
the subject of such a
report shall cooperate
with the investigating
agency and shall make
related information,
records and reports
available to the
investigating agency
unless such disclosure
violates the federal
Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act
(20 U.S.C. § 1232g). Any
person required to file a
report pursuant to this
section who fails to do so
within 72 hours of his
first suspicion of child
abuse or neglect shall be
fined not more than $500
for the first failure and for




any subsequent failures
not less than $100 nor
more than $1,000.

Child development
(Child Care Centers)

Program directors and
staff who work directly
with children shall
annually attend 16 hours
of staff development
activities that shall
include training related to
child development.

Same as Pre-service.




Supervision of
children (Child Care
Centers)

The child day center
requirements for
supervision are:

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities, staff
shall receive training on
the standards that relate
to the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers, these
standards relating to
supervision of children
are:

When staff are
supervising children,
they shall always ensure
their care, protection,
and guidance.

Children under 10 years
of age always shall be
within actual sight and
sound supervision of
staff, except that staff
need only be able to
hear a child who is using
the restroom provided
that:

There is a system to
assure that individuals
who are not staff
members or persons
allowed to pick up a child
in care do not enter the
restroom area while in
use by children; and
Staff check on a child
who has not returned
from the restroom after
five minutes. Depending

Same as Pre-service.




on the location and
layout of the restroom,
staff may need to provide
intermittent sight
supervision of the
children in the restroom
area during this five-
minute period to assure
the safety of children and
to provide assistance to
children as needed.
Children 10 years of age
and older shall be within
actual sight and sound
supervision of staff
except when the
following requirements
are met:

Staff can hear or see the
children (video
equipment, intercom
systems, or other
technological devices
shall not substitute for
staff being able to
directly see or hear
children);

Staff are nearby so they
can provide immediate
intervention if needed,
There is a system to
ensure that staff know
where the children are
and what they are doing;
There is a system to
ensure that individuals
who are not staff
members or persons
allowed to pick up
children in care do not
enter the areas where
children are not under
sight supervision; and
Staff provide sight and
sound supervision of the




children at variable and
unpredictable intervals
not to exceed 15
minutes.

When the outdoor
activity area is not
adjacent to the center,
there shall be at least
two staff members on the
outdoor activity area
whenever one or more
children are present.
Staff shall greet each
child upon arrival at the
center and oversee each
child's departure from
the center.

Staff shall not allow a
child to leave the center
unsupervised.

Staff shall be counted in
the required staff-to-
children ratios only when
they are directly
supervising children.

A child volunteer 13
years of age or older not
enrolled in the child day
program shall not be
counted as a child in the
staff-to-children ratio
requirements.

When children are
regularly in ongoing
mixed age groups, the
staff-to-children ratio
applicable to the
youngest child in the
group shall apply to the
entire group.

During the designated
rest period and the
designated sleep period
of evening and overnight
care programs, the ratio




of staff to children may
be double the usual
number of children to
each staff if:

A staff person is within
sight and sound of the
resting/sleeping children;
Staff counted in the
overall rest period ratio
are within the building
and available to ensure
safe evacuation in an
emergency; and

An additional person is
present at the center to
help, if necessary.

The following ratios of
staff to children are
required wherever
children are in care:

For children from birth to
the age of 16 months:
one staff member for
every four children;

For children 16 months
old to two years: one
staff member for every
five children;

For two-year-old
children: one staff
member for every eight
children;

For children from three
years to the age of
eligibility to attend public
school, five years by
September 30: one staff
member for every 10
children

For children from age of
eligibility to attend public
school through eight
years, one staff member
for every 18 children;
and




For children from nine
years through 12 years,
one staff member for
every 20 children.

The staff-to-children
ratios requirements shall
be maintained while
children are participating
in swimming or wading
activities.

There shall be sight and
sound supervision for all
children when a child is
being diapered.

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
following (22VAC15-30-
310 A) [no hours of
training are specified]:

Procedures for
supervising a child who
may arrive after
scheduled classes or
activities including field
trips have begun;
Procedures to confirm
absence of a child when
the child is scheduled to
arrive from another
program or from an
agency responsible for
transporting the child to
the center;

Procedures for
identifying where
attending children are at
all times, including
procedures to ensure
that all children are
accounted for before
leaving a field trip site




and upon return to the
center;

Playground safety
procedures which shall
include provision for
active supervision by
staff to include
positioning of staff in
strategic locations,
scanning play activities,
and circulating among
children;




Behavior
management (Child
Care Centers)

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
standards that relate to
the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers, these
standards relating to
behavior management
are: Behavioral guidance
shall be constructive in
nature, age and stage
appropriate, and shall be
intended to redirect
children to appropriate
behavior and resolve
conflicts.

The following actions or
threats thereof are
forbidden:

Physical punishment,
striking a child, roughly
handling or shaking a
child, restricting
movement through
binding or tying, forcing a
child to assume an
uncomfortable position,
or exercise as
punishment;

Enclosure in a small
confined space or any
space that the child
cannot freely exit
himself; however, this
does not apply to the use
of equipment such as
cribs, play yards, high

Same as Pre-service.




chairs, and safety gates
when used with children
preschool age or
younger for their
intended purpose;
Punishment by another
child;

Separation from the
group so that the child is
away from the hearing
and vision of a staff
member;

Withholding or forcing of
food or rest;

Verbal remarks which
are demeaning to the
child;

Punishment for toileting
accidents; and
Punishment by applying
unpleasant or harmful
substances.




Nutrition (Child Care
Centers)

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
standards that relate to
the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers these
standards relating to
nutrition are:

Centers shall schedule
appropriate times for
snacks or meals, or both,
based on the hours of
operation and time of the
day (e.g., a center open
only for after school care
shall schedule an
afternoon snack; a
center open from 7 a.m.
to 1 p.m. shall schedule
a morning snack and
midday meal).

The center shall ensure
that children arriving
from a half-day, morning
program who have not
yet eaten lunch receive a
lunch.

The center shall
schedule snacks or
meals so there is a
period of at least 1-1/2
hours but no more than
three hours between
each meal or snack
unless there is a
scheduled rest or sleep
period for children

Same as Pre-service.




between the meals and
snacks.

Drinking water or other
beverage not containing
caffeine shall be offered
at regular intervals to
nonverbal children.

In environments of 80°F
or above, attention shall
be given to the fluid
needs of children at
regular intervals.
Children in such
environments shall be
encouraged to drink
fluids as outlined in
subsection D of this
section.

When centers choose to
provide meals or snacks,
the following shall apply:

Centers shall follow the
most recent, age-
appropriate nutritional
requirements of a
recognized authority
such as the Child and
Adult Care Food
Program of the United
States Department of
Agriculture (USDA).
Children shall be allowed
second helpings of food
listed in the USDA'’s child
and adult care meal
patterns.

Centers offering both
meals and snacks shall
serve a variety of
nutritious foods and shall
serve at least three
sources of vitamin A and
at least three sources of




vitamin C on various
days each week.
Children three years of
age or younger may not
be offered foods that are
considered to be
potential choking
hazards.

Breastfeeding (Child
Care Centers)

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
standards that relate to
the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers, these
standards relating to
breastfeeding are:
Breastfeeding must be
permitted.

Same as Pre-service.




Physical activity
(Child Care Centers)

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
standards that relate to
the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers these
standards relating to
physical activity are:

For all children, child day
centers are required to:
Have a variety of daily
activities for all age
groups shall be age and
stage appropriate and
provide opportunities for
teacher-directed, self-
directed, and self-chosen
tasks and activities; a
balance of active and
quiet activities; individual
and group activities; and
curiosity and exploration.

For infants the child day
center is required to
provide:

Room for extensive
movement (rolling,
crawling, or walking) and
exploration;

Equipment and toys that
support large and small
motor development and
staff shall provide
frequent opportunities for
infants to creep, crawl,
toddle and walk and

Same as Pre-service.




Outdoor time if weather
and air quality allow
based upon the Air
Quality Color Chart as
provided by the
Department of
Environmental Quality.

For Toddlers and
Preschoolers the child
day center is required to
provide: Opportunities fof
outdoor activity, weather
and air quality allowing,
for at least:

Fifteen minutes per day
or session if the center
operates up to three
hours per day or session;
Thirty minutes per day or
session if the center
operates between three
and five hours per day or
session; or

One hour per day or
session if the center
operates more than five
hours per day or session
Opportunities for small
and large motor activities

For School age children
the child day center is
required to: Provide in
the afternoon an
opportunity for large
motor activities at least
25% of the time and On
nonschool days, the daily
activity shall include
opportunities for large
motor activities at least
25% of the time; and
outdoor activity, weather




and air quality allowing,
for at least:

Fifteen minutes per day
or session if the center
operates up to three
hours per day or session;
Thirty minutes per day or
session if the center
operates between three
and five hours per day or
session; or

One hour per day or
session if the center
operates more than five
hours per day or session




Working with children
with special needs or
disabilities (Child
Care Centers)

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on the
standards that relate to
the staff member's
responsibilities.
(22VAC15-30-310 A) [no
hours of training are
specified]

For caregivers these
standards relating to
working with children
with special needs or
disabilities are:

A child’s’ record who is
enrolled at a child day
center is required to
include documentation
of:

Allergies and intolerance
to food, medication, or
any other substances,
and actions to take in an
emergency situation;
Chronic physical
problems and pertinent
developmental
information and any
special accommodations
needed;

Regulatory definitions:

"Children with special
needs" means children
with developmental
disabilities, mental
retardation, emotional
disturbance, sensory or
motor impairment, or
significant chronic illness

For therapeutic child day
programs and special
needs child day
programs, staff who work
directly with children
shall annually attend 24
hours of staff
development activities.
At least eight hours of
this training shall be on
topics related to the care
of children with special
needs.




who require special
health surveillance or
specialized programs,
interventions,
technologies, or facilities.
"Special needs child day
program" means a
program exclusively
serving children with
special needs.
“Therapeutic child day
program" means a
specialized program,
including but not limited
to therapeutic recreation
programs, exclusively
serving children with
special needs when an
individual service,
education or treatment
plan is developed and
implemented with the
goal of improving the
functional abilities of the
children in care.

In therapeutic child day
programs:

Before the child's first
day of attendance, there
shall be personal
communication between
the director, or his
designee, and the parent
to determine:

The child's level of
general functioning as
related to physical,
affective/emotional,
cognitive and social skills
required for participation;
and

Any special medical
procedures needed.




An individual
assessment completed
within six months before
the child's attendance or
30 days after the first day
of attendance shall be
maintained for each
child.

An individual
assessment shall be
reviewed and updated
for each child no less
than once every 12
months.

An individual service,
education or treatment
plan:

Shall be developed for
each child by the director
or his designee and
primary staff responsible
for plan implementation;
Shall be implemented
within 60 days after the
first day of the child's
attendance.

The child's individual
service, education or
treatment plan shall be
developed, reviewed,
and revised every three
months and rewritten
annually by the director
or his designee and
primary staff responsible
for plan implementation.
This shall be done in
partnership with the
parent, residential care
provider or advocate.

A copy of the initial plan
and subsequent or
amended service,
education or treatment




plans shall be
maintained in the child's
record and a copy given
to the child's parent.

Pre-service:

Before assuming job
responsibilities, staff who
work with children in
therapeutic child day
programs and special
needs child day
programs shall receive
training [no hours of
training specified] in:

Universal precautions
procedures;

Activity adaptations;
Medication
administration;
Disabilities precautions
and health issues; and
Appropriate intervention
strategies.

For therapeutic child day
programs and special
needs child day
programs, staff who work
with children shall have
knowledge of the groups
being served and skills
specific to the special
needs of the children in
care including, but not
limited to, functional
abilities,
accommodations,
assessment techniques,
behavior management,
and medical and health
concerns




For program directors of
therapeutic child day
programs and special
needs child day
programs, education and
programmatic
experience shall be in
the group care of
children with special
needs.

For program leaders of
therapeutic child day
programs and special
needs child day
programs, at least three
months of programmatic
experience shall be in
the group care of
children with special
needs.




Emergency
preparedness and
response (Child Care
Centers)

By the end of their first
day of assuming job
responsibilities staff shall
receive training on
procedures for action in
case of lost or missing
children, ill or injured
children, medical
emergencies and
general emergencies;
and procedures for
response to natural and
man-made disasters.[no
hours of training are
specified]

The center shall have an
emergency
preparedness plan that
addresses staff
responsibility and facility
readiness with respect to
emergency evacuation
and shelter-in-place. The
plan, which shall be
developed in
consultation with local or
state authorities,
addresses the most likely
to occur emergency
scenario or scenarios,
including but not limited
to natural disaster,
chemical spills, intruder,
and terrorism specific to
the locality.

The emergency
preparedness plan shall
contain procedural
components for:

Sounding of alarms
(intruder, shelter-in-place
such as for tornado, or

Same as Pre-service.




chemical hazard);
Emergency
communication to
include:

Establishment of center
emergency officer and
back-up officer to include
24-hour contact
telephone number for
each;

Notification of local
authorities (fire and
rescue, law enforcement,
emergency medical
services, poison control,
health department, etc.),
parents, and local media;
and

Availability and primary
use of communication
tools;

Evacuation to include:

Assembly points, head
counts, primary and
secondary means of
egress, and complete
evacuation of the
buildings;

Securing of essential
documents (sign-in
record, parent contact
information, etc.) and
special healthcare
supplies to be carried off-
site on immediate notice;
and

Method of
communication after the
evacuation;
Shelter-in-place to
include:

Scenario applicability,
inside assembly points,




head counts, primary
and secondary means of
access and egress;
Securing essential
documents (sign-in
records, parent contact
information, etc.) and
special health supplies to
be carried into the
designated assembly
points; and

Method of
communication after the
shelter-in-place;

Facility containment
procedures, (e.g., closing
of fire doors or other
barriers) and shelter-in-
place scenario (e.g.,
intruders, tornado, or
chemical spills);

Staff training requirement
[no hours of training are
specified], drill
frequency, and plan
review and update; and
Other special procedures
developed with local
authorities.

Emergency evacuation
and shelter-in-place
procedures/maps shall
be posted in a location
conspicuous to staff and
children on each floor of
each building.

The center shall
implement a monthly
practice evacuation drill
and a minimum of two
shelter-in-place practice
drills per year for the
most likely to occur
scenarios.

The center shall maintain




a record of the dates of
the practice drills for one
year.

For centers offering
multiple shifts, the
simulated drills shall be
divided evenly among
the various shifts.

A 911 or local dial
number for police, fire
and emergency medical
services and the number
of the regional poison
control center shall be
posted in a visible place
at each telephone.

Each camp location shall
have an emergency
preparedness plan and
warning system.

The center shall prepare
a document containing
local emergency contact
information, potential
shelters, hospitals,
evacuation routes, etc.,
that pertain to each site
frequently visited or of
routes frequently driven
by center staff for center
and business (such as
field trips, pickup/drop off
of children to or from
schools, etc.). This
document must be kept
in vehicles that centers
use to transport children
to and from the center.

Other. (Child Care
Centers)

Describe:
N/A

N/A

N/A




Group Home Child
Care

CPR (Group Home
Child Care)

Providers, substitute
providers and assistants
18 years of age or older
left alone with children in
care shall have current
certification in
cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR), as
appropriate to the age of
the children in care, from
the American Red Cross,
American Heart
Association, American
Safety and Health
Institute, or the National
Safety Council, or
current CPR certification
issued within the past
two years by a
community college, a
hospital, a rescue squad,
or a fire department. A
specific number of

hours of training or topics
for CPR training are not
specified in order to
receive CCDF subsidy
funding.

Same as Pre-service.




First Aid (Group
Home Child Care)

Providers, substitute
providers and assistants
18 years of age or older
left alone with children in
care shall have current
certification in first aid
from the American Red
Cross, American Heart
Association, American
Safety and Health
Institute, or the National
Safety Council, or
current first aid
certification issued within
the past three years by a
community college, a
hospital, a rescue squad,
or a fire department. A
specific number of hours
of training or topics for
first aid training are not
specified in order to
receive CCDF subsidy
funding.

EXCEPTION: A provider
or substitute provider
who is a registered nurse
or licensed practical
nurse with a current
license from the Board of
Nursing shall not be
required to obtain first
aid certification.

Same as Pre-service.




Training on infectious
diseases (Group
Home Child Care)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of hours
of training on infectious
diseases is not specified
to be eligible to receive
CCDF funding.

The annual training for
caregivers (currently 12
hours) shall cover areas
such as, but not limited
to: health and safety in
the family day home
environment and
recognition and
prevention of the spread
of communicable
diseases.

The orientation for
Licensed providers shall
cover the standards in
this chapter that relate to
the substitute provider's
or assistant's
responsibilities and
include the topics listed
below:

Excluding sick children
Notifying parents of
children’s exposure to
communicable diseases
Cleaning and sanitizing
surfaces contaminated
with body fluids

Hand washing
procedures for staff and
children

Diapering and handling

Same as Pre-service.




soiled clothing

Sanitizing toilet chairs
Sanitizing tables and
high chair trays

Having drinking fountains
or individual disposable
cups with safe drinking
water accessible at all
times

Having individual
locations to keep
clothing, toys, and
belongings.

Dogs or cats, where
allowed, shall be
vaccinated for rabies and
shall be treated for fleas,
ticks, or worms as
needed.

Monkeys, ferrets,
reptiles, psittacine birds
(birds of the parrot
family), or wild or
dangerous animals shall
not be in areas
accessible to children
during the hours children
are in care.

All animal excrement
shall be removed
promptly, disposed of
properly, and, if indoors,
the soiled area cleaned.
Toys mouthed by
children shall be cleaned
and sanitized daily.
Sandboxes shall be
covered when not in use.
A child shall be provided
with an individual crib,
cot, rest mat, or bed for
resting or napping.
Occupied cribs, cots, rest
mats, and beds shall be
at least 12 inches from




each other.

Rest mats shall be
cleaned and sanitized on
all sides at least weekly
and as needed.

Linens shall be assigned
for individual use.
Linens shall be clean
and washed at least
weekly or when soiled.
Clean linens shall be
used each time a child
rests on the bed of a
family member.

Pillows, when used for
children over two years
of age, shall be assigned
for individual use and
covered with
pillowcases.

Mattresses, when used,
shall be covered with a
waterproof material that
can be cleaned and
sanitized.

Outbreak of disease
must be reported to
Health department.
Tables and high chair
trays shall be cleaned
after each use.

Clean individual drinking
cups shall be provided
daily.

Children shall not be
allowed to share
common drinking cups.
Disposable utensils and
dishes shall be used
once and discarded.
Parent required to report
to provider if child or
household member has
communicable disease.
Child must be




adequately immunized.

SIDS prevention
(i.e., safe sleep)
(Group Home Child
Care)

There are no training
hours or training topics
specified for SIDS
prevention. Licensing
standards address this
topic.

Same as Pre-service.




Medication
administration (Group
Home Child Care)

A specific number of
hours for medication
administration training for
a group home child care
provider is not specified.
When the family day
home agrees to
administer prescription
medications or non-
prescription medications,
the administration shall
be performed by a
caregiver who:

Has satisfactorily
completed a training
program for this purpose
developed or approved
by the Virginia Board of
Nursing and taught by a
registered nurse,
licensed practical nurse,
doctor of medicine or
osteopathic medicine, or
pharmacist;

Is licensed by the
Commonwealth of
Virginia to administer
medications.

Caregivers required to
have medication training
shall be retrained at
three-year intervals.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities on the
standards relating to
medication
administration. A specific
number of hours of
medication

Same as Pre-service.




administration training is
not specified, but must
include the following
topics:

A child’s record shall
contain information on
allergies and intolerance
to food, medication, or
any other substances,
and actions to take in an
emergency situation;
written authorization if a
caregiver is to administer
prescription or
nonprescription
medication to the child.
Before the child’s first
day of attendance,
parents shall be provided
in writing policies for the
administration of
medication.

The provider shall
maintain written
documentation of each
caregiver's applicable
education and
programmatic
experience, applicable
first aid and CPR
certification, orientation,
annual training, and
applicable medication
administration training.
The provider shall notify
the parent immediately
when the child:

1. Has an adverse
reaction to medication
administered;

2. Has been
administered medication
incorrectly




Prescription and
nonprescription
medications shall be
given to a child:
According to the home's
written medication
policies, and only with
written authorization from
the parent. The parent's
written authorization for
medication shall expire
or be renewed after 10
working days.
EXCEPTION: Long-term
prescription and
nonprescription drug use
may be allowed with
written authorization from
the child's physician and
parent.

When an authorization
for medication expires,
the parent shall be
notified that the
medication needs to be
picked up within 14 days
or the parent must renew
the authorization.
Medications that are not
picked up by the parent
within 14 days shall be
taken to a pharmacy for
proper disposal.

The family day home
may administer
prescription medication
that would normally be
administered by a parent
or guardian to a child
provided:

The medication is
administered by a
caregiver who meets the
requirements in this
regulation;




The caregiver
administers only those
drugs that were
dispensed from a
pharmacy and
maintained in the
original, labeled
container; and

The caregiver
administers drugs only to
the child identified on the
prescription label in
accordance with the
prescriber's instructions
pertaining to dosage,
frequency, and manner
of administration.

The family day home
may administer
nonprescription
medication provided the
medication is:
Administered by a
caregiver 18 years of
age or older who meets
the requirements in this
regulation;

Labeled with the child's
name;

In the original container
with the manufacturer's
direction label attached,;
and

Given only at the dose,
duration, and method of
administration specified
on the manufacturer's
label for the age or
weight of the child
needing the medication.
Nonprescription
medication shall not be
used beyond the
expiration date of the
product.




Mandatory reporting
of suspected abuse
or neglect (Group
Home Child Care)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
hours of training on
mandatory reporting of
suspected abuse or
neglect is not
specified. The
orientation shall cover
recognizing child abuse
and neglect and the legal
requirements for
reporting suspected child
abuse as required by §
63.2-1509 of the Code of
Virginia:

“8 63.2-1509 The
following persons who, in
their professional or
official capacity, have
reason to suspect that a
child is an abused or
neglected child, shall
report the matter
immediately to the local
department of the county
or city wherein the child
resides or wherein the
abuse or neglect is
believed to have
occurred or to the
Department's toll-free
child abuse and neglect
hotline:

Any person providing full
-time or part-time child
care for pay on a
regularly planned basis;

Same as Pre-service.




The initial report may be
an oral report but such
report shall be reduced
to writing by the child
abuse coordinator of the
local department on a
form prescribed by the
Board. Any person
required to make the
report pursuant to this
subsection shall disclose
all information that is the
basis for his suspicion of
abuse or neglect of the
child and, upon request,
shall make available to
the child-protective
services coordinator and
the local department,
which is the agency of
jurisdiction, any
information, records, or
reports that document
the basis for the report.
All persons required by
this subsection to report
suspected abuse or
neglect who maintain a
record of a child who is
the subject of such a
report shall cooperate
with the investigating
agency and shall make
related information,
records and reports
available to the
investigating agency
unless such disclosure
violates the federal
Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act
(20 U.S.C. § 1232¢g). Any
person required to file a
report pursuant to this




section who fails to do so
within 72 hours of his
first suspicion of child
abuse or neglect shall be
fined not more than $500
for the first failure and for
any subsequent failures
not less than $100 nor
more than $1,000.”




Child development
(Group Home Child
Care)

The annual training for
licensed caregivers
(currently 12 hours) shall
cover areas such as, but
not limited to: physical,
intellectual, social and
emotional child
development. Unlicensed
providers who receive
subsidies must have at
least 4 hours of skills
training annually.

The licensed program
provider shall orient the
substitute provider and
assistant by the end of
their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours for the
staff is not specified. The
orientation shall cover
the standards that relate
to child development,
including:

The child’s record shall
contain information on
chronic physical
problems, pertinent
developmental
information, and any
special accommodations
needed.

In order to promote the
child's physical,
intellectual, emotional,
and social well-being and
growth, caregivers shall:
Talk to the child;

Provide needed help,
comfort, and support;

Respect personal

Same as Pre-service.




privacy;

Respect differences in
cultural, ethnic, and
family backgrounds;
Encourage decision-
making abilities;
Promote ways of getting
along;

Encourage
independence and self-
direction; and

Use consistency in
applying expectations.
Caregivers shall provide
age-appropriate activities
for children in care
throughout the day that:
Are based on the
physical, social,
emotional, and
intellectual needs of the
children;

Reflect the diversity of
enrolled children's
families, culture, and
ethnic backgrounds; and
Enhance the total
development of children.
Infants and toddlers shall
be provided with
opportunities to:

Interact with caregivers
and other children in the
home in order to
stimulate language
development;

Play with a wide variety
of safe, age-appropriate
toys;

Receive individual
attention from caregivers
including, but not limited
to, holding, cuddling,
talking, and reading; and
Reach, grasp, pull up,




creep, crawl, and walk to
develop motor skills.
Infants and toddlers shall
spend no more than 30
minutes of consecutive
time during waking
hours, with the exception
of mealtimes, confined in
a crib, play pen, high
chair or other confining
piece of equipment. The
intervening time period
between confinements
shall be at least one
hour.

Staffing shall be
appropriate and
adequate to meet the
specific physical and
developmental needs of
a child with special
needs in care.

The provider and the
parent of the child with
special needs shall
mutually determine a
recommendation for the
level of staffing
necessary to care for
and supervise the child
based on the child's
chronological and
functional age and
degree of disability.
Caregivers shall use
positive methods of
discipline. Discipline
shall be constructive in
nature and include
techniques such

as: Using limits that are
fair, consistently applied,
appropriate, and
understandable for the
child's level of




development;

When time out is used as
a discipline technique:

It shall be used sparingly
and shall not exceed one
minute for each year of
the child's age

It shall be appropriate to
the child's developmental
level and circumstances;
It shall not be used with
infants or toddlers
Caregivers shall provide
information daily to
parents about the child's
health, development,
behavior, adjustment, or
needs.




Supervision of
children (Group
Home Child Care)

When at least one child
receives care for
compensation, all
children, exclusive of the
provider's own children
and children who reside
in the home, who are in
the care and supervision
of a provider, count in
the licensed capacity. An
assistant under the age
of 18 years of age shall
always work under the
direct supervision of the
provider or substitute
provider. Direct
supervision means being
able to hear or see the
assistant and children at
all times.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
supervision of children is
not specified.The
orientation shall cover
the standards related to
the supervision of
children and include the
following:

Sharp kitchen utensils
and other sharp objects
shall be inaccessible to
children unless being
used by the caregiver or
with children under close
supervision.

Small electrical

Same as Pre-service.




appliances such as, but
not limited to, curling
irons, toasters, blenders,
can openers, and irons
shall be unplugged
unless being used by the
caregiver or with children
under close supervision.
Children under two years
of age and children over
two years of age who are
not developmentally
ready to climb or
descend stairs without
supervision shall not
have access to stairs.

A caregiver shall be
physically present on site
and provide direct care
and supervision of each
child at all times. Direct
care and supervision of
each child

includes: Awareness of
and responsibility for
each child in care,
including being near
enough to intervene if
needed; and monitoring
of each sleeping infant in
one of the following
ways:

By placing each infant for
sleep in a location where
the infant is within sight
and hearing of a
caregiver;

By in-person observation
of each sleeping infant at
least once every 15
minutes; or

By using a baby monitor
Caregivers shall actively
supervise each child
during outdoor play to




minimize the risk of injury
to a child.

A caregiver may allow
only school age children
to play outdoors while
the caregiver is indoors if
the caregiver can hear
the children playing
outdoors.

Infants shall be protected
from older children.

No child under five years
of age or a child older
than five who lacks the
motor skills and strength
to avoid accidental
drowning, scalding, or
falling while bathing shall
be left unattended while
in the bathtub.

The provider shall
ensure that a caregiver
does not exceed 16
points by using the
following point system to
determine if an additional
caregiver is needed:
Children from birth
through 15 months of
age count as four points
each;

Children from 16 months
through 23 months of
age count as three points
each;

Children from two
through four years of age
count as two points
each;

Children from five years
through nine years of
age count as one point
each; and

Children who are 10
years of age and older




count as zero points.

A caregiver's own
children and resident
children under eight
years of age count in
point maximums.

The level of supervision
by caregivers and the
point system as required
in this regulation shall be
maintained while the
children are participating
in swimming or wading
activities.

Caregivers shall have a
system for accounting for
all children in the water.
Outdoor swimming
activities shall occur only
during daylight hours.
When one or more
children are in water that
is more than two feet
deep in a pool, lake, or
other swimming area on
or off the premises of the
family day home:

A minimum of least two
caregivers shall be
present and able to
supervise the children;
and

An individual currently
certified in basic water
rescue, community water
safety, water safety
instruction, or
lifeguarding shall be on
duty supervising the
children participating in
swimming or wading
activities at all times. The
certification shall be
obtained from an
organization such as, but




not limited to, the
American Red Cross, the
YMCA, or the Boy
Scouts.

The provider shall report
to the department within
24 hours of the
circumstances
surrounding the following
incidents:

Lost or missing child
when local authorities
have been contacted for
help,

Serious injury to a child
while under the family
day home's supervision,
and

Death of a child while
under the family day
home's supervision.
The provider shall
ensure that during
transportation of
children:

Each child is in an
individual car seat or
individual and
appropriate restraint in
accordance with Virginia
law;

Each child's arms, legs,
and head remain inside
the vehicle;

Doors are closed
properly and locked
unless locks were not
installed by the
manufacturer of the
vehicle;

No child is left
unattended inside or
outside a vehicle; and
Each child boards and
leaves the vehicle from




the curb side of the
street.

For nighttime care,
caregivers shall remain
awake until all children
are asleep and shall
sleep on the same floor
level as the children in
care. A baby monitor
shall be used if the
caregiver is not sleeping
in the room with the child
or in a room adjacent to
the room where the child
is sleeping.




Behavior
management (Group
Home Child Care)

The annual training for
caregivers (currently 12
hours) shall cover areas
such as, but not limited
to: Behavior
management and
discipline techniques. A
specific number of
training hours on
behavior management is
not specified.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. The
orientation shall cover
the standards relating to
behavior management
and must include the
following:

Caregivers shall use
positive methods of
discipline. Discipline
shall be constructive in
nature and include
techniques such as:
Using limits that are fair,
consistently applied,
appropriate, and
understandable for the
child's level of
development;

Providing children with
reasons for limits;
Giving positively worded
direction;

Modeling and redirecting
children to acceptable
behavior;

Helping children to
constructively express

Same as Pre-service.




their feelings and
frustration to resolve
conflict; and

Arranging equipment,
materials, activities, and
schedules in a way that
promotes desirable
behavior.

When time out is used as
a discipline technique:

It shall be used sparingly
and shall not exceed one
minute for each year of
the child's age;

It shall be appropriate to
the child's developmental
level and circumstances;
It shall not be used with
infants or toddlers;

The child shall be in a
safe, lighted, well-
ventilated place, and
within sight and sound of
a caregiver; and

The child shall not be left
alone inside or outside
the home while
separated from the
group.

- The following acts or
threats thereof are
forbidden:

Physical punishment
including, but not limited
to, striking a child,
roughly handling or
shaking a child, biting,
pinching, restricting
movement through
binding or tying, forcing a
child to assume an
uncomfortable position,
or exercise as
punishment;




Enclosure in a small,
confined space or any
space that the child
cannot freely exit
himself; however, this
does not apply to the use
of equipment such as
cribs, play pens, high
chairs, and safety gates
when used for their
intended purpose with
children preschool age or
younger;

Punishment by another
child;

Withholding or forcing of
food, water, or rest;
Verbal remarks that are
demeaning to the child;
Punishment for toileting
accidents; and
Punishment by applying
unpleasant or harmful
substances.

Caregivers shall notify
parents when persistent
behavioral problems are
identified and such
notification shall include
any disciplinary steps
taken in response.




Nutrition (Group
Home Child Care)

The annual training
(currently 12 hours) shall
cover areas such as, but
not limited to: child
nutrition. A specific
number of training hours
on nutrition is not
specified.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. The
orientation shall cover
the standards relating to
nutrition including the
following:

Meals and snacks shall
be served in accordance
with the times children
are in care, which
include:

For family day homes
operating less than four
consecutive hours, at
least one snack shall be
served.

For family day homes
operating four to seven
consecutive hours, at
least one meal and one
snhack shall be served.
For family day homes
operating seven to 12
consecutive hours, at
least one meal and two
snacks, or two meals
and one snack shall be
served.

For family day homes
operating 12 to 16

Same as Pre-service.




consecutive hours, at
least two meals and two
snacks or three meals
and one snack shall be
served.

A family day home shall
ensure that children
arriving from a half-day,
morning program who
have not yet eaten lunch
receive a lunch.

The family day home
shall schedule snacks or
meals so there is a
period of at least 1-1/2
hours, but no more than
three hours, between
each meal or snack
unless there is a
scheduled rest or sleep
period for children
between the meals and
snacks.

Children shall be served
small-sized portions.
Food shall be prepared,
stored, served, and
transported in a clean
and sanitary manner.
Leftover food shall be
discarded from individual
plates following a meal
or snack.

Tables and high chair
trays shall be cleaned
after each use, but at
least daily.

When family day homes
provide meals or snacks,
the following shall apply:
Family day homes shall
follow the most recent,
age-appropriate
nutritional requirements
of a recognized authority




such as the Child and
Adult Care Food
Program of the United
States Department of
Agriculture (USDA).
Children shall be allowed
second helpings of food
listed in the child care
food program meal
patterns.

When food is brought
from home, the following
shall apply:

The food container shall
be clearly labeled in a
way that identifies the
owner;

The family day home
shall have extra food or
shall have provisions to
obtain food to serve to a
child so the child can
have an appropriate
snack or meal as
required in 22 VAC 40-
111-880 if the child
forgets to bring food from
home or brings an
inadequate meal or
snhack; and

Unused portions of food
shall be discarded by the
end of the day or
returned to the parent.
Water shall be available
for drinking and shall be
offered on a regular
basis to all children in
care.

In environments of 80°F
or above, attention shall
be given to the fluid
needs of children at
regular intervals.
Children in such




environments shall be
encouraged to drink
fluids.

Clean individual drinking
cups shall be provided
daily. Children shall not
be allowed to share
common drinking cups.
When meals or snacks
are provided by the
family day home, the
menu for the current one
-week period shall:

Be dated,;

Be given to parents or
posted or placed in an
area accessible to
parents;

List any substituted food,;
and

Be kept on file one week
at the family day home.
Temperatures shall be
maintained at or below
40°F in refrigerator
compartments and at or
below O°F in the freezer
compartments.

The provider shall have
an operable thermometer
available to monitor
refrigerator and freezer
compartment
temperatures.

All perishable foods and
drinks used for children
in care, except when
being prepared and
served, shall be kept in
the refrigerator.

All milk and milk
products shall be
pasteurized.

Powdered milk shall be
used only for cooking.




Infants shall be fed on
demand unless the
parent provides other
written instructions.
Infants who cannot hold
their own bottles shall be
picked up and held for
bottle feeding. Bottles
shall not be propped.
High chairs, infant carrier
seats, or feeding tables
with safety waist and
crotch straps fastened
according to the
manufacturer's
instructions shall be used
for children under 12
months of age who are
not held while being fed.
Infant formula shall be
prepared according to
the manufacturer's or
physician's instructions.
Bottles shall be
refrigerated and labeled
with the child's full name
and the date, if more
than one infant is in care.
Refrigerated bottles of
prepared formula and
breast milk shall be
discarded after 48 hours
if not used.

Bottles shall not be
heated in a microwave
oven.

To avoid burns, heated
formula and baby food
shall be stirred or shaken
and tested for
temperature before being
served to children.

A child's mother shall be
granted access to a
private area of the family




day home to facilitate
breast feeding.

Solid foods shall:

Not be fed to infants less
than four months of age
without parental consent,
and

Be fed with a spoon, with
the exception of finger
foods.

Baby food shall be
served from a dish and
not from the container.
Baby food remaining in:
A serving dish shall be
discarded;

Opened containers, from
which a portion has been
removed, shall be
refrigerated and labeled
with the child's full name
and the date, if more
than one infant is in care;
and

Opened containers
stored in the refrigerator
shall be discarded if not
consumed within 24
hours of storage.

The consistency of food
provided for a child with
special needs shall be
appropriate to any
special feeding needs of
the child.

Necessary and adaptive
feeding equipment and
feeding techniques shall
be used for a child with
special feeding needs.




Breastfeeding (Group
Home Child Care)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
breastfeeding is not
specified. The orientation
shall cover the standards
that relate to
breastfeeding, including
the following:

Refrigerated bottles of
prepared formula and
breast milk shall be
discarded after 48 hours
if not used.

A child's mother shall be
granted access to a
private area of the family
day home to facilitate
breast feeding.

Same as Pre-service.




Physical activity
(Group Home Child
Care)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
physical activity is not
specified. The orientation
shall cover the standards
that relate to physical
activity, including the
following:

The home shall provide
each child with adequate
space to allow free
movement and active
play indoors and out.
Daily age-appropriate
activities shall include:
Opportunities for
alternating periods of
indoor active and quiet
play depending on the
ages of the children;
Opportunities for
vigorous outdoor play
daily, depending upon
the weather, the ages,
and the health of the
children

Opportunities for
structured and
unstructured play time
and provider-directed
and child-initiated
learning activities.
Infants and toddlers shall
be provided with
opportunities to reach,
grasp, pull up, creep,
crawl, and walk to
develop motor skills.

Same as Pre-service.




Infants and toddlers shall
spend no more than 30
minutes of consecutive
time during waking
hours, with the exception
of mealtimes, confined in
a crib, play pen, high
chair or other confining
piece of equipment. The
intervening time period
between confinements
shall be at least one
hour.

Use of media such as,
but not limited to,
television, videos, video
games, and computers
shall be:

Limited to not more than
a total of two hours per
day; and

Limited to programs,
tapes, websites, and
software that are
produced for children or
are suitable for children.
Other activities shall be
available to children
during television or video
viewing.

Caregivers shall actively
supervise each child
during outdoor play to
minimize the risk of injury
to a child.

A caregiver may allow
only school age children
to play outdoors while
the caregiver is indoors if
the caregiver can hear
the children playing
outdoors.




Working with children
with special needs or
disabilities (Group
Home Child Care)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on working
with children with special
needs or disabilities is
not specified. The
orientation shall cover
the standards related to
working with children
with special needs and
include the following:

“Child with special
needs" means a child
with developmental
disabilities, mental
retardation, emotional
disturbance, sensory or
motor impairment, or
significant chronic illness
who requires special
health surveillance or
specialized programs,
interventions,
technologies, or facilities.
A child’s record shall
contain special
instructions to the
provider including, but
not limited to,
recommendations for the
care and activities of a
child with special needs
as required in this
regulation.

Caregivers shall provide
a child with special
needs with the care and
activities recommended
in writing by a physician,

Same as Pre-service.




psychologist, or other
professional who has
evaluated or treated the
child.

The written
recommendation shall:
Include instructions for
any special treatment,
diet, or restrictions in
activities that are
necessary for the health
of the child; and

Be maintained in the
child's record.

The provider shall
ensure the environment
is appropriate for the
child based on the plan
of care and shall instruct
other caregivers in the
proper techniques of
care.

A caregiver shall perform
only those procedures
and treatments for which
he has the necessary
training, experience,
credentials, or license to
perform.

Staffing shall be
appropriate and
adequate to meet the
specific physical and
developmental needs of
a child with special
needs in care.

The provider and the
parent of the child with
special needs shall
mutually determine a
recommendation for the
level of staffing
necessary to care for
and supervise the child
based on the child's




chronological and
functional age and
degree of disability.
Within 30 days of the
child's enrollment, the
provider shall provide the
department's
representative a written
recommendation for the
level of staffing
necessary to care for
and supervise the child.
The Department shall
make the final decision
regarding level of staffing
or any capacity
limitations necessary to
care for, supervise, and
protect all children in
care when a child with
special needs is
receiving care.

The parent, provider, and
department's
representative shall
review the staffing
requirements annually.
A separate area shall be
provided for the purpose
of privacy for diapering,
dressing, and other
personal care
procedures for a child
above age three with
special needs who
requires assistance in
these activities.

The consistency of food
provided for a child with
special needs shall be
appropriate to any
special feeding needs of
the child.

Necessary and adaptive
feeding equipment and




feeding techniques shall
be used for a child with
special feeding needs.




Emergency
preparedness and
response (Group
Home Child Care)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
emergency
preparedness and
response is not
specified. The orientation
shall cover the standards
relating to emergency
preparedness include the
following:

Before the child’s first
day of attendance,
parents shall be provided
in writing provisions of
the family day home's
emergency
preparedness and
response plan;
Caregivers shall be able
to speak, read, and write
in English as necessary
to communicate
effectively with
emergency responders.
The provider shall
provide orientation to the
substitute provider and
assistants including the
following topics:
Emergency evacuation,
relocation, and shelter-in
-place procedures;
Location of emergency
numbers, first aid kit, and
emergency supplies;

A landline telephone,

excluding a cordless or

Same as Pre-service.




cell phone, shall be
available, operable, and
accessible during the
family day home's hours
of operation. An operable
landline telephone is one
that does not require
electricity to operate.
Cordless or cell phones
may be used in addition
to the landline telephone.
Parents shall be
informed of any changes
in the home's emergency
preparedness and
response plan.

If an emergency
evacuation or relocation
IS necessary, the parent
shall be informed of the
child's whereabouts as
soon as possible.

A working battery-
operated flashlight, a
working portable battery-
operated weather band
radio, and extra batteries
shall be keptin a
designated area and be
available to caregivers at
all times.

The following telephone
numbers shall be posted
in a visible area close to
the telephone:

A 911 or local dial
number for police, fire,
and emergency medical
responders;

The responsible person
for emergency backup
care as required in this
regulation; and

The regional poison
control center.




The family day home
shall have a written
emergency
preparedness and
response plan that:
Includes emergency
evacuation, emergency
relocation, and shelter-in
-place procedures;
Addresses the most
likely to occur scenarios,
including but not limited
to fire, severe storms,
flooding, tornadoes, and
loss of utilities; and
Includes provisions for a
responsible person who
is 18 years of age or
older and is able to arrive
at the family day home
within 10 minutes for
emergency backup care
until the children can be
picked up by their
parents.

The provider shall review
the emergency plan at
least annually and
update the plan as
needed. The provider
shall document in writing
each review and update
to the emergency plan.
Evacuation procedures
shall include:

Methods to alert
caregivers and
emergency responders;
Designated primary and
secondary routes out of
the building;

Designated assembly
point away from the
building;

Designated relocation




site;

Methods to ensure all
children are evacuated
from the building and, if
necessary, moved to a
relocation site;

Methods to account for
all children at the
assembly point and
relocation site;

Methods to ensure
essential documents,
including emergency
contact information,
medications, and
supplies are taken to the
assembly point and
relocation site;

Method of
communication with
parents and emergency
responders after the
evacuation; and
Method of
communication with
parents after the
relocation.
Shelter-in-place
procedures shall include:
Methods to alert
caregivers and
emergency responders;
Designated safe location
within the home;
Designated primary and
secondary routes to the
safe location;

Methods to ensure all
children are moved to
the safe location;
Methods to account for
all children at the safe
location;

Methods to ensure
essential documents,




including emergency
contact information, and
supplies are taken to the
safe location; and
Method of
communication with
parents and emergency
responders.

The emergency
evacuation procedures
shall be practiced
monthly with all
caregivers and children
in care during all shifts
that children are in care.
Shelter-in-place
procedures shall be
practiced a minimum of
twice per year.
Documentation shall be
maintained of emergency
evacuation and shelter-in
-place drills that includes:
Identity of the person
conducting the drill:

The date and time of the
drill;

The method used for
notification of the drill;
The number of
caregivers participating;
The number of children
participating;

Any special conditions
simulated;

The time it took to
complete the drill;
Problems encountered, if
any; and

For emergency
evacuation drills only,
weather conditions.
Records of emergency
evacuation and shelter-in
-place drills shall be




maintained for one year.
The provider shall
ensure that each
caregiver receives
training regarding the
emergency evacuation,
emergency relocation,
and shelter-in-place
procedures by the end of
his first week of
assuming job
responsibilities, on an
annual basis, and at the
time of each plan update.
A specific number of
training hours on
emergency evacuation,
emergency relocation
and shelter-in-place
procedures is not

specified.
Other. (Group Home ||N/A N/A
Child Care)
Describe:

N/A




Family Child Care
Providers

CPR (Family Child
Care Providers)

Providers, substitute
providers and assistants
18 years of age or older
left alone with children in
care shall have current
certification in
cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR), as
appropriate to the age of
the children in care, from
the American Red Cross,
American Heart
Association, American
Safety and Health
Institute, or the National
Safety Council, or
current CPR certification
issued within the past
two years by a
community college, a
hospital, a rescue squad,
or a fire department. A
specific number of hours
of training or topics for
CPR training are not
specified in order to
receive CCDF subsidy
funding.

Same as Pre-service.




First Aid (Family
Child Care Providers)

Providers, substitute
providers and assistants
18 years of age or older
left alone with children in
care shall have current
certification in first aid
from the American Red
Cross, American Heart
Association, American
Safety and Health
Institute, or the National
Safety Council, or
current first aid
certification issued within
the past three years by a
community college, a
hospital, a rescue squad,
or a fire department. [no
hours of training or
topics for first aid
training are specified]

EXCEPTION: A provider
or substitute provider
who is a registered nurse
or licensed practical
nurse with a current
license from the Board of
Nursing shall not be
required to obtain first
aid certification.

Same as Pre-service.




Training on infectious
diseases (Family
Child Care Providers)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of hours
of training on infectious
diseases are not
specified to be eligible to
receive CCDF funding.

The annual training for
caregivers (currently 12
hours) shall cover areas
such as, but not limited
to: health and safety in
the family day home
environment and
recognition and
prevention of the spread
of communicable
diseases.

The orientation for
Licensed providers shall
cover the standards in
this chapter that relate to
the substitute provider's
or assistant's
responsibilities and
include the topics listed
below:

Excluding sick children
Notifying parents of
children’s exposure to
communicable diseases
Cleaning and sanitizing
surfaces contaminated
with body fluids

Hand washing
procedures for staff and
children

Diapering and handling

Same as Pre-service.




soiled clothing

Sanitizing toilet chairs
Sanitizing tables and
high chair trays

Having drinking fountains
or individual disposable
cups with safe drinking
water accessible at all
times

Having individual
locations to keep
clothing, toys, and
belongings.

Dogs or cats, where
allowed, shall be
vaccinated for rabies and
shall be treated for fleas,
ticks, or worms as
needed.

Monkeys, ferrets,
reptiles, psittacine birds
(birds of the parrot
family), or wild or
dangerous animals shall
not be in areas
accessible to children
during the hours children
are in care.

All animal excrement
shall be removed
promptly, disposed of
properly, and, if indoors,
the soiled area cleaned.
Toys mouthed by
children shall be cleaned
and sanitized daily.
Sandboxes shall be
covered when not in use.
A child shall be provided
with an individual crib,
cot, rest mat, or bed for
resting or napping.
Occupied cribs, cots, rest
mats, and beds shall be
at least 12 inches from




each other.

Rest mats shall be
cleaned and sanitized on
all sides at least weekly
and as needed.

Linens shall be assigned
for individual use.
Linens shall be clean
and washed at least
weekly or when soiled.
Clean linens shall be
used each time a child
rests on the bed of a
family member.

Pillows, when used for
children over two years
of age, shall be assigned
for individual use and
covered with
pillowcases.

Mattresses, when used,
shall be covered with a
waterproof material that
can be cleaned and
sanitized.

Outbreak of disease
must be reported to
Health department
Tables and high chair
trays shall be cleaned
after each use

Clean individual drinking
cups shall be provided
daily. Children shall not
be allowed to share
common drinking cups.
Disposable utensils and
dishes shall be used
once and discarded.
Parent required to report
to provider if child or
household member has
communicable disease
Child must be
adequately immunized.




Child must be
adequately immunized.

SIDS prevention There are no training Same as Pre-service.
(i.e., safe sleep)

(Family Child Care hours or training topics
Providers) specified for SIDS

prevention. Licensing
standards address this
topic.




Medication
administration
(Family Child Care
Providers)

A specific number of
hours for medication
administration training of
a family child care
provider are not
specified. When the
family day home agrees
to administer prescription
medications or non-
prescription medications,
the administration shall
be performed by a
caregiver who:

Has satisfactorily
completed a training
program for this purpose
developed or approved
by the Virginia Board of
Nursing and taught by a
registered nurse,
licensed practical nurse,
doctor of medicine or
osteopathic medicine, or
pharmacist; or

Is licensed by the
Commonwealth of
Virginia to administer
medications.

Caregivers required to
have medication training
shall be retrained at
three-year intervals.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities on the
standards relating to
medication
administration. A specific
number of hours of

Same as Pre-service.




medication
administration training is
not specified, but must
include the following:

A child’s record shall
contain information on
allergies and intolerance
to food, medication, or
any other substances,
and actions to take in an
emergency situation;
written authorization if a
caregiver is to administer
prescription or
nonprescription
medication to the child.
Before the child’s first
day of attendance,
parents shall be provided
in writing policies for the
administration of
medication.

The provider shall
maintain written
documentation of each
caregiver's applicable
education and
programmatic
experience, applicable
first aid and CPR
certification, orientation,
annual training, and
applicable medication
administration training.
The provider shall notify
the parent immediately
when the child:

Has an adverse reaction
to medication
administered;

Has been administered
medication incorrectly
Prescription and
nonprescription




medications shall be
given to a child:
According to the home's
written medication
policies, and only with
written authorization from
the parent. The parent's
written authorization for
medication shall expire
or be renewed after 10
working days.
EXCEPTION: Long-term
prescription and
nonprescription drug use
may be allowed with
written authorization from
the child's physician and
parent.

When an authorization
for medication expires,
the parent shall be
notified that the
medication needs to be
picked up within 14 days
or the parent must renew
the authorization.
Medications that are not
picked up by the parent
within 14 days shall be
taken to a pharmacy for
proper disposal.

The family day home
may administer
prescription medication
that would normally be
administered by a parent
or guardian to a child
provided:

The medication is
administered by a
caregiver who meets the
requirements in this
regulation;

The caregiver
administers only those




drugs that were
dispensed from a
pharmacy and
maintained in the
original, labeled
container; and

The caregiver
administers drugs only to
the child identified on the
prescription label in
accordance with the
prescriber's instructions
pertaining to dosage,
frequency, and manner
of administration.

The family day home
may administer
nonprescription
medication provided the
medication is:
Administered by a
caregiver 18 years of
age or older who meets
the requirements in this
regulation;

Labeled with the child's
name;

In the original container
with the manufacturer's
direction

label attached; and
Given only at the dose,
duration, and method of
administration specified
on the manufacturer's
label for the age or
weight of the child
needing the medication.
Nonprescription
medication shall not be
used beyond the
expiration date of the
product.




Mandatory reporting
of suspected abuse
or neglect (Family
Child Care Providers)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of hours
of training on mandatory
reporting of suspected
abuse or neglect is not
specified. The orientation
shall cover recognizing
child abuse and neglect
and the legal
requirements for
reporting suspected child
abuse as required by §
63.2-1509 of the Code of
Virginia:

“8 63.2-1509 The
following persons who, in
their professional or
official capacity, have
reason to suspect that a
child is an abused or
neglected child, shall
report the matter
immediately to the local
department of the county
or city wherein the child
resides or wherein the
abuse or neglect is
believed to have
occurred or to the
Department's toll-free
child abuse and neglect
hotline:  Any person
providing full-time or part
-time child care for pay
on a regularly planned
basis; and......
The initial report may be
an oral report but such

Same as Pre-service.




report shall be reduced
to writing by the child
abuse coordinator of the
local department on a
form prescribed by the
Board. Any person
required to make the
report pursuant to this
subsection shall disclose
all information that is the
basis for his suspicion of
abuse or neglect of the
child and, upon request,
shall make available to
the child-protective
services coordinator and
the local department,
which is the agency of
jurisdiction, any
information, records, or
reports that document
the basis for the report.
All persons required by
this subsection to report
suspected abuse or
neglect who maintain a
record of a child who is
the subject of such a
report shall cooperate
with the investigating
agency and shall make
related information,
records and reports
available to the
investigating agency
unless such disclosure
violates the federal
Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act
(20 U.S.C. § 1232g). Any
person required to file a
report pursuant to this
section who fails to do so
within 72 hours of his
first suspicion of child




abuse or neglect shall be
fined not more than $500
for the first failure and for
any subsequent failures
not less than $100 nor
more than $1,000.”




Child development
(Family Child Care
Providers)

The annual training for
licensed caregivers
(currently 12 hours) shall
cover areas such as, but
not limited to: physical,
intellectual, social and
emotional child
development. Unlicensed
providers who receive
subsidies must have at
least 4 hours of skills
training in child
development annually.

The licensed program
provider shall orient the
substitute provider and
assistant by the end of
their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours for the
staff is not specified.The
orientation shall cover
the standards that relate
to child development,
including:

The child’s record shall
contain information on
chronic physical
problems, pertinent
developmental
information, and any
special accommodations
needed.

In order to promote the
child's physical,
intellectual, emotional,
and social well-being and
growth, caregivers shall:
1. Talk to the child;

2. Provide needed help,
comfort, and support;3.
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Respect personal
privacy;

4. Respect differences in
cultural, ethnic, and
family backgrounds;

5. Encourage decision-
making abilities;

6. Promote ways of
getting along;

7. Encourage
independence and self-
direction; and

8. Use consistency in
applying expectations.

Caregivers shall provide
age-appropriae activities
for children in care
throughout the day that

1. Are based on the
physical, social,
emotional, and
intellectual needs of the
children;

2. Reflect the diversity of
enrolled children's
families, culture, and
ethnic backgrounds; and
3. Enhance the total
development of children.

Infants and toddlers shall
be provided with
opportunities to:

1. Interact with
caregivers and other
children in the home in
order to stimulate
language development;
2. Play with a wide
variety of safe, age-
appropriate toys;

3. Receive individual
attention from caregivers




including, but not limited
to, holding, cuddling,
talking, and reading; and
4. Reach, grasp, pull up,
creep, crawl, and walk to
develop motor skills.

Infants and toddlers shall
spend no more than 30
minutes of consecutive
time during waking
hours, with the exception
of mealtimes, confined in
a crib, play pen, high
chair or other confining
piece of equipment. The
intervening time period
between confinements
shall be at least one
hour.

Staffing shall be
appropriate and
adequate to meet the
specific physical and
developmental needs of
a child with special
needs in care.

The provider and the
parent of the child with
special needs shall
mutually determine a
recommendation for the
level of staffing
necessary to care for
and supervise the child
based on the child's
chronological and
functional age and
degree of disability.
Caregivers shall use
positive methods of
discipline. Discipline
shall be constructive in
nature and include
techniques such as:




Using limits that are fair,
consistently applied,
appropriate, and
understandable for the
child's level of
development;

When time out is used as
a discipline technique:
1. It shall be used
sparingly and shall not
exceed one minute for
each year of the child's
age

2. It shall be appropriate
to the child's
developmental level and
circumstances;

3. It shall not be used
with infants or toddlers

Caregivers shall provide
information daily to
parents about the child's
health, development,
behavior, adjustment, or
needs.




Supervision of
children (Family Child
Care Providers)

When at least one child
receives care for
compensation, all
children, exclusive of the
provider's own children
and children who reside
in the home, who are in
the care and supervision
of a provider, count in
the licensed capacity. An
assistant under the age
of 18 years of age shall
always work under the
direct supervision of the
provider or substitute
provider. Direct
supervision means being
able to hear or see the
assistant and children at
all times.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
supervision of children is
not specified.The
orientation shall cover
the standards related to
the supervision of
children and include the
following:

Sharp kitchen utensils
and other sharp objects
shall be inaccessible to
children unless being
used by the caregiver or
with children under close
supervision.

Small electrical
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appliances such as, but
not limited to, curling
irons, toasters, blenders,
can openers, and irons
shall be unplugged
unless being used by the
caregiver or with children
under close supervision.
Children under two years
of age and children over
two years of age who are
not developmentally
ready to climb or
descend stairs without
supervision shall not
have access to stairs.

A caregiver shall be
physically present on site
and provide direct care
and supervision of each
child at all times. Direct
care and supervision of
each child includes:

1. Awareness of and
responsibility for each
child in care, including
being near enough to
intervene if needed; and
2. Monitoring of each
sleeping infant in one of
the following

ways:

a. By placing each infant
for sleep in a location
where the infant is within
sight and hearing of a
caregiver;

b. By in-person
observation of each
sleeping infant at least
once every 15 minutes;
or

c. By using a baby
monitor.




Caregivers shall actively
supervise each child
during outdoor play to
minimize the risk of injury
to a child.

A caregiver may allow
only school age children
to play outdoors while
the caregiver is indoors if
the caregiver can hear
the children playing
outdoors.

Infants shall be protected
from older children.

No child under five years
of age or a child older
than five who lacks the
motor skills and strength
to avoid accidental
drowning, scalding, or
falling while bathing shall
be left unattended while
in the bathtub.

The provider shall
ensure that a caregiver
does not exceed 16
points by using the
following point system to
determine if an additional
caregiver is needed:

1. Children from birth
through 15 months of
age count as four points
each;

2. Children from 16
months through 23
months of age count as
three points each;

3. Children from two
through four years of age
count as two points
each;

4. Children from five
years through nine years
of age count as one




point each; and

5. Children who are 10
years of age and older
count as zero points.
A caregiver's own
children and resident
children under eight
years of age count in
point maximums.

The level of supervision
by caregivers and the
point system as required
in this regulation shall be
maintained while the
children are participating
in swimming or wading
activities.

Caregivers shall have a
system for accounting for
all children in the water.
Outdoor swimming
activities shall occur only
during daylight hours.
When one or more
children are in water that
is more than two feet
deep in a pool, lake, or
other swimming area on
or off the premises of the
family day home:

1. A minimum of least
two caregivers shall be
present and able to
supervise the children;
and

2. An individual currently
certified in basic water
rescue, community water
safety, water safety
instruction, or
lifeguarding shall be on
duty supervising the
children participating in
swimming or wading




activities at all times. The
certification shall be
obtained from an
organization such as, but
not limited to, the
American Red Cross, the
YMCA, or the Boy
Scouts.

The provider shall report
to the department within
24 hours of the
circumstances
surrounding the following
incidents:

1. Lost or missing child
when local authorities
have been contacted for
help,

2. Serious injury to a
child while under the
family day home's
supervision, and

3. Death of a child while
under the family day
home's supervision.

The provider shall
ensure that during
transportation of
children:

1. Each child is in an
individual car seat or
individual and
appropriate restraint in
accordance with Virginia
law;

2. Each child's arms,
legs, and head remain
inside the vehicle;

3. Doors are closed
properly and locked
unless locks were not
installed by the
manufacturer of the




vehicle;

4. No child is left
unattended inside or
outside a vehicle; and

5. Each child boards and
leaves the vehicle from
the curb side of the
street.

For nighttime care,
caregivers shall remain
awake until all children
are asleep and shall
sleep on the same floor
level as the children in
care. A baby monitor
shall be used if the
caregiver is not sleeping
in the room with the child
or in a room adjacent to
the room where the child
is sleeping.




Behavior
management (Family
Child Care Providers)

The annual training for
caregivers (currently 12
hours) shall cover areas
such as, but not limited
to: Behavior
management and
discipline techniques. A
specific number of
training hours on
behavior management is
not specified.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. The
orientation shall cover
the standards relating to
behavior management
and must include the
following:

Caregivers shall use
positive methods of
discipline. Discipline
shall be constructive in
nature and include
techniques such as:
Using limits that are fair,
consistently applied,
appropriate, and
understandable for the
child's level of
development;

Providing children with
reasons for limits;
Giving positively worded
direction;

Modeling and redirecting
children to acceptable
behavior;

Helping children to
constructively express
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their feelings and
frustration to resolve
conflict; and

Arranging equipment,
materials, activities, and
schedules in a way that
promotes desirable
behavior.

When time out is used as
a discipline technique:

It shall be used sparingly
and shall not exceed one
minute for each year of
the child's age;

It shall be appropriate to
the child's developmental
level and circumstances;
It shall not be used with
infants or toddlers;

The child shall be in a
safe, lighted, well-
ventilated place, and
within sight and sound of
a caregiver; and

The child shall not be left
alone inside or outside
the home while
separated from the

group.

The following acts or
threats thereof are
forbidden:

Physical punishment
including, but not limited
to, striking a child,
roughly handling or
shaking a child, biting,
pinching, restricting
movement through
binding or tying, forcing a
child to assume an
uncomfortable position,
or exercise as




punishment;

Enclosure in a small,
confined space or any
space that the child
cannot freely exit
himself; however, this
does not apply to the use
of equipment such as
cribs, play pens, high
chairs, and safety gates
when used for their
intended purpose with
children preschool age or
younger;

Punishment by another
child;

Withholding or forcing of
food, water, or rest;
Verbal remarks that are
demeaning to the child;
Punishment for toileting
accidents; and
Punishment by applying
unpleasant or harmful
substances.

Caregivers shall notify
parents when persistent
behavioral problems are
identified and such
notification shall include
any disciplinary steps
taken in response.




Nutrition (Family
Child Care Providers)

The annual training
(currently 12 hours) shall
cover areas such as, but
not limited to: child
nutrition. A specific
number of training hours
on nutrition is not
specified.

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. The
orientation shall cover
the standards relating to
nutrition including the
following:

Meals and snacks shall
be served in accordance
with the times children
are in care, which
include:

For family day homes
operating less than four
consecutive hours, at
least one snack shall be
served.

For family day homes
operating four to seven
consecutive hours, at
least one meal and one
snhack shall be served.
For family day homes
operating seven to 12
consecutive hours, at
least one meal and two
snhacks, or two meals
and one snack shall be
served.

For family day homes
operating 12 to 16
consecutive hours, at
least two meals and two
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snacks or three meals
and one snack shall be
served.

A family day home shall
ensure that children
arriving from a half-day,
morning program who
have not yet eaten lunch
receive a lunch.

The family day home
shall schedule snacks or
meals so there is a
period of at least 1-1/2
hours, but no more than
three hours, between
each meal or snack
unless there is a
scheduled rest or sleep
period for children
between the meals and
snacks.

Children shall be served
small-sized portions.
Food shall be prepared,
stored, served, and
transported in a clean
and sanitary manner.
Leftover food shall be
discarded from individual
plates following a meal
or snack.

Tables and high chair
trays shall be cleaned
after each use, but at
least daily.

When family day homes
provide meals or snacks,
the following shall apply:
Family day homes shall
follow the most recent,
age-appropriate
nutritional requirements
of a recognized authority
such as the Child and
Adult Care Food




Program of the United
States Department of
Agriculture (USDA).
Children shall be allowed
second helpings of food
listed in the child care
food program meal
patterns.

When food is brought
from home, the following
shall apply:

The food container shall
be clearly labeled in a
way that identifies the
owner;

The family day home
shall have extra food or
shall have provisions to
obtain food to serve to a
child so the child can
have an appropriate
snack or meal as
required in 22 VAC 40-
111-880 if the child
forgets to bring food from
home or brings an
inadequate meal or
snhack; and

Unused portions of food
shall be discarded by the
end of the day or
returned to the parent.
Water shall be available
for drinking and shall be
offered on a regular
basis to all children in
care.

In environments of 80°F
or above, attention shall
be given to the fluid
needs of children at
regular intervals.
Children in such
environments shall be
encouraged to drink




fluids.

Clean individual drinking
cups shall be provided
daily. Children shall not
be allowed to share
common drinking cups.
When meals or snacks
are provided by the
family day home, the
menu for the current one
-week period shall:

Be dated,;

Be given to parents or
posted or placed in an
area accessible to
parents;

List any substituted food,;
and

Be kept on file one week
at the family day home.
Temperatures shall be
maintained at or below
40°F in refrigerator
compartments and at or
below O°F in the freezer
compartments.

The provider shall have
an operable thermometer
available to monitor
refrigerator and freezer
compartment
temperatures.

All perishable foods and
drinks used for children
in care, except when
being prepared and
served, shall be kept in
the refrigerator.

All milk and milk
products shall be
pasteurized.

Powdered milk shall be
used only for cooking.
Infants shall be fed on
demand unless the




parent provides other
written instructions.
Infants who cannot hold
their own bottles shall be
picked up and held for
bottle feeding. Bottles
shall not be propped.
High chairs, infant carrier
seats, or feeding tables
with safety waist and
crotch straps fastened
according to the
manufacturer's
instructions shall be used
for children under 12
months of age who are
not held while being fed.
Infant formula shall be
prepared according to
the manufacturer's or
physician's instructions.
Bottles shall be
refrigerated and labeled
with the child's full name
and the date, if more
than one infant is in care.
Refrigerated bottles of
prepared formula and
breast milk shall be
discarded after 48 hours
if not used.

Bottles shall not be
heated in a microwave
oven.

To avoid burns, heated
formula and baby food
shall be stirred or shaken
and tested for
temperature before being
served to children.

A child's mother shall be
granted access to a
private area of the family
day home to facilitate
breast feeding.




Solid foods shall:

Not be fed to infants less
than four months of age
without parental consent,
and

Be fed with a spoon, with
the exception of finger
foods.

Baby food shall be
served from a dish and
not from the container.
Baby food remaining in:
A serving dish shall be
discarded;

Opened containers, from
which a portion has been
removed, shall be
refrigerated and labeled
with the child's full name
and the date, if more
than one infant is in care;
and

Opened containers
stored in the refrigerator
shall be discarded if not
consumed within 24
hours of storage.

The consistency of food
provided for a child with
special needs shall be
appropriate to any
special feeding needs of
the child.

Necessary and adaptive
feeding equipment and
feeding techniques shall
be used for a child with
special feeding needs.




Breastfeeding
(Family Child Care
Providers)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
breastfeeding is not
specified. The orientation
shall cover the standards
that relate to
breastfeeding, including
the following:

Refrigerated bottles of
prepared formula and
breast milk shall be
discarded after 48 hours
if not used.

A child's mother shall be
granted access to a
private area of the family
day home to facilitate
breast feeding.

Same as Pre-service.




Physical activity
(Family Child Care
Providers)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
physical activity is not
specified. The orientation
shall cover the standards
that relate to physical
activity, including the
following:

The home shall provide
each child with adequate
space to allow free
movement and active
play indoors and out.
Daily age-appropriate
activities shall include:
Opportunities for
alternating periods of
indoor active and quiet
play depending on the
ages of the children;
Opportunities for
vigorous outdoor play
daily, depending upon
the weather, the ages,
and the health of the
children

Opportunities for
structured and
unstructured play time
and provider-directed
and child-initiated
learning activities.
Infants and toddlers shall
be provided with
opportunities to reach,
grasp, pull up, creep,
crawl, and walk to
develop motor skills.

Same as Pre-service.




Infants and toddlers shall
spend no more than 30
minutes of consecutive
time during waking
hours, with the exception
of mealtimes, confined in
a crib, play pen, high
chair or other confining
piece of equipment. The
intervening time period
between confinements
shall be at least one
hour.

Use of media such as,
but not limited to,
television, videos, video
games, and computers
shall be:

Limited to not more than
a total of two hours per
day; and

Limited to programs,
tapes, websites, and
software that are
produced for children or
are suitable for children.
Other activities shall be
available to children
during television or video
viewing.

Caregivers shall actively
supervise each child
during outdoor play to
minimize the risk of injury
to a child.

A caregiver may allow
only school age children
to play outdoors while
the caregiver is indoors if
the caregiver can hear
the children playing
outdoors.




Working with children
with special needs or
disabilities (Family

Child Care Providers)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on working
with children with special
needs or disabilities is
not specified. The
orientation shall cover
the standards related to
working with children
with special needs and
include the following:

“Child with special
needs" means a child
with developmental
disabilities, mental
retardation, emotional
disturbance, sensory or
motor impairment, or
significant chronic illness
who requires special
health surveillance or
specialized programs,
interventions,
technologies, or facilities.
A child’s record shall
contain special
instructions to the
provider including, but
not limited to,
recommendations for the
care and activities of a
child with special needs
as required in this
regulation.

Caregivers shall provide
a child with special
needs with the care and
activities recommended
in writing by a physician,
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psychologist, or other
professional who has
evaluated or treated the
child.

The written
recommendation shall:
Include instructions for
any special treatment,
diet, or restrictions in
activities that are
necessary for the health
of the child; and

Be maintained in the
child's record.

The provider shall
ensure the environment
is appropriate for the
child based on the plan
of care and shall instruct
other caregivers in the
proper techniques of
care.

A caregiver shall perform
only those procedures
and treatments for which
he has the necessary
training, experience,
credentials, or license to
perform.

Staffing shall be
appropriate and
adequate to meet the
specific physical and
developmental needs of
a child with special
needs in care.

The provider and the
parent of the child with
special needs shall
mutually determine a
recommendation for the
level of staffing
necessary to care for
and supervise the child




based on the child's
chronological and
functional age and
degree of disability.
Within 30 days of the
child's enrollment, the
provider shall provide the
department's
representative a written
recommendation for the
level of staffing
necessary to care for
and supervise the child.
The department shall
make the final decision
regarding level of staffing
or any capacity
limitations necessary to
care for, supervise, and
protect all children in
care when a child with
special needs is
receiving care.

The parent, provider, and
department's
representative shall
review the staffing
requirements annually.
A separate area shall be
provided for the purpose
of privacy for diapering,
dressing, and other
personal care
procedures for a child
above age three with
special needs who
requires assistance in
these activities.

The consistency of food
provided for a child with
special needs shall be
appropriate to any
special feeding needs of
the child.

Necessary and adaptive




feeding equipment and
feeding techniques shall
be used for a child with
special feeding needs




Emergency
preparedness and
response (Family
Child Care Providers)

The provider shall orient
the substitute provider
and assistant by the end
of their first week of
assuming job
responsibilities. A
specific number of
training hours on
emergency
preparedness and
response is not
specified.The orientation
shall cover the standards
relating to emergency
preparedness include the
following:

Before the child’s first
day of attendance,
parents shall be provided
in writing provisions of
the family day home's
emergency
preparedness and
response plan;
Caregivers shall be able
to speak, read, and write
in English as necessary
to communicate
effectively with
emergency responders.
The provider shall
provide orientation to the
substitute provider and
assistants including the
following topics:
Emergency evacuation,
relocation, and shelter-in
-place procedures;
Location of emergency
numbers, first aid kit, and
emergency supplies;

A landline telephone,
excluding a cordless or
cell phone, shall be
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available, operable, and
accessible during the
family day home's hours
of operation. An operable
landline telephone is one
that does not require
electricity to operate.
Cordless or cell phones
may be used in addition
to the landline telephone.
Parents shall be
informed of any changes
in the home's emergency
preparedness and
response plan.

If an emergency
evacuation or relocation
IS necessary, the parent
shall be informed of the
child's whereabouts as
soon as possible.

A working battery-
operated flashlight, a
working portable battery-
operated weather band
radio, and extra batteries
shall be keptin a
designated area and be
available to caregivers at
all times.

The following telephone
numbers shall be posted
in a visible area close to
the telephone:

A 911 or local dial
number for police, fire,
and emergency medical
responders;

The responsible person
for emergency backup
care as required in this
regulation; and

The regional poison
control center.

The family day home




shall have a written
emergency
preparedness and
response plan that:
Includes emergency
evacuation, emergency
relocation, and shelter-in
-place procedures;
Addresses the most
likely to occur scenarios,
including but not limited
to fire, severe storms,
flooding, tornadoes, and
loss of utilities; and
Includes provisions for a
responsible person who
is 18 years of age or
older and is able to arrive
at the family day home
within 10 minutes for
emergency backup care
until the children can be
picked up by their
parents.

The provider shall review
the emergency plan at
least annually and
update the plan as
needed. The provider
shall document in writing
each review and update
to the emergency plan.
Evacuation procedures
shall include:

Methods to alert
caregivers and
emergency responders;
Designated primary and
secondary routes out of
the building;

Designated assembly
point away from the
building;

Designated relocation
site;




Methods to ensure all
children are evacuated
from the building and, if
necessary, moved to a
relocation site;

Methods to account for
all children at the
assembly point and
relocation site;

Methods to ensure
essential documents,
including emergency
contact information,
medications, and
supplies are taken to the
assembly point and
relocation site;

Method of
communication with
parents and emergency
responders after the
evacuation; and
Method of
communication with
parents after the
relocation.
Shelter-in-place
procedures shall include:
Methods to alert
caregivers and
emergency responders;
Designated safe location
within the home;
Designated primary and
secondary routes to the
safe location;

Methods to ensure all
children are moved to
the safe location;
Methods to account for
all children at the safe
location;

Methods to ensure
essential documents,
including emergency




contact information, and
supplies are taken to the
safe location; and
Method of
communication with
parents and emergency
responders.

The emergency
evacuation procedures
shall be practiced
monthly with all
caregivers and children
in care during all shifts
that children are in care.
Shelter-in-place
procedures shall be
practiced a minimum of
twice per year.
Documentation shall be
maintained of emergency
evacuation and shelter-in
-place drills that includes:
Identity of the person
conducting the drill:

The date and time of the
drill;

The method used for
notification of the drill;
The number of
caregivers participating;
The number of children
participating;

Any special conditions
simulated;

The time it took to
complete the drill;
Problems encountered, if
any; and

For emergency
evacuation drills only,
weather conditions.
Records of emergency
evacuation and shelter-in
-place drills shall be
maintained for one year.




The provider shall
ensure that each
caregiver receives
training regarding the
emergency evacuation,
emergency relocation,
and shelter-in-place
procedures by the end of
his first week of
assuming job
responsibilities, on an
annual basis, and at the
time of each plan update.
A specific number of
training hours on
emergency evacuation,
emergency relocation
and shelter-in-place
procedures is not
specified.

Other. (Family Child
Care Providers)

Describe:
N/A

N/A

N/A

In-Home Child Care
Providers

CPR (In-Home Child
Care Providers)

N/A

N/A

First Aid (In-Home
Child Care Providers)

N/A

N/A

Training on infectious
diseases (In-Home
Child Care Providers)

N/A

N/A

SIDS prevention
(i.e., safe sleep) (In-
Home Child Care
Providers)

N/A

N/A

Medication
administration (In-
Home Child Care
Providers)

N/A

N/A

Mandatory reporting
of suspected abuse
or neglect (In-Home
Child Care Providers)

N/A

N/A




Child development |\ N/A
(In-Home Child Care
Providers)

Supervision of N/A N/A
children (In-Home
Child Care Providers)

Behavior N/A N/A
management (In-
Home Child Care
Providers)

Nutrition (In-Home  |\/a N/A
Child Care Providers)

Breastfeeding (In- N/A N/A
Home Child Care
Providers)

Physical activity (In-  [\/a N/A
Home Child Care
Providers)

Working with children |\, N/A
with special needs or
disabilities (In-Home

Child Care Providers)

Emergency N/A N/A
preparedness and

response (In-Home
Child Care Providers)

Other. (In-Home N/A N/A
Child Care
Providers)
Describe:

N/A

d) CCDF allows Lead Agencies to exempt relative providers (grandparents, great-
grandparents, siblings if living in a separate residence, aunts, and uncles) from these
health and safety requirements. What are the Lead Agency's requirements for relative
providers? (898.41(A)(ii))(A))

[ All relative providers are subject to the same health and safety requirements as
described in 3.1.2a-c, as appropriate; there are no exceptions for relatives.

[ Relative providers are NOT required to meet any health and safety requirements as
described in 3.1.2a-c, as appropriate. o

M Relative providers are subject to certain requirements.

Describe the different requirements:

Relative providers are subject to the same requirements as other providers, except that grandparents,
great grandparents, aunts, uncles and adult siblings of the children in care (if the adult sibling resides in
a separate residence) are exempt from tuberculosis screenings and completion of the health and safety
checkilist.



e) Provide a web address for the State/Territory's health and safety requirements, if

available:
N/A

3.1.3 Enforcement of Licensing Requirements

Each Lead Agency is required to provide a detailed description of the State/Territory's

licensing requirements and how its licensing requirements are effectively enforced.
(658E(c)(2)(E), 898.40(a)(2)) The Lead Agency is also required to certify that that

procedures are in effect to ensure that child care providers caring for children receiving

CCDF services comply with the applicable health and safety requirements.

(658E(C)(2)(G), §98.41(d))

Describe the State/Territory's policies for effective enforcement of the licensing

requirements using questions 3.1.3a through 3.1.3e below. This description includes

whether and how the State/Territory uses visits (announced and unannounced),

background checks, and any other enforcement policies and practices for the licensing

requirements.

a) Does your State/Territory include announced and/or unannounced Visits in its
policies as a way to effectively enforce the licensing requirements?

M Yes. If "Yes" please refer to the chart below and check all that apply.

™ No.

CCDF Categories of Care

Frequency of Routine
Announced Visits

Frequency of Routine
Unannounced Visits

™
Center-Based Child Care

More than Once a Year

L] L]
Once a Year Once a Year
] [+

More than Once a Year

-

Once Every Two Years

-

Once Every Two Years

™
Other.

-
Other.

Describe:
Once at initial inspection

Describe:
Twice a year.




"2
Group Home Child Care

] L]
Once a Year Once a Year
L] [

More than Once a Year

More than Once a Year

-

Once Every Two Years

-

Once Every Two Years

[

-

Other. Other.
Describe: Describe:
Once at initial inspection Twice a year.
3 [ B
Family Child Care Home Once a Year Once a Year
I' I~

More than Once a Year

More than Once a Year

-

Once Every Two Years

-

Once Every Two Years

[

-

Other. Other.
Describe: Describe:
Once at initial inspection. Twice a year.
I' N I'
In-Home Child Care Once a Year Once a Year
| B

More than Once a Year

More than Once a Year

-

Once Every Two Years

-

Once Every Two Years

-
Other.

~
Other.

Describe:

Describe:

b) Does your State/Territory have any of the following procedures in place for effective

enforcement of the licensing requirements? If procedures differ based on the category of

care, please indicate how in the "Describe" box.

Myes. If "Yes" please refer to the chart below and check all that apply.

"' No.




Licensing Procedures

Describe which procedures are used by the
State/Territory for enforcement of the
licensing requirements.

The State/Territory requires providers to
attend or participate in training relating to
opening a child care facility prior to issuing
a license.

v
Yes.

Describe:
Two orientation classes of licensing standards

-
No.

r
Other.

Describe:

Licensing staff has procedures in place to
address violations found in an inspection.

v
Providers are required to submit plans to
correct violations cited during inspections.

v

Licensing staff approve the plans of
correction submitted by providers.

v

Licensing staff verify correction of violation.

v
Licensing staff provide technical assistance
regarding how to comply with a regulation.

-

No procedures in place.

r
Other.

Describe:




Licensing staff has procedures in place to
iIssue a negative sanction to a noncompliant
facility.

v

Provisional or probationary license

2

License revocation or non-renewal

v

Injunctions through court

-

Emergency or immediate closure not
through court action

2

Fines for regulatory violations

-

No procedures in place.

r
Other.

Describe:

The State/Territory has procedures in place
to respond to illegally operating child care
facilities.

-

Cease and desist action

2

Injunction

-

Emergency or immediate closure not
through court action

=

Fines

~

No procedures in place.

-
Other.

Describe:

The State/Territory has procedures in place
for providers to appeal licensing
enforcement actions.

v

Yes.

Describe:
Informal conference, administrative hearing, circuit
court review

-
No.

-
Other.

Describe:




c) Describe what types of licensing violations, if any, would make a provider ineligible to

participate in CCDF:

Providers would be ineligible to receive CCDF subsidy dollars if they have a conviction of a barrier crime

or, for providers who are required to be licensed, if their child care program license is denied or revoked.

Barrier Crime Violations are extensive and are listed (under"Background Investigations™) on this website:
http://lwww.dss.virginia.gov/facility/Icpa.cgi

d) Does your State/Territory use background checks as a way to effectively enforce the
licensing requirements?

M ves.

If "Yes" please use refer to the chart below to identify who is required to have background
checks, what types of checks, and with what frequency. Please also provide a brief
overview of the State/Territory's process for conducting background checks for child
care. For example, describe what types of violations would make providers ineligible for
CCDF, funding for background checks, and the process for providers to appeal
background check findings.


http://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/lcpa.cgi

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/licensing/fdh/intro_page/code_regulations/regulations/032-05-
163-04.pdf

Regarding background checks, providers would be ineligible to receive CCDF subsidy dollars if they
have a conviction of a barrier crime or if their child care program license is denied or revoked. Barrier
Crime Violations are extensive and are listed on this website:
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/lcpa.cgi. Child care programs that wish to receive subsidy dollars
must comply with the background checks requirement. Reasons for denial or revocation of the child
care program license in relation to background checks are cited in § 63.2-1722 of the Code of Virginia.

All licensed child day programs and recipients of CCDF subsidy funds are required to conduct
background checks. A complete background check includes three separate documents:
sworn statement or affirmation;

criminal history record check; and

child protective services central registry check.

Criminal history background checks are required for the following:

the applicant for licensure;

any individual involved in the day to day operations of the child day program or who will be alone with
children; and

adult household members in family day homes.

The sworn statement is completed by the individual and requires the person to describe any criminal
conviction or pending charge they have had and any founded complaints of child abuse and neglect
they have had.

Complete criminal history background checks are required at initial licensure and at three-year intervals.
They are conducted by the Virginia State Police and the results are sent to the requestor. The provider
must evaluate any convictions found on the record to determine if there are convictions for any barrier
crimes or offenses, as described in 8 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia. If a conviction for a barrier
crime or offense is found, the child day program is prohibited from hiring or continuing to employ the
individual. A license would be denied or revoked if a family day home provider household member was
convicted of a barrier crime. Refusal to conduct criminal history background checks is reason for denial
or revocation of a license as well.

The child protective services central registry check is required for the following:

all individuals involved in the day to day operations of the child day program or who will be alone with
children; and

caregivers and household members in family day homes over the age of 14.

The Virginia Central Registry is checked for any founded cases of child abuse or neglect with the
results of this check sent to the requestor. If any founded case of child abuse or neglect is found, the
person is not eligible for employment in a child day program. Any existing license may be revoked. A
license would be denied or revoked if a family day home applicant had a founded case of child abuse or
neglect.

VDSS does NOT provide funding for criminal background checks unless there is an approved
justification through the local Quality Initiative (QI) Program (CCDF). The Quality Initiative Program is
for local departments of social services (LDSS) to conduct customized local activities to improve the
guality of child care in their locality. Each year VDSS provides an allocation to LDSSs based on their
subsidy needs and population. The LDSSs that want to participate, and have the local 15.5% match,
must submit a plan to the VDSS Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development. Typically, QI
funds are not used for basic business requirements, such as criminal background checks. However, a
justification to use QI funding for criminal background checks may be made if an extreme need for child
care providers exists in the locality coupled with an extreme financial need of the provider. These
requests are provided by July 1 through the Quality Initiative Plan approval process. Otherwise,
providers must pay for the background checks. The criminal history record check costs $15, and the
central registry check costs $7; there is no charge for the sworn statement.

An individual may challenge their criminal record by contacting the Virginia State Police. Appeal rights
would have been offered to an individual with a founded child protective services record at the time of
the finding. In some circumstances, if an individual wishes to appeal background check findings, they
may submit a waiver from the Commissioner of the Department, as described in § 63.2-1723. Further
information can be found in 22 VAC 40-191, Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies. The CPS
appeals process is found at this website: http://www.dss.virginia.gov/appeals/cps.cqgi

Lastly, the appeal process for a provider who is terminated from the VDSS Child Care Subsidy Program



http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/licensing/fdh/intro_page/code_regulations/regulations/032-05-163-04.pdf
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/licensing/fdh/intro_page/code_regulations/regulations/032-05-163-04.pdf
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/facility/lcpa.cgi
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/appeals/cps.cgi

is provided in Section 1.3.5 of this Plan.

" No.

CCDF Categories of Care

Types of Background
Check

Frequency




™
Center-Based Child Care

™
Child Abuse Reqistry

Who is subject to
background checks for
center-based care? For
example, director, teaching
staff, non-teaching staff,
volunteers:

All officers and agents of the
licensed legal entity, all staff,
volunteers left alone with
children

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

v
State/Territory Criminal
Background

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

W~
Initial Entrance into the
System

-
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

-

FBI Criminal Background
(e.q., fingerprint)

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

~
Other.

Describe:

~
Sex Offender Reqistry

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

-
Other.

Describe:




™
Group Child Care Homes

™
Child Abuse Reqistry

Who is subject to
background checks for
group homes? For example,
provider, non-provider
residents of the home:
Provider, any caregiver, adult
household members and
volunteers. Household members
over the age of 14 are subject to
child abuse registry checks.

™
Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

v
State/Territory Criminal
Background

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

W~
Initial Entrance into the
System

-
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

-

FBI Criminal Background
(e.q., fingerprint)

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

~
Other.

Describe:

™
Sex Offender Reqistry

™
Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

Describe:
Updated every 3 years




v
Family Child Care Homes

™
Child Abuse Reqistry

Who is subject to
background checks for
family child care homes?
For example, provider, non-
provider residents of the
home:

Provider, any caregiver, adult
household members, and
volunteers. Household members
over the age of 14 are subject to
child abuse registry checks.

™
Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

v
State/Territory Criminal
Background

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

W~
Initial Entrance into the
System

-
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

-

FBI Criminal Background
(e.q., fingerprint)

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

~
Other.

Describe:

~
Sex Offender Reqistry

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

-
Other.

Describe:




™
In-Home Child Care
Providers

™
Child Abuse Reqistry

Who is subject to
background checks for in-
home child care? For
example, provider, non-
provider residents of the
home:

Provider, any caregiver, adult
household members, and
volunteers. Household members
over the age of 14 are subject to
child abuse registry checks.

™
Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

v
State/Territory Criminal
Background

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

W~
Initial Entrance into the
System

-
Checks Conducted Annually

™
Other.

Describe:
Updated every 3 years

-

FBI Criminal Background
(e.q., fingerprint)

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

~
Other.

Describe:

~
Sex Offender Reqistry

-

Initial Entrance into the
System

~
Checks Conducted Annually

-
Other.

Describe:

e) If not performing visits (announced or unannounced) or background checks, describe
how the State/Territory will ensure that its licensing requirements are effectively enforced

per the CCDF regulations? (658E(c)(2)(E), 898.40(a)(2)):




N/A

f) Does the State/Territory disseminate information to parents and the public, including
the use of on-line tools or other "search tools," about child care program licensing status
and compliance records?

M ves.
Describe:

Public Website information includes: inspections, violations, licensure term, compliance history,
complaints, search by facility/provider name, county, and zip code.

™ No.

3.1.4 Describe the State/Territory's policies for effective enforcement of the CCDF
health and safety requirements. For providers who care for children receiving CCDF
assistance and who are NOT subject to the enforcement procedures described above for
licensed providers, please describe the health and safety enforcement measures in
place. Include in this description whether and how the State/Territory uses on-site visits
(announced and unannounced) and background checks and any other enforcement
policies and practices for the health and safety requirements.

Unlicensed child care providers who serve children who receive a child care subsidy are required to
submit to a criminal background check. This includes the provider, any employee; a prospective
employee; a volunteer, an agent involved in the day-to-day operation; an agent alone with, in control of,
or supervising one or more children; or any other adult living in a family day home. The same individuals
are required to provide a sworn statement or affirmation disclosing whether the person has ever been (i)
the subject of a founded case of child abuse or neglect or (ii) convicted of a crime or is the subject of any
pending criminal charges within the Commonwealth or any equivalent offense outside of the
Commonwealth. Any person making a materially false statement regarding any such offense shall be
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

The same individuals are required to submit to a Child Protective Services Central Registry check and
results of the check are provided to the appropriate local department of social services.

Individuals found to have a barrier crime as defined by the Code of Virginia or a founded child protective
services complaint are not eligible to provide care for the Child Care Subsidy Program.

Providers and parents must submit written documentation of the completion of a health and safety
checklist that attests to compliance with health and safety practices.



3.1.5 Does the State/Territory encourage or require child care programs to conduct
developmental screening and referral for children participating in child care
programs? Lead Agencies are not required to conduct developmental screenings of
children, but are encouraged to work with child care providers to promote screening in the
areas of physical health (including vision and hearing), mental health, oral health, and
developmental disabilities..

7 Yes.
Describe

Through the Virginia Star Quality Initiative, Infant and Toddler Specialist Network, Infant and Toddler
social/emotional grants, and trainings about inclusion, the Lead Agency encourages child care providers
to conduct preliminary screenings of children in their care, become knowledgeable about resources
available in their community, and communicate with parents when they notice child development that is
not typical.

a) If yes, are training, resources and supports offered to programs to assist them in
ensuring that children receive appropriate developmental screenings?

Yes.
Describe

M No

I Other.

Describe

b) If yes, are resources and supports provided to programs to help them understand how
families are referred to indicated services and how to work with the health, mental health,
and developmental disabilities agencies to support children when follow-up to screening
Is needed?

Yes.
Describe

™ No

W Other.

Describe

Providers have access to information and resources, but the Lead Agency does not provide a statewide
standard resource listing or a structured support/training program.




™ No

I Other.

Describe

3.1.6 Data & Performance Measures on Licensing and Health and Safety
Compliance - What data elements, if any, does the State/Territory currently have access
to related to licensing compliance? What, if any, performance measures does the Lead
Agency use for ensuring health and safety? The purpose of these questions is for Lead
Agencies to provide a description of their capacity to provide information, not to require
Lead Agencies to collect or report this information. For any data elements checked in (a)
below, Lead Agencies may provide an optional description about the data they have
access to (e.g., the Lead Agency may have data for only licensed programs, only
programs caring for children receiving CCDF subsidies, only providers participating in
qguality improvement systems, or only for certain age groups (e.g., infants and toddlers or
school-age children).

a) Data on licensing and health and safety. Indicate if the Lead Agency or another
agency has access to data on:

M Number of licensed programs.
Describe (optional):

"7 Numbers of programs operating that are legally exempt from licensing.
Describe (optional):

M Number of programs whose licenses were suspended or revoked due to non-
compliance.
Describe (optional):

M Number of injuries and fatalities in child care as defined by the State/Territory.
Describe (optional):

M Number of monitoring visits received by programs.
Describe (optional):



M Caseload of licensing staff.
Describe (optional):

" Number of programs revoked from CCDF due to non-compliance with health and
safety requirements.
Describe (optional):

! Other.
Describe:

[ None.
b) Performance measurement. What, if any, performance measures does the
State/Territory use in its licensing system to monitor compliance with CCDF health and

safety requirements?

Licensing staff monitors compliance with licensing regulations, not specifically with CCDF health and
safety requirements. However, all the CCDF health and safety requirements of Section 98.41 of 45 CFR
Part 98 are included in licensing regulations for child day centers and family day homes.

In 2010, the General Assembly required (with an effective date of November 1, 2010) that DSS,
consulting with key stakeholder groups, develop unambiguous performance standards for issuing one-,
two-, and three-year licenses to assisted living facilities (ALFs). Similar to the Licensing Safety Matrix,
the Division of Licensing chose to develop performance standards applicable to all adult and children’s
facilities since the issues affecting ALFs are not unique to ALFs alone. The standards developed are for:
initial (or provisional), 1-, 2-, and 3-year licenses.

The performance indicators (i.e., standards) being field-tested now with adult and children’s facilities by
Licensing Inspectors — between January and June 2011 — are: (1) the average number of non-
compliances; (2) the average Risk/Safety Matrix score assessed from violations of key health and safety
standards; and (3) one or more “negative” events, where “negative” includes: receiving a sanction;
having a valid complaint with a Risk/Safety rating of “B-2” or higher; and/or being required by the

Division to develop an Intensive Plan of Correction for one or more egregious non-compliances. The first
two measures can be generated from DOLPHIN reports. DOLPHIN is the Licensing division’s automated
system. The third measure requires an Inspector to review the facility’s files for “negative” events.

The Supervisor/Inspector’'s Risk Profile (or “Performance Tracking”) Report is designed to enable the
Inspector to track the performance of a licensee based on inspections from the initial, renewal, and all
subsequent inspections, including complaint investigations, conducted during the licensure period
selected. The Performance Tracking Report will enable a Supervisor/Inspector to compare the licensee
with the facility’s peer group of facilities on the three performance indicators.

Ultimately, in accord with the General Assembly’s 2010 directive, the reason to add a reliable
Performance Tracking Report for adult and children’s facilities is to increase the consistency of ratings
for the issuance of initial (or provisional), 1-, 2-, and 3-year licenses to adult and children’s facilities, both
within and across Department licensing offices in Virginia.

Performance standards are being piloted now.

c) Evaluation. What, if any, are the State/Territory's plans for evaluation related to



licensing and health and safety? Evaluation can include efforts related to monitoring
implementation of an initiative, validation of standards or assessment tools, or looking at

outcomes in programs or the system and may be ongoing or conducted periodically.
The Risk Assessment Initiative will be monitored.

3.1.7 Goals for the next Biennium - In this section, Lead Agencies are asked to identify
at least one goal for the upcoming biennium. Lead Agencies are encouraged to include
measurable and achievable goals. Lead Agencies may include existing goals (e.g.,
already identified in a State strategic plan or established by the Governor for a Lead
Agency). ACF will target technical assistance efforts to help Lead Agencies achieve their
goal(s). Lead Agencies are not required to establish a goal for each sub-section of 3.1.
What are the Lead Agency's goals for the licensing and health and safety system in the
coming biennium? What progress does the State/Territory expect to make on core areas
(e.g. licensing standards, monitoring visits or other effective enforcement, improved

technical assistance, or fewer serious non-compliances?)
The Division of Licensing Programs (DOLP) plans to continue consistent enforcement of key health and
safety standards. DOLP plans to update and improve technical assistance.

3.2 Establishing Voluntary Early Learning Guidelines (Component #2)

For purposes of this section, voluntary early learning guidelines include the expectations
for what children should know (content) and be able to do (skills). The term early learning
guidelines (ELGS) refers to age-appropriate developmental learning guidelines for infants
and toddlers and school-age children. These guidelines are voluntary in that
States/Territory are not mandated to develop such guidelines or implement them in a
specified manner.

3.2.1 Has the State/Territory developed voluntary early learning guidelines for
children? Check any early learning guidelines the State/Territory has developed.

M Birth-to-three
M Three-to-five
[ Five years and older
I None. Skip to 3.2.6.



If yes, insert web addresses, where possible:
Milestones of Child Development, found at
http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cc/professionals_resources.cgi

Which State/Territory agency is the lead for the early learning guidelines?
Virginia Department of Social Services (Milestones of Child Development)

3.2.2 Do the early learning guidelines cover arange of domains across physical,
cognitive, and social and emotional development? Check all that apply for each age
group as applicable in the chart below. Because States vary in their domain names and
which domains to include, we have used the domains identified in the Head Start Child
Development and Early Learning Framework for reference purposes.

Domains Birth-to-Three ELGs |Three-to-Five ELGs |Five and Older
ELGs

Physical v 7 I

development and

health

Social and emotional ||+ [ '

development

Approaches to W v N

learning

Logic and reasoning | 2 C

(e.g., problem-

solving)

Language W v N

development

Literacy knowledge | 2 C

and skills

Mathematics [+ [ ]

knowledge and skills

Science knowledge |+ v ]

and skills

Creative arts v v N

expression (e.g.,

music, art, drama)

Social studies v v ]

knowledge and skills

English language
development (for
dual language

-
-
-

learners)

List any domains not || [ H .
covered in the

above:

Other. Describe: L] B -




3.2.3 To whom are the early learning guidelines disseminated and in what manner?
Check all audiences and methods that your State/Territory has chosen to use in the chart
below.

Information Voluntary Training Mandatory Training
Dissemination
Parents in the child |+ ] I
care subsidy system
Parents using child | ] ]
care more broadly
Practitioners in child |V [ '
care centers
Providers in family v v '
child care homes
Practitioners in Head |V v ]
Start
Practitioners in Early |+ [ '
Head Start
Practitioners in public ([T W o
Pre-K program
Practitioners in v v ]
elementary schools
Other. List: |_ - |

3.2.4 Are voluntary early learning guidelines incorporated into other parts of the
child care system? Check which ways, if any, the State/Territory incorporates its early
learning guidelines into other parts of the child care system.

[ To define the content of training required to meet licensing requirements

[ To define the content of training required for program quality improvement standards
(e.g., QRIS standards)

[ To define the content of training required for the career lattice or professional
credential

" To require programs in licensing standards to develop curriculum/learning activities
based on the voluntary ELGs

M To require programs in quality improvement standards to develop curriculum/learning
activities based on the voluntary ELGs

M To develop State-/Territory -approved curricula

[ Other.

" None.

3.2.5 Are voluntary early learning guidelines aligned with into other parts of the
child care system? Check the standards, if any, with which the State/Territory aligns its
early learning guidelines.



M Cross-walked to align with Head Start Outcomes Framework
M Cross-walked to align with K-12 content standards

M Cross-walked to align with State/Territory pre-k standards

I Cross-walked with accreditation standards

[ Other.

™ None.

3.2.6 Describe how your State/Territory uses ongoing assessments and measures
of school readiness assessment using the following series of questions. In this
section, assessment is framed with two distinct purposes/tools - 1) ongoing assessment
of children's progress within the classroom to improve and individualize instruction (this
corresponds to 3.2.6a) and 2) assessments conducted at kindergarten entry to inform
policymakers about the school readiness of children across the State on a broad range of
domains, used to guide program initiatives (this corresponds to 3.2.6b).

In the description for each Yes response, please include a) who administers, and b) how
often assessments are conducted, and c) what assessment tools are used.

a) Are programs required to conduct ongoing assessments of children's progress of
children using valid, reliable and age-appropriate tools aligned with the early learning
uidelines or other child standards?
Yes.
Describe:

b-1) If yes, are programs encouraged to use information from ongoing assessments to
iImprove practice and individual children's needs?

Yes.
Describe:

" No

[ Other.
Describe:

b-2) If yes, is information on child's progress reported to parents?
Yes.
Describe:

™ No



I Other.
Describe:

M No

[ Other.
Describe:

b) Does the State/Territory use tools that are valid, reliable and age-appropriate to track
the readiness of children as they enter kindergarten?

Yes.
Describe:

c-1) If yes, do the tools cover the developmental domains identified in 3.2.27?
Yes.
Describe:

™ No

I Other.
Describe:

c-2) If yes, are the tools used on all children or samples of children?
[ All children.
Describe:

O Samples of children.

Describe:

I Other.

Describe:

c-3) If yes, is the information from the school readiness measures used to target program
quality improvement activities?



[ Yes.
Describe:

™ No

I Other.
Describe:

M No

[ Other.
Describe:

c) Is school readiness information linked to the statewide longitudinal data system (SLDS,
rogram of the Department of Education)?
Yes.
Describe:

™ No

M Not applicable. State does not have an SLDS.

3.2.7 Data & Performance Measures on Voluntary Early Learning Guidelines (Click
for additional instructions)

a) Data on voluntary early learning guidelines. Indicate if the Lead Agency or another
agency has access to data on:

[ Number/percentage of child care providers trained on ELG's for preschool aged

children.
Describe (optional):

] Number/percentage of child care providers trained on ELG's for infants and toddlers.
Describe (optional):

" Number of programs using ELG's in planning for their work.
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Describe (optional):

" Number of parents trained on or served in family support programs that use ELG's.
Describe (optional):

[ Other.
Describe:

™ None.
b) Performance measurement. What, if any, are the Lead Agency's performance
measures related to dissemination and implementation of the early learning guidelines?

Currently we do not have any specific performance measures for the early learning guidelines; however,
the Virginia Star Quality Initiative (Virginia’s QRIS program) mentors use the early learning guidelines to
work with child care programs while developing quality improvement plans.

c) Evaluation. What are the State/Territory's plans, if any, for evaluation related to early
learning guidelines? Evaluation can include efforts related to monitoring implementation
of an initiative validation of standards or program assessment tools, or looking at
outcomes in programs or the system and may be ongoing or conducted periodically.

The Lead Agency may explore possible ways to capture data related to the Milestones of Child
Development and develop a pilot plan to implement this strategy.

3.2.8 Goals for the next Biennium -

In this section, Lead Agencies are asked to identify at least one goal for the upcoming
biennium. Lead Agencies are encouraged to include measurable and achievable goals.
Lead Agencies may include existing goals (e.g., already identified in a State strategic
plan or established by the Governor for a Lead Agency). ACF will target technical
assistance efforts to help Lead Agencies achieve their goal(s). What are the Lead
Agency's goals for using voluntary early learning guidelines in the coming biennium?
What progress does the Lead Agency expect to make related to early learning
guidelines?

The Lead Agency is in the process of developing a system (through Project Child HANDS) that will
capture data from several different sources and link the data for a more comprehensive view of an
anonymous child. It would be beneficial if we are able to capture the developmental progress of children
related to the early learning guidelines, especially those involved in subsidy programs or programs
participating in the Virginia Star Quality Initiative. This may take the form of researching assessment
tools or strategies and having discussions with researchers about the best assessment approach for
Virginia.




3.3 Creating Pathways to Excellence for Child Care Programs through Program
Quality Improvement Activities (Component #3) (Click for additional instructions)

a) Describe which entities are involved in planning and administering the program quality
Improvement activities in 3.3, including State/Territory entities and local or community
level entities.

VDSS and the Virginia Early Childhood Foundation lead the administration of the QRIS. The Star Quality
Advisory Team, which is comprised of representatives from the Department of Education, the
Department of Health, Head Start, private for-profit and not-for-profit programs, higher education, and
business community, assist with program planning in an advisory capacity.

3.3.1 Element 1 - Program Standards

Definition - For purposes of this section, program standards refers to the expectations
for quality, or quality indicators, which identify different levels of and pathways to
improved quality. Minimum licensing standards and health and safety requirements
provided in section 3.1 are also program standards but in this section, we focus on those
standards that build upon and go beyond those minimum requirements.

a) Does your State/Territory's have quality improvement standards that include indicators
covering the following areas beyond what is required for licensing? Check any indicators,
if any, that your State/Territory has chosen to establish.

M Ratios and group size

M Health, nutrition and safety

¥ Learning environment and curriculum

M staff/Provider gualifications and professional development
¥ Teacher/providers-child relationships

¥ Teacher/provider instructional practices

¥ Family partnerships and family strengthening

] Community relationships

M Administration and management

] Developmental screenings

[ Child assessment for the purposes of individualizing instruction and/or targeting
program improvement

[ cultural competence

I Other.
Describe:

["! None. If checked, skip to 3.3.2.
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b) Does your State/Territory have quality improvement standards with provisions about
the care of any of these groups of children? Check any provisions your State/Territory
has chosen to establish.

™ Children with special needs as defined by your State/Territory
M Infants and toddlers

] School-age children

[ Children who are dual language learners

™! None

c) How do your State/Territory's quality standards link to State/Territory licensing
requirements? Check any links between your State/Territory's quality standards and
licensing requirements.

] Licensing is a pre-requisite for participation
¥ Licensing is the first tier of the quality levels
] State/Territory license is a "rated" license.

I Other.
Describe:

I Not linked.

d) Do your State/Territory's quality improvement standards align with or have reciprocity
with any of the following standards? Check any alignment, if any, between your
State/Territory's quality standards and other standards.

rograms that meet State/Territory pre-k standards are able to meet all or part of the
Mp that meet State/Territ k standard ble t tall t of th
quality improvement standards (e.g., content of the standards is the same, or there is a
reciprocal agreement between pre-k and the quality improvement system)

rograms that meet Federal Head Start Performance Standards are able to meet all or
Cp that meet Federal Head Start Perf Standard ble t t all
part of the quality improvement standards (e.g., content of the standards is the same, or
there is a reciprocal agreement between Head Start and the quality improvement system)

rograms that meet national accreditation standards are able to meet all or part of the
p that meet national ditation standard ble t t all or part of th
quality improvement standards (e.g., content of the standards is the same, or an
alternative pathway to meeting the standards)

[ Other.
Describe:

T None.

3.3.2 Element 2 - Supports to Programs to Improve Quality

Definition - For purposes of this section, supports to programs to improve quality refers
to such activities as technical assistance and consultation services for programs to assist
in meeting child care quality improvement standards.



a) Check which types of and for what purposes the State/Territory uses supports to child
care programs, if any, in the following chart. If none, skip to 3.3.3.

" None. skip to 3.3.3.

Types and Information or Training On-Site
Purposes of Written Materials Consultation
Support

v

Attaining and v IF 7
maintaining licensing

compliance

v
Attaining and
maintaining quality 7 7 ™
improvement
standards beyond
licensing

-

Attaining and M ] =
maintaining
accreditation

"2

Providing targeted
technical assistance
in specialized content
areas:

Health and safety

Infant/toddler care

School-age care

Inclusion

Teaching dual
lanquage learners

Mental health

Business
management
practices

O O oo oo«
I i RS Y
O O oo noanosE|=

Other. Describe:




b) Methods used to customize quality improvement supports to the needs of individual
programs include:

T Program improvement plans
M Technical assistance on the use of program assessment tools

! Other.
Describe:

c) Is technical assistance linked to entering the QRIS or targeted to help programs
forward on QRIS?

7 Yes.
Describe:

Programs receive technical assistance (TA) from the local coalition or the assigned mentor. The TA
includes support for completing the required documents, an overview of the instruments, and an
explanation of the rating process.

™ No

I Other.
Describe:

3.3.3 Element 3 - Financial Incentives and Supports

Definition - For purposes of this section, financial incentives refers to the types of
monetary supports offered to programs in meeting and sustaining licensing and QRIS or
other child care quality improvement standards for programs.

a) ldentify which types of financial incentives are offered and to which providers in the
following chart. Check which incentives and supports, if any, the State/Territory chooses
to offer. If none, skip to 3.3.4.

[ None. skip to 3.3.4.

Types of Financial |Child Care Centers |Child Care Homes |[License-Exempt
Incentives and Providers
Supports for
Programs




-

Grants to programs M . ]
to meet or maintain
licensing
B
Grants to programs M w =

to meet QRIS or
similar quality level

[

One-time awards or
bonuses on 3 ] v

completion of quality
standard attainment

-
Tiered
reimbursement tied u O [
to quality for children
receiving subsidy

-
On-going, periodic
grants or stipends ] ] [
tied to maintaining
quality

n
Tax credits tied to u = -
meeting program
quality standards

-
Other. ] L] L]

Describe:

3.3.4 - Element 4 - Quality Assurance and Monitoring

Definition - For purposes of this section, quality assurance and monitoring refers to the
ways that the State/Territory measures program quality for the purposes of its QRIS or
other quality improvement system and the methods for measuring that the child care
quality improvement standards for programs are met initially and maintained over time.

a) What tools, if any, does the State/Territory use to measure and monitor the quality of
programs? Check all that apply and briefly describe using the chart below, including
which programs are required to participate and the frequency of assessments. If none,
skip to 3.3.5.



" None. skip to 3.3.5.

Types of Program Quality Assessment |Child Care Child Care |License-
Tools Centers Homes Exempt

Providers
¢ Environment Rating Scales (e.g., ¥ Infant/Toddler I_ 3

ECERS, ITERS, SACERS, FDCRS)

Describe, including frequency of
assessments. [TISchool-Age

A sample of classrooms for each age group is
assessed every two years.

¥ Preschool

¥ Classroom Assessment Scoring System 7 N/A 7
(CLASYS)

Describe, including frequency of
assessments.

A sample of classrooms for each age group is
assessed every two years.

" Program Administration Scale (PAS) for [ I_ [
child care centers or Business
Administration Scale (BAS) for family
child care homes

Describe, including frequency of
assessments.

[T Customized instrument, including r [ [
submission of written documentation,
developed for State/Territory quality
improvement system. This may include
instruments developed for quality
improvements in 21st Century Learning
Center programs

Describe, including frequency of
assessments.

[ Other. ] L] L]

Describe:

b) What steps, if any, has the State/Territory taken to align quality assurance and
monitoring across funding streams and sectors in order to minimize duplication?

["' Have a mechanism to track different quality assessments/monitoring activities to avoid
duplication

[ Include QRIS or other quality reviews as part of licensing enforcement

7 Have compliance monitoring in one sector (e.g., Head Start/Early Head Start,




State/Territory pre-k) serve as validation for compliance with quality improvement system
(e.g., QRIS) without further review

Have monitoring for meeting accreditation standards serve as validation for
compliance with quality improvement system (e.g., QRIS) without further review

I Other.
Describe:

7 None.

3.3.5 - Element 5 - Outreach and Consumer Education

Definition - For purposes of this section, outreach and consumer education refers to the
strategies used to promote the child care quality improvement standards to parents,
programs and the general public.

a) Does the State/Territory use symbols or simple icons to communicate levels of quality
for child care programs beyond what may communicated to parents about licensing
status and licensing compliance as reported in 3.1.3? (e.qg. stars, or gold/silver/bronze
levels).

M vYes. If yes, how is it used?

-

Resource and referral/consumer education services use with parents seeking care

-

Parents enrolling in child care subsidy are educated about the system and the quality
level of the provider that they are selecting

v

Searchable database on the web

v

Voluntarily, visibly posted in programs

-

Mandatory to post visibly in programs

-

Used in marketing and public awareness campaigns

O
Other.

Describe:




[ No. If no, skip to 3.3.6.

b) Does the State/Territory use any forms of media to reach parents and the public to
communicate about levels of quality for child care programs? Check which forms, if any,
the State/Territory uses to communicate levels of quality for child care programs.

™
Print

-
Radio

-

Television

™
Web

-

Telephone

-

Social Marketing

-
Other.

Describe:

-

None.
c) Describe any targeted outreach for culturally and linguistically diverse families.
Virginia conducted a family child care QRIS demonstration in Spring 2011. Participating partners were

encouraged to recruit a variety of family day homes to participate, including culturally and linguistically
diverse providers and the families they serve.

3.3.6. Quality Rating and Improvement System (QRIS)

a) Based on the five key elements of a QRIS described above in 3.3.1 through 3.3.5,
does your State/Territory have a quality rating and improvement system (QRIS) or similar



guality improvement system in place?

[ Yes, the State/Territory has a QRIS or similar quality improvement system that
includes linked activities in all five elements operating State/Territory-wide.

-

Participation is voluntary for:

-

Participation is mandatory for:

M Yes, the State/Territory has a QRIS or similar quality improvement system that
includes linked activities in all five elements operating as a pilot or in a few localities but
not State/Territory-wide.

I No, the State/Territory does not have a QRIS or similar quality improvement system
that includes linked activities in all five elements.

] State/Territory is in the development phase
] State/Territory has no plans for development

™
Other.

Describe:

Virginia conducted a demonstration project of the family child care homes Star Quality Standards in
Spring 2011. Family child care homes are being added to the pilot project in Fall 2011.

b) If yes to 3.3.6a, CHECK the types of providers eligible to participate in the QRIS:
™2

Child care centers

-

Group child care homes

-

Family child care homes

-



In-home child care

™2

License exempt providers
r

Early Head Start programs
™2

Head Start programs

™2

Pre-kindergarten programs
r

School-age programs

r

Other.

Describe:

3.3.7. If the State/Territory has or will have any quality improvement strategies for
targeted groups of providers (e.g., relative caregivers or caregivers who are legally
exempt from licensing) that are not described in your responses to any question in
section 3.3 above,

please describe:

The QRIS web site and other quality materials are available for programs to learn more about quality.
Local coalitions and local DSS agencies plan and lead these quality improvement trainings, and they are
available in the communities for all groups serving children, including those that are legally exempt from
licensing.

3.3.8 Data & Performance Measures on Program Quality (Click for additional
instructions)

a) Data on program quality. Indicate if the Lead Agency or another agency has access to
data on:

™2
Data on the quality level for individual programs (e.g. QRIS level) as defined by your
State/Territory.
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Describe:

Data on all participating programs is captured and maintained in a database.

-

Number of programs that move program quality levels annually (up or down).

Describe:

v

Program scores on program assessment instruments.
List instruments:

ECERS-R, ITERS-R, CLASS, Toddler CLASS

Describe:

The score for the program is derived from a sampling of classrooms.

v

Classroom scores on program assessment instruments.
List instruments:

ECERS-R, ITERS-R, CLASS, Toddler CLASS

Describe:

A sample of the classrooms that represent each age level is assessed.

v

Quialifications for teachers or caregivers within each program.
Describe:

Self-reported documentation on early childhood/child related education and training.

-

Number/Percentage of children receiving CCDF assistance in licensed care.



Describe:

-

Number/percentage of children receiving CCDF assistance who attend care at each of
the tiers of the quality as defined by the State/Territory

-

Number/Percentage of programs receiving financial assistance to meet higher program
standards.

Describe:

O
Other.

Describe:

-

None.

b) Performance measurement. What, if any, are the Lead Agency's performance
measures on program quality?

The Lead Agency is beginning the fourth pilot year for the quality rating and improvement system called
the Virginia Star Quality Initiative. This is a voluntary program and is limited by the funding that is
available, so not all child care programs in the state are participating. Consequently, the quality
performance of all programs in the state will not be rated.

c) Evaluation. What, if any, are the State/Territory's plans for evaluation related to
program quality? Evaluation can include efforts related to monitoring implementation of
an initiative, validation of standards or assessment tools, or looking at outcomes in
programs or the system and may be ongoing or conducted periodically.

The state plans to commission an evaluator to assess the process and outcomes of the QRIS pilot.

3.3.9 Goals for the next Biennium -

In this section, Lead Agencies are asked to identify at least one goal for the upcoming
biennium. Lead Agencies are encouraged to include measurable and achievable goals.
Lead Agencies may include existing goals (e.g., already identified in a State strategic



plan or established by the Governor for a Lead Agency). ACF will target technical
assistance efforts to help Lead Agencies achieve their goal(s). Lead Agencies are not
required to establish a goal for each sub -section in 3.3. What are the State/Territory's
goals for the program quality improvement system in the coming biennium? What
progress does the State/Territory expect to make across the five key elements for quality
improvement systems?

The State commissioned the Virginia Early Childhood Foundation (VECF) to develop a strategic plan for
the QRIS. VECF hired a strategist to lead the development of a comprehensive strategic plan. The state
will use this strategic plan and the program evaluation results to set goals for the next biennium. Both
items are due to the state in 2011. The goal is to continue the pilot and make adjustments based on the
findings of the evaluation and the strategic plan.

3.4 Pathways to Excellence for the Workforce - Professional Development Systems
and Workftorce Initiatives (Component #4)

Pathways to excellence for the workforce builds on the significant investments States
and Territories have made in the area of professional development systems to ensure a
well-qualified workforce with opportunities for growth from entry level through master
teacher, with an increasing emphasis on the many additional roles in the child care
system (e.g. adult educators such as consultants, technical assistance providers,
trainers, and higher education faculty). In this section, States and Territories provide a
self-assessment on current professional development and workforce activities and
describe their goals for the upcoming Biennium.

For purposes of this section, States and Territories will respond according to five key
elements for workforce systems:

1) Core Knowledge and Competencies

2) Career Pathways (or Career Lattice)

3) Professional Development Capacity

4) Access to Professional Development

5) Compensation, Benefits and Workforce Conditions

a) Describe which entities are involved in planning and administering the activities in
Section 3.4, including State/Territory entities and local or community level entities.

1.Core Knowledge and Competencies— The Lead Agency is responsible for administering the activities
for core knowledge and competencies; however, multiple organizations and early childhood partners
are involved in the planning of these activities, including developing/revising the competencies for
early care and education professionals who work with children from birth through age five years old.
Collaborative partners for the development of the core knowledge and competencies for Virginia
included the following organizations:

« Virginia Department of Education,

* Virginia Department of Health

* Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services

* Virginia Head Start Association

 Partnership for People With Disabilities



Virginia Child Care Resource and Referral Network and their member agencies
Community college and higher education faculty

National Child Care Information Center

United Way Success by 6

National Women'’s Law Center

Other early childhood professionals

Local coalitions and early childhood organizations have developed training about the competencies, to
be reviewed or approved by the Lead Agency. Local coalitions also use the competencies to plan
training efforts in their communities. The Virginia Early Childhood Foundation, a private, non-profit
organization that partners with the Lead Agency on QRIS activities, issues community grant
opportunities with public and private dollars. Grant proposals aligned with the competencies and other
statewide initiatives are given preference. Additionally, the mentors with the Virginia Star Quality
Initiative (Virginia’s QRIS) use the competencies to work with child care programs.

The Community College Workforce Alliance, under contract with the Lead Agency, is working to identify
core competencies addressed in the VDSS Infant and Toddler, and Preschool Endorsement courses to
assist providers in choosing courses that meet their needs and help close any personal performance
gaps. Itis planned that all courses approved by the Lead Agency will include the competencies being
addressed in the course content.

The Virginia Community College System aligned their early childhood courses with the competencies
and identified the competencies covered in each college course.

School-age competencies were developed in partnership with private and public school-age child care
professionals to assist with creating a school-age child care credential (in development). Partners
included:

« Virginia Department of Education,

* Virginia Department of Health

Virginia Child Care Resource and Referral Network and their member agencies
School-age Parks and Recreation leaders

YMCA School-age leaders

Community college and higher education faculty

Other early childhood professionals

2. Career Pathways (or Career Lattice) - The Lead Agency is responsible for planning and administering
the activities for Virginia’'s early childhood professionals’ career lattice. Again, many organizations had
input into Virginia's Early Childhood and Child Care Professional Development Career Lattice—most
significantly, the Smart Beginnings Coalition of South Hampton Roads.

The Lead Agency is in the process of integrating the career lattice with the development of a
professional development registry so that participants in the registry can receive a career lattice step
designation based on their education and training. It is currently used as a guidance tool or reference for
practitioners statewide on a voluntary basis. The intent is for program directors and supervisors to use
the lattice to promote professional development goals for their staff.

3. Professional Development Capacity - The Lead Agency is responsible for planning and administering
the activities for building Virginia’'s professional development capacity for early childhood professionals.
The Lead Agency currently delivers statewide training sessions but is in the process of making some
changes to the current system. The Lead Agency will be adding a trainer and training approval process
to improve the quality of trainings offered to the early care and education practitioners. Input for the



changes is requested from state and local partners.

The Lead Agency collaborates with other agencies or local partners to provide a wider range of training
topics, to assist with research-related training projects, and to assist with meeting a specific local training
need. Individual practitioners provide feedback about the training and suggest training topics.

4. Access to Professional Development — The Lead Agency is responsible for planning and
administering the access to professional development in the Commonwealth. A training calendar, called
Training Information for Provider Success (T.I.P.S.), is maintained on the Lead Agency’s public website
to allow all training entities to list their training events. Currently, the Lead Agency delivers a structured
program of statewide classroom training for all child care providers and partners with 23 community
colleges to host the classes. By implementing the trainer and training approval system on or about the
spring 2012 semester, the Lead Agency expects to expand the opportunities for access to high quality
training for early childhood and education professionals. Trainers and curricula will have the option to
become VDSS-approved and providers may contact trainers directly to obtain the training they need.
Additionally, the Lead Agency provides several distance-learning options for those practitioners located
in rural areas or those with limited mobility. These options include self-paced and online courses, a
partnership with the public library branches to read books and complete a project or assessment (Read-
A-Book Program), complete online learning, or complete video training programs (The Whole Child and
The Program for Infant and Toddler Caregivers).

Under contract with the Lead Agency, the Community College Workforce Alliance is converting courses
that comprise the Infant and Toddler, and Preschool Endorsements to distance learning courses to
expand access and improve the ability of providers to achieve these Endorsements in a timelier manner.
In addition, Medical Home Plus, another Lead Agency subcontractor, is making improvements to the
medication Administration Training (MAT) Independent Study course, which will allow smoother and
guicker access to this distance learning course. MAT is mandatory for providers who work in licensed
and regulated child care programs that choose to administer medication to children in their care.

5. Compensation, Benefits and Workforce Conditions - The Lead Agency has a role in helping to plan
and administer a statewide change in compensation, benefits, and workforce conditions for the early
care and education workforce. This role is evolving as other parts of the professional development
puzzle move into place. At a basic level, the Lead Agency has been a strong proponent for recognizing
the achievements of practitioners in early care and education through lifetime achievement awards, an
annual Early Childhood Professionals’ Recognition Day, efforts to raise the subsidy reimbursement
rates, and consistent encouragement for providers to improve their professional level with formal, higher-
level education in early childhood development/education.

With the planned implementation of a professional development registry, not only will there be a system
for tracking and recognizing providers’ professional development achievements, but also a means for
tracking data related to workforce transitions, wages, and benefits. Capturing this information will
establish a better picture of the early childhood and child care workforce in Virginia and provide data for
decision-making.

It is also recognized that statewide organizations, such as the Virginia Association for Early Childhood
Education, Virginia Head Start Association, and Virginia Alliance of Family Child Care Associations, are
even stronger advocates for improving the compensation, benefits, and workforce conditions of the early
care and education workforce. Local organizations have started to address this topic with innovative
ideas and private funding.



3.4.1 Workforce Element 1 - Core Knowledge and Competencies

Definition - For purposes of this section, core knowledge and competencies (CKCs)
refers to the expectations for what the workforce should know (content) and be able to do
(skills) in their role working with and/or on behalf of children and their families. These
CKCs provide a foundation for professional development design (including instructional
practices) and other quality improvement efforts.

a) Has the State/Territory developed core knowledge and competencies (CKCs) for
practitioners working with and/or on behalf of children?

M Yes
[ No, the State/Territory has not developed core knowledge and competencies. Skip to
guestion 3.4.2.

! Other.
Describe:

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cc/professionals_resources.cgi

b) Check which of the following teaching and learning topics, if any, are covered in the
CKCs.

Child growth, development and learning
Health, nutrition, and safety

Learning environment and curriculum
Interactions with children

Family and community relationships
Professionalism and leadership
Observation and assessment

Program planning and management
Diversity

I Other.
Describe:

3 I I N N I I B

™ None.

c) Are the CKCs incorporated into other parts of the child care system? Check which
ways, if any, the State/Territory incorporates its CKCs into other parts of the child care
system.



I To define the content of training required to meet licensing requirements

I To define the content of training required for program quality improvement standards
(as reported in section 3.3)

I To define the content of training required for the career lattice or credential

M To correspond to the early learning guidelines

I To define curriculum and degree requirements at institutions of higher education

W Other.
Describe:

The Lead Agency is in the process of identifying the competencies addressed in the VDSS courses, and
the Virginia Community College System identified the competencies that are addressed in each
community college early childhood course.

] None.

d) Are the CKCs aligned with other State/Territory or national standards? Check which
ways, if any, the State/Territory aligns its CKCs with other standards.

[ Cross-walked with the Child Development Associate (CDA) competencies

[ Cross-walked with national teacher preparation standards (e.g., NAEYC standards for
early childhood professional preparation, National Board of Professional Teaching
Standards, Head Start SOLAR staff skills indicators)

[ Cross-walked with apprenticeship competencies

I Other.
Describe:

M None.

e) Check for which roles, if any, the State/Territory developed supplemental or
specialized competencies.

[ Staff working directly with children in centers, including aides, assistants, teachers,

master teachers.
Describe:

[ Providers working directly with children in family child care homes, including aides and

assistants.
Describe:



! Administrators in centers (including educational coordinators, directors).
Describe:

[! Technical assistance providers (including mentors, coaches, consultants, home

visitors, etc.).
Describe:

! Education and training staff (such as trainers, CCR&R staff, faculty).
Describe:

! Other.
Describe:

7 None.

f) Check if the State/Territory has developed any supplemental or specialized
competencies for practitioners/providers working with the following ages.

"l Birth-to-three
I Three-to-five
M Five and older

I Other.
Describe:

] None.

3.4.2 Workforce Element 2 - Career Pathways

Definition - For purposes of this section, career pathways (or career lattice) defines the
options and sequence of qualifications and ongoing professional development to work
with children. Career pathways assist professionals in understanding their career options
and identify steps for advancement for the workforce recognizing and rewarding higher
levels of preparation and mastery of practice to promote higher quality services for



children.

a) Does the State/Territory have a career pathway which defines the sequence of
qualifications related to professional development (education, training and technical
assistance) and experience required to work with children?

M ves.

Describe:

The Virginia Early Childhood and Child Care Professional Development Career Lattice is based on state
Licensing requirements for child care program staff/director training .

I No, the State/Territory has not developed a career pathway. Skip to question 3.4.3.

http://lwww.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/cc/provider_training_development/intro_page/training_developm
ent/career_lattice_2011.pdf

b) Check for which roles, if any, the career pathway (or lattice) include qualifications,
specializations or credentials.

M Staff working directly with children in centers, including aides, assistants, teachers,

master teachers.
Describe:

The Career Lattice for Virginia includes professional development guidance for entry-level and advanced
center aides, entry-level and advanced center program leaders/teachers, and entry-level and advanced
center program directors.

M Providers working directly with children in family child care homes, including aides and

assistants.
Describe:

The Career Lattice for Virginia includes professional development guidance for entry-level and advanced
aides in family day homes, as well as entry-level and advanced family home providers and assistants.

M Administrators in centers (including educational coordinators, directors).
Describe:

The Career Lattice for Virginia includes professional development guidance for entry-level and advanced
Program Directors.



[ Technical assistance providers (including mentors, coaches, consultants, home

visitors, etc.).
Describe:

! Education and training staff (such as trainers, CCR&R staff, faculty).
Describe:

! Other.
Describe:

] None.

c) Does the career pathway (or lattice) include specializations or credentials, if any, for
working with any of the following children?

M Infants and toddlers

™ Preschoolers

] School-age children

™ Dual language learners

[ Children with disabilities, children with developmental delays, and children with other
special needs

I Other.
Describe:

™ None.
d) In what ways, if any, is the career pathway (or lattice) used?

¥ Voluntary guide and planning resource

] Required placement for all practitioners and providers working in programs that are
licensed or regulated in the State/Territory to serve children birth to 13

] Required placement for all practitioners working in programs that receive public funds
to serve children birth to 13

] Required placement for adult educators (i.e., those that provide training, education
and/or technical assistance)



] Required placement for participation in scholarship and/or other incentive and support
programs
] Required placement for participation in the QRIS or other quality improvement system

I Other.
Describe:

™ None.

e) Are individuals' qualifications, professional development, and work experience verified
prior to placement on the career pathway (or lattice?)?

I Yes.
If yes, describe:

3.4.3 Workforce Element 3 - Professional Development Capacity

Definition - For purposes of this section, professional development incorporates higher
education, training and technical assistance. Higher education capacity refers to
capability of the higher education system to meet the needs of the diverse workforce
including the provision of content that addresses the full range of development and needs
of children. Training and technical assistance capacity refers to capability of the training
and technical assistance system to meet the needs of the diverse workforce including the
provision of content that addresses the full range of development and needs of children.

a) Has the State/Territory assessed the availability of degree programs in early-childhood
education, school-age care or youth development, and related fields in the State/Territory
(e.g., both physical location and distance-based, accessibility to practitioners, etc.)?

I Yes.
If yes, describe:

4 No.

b) Has the State/Territory assessed the availability of early-childhood and school-age and
related training and technical assistance programs in the State/Territory (e.g., both



physical location and distance-based, degree level, etc.)?

™ Yes.
If yes, describe:

M No.

c) What guality assurance mechanisms, if any, are in place for the degree programs and
courses offered by the State/Territory institutions?

M Standards set by the institution
M Standards set by the State/Territory higher education board
[ Standards set by program accreditors

! Other.
Describe:

] None.

d) What quality assurance mechanisms, if any, are in place for the training and technical
assistance programs offered by the State/Territory?

¥ Training approval process.
Describe:

The Lead Agency is in the process of developing a training approval process in FFY 2012 for the first
time.

M Trainer approval process.
Describe:

The Lead Agency is in the process of developing a trainer approval process in FFY 2012 for the first
time.

] Training and/or technical assistance evaluations.
Describe:



I Other.
Describe:

™ None.

e) Does the State/Territory have articulation agreements in place across and within
institutions of higher education?

M ves.
If yes, describe:

There are two articulation agreements in place across institutions of higher education, as follows:

Virginia Community College System with Virginia Commonwealth University for a Baccalaureate Degree
in Interdisciplinary Studies with a concentration in early childhood studies (for nonlicensure)

Northern Virginia Community College with George Mason University for a Baccalaureate Degree in
Individualized Studies with a concentration in early childhood education studies (for nonlicensure)

™ No.

f) Does the State/Territory have articulation agreements that translate training and/or
technical assistance into higher education credit?

M ves.
If yes, describe:

The Lead Agency works with John Tyler Community College to apply college credit to the Infant and
Toddler and/or Preschool Endorsements for the VDSS Early Childhood Endorsement Program. Each
endorsement is a 12-course, or a total of 48 clock-hours, classroom training with supplemental course
assignments and projects. Upon successful completion of either set of courses and the additional
required coursework, participants are eligible to apply for college credit. The Infant and Toddler
Endorsement is equivalent to the community college course CHD 166, Infant and Toddler Programs.
The Preschool Endorsement is equivalent to the community college course, CHD 120, Introduction to
Early Childhood Education. The development of School-age Child Care Endorsements are in progress.

It is anticipated that advanced courses for all three Endorsements to complete 120 clock-hours of
training in each age group of study will be available in the next biennium. For the Infant and Toddler and
Preschool categories, this training may apply toward the Child Development Associate credential. The
School-age Child Care Endorsements will combine to demonstrate a comparable level of knowledge and
skills as the Child Development Associate, but will focus on working with the school-age child. All
endorsement courses will be offered either online or as a self-paced work study.

™ No.



3.4.4 Workforce Element 4 - Access to Professional Development

Definition - For purposes of this section, access to professional development (training,
education and technical assistance) refers to the degree to which practitioners are made
aware of, and receive supports and assistance to utilize, professional development
opportunities.

a) Does the State/Territory have professional development opportunities accessible for
professionals in various or all sectors of the early childhood and school-age field?

M ves. If yes, for which sectors?

™ Child care

M Head Start/Early Head Start

¥ Pre-Kindergarten

™ Public schools

¥ Early intervention/special education

I Other.
Describe:

™ No.

b) Does the State/Territory have a State/Territory-wide, coordinated and easily accessible
clearinghouse of information about professional development opportunities available to all
members of the early childhood and school-age workforce? Lead Agencies are not
required to have a professional development system, but States/Territories may develop
such clearinghouses to promote access to professional development opportunities.

M Yes.
If yes, describe:

The T.I.P.S. (Training Information for Provider Success) Calendar is available on the Lead Agency’s
public Web site. This calendar allows any professional development provider to list relevant early
childhood education classes, indicating the trainer and brief description of the class, the location, date,
and time of the class, registration information, and other details. The Lead Agency also provides VDSS-
specific class information and additional training resources in the online professional development
catalog.

™ No.

TIPS Calendar: http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/cc_providertrain/tips.cgi; Professional Development



Catalog/Additional Training Resources:
http://lwww.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/cc/provider_training_development/catalog/07AddTraining_Other
ResourcesFIN.pdf

c) What supports, if any, does the State/Territory provide to promote access to training
and education activities?

T Scholarships.
Describe:

The Lead Agency provides the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program for current early
childhood practitioners (who have priority for scholarship awards) or those who intend to work in the
field. Participants are eligible for scholarships to take up to eight community college courses (at the in-
state tuition rate), or as many college-level courses as possible not to exceed the lifetime maximum
dollar amount (currently $2,689), whichever occurs first. Courses are pre-approved and must align with
current early childhood certificate or degree programs. Students may elect to attend four-year
institutions; however, there is a $336 cap on the scholarship award for each course. Typically each year,
the General Assembly appropriates $600,000 of federal monies for this purpose.

[ Free training and education.
Describe:

" Reimbursement for training and education expenses.
Describe:

M Grants.
Describe:

Through various grants and contracts, practitioners are often awarded free training. This opportunity for
free training depends on the local group that is planning the events. Through the local QRIS coalitions,
Infant and Toddler Specialist Network, and the infant and toddler social/emotional training and support
activities, providers will receive free training and mentoring.

Il Loans.
Describe:

I Loan forgiveness programs.



Describe:

[ Substitute pools.
Describe:

"l Release time.
Describe:

W Other.
Describe:

The Lead Agency provides very low-cost training options for all child care providers at $20 (3-4 hour
class) to $35 (6-hour class).

™ None.

d) Does the State/Territory have career advisors for early childhood and school-age
practitioners?

I Yes.
If yes, describe:

4 No.

e) Does the State/Territory have mentors, coaches, consultants, and/or other specialists
available to provide technical assistance to the workforce?

M Yes.
If yes, describe:

Through the Infant and Toddler Specialist Network, the local QRIS coalitions, and the infant and toddler
social/emotional training and support activities, practitioners could receive mentoring, coaching and
training.



3.4.5 Workforce Element 5 - Compensation, Benefits and Workforce
ConditionsDefinition - For purposes of this section, rewards for education and training
refers to any financial supports provided to practitioners for participating in and
completing education or training or for increasing compensation.

a) Does the State/Territory have a salary or wage scale for various professional roles?

[ Yes.
If yes, describe:

M No.

b) Does the State/Territory provide financial rewards for participation in professional
development, such as one-time salary bonuses for completing a training or education
program?

[ Yes.
If yes, describe:

M No.

c) Does the State/Territory provide sustained financial support on a periodic, predictable
basis, such as annual wage supplements, based on the highest level of training and
education achieved?

I Yes.

If yes, describe:

4 No.

d) Does the State/Territory have a program to offer or facilitate benefits (e.g. health
insurance coverage, retirement, etc.) to the workforce?

™ Yes.

If yes, describe:




3.4.6 Data & Performance Measures on the Child Care Workforce - What data
elements, if any, does the State/Territory currently have access to related to the child
care workforce? What, if any, does the State/Territory use for performance measures on
professional development and workforce initiatives? The purpose of these questions is for
Lead Agencies to provide a description of their capacity to provide information, not to
require Lead Agencies to collect or report this information. For any data elements
checked in (a) below, Lead Agencies may provide an optional description about the data
they have access to (e.g., the Lead Agency may have data for only licensed programs,
only programs caring for children receiving CCDF subsidies, only providers participating
in quality improvement systems, or only for certain age groups (e.g., infants and toddlers
or school-age children).

a) Data on the child care workforce. Indicate if the Lead Agency or another agency has
access to data on:

" Data on the size of the child care workforce.
Describe (optional):

M Data on the demographic characteristics of practitioners or providers working directly

with children.
Describe (optional):

With the planned implementation of a statewide professional development registry in early 2012, the
Lead Agency will be able to collect information on demographic characteristics of practitioners who work
directly with children.

M Records of individual teachers or caregivers and their qualifications.
Describe (optional):

With the planned implementation of the statewide professional development registry in early 2012, the
Lead Agency will be able to collect qualifications of those teachers/caregivers who choose to, or are
required to, become registry members by virtue of receiving quality funds.

! Retention rates.
Describe (optional):



I"! Records of individual professional development specialists and their qualifications.
Describe (optional):

¥ Quialifications of teachers or caregivers linked to the programs in which they teach.
Describe (optional):

With the planned implementation of the statewide professional development registry in early 2012, the
Lead Agency will be able to collect qualifications of those teachers/caregivers who choose to, or are
required to, become registry members by virtue of receiving quality funds and possibly link them to their
employers.

M Number of scholarships awarded .
Describe (optional):

The Lead Agency tracks the number of scholarships that are awarded. The Lead Agency is transitioning
from an Access database to a web-based database for the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship
Program.

"7 Number of individuals receiving bonuses or other financial rewards or incentives.
Describe (optional):

"7 Number of credentials and degrees conferred annually.
Describe (optional):

M Data on T/TA completion or attrition rates.
Describe (optional):

Training data is captured through several systems.

» The delivery and logistics of child care provider classes are contracted through the Community College
Workforce Alliance. Therefore, training data for VDSS classes would be captured through their
community college system.

» Additional training data is captured manually at the local level through the Quality Initiative Grants to
the local departments of social services with their numerous training activities.

» Training and technical assistance data is captured through the QRIS, the Infant and Toddler Specialist
Network, and the infant and toddler social/emotional training and support activities, as well as from any
contractors who provide these services, such as Child Development Resources, the Virginia Child
Care Resource and Referral Network (VACCRRN), and Medical Home Plus that administers the
Medication Administration Training program.



» There is no known data on attrition rates in Virginia, but the Lead Agency plans to capture this
information with the implementation of the statewide professional development registry.

[ Data on degree completion or attrition rates.
Describe (optional):

! Other.
Describe:

] None.

b) Does the State/Territory have a workforce data system, such as a workforce registry,
which tracks workforce demographics, compensation, and qualifications and ongoing
professional development for practitioners working with children birth to age 13?

Definition - For purposes of this section, a workforce data system refers to a system,
such as a workforce registry, that tracks the size and characteristics of the child care
workforce, including longitudinal data to monitor changes over time. The data system also
can produce records to validate and verify qualifications or ongoing professional
development for licensing, accreditation, QRIS, wage incentives, and credentials.

[ Yes.

b-1) If yes, which roles are included in the workforce data system? For each role
checked, indicate in your description whether participation is voluntary or mandatory.

I staff working directly with children in centers, including aides, assistants, teachers,

master teachers.
Describe:

[ Providers working directly with children in family child care homes, including aides and

assistants.
Describe:

"1 Administrators in centers (including educational coordinators, directors).
Describe:



I’ Technical assistance providers (including mentors, coaches, consultants, home

visitors, etc.).
Describe:

™! Education and training staff (such as trainers, CCR&R staff, faculty).
Describe:

I Other.
Describe:

™ None.
b-2) Does the workforce data system apply to:

7 all practitioners working in programs that are licensed or regulated by the
State/Territory to serve children birth to 137

7 all practitioners working in programs that receive public funds to serve children birth to
age 13?

M No.

c) Performance measurement. What, if any, performance measures does the
State/Territory use related to its workforce and professional development systems?

The Lead Agency uses informal needs assessments, licensing violation history, and current trends and
Issues to assist with training topic selection; registration and class attendance numbers to gauge the
interest of participants in a particular topic for future classes; participant reaction feedback and the
number of high ratings compared to low ratings for the class and trainer; content knowledge assessment
and/or skills demonstration scores of participants; the number of courses per competency; trainer
feedback; monitoring observation when possible; cost per class information; informal feedback from
providers; and contractor feedback.

In a broader sense, workforce and professional development performance measures include the number
of early childhood professionals who need foundational skills training, number of practitioners who
obtained training, as well as the use of knowledge from training, education, coaching and mentoring
based on observations and evaluations of program participants in the Virginia Star Quality Initiative
(Virginia’s QRIS), the Infant and Toddler Specialist Network, infant and toddler social/emotional pilot
communities, or other state programs.

The Lead Agency would like to have a more systematic strategy for measuring performance of the



workforce and professional development systems in order to know how well we are doing, if we are
meeting our goals, if our customers are satisfied, what processes are better measures of success, and
where improvements are needed. This is a long term goal.

d) Evaluation. What, if any, are the State/Territory's plans for evaluation related to its
workforce and professional development systems? Evaluation can include efforts related
to monitoring implementation of an initiative, validation of standards or assessment tools,
or looking at outcomes in programs or the system and may be ongoing or conducted
periodically.

The Lead Agency is planning to implement the statewide professional development registry in tandem
with the new trainer and training approval system. The data from this system, including practitioner
education and training, workforce transitions, wages, benefits, etc. will be reviewed, analyzed, monitored
closely, and used as a decision support tool to assist in building and/or making adjustments and
adaptations to Virginia’s professional development system. Additionally, the Lead Agency is in the
process of adding pre- and post-assessments to as many courses as possible. Informal feedback from
trainers and participants will be solicited.

3.4.7 Goals for the next Biennium -

In this section, Lead Agencies are asked to identify at least one goal for the upcoming
biennium. Lead Agencies are encouraged to include measurable and achievable goals.
Lead Agencies may include existing goals (e.g., already identified in a State strategic
plan or established by the Governor for a Lead Agency). ACF will target technical
assistance efforts to help Lead Agencies achieve their goal(s). Lead Agencies are not
required to establish a goal for each sub-section in 3.4. What are the State/Territory's
goals for the building the professional development system and improving conditions for
the workforce in the coming biennium? What progress does the State/Territory expect to
make across the five key elements for the workforce and professional development
system described above?

The Lead Agency will continue to partner with early childhood professionals to analyze Virginia’'s
professional development system for early care and education professionals and to ensure that the Lead
Agency is addressing the early care and education workforce and professional development needs in
the Commonwealth. Some basic goals for the next biennium are listed below.

1.Embed inclusion concepts, competencies, and early learning guidelines into VDSS-approved course
curricula as appropriate.

2.Complete the instructional development of the Infant and Toddler Endorsement, Preschool
Endorsement and School-Age Endorsement courses for classroom and online modalities at the
introductory and advanced levels.

3.Complete the design/development of, and implement, the Trainer and Training Approval System to
facilitate access to quality training that is market-based and needs-driven.

4.Complete the development and implementation of the statewide professional development registry.

5.Strengthen statewide partnerships, especially with the state’s Early Childhood Advisory Council
(authorized by the Head Start Act), through multi-agency and cross-sector early childhood and school-
age initiatives.



6.Systematize a professional development evaluation process that uses the early childhood professional
competencies as a foundation and includes input from individual child care providers, trainers and
early childhood faculty at higher education institutions, child care programs, researchers, and other
related early care and education professionals.

7.Complete the development and implementation of the federated data collection system that will link
registry, QRIS, and child data.

8.Facilitate the establishment of dedicated early childhood development/education degrees at four-year
higher education institutions.

9.Facilitate articulation agreements between the Virginia Community College System and state four-year
colleges/universities for dedicated degrees in early childhood development/education in Virginia.

10mprove collaboration with the Division of Licensing Programs and the Department of Education for a
combined strategic approach to improve the quality of child care in the Commonwealth.

11Utilize the data from the planned implementation of the statewide professional development registry to
facilitate ways to work with early childhood leaders, private businesses and government leaders to
improve the compensation, benefits and workforce conditions of early care and education
practitioners.
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ATTACHMENT 2.4.1
Fee Scale

The family’s contribution is based on 10% of the gross countable income for a family
unit of that size. It applies to income eligible families regardless of whether the care is
fulltime or part time. As income increases or decreases, the fee changes accordingly.
Four local departments use approved alternate co-payment scales that are attached.






ATTACHMENT 2.4.2.a
FAIRFAX COUNTY FEE CHART
CCAR INCOME GUIDELINES

NUMBER OF HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS

% of GMI Parent

Pays
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Toward Child
Care
0] 0] 0] 0 0] 0] 0] 0] 0] 1child 2child
STATE to to to to to to to to to
FUNDED 214 1526 1838 2149 2461 2773 3084 3396 3708 2.5 4.0%
1215 1527 1839 2150 2462 2774 3085 3397 3709
STATE to to to to to to to to to 5.0 6.5%
FUNDED 1445 1816 2187 2558 2929 3300 3671 4042 4412
1446 1817 2188 2559 2930 3301 3672 4043 4413
STATE to to to to to to to to to 7.5 8.5%
FUNDED 1603 2015 2426 2837 3249 3660 4072 4483 4894
1604 2016 2427 2838 3250 3661 4073 4484 4895
STATE to to to to to to to to to 8.5 9.0%
FUNDED 1773 2228 2683 3138 3593 4048 4503 4958 5413
1774 2229 2684 3139 3594 4049 4504 4959 5414
STATE to to to to to to to to to 9.0 9.5%
FUNDED 1943 2442 2940 3439 3938 4436 4935 5434 5932
1944 2443 2941 3440 3939 4437 4936 5435 5933
STATE to to to to to to to to to 9.5 10.0%
FUNDED 3036 3815 4594 5373 6153 6932 7711 8480 8661
3037 3816 4595 5374 6154 6933 7712 8481 8662
LOCAL to to to to to to to to to 10.5  11.0%
FUNDED 3340 4197 5053 5911 6768 7625 8482 9339 10196






MINIMUM
FEE:

$30.10
Monthly

J:\\DFS\OFC\
CCAR\
Income Fee
Charts\
State Plan
10 01 2010
Income Fee Chart







ATTACHMENT 2.4.2.b

CITY OF ALEXANDRIA

CHILD DAY CARE FEE SYSTEM
MAXIMUM MONTHLY INCOME LEVEL
10/01/2011 - 9/30/2012

0
o NUMBER OF FAMILY MEMBERS
Poverty
Level 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ADD! | %Fee
0-70 0-632 0-850 0-1068 | 0-1287 | 01504 | 01723 | 01941 | 02159 0-2377 0-259 218 1%
71-100 633-003 | 8511214 | 1060-1526 | 1288-1833 | 1505-2149 | 1724-2461 | 19422773 | 2160-3084 | 2378-3396 | 2597-3708 | 312 2%
101-130 | 904-1174 | 1215-1578 | 1527-1984 | 1830-2380 | 2150-2794 | 2462-3199 | 2774-3605 | 3085-4009 | 3397-4415 | 3709-4820 | 405 4%
131150 | 11751354 | 1579-1822 | 1985-2289 | 2390-2757 | 2795-3224 | 3200-3692 | 3606-4159 | 4010-4627 | 4416-5004 | 4821-5562 | 468 6%
151170 | 13551535 | 1823-2064 | 2290-2504 | 2758-3125 | 3225-3653 | 3693-4184 | 4160-4714 | 46285243 | 50955773 | 5563-6304 | 530 8%
171185 | 1536-1670 | 2065-2247 | 2505-2823 | 3126-3400 | 3654-3976 | 41854553 | 47155130 | 52445706 | 57746283 | 6305-6859 | 577 10%
186-250 1671-2257 | 2248-3036 | 2824-3815 | 3401-4594 | 3977-5373 | 4554-6153 | 51316932 | 5707-7711 | 62848182 | 6860-8356 | oge: 10%
QUM o | 2258-3127 | 3037-4000 | 3816-5052 | 4595-6015 | 5374-6977 | 6154-7939 | 6933-8119 | 7712-8300 | 8183-8480 | 8357-8661 | ,offs | 10%

1 For each additional family member, add this amount.

2 Eligibility guidelines cannot exceed 85% of the State Median Income.
For families with more than 10 members, refer to OECD staff.

3 85% SMI is used for caretaker cases only







ATTACHMENT 2.4.2.c

VIRGINIA BEACH DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Effective 10/01/10 — 09/30/11

Number of family members

% of

gross
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 income
parent
pays
20% of
SMI $710 $928 | $1,147 | $1,365| $1,584 | $1,802 | $1,843 | $1,884 | $1,925| $1,966 3%
30%of
SMI | $1,065| $1,393| $1,720 | $2,048 | $2,376 | $2,703| $2,765 | $2,826 | $2,887 | $2,949 5%
40% of
SMI | $1,420| $1,857 | $2,294 | $2,731| $3,168 | $3,604 | $3,686 | $3,768 | $3,850 | $3,932 7%
160%
of FPI | $1,444 | $1,943| $2,442 | $2,940| $3,439| $3,938| $4,436 | $4,935| $5,434 | $5,932 10%
250%
of FPI | $2,257| $3,036| $3,815| $4,594 | $5,373| $6,153| $6,932 $7,711 | $8,480 | $8,661 10%







PURCHASE OF SERVICES ORDER

VENDOR NUMBER: VENDOR TAX ID NUMBER: TYPE PURCHASE OF CASE
SERVICE ORDER
[] INDIVIDUAL NUMBER NUMBER:
VENDOR NAME: [] GROUP
CASE NAME:
[[] REIMBURSEMENT
FUNDING SOURCE
ADDRESS: n INTERNAL
AUTHORIZATION
CITY, STATE, ZIP MAIL INVOICES TO: [ ] NEW PURCHASE OF SERVICE ORDER
CLIENT NAME: [] ADULT
[] CHILD [ ]NON-MONETARY CHANGE OF POSO #
ADDRESS: [ ] PREMATURE TERMINATION OF POSO #

CITY, STATE, ZIP

TELEPHONE:

[] UNENCUMBER NOW <~ COMPLETE IF
PREMATURE
AWAIT FINAL VENDOR TERMINATION IS
L] iNvoIcE CHECKED

TOTAL AUTHORIZED BILLINGS

CASE WORKER NAME: PHONE NUMBER  |VENDOR: INDICATE ACCEPTANCE OR REFUSAL AND RETURN APPROPRIATE COPY TO THE
LOCAL SOCIAL SERVICES AGENCY IMMEDIATELY.
SIGNATURE OF CASE WORKER: DATE APPROVED I HEREBY AGREE TO PROVIDE THE SERVICES REQUESTED ABOVE IN ACCORDANCE WITH OUR
D AGREEMENT FOR PURCHASE OF SERVICES OR INDIVIDUAL VENDOR AGREEMENT.
[ ] THEREBY REFUSE THIS PURCHASE OF SERVICES ORDER
SIGNATURE OF FISCAL OFFICER: DATE APPROVED
[ WILL PROVIDE THE SERVICES AS LISTED AND WILL SUBMIT THE VENDOR INVOICE WITHIN
WORK DAYS OF THE CLOSE OF THE MONTH IN WHICH SERVICES WERE PROVIDED.
SIGNATURE OF CASE SUPERVISOR: DATE APPROVED | SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OF VENDOR: | DATE:
032-02-0126-04-eng [ SEE ADDITIONAL SHEET LOCAL DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES (2 COPIES)

VENDOR (1 COPY)





AUTHORIZED VENDOR INVOICE SCHEDULE

UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
$ $ $ $ $ $
UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
$ $ $ $ $ $
UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
$ $ $ $ $ $
UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
$ $ $ $ $ $
MAXIMUM VENDOR INVOICE SCHEDULE
TOTAL $ $ S S 5 $
ACTUAL VENDOR INVOICE TOTAL (A) |$ $ $ $ $ $
DIFFERENCE $ $ $ $ $ $

032-02-0126-04-eng

UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
$ 5 s $ s s
UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
$ s s $ s s
UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
5 5 5 $ s 5
UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT UNIT
$ $ s s s 5
MAXIMUM VENDOR INVOICE SCHEDULE
L 5 5 5 5 5 5
ACTUAL VENDOR INVOICE TOTAL (B) |$ $ $ $ $ $
DIFFERENCE $ $ $ $ $ $
R Lt Mo & X CELD THE UNTT ANDIOR DOLLAR ACTUAL TOTAL VENDOR INVOICE AMOUNT FOR YEAR (A + B)|§






INSTRUCTIONS FOR PURCHASE OF SERVICES ORDER
Form Number 032-02-0126-04-eng

PURPOSE - This form is used to order services from vendors. If the vendor accepts a POS Order, it enters into a contract for a specific purchase. This form is also used
for unscheduled termination of, or change to, and existing POS Order.

USE - This form is prepared by the case worker, and the fiscal officer as noted, and sent to the primary vendor. The form is never sent directly to a subcontractor.

NUMBER OF COPIES - This form is prepared with an original and two copies. It should be printed as a two-sided form; the front is the Purchase of Services Order
and the back is the Authorized Vendor Invoice Schedule.

DISPOSITION - The case worker completes the back side of the form and the appropriate portion of the front side. The form is then sent to the fiscal officer for
approval, additional completion, and signature on the front side. If not approved, the form will be returned unsigned to the case worker who will terminate or revise the
POS Order. If approved, the case worker will be notified and the signed original and a copy will be sent to the vendor for acceptance. The local department of social
services (LDSS) will retain a copy. If not accepted by the vendor, the original and copy will be returned to the case worker who will terminate or revise the POS Order.
If accepted, the copy will be retained by the vendor while the signed original will be returned to the LDSS.

Instructions For Preparation Of The Front Of The Purchase Of Services Order

VENDOR NUMBER: This is an optional field. Some LDSS assign a unique vendor number to each vendor. If used, enter the Vendor Number of the primary contract
vendor who is to provide the service.

VENDOR TAX ID NUMBER: Enter the federal tax ID number of the primary contract vendor.

VENDOR NAME - Write the name of the primary contract vendor who is to provide the service. Do not write the name of the subcontractor.

ADDRESS - Write the vendor's business address. This will be the address to which the POS Orders must be sent. It will not necessarily be the address at which the
service will be provided in case of multiple vendor addresses.

CLIENT NAME

Child Care Services: If the form is being completed for child care services, write the parent's name under “Client Name” and the children's name(s) under the
heading “Service Name”

Non-Child Care Services: If the form is being completed for a specific individual client, write the client's full name. Leave blank if issued for a single case
family unit.

ADULT/CHILD CHECK BOX

ADULT - If the form is being completed for a specific individual client, and the client is 18 years of age or older, put a check mark in this box.

CHILD - If the form is being completed for a specific individual client, and the client is 17 years of age or less, put a check mark in this box.

032-02-0126-04-eng Page 1 of 4





RESIDENCE ADDRESS, CITY, STATE, ZIP -If the form is being completed for a specific individual client, write theaddress of the client.

TELEPHONE - If the form is being completed for a specific individual client, write the telephone number of the client, or the telephone number at which the client may be
reached with notation indicating whose phone number it is. If there is no telephone number at which the client may be reached, write “none.”

TYPE - Put a check mark in the box that indicates the type of POS Order being issued.

PURCHASE OF SERVICE ORDER (POSO) NUMBER - The purchase of service order number is assigned by the LDSS and is unique to each individual order form.

FUNDING SOURCE - Write the funding source to be used to purchase this service.

CASE NUMBER - If the form is being completed for a specific individual client, write the case number assigned by the LDSS.
CASE NAME - If the form is being completed for a specific individual client, write the name assigned to the client's case by the LDSS.

MAIL INVOICES TO - Write or stamp the name and address to be used by the vendor in mailing Vendor Invoices to the LDSS.

ACTIONS: Check the appropriate box as follows:
NEW PURCHASE OF SERVICES ORDER - If the form is being completed for a new transaction.
NON-MONETARY CHANGE - If the form is being completed to indicate a change to a previous POS Order that does not affect the amount of money authorized,
check this box. Examples are: new phone number, new address, change from child to adult, etc. Enter the POSO Number from the Purchase of Services (POS) order
that initiated the transaction and is now being changed.
PREMATURE TERMINATION - If the form is being completed to indicate termination of the authorization given by another POS order before that authorizatiion is
terminated by its own termination dates, then check this box. The NEW PURCHASE OF SERVICES ORDER box should also be checked if an old POS Order is
being both terminated and replaced with this form. Enter the POSO Number of the POS Order that initiated the transaction and is now being terminated.
UNENCUMBER NOW - If Premature Termination is checked and all Vendor Invoices have been processed, then check this box.
AWAIT FINAL VENDOR INVOICE - If Premature Termination is checked and not all Vendor invoices have been processed, then check this box.

SERVICE NAME - Write the name of the service being purchased. If the POS Order is issued for a family unit, write the name of each family member on the line where
his service is written.

UNIT TYPE - Enter the unit by which the service is sold (i.e. hour, day, week, month, each, mileage, etc.).

EFFECTIVE DATE - Enter the date upon which the service provision is authorized to begin.

TERMINATION DATE - Enter the date the service provision is authorized to terminate.

UNIT PRICE - Enter the dollar amount authorized as a charge for each unit of the service.
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TOTAL UNITS AUTHORIZED - Enter the total number of units of the service authorized to be delivered from the Effective Date to the Termination Date for
the service.

AUTHORIZED SERVICE BILLINGS - Enter the dollar amount that is the product of the Unit Price and Total Units Authorized entries on the form.
TOTAL AUTHORIZEDBILLINGS - Enter the dollar amount that is the sum of the Authorized Service Billings entries.

CASE WORKER NAME - Type or print clearly the name of the case worker to be consulted regarding this purchase.

TELEPHONE - Enter the telephone number where the specified case worker may be reached.

SIGNATURE OF CASE WORKER - A case worker who is authorized by the LDSS to authorize the purchase signs here.

DATE APPROVED - Enter the date upon which Signature of the service worker is completed. The date must be on or before the Effective Date of the POS
Order except under backdating exceptions.

SIGNATURE OF FISCAL OFFICER - The fiscal officer must co-authorize the purchase by signing here.

DATE APPROVED - Enter the date upon which Signature of the Fiscal Officer is completed.

SIGNATURE OF CASE WORKER'S SUPERVISOR - The case worker's supervisor must co-authorize the purchase by signing here.

DATE APPROVED - Enter the date upon which Signature of the Supervisor is completed.

SEE ADDITIONAL SHEET - If more than four (4) services are authiorized or if a Group Type POS Order requires the attachment of an additional sheet, check
this box. In the case of continuation on another POS Order form, write “See POSO Number” and enter the number of the form used for continuation.

VENDOR - The vendor's authorized representative must indicate acceptance or rejection of the POS Order by checking the appropriate box.

I WILL PROVIDE THE SERVICES ... AND SUBMIT...- From the end of the service delivery month the Case Worker or the Fiscal Officer must enter the
number of days that the vendor has to submit the invoice.

SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OF VENDOR - The authorized representative of the vendor agency signs here to indicate acceptance
or refusal of the POS Order depending on which box is checked above the signature.

DATE - Enter the date upon which Signature of Authorized Representative of Vendor is completed.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PREPARING THE BACK OF THE PURCHASE OF SERVICES ORDER - AUTHORIZED VENDOR
INVOICE SCHEDULE

SERVICE NAME - Write each service name. Put the names in the same order as they appear on the front side of the form.

UNIT - Under each appropriate month enter the maximum number of units authorized for each service for that month.
$ - Under each appropriate month enter the dollar amount of authorized service billing of each service for that month.

1% SIX MONTHS AUTHORIZEDBILLINGS/2™ SIX MONTHS AUTHORIZEDBILLINGS - Total any entries for each service under Requirements First Six
Months/Requirements Second Six Months and enter the resulting dollar amount.

MAXIMUM VENDOR INVOICE SCHEDULE TOTAL - Total the column of entries for each month and enter the resulting dollar amount.

ACTUAL VENDOR INVOICE TOTAL - After receipt of a vendor monthly invoice related to this POS Order, enter the total dollar amount of the invoice.

DIFFERENCE - Subtract the Actual Vendor Invoice Total from the Maximum Vendor Invoice Schedule Total and enter the resulting dollar amount.

ACTUAL TOTAL VENDOR INVOICE AMOUNT FOR YEAR (A + B) - Add the sum of the Actual Vendor Invoice Total for the first six months plus the
sum of the Actual Vendor Invoice Total for the second six months and enter the resulting dollar amount.
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ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,
CENTRAL
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School

Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age
Amelia 007 17 16 13 13 12 11 9 9
Buckingham 029 17 16 13 13 12 11 9 9
Caroline 033 26 25 15 15 18 18 11 11
Charles City 036 20 19 16 17 14 13 11 12
Chesterfield/ Colonial Hghts 041 28 27 23 22 20 19 16 15
Cumberland 049 17 16 12 12 12 11 8 8
Essex 057 18 18 16 16 13 13 11 11
Fluvanna 065 29 25 21 20 20 18 15 14
Goochland 075 25 24 19 19 18 17 13 13
Hanover 085 27 25 20 19 19 18 14 13
Henrico 087 31 28 23 21 22 20 16 15
Hopewell 670 20 20 16 15 14 14 11 11
King & Queen 097 21 21 15 16 15 15 11 11
King William 101 20 20 17 16 14 14 12 11
Lancaster 103 21 21 17 17 15 15 12 12
Lunenburg 111 17 16 13 13 12 11 9 9
Middlesex 119 21 19 19 19 15 13 13 13
New Kent 127 21 21 18 17 15 15 13 12
Northumberland 133 21 21 16 17 15 15 11 12
Nottoway 135 17 16 15 13 12 11 11 9
Petersburg 730 18 19 17 15 13 13 12 11
Powhatan 145 23 21 18 17 16 15 13 12
Prince Edward 147 18 16 16 16 13 11 11 11
Richmond 760 26 26 20 19 18 18 14 13
Richmond Co. 159 21 21 17 17 15 15 12 12
Westmoreland 193 24 22 18 17 17 15 13 12






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,
EASTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School

Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age
Accomack 001 17 16 15 13 12 11 11 9
Brunswick 025 13 13 10 10 9 9 7 7
Chesapeake 550 27 25 20 18 19 18 14 13
Dinwiddie 053 21 21 15 15 15 15 11 11
Franklin City 620 22 21 16 16 15 15 11 11
Gloucester 073 20 21 17 18 14 15 12 13
Greensville/ Emporia 081 21 21 13 13 15 15 9 9
Hampton 650 25 21 18 16 18 15 13 11
Isle Of Wight 093 22 20 15 13 15 14 11 9
James City 095 25 25 22 19 18 18 15 13
Mathews 115 17 15 15 12 12 11 11 8
Newport News 700 24 24 20 17 17 17 14 12
Norfolk 710 25 24 20 18 18 17 14 13
Northampton 131 17 14 14 13 12 10 10 9
Portsmouth 740 26 19 17 17 18 13 12 12
Prince George 149 23 20 19 17 16 14 13 12
Southampton 175 19 15 13 11 13 11 9 8
Suffolk 800 22 20 17 16 15 14 12 11
Surry 181 21 21 18 16 15 15 13 11
Sussex 183 21 21 12 12 15 15 8 8
Virginia Beach 810 28 26 21 20 20 18 15 14
Williamsburg 830 27 27 23 21 19 19 16 15
York/ Poquoson 199 24 23 18 18 17 16 13 13






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,

NORTHERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School

Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age
Alexandria 510 38 36 29 29 27 25 20 20
Arlington 013 40 40 34 33 28 28 24 23
Clarke 043 22 19 15 16 15 13 11 11
Culpeper 047 18 18 15 15 13 13 11 11
Fairfax Co./ City & Falls Church 059 38 37 33 30 27 26 23 21
Fauquier 061 27 26 20 20 19 18 14 14
Frederick/ Winchester 069 18 17 16 15 13 12 11 11
Fredericksburg 630 27 26 20 19 19 18 14 13
Greene 079 22 20 15 15 15 14 11 11
King George 099 25 24 17 16 18 17 12 13
Loudoun 107 36 34 28 27 25 24 20 19
Louisa 109 22 20 21 18 15 14 15 13
Madison 113 19 19 16 16 13 13 11 11
Manassas 683 33 30 26 23 23 21 18 16
Manassas Park 685 38 36 27 20 27 25 19 14
Orange 137 21 21 18 17 15 15 13 12
Page 139 22 20 17 16 15 14 12 11
Prince William 153 31 31 26 25 22 22 18 18
Rappahannock 157 23 23 20 20 16 16 14 14
Rockingham/ Harrisonburg 165 24 23 19 19 17 16 13 13
Shenandoah 171 15 15 14 14 11 11 10 10
Spotsylvania 177 26 25 20 20 18 18 14 14
Stafford 179 26 26 22 20 18 18 15 14
Warren 187 20 17 15 15 14 12 11 11






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,
PIEDMONT
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School

Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age
Albemarle/ Charlottesville 003 29 29 23 23 20 20 16 16
Alleghany/ Covington 005 21 18 18 17 15 13 13 12
Amherst 009 17 17 12 12 12 12 8 8
Appomattox 011 17 14 12 13 12 10 8 9
Augusta/ Staunton/ Waynesboro 015 23 21 18 18 16 15 13 13
Bath 017 22 20 16 13 15 14 11 9
Bedford Co./ City 019 19 19 14 14 13 13 10 10
Botetourt 023 21 20 15 14 15 14 11 10
Campbell 031 17 13 13 13 12 9 9 9
Charlotte 037 17 16 13 13 12 11 9 9
Craig 045 18 14 14 14 13 10 10 10
Danville 590 20 18 13 13 14 13 9 9
Franklin Co. 067 22 17 14 12 15 12 10 8
Halifax/ South Boston 083 17 16 13 13 12 11 9 9
Henry/ Martinsville 089 20 18 13 12 14 13 9 8
Highland 091 22 20 17 16 15 14 12 11
Lynchburg 680 18 17 14 13 13 12 10 9
Mecklenburg 117 16 16 14 13 11 11 10 9
Nelson 125 22 17 15 17 15 12 11 12
Pittsylvania 143 14 14 13 13 10 10 9 9
Roanoke 770 25 23 18 17 18 16 13 12
Roanoke Co./ Salem 161 29 29 22 20 20 20 15 14
Rockbridge/ Buena Vista/
Lexington 163 22 19 19 15 15 13 13 11






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,

WESTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School

Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age
Bland 021 16 16 14 15 11 11 10 11
Bristol 520 19 19 16 15 13 13 11 11
Buchanan 027 16 16 14 15 11 11 10 11
Carroll 035 14 14 12 12 10 10 8 9
Dickenson 051 16 16 14 15 11 11 10 11
Floyd 063 20 18 14 14 14 13 10 10
Galax 640 15 15 13 13 11 11 9 9
Giles 071 16 16 15 15 11 11 11 11
Grayson o077 16 16 13 13 11 11 9 9
Lee 105 16 15 15 15 11 11 11 11
Montgomery 121 21 21 18 16 15 15 13 11
Patrick 141 15 13 13 13 11 9 9 9
Pulaski 155 20 18 15 13 14 13 11 9
Radford 750 20 19 15 14 14 13 11 10
Russell 167 14 14 13 13 10 10 9 9
Scott 169 14 14 13 14 10 10 9 10
Smyth 173 16 13 12 12 11 9 8 8
Tazewell 185 15 14 13 14 11 10 9 10
Washington 191 17 18 15 15 12 13 11 11
Wise/ Norton 195 16 16 13 13 11 11 9 9
Wythe 197 17 16 13 13 12 11 9 9






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,
CENTRAL
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Amelia 007 20 18 17 17 14 13 12 12
Buckingham 029 12 12 12 10 8 8 8 7
Caroline 033 17 16 14 13 12 11 10 9
Charles City 036 16 16 14 14 11 11 10 10
Chesterfield/ Colonial Heights 041 21 20 19 17 15 14 13 12
Cumberland 049 14 14 13 13 10 10 9 9
Essex 057 16 14 14 14 11 10 10 10
Fluvanna 065 20 19 20 18 14 13 14 13
Goochland 075 19 18 15 15 13 13 11 11
Hanover 085 20 20 17 16 14 14 12 11
Henrico 087 22 20 20 17 15 14 14 12
Hopewell 670 16 16 14 14 11 11 10 10
King & Queen 097 16 16 14 14 11 11 10 10
King William 101 16 15 14 14 11 11 10 10
Lancaster 103 16 16 14 14 11 11 10 10
Lunenburg 111 16 17 13 12 11 12 9 8
Middlesex 119 16 16 15 15 11 11 11 11
New Kent 127 17 17 15 15 12 12 11 11
Northumberland 133 16 16 14 14 11 11 10 10
Nottoway 135 12 12 14 12 8 8 10 8
Petersburg 730 17 16 15 13 12 11 11 9
Powhatan 145 17 17 15 14 12 12 11 10
Prince Edward 147 14 13 13 12 10 9 9 8
Richmond 760 18 18 15 14 13 13 11 10
Richmond Co. 159 16 16 14 14 11 11 10 10
Westmoreland 193 16 14 13 14 11 10 9 10






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,
EASTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Accomack 001 14 14 14 13 10 10 10 9
Brunswick 025 15 14 13 13 11 10 9 9
Chesapeake 550 18 17 17 15 13 12 12 11
Dinwiddie 053 16 16 14 14 11 11 10 10
Franklin City 620 15 14 14 20 11 10 10 14
Gloucester 073 16 16 14 13 11 11 10 9
Greensville/ Emporia 081 18 13 12 12 13 9 8 8
Hampton 650 17 17 15 15 12 12 11 11
Isle Of Wight 093 16 15 15 15 11 11 11 11
James City 095 20 20 17 17 14 14 12 12
Mathews 115 16 16 15 14 11 11 11 10
Newport News 700 17 16 14 15 12 11 10 11
Norfolk 710 18 16 15 14 13 11 11 10
Northampton 131 15 15 15 15 11 11 11 11
Portsmouth 740 15 15 14 13 11 11 10 9
Prince George 149 16 16 14 13 11 11 10 9
Southampton 175 16 14 14 14 11 10 10 10
Suffolk 800 16 15 15 15 11 11 11 11
Surry 181 16 15 12 12 11 11 8 8
Sussex 183 15 15 14 14 11 11 10 10
Virginia Beach 810 19 17 16 15 13 12 11 11
Williamsburg 830 20 17 17 16 14 12 12 11
York/ Poquoson 199 18 16 16 15 13 11 11 11






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,
NORTHERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Alexandria 510 28 28 27 26 20 20 19 18
Arlington 013 29 30 28 29 20 21 20 20
Clarke 043 18 16 16 16 13 11 11 11
Culpeper 047 16 15 16 16 11 11 11 11
Fairfax Co./ City & Falls Church 059 31 30 29 27 22 21 20 19
Fauquier 061 22 23 20 19 15 16 14 13
Frederick/ Winchester 069 18 17 16 16 13 12 11 11
Fredericksburg 630 19 17 17 17 13 12 12 12
Greene 079 20 18 18 16 14 13 13 11
King George 099 20 18 18 17 14 13 13 12
Loudoun 107 30 30 28 26 21 21 20 18
Louisa 109 15 15 15 15 11 11 11 11
Madison 113 15 13 13 12 11 9 9 8
Manassas 683 29 26 25 25 20 18 18 18
Manassas Park 685 27 26 24 22 19 18 17 15
Orange 137 18 18 16 22 13 13 11 15
Page 139 12 11 11 11 8 8 8 8
Prince William 153 27 26 23 20 19 18 16 14
Rappahannock 157 21 18 18 17 15 13 13 12
Rockingham/ Harrisonburg 165 18 16 15 15 13 11 11 11
Shenandoah 171 15 14 13 12 11 10 9 8
Spotsylvania 177 21 16 16 16 15 11 11 11
Stafford 179 23 21 19 20 16 15 13 14
Warren 187 19 18 17 17 13 13 12 12






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,
PIEDMONT
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Albemarle/ Charlottesville 003 22 22 20 20 15 15 14 14
Alleghany/ Covington/ Clifton
Forge 005 16 16 15 15 11 11 11 11
Amherst 009 12 12 12 12 8 8 8 8
Appomattox 011 16 15 14 14 11 11 10 10
Augusta/ Staunton/ Waynesboro 015 17 16 16 16 12 11 11 11
Bath 017 18 16 16 15 13 11 11 11
Bedford Co./ City 019 18 16 15 13 13 11 11 9
Botetourt 023 16 16 16 13 11 11 11 9
Campbell 031 14 13 12 12 10 9 8 8
Charlotte 037 14 14 13 13 10 10 9 9
Craig 045 15 13 13 12 11 9 9 8
Danville 590 12 12 10 10 8 8 7 7
Franklin Co. 067 15 14 14 13 11 10 10 9
Halifax/ South Boston 083 16 15 15 13 11 11 11 9
Henry/ Martinsville 089 13 12 12 12 9 8 8 8
Highland 091 15 13 12 12 11 9 8 8
Lynchburg 680 17 18 16 13 12 13 11 9
Mecklenburg 117 15 13 13 13 11 9 9 9
Nelson 125 12 16 16 15 8 11 11 11
Pittsylvania 143 11 11 11 11 8 8 8 8
Roanoke City 770 17 16 15 14 12 11 11 10
Roanoke Co./ Salem 161 16 16 16 15 11 11 11 11
Rockbridge/ Buena Vista/
Lexington 163 20 20 18 18 14 14 13 13






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 1,

WESTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Bland 021 13 12 12 11 9 8 8 8
Bristol 520 13 13 13 13 9 9 9 9
Buchanan 027 18 18 18 18 13 13 13 13
Carroll 035 12 12 10 10 8 8 7 7
Dickenson 051 16 16 15 14 11 11 11 10
Floyd 063 11 12 11 10 8 8 8 7
Galax 640 12 12 12 11 8 8 8 8
Giles 071 14 12 12 12 10 8 8 8
Grayson 077 12 12 10 9 8 8 7 6
Lee 105 14 14 15 11 10 10 11 8
Montgomery 121 17 17 15 14 12 12 11 10
Patrick 141 10 10 10 10 7 7 7 7
Pulaski 155 12 12 12 12 8 8 8 8
Radford 750 20 15 14 11 14 11 10 8
Russell 167 12 12 12 12 8 8 8 8
Scott 169 14 14 14 14 10 10 10 12
Smyth 173 11 11 11 11 8 8 8 8
Tazewell 185 15 15 12 12 11 11 8 8
Washington 191 16 13 12 12 11 9 8 8
Wise/ Norton 195 14 13 12 12 10 9 8 8
Wythe 197 12 13 13 13 8 9 9 9






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,

CENTRAL
Full Day, Part Day Rate With 40™ Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler | School Age Infant Toddler | School Age

Amelia 007 21 18 18 13 15 13 13 9
Buckingham 029 19 16 14 13 13 11 10 9
Caroline 033 35 30 18 15 25 21 13 11
Charles City 036 24 22 19 17 17 15 13 12
Chesterfield/ Colonial Heights 041 39 33 27 22 27 23 19 15
Cumberland 049 19 17 15 12 13 12 11 8
Essex 057 24 22 21 16 17 15 15 11
Fluvanna 065 34 29 26 20 24 20 18 14
Goochland 075 38 35 31 19 27 25 22 13
Hanover 085 38 31 24 19 27 22 17 13
Henrico 087 38 33 26 21 27 23 18 15
Hopewell 670 24 22 17 15 17 15 12 11
King & Queen 097 24 21 16 16 17 15 11 11
King William 101 25 25 19 16 18 18 13 11
Lancaster 103 24 23 19 17 17 16 13 12
Lunenburg 111 21 18 16 13 15 13 11 9
Middlesex 119 24 22 22 19 17 15 15 13
New Kent 127 24 24 18 17 17 17 13 12
Northumberland 133 24 21 17 17 17 15 12 12
Nottoway 135 21 18 17 13 15 13 12 9
Petersburg 730 21 20 18 15 15 14 13 11
Powhatan 145 37 28 25 17 26 20 18 12
Prince Edward 147 21 20 19 16 15 14 13 11
Richmond 760 30 29 23 19 21 20 16 13
Richmond Co. 159 24 21 18 17 17 15 13 12






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1
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ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,
EASTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate With 40™ Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler | School Age Infant Toddler | School Age

Accomack 001 26 19 16 13 18 13 11 9
Brunswick 025 21 18 16 10 15 13 11 7
Chesapeake 550 34 28 24 18 24 20 17 13
Dinwiddie 053 24 23 16 15 17 16 11 11
Franklin City 620 26 23 18 16 18 16 13 11
Gloucester 073 27 26 22 18 19 18 15 13
Greensville/ Emporia 081 24 21 14 13 17 15 10 9
Hampton 650 33 28 21 16 23 20 15 11
Isle Of Wight 093 30 23 18 13 21 16 13 9
James City 095 32 26 24 19 22 18 17 13
Mathews 115 24 19 18 12 17 13 13 8
Newport News 700 29 25 23 17 20 18 16 12
Norfolk 710 30 26 21 18 21 18 15 13
Northampton 131 26 17 15 13 18 12 11 9
Portsmouth 740 31 28 25 17 22 20 18 12
Prince George 149 27 24 21 17 19 17 15 12
Southampton 175 26 23 18 11 18 16 13 8
Suffolk 800 27 23 19 16 19 16 13 11
Surry 181 26 23 19 16 18 16 13 11
Sussex 183 24 21 14 12 17 15 10 8
Virginia Beach 810 35 29 25 20 25 20 18 14
Williamsburg 830 35 34 28 21 25 24 20 15
York/ Poquoson 199 31 27 22 18 22 19 15 13






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,

Locality
Alexandria
Arlington
Clarke
Culpeper

Fairfax Co./ City & Falls Church

Fauquier

Frederick/ Winchester
Fredericksburg
Greene

King George
Loudoun

Louisa

Madison

Manassas

Manassas Park
Orange

Page

Prince William
Rappahannock
Rockingham/ Harrisonburg
Shenandoah
Spotsylvania

Stafford

Warren

FIPS
510
013
043
047
059
061
069
630
079
099
107
109
113
683
685
137
139
153
157
165
171
177
179

NORTHERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate With 40" Percentile Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Infant Toddler | School Age Infant Toddler | School Age

63 46 38 29 44 32 27 20
58 41 38 33 41 29 27 23
33 30 23 16 23 21 16 11
35 27 16 15 25 19 11 11
56 45 39 30 39 32 27 21
42 32 27 20 29 22 19 14
30 24 18 15 21 17 13 11
35 33 25 19 25 23 18 13
27 20 20 15 19 14 14 11
35 27 19 16 25 19 13 13
57 42 38 27 40 29 27 19
31 28 23 18 22 20 16 13
35 22 19 16 25 15 13 11
40 34 29 23 28 24 20 16
52 43 38 20 36 30 27 14
35 27 22 17 25 19 15 12
31 28 20 16 22 20 14 11
41 36 30 25 29 25 21 18
35 26 22 20 25 18 15 14
31 26 21 19 22 18 15 13
27 18 14 14 19 13 10 10
35 29 25 20 25 20 18 14
37 31 26 20 26 22 18 14
27 21 19 15 19 15 13 11

187






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,
PIEDMONT
Full Day, Part Day Rate With 40" Percentile Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler | School Age Infant Toddler | School Age

Albemarle/ Charlottesville 003 39 31 28 23 27 22 20 16
Alleghany/ Covington/ Clifton Forge 005 22 19 18 17 15 13 13 12
Amherst 009 21 17 16 12 15 12 11 8
Appomattox 011 21 17 13 13 15 12 9 9
Augusta/ Staunton/ Waynesboro 015 27 25 21 18 19 18 15 13
Bath 017 31 28 20 13 22 20 14 9
Bedford Co./ City 019 28 21 15 14 20 15 11 10
Botetourt 023 27 27 19 14 19 19 13 10
Campbell 031 18 15 14 13 13 11 10 9
Charlotte 037 20 18 18 13 14 13 13 9
Craig 045 20 17 17 14 14 12 12 10
Danville 590 23 19 16 13 16 13 11 9
Franklin Co. 067 27 27 16 12 19 19 11 8
Halifax/ South Boston 083 20 18 18 13 14 13 13 9
Henry/ Martinsville 089 21 19 14 12 15 13 10 8
Highland 091 31 26 20 16 22 18 14 11
Lynchburg 680 25 20 16 13 18 14 11 9
Mecklenburg 117 19 16 14 13 13 11 10 9
Nelson 125 27 18 17 17 19 13 12 12
Pittsylvania 143 20 15 14 13 14 11 10 9
Roanoke 770 39 31 25 17 27 22 18 12
Roanoke Co./ Salem 161 39 31 22 20 27 22 15 14
Rockbridge/ Buena Vista/ Lexington 163 33 33 28 15 23 23 20 11






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

CENTER CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,

WESTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate with 40" Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler | School Age Infant Toddler | School Age

Bland 021 18 17 15 15 13 12 11 11
Bristol 520 22 20 18 15 15 14 13 11
Buchanan 027 18 17 15 15 13 12 11 11
Carroll 035 18 16 14 12 13 11 10 9
Dickenson 051 18 17 15 15 13 12 11 11
Floyd 063 21 19 16 14 15 13 11 10
Galax 640 18 23 23 13 13 16 16 9
Giles 071 21 18 15 15 15 13 11 11
Grayson o077 18 16 14 13 13 11 10 9
Lee 105 18 18 18 15 13 13 13 11
Montgomery 121 26 24 21 16 18 17 15 11
Patrick 141 20 14 14 13 14 10 10 9
Pulaski 155 21 19 17 13 15 13 12 9
Radford 750 23 19 16 14 16 13 11 10
Russell 167 18 14 13 13 13 10 9 9
Scott 169 18 17 16 14 13 12 11 10
Smyth 173 18 13 12 12 13 9 8 8
Tazewell 185 19 15 13 14 13 11 9 10
Washington 191 18 19 16 15 13 13 11 11
Wise/ Norton 195 18 17 15 13 13 12 11 9
Wythe 197 18 17 15 13 13 12 11 10






ATTACHMENT 2.7.1

FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,
CENTRAL
Full Day, Part Day Rate with 40" Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Amelia 007 20 18 17 17 14 13 12 12
Buckingham 029 17 16 15 10 12 11 11 7
Caroline 033 20 17 16 13 14 12 11 9
Charles City 036 19 17 17 14 13 12 12 10
Chesterfield/Colonial Hghts 041 25 25 23 17 18 18 16 12
Cumberland 049 15 15 15 13 11 11 11 9
Essex 057 18 18 17 14 13 13 12 10
Fluvanna 065 24 22 22 18 17 15 15 13
Goochland 075 25 24 21 15 18 17 15 11
Hanover 085 30 25 22 16 21 18 15 11
Henrico 087 30 25 22 17 21 18 15 12
Hopewell 670 20 17 16 14 14 12 11 10
King & Queen 097 19 17 17 14 13 12 12 10
King William 101 19 19 17 14 13 13 12 10
Lancaster 103 19 17 17 14 13 12 12 10
Lunenburg 111 17 17 15 12 12 12 11 8
Middlesex 119 20 18 18 15 14 13 13 11
New Kent 127 19 18 17 15 13 13 12 11
Northumberland 133 19 17 17 14 13 12 12 10
Nottoway 135 15 13 14 12 11 9 10 8
Petersburg 730 19 18 16 13 13 13 11 9
Powhatan 145 25 24 21 14 18 17 15 10
Prince Edward 147 17 17 15 12 12 12 11 8
Richmond 760 25 22 19 14 18 15 13 10
Richmond Co. 159 19 17 17 14 13 12 12 10
Westmoreland 193 19 17 17 14 13 12 12 10
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FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES — LEVEL 2,
EASTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate with 40" Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Accomack 001 18 15 15 13 13 11 11 9
Brunswick 025 17 15 15 13 12 11 11 9
Chesapeake 550 25 20 19 15 18 14 13 11
Dinwiddie 053 20 17 15 14 14 12 11 10
Franklin City 620 16 15 15 20 11 11 11 14
Gloucester 073 21 20 18 13 15 14 13 9
Greensville/ Emporia 081 19 17 15 12 13 12 11 8
Hampton 650 20 19 18 15 14 13 13 11
Isle Of Wight 093 20 19 17 15 14 13 12 11
James City 095 25 20 19 17 18 14 13 12
Mathews 115 19 17 17 14 13 12 12 10
Newport News 700 22 20 18 15 15 14 13 11
Norfolk 710 22 19 18 14 15 13 13 10
Northampton 131 20 19 17 15 14 13 12 11
Portsmouth 740 22 19 17 13 15 13 12 9
Prince George 149 20 18 17 13 14 13 12 9
Southampton 175 20 19 17 14 14 13 12 10
Suffolk 800 20 19 17 15 14 13 12 11
Surry 181 17 16 14 12 12 11 10 8
Sussex 183 20 16 15 14 14 11 11 10
Virginia Beach 810 27 22 20 15 19 15 14 11
Williamsburg 830 23 20 19 16 16 14 13 11
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York/ Poquoson 199 28 22 20 15 20 15 14 11
FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,
NORTHERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate with 40" Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Alexandria 510 32 30 30 26 22 21 21 18
Arlington 013 39 34 32 29 27 24 22 20
Clarke 043 20 17 17 16 14 12 12 11
Culpeper 047 25 19 19 16 18 13 13 11
Fairfax Co./ City & Falls Church 059 37 35 33 27 26 25 23 19
Fauquier 061 32 30 26 19 22 21 18 13
Frederick/ Winchester 069 27 20 19 16 19 14 13 11
Fredericksburg 630 25 24 22 17 18 17 15 12
Greene 079 21 19 18 16 15 13 13 11
King George 099 20 19 19 17 14 13 13 12
Loudoun 107 40 35 33 26 28 25 23 18
Louisa 109 22 20 18 15 15 14 13 11
Madison 113 26 19 19 12 18 13 13 8
Manassas 683 41 28 27 25 29 20 19 18
Manassas Park 685 40 37 35 22 28 26 25 15
Orange 137 22 19 18 22 15 13 13 15
Page 139 17 16 15 11 12 11 11 8
Prince William 153 31 28 27 20 22 20 19 14
Rappahannock 157 26 24 22 17 18 17 15 12
Rockingham/ Harrisonburg 165 25 25 18 15 18 18 13 11
Shenandoah 171 21 16 16 12 15 11 11 8
Spotsylvania 177 27 22 20 16 19 15 14 11
Stafford 179 30 25 24 20 21 18 17 14
Warren 187 20 18 17 17 14 13 12 12
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FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES - LEVEL 2,

PIEDMONT
Full Day, Part Day Rate with 40" Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler School Age

Albemarle/ Charlottesville 003 25 25 25 20 18 18 18 14
Alleghany/ Covington 005 18 17 16 15 13 12 11 11
Amherst 009 17 16 15 12 12 11 11 8
Appomattox 011 17 16 15 14 12 11 11 10
Augusta/ Staunton/ Waynesboro 015 20 17 16 16 14 12 11 11
Bath 017 20 18 17 15 14 13 12 11
Bedford Co./ City 019 20 17 16 13 14 12 11 G
Botetourt 023 20 18 18 13 14 13 13 9
Campbell 031 20 20 16 12 14 14 11 8
Charlotte 037 17 16 15 13 12 11 11 9
Craig 045 16 15 15 12 11 11 11 8
Danville 590 15 15 15 10 11 11 11 7
Franklin Co. 067 20 15 15 13 14 11 11 9
Halifax/ South Boston 083 18 16 16 13 13 11 11 9
Henry/ Martinsville 089 13 15 13 12 9 11 9 8
Highland 091 20 18 17 12 14 13 12 8
Lynchburg 680 19 18 18 13 13 13 13 9
Mecklenburg 117 17 15 15 13 12 11 11 9
Nelson 125 20 16 16 15 14 11 11 11
Pittsylvania 143 16 14 12 11 11 10 8 8
Roanoke City 770 18 18 17 14 13 13 12 10
Roanoke Co/ Salem. 161 20 20 20 15 14 14 14 11
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Rockbridge/ Buena Vista/ Lexington 163 21 21 19 18 15 15 13 13
FAMILY CHILD CARE MAXIMUM REIMBURSABLE RATES — LEVEL 2,
WESTERN
Full Day, Part Day Rate with 40" Percentile Infant Rate Revisions
Full Day Part Day
Pre- School Pre- School
Locality FIPS Infant Toddler School Age Infant Toddler | School Age

Bland 021 15 14 13 11 11 10 9 8
Bristol 520 15 13 13 13 11 9 9 9
Buchanan 027 19 19 19 18 13 13 13 13
Carroll 035 14 13 12 10 10 9 8 7
Dickenson 051 20 16 16 14 14 11 11 10
Floyd 063 20 17 15 10 14 12 11 7
Galax 640 14 13 13 11 10 9 9 8
Giles 071 16 15 15 12 11 11 11 8
Grayson 077 13 12 12 9 9 8 8 6
Lee 105 15 15 16 11 11 11 11 8
Montgomery 121 19 18 17 14 13 13 12 10
Patrick 141 12 12 12 10 8 8 8 7
Pulaski 155 17 15 15 12 12 11 11 8
Radford 750 20 15 15 11 14 11 11 8
Russell 167 18 16 15 12 13 11 11 8
Scott 169 17 17 16 14 12 12 11 12
Smyth 173 13 12 12 11 9 8 8 8
Tazewell 185 15 15 15 12 11 11 11 8
Washington 191 16 14 14 12 11 10 10 8
Wise/ Norton 195 18 18 18 12 13 13 13 8
Wythe 197 14 13 13 13 10 9 9 9
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In 2009-2010, the VDSS conducted a statewide market rate survey of licensed and
unlicensed child care providers by locality. The Department contracted with the
Center for Survey Research at Virginia Tech to complete a telephone survey of
providers. The statewide response rate was 67% for centers and 62% for family
providers.

Over 3,300 licensed centers and religious exempt providers were surveyed. In
each locality all center and religious exempt provider were surveyed with the
exception of Head Start and providers known not to serve the general public.

The family provider universe was comprised of providers from the lists of State
Licensed, Voluntary Registered, Locally Approved and Local Ordinance family
providers. Approximately 4,600 family providers were selected for surveying.

Virginia Department of Social Services
2009-2010 Child Care Provider Rate Survey

A. Hello, May I speak with [INSERT CONTACT NAME IF PROVIDED]?

B. Hello, my name is and I am calling on behalf of the Virginia
Department of Social Services. We are collecting information on the rates charged by
licensed child care providers in Virginia.

Q1. Our records show that [CATI INSERTS CENTER NAME] is currently in operation. Is
this correct?

YES[GOTOQ2] 1
NO (Specify closing date MM/YYYY, DK/RF 99/9999) 2
DK/RF 3

END1: Thank you for this information. Those are all of our questions at this time. Have a
good day.

Q2. Does this center offer child care at least five days per week for at least eight hours a day
to the general public for a fee?

YES [GO TO Q3] 1
NO, OFFERS CHILD CARE BUT LESS THAN FULL-TIME [GO TO Q9] 2

NO, DOES NOT PROVIDE CHILD CARE TO GENERAL PUBLIC 3

NO, FREE PROGRAM, DOES NOT CHARGE FEE (GRANT PROGRAM ETC.) 4
DK/RF 5
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END2: Thank you for this information. Those are all of our questions at this time. Have a

good day.
Q3. Does this center offer child care for infants?
IF ASKED ABOUT AGE RANGE: The YES 1
Department of Social Services considers infants NO [GO TO Q5] 2
tn he N throninh 15 manthe nld DK/RF [GO TO Q5] 3

Q4. What is the private paying charge for the full-time care of infants?

“Private paying™ = tuition or fees paid entirely by the parents, not by the state, federal
government, or any third party funding source

IF ASKED ABOUT AGE RANGE: The
Department of Social Services considers infants
to be 0 through 15 months old. If you have
different rates for infants based on their level of

rarn wa aro intaractad in knnwinn what tha

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ .
WEEKLY (How much per week? [

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY
, DK/RF 9999.99]) 1
, DK/RF 999.99]) 2

DAILY (How much per day? L_ __ ,DK/RF99.99]) 3
HOURLY (How muchperhour? [ . DK/RF99.99]) 4
DK/RF 5

CATI CONVERTS ALL INFANT RATES INTO A WEEKLY RATE, AND THEN CREATES A
STANDARD WEEKLY INFANT RATE VARIABLE. THE STANDARD INFANT RATE
VARIABLE IS THE WEEKLY RATE PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT UNLESS IT IS
MISSING OR DK/RF. IF THE WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED BY THE
RESPONDENT, CATI USES THE CONVERTED WEEKLY RATE FROM THE UNIT
PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT. IF MORE THAN ONE RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY
THE RESPONDENT AND A WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED, CATI CHECKS FIRST
FOR A MONTHLY RATE (CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), THEN FOR A DAILY RATE
(CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), AND FINALLY FOR AN HOURLY RATE (CONVERTED TO
WEEKLY), TO ASSIGN THE STANDARD WEEKLY RATE VARIABLE. IF MORE THAN ONE
RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT, CATI CHECKS TO MAKE SURE THAT
THE CONVERTED MONTHLY RATE < WEEKLY RATE < CONVERTED DAILY RATE <
CONVERTED HOURLY RATE [AN INTERVIEWER PROMPT APPEARS WHEN THIS
CONDITION IS NOT MET].

Q5. Does this center offer child care for toddlers?

IF ASKED ABOUT AGE RANGE: The YES 1
Department of Social Services considers
tnddlare tn he 1R thraiinh 22 mnnthe nld DK/NRIO: Egg $8 8;} g
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Q6. What is the private paying charge for the full-time care of toddlers?

IF ASKED ABOUT AGE RANGE: The
Department of Social Services considers
toddlers to be 16 through 23 months old. If you
have different rates for toddlers based on their

1 1 £ ' L 1. -

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY
, DK/RF 9999.99]) 1
, DK/RF 999.99]) 2

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ .
WEEKLY (How much per week? [

DAILY (How much per day? L_ ___ ,DK/RF99.99]) 3
HOURLY (How muchperhour? [ . DK/RF99.99]) 4
DK/RF 5

CATI CONVERTS ALL TODDLER RATES INTO A WEEKLY RATE, AND THEN CREATES A
STANDARD WEEKLY TODDLER RATE VARIABLE. THE STANDARD TODDLER RATE
VARIABLE IS THE WEEKLY RATE PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT UNLESS IT IS
MISSING OR DK/RF. IF THE WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED BY THE
RESPONDENT, CATI USES THE CONVERTED WEEKLY RATE FROM THE UNIT
PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT. IF MORE THAN ONE RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY
THE RESPONDENT AND A WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED, CATI CHECKS FIRST
FOR A MONTHLY RATE (CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), THEN FOR A DAILY RATE
(CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), AND FINALLY FOR AN HOURLY RATE (CONVERTED TO
WEEKLY), TO ASSIGN THE STANDARD WEEKLY RATE VARIABLE. IF MORE THAN ONE
RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT, CATI CHECKS TO MAKE SURE THAT
THE CONVERTED MONTHLY RATE < WEEKLY RATE < CONVERTED DAILY RATE <
CONVERTED HOURLY RATE [AN INTERVIEWER PROMPT APPEARS WHEN THIS
CONDITION IS NOT MET]. IF THE STANDARD INFANT RATE IS LESS THAN THE
STANDARD TODDLER RATE,

BEEP/REASK Q6, SHOW TEXT “The standard rate you’ve provided for toddlers is greater than
the one you provided for infants, is this correct?”

Q7. Does this center offer child care for pre-school aged children?

IF ASKED ABOUT AGE RANGE: The YES 1
Department of Social Services considers pre- NO [GO TO Q9] 2

crhnnlare tn ha 2 thraiinh A vinare nld
DK/RF [GO TO Q9] 3
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Q8. What is the private paying charge for the full-time care of pre-schoolers?

IF ASKED ABOUT AGE RANGE: The
Department of Social Services considers pre-
schoolers to be 2 through 4 years old. If you
have different rates for pre-schoolers based on

thoir laval nf rara e ara intaractad in knnwinn

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY
. DK/RF 9999.9999]) 1
, DK/RF 999.999]) 2

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ .
WEEKLY (How much per week? L

DAILY (How much per day? L_ __ ,DK/RF99.99]) 3
HOURLY (How muchperhour? [ . DK/RF99.99]) 4
DK/RF 5

CATI CONVERTS ALL PRE-SCHOOL RATES INTO A WEEKLY RATE, AND THEN CREATES
A STANDARD WEEKLY PRE-SCHOOL RATE VARIABLE. THE STANDARD PRE-SCHOOL
RATE VARIABLE IS THE WEEKLY RATE PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT UNLESS IT IS
MISSING OR DK/RF. IF THE WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED BY THE
RESPONDENT, CATI USES THE CONVERTED WEEKLY RATE FROM THE UNIT
PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT. IF MORE THAN ONE RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY
THE RESPONDENT AND A WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED, CATI CHECKS FIRST
FOR A MONTHLY RATE (CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), THEN FOR A DAILY RATE
(CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), AND FINALLY FOR AN HOURLY RATE (CONVERTED TO
WEEKLY), TO ASSIGN THE STANDARD WEEKLY RATE VARIABLE. IF MORE THAN ONE
RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT, CATI CHECKS TO MAKE SURE THAT
THE CONVERTED MONTHLY RATE < WEEKLY RATE < CONVERTED DAILY RATE <
CONVERTED HOURLY RATE [AN INTERVIEWER PROMPT APPEARS WHEN THIS
CONDITION IS NOT MET]. IF THE STANDARD TODDLER RATE IS LESS THAN THE
STANDARD PRE-SCHOOL RATE, BEEP/REASK Q8, SHOW TEXT ““The standard rate you’ve
provided for pre-schoolers is greater than the one you provided for toddlers, is this correct?”

Q9. Does this center provide before school care for school-aged children?

YES 1
NO [GO TO Q11] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q11] 3

Q10. Excluding any discounts, what is the private paying charge for before school care?
CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY

, DK/RF 9999.9999]) 1
, DK/RF 999.999]) 2

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ .
WEEKLY (How much per week? L

DAILY (How much per day? [__ ___ ,DK/RF99.99]) 3
HOURLY (How much perhour? [ . DK/RF99.99]) 4
DK/RF 5
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CATI CALCULATES BSMWKRT (CONVERSION OF MONTHLY RATE INTO WEEKLY, Q10_1
+4.33, IF Q10_1 = 9999.99, BSMWKRT = 9999.99); CATI CALCULATES BSDWKRT
(CONVERSION OF DAILY RATE INTO WEEKLY, Q10_3 x 5, IF Q10_3 = 99.99, BSDWKRT =
9999.99); CATI CALCULATES BSHWKRT (CONVERSION OF HOURLY RATE INTO
WEEKLY, Q10_4 x 5, IF Q10_4 = 99.99, BSHWKRT = 9999.99). CATI CALCULATES
BSWKRT (CALCULATION OF STANDARD WEEKLY RATE FOR BEFORE SCHOOL CARE,
BSWKRT=Q10_2. IF BSWKRT = SYSMIS OR 999.99, BSWKRT=BSMWKRT. IF
BSHWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99, BSWKRT=BSDWKRT. IF BSDWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99,
BSWKRT=BSHWKRT. IF BSHWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99, BSWKRT = 9999.99.)

Q11. Does this center provide after school care for school-aged children?
YES 1
NO [GO TO Q13] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q13] 3

Q12. Excluding any discounts, what is the private paying charge for after school care?
CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY

, DK/RF 9999.9999]) 1
, DK/RF 999.999]) 2

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ .
WEEKLY (How much per week? [_

DAILY (How much per day? L_ ____,DK/RF99.99]) 3
HOURLY (How muchperhour? [ . DK/RF99.99]) 4
DK/RF 5

CATI CALCULATES ASMWKRT (CONVERSION OF MONTHLY RATE INTO WEEKLY, Q12_1
+4.33, IF Q12_1 = 9999.99, ASMWKRT = 9999.99); CATI CALCULATES ASDWKRT
(CONVERSION OF DAILY RATE INTO WEEKLY, Q12_3 x5, IF Q12_3 = 99.99, ASDWKRT =
9999.99); CATI CALCULATES ASHWKRT (CONVERSION OF HOURLY RATE INTO
WEEKLY, Q12_4 x 15, IF Q12_4 = 99.99, ASHWKRT = 9999.99). CATI CALCULATES
ASWKRT (CALCULATION OF STANDARD WEEKLY RATE FOR AFTER SCHOOL CARE,
ASWKRT=Q12_2. IF ASWKRT = SYSMIS OR 999.99, ASWKRT=ASMWKRT. IF
ASMWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99, ASWKRT=ASDWKRT. IF ASDWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99,
ASWKRT=ASHWKRT. IF ASHWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99, ASWKRT = 9999.99.)

Q13. [IF Q9>1 OR Q11>1, GO TO Q15] Is there a special rate for before and after school
care combined that is less than the individual before and after school rates added
together?

YES 1
NO [GO TO Q15] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q15] 3
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Q14. What is the private paying rate for before and after school care combined?

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY
. DK/RF 9999.9999]) 1
, DK/RF 999.999]) 2

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ .
WEEKLY (How much per week? L

DAILY (How much per day? L_ ___ ,DK/RF99.99]) 3
HOURLY (How muchperhour? [ .~ DK/RF99.99]) 4
DK/RF 5

CATI CALCULATES CMWKRT (CONVERSION OF MONTHLY RATE INTO WEEKLY, Q14_1
+4.33, IF Q14 1 =9999.99, CMWKRT = 9999.99); CATI CALCULATES CDWKRT
(CONVERSION OF DAILY RATE INTO WEEKLY, Q14 3 x5, IF Q14_3 =99.99, CDWKRT =
9999.99); CATI CALCULATES CHWKRT (CONVERSION OF HOURLY RATE INTO WEEKLY,
Q14 4x 20, IF Q14_4 =99.99, CHWKRT = 9999.99). CATI CALCULATES CWKRT
(CALCULATION OF COMBINED STANDARD WEEKLY RATE FOR BEFORE AND AFTER
SCHOOL CARE, CWKRT=Q14 2. IF CWKRT = SYSMIS OR 999.99, CWKRT=CMWKRT. IF
CMWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99, CWKRT=CDWKRT. IF CDWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99,
CWKRT=CHWKRT. IF CHWKRT=SYSMIS OR 9999.99, CWKRT = 9999.99.). IF THE
COMBINED STANDARDIZED RATE = STANDARDIZED BEFORE SCHOOL RATE +
STANDARDIZED AFTER SCHOOL RATE, BEEP AND SHOW MESSAGE ““Interviewer:
escape and code Q13 as ‘no’. IF THE COMBINED STANDARDIZED RATE >
STANDARDIZED BEFORE SCHOOL RATE + STANDARDIZED AFTER SCHOOL RATE,
BEEP AND REASK Q14, SHOW *““your combined before and after school rate is greater than
your individual before and after school rates combined. Is this correct?”

Q15. Does this center ever offer full-time care for school age children when they are not in
school, for example, in the summer or during vacation breaks or holidays?

YES 1
NO [GO TO Q17] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q17] 3

Q16. What is the private paying rate for this full-time care for school age children?
CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY

. DK/RF 9999.9999]) 1
, DK/RF 999.999]) 2

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ .
WEEKLY (How much per week? L

DAILY (How much per day? L_ __ ,DK/RF99.99]) 3
HOURLY (How muchperhour? [ . DK/RF99.99]) 4
DK/RF 5

CATI CONVERTS ALL SCHOOL AGE RATES INTO A WEEKLY RATE, AND THEN CREATES
A STANDARD WEEKLY SCHOOL AGE RATE VARIABLE. THE STANDARD SCHOOL AGE
RATE VARIABLE IS THE WEEKLY RATE PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT UNLESS IT IS
MISSING OR DK/RF. IF THE WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED BY THE
RESPONDENT, CATI USES THE CONVERTED WEEKLY RATE FROM THE UNIT
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PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT. IF MORE THAN ONE RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY
THE RESPONDENT AND A WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED, CATI CHECKS FIRST
FOR A MONTHLY RATE (CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), THEN FOR A DAILY RATE
(CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), AND FINALLY FOR AN HOURLY RATE (CONVERTED TO
WEEKLY), TO ASSIGN THE STANDARD WEEKLY RATE VARIABLE. IF MORE THAN ONE
RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT, CATI CHECKS TO MAKE SURE THAT
THE CONVERTED MONTHLY RATE < WEEKLY RATE < CONVERTED DAILY RATE <
CONVERTED HOURLY RATE [AN INTERVIEWER PROMPT APPEARS WHEN THIS
CONDITION IS NOT MET]. IF THE STANDARD PRE-SCHOOL RATE IS LESS THAN THE
STANDARD SCHOOL AGE RATE, BEEP/REASK Q16, SHOW TEXT “The standard rate you’ve
provided for school age children is greater than the one you provided for pre-schoolers, is this
correct?” IF Q2=2, THIS COMPARISON OF RATES IS NOT PERFORMED.

Q17. Does this center offer transportation services for the children?
YES 1
NO [GO TO Q20] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q20] 3

Q18. Does this center offer one-way transportation and two-way transportation also offered?

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY
ONE WAY TRANSPORTATION ONLY 1

TWO-WAY TRANSPORTATION ONLY 2

BOTH ONE WAY AND TWO WAY TRANSPORTATION 3
DK/RF [GO TO Q20] 4

Q19. What is the private paying charge for this service/[CATI INSERTS “ONE WAY
TRANSPORTATION” OR “TWO-WAY TRANSPORTATION"]?

NO CHARGE/INCLUDED IN RATES 1

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ . , DK/RF 9999.9999]) 2
WEEKLY (How much per week? [_ _____ , DK/RF 999.999]) 3

DAILY (How much per day? L_ ____ ,DK/RF99.99]) 4

DK/RF 5

IF Q18=3, Q19 IS ASKED TWICE: ONCE FOR ONE WAY TRANSPORTATION AND
AGAIN FOR TWO WAY TRANSPORTATION

CATI CONVERTS ALL TRANSPORTATION RATES INTO A WEEKLY RATE, AND THEN
CREATES A STANDARD WEEKLY TRANSPORTATION RATE VARIABLE. THE STANDARD
TRANSPORTATION RATE VARIABLE IS THE WEEKLY RATE PROVIDED BY THE
RESPONDENT UNLESS IT IS MISSING OR DK/RF. IF THE WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT
PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT, CATI USES THE CONVERTED WEEKLY RATE FROM
THE UNIT PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT. IF MORE THAN ONE RATE UNIT IS
PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT AND A WEEKLY RATE WAS NOT PROVIDED, CATI





ATTACHMENT 2.7.4

CHECKS FIRST FOR A MONTHLY RATE (CONVERTED TO WEEKLY), THEN FOR A DAILY
RATE (CONVERTED TO WEEKLY) TO ASSIGN THE STANDARD WEEKLY RATE VARIABLE.
IF MORE THAN ONE RATE UNIT IS PROVIDED BY THE RESPONDENT, CATI CHECKS TO
MAKE SURE THAT THE CONVERTED MONTHLY RATE < WEEKLY RATE < CONVERTED
DAILY RATE [AN INTERVIEWER PROMPT APPEARS WHEN THIS CONDITION IS NOT
MET].

Q20. Does this center offer a snack for the children?

YES 1
NO [GO TO Q22] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q22] 3

Q21. What is the private paying charge for this service?

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY

NO CHARGE/INCLUDED IN RATES 1

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ . , DK/RF 9999.9999]) 2
WEEKLY (How much per week? L _____ , DK/RF 999.999]) 3

DAILY (How much per day? L_ __ ,DK/RF99.99]) 4

DK/RF 5

Q22. Does this center offer breakfast or a morning snack for the children?

YES 1
NO [GO TO Q24] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q24] 3

Q23. What is the private paying charge for this service?

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY

NO CHARGE/INCLUDED IN RATES 1

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ . , DK/RF 9999.9999]) 2
WEEKLY (How much per week? L _____ , DK/RF 999.999]) 3

DAILY (How much per day? [__ __ ,DK/RF99.99]) 4

DK/RF 5

Q24. Does this center offer lunch for the children?

YES 1
NO [GO TO Q26] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q26] 3
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Q25.

Q26.

Q27.

Q28.

Q29.

Q30.

Q31.

Q32.

What is the private paying charge for this service?

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY

NO CHARGE/INCLUDED IN RATES 1

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ . , DK/RF 9999.9999]) 2
WEEKLY (How much per week? L _____ , DK/RF 999.999]) 3

DAILY (How much per day? L_ __ ,DK/RF99.99]) 4

DK/RF 5

Does this center offer dinner for the children?

YES 1
NO [GO TO Q28] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q28] 3
What is the private paying charge for this service?

CHOOSE ALL THAT APPLY

NO CHARGE/INCLUDED IN RATES 1

MONTHLY (How much per month? [ . , DK/RF 9999.9999]) 2
WEEKLY (How much per week? L _____ , DK/RF 999.999]) 3

DAILY (How much per day? L_ __ ,DK/RF99.99]) 4

DK/RF 5

Does this center offer care for children with special needs?
YES

NO
DK/RF 3

N -

Does this center offer evening care?
YES
NO
DK/RF 3

N -

Does this center offer over-night care?

YES
NO
DK/RF 3

N -

Weekend care?

YES
NO
DK/RF 3

N -

Drop-in care?
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Q33.

Q34.

Q35.

Q36.

Q37.

YES
NO
DK/RF

Care for sick children?

YES
NO
DK/RF

Does this center charge a registration fee for private paying children?

YES
NO [GO TO Q36]
DK/RF [GO TO Q36]

Is this fee a one-time charge, or is it charged on an annual, or semi-annual basis?

ONE TIME CHARGE (Please specify fee: )

ANNUAL (Please specify fee: )

SEMI-ANNUAL (Please specify fee: )

OTHER BASIS (Please specify: ), (Please specify fee: )
DK/RF

Does this center charge an activity fee for private paying children?
YES
NO [GO TO Q38]
DK/RF [GO TO Q38]

Is this fee a one-time charge, or is it charged on an annual, or semi-annual basis?

ONE TIME CHARGE (Please specify fee: )

ANNUAL (Please specify fee: )

SEMI-ANNUAL (Please specify fee: )

OTHER BASIS (Please specify: ), (Please specify fee: )
DK/RF

N -

N -

N -

b~ wdNPE

N

gk~ wN -

10
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Q38. How many children are you currently caring for at this site? This includes children
from infancy through school-age. [PROBE: this is not the licensed capacity, but the
total number of children presently enrolled in your program at this site.]

If unsure, please approximate the number of enrolled children.

Number of children enrolled 1
DK/RF (GO TO Q39) 2

Q39. Do you provide care to any children whose care is subsidized or paid for by a local
department of social services?

The subsidy or payment by the local department may be for a part or the entire
charge for care.
YES 1
NO [GO TO Q41] 2
DK/RF [GO TO Q41] 3

Q40. Please estimate how many children are in your care whose care is paid for by a local
department of social services?

If unsure, please approximate the number of subsidized children.

[

Number of children
DK/RF (GO TO Q41) 2

Q41. In what city or county is this center located?

DK Don’t Know, RF Refuse
Q42. Finally, may I please have your name and your job title?

NAME 1
JOB TITLE 2

That concludes our survey. We appreciate your help on our project. Thanks again and have a
good day.

IF ASKED: “This study is being conducted by the Virginia Department of Social Services Division of
Child Care and Development in order to determine the rates charged for child care throughout the
Commonwealth. All calls are being made from the Virginia Tech Center for Survey Research in
Blacksburg on behalf of the Virginia Department of Social Services. If you need more information about
the study, please feel free to call Susan Willis-Walton, the study director, at the Virginia Tech Center for
Survey Research at 540-231-3695.”
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ATTACHMENT 2.4.1
Fee Scale

The family’s contribution is based on 10% of the gross countable income for a family
unit of that size. It applies to income eligible families regardless of whether the care is
fulltime or part time. As income increases or decreases, the fee changes accordingly.
Four local departments use approved alternate co-payment scales that are attached.





