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Virginia Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology 
 

Guidance for 
Continuing Education (CE) Audits and Sanctioning for Failure to Complete CE 

 
 
Applicable Law, Regulation and Guidance 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology: 18VAC30-20-300   
 
Guidance 
CE Extension Requests 
CE extensions may be granted for good cause of up to one year for the completion of CE 
requirements. Requests for extensions must be received by the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology (Board) prior to the licensure renewal date of December 31 of each year. 
Licensees who have not completed the CE requirements and submit a request after December 31 
may be subject to disciplinary action. 
 
CE Exemptions 
The Board may grant an exemption for all or part of the CE requirements due to circumstances 
beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military service or 
officially declared disasters. Requests for an exemption should be submitted to the Board prior to 
the licensure renewal date of December 31 of each year. 
 
A licensee is exempt from completing CE requirements on the first biennial renewal of his initial 
licensure in Virginia.  
 
CE Audit Procedures 

• After each renewal cycle, the Board may audit the following licensees for compliance 
with CE requirements: 

o Licensees who fail to respond or respond “no” to the CE renewal question on the 
annual license renewal form; and 

o Licensees selected for random audit using a statistically valid audit sample and a 
method that ensures randomness of those selected. 

• For those selected for the audit 
o Board staff will notify licensees that they are being audited via email if an address 

is available or by postal carrier if an email address is not available. 
o The licensee is required to submit documentation of completion of required CE 

credits. The CE form must be completed as required. 
o Documentation submitted to verify CE completion will be reviewed for 

compliance with the regulations. 
o Licensees who have not completed required CE will be referred for possible 

disciplinary action. 
 
 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/aud_laws_regs.htm
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Disciplinary Action for Non-Compliance with CE Requirements 
The Board adopted the following guidelines for resolution of cases of non-compliance with CE 
requirements (30 hours of CE are required in a two year period): 
 
 

Cause Possible Action 
First offense; short 1 – 10 hours Confidential Consent Agreement;  

45 days to make up missing hours 
First offense; short 11 – 20 hours Consent Order; Monetary Penalty of $300;  

60 days to make up missing hours 
First offense; short 21 – 30 hours Consent Order; Monetary Penalty of $500;  

60 days to make up missing hours 
Second offense; short 1 – 30 hours Consent Order; Reprimand; Monetary Penalty 

of $200 per missing hour up to a maximum of 
$3000; 60 days to make up missing hours 

No response to audit notifications or three or 
more offenses 

Informal Fact-Finding Conference 

 
NOTE: When probable cause is found that a licensee has falsely certified completion of the 
required CE for renewal of his license, the Board may offer a pre-hearing consent order or hold 
an informal fact-finding conference.   


