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Virginia Board of Nursing 

 

Noncompliance with Prior Board Orders 

 
A licensee may be placed under terms of continued practice by Order of the Board of Nursing 

that may include probation with terms, paying a monetary penalty, completing courses, 

submitting to a mental health and chemical dependency evaluation, and/or entering into and 

complying with the Health Practitioner’s Monitoring Program (HPMP).    

 

When such licensees do not comply with the terms stated in said Order, they are deemed 

“noncompliant” and may be scheduled for an administrative proceeding to consider further 

disciplinary action up to and including suspension or revocation of a license.   

 

The Board will typically take the following actions based upon the following types of 

noncompliance with a prior Board order.  Further, the Board authorizes professional discipline 

staff of the Board to offer prehearing consent orders consistent with the guidance listed below, in 

lieu of conducting an administrative proceeding for such cases of noncompliance: 

 

Type of Non-compliance Typical Board action 

Failure to pay monetary penalty within 

specified time in Order (or granted extension) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension until 

meets the term 

Failure to submit verification of completing 

course(s), watching video, or other remedial 

terms within specified time in Order (or 

granted extension) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension until 

meets the term 

Failure to obtain and submit evidence of a 

mental health/chemical dependency evaluation 

within time specified in Order (or granted 

extension) 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension until 

meets the term; then original Order continues 

(if applicable) 

Failure to follow treatment recommendations 

within 60 days following a mental 

health/chemical dependency evaluation 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension until 

evidence has done so; then original Order 

continues (if applicable) 

Failure to enter the Virginia HPMP within time 

specified in Order (or granted extension) 

Reprimand and Indefinite suspension which 

may be stayed if enters HPMP; Note: Board 

may also consider other justifiable facts for an 

alternative action (i.e., Reprimand and place on 

probation with similar monitoring terms) 

Noncompliance constituting dismissal from 

HPMP when a prior Board order required entry 

into and remaining in compliance with HPMP 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

Noncompliant, but evidence licensee is back in 

compliance with terms of Order by the time of 

the proceeding 

Reprimand and extend period of probation 

monitoring equivalent to the period the 

licensee was noncompliant 

Noncompliant licensee on probation, with late Reprimand and extend length of probation 
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reports on more than 3 occasions monitoring for 6 months 

One positive urine drug screen test, without 

appropriate prescription documentation 

Reprimand and extend probation additional 6 

months and increase frequency of urine drug 

screening 

Two or more positive urine drug screen test, 

without appropriate prescription 

documentation 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

Licensee who has not contacted Compliance 

Case Manager of Board of Nursing at all in 

response to Order and has demonstrated no 

evidence of compliance with any terms of 

Order, within 60 days of entry of said Order 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

Licensee on probation who has contacted 

Compliance Case Manager of Board of 

Nursing, but has not complied with any terms 

of Order for any 6 month (two quarters of 

reports due) period of monitoring. 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

Second incidence of noncompliance of the 

same Board Order being adjudicated 

Reprimand and indefinite suspension 

Licensee has stayed compliant for more than 5 

years with terms of a probation order entered 

prior to December 1, 2011, except that the 

period of work as a nurse is not met. 

 

 

 

 

Subsequent Noncompliance: 
If all terms of the modified order are not met within 

the three-year specified time frame 

Modify existing probation order to continue on 

indefinite probation, require licensee begin 

employment no later than one (1) year from entry 

of the modified order, and require completion of 

two (2) years of employment within a period of 

three (3) years from entry date of the modified 

order.  Further, during the two-year period of 

practice, all other relevant terms and conditions of 

the previous order are re-imposed.  

 

Reprimand and Indefinite Suspension 

 
Failure to comply within five (5) years with all 

terms of a probation order entered after December 

1, 2011.  (This does not apply to HPMP orders.) 

Reprimand and Indefinite Suspension 
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