
Proposed Revised Regulations Governing Driver Education 
 
 

8VAC20-340-10. Driver education program.  

In accordance with provisions of the National Highway Safety Act of 1966 (23 USC §401 

et seq.) and §§22.1-205, 46.2-340, 46.2-334, and 46.2-335 of the Code of Virginia, 

schools shall schedule a program of driver education for all eligible students. local school 

boards shall determine whether to offer a driver education program, and, if offered, 

whether it will be taught in lieu of 10th grade health education or as an elective course. 

Classroom and in-car driver education instruction shall be a standardized program of study 

established by the Board of Education in accordance with §22.1-205 of the Code of 

Virginia. Such program shall be outlined in a curriculum and administrative guide for 

driver education in Virginia.  The program shall consist of 36 periods of classroom 

instruction and 14 periods of in-car instruction, which shall include seven periods of actual 

driving, and seven periods of observation time. The classroom instruction should be 

offered during the 10th grade. School divisions may offer alternative programs. These 

shall be developed in accordance with procedures outlined in the Curriculum Guide for 

Driver Education in Virginia. Students must drive a minimum of 50 miles and a maximum 

of 150 miles during the in-car phase of instruction.  

Statutory Authority:  

§§22.1-16, 22.1-205, 46.2-340, 46.2-334, and 46.2-335 of the Code of Virginia.  

 

 


