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Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation 

The State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes several amendments to the 

Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes in order to align the regulation with federal 

requirements and the Code of Virginia, and to improve clarity.  

Result of Analysis 

Some proposed amendments do increase costs for licensed family day homes. Given the 

likely benefits for the health and safety of children, and the necessity of the amendments to 

maintain federal funding, the benefits of the proposed changes likely exceed the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact 

The federal Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014 requires specific 

health and safety topics to be addressed for providers receiving Child Care and Development 

Funds. Currently Virginia receives about $110 million from this program per fiscal year. In order 

to continue to receive federal funding under the Child Care and Development Fund, the federal 

requirements must be adopted under Virginia rules. Licensed family day homes (FDHs) are 

eligible to apply for subsidies under the program. According to the Virginia Department of 

Social Services (DSS), 37 % of licensed family day homes in the Commonwealth are approved 

subsidy vendors. 
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Consequently the Board proposes amendments such as adding: 1) a requirement for FDH 

licensees to post with parental approval a current list of allergies, sensitivities and dietary 

restriction, 2) a new requirement that while transporting children, the driver will have the allergy 

care plan and emergency contact information to prevent an allergic reaction, be aware of food 

allergies and sensitivities when preparing food and not serve prohibited food to a child, 3) a new 

provision allowing providers to keep attendance records as hard copy or electronically, 4) a new 

requirement for FDH licensees to keep a written record of a child in attendance as arrival and 

departure occurs, 5) exceptions for homeless children without documentation of immunizations 

or physical examination to attend FDHs during a grace period of 90 days, 6) 4 additional 

required hours of annual training for caregivers, 7) a new requirement for all caregivers to have 

current certification in CPR and first aid, and 8) a requirement that caregivers complete a DSS-

sponsored orientation course within 90 days of employment. 

Allergies 

The proposals to add requirements for providers to post with parental approval a current 

list of allergies, sensitivities and dietary restriction, and for drivers transporting children to have 

the allergy care plan and emergency contact information to prevent an allergic reaction and be 

aware of food allergies, etc., would require a small additional amount of staff time and materials 

for licensed FDHs. The proposed requirements would likely increase awareness of health risks 

for children under care and decrease the probability that children’s health is put at risk due to 

ignorance or carelessness.  

Attendance Records 

 Under the current regulation FDHs must keep a written record of children in attendance 

each day. The proposal to allow providers to keep attendance records as hard copy or 

electronically reduces storage and potentially time costs for those FDHs that prefer to keep 

records electronically. The proposal to require licensees to keep the written record of each child 

in attendance as arrival and departure occurs would produce a small cost in that staff will have 

less flexibility as to when to record attendance. It would also be beneficial in that emergency 

responders will be better equipped in the event of an emergency to identify children in 

attendance.   
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Homeless Children 

 Under the current regulation before any child may attend an FDH, the licensee must 

obtain documentation that the child has been immunized according to the requirements of § 32.1-

46 A of the Code of Virginia and applicable State Board of Health regulations. Additionally, the 

provider must have documentation of a physical examination by or under direction of a physician 

within 30 days after the first day of attendance of the child. 

The proposal to permit providers to accept homeless children without immunization or 

physical examination documentation for up to 90 days would be beneficial in that it would 

reduce barriers for homeless children to attend licensed child care while their families are taking 

necessary actions to comply with health and safety requirements. Enabling children’s attendance 

at FDHs helps enable parents and guardians in homeless families to work or seek work and 

potentially gain homes. 

Training 

 Under the current regulation FDH caregivers must have 16 clock hours of annual 

training. The Board proposes to increase the annual requirement to 20 clock hours. Childcare 

workers earn on average $10.79 per hour in Virginia.1 Assuming the value of a childcare 

workers’ time is their wage, the time cost of requiring 4 additional hours of training is $43.162 

annually per FDH caregiver. DSS offers online child care courses as part of an agreement with 

Virginia’s Community College Workforce; these classes currently cost $20 for 4 clock hours of 

training.3 Thus the total cost for 4 additional hours of required training per year can be estimated 

to be about $63 annually per FDH caregiver. 

 The current regulation requires the person issued the FDH license and assistants who are 

left alone with the children in care to have current certification in first aid and CPR appropriate 

to the age of children in care. The proposed regulation requires that all caregivers have such 

certification. The American Red Cross website lists the fee for a class that includes pediatric first 

                                                           
1 Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics’ May 2015 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates (the most 
recent available data). See: http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_va.htm 
2 $10.79 x 4 = $43.16 
3 Source: Department of Social Services 

http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_va.htm
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aid and CPR as $110. The course takes approximately 7 hours of caregivers’ time.4 Childcare 

workers earn on average $10.79 per hour in Virginia.5 Assuming the value of a childcare 

workers’ time is their wage, the time cost of the requirement is $75.53.6 Thus the cost of the 

proposed CPR and first aid requirement for each child care worker in a licensed FDH would be 

$185.53 per two year certification, or $92.77 per year. Caregivers, such as the licensee, who 

already have current certification in CPR and first aid and would have continued to have done so 

without the new requirement would not incur this cost. Additionally, the CPR and first aid class 

can count toward the required 20 hours of training a year. 

 According to DSS, the proposed required DSS-sponsored orientation course takes 10 

hours and is provided without a fee. Assuming the value of a childcare workers’ time is their 

wage, the time cost of the requirement is $107.90. The 10 hours can count toward the required 20 

hours of training during the first year of employment.  

Overall 

 Several of the proposed amendments introduce some additional costs in terms of time, 

materials and/or fees. All of the proposed changes likely will have some positive impact on 

health and safety. The extent of the impact on health and safety is not known. Thus a definitive 

comparison of the likely benefits with the more easily estimated costs cannot be made. Taking 

into consideration the need to make these amendments in order to maintain federal funding, 

which contributes to FDH subsidies, the benefits of the proposed regulation likely exceed the 

costs. 

Businesses and Entities Affected 

  The proposed amendments affect the 1,279 licensed family day homes in the 

Commonwealth, their staff, and their clients.7 All licensed family day homes are small 

businesses.  

Localities Particularly Affected 

The proposed amendments do not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

                                                           
4 The American Red Cross class is listed as taking six hours and twenty minutes. Assuming 40 minutes roundtrip 
travel time, the caregiver would spend 7 hours to satisfy this requirement. 
5 See note 1, supra 
6 $10.79 x 7 = $75.53 
7 Data source: Department of Social Services 
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Projected Impact on Employment 

 The proposed amendments are unlikely to have a large impact on employment. The 

proposal to require that all caregivers have current certification in first aid and CPR appropriate 

to the age of children in care may moderately increase employment for providers of such 

certification. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property 

 The proposed amendments are unlikely to have a large impact on the use and value of 

private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs 

 The proposed amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

  Definition 

 Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined as “a 

business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less than $6 

million.” 

  Costs and Other Effects 

 As described in the Estimated Economic Impact section, the proposals to add 1) a 

requirement for FDH licensees to post with parental approval a current list of allergies, 

sensitivities and dietary restriction, 2) a new requirement that while transporting children, 

the driver will have the allergy care plan and emergency contact information to prevent 

an allergic reaction, be aware of food allergies and sensitivities when preparing food and 

not serve prohibited food to a child, 3) a new requirement for FDH licensees to keep a 

written record of a child in attendance as arrival and departure occurs, 4) 4 additional 

required hours of annual training for caregivers, 5) a new requirement for all caregivers 

to have current certification in CPR and first aid, and 6) a requirement that caregivers 

complete a DSS-sponsored orientation course within 90 days of employment, all increase 

costs for licensed family day homes. The proposal to allow providers to keep attendance 

records as hard copy or electronically reduces costs for some FDH licensees. 
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  Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact 

 In order to comply with the federal Child Care and Development Block Grant 

Act, the Board is proposing amendments that will increase costs for some family day 

homes, all of which are small businesses. There is no clear alternative that will both 

satisfy federal law and reduce the adverse impact on these small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts:   

  Businesses:   

As discussed above, some proposed amendments will increase costs for 

businesses. 

  Localities: 

  The proposed amendments are unlikely to adversely affect localities. 

  Other Entities: 

  The proposed amendments are unlikely to adversely affect other entities. 

Legal Mandates 

 
General:  The Department of Planning and Budget has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in 

accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and Executive Order Number 17 (2014). Code § 2.2-
4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments.  Further the report should include but not be limited to:  (1) the projected number of businesses or 
other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment positions to 
be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 
(5)the impact on the use and value of private property.  
 

Adverse impacts:   Pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.04(C):  In the event this economic impact analysis reveals that 
the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact on businesses or would impose a significant 
adverse economic impact on a locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning and 
Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the House Committee on Appropriations, and 
the Senate Committee on Finance within the 45-day period. 
 

If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small businesses, Code § 2.2-4007.04 requires that 
such economic impact analyses include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses subject 
to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs required for 
small businesses to comply with the proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable effect of the proposed regulation on 
affected small businesses, and  (4) a description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation.  Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-4007.1, if there is a finding that a 
proposed regulation may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules 
shall be notified. 
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