Economic impact of the Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 



5

[image: image1.png]





Economic Impact Analysis

Virginia Department of Planning and Budget

18 VAC 125-30 - Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers 

Department of Health Professions
July 3, 2001


The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance with Section 9-6.14:7.1.G of the Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 25 (98).  Section 9-6.14:7.1.G requires that such economic impact analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private property.  The analysis presented below represents DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts.

Summary of the Proposed Regulation


Based on its periodic review of regulations, the Board of Psychology proposes the following changes to the Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers:

· Revising the fee schedule to make it consistent with other professions regulated by the Board:

· The fee to add or change registration of a supervisor will decrease from $50 to $25

· The penalty for late renewal of a certificate is reduced from $50 to $25 (approximately 35% of the annual renewal fee)

· Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate (a certificate not renewed within one renewal cycle) will increase from $50 to $125

· Reinstatement of a revoked or suspended certificate will cost $500

· Duplicate certificates will cost $5 instead of $10

· The returned check fee will increase from $15 to $25

· Adding a requirement that all three reference letters (required in the application package) be from licensed health care professionals;

· Clarifying that supervised experience obtained in Virginia without prior written board approval will not be accepted for certification;

· Redistributing the required 50 clock hours of training among the five subject areas;

· Requiring reinstatement after a certificate has been lapsed for one year instead of two; and

· Several editorial and other minor changes including changing the name of the Board of Counseling as it is now in statute, removing references to an outdated waiver of the supervision requirement, and requiring certificate holders to notify the board in writing of a change of address within 60 days.

Estimated Economic Impact

Fees

The proposed fee changes are intended to represent more accurately the actual cost of services provided.  The fees for generic services, such as duplicate certificates and returned checks, are set uniformly across all professions under the Board of Psychology and will provide consistency and equity for members.  The proposed late fees and reinstatement fees are set in accordance with the Principles for Fee Development, which standardizes the late renewal and reinstatement processes for all categories of licensure and certification.
  
In addition to charging individuals for the full costs incurred on their behalf, which is both more efficient and equitable, the proposed fees will provide consistency across professions regulated by the Board, and should have a positive net economic benefit.

Education and Supervised Experience Requirements

The proposed regulation includes language to specify that supervised experience obtained without prior written board approval will not be accepted for certification.  Similar requirements exist for other professions licensed by the Board of Psychology and a “grandfather” clause is included in the regulation that allows supervised experience obtained prior to the effective date of the proposed regulation to be accepted if it met the requirements in effect at that time.  

Applicants for sex offender treatment provider certification must submit documentation of 10 clock hours of training in each of five subject areas.  The proposed regulation maintains the 50 clock hours of required training, but redistributes those hours among the five subject areas to provide a greater emphasis on sex offender assessment and treatment interventions.  However, since there is no evidence available on the correlation between coursework and effective treatment, it is not possible to assess the impact of this change on the quality of sex offender treatment provided in Virginia.  

Businesses and Entities Affected

The proposed changes to this regulation will affect all certified sex offender treatment providers and all new applicants.  Currently, there are approximately 317 certificate holders in Virginia. 

Localities particularly affected


The proposed changes are not expected to affect any particular localities as they are applicable statewide.

Projected impact on employment

The proposed changes to this regulation are not expected to have any significant impact on employment in Virginia.

Effects on the use and value of private property

The proposed changes to this regulation are not expected to have any significant effect on the use and value of private property in Virginia.

� This document, dated May 20, 1999, outlines the principles by which DHP sets its licensing fees.  The principles are intended to provide structure, consistency, and equity for all the professionals regulated within the Department. 





