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CCoouunnsseelliinngg  RReegguullaattiioonnss  1 
 2 
 3 

PART I. 4 
GENERAL PROVISIONS  5 

 6 
 7 
18 VAC 115-20-20.  Fees required by the board  8 
 9 
A.  The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a professional 10 
counselor:  11 
 12 
 Active aAnnual license renewal $105 13 
 Inactive annual license renewal $55 14 
 Initial licensure by examination $65 15 

Initial licensure by endorsement $65 16 
 Duplicate license $5 17 
 Verification of license to another jurisdiction $25 18 
 Late renewal $35 19 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license $165 20 
 Replacement of or additional wall certificate $15 21 
 Returned check $25 22 

Reinstatement following revocation or suspension $500 23 
 24 

B. Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as 25 
specified in the application instructions.  All fees are nonrefundable. 26 
 27 
C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board. 28 
 29 

 30 
PART IV. 31 

LICENSURE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT. 32 
 33 
18 VAC 115-20-100. Annual renewal of licensure. 34 
 35 
A.  All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.  36 
 37 
B.  Beginning with the 2005 renewal, eEvery license holder who intends to continue an 38 
active to practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year: 39 
 40 

1.   A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to 41 
compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; 42 
and 43 
2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20. 44 

 45 
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C.  A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment 1 
of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-20-20.  No person shall practice 2 
counseling in Virginia unless he holds a current active license.  A licensee who has placed 3 
himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set 4 
forth in 18 VAC 115-20-110.C. 5 
 6 
CD.  Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days.  Failure to 7 
receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal 8 
requirement. 9 
 10 
18 VAC 115-20-105.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license. 11 
 12 
A.  After July 1, 2004, licensed professional counselors shall be required to have 13 
completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure 14 
renewal.  A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, 15 
standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia. 16 
 17 
B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion 18 
of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 19 
the renewal date.  Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing 20 
competency requirement.   21 
 22 
C.  The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency 23 
requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 24 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 25 
 26 
D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain 27 
continuing competency for each license.  Dually licensed individuals will only be 28 
required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18 29 
VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family 30 
Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the 31 
Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers. 32 
 33 
18 VAC 115-20-106.  Continuing competency activity criteria. 34 
 35 
A.  Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one 36 
or more of the areas listed below. 37 

 38 
1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science 39 

professions 40 
2. Counseling theory 41 
3. Human growth and development 42 
4. Social and cultural foundations 43 
5. The helping relationship 44 
6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling 45 
7. Lifestyle and career development 46 
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8. Appraisal of individuals 1 
9. Research and evaluation 2 
10. Professional orientation 3 
11. Clinical supervision 4 
12. Marriage and family therapy 5 
13. Addictions 6 

 7 
B.  Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following 8 
types: 9 
 10 

1.  Formally organized learning activities or home study.  (Activities may be counted 11 
at their full hour value.)  Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the 12 
following board-approved mental health related activities: 13 

 14 
a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 15 
behavioral health discipline.   16 

 17 
b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 18 

 19 
c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 20 
offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 21 

 22 
d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 23 
offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by 24 
one of the following: 25 

 26 
(i)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 27 
state affiliates. 28 
 29 
(ii)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its 30 
state affiliates. 31 

 32 
(iii)  The American Association of State Counseling Boards. 33 
 34 
(iv)  The American Counseling Association and its state and local 35 
affiliates. 36 
 37 
(v)  The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates. 38 
 39 
(vi)  Commission on Rehabilitation Education. 40 
 41 
(vii)  NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state 42 
and local affiliates. 43 

 44 
(viii)  National Association of Social Workers.  45 
 46 
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(ix)  National Board for Certified Counselors. 1 
 2 

(x)  A national behavioral health organization or certification body. 3 
 4 
(xi)   Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing 5 
competency sponsors by the American Association of State Counseling 6 
Boards or a counseling board in another state. 7 

 8 
2.  Individual professional activities.   9 
 10 

a. Publication/presentation/new program development 11 
 12 

(i)  Publication of articles.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight  13 
hours.) 14 
 15 
Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a 16 
chapter in an edited book.   17 

 18 
(ii)  Publication of books.  (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 19 
hours.) 20 
 21 
(iii)  Presentations.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 22 

 23 
The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period.  Only 24 
actual presentation time may be counted. 25 

 26 
(iv)  New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of 27 
eight hours.) 28 

 29 
New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop.  30 
New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university 31 
courses.  32 

 33 
b.  Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.) 34 
 35 

Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 36 
 37 
c.  Clinical supervision/consultation.  (Activity will count for a maximum of ten 38 
hours.) 39 
 40 

Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical 41 
supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.  42 
Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 43 
provide to others. 44 

 45 
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d.  Leadership.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 1 
 2 

The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing 3 
competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization; 4 
editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 5 
state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national 6 
counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary 7 
review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 8 
committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 9 
counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with 10 
justifiable professional learning experiences.  The leadership positions 11 
must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. 12 

 13 
e.  Practice related programs.  (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight 14 
hours.) 15 

 16 
The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency 17 
as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 18 
justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his 19 
clients.  Examples include: language courses, software training, medical 20 
topics, etc.    21 

 22 
18 VAC 115-20-107.  Documenting compliance with continuing competency 23 
requirements. 24 
 25 
A.   All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two 26 
years following renewal.   27 

 28 
B.  After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of 29 
licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 30 

 31 
C.  Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 32 
 33 

1.  To document completion of formal organized learning activities the licensee 34 
shall provide:  35 
 36 
  a.  Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 37 
 38 

 b.  Certificates of participation. 39 
 40 

2.  Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source 41 
material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to  42 
completion of the home study. 43 

 44 
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3.  Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the 1 
following: 2 
 3 

a.  Certificates of participation;  4 
 5 

b.  Proof of presentations made;  6 
 7 

c.  Reprints of publications;  8 
 9 

d.  Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing 10 
education programs;  11 
 12 
e.  Official notification from the association that sponsored the item 13 
writing workshop or continuing education program; or 14 

 15 
f.  Documentation of attendance at formal staffing by a signed affidavit on 16 
a form provided by the board.  17 
 18 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to 19 
satisfy renewal requirements. 20 

 21 
18 VAC 115-20-110.  Late renewal; reinstatement. 22 
 23 
A.  A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration 24 
date by paying the late fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20 as well as the license renewal 25 
fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met 26 
all applicable continuing competency requirements. 27 
 28 
B.  A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume 29 
practice shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, and 30 
submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope 31 
of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing 32 
competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 33 
 34 
C.  A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active 35 
licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of 36 
continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive not 37 
to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 38 
 39 

 40 
PART VI. 41 

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 42 
UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT, DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS;  43 

REINSTATEMENT 44 
 45 
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18 VAC 115-20-140.  Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand, 1 
censure,  or denial of renewal of license. 2 
 3 
A.  Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in 4 
accord with the following: 5 
 6 

1.  Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or violation 7 
of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of 8 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the practice of 9 
professional counseling, or any provision of this chapter. 10 
 11 
2.  Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation. 12 
 13 
3.  Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health and 14 
welfare of one's clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice counseling with 15 
reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, 16 
narcotics, chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental or physical condi-17 
tion. 18 
 19 
4.  Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of 20 
Practice (18 VAC 115-20-130 B). 21 
 22 
5.  Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency. 23 
 24 

 6.  Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in 25 
this chapter. 26 

 27 
B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the licensee may petition the board 28 
for reinstatement upon good cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having 29 
been obtained that would alter the determination reached. 30 
 31 
 32 
 33 
Marriage and Family Therapy Regulations 34 
 35 

 36 
PART I 37 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 38 
 39 
18 VAC 115-50-20.  Fees.  40 
 41 
A.  The board has established fees for the following: 42 
RReeggiissttrraattiioonn  ooff  ssuuppeerrvviissiioonn  $$5500  43 

Add or change supervisor $25 44 
Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure...........................$140 45 



 8

Initial licensure by endorsement: processing and initial licensure..........................$140 1 
Active aAnnual license renewal...............................................................................$105 2 
Inactive annual license renewal…………………………………………………….$55 3 
Penalty for late renewal .............................................................................................$35 4 
Reinstatement of a lapsed license............................................................................$165 5 
Verification of license to another jurisdiction ...........................................................$25 6 
Additional or replacement licenses..............................................................................$5 7 
Additional or replacement wall certificates...............................................................$15 8 
Returned check...........................................................................................................$25 9 

Reinstatement following revocation or suspension $500 10 
 11 

B.  Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as 12 
specified in the application instructions.  All fees are non-refundable. 13 
 14 
C.  Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board. 15 
 16 

 17 
PART IV 18 

RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE 19 
 20 
18 VAC 115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.  21 
 22 
A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.  23 
 24 
B.  Beginning with the 2005 renewal aAll licensees who intend to continue an active to 25 
practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year on or before the 26 
expiration date of the license submit to the board: 27 
 28 

1. A license renewal application supplied by the board completed application for 29 
renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to compliance with the 30 
continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and 31 

 32 
The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20. 33 
 34 
C.  A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment 35 
of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-50-20.  No person shall practice 36 
marriage and family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a current active license.  A licensee 37 
who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation 38 
requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-100.C. 39 
 40 
CD.  Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days.  Failure to 41 
receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the 42 
renewal requirement.  43 
 44 
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D.  Licensees shall provide the board with official documentation of a legal name change 1 
and written notification of address changes within 90 days of such change. 2 
 3 
18 VAC 115-50-95.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license. 4 
 5 
A.  After  July 1, 2004, marriage & family therapists shall be required to have completed 6 
a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A 7 
minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of 8 
practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.   9 
 10 
B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion 11 
of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 12 
the renewal date.  Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing 13 
competency requirement.   14 
 15 
C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency 16 
requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 17 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 18 
 19 
D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain 20 
continuing competency for each license.  Dually licensed individual will only be required 21 
to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18 VAC 22 
115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Professional 23 
Counselors, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the 24 
Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers. 25 
 26 
18 VAC 115-50-96 Continuing competency activity criteria. 27 
 28 
A.  Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one 29 
or more of the areas listed below. 30 

 31 
1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions 32 
2. Counseling theory 33 
3. Human growth and development 34 
4. Social and cultural foundations 35 
5. The helping relationship 36 
6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling 37 
7 Lifestyle and career development 38 
8. Appraisal of individuals 39 
9. Research and evaluation 40 
10. Professional orientation 41 
11. Clinical supervision 42 
12. Marriage and family therapy 43 
13. Addictions 44 

 45 
B.  Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following types: 46 
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 1 
1.  Formally organized learning activities or home study.  (Activities may be 2 

counted at their full hour value.)  Hours shall be obtained from one or a 3 
combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities: 4 

 5 
 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 6 

behavioral health discipline.   7 
 8 

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 9 
 10 
c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health 11 
field offered by federal, state or local licensed health facilities and licensed 12 
hospitals. 13 
 14 

d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health 15 
field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified 16 
or approved by one of the following: 17 

 18 
(i)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 19 
state affiliates. 20 
 21 
(ii)  The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its 22 
state affiliates. 23 

 24 
(iii)  The American Association of State Counseling Boards. 25 

 26 
(iv)  The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates. 27 

 28 
(v)  The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates. 29 

 30 
(vi)  Commission on Rehabilitation Education. 31 
 32 
(vii)  NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state 33 

and local affiliates. 34 
 35 

(viii)  National Association of Social Workers.  36 
 37 
(ix)  National Board for Certified Counselors. 38 

 39 
(x)  A national behavioral health organization or certification body. 40 
 41 

(xi)   Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing 42 
competency sponsors by the American Association of State 43 
Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state. 44 

 45 
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Individual professional activities. 1 
 2 
a. Publication/presentation/new program development 3 
 4 

(i)  Publication of articles.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight  5 
hours.) 6 
 7 
Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a 8 
chapter in an edited book.   9 

 10 
(ii)  Publication of books.  (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 11 
hours.) 12 
 13 
(iii)  Presentations.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 14 

 15 
The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period.  Only 16 
actual presentation time may be counted. 17 

 18 
(iv)  New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of 19 
eight hours.) 20 

 21 
New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop.  22 
New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university 23 
courses.  24 

 25 
b.  Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.) 26 
 27 

Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 28 
 29 
c.  Clinical supervision/consultation.  (Activity will count for a maximum of ten 30 
hours.) 31 
 32 

Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical 33 
supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.  34 
Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 35 
provide to others. 36 

 37 
d.  Leadership.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 38 
 39 

The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing 40 
competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization; 41 
editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 42 
state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national 43 
counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary 44 
review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 45 
committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 46 



 12

counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with 1 
justifiable professional learning experiences.  The leadership positions 2 
must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure. 3 

 4 
e.  Practice related programs.  (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight 5 
hours.) 6 

 7 
The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency 8 
as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 9 
justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his 10 
clients.  Examples include: language courses, software training, medical 11 
topics, etc.    12 

 13 
18 VAC 115-50-97.  Documenting compliance with continuing competency 14 

requirements. 15 
 16 
A.   All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two 17 
years following renewal.   18 

 19 
B.  After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of 20 
licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 21 

 22 
C.  Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 23 
 24 

1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall 25 
provide:  26 
 27 

 a.  Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 28 
 29 

 b.  Certificates of participation. 30 
 31 
2.  Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source 32 
material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to 33 
completion of the home study. 34 
 35 

 3.  Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the 36 
following: 37 
 38 

a.  Certificates of participation;  39 
 40 

b.  Proof of presentations made;  41 
 42 

c.  Reprints of publications;  43 
 44 
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d.  Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing 1 
education programs;  2 
 3 
e.  Official notification from the association that sponsored the item 4 
writing workshop or continuing education program; or 5 

 6 
f.  Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed 7 
affidavit on a form provided by the board. 8 

  9 
D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to 10 
satisfy renewal requirements. 11 
 12 
18 VAC 115-50-100.  Late renewal, reinstatement. 13 
 14 
A.  An individual person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its 15 
expiration date by paying the penalty fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20 as well as the 16 
license fee prescribed for the period the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of 17 
having met all applicable continuing competency requirements. 18 
 19 
B.  An individual person seeking reinstatement of a license one year or more after its 20 
expiration date must apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee and submit 21 
evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of 22 
practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing 23 
competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 24 
 25 
C.  A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active 26 
licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of 27 
continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive, not 28 
to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 29 
 30 
 31 
PART VI 32 
DISCIPLINARY ACTION 33 
 34 
18 VAC 115-50-120.  Disciplinary Action. 35 
 36 
A. In accordance with §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, the board may, after a 37 

hearing, revoke, suspend or decline to issue or renew a license or impose a fine in 38 
accordance with the following: 39 

 40 
1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; 41 
 42 
2. Procurement of a license, certificate or registration by fraud or misrepresentation; 43 
 44 
3. Conducting one’s practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the  health 45 

and welfare of one’s clients or the general public; 46 
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 1 
4.  Practicing marriage and family therapy without reasonable skill and safety to 2 

clients by virtue of physical or emotional illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, 3 
narcotics, chemicals or any other hazardous substance or material; 4 

 5 
5. Providing or offering services outside the demonstrable areas of competency; or 6 
 7 
6. Violating or abetting another person in the violation of any provision of any 8 

statute applicable to the practice of marriage and family therapy, or any part or 9 
portion of this chapter.;  or 10 

 11 
7.   Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this 12 

chapter. 13 
 14 
 15 
SSuubbssttaannccee  AAbbuussee  TTrreeaattmmeenntt  PPrraaccttiittiioonneerr  RReegguullaattiioonnss  16 
 17 
 18 
PART I 19 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 20 
 21 
 22 

18 VAC 115-60-20.  Fees required by the board.  23 
 24 
A. The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a substance abuse 25 
treatment practitioner:  26 

 27 
 Registration of supervision (initial)…………………………………………...$50 28 
 Add/Change supervisor……………………………………………………….$25 29 
 Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure…………...$140 30 
 Initial licensure by endorsement: Processing and initial licensure…………..$140 31 
 Active aAnnual license renewal……………………………………………...$105 32 
 Inactive annual license renewal……………………………………………… $55 33 
 Duplicate license………………………………………………………………..$5 34 
 Verification of license to another jurisdiction………………………………...$25 35 
 Late renewal…………………………………………………………………...$35 36 
 Reinstatement of a lapsed license…………………………………………….$165 37 
 Replacement of or additional wall certificate…………………………………$15 38 
 Returned check………………………………………………………………..$25 39 
 Reinstatement following revocation or suspension………………………….$500 40 
 41 
B.  Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor, or both, in appropriate 42 
amounts as specified in the application instructions.  All fees are non-refundable. 43 
 44 
C.  Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board. 45 
 46 
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 1 
 2 

PART IV. 3 
LICENSE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT 4 

 5 

18 VAC 115-60-110. Renewal of licensure 6 

 7 
A.  All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year. 8 
 9 
B.  Beginning with the 2005renewal, eEvery license holder who intends to continue an 10 
active to practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year: 11 
 12 

1. A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests 13 
to compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this 14 
chapter; and 15 

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20. 16 
 17 
C.   A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon 18 
payment of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-60-20.  No person 19 
shall practice substance abuse treatment in Virginia unless he holds a current active 20 
license.  A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by 21 
fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-60-120.C. 22 
 23 
CD.  Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days.  Failure to 24 
receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal 25 
requirement. 26 
 27 
18 VAC 115-60-115.  Continued competency requirements for renewal of a 28 
license. 29 
 30 
A.  After July 1, 2004, licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners shall be required 31 
to have completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual 32 
licensure renewal.  A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize 33 
the ethics, standard of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in 34 
Virginia.   35 
 36 
B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion 37 
of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 38 
the renewal date.  Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing 39 
competency requirement.   40 
 41 
C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency 42 
requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary 43 
disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters. 44 
 45 
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D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain 1 
continuing competency for each license.  Dually licensed individuals will only be 2 
required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this Chapter or subsection A of 3 
18 VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family 4 
Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the 5 
Practice of Licensed Professional Counselors. 6 

 7 
18 VAC 115-60-116.  Continuing competency activity criteria. 8 

 9 
A.  Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one 10 
or more of the areas listed below. 11 

 12 
1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions 13 
2. Counseling theory 14 
3. Human growth and development 15 
4. Social and cultural foundations 16 
5. The helping relationship 17 
6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling 18 
7 Lifestyle and career development 19 
8. Appraisal of individuals 20 
9. Research and evaluation 21 
10. Professional orientation 22 
11. Clinical supervision 23 
12. Marriage and family therapy 24 
13. Addictions 25 

 26 
B.  Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following 27 
types: 28 
 29 

1.   Formally organized learning activities or home study.  (Activities may be 30 
counted at their full hour value.)  Hours shall be obtained from one or a 31 
combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities: 32 

 33 
a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 34 
behavioral health discipline. 35 

 36 
b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 37 

 38 
c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 39 
offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 40 

 41 
d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 42 

offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or 43 
approved by one of the following: 44 

 45 
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(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 1 
state affiliates. 2 
 3 
(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its 4 
state affiliates. 5 

 6 
(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards. 7 

 8 
(iv) The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates. 9 

 10 
(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates. 11 

 12 
(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education. 13 
 14 
(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state 15 

and local affiliates. 16 
 17 

(viii) National Association of Social Workers.  18 
 19 
(ix) The National Board for Certified Counselors. 20 

 21 
(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body. 22 
 23 

(xi) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing 24 
competency sponsors by the American Association of State 25 
Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state. 26 

 27 
2.  Individual professional activities.  28 
 29 

a.  Publication/presentation/new program development 30 
 31 

(i) Publication of articles.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight 32 
hours.) 33 
 34 
Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a 35 
chapter in an edited book. 36 

  37 
(ii) Publication of books.  (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.) 38 
 39 
(iii) Presentations.  (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 40 
 41 
The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period.  Only 42 
actual presentation time may be counted. 43 

 44 
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(iv) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of 1 
eight hours.) 2 
 3 

New program development includes a new course, seminar, or 4 
workshop.  New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level 5 
college or university courses. 6 

 7 
b.  Dissertation (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours) 8 
 9 

Dissertation credit may only be counted once. 10 
 11 
c.  Clinical supervision/consultation.  (Activity will count for a maximum of ten 12 
hours.) 13 
 14 

Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical 15 
supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.  16 
Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you 17 
provide to others. 18 
  19 

d.  Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.) 20 
 21 

The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing 22 
competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization; 23 
editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of 24 
state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national 25 
counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary 26 
review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling 27 
committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major 28 
counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with 29 
justifiable professional learning experiences.  The leadership positions 30 
must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.   31 

 32 
e.  Practice related programs.  (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight 33 
hours.) 34 

 35 
The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency 36 
as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written 37 
justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his 38 
clients.  Examples include: language courses, software training, medical 39 
topics, etc. 40 

 41 
18 VAC 115-60-117.  Documenting compliance with continuing competency 42 

requirements. 43 
 44 
A.   All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two 45 
years following renewal.   46 
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 1 
B.  After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of 2 
licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period. 3 

 4 
C.  Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows: 5 
 6 

1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall 7 
provide:  8 
 9 
  a.  Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or 10 
 11 

 b.  Certificates of participation. 12 
 13 

2.  Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source 14 
material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to 15 
completion of  the home study. 16 

 17 
3.  Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the 18 
following: 19 
 20 

a.  Certificates of participation;  21 
 22 

b.  Proof of presentations made;  23 
 24 

c.  Reprints of publications;  25 
 26 

d.  Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing 27 
education programs;  28 
 29 
e.  Official notification from the association that sponsored the item 30 
writing workshop or continuing education program; or 31 

 32 
f.  Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed 33 
affidavit on a form provided by the board.  34 
 35 

D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to 36 
satisfy renewal requirements. 37 
 38 
18 VAC 115-60-120.  Late renewal; reinstatement. 39 
 40 
A.  A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration 41 
date by paying the late renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20, as well as the license 42 
fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met 43 
all applicable continuing competency requirements. 44 
 45 
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B.  A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume 1 
practice must shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, 2 
and submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the 3 
scope of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable 4 
continuing competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 5 
 6 
C.  A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for 7 
active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and 8 
documentation of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license 9 
has been inactive not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours. 10 
 11 
 12 

PART V. 13 
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE 14 

UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS; 15 
REINSTATEMENT 16 

 17 
18 VAC 115-60-140.  Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand, 18 
censure, or denial of renewal of license. 19 
 20 
A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in 21 
accord with the following: 22 
 23 

1. Conviction of a felony, of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or 24 
violation of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 of Title 54.1 25 
(§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the 26 
practice of substance abuse treatment, or any provision of this chapter. 27 
 28 
2. Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation. 29 
 30 
3. Conducting one’s practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health 31 
and welfare of one’s clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice 32 
substance abuse treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of 33 
illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other type of 34 
material or result of any mental or physical condition. 35 
 36 
4. Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of 37 
Practice (18 VAC 115-60-130). 38 
 39 
5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency. 40 
 41 
6. Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this 42 
chapter. 43 
 44 

B.  Petition for rehearing.  Following the revocation or suspension of a license the 45 
licensee may petition the board for rehearing upon good cause shown or as a result of 46 
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substantial new evidence having been obtained that would alter the determination 1 
reached. 2 
 3 
 4 


