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I am in receipt of the attached regulation to amend the Foster and Adoptive Home 

Approval Standards for Local Departments of Social Services regulation (22 VAC 40-211).  You 

have asked the Office of the Attorney General to determine if the State Board of Social Services 

(“State Board”) has the statutory authority to promulgate this regulation and if it comports with 

applicable state law. 

 

The State Board’s authority to promulgate this regulation is granted under Virginia Code 

§ 63.2-217 and § 63.2-219.  The proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary 

implement requirements of legislation passed during the 2020 session of the General Assembly 

(See Chapter 562 (SB 1025) of the 2020 Acts of Assembly) and to conform to the federal Family 

First Prevention Services Act.   

 

It is my view that the State Board has the authority to promulgate the final regulation, and 

that that the amendments are exempt from the procedures of Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act, except that it is still subject to public comment.  If you have any questions or need 

additional information about this regulation, please contact me at 804-786-3450. 

 202 North 9th Street 
Richmond, Virginia  23219 

                              804-786-2071 
                    FAX  804-786-1991 

Virginia Relay Services 
                         800-828-1120 



Project 6387 - Final 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES  

Amend Foster and Adoptive Home Approval Standards for 2020 Legislation  

 

22VAC40-211-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and approved by a parent or a local 

department for the placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adult" means any person 18 years of age or over. 

"Applicant" means an individual or couple applying to be approved as a foster or adoptive 

home provider or to provide respite services. 

"Background checks" means a sworn statement or affirmation disclosing whether the 

individual has a criminal conviction, is the subject of any pending charges within or outside the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, and is the subject of a founded complaint of abuse or neglect within 

or outside the Commonwealth; criminal history record information; child abuse and neglect 

central registry check; and any other requirement as set forth in § 63.2-901.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Caretaker" means any individual having the responsibility of providing care for a child and 

includes the following: (i) parent or other person legally responsible for the child's care; (ii) an 

adult who by law, social custom, express or implied acquiescence, collective consensus, 

agreement, or any other legally recognizable basis has an obligation to look after the well-being 

of a child left in his care; and (iii) persons responsible by virtue of their positions of conferred 

authority. 



"Central registry" means a subset of the child abuse and neglect information system and is 

the name index with identifying information on an individual named as an abuser or neglector in 

founded child abuse or neglect complaints or reports not currently under administrative appeal, 

maintained by the department. 

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places children in foster or adoptive homes 

or independent living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of Virginia or a local 

board of social services that places children in foster homes or adoptive homes pursuant to § 

63.2-900, 63.2-903, or 63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or agents of the 

Commonwealth, or any locality acting within the scope of their authority as such, who serve as 

or maintain a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child abuse and neglect information system" means the computer system that collects and 

maintains information regarding incidents of child abuse and neglect involving parents or other 

caretakers. The computer system is composed of three parts: the statistical information system 

with nonidentifying information, the central registry of founded complaints not on appeal, and a 

database that can be accessed only by the department and local departments that contains all 

nonpurged child protective services reports. This system is the official state automated system. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, his designee, or authorized 

representative. 

"Corporal punishment" means punishment administered through the intentional infliction of 

pain or discomfort to the body through actions such as, but not limited to, (i) striking, or hitting 

with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any 

similar action that normally inflicts pain or discomfort. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social Services. 



"Dually approved" means applicants have met the required standards to be approved as a 

foster and adoptive family home provider. 

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through (i) an agreement between the 

parents or guardians and the local board of social services where the legal custody remains with 

the parents or guardians or (ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local board of 

social services or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-hour substitute family care, room 

and board, and services for children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing agency. 

"In-service training" means the ongoing instruction received by providers after they complete 

their preservice training.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" means a uniform law that has been 

enacted by all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands that establishes 

orderly procedures for the interstate placement of children and sets responsibility for those 

involved in placing those children. 

"Kinship foster parent" means an a approved relative provider or fictive kin provider who 

gives 24-hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for children or youth 

committed or entrusted to a child-placing agency. 

"Local department" means the local department of social services of any county or city in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Normalcy" means allowing children and youth in foster care to experience childhood and 

adolescence in ways similar to their peers who are not in foster care by empowering foster 

parents and congregate care staff to use the reasonable and prudent parent standard as 

referenced in 42 USC § 675(10)(A) when making decisions regarding extracurricular, 

enrichment, and social activities. 



"Parent" means the birth or adoptive parent of a child. 

"Preservice training" means the instruction received by providers during the initial approval 

process.  

"Provider" means an approved foster, adoptive, or kinship foster parent, or an individual 

approved to provide respite services. Individuals who wish to provide only respite services must 

meet all standards in this chapter unless there is a noted exception for respite providers. 

"Respite care" means the provision of the service of temporary care for children on an 

emergency or planned basis for the purposes of providing placement stability, supporting the 

achievement of timely permanency, and promoting connections to relatives. Respite care 

services shall not exceed 14 consecutive days. 

22VAC40-211-20. Approval of provider homes. 

A. When applicants are approved in accordance with the standards of this chapter, they are 

approved as foster or adoptive providers. The approved provider shall be allowed to choose to 

provide only foster or adoptive care. 

B. If the relative provider cannot meet the standards described in this chapter, the local 

department may, upon its discretion, request a waiver on certain standards in accordance with 

22VAC40-211-90. If the waiver is not allowed, the local department shall not approve the home 

for the placement of children. 

B. Providers must meet all standards of approval. Waivers may be granted in order to 

approve kinship foster parents as outlined in 22VAC40-211-90. 

C. The standards of this chapter apply to adoptive home providers until the final order of 

adoption is issued for a specific child. The standards continue to apply after the final order of 

adoption if the provider wishes to continue as an approved foster care provider. 



D.  

Local departments may grant emergency approval of a provider. 

1. Emergency approvals shall include: 

a. Completed background checks; and 

b. A home visit by the local department prior to or on the day of the placement. 

2. Emergency approvals shall not exceed 60 days. 

3. Emergency approval of a provider may be granted when the placement: 

a. Is with a relative;  

b. Is with an adult known to the family; or 

c. Will facilitate the child remaining in the community.  

E D. All local department-approved providers shall: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Agree not to use corporal punishment with the child in their care or allow others to do 

so and shall sign an agreement to that effect; and 

3. Sign a confidentiality agreement indicating that the individual completing the mutual 

family assessment for the local department explained the confidential nature of the 

information related to the child in his care and of the requirement to maintain that 

confidentiality.  

F E. If the approval process results in the local department's denial of the application, the 

local department shall notify the applicant in writing of its decision. A copy of the letter shall be 

filed in the applicant's record.  



22VAC40-211-70. Standards for the home of the provider. 

A. The home shall have sufficient appropriate space and furnishings for each child receiving 

care in the home including:  

1. Space to keep clothing and other personal belongings;  

2. Accessible basin and toilet facilities;  

3. Safe, comfortable sleeping furnishings;  

4. Sleeping space on the first floor of the home for a child unable to use stairs 

unassisted, other than a child who can easily be carried; and 

5. Space for recreational activities.  

B. All rooms used by the child shall be heated in winter, dry, and well-ventilated and have 

appropriate access to exits in case of emergency.  

C. Rooms and study space used by the child shall have adequate lighting.  

D. The provider and children shall have access to a working telephone in the home.  

E. Multiple children sharing a bedroom shall each have adequate space including closet and 

storage space. Bedrooms shall have adequate square footage for each child to have personal 

space.  

F. Children over the age of two years shall not share a bed. 

G. Children over the age of two shall not share a bedroom with an adult unless the local 

department approves and documents a plan to allow the child to sleep in the adult's bedroom 

due to documented needs, disabilities or other specified conditions. Children of any age cannot 

share a bed with an adult. 

H. Children of the opposite sex over the age of three shall not sleep in the same room.  



I. Children under age seven or children with significant and documented cognitive or 

physical disabilities shall not use the top bunk of bunk beds. 

J. The home and grounds shall be free from litter and debris and present no hazard to the 

safety of the child receiving care.  

1. The provider shall permit a fire inspection of the home by appropriate authorities if 

conditions indicate a need and the local department requests such an inspection.  

2. Possession of any weapons, including firearms, in the home shall comply with federal 

and state laws and local ordinances. The provider shall store any firearms and other 

weapons with the activated safety mechanisms, in a locked closet or cabinet. 

Ammunition shall be stored in a separate and locked area. The key or combination to the 

locked closet or cabinet shall be maintained out of the reach of all children in the home. 

3. Providers shall ensure that household pets are not a health or safety hazard in 

accordance with state laws and local ordinances and the local department shall request 

verification of provider compliance. 

4. Providers shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic substances stored away from 

food and locked as appropriate. Medications shall be out of reach of children and locked 

as appropriate. Medications shall be stored separately from food, except those 

medicines that require refrigeration.  

5. Every home shall have an operable smoke detector, the specific requirements of 

which shall be coordinated through the local fire marshal. If a locality does not have a 

local fire marshal, the state fire marshal shall be contacted. 

6. Every home shall contain basic first aid supplies.  

K. The number of children in the provider's home shall not exceed eight. Factors to consider 

in determining capacity include, but are not limited to:  



1. The physical accommodations of the home;  

2. The capabilities and skills of the provider to manage the number of children;  

3. The needs and special requirements of the child;  

4. Whether the child's best interest requires placement in a certain type of home; 

5. Whether any individuals in the home, including the provider's children, require special 

attention or services of the provider that interfere with the provider's ability to ensure the 

safety of all children in the home; and 

6. Whether the foster care provider is also a child care provider. 

K. No more than six children in foster care may be placed in the home of a provider. 

L. The number of foster children that may be cared for in a home under subparagraph (K) 

may exceed the numerical limitation in subparagraph (K), for any of the following reasons: 

1. To allow a parenting youth in foster care to remain with the child of the parenting youth. 

2. To allow siblings to remain together. 

3. To allow a child with an established meaningful relationship with the family to remain with 

the family. 

4. To allow a family with special training or skills to provide care to a child who has a severe 

disability. 

LM. During the approval process, the provider shall develop a written emergency plan that 

includes, but is not limited to, fire and natural disasters. The plan shall include: 

1. How the provider plans to maintain the safety and meet the needs of the child in the 

provider's home during a disaster; 

2. How the provider shall evacuate the home, if necessary, in a disaster; and 



3. How the provider shall relocate in the event of a large scale evacuation.  

MN. Providers shall arrange for responsible adults to be available who can serve in the 

caretaker's role in case of an emergency. If the planned or long-term absence of the provider is 

required, the local department shall be notified of and approve any substitute arrangements the 

provider wishes to make. 

NO. In the event of a large scale evacuation due to a disaster, if the provider cannot reach 

the local department, the provider shall call the State Child Abuse Hotline to notify the 

department of the provider's location and contact information.  

22VAC40-211-90. Allowing a waiver. 

A. The local department may request and the provider may receive a permanent or 

temporary waiver from the department on a standard if the waiver does not jeopardize the 

safety and proper care of the child or violate federal or state laws or local ordinances. 

B. If a provider is granted a waiver and is in compliance with all other requirements of this 

chapter, the provider is considered fully approved. 

B. To allow children to be placed with kinship foster parents, temporary waivers may be 

granted for pre-service training, completion of a mutual family assessment, tuberculosis 

assessment, screening or tests and physical examinations for a period not to exceed six 

months. Permanent waivers related to standards for the home of a provider as referenced in 

22VAC40-211-70 may be granted to kinship foster parents. 

C. If a provider is granted a waiver and is in compliance with all other requirements of this 

chapter, the provider is considered fully approved. 

D. Any temporary waivers granted are for a period not to exceed six months. Before the end 

of the six month period, the kinship foster parent must have completed all requirements that had 

previously been waived under Section B of this chapter. 



E. Any permanent waivers granted are considered on a case-by-case basis and must be 

reviewed on an annual basis by the department. 

C. Any waivers granted are considered on a case-by-case basis and must be reviewed on 

an annual basis by the department.  

 

 

 


